All Blacks latest – SBW show returns
25 Nov 2010
Keo.co.za brings you the latest from the All Blacks’ Grand Slam tour.
SBW show returns - Sonny Bill Williams will start at inside centre when the All Blacks face Wales on Saturday.
Williams was relegated to the bench in the All Blacks’ 38-18 win over Ireland last weekend, but has been promoted ahead of Ma’a Nonu for the Cardiff Test in one of five changes made by head coach Graham Henry.
In the backline, wing Isaia Toeava and scrumhalf Jimmy Cowan also start as they replace Cory Jane and Andy Ellis respectively. Amongst the forwards, lock Brad Thorn has recovered from his hamstring injury and will make his 50th Test appearance as he replaces the injured Tom Donnelly, while hooker Keven Mealamu also returns after serving his two-week ban at the expense of Hika Elliot.
On the bench, flanker Daniel Braid is preferred ahead of Liam Messam.
All Blacks – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Isaia Toeava, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 John Afoa, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Daniel Braid, 20 Andy Ellis, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Ma’a Nonu
Hansen defends McCaw & co – Steven Hansen hit back at those who accuse Richie McCaw and the All Blacks of cheating.
McCaw has been criticzed of foul play at the breakdown before as he frustrates oppositions by slowing down their ball. Irish flanker Stephen Ferris is the latest person to accuse McCaw of being a dirty player.
‘If I’d been a referee I would have handed out a couple of yellow cards. It’s the usual old faces that are doing it, but they’re good at it and get away with it. Richie McCaw did a great job at slowing it down,’ claimed Ferris.
All Blacks assistant coach Hansen came out in McCaw’s defence.
‘He is the greatest openside flanker in the game and probably knows the rules better than the referees do,’ said Hansen.
‘When you make a tackle and get up and you are on their side of that tackle, he is entitled to be there until a ruck is formed – and the ruck is not formed until two guys are bound over the ball.
‘It is actually becoming quite boring and I think quite disrespectful,’ Hansen continued. ‘All it really does, though, is actually motivate him to play better, so they want to keep doing it. I will keep putting up with the boring-ness of it so he gets motivated.’
Hansen also hit back at Wallabies head coach Robbie Deans, who accused the All Blacks of ‘trickery’ and believed they ‘manipulated’ referees at the scrums.
‘It is laughable, really. I mean, I think Richie summed it up best – when you are under pressure you say funny things and Rob is obviously under a bit of pressure himself,’ said Hansen.
‘He seems to always fall back and start talking about New Zealand when he is actually involved with the Australians.’
‘Carter’s amazing’ – Neil Jenkins believes Dan Carter is the best rugby player in the world.
Carter is set to break England pivot Jonny Wilkinson’s record for most Test points (1178) when the All Blacks face Wales on Saturday. Carter is only two points behind.
Former Wales flyhalf Jenkins believes Carter will have his moment at the Millennium Stadium this weekend, which he deserves.
‘He is probably the best, I think he is an amazing rugby player,’ Jenkins said. ‘I just think he is an incredible rugby player. To be the stand-out player he is, for this amount of time, is very special and his record speaks for itself.
‘He is an overall fantastic rugby player, not just with his goal kicking. I don’t think he has got a weakness in his game, you know, not that we know about in this moment in time.’

126 Comments
25 Nov 2010, 07:32 am
boring dragons…
25 Nov 2010, 07:33 am
haha
Laughable really.
McCaw seems to be called a cheater if the team he just played losses to the ABs. Its just sore losers that cant come to grips that the ABs are just better than them lot.
As for Carter,no surprises there.He is the best in the world.
25 Nov 2010, 07:41 am
“…if the team he just played losses to the ABs…”
Loses.
“Losses” is the plural noun of loss. (“The company still loses money and has now made losses of R1 million.”)
(Why do so many under-educated pilgrims battle so dismally with “lose” and “loses”, rendering them erroneously as “loose” and “losses”?)
Get it right!
25 Nov 2010, 07:45 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler) :
Not here for a spelling lesson,get that right clown
25 Nov 2010, 07:58 am
Is Hansen the spokesperson for all guilty parties?
Seems like it, Kevvy then Reechie
25 Nov 2010, 07:59 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane) : You tell the joker
25 Nov 2010, 08:01 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane) :
Bwhahahahaha Pilgrim….did you know you were one of us?
25 Nov 2010, 08:05 am
i guess one can effectively add robbie deans to the list of clowns
alleging that the ABs ‘manipulate referee with trickery’ – what a whinger!
25 Nov 2010, 08:08 am
All these cheating comments is imo a lot of hot air. A4Y’s is currently miles ahead of the rest and we are so far behind them is not even funny!
25 Nov 2010, 08:08 am
‘He is the greatest openside flanker in the game and probably knows the rules better than the referees do,’ said Hansen.
‘It is actually becoming quite boring and I think quite disrespectful,’ Hansen continued.
See, that is why I don’t have to like them, they already like themselves enough!
25 Nov 2010, 08:12 am
Now the all black propaganda machine turns on dingo because he has the temerity to suggest that they manipulate the refs.
Moi?
Steve Hansen is starting to remind me of Mandy.
25 Nov 2010, 08:13 am
@Staal(Staal) :
Staal, A4Y’s is way ahead of the pack and no denying it BUT some of their cynical play grinds me, no need for it.
25 Nov 2010, 08:22 am
What’s happening with Brussow’s injury….apparently he is not recuperating as he should? Had another op? Who can tell?
25 Nov 2010, 08:27 am
@Staal(Staal) :
Staal, my wife had a knee reconstruction last year and she had to go back 3 times. It is a bugger and many things that can go wrong. Patience is the answer but hard for a profesional sportsman…
25 Nov 2010, 08:31 am
McCaw the ultimate warrior – still he remains the most influential player in World rugby – there are many clones but there will only be one MCCAW !!!!
I still think his try against the Boks in Soweto was one of the best and most telling trys of the season
25 Nov 2010, 08:32 am
‘It is actually becoming quite boring and I think quite disrespectful,’ Hansen continued. ‘
Quite disrespectful?? Who the **** are you Hansen and McCaw. You guys are just a bunch of naaiers. You think you K A K ice cream.
25 Nov 2010, 08:35 am
Says it all right there.
Hansen is the Joseph Goebbels of the rugby world.
How dare anybody cop a shot at St Ritchie
25 Nov 2010, 08:38 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) :
Hehehehe! Die wiel draai, moenie worry nie!
25 Nov 2010, 08:48 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast) : Ja you sieka right. Carter is a legend though.
25 Nov 2010, 08:50 am
This thread is sure to have blackpants, pooper and the rest of the kiwi BMX gang up in arms.
On the agenda will be
Krusty
Baxxies
Armbands
Eye gouging
Nasal spray abuse.
Followed up by some typically revolting self righteous sanctimony.
I predict a riot
25 Nov 2010, 08:53 am
@gunther(gunther) :
All typing with one hand…
25 Nov 2010, 08:55 am
SBW: All hot air!!!!
Still lots to prove to match up to his Lomu status!!!!
25 Nov 2010, 09:00 am
@gunther(gunther) : “bmx”?
25 Nov 2010, 09:03 am
good to see Hosea has maintained his spot in the side… is growing into it nicely, and will make it hard for Sivi to walk back into the team…
same old same old, happens when youre number 1, but the ABs will continue on and let everyone else worry about it, that means they arent fully focussing on what they are doing, advantage ABs..
25 Nov 2010, 09:08 am
@stand-off(Braders) : all hot air huh? gees, could we apply that to some of the SA players?
SBW is twice the player Spies is and hes only played two tests…
25 Nov 2010, 09:08 am
@gunther(gunther) :
Yeah how dare they! I’m sorry. I adore McCaw.
25 Nov 2010, 09:10 am
@poppa69(poppa69) : I have been so impressed with Hosea on this tour. He is looking hungry.
25 Nov 2010, 09:14 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) :
Hahahahahahaha. OMG.
I have not heard the word “naaiers” in ages!
25 Nov 2010, 09:14 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : yeah he has looked real real good, is very strong in the carry… surprised more teams havent tested him with the garry owen though, that being a weakness IMO..
25 Nov 2010, 09:18 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : LOL ja i know hey. Dawn said the same thing. I am trying to bring it back.
25 Nov 2010, 09:19 am
@poppa69(poppa69) : Your Possible Wings for the World Cup?
25 Nov 2010, 09:19 am
Hansen is right, these allegations are boring.
But if non AB supporters require a person to blame when they lose, why not McCaw, or the ref, or the linesman, or the travel schedule, or the government, or the coach…..
25 Nov 2010, 09:22 am
Gear took his chances in the romp against Scotland and did enough against Ireland to keep his spot.
The Rok has lost his mojo and it shows!
25 Nov 2010, 09:26 am
This is so amazing, yet so basic.. Things that are lost on Krusty and Co. SBW is getting game time alongside Conrad and Nonu. Come the RWC next year all 3 of them will be able to play with any of the other two.
NZ rugby have simple basic things in place with a single goal, the All Blacks and winning. Before you know it the so called new guys are “veterans” whil the boks are still playing people out of position or they cant get game time because of quota’s.
Keep it simple, have a common goal from the bottom to the top and let everyone in the chain be part of it. It is not complicated, unless you are in SARU.
25 Nov 2010, 09:26 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : tough question..
so many options…
Jane will be a definite if fit..
will have to see how Sivi returns in the S15, but I think Hosea if he has a good S15 should be in the side, the boy can really finish.. throw in Dagg and Toeava (whose playing against Wales) and its a nice situation to have…
I wouldnt be upset with any combination of the lot, though not sold on Toeava..
could also throw in Ranger as a possible too… only backline position that really worries me is 1st 5/8… hopefully someone will step up during the S15 to claim the backup berth..
25 Nov 2010, 09:43 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
A major error IMO by Henry in taking Donald on tour, despite his form in the ITM Cup.
He should have stuck with either Slade or Cruden.
That said, he has proven beyond doubt that under pressure he can’t be relied on and as a consequence, he will not be in the frame for the RWC.
25 Nov 2010, 09:48 am
Yup back up for carter should be there greatest concern right now. Donald is NOT the answer.
25 Nov 2010, 09:49 am
Brads
I agree. I think Slade showed against Aussie he has the BMT to step up.
wasted opportunity considering they knew Donalds form from 09. nothing against the guy but he’s not international standard.
25 Nov 2010, 09:50 am
@gunther(gunther) : Apparently McCaw took a Rugby Rule quiz and got 98 percent, higher than all the international referees taking the same test
25 Nov 2010, 09:52 am
@ispy(ispy) : Some of them make such glaring mistakes that it’s not impossible.
25 Nov 2010, 10:05 am
@ispy(ispy) :
Hahaha..
a what?
a quiz?
ok then why bother with a referee?
lets just let ritchie call the game
25 Nov 2010, 10:10 am
Gunther
just shows the different levels of professionalism
would any SA player score as highly?
25 Nov 2010, 10:11 am
@gunther(gunther) : Could explain why he can influence them so readily, constantly in their ear, having the chat, reminding them of their score sheet.
25 Nov 2010, 10:13 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Hahahahahahaha
shuddup.
25 Nov 2010, 10:16 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane) : A man who can’t spell can’t think. Or attend to crucial detail.
25 Nov 2010, 10:17 am
grunter.
gees, I expected better than that. guess one can’t argue the truth huh?
25 Nov 2010, 10:19 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : remember marius jonker during the ireland game? “richie stop this now, you don;t want this to cost you, stop it now”
with the irish loosehead “captain, TALK to this man, i’m not talking to him again, next time i’m sending him to the bin”
25 Nov 2010, 10:21 am
@Transformation(Transformation) :
ritchie reminding them where they went wrong on their ref quiz
25 Nov 2010, 10:31 am
@gunther(gunther) : deans said it during the tri-nations this year “all we want is consistency“
25 Nov 2010, 10:34 am
@ispy(ispy) : hAHAHAHAHAHA.
25 Nov 2010, 10:35 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : Marius won points with me for that. Even he adores McCaw!
25 Nov 2010, 10:36 am
@gunther(gunther) : even the great robbie deans becoames a clown if he points out All Black “trickery” – he must be under pressure
talking about “pressure”, what did steve hansen say last year when asked if he was “under pressure” because the all black lineout was kak?
25 Nov 2010, 10:39 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : He said he used to be a cop and is very accustomed to pressure.
25 Nov 2010, 10:42 am
When does McCaw pick up his third international player of the year award and his 6th or 7th nomination it must be shortly, fortunately his peers know he is the ultimate rugby player both on and off the pitch unlike the clowns on this site who know **** all.
25 Nov 2010, 10:42 am
Sonny, yesterday our mid-field was filled with rain
Sonny, your offloads really eased the pain
The dark days are done
The bright days are here
Our Sonny shines so sincere
Sonny one so true
25 Nov 2010, 10:46 am
speaking of clowns…
25 Nov 2010, 10:47 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Honestly trying hard to figure out if anyone can beat him to the award with no luck. I saw him taking an inside ball from the wing on Saturday after having been involved in the previous ruck and thought the guy is a machine. His handling and support play are quite something for someone who has to do so much work on the field – RESPECT.
25 Nov 2010, 10:48 am
Sonny Bill can speak braille.
25 Nov 2010, 10:50 am
Soony Bill can blow bubbles with biltong.
25 Nov 2010, 10:51 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) :
He should win it hands down, he has added scoring tries to his formidable arsenal of skills, he can now beat three players on the outside and score in the corner with 2 minutes to go.
@gunther(gunther) :
Don’t speak too soon you might just see 15 in green in a few days time.
25 Nov 2010, 10:53 am
Speaking about ‘cheating’ and ‘knowing the rules’. How many refs have been vs RM in recent years? A big plenty from various countries INCLUDING huge number of cases where ref was a Saffa. The result?
The refs 0
RM 1
Conclusion?
25 Nov 2010, 10:54 am
@Nils(Nils) :
Ritchie gives them a gold watch after each game?
25 Nov 2010, 10:54 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) :
keep hoping china.
25 Nov 2010, 10:56 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : a fact thats commonly overlook with Ritchie… his support play is phenomenal, his link play superb… after M. Jones I didnt think we’d get another nearly as good for so long, but McCaw has filled the breach admirably… NZ rugby has been very very lucky in that regard.
25 Nov 2010, 10:57 am
@gunther(gunther) :
Actually I would prefer the Bokke to win but I don’t think you will, you have to be able to score tries to win a game of rugby.
25 Nov 2010, 10:57 am
Sonny Bill has a deep and abiding respect for human life… unless it gets in his way
25 Nov 2010, 10:59 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : But then its never been a logical process.
25 Nov 2010, 10:59 am
Sonny Bill is G A Y!
25 Nov 2010, 11:00 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : @rossoneri(rossoneri) : @ 52 and 53..
Hansen just got the NZRFU checkbook out (their off shore Sth African account is booming thanks to Oregon
)..
but seriously, GH saved him by changing things around, remember?
25 Nov 2010, 11:00 am
You know what really pisses me off.
Those new-fangled little weeny cars with names like Micra and Yaris and Tweeny and Boxy and Atos and Porthos.
They like an infestation on wheels.
Little irritating wannabes.
25 Nov 2010, 11:01 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : We are going to get 50 points put past us this weekend- watch this space
25 Nov 2010, 11:01 am
@Dorff(Dorff) : yeah perhaps, but I know he spells it D O R F F gees, its that close you could swap the F’s for K’s and we’d be spot on..
25 Nov 2010, 11:02 am
And any car with “Lite” in the name.
25 Nov 2010, 11:02 am
@gunther(gunther) : Paddy rubbishes Deans’ conspiracy theory…
Refs’ boss scrums down with Deans
International Rugby Board referee manager Paddy O’Brien has taken exception to claims that his officials are biased towards the Australian scrum, while All Black captain Richie McCaw also questioned claims that team “manipulate” match officials.
O’Brien insists senior referees have been told to rule on what is in front of them, countering Wallabies coach Robbie Deans’ complaint that they are taking pre-conceived ideas into Tests.
Deans, for months, has been privately seething that other nations are exploiting the Wallabies’ reputation for having a weak scrum to fool referees into awarding them penalties whenever anything goes amiss in the set piece.
On Monday he finally broke his silence, publicly accusing referees of basing their scrum rulings on pre-conceived ideas.
O’Brien, while refusing to discuss the specifics of Deans’ accusation, claimed that the issue of referees only ruling on what they could see had been addressed at their recent high performance meeting in London.
“I asked referees to referee each scrum on its merits,” O’Brien told The Australian. “That was the message at Lensbury, to be accurate and consistent.”
The Wallabies firmly believe their scrum is held up as a model of a weak set piece and that referees reinforce each other’s low opinions of the Australian front row.
Meanwhile the All Black captain, McCaw, was surprised when asked about Deans’ latest outburst.
“We came off a fixture against the All Blacks … they don’t scrummage,” Deans claimed. “They just manipulate, they play the referee constantly. It’s all about trickery. Then you get across to the United Kingdom, and they scrummage more so. There are elements of trickery but they do want to go forward with that trickery.”
However, told Fairfax Media that he was surprised to hear such claims from his old former mentor at the Crusaders, Deans.
“Someone said he has been saying things like that. Perhaps a bit of pressure does that to you, I don’t know,” McCaw told Fairfax.
“I think you have seen over the years that we certainly have put a lot of work into it (scrummaging).
“In this part of the world it is a big part of their game too – I don’t know where those comments come from.”
25 Nov 2010, 11:03 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) :
Agreed and obviously your number 9 should have got the award in 09′ and McCaw in 08′.
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : nah you wont… weather is supposedly very wet, so this is PDV’s godsend…
perfect for the rugby the boks have been playing.. Eng IMHO will try to be expansive, the wet will be their undoing
@Dorff(Dorff) : Post 68.
You wish dorff.
You and your erotic fantasies.
25 Nov 2010, 11:09 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : Post 71.
Your lot will win. They have their backs to the wall.
SA by 11.
25 Nov 2010, 11:10 am
@poppa69(poppa69) : We will kick onto their back three who will run it back with support through our weak midfield and hey presto before we know it we are back in our 22 or behind our goalposts.
25 Nov 2010, 11:12 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : nah, like the ABs, your forwards will as Cane says above, have their backs to the wall (a good thing seeing as Dorff is around
) and will be the difference…
25 Nov 2010, 11:14 am
@Dawn(Dawn) :
unlike the BMW.
the cougar’s choice.
25 Nov 2010, 11:16 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Most probably.
Did you see Real’s antics vs Ajax? Who is RM to compete with The Special One?
25 Nov 2010, 11:17 am
@gunther(gunther) : BMX only on this thread Grunter, no Penny Farthings allowed..
25 Nov 2010, 11:18 am
@Nils(Nils) :
Saw that guilty no doubt about it!
25 Nov 2010, 11:18 am
@Nils(Nils) : too busy enjoying Spurs win over Bremen myself..
25 Nov 2010, 11:23 am
@poppa69(poppa69) : There win over Arsenal was even better for us ManU fans.
My brother happens to be a big Spurs fan and shame he hasn’t had anything to smile about for years
25 Nov 2010, 11:25 am
@poppa69(poppa69) : @NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : I must admit that was an amazing piece of cheekiness, probably only this wile fox could plan it. Handshake said it all, it was carefully planned. On paper legally, it seems.
Shame, ref fell into this trap, I would like to see Mourinho’s face, if ref had given verbal lash only to both.
25 Nov 2010, 11:30 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : Ive loved spurs since the days of Steve Archibald, Ozzie Ardiles, Glen hoddle, Ray Clemence, Ricky Velia (sp?) still remember Velias two goals in the FA cup final during the falklands… wonderful goals too..
we had something to cheer about last year, making the champions league… and we’re going alright too at the moment…
25 Nov 2010, 12:01 pm
poppa69:
I see you’re a little sensitive to SBW criticism! Don’t you think the journalism re this guy is a bit overhyped! I.e. ‘The SBW show!!’ or ‘The next Lomu!!’ All I’ve seen him do is some decent offloads! Big deal!!
If you wan’t to compare him to Spies, then play him in the pack and we’ll see.
25 Nov 2010, 12:15 pm
@stand-off(Braders) : The big deal is from those offloads he splits the defence and they score tries – something Spies needs to learn !
25 Nov 2010, 12:18 pm
@stand-off(Braders) :
Pooper is more sensitive than a virgin’s cooter.
Be gentle.
25 Nov 2010, 12:46 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
And gunther is a v…………………..
25 Nov 2010, 12:49 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane) :
vegetarian?
25 Nov 2010, 12:53 pm
There’s a thought from the AB camp SBW may turn up in Super15 on the side of the scrum. He’s already played at No6 for Toulon. Anyway, did read earlier that having undergone speed and strength tests, the AB camp declared that SBW would be stronger and faster next year. Scary stuff!!!! Thought you had to have a licence for a lethal weapon
25 Nov 2010, 12:54 pm
@stand-off(Braders) : of course I do, but people writing him off after two games at this level? be thankful they arent your selectors, youd be going a lot worse… the guy has potential and is still a fair way off the finished article…
Ive seen SBW play league for a number of years, I can tell you he would put his body on the line, not sure the same can be said for Spies at times..
25 Nov 2010, 12:57 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane) : dont worry about grunter mate… small fry…
25 Nov 2010, 13:03 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) :
that’s the spirit pops.
still it was sweet of caner to stand up for you.
he clearly feels your pain.
by the way nobody was writing sonny off.
they were just querying the hype.
therein lies your problem.
whenever somebody disagrees with you, you assume the worst
25 Nov 2010, 13:15 pm
@gunther(gunther) : 97 it’s called being overly sensitive
especially after the banter unleashed by saffas after last year’s tri-nations…he’s like an abused victim now…
25 Nov 2010, 13:17 pm
@gunther(gunther) : 97. Now Poppa will never assume drunken AB supporters are a worse threat for the 2011 WC than Al Qaeda, like the NZ Police does…
AB rugby fans – as close as the great game of rugger has to soccer hooligans…
Seen it myself
25 Nov 2010, 13:19 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) :
quite right.
pooper makes an excellent victim
25 Nov 2010, 13:22 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler) : @ 3
Must say, its disappointing to see a Tickler Spelling Bee without the trademarked signature
If you can’t spell, you…..
Keep up your standards, Pilgrim.
25 Nov 2010, 13:24 pm
@gunther(gunther) : @ 20
BaXXies !
@gunther(cunther) :
We are all victims Gunner.
One way or another.
That’s what I was saying, Gunther is a victims cooler.
@Black Panther(Black Panther) :
these religious fundamentalists.
25 Nov 2010, 13:25 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : @ 27
Pervert, stop stalking the boy.
25 Nov 2010, 13:35 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) : @ 42
Pops
were you here the other day when the local blogger-poll (yes, you know who you are) asked the Question “which ABs would get in the Boks, in terms of talent” ? this on the rationale that the ABs are more the sum of their parts rather than a team of individual stars.
By the time they’d finished thinking it over, I think only Carter got in………
*phew* aye ? *phew*
Its the incredible depth of the Bok squad, y’see. Even the AB locks wouldnt get in any 1 of the SA14 squads, y’know. Its because NZ rugby is kuk, did y’hear.
Its been as long as 6 months since we heard all that.
And, yet, it almost seems like an eternity.
25 Nov 2010, 13:41 pm
Chaps, SBW is the business he just needs, the S15, game time will be critical plus coaching to fine tune a few aspects of his game. Richie McCaw is undoubtedly the best flanker on offer, no one comes close, no one. We also know that DC is the business, he display against Ireland was something to behold, I’ve not seen that since the days of Herschelle Gibbs at Bishops, just sublime and commanding. However, ABs need to bring back Nick Evans as number 2 to Carter, there’s really no one else at such short notice. Donald, well he just never was; Cruden is akin to Lambie, has no impact at international level but could come on later in his career; and Colin Slade after the WC he could develop into a revelation.
25 Nov 2010, 13:41 pm
@Nils(Nils) : @ 87
that was truly sickening. Football is awash in the sewer with blatant gamesmanship like that. Mourinho is an arrogant piece of merda, gutter scum ( and this from a lifelong Chelsea fan).
25 Nov 2010, 13:46 pm
@Qudeni(Qudeni) : @ 107
there was more than 1 “taxi for Donald !” sung out out Lansdowne Road on Saturday as he ran the touchline, of that I can assure you.
The ABs miss N.Evans as a no2-no10 than they do C.Hayman as a no1-no3.
25 Nov 2010, 13:50 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) : hehe I missed it
Only Carter?
gees, they were being generous that day huh?
thats ok though, what really hurts these guys is the fact that two NZ coaches are doing wondrous things in SA… so SA is just like the rest of the world and importing the Talent from NZ..
that says it all really dont you think?
25 Nov 2010, 13:55 pm
Transie, having an opinion of your own? what have they done with the real Tranny?
25 Nov 2010, 13:59 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) : Very true, they’ve done well to cover Hayman’s side of the front row.
25 Nov 2010, 14:02 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) :
My current favourite laugh is Boy Georges’ “Plum learnt all his rugby under McIntosh”, thereby meaning he’s not a Kiwi in rugby terms but is, in fact, a Natalian/Safa.
John Plumtree is not only born’n'bred Taranaki farmer stock, but also the product of NZ rugby having played for Southern (Hawera) from U6 to the Seniors; played for the Hawera High School 1st XV for 3 years; representing Taranaki Schools for 2 years; earned his blazer for Taranaki during 1985-89, 40 games in the NPC ; All Black Trialist.
Yep. Learnt ALL his rugby under the great Mac.
u-huh
ssssssssssure he did.
25 Nov 2010, 14:04 pm
slurp slurp slurp.
25 Nov 2010, 14:10 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) : let the old man have his moment, its all he can do to remain from being emasculated by the banshee… I see grunter hasnt had the correct dosage, slobbering everywhere
25 Nov 2010, 14:13 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) : I can’t help it.
25 Nov 2010, 14:17 pm
@Qudeni(Qudeni) : Agreed but i think Evans is definately out of favour
25 Nov 2010, 14:34 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : @ 116
Neither can my wife.
Over the weekend, the local Dublin lasses asked us if we “knew Dan Carter ?, on the presumption we all ‘know’ each other (only half-true). They reckoned “he’s smokin’”, which was pretty much his form on the pitch too. Wow, he’s majestic this tour.
25 Nov 2010, 15:11 pm
@stew(stew) : I don’t think Henry likes him much, what a waste, the Boks should talk to him that’s the type of flyhalf the Boks require, can run, kick both out of hand and still ball, beautiful hands, an immense acceleration.
25 Nov 2010, 15:12 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) :
Dan is a total hottie.
26 Nov 2010, 00:42 am
Grunter, Miss-Information (HG).. TrannyNation
the only victim this year has been rugby whenever the Boks have run on to the field..
i weep for the game every time I see a team look as bewildered as the Bokke when they get that oval ball in their hands, they seem scared so try to boot it as far away as possible..
Springboks in headlights anyone?
26 Nov 2010, 07:37 am
I weep for the game
You sanctimonious tosser.
You are trying far too hard
26 Nov 2010, 08:42 am
It’s business as usual. The All Blacks are sublime 1 year out from a World cup. There is such a psychological advantage they have over the NH. The Scots were beaten mentally before the kick off. The 49 points was just details, and Ireland were mentally comfortable with a brave loss and some positives to talk about. Heaven help Wales on Sat.
RE: The World Cup. This all seems so familiar. Australia and England heading towards a peak 1 year away, and South Africa erratic and stuck in a deep trough. (The boks used to have the same aura as the AB’s but some rubbish teamwork, management and coaching is the bain of SA rugby.)
Let’s hope the AB pattern of peaking too early holds true and Graham Henry’s demons come back to haunt him come Sept/Oct next year
26 Nov 2010, 12:28 pm
Is it just me or has anyone else spotted the similarities btw SBW and Spies? Both big, athletic, fast fellows. Couldn’t PS be coached/retreaded as a centre and be just as devastating as SBW in the midfield. He would need a proper coach, however…!
26 Nov 2010, 12:31 pm
@Travel Guy(Travel Guy) :
Yes, it’s just you.
26 Nov 2010, 12:35 pm
@Travel Guy(Travel Guy) : The Maori sleeve on both their right arms??
Their recent transition from league to union??
I give up. What’s the similarities?