Getting serious about sevens
9 Dec 2010
SIMON BORCHARDT says sevens will never matter to the majority of South African rugby fans as long as the national team is made up of high-school graduates and provincial rejects.
A week ago, a poll on keo.co.za asked: ‘Do you care about the IRB Sevens World Series?’ Of the 994 readers who voted over the next two days, 71% said no.
That didn’t surprise me. After all, why should fans care about a tournament that doesn’t involve top-quality players?
In a recent interview with SA Rugby magazine, Bok Sevens coach Paul Treu told the story of a meeting he had with Rassie Erasmus about calling up two WP U21 players to the sevens squad. Erasmus turned down the request, saying there was a chance they’d be needed in Super Rugby.
You have to feel sorry for Treu. He cannot select any contracted provincial player without the permission of the province, and is forced to rely on youngsters who aren’t yet ready to play professional rugby or older guys who can no longer command a starting place at their unions.
I don’t buy the argument that our sevens players want to be sevens specialists because they prefer the format to 15-man rugby. When Fabian Juries, a sevens legend, was offered a contract with the Cheetahs, he didn’t hesitate to put pen to paper. Ex-SA Sevens captain Mzwandile Stick did the same when Eastern Province – a First Division Currie Cup team – came calling. In this country, representing the national sevens side is a consolation prize and nothing more.
That would change, though, if Treu was allowed to pick Vodacom Cup players for the Sevens World Series and Saru paid those unions compensation. How can a B-grade provincial competition that nobody cares about be a higher priority than an international series?
Treu should also be allowed to pick two or three Boks for the South African leg of the World Series in December. If the event is moved from George to PE or Cape Town next year, the organisers will have to attract crowds of 45,000 a day – not just 8,000 – and will therefore need crowd pullers like Gio Aplon and Ryan Kankowski (two former sevens players who have gone on to bigger and better things).
Before I get an e-mail from Prof Tim Noakes about burnout, Treu obviously wouldn’t be allowed to pick someone who’s played more than 1,400 minutes that season and desperately needs a break. Those who are selected would only play a maximum of 90 minutes of sevens rugby if South Africa reached the final, and sevens is obviously a lot less physical than the 15-man game.
Getting top-quality players (provincial and Boks) involved in the Sevens World Series from the 2011-12 season would make it that much easier for them to be brought into an Olympic Games squad that can realistically expect to win a gold medal in 2016.
Yes, sevens is a lot of fun, but it’s time we got serious about it.

194 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
10 Dec 2010, 11:37 am
@gunther : Nope. Met them. Count Augusta is basically Italian Aristocricy. Vito is alledgedly the “banker” (as he likes to refer to himself) to many of the “connected” guys.
I believe that Riccardo (Count) bought his Franschoek estate from Roberto (Vito) who is a close friend and “advisor”
It all gets a bit confusing after a while though.
10 Dec 2010, 11:50 am
@gunther : did i at any point make you believe that i was saying sa law is good?
10 Dec 2010, 11:51 am
@stormersboy :
I met Palazzolo years ago through a friend who srtangely enough is no longer around
you are quite a shady phucker.
boerewors mafia
10 Dec 2010, 11:52 am
I may get flak for this but part of me feels sorry for the guy doing 18 years (Tongo). He committed a crime but a couple of weeks ago he was just a driver. The lure of quick money has taken him away from family etc.Believe in ‘Do the crime, do the time’ but just seems that he got suckered.
10 Dec 2010, 11:56 am
@Transformation :
jeez transie.
if you have a point to make go ahead and make it
10 Dec 2010, 11:59 am
@gunther : your feigned exasperation is amusing
10 Dec 2010, 12:04 pm
@Transformation :
just tell us what you are trying to say
you are worse than maevis when it comes to beating around the thorn bush.
10 Dec 2010, 12:04 pm
@gunther : 103 You have no idea….Be afraid…Be very afraid….
10 Dec 2010, 12:14 pm
@gunther : move on, cos i have
10 Dec 2010, 12:15 pm
Ok I see I just killed the thread here. Sorry okes. Come back please. I didn’t mean to frighten you away…..(except you Skop)
……guys?……
10 Dec 2010, 12:17 pm
@Transformation : I must say, I’ve noticed your posts getting a little more, well, (how shall say this without offending you because I always enjoy our banter..)”testy” of late?
End of a long year?
10 Dec 2010, 12:23 pm
@stormersboy : hehehe me, “testy”? figment of your imagination
i like to crank it up a notch sometimes, otherwise no crotchetiness from my side.
10 Dec 2010, 12:29 pm
@Transformation : OK. Carry on as usual then….
10 Dec 2010, 12:34 pm
@gunther :
at least when Maevis starts going like you I know she is going somewhere…
like leading up to an interest free capital repayment optional indefinite term loan.
you on the other hand are just being an agent.
10 Dec 2010, 12:35 pm
I do hope Lions get Butch James and Frans Steyn, some super 15 franchise should get BJ Botha back as ap as well…
Butch my best 10 in SA….will get that sterile bacline firing.
Going to be a uge super 15, almost every SA game doubling up as mini trials.
Will be very interesting with players like A Bekker, Juandre Kruger, Brussow back. The competetion for places going to be huge….Flip VD Merwe, D Rossouw…
Going to be some very sad palyers when wc squad announced.
So bloody busy but managed to get in my post.
10 Dec 2010, 12:37 pm
@grant10 : They already know who the squad is. The only changes will be injury enforced.
But that’s just my opinion mind you…..
10 Dec 2010, 12:39 pm
@grant10 : 115 – Howzit Grant, Good to see you back here.
Agree, said something similar on SW this morning. Rather have them both back here in South Africa playing their rugby no matter which union gets them, than having them play their rugby overseas.
10 Dec 2010, 12:40 pm
@stormersboy :
don’t burst his bubble.
he is happy. that’s all we want for him.
10 Dec 2010, 12:41 pm
@stormersboy : you probably right.
Not the best way to go about it in my opinion.
Keep the hunger i say….the desire….
But yeah, lets wait and see.
10 Dec 2010, 12:41 pm
@stormersboy : 116 – Howzit Stormer, How you doing buddy? You not going away for Christmas Holidays?
10 Dec 2010, 12:43 pm
@Puma : @grant10 : IMO Frans needs to get back to SA in order to get back up to speed and in shape. He’s not living up to his potential in France, doing us and him no good.
Butch, well, as I’ve always said, I’m a big fan. The key is to keep him injury free.
I personally think he should think of SA first instead of all this nasty “Money business” and come to WP. That way we’ll be able to give him a year with JDV, JF and Brian. Perfect leading up to the WC.
10 Dec 2010, 12:45 pm
@Puma : hi Puma.
ja….rather get the players back from overseas than rape and pillage between the sa franchises.
That bok c squad very difficult to choose….i feel a lot of rugby to be played still…..but hell man we can put an awesome team together, especially forwards.
Just need pdv to get some help with the bok backs….we seem clueless on attack….if we get that right i fully believe we can win the damn thing again…..that bok pack will take any pack apart if they fired up and chosen with merit as opposed to sentiment.That forward pack performance against poms was ruthless…i was very impressed.
Gotta run
Cheers Puma and all.
10 Dec 2010, 12:45 pm
@grant10 : where will elton & burton play if butch is back?
10 Dec 2010, 12:46 pm
@Puma : 120 I’m good thanks Puma. I’ll take the family away to the “Stormersboy family compound” (as Gunther put it a while ago)by the sea for a week or two after the Christmas duties are over..Lots to do before then but I love this time of year. Great vibe to it.
You going anywhere?
10 Dec 2010, 12:47 pm
@stormersboy : if butch signs for stormers i would buy a season ticket! Great player!
Cheers mate….this Findex absa got me running….very exciting, but hard work.
10 Dec 2010, 12:48 pm
@Transformation : lots of rugby to be played…need large squads…
@stormersboy : 121 – Stormer,
Yeah for sure we need Fransie back right here in SA. I would really love to see him back at the Sharks, but really doubt that will ever happen. So do hope Lions get it right and get him back home. Also good to have Butchie back, but he will be short term for Lions, probably coming from the bench. Jantjies is there top fh, but long season next year and Butch will be great for them.
Will Bath and Metro release both early from their contracts? That could be a problem, but money talks. Lions have the cash to buy both our of those contracts and I personally hope to see them both back here in SA where they should be. Especially Fransie as he is still only 23. Should never have left so young.
@stormersboy :
the french croissant industry will go on strike if frankie steyn leaves.
10 Dec 2010, 12:49 pm
@grant10 : How do you fit into the whole scheme of things? Drop me a line on my mail when you get a mo, ok? (any address will do lol)
Cheers G
10 Dec 2010, 12:50 pm
@grant10 : merit?, meaning John Smit nowhere near the staring 15?
10 Dec 2010, 12:51 pm
@XhosaKid :
Hawu
10 Dec 2010, 12:52 pm
@grant10 : 122 – Grant, With you on that. We must get our players back here. Hope Lions get it right and get both back.
Agree we need some help coaching wise for our Boks backs. Hope they get someone.
10 Dec 2010, 12:52 pm
i’d also love to see francois back just to see how nonsense he is every weekend
10 Dec 2010, 12:53 pm
@grant10 : Post 126.
Good to see you back.
These Okes been missing you. All and sundry asking where the fook is the ******* grant.
10 Dec 2010, 12:53 pm
@XhosaKid : merit meaning daddy and his mates cant force your selection
10 Dec 2010, 12:54 pm
ja, welcome back grant
10 Dec 2010, 12:55 pm
@Transformation : hehe, fransie is nonsense?
what you have in your pants is nonsense
10 Dec 2010, 12:57 pm
@XhosaKid : this rangerman guy thinks you’re an inherent liar! nc nc nc ifuna nje amadlwabevu nje ayi-two!
10 Dec 2010, 12:57 pm
so 1685 people reckon sevens should stay in george.
289 reckon it should be moved to the cape to a stadium that costs 49 mil a year to upkeep?
are the capetonians sleeping off a hangover or what?
10 Dec 2010, 12:58 pm
@rangerman : merit is plod being picked before bissie for his “aura”
10 Dec 2010, 12:59 pm
@Transformation :
so my explanation didnt hold any water or is it just that you feel like being dishonest today transie?
10 Dec 2010, 12:59 pm
@stormersboy : 124 – Enjoy it Stormer, Good to get away for a bit.
Nah, not going anywhere this time of year.
Vibe great here too. Love it this time of year, though very crowded now in Umhlanga with all the holiday makers, no doubt will get even more crowded next week.
10 Dec 2010, 13:00 pm
@Transformation : bissie is outstanding after his break.
juan smith and bakkies too.
imagine how the rest will do after just such a break?
10 Dec 2010, 13:01 pm
@Transformation : Not to worry Transie, Victor Matfield has signaled his ambition of winning the WC as a Captain, the biggest controversy in 2011 will be Matfield’s ambition to lead the boks in their defense of the World Cup
10 Dec 2010, 13:02 pm
@rangerman : 141 according to you i’m genetically prone to it, so why disappoint you?
10 Dec 2010, 13:03 pm
@Puma : howdy puma.
ja, umhlanga gets crazy at this time of year.
i am off to CT for Christmas to visit the in-laws and a week in sodwana in jan.
i must say, getting from the gateway/ridge area down to the village is a nightmare at this time of year. reminds me why i live in durbs though because parts of jozi are like this all year.
10 Dec 2010, 13:04 pm
@Transformation : you are doing this to yourself transie.
a tragedy.
the legacy of apartheid i presume?
10 Dec 2010, 13:04 pm
@XhosaKid : 144 quite right! Big Vic must solidify his legacy
10 Dec 2010, 13:06 pm
@XhosaKid : where did Vic say that?
interesting.
cant rule it out i suppose but his lack of ability to focus the troops and change game plans in any of the end of year tour games rules him out imo.
his visible impatience with the refs was just as bad.
10 Dec 2010, 13:07 pm
has there been any news on the censure handed out to bjorn basson and chili?
hope they dont get nailed as apparently the substance will be downgraded in terms of censure in jan.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All