Saru changes policy on Maori

Saru has reversed its policy on the New Zealand Maori meaning fixtures between the Springboks and the Maori could take place in future.

Earlier this year, Saru president Regan Hoskins issued a formal apology to Maori players who were excluded from South African tours during apartheid. A number of Maori players became victims of the racist ideology of South Africa’s former government and were denied an opportunity to represent the All Blacks in South Africa.

This apology came after speculation of a Springboks vs NZ Maori match to mark the latter’s centenary. The match was originally scheduled as part of the Springbok warm-ups ahead of the 2009 British & Irish Lions tour but called off when Saru deemed the Maori a team selected along racial lines which conflicts with the South African constitution.

While the 2009 and 2010 opportunities have passed, there will be an opportunity for a match-up in the near future.

‘Saru held its last General Council meeting for the year on Friday in Newlands. The Council agreed to adopt the policy pertaining to the New Zealand Maori, which now paves the way for matches between South African teams and the Maoris,’ a statement read.

‘South Africa will play against any team which has the official blessing of its national governing body,’ added Hoskins.

Other outcomes of this meeting saw Gary Meyer of the KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union elected as an Executive Council member. He replaces Francois Davids who resigned earlier this year.

Saru CEO Jurie Roux was also elected to accompany Hoskins as the Saru representatives to the IRB, while Dawie Groenewald is the new Saru representative to the Confederation of African Rugby.

243 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

• 201.cab: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy :
    good, there is nothing worse imo.

• 202.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo :

“In other words delusions of grandeur to its absolute illogical insanity.”

skop
    reflecting
    inwards

• 203.cab: Reply to this comment

200 Ou Doos, but its not the scientists who claim absolutism, its the great seers and spiritualists and religious. I will tell you right now I dont believe anything is absolute. Its you lot that are so certain and sure of it all. Based on what?

• 204.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

As usual on this site, the opinions are polarised quite “absolutely”. Which is usually what draws me here, day after day. I often learn something, even if I don’t always agree. Tonight, not so much. :) On that note I bid you all good night, and happy debating.

• 205.cab: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy :
    goodnight

• 206.No7: Reply to this comment

Live with a medicinal herbalist, totally ignored the mumbo jumbo until the medical profession couldn’t be of any help to me – at all.
    So had to fall under the spell of (grrrr) the ‘green witch.’
    Cured, but sceptical

• 207.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

@katman : Do you concur that Hippocrates or Apollo knew wtf they were on about?

Ayuvedic medicine is proven scientific systems of healing and medicine utilizing cures and treatments way beyond the knowledge of modern medicine, and homeopathy is also a system that utilizes forces within nature that modern medicine has yet to become compatible with, yet the principles within the healing methods work due to the potency derived from the power within minimal doses of dilution creating anti combatants to the disease in similar fashion to the way snake serum works, that is similar potions of the disease itself in diluted form combats the prevalent disease within the patient.

• 208.JL1: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : We a mere specs in a bigger picture

• 209.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

@JL1 : correct again

and the scientists are racking their brains to come to terms with the big bang picture they cannot even begin to comprehend.

• 210.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@JL1 :

“We a mere specs in a bigger picture”

we are
    skop

• 211.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@cab : The intent doesn’t matter. Only the outcome matters.

Just like “affirmative action” or “quotas” — they are racially-discriminatory and therefore they’re wrong. Non-racial merit is the only moral option when it comes to selection.

• 212.cab: Reply to this comment

janee the horsemanure on here tonight is off the charts.

ok Tackler and Ou Doos you win, believe what you must.

• 213.JL1: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : I think they have adjusted the earth age 20 times in last 1o years and were caught out dozens of times lying about so called new evidence found

• 214.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

Actually I don’t by into any method of medicine or curing much, I’m with Socrates here who I think it was who said Know Thyself, and was JC who inferred ‘Physician heal thyself’

• 215.JL1: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : This in particular I find quite amusing:

NASA’s Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) project’s seven-year data release in 2010 estimated the age of the universe to be 1.375±0.011×1010 years (13.75 billion years old, with an uncertainty of plus or minus 110 million years).

bwhahahahaha, give or take 110 millions years, now that is funny!

However, this age is based on the assumption that the project’s underlying model is correct; other methods of estimating the age of the universe could give different ages. Assuming an extra background of relativistic particles, for example, can enlarge the error bars of the WMAP constraint by one order of magnitude.

• 216.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

@JL1 : thing is they won’t ever really know, but at least one can credit them for dying while trying, or trying while dying.

Tackler we not really interested in your black and white checkers game, its actually been check mate a whole long time ago already but you weren’t even aware of it.

• 217.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

Eish, lotsa bulldust superstitious nonsense being thrown about here…

Heck, a real fool manages to dispute the logic of… logic??? WTF!!?

The God that we get here is rather like the God from the old Bolshevik joke about a communist propagandist who, after his death, finds himself in hell, where he quickly convinces the guards to let him leave and go to heaven. When the devil notices his absence, he pays a visit to God, demanding that He return to hell what belongs to Satan. However, as soon as he addresses God as “my Lord”, God interrupts him: “First, I am not ‘Lord’, but a comrade. Second, are you crazy, talking to fictions? I don’t exist! And third, be short — otherwise, I’ll miss my party cell meeting!

Slavoj Zizek

• 218.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

To you farking bullshitters on the looney left:

I believe in clear-cut positions. I think that the most arrogant position is this apparent, multidisciplinary modesty of “what I am saying now is not unconditional, it is just a hypothesis,” and so on. It really is a most arrogant position. I think that the only way to be honest and expose yourself to criticism is to state clearly and dogmatically where you are. You must take the risk and have a position.

With Lenin it was always a substantial commitment. I always have a certain admiration for people who are aware that somebody has to do the job. What I hate about these liberal, pseudo-left, beautiful soul academics is that they are doing what they are doing fully aware that somebody else will do the job for them.

Slavoj Žižek.

• 219.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

@JL1 : these numbers will keep changing, like words and syllables, numbers are mere speculative inaccurate methods by which human intellect tries to come to terms with relative deduction

there is nothing certain within random speculation, one can speculate and gesticulate and correlate ones theoretical findings till doomsday it won’t ever paint the true perspective picture

Same as Tackler sees morality from one perspective and somebody else might see it from another, both lenses are blurred and inaccurate

Only absolute reality is absolute, all other relative inaccuracies are mere speculations and lead man from one pillar to the next post in search of some vague conclusiveness.

• 220.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

seems like you up this schizo Croats @ss worse than any Bolshevik or guru worshiper could ever be.

be your own man with your own conclusions or you need this hypothetical pseudo philosopher to make your deductions or think your thoughts for you.

• 221.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

And that’s the paradox of cinema, the paradox of belief. We don’t simply believe or do not believe. We always believe in a kind of conditional mode. I know very well it’s a fake but, nonetheless, I let myself be emotionally effected.

Slavoj Žižek.

• 222.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

My relationship towards tulips is inherently Lynchian. I think they are disgusting. Just imagine. Aren’t these some kind of, how do you call it, vag.ina dentata, dental vag.inas threatening to swallow you? I think that flowers are something inherently disgusting. I mean, are people aware what a horrible thing these flowers are? I mean, basically it’s an open invitation to all insects and bees, “Come and sc.rew me,” you know? I think that flowers should be forbidden to children.

Slavoj Zizek – The Elvis Presley of Philosophers

• 223.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

whats so logical about your emphatic lack of logic?

so called logic is never conclusive only subjective, we can go round in circles forever not even an iota of relevance will be affirmed one way or the other, logically or illogically, subjectively and speculatively, never arriving at anything conclusively simply logically denouncing any absolute lack of any real knowledge.

• 224.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

your Elvis Presley of philosophers is screwed in the head, no question, just another pseudo fool thinking the sun shines from out his own deluded arsehole, idiot supreme.

• 225.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

True experience, not fantasy – reality, not lies – is what saves us in the end.

• 226.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : So, a whites-only SA team is hunky-dory then?

Say it out aloud.

Be consistent.

• 227.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

W]hether or not we know this, whether or not we like it, that puts us in a moral relationship with the thing we came from, too, whether that’s God or whether it’s nature. The God stories go on to make this quite explicit: do this, believe that. The stories of science have moral consequences too, but they convey them more subtly, by implication; we might say more democratically. They depend on our contribution, on our making the effort to understand and concur.

The implication is that true stories are worth telling, and worth getting right, and we have to behave honestly towards them and to the process of doing science in the first place. It’s only through honesty and courage that science can work at all. The Ptolemaic understanding of the solar system was undermined and corrected by the constant pressure of more and more honest reporting: “Yes, we know the planets are supposed to go round the earth in perfect circles, but really, if you look, you don’t see that. You see this instead. Now why do you think that could be? What’s actually going on up there?”

Philip Pullman

• 228.cab: Reply to this comment

slavoj is a pretentious continental slovac shockjock, he’s more hypoccritical and flip-flip then those you decry – u want clear-thinking done by someone else, go for the tried and tested mad as a hatter berty the bullshitter russell, right up until Godel put his logic into a flat spin. Or else da austrian fellas in your field hayek, schumpeter, etc – who much less showy and much more interesting.

the good news is you seem to be supporting WP, we need to get a message to Grant, tho just dont mention the speedos.

• 229.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

So basically you fools who deny logic, rationalism and science do not “report honestly”…

In effect, not only are you lying to yourself, but to others too…With your unmitigated bullshit!

• 230.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

@cab : 228. Yeah you right about Gwantie… I am missing him and Mini-me’s bulldust hypocrisy…

Not so many hypocrites around Keo anymore, other than the odd Kiwi – when not blowing a fuse… There are a higher proportion of superstitious eedjits though…

• 231.cab: Reply to this comment

@WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883 :
    yip they obviously had enough of us and relaxing in the tub together.

• 232.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

@cab : Ja but Zizek is THE modern philosophical authority on subjectivity… An interesting bugger bar none who applies a good mix of “unfashionable” standpoints to modern questions or ways of thinking…

He unusually uses commentary on cinema to make a broader point on different issues…

A sort of Hegelian/Marxist/phsycoanalytical/philosopher… A modern day, unpretentious genius…

• 233.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

@cab : LOL, in their speedos… Rub a dub dub…

• 234.cab: Reply to this comment

@WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883 :
    hehe, night night

PS: when is it my turn to name you? I’ve got a cracker in store.

• 235.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

You okes with your flat earth good vibrations philosophy… You living in the wrong time… You need to be living in an era when these fantasmagorical medical methods
    - all contributed to half the life expectancy of modern day more developed societies – (i.e Visualise something like Zimbabwe or DRC – lots of ayurvedic style mumbo medicine there)
    - where they do a great job of preventing the plague, malaria, polio etc… Yeah, all them good vibrations have really been successful

Real Doctor Fred Flintstone stuff there, hey….

• 236.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

@cab : 234 Next week. Monday.

• 237.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

If you serious about wanting to know the secret of the universe or the secret of yourself then find the correct avenue where you might find it.

No amount of intellectual speculation or reading one mans pseudo philosophical bunkum juxtaposed by another’s or comparing notes and deducing by inaccurate methods of speculative reasoning will bring you anywhere near to know reality from fallacy.

In short the intellect is a blunt tool of limited capacity, it cannot deduce reality as its frame of inaccurate deduction falls short of the spectrum where reality even begins.

Intellect can never know truth from illusion, it is based and steeped within the very illusion it seeks to unfold.

You cannot go to Jupiter or Mars by way of a bob sled pulled by a team of Huskies. If you sincerely in earnest search of truth or reality then seek out the means by which it is achievable, otherwise continue churning water in the hope to get goats cheese. It simply is neither feasible nor possible and is fundamentally a simple waste of time.

In fact its a pretense and a posturing of presumptuous non reasoning, because it is in no way sincere in its desire to know truth from illusion, it is quite satisfied within the delusion it holds as fictitiously real.

• 238.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : Naah.

• 239.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

84. TheTackler :
    You appear to be one sick puppy. Just for your edification and joy, I by my patronym am classified as “aboriginal Shetland”.

• 240.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Bludeks : Hmmm? Naaah.

• 241.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

240. TheTackler
    Hmmmph? Jaaah!

• 242.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Ehhh…

• 243.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

It would be a shame if Tickler let his Special Project die out limply on that flaccid note.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.