Kiwis rule in George

Tomasi Cama kicked an injury-time penalty goal to secure New Zealand a 22-19 victory over England in the cup final while the Blitzboks claimed the plate prize at the George Sevens.

It was a thrilling finish to a highly-entertaining cup final. England and a six-man New Zealand side were deadlocked at 19-19 in the closing stages until the latter were awarded a penalty in a kickable position. Cama, who impressed with the boot throughout the tournament, stepped up and slotted the kick from the 22m line to claim the win.

England only have themselves to be blame as they were 14-5 up at half-time. Ben Gollings and James Rodwell crossed the chalk for the Dubai winners while Declan O’Donnell opened the scoring for New Zealand.

Then came the Kiwi comeback. DJ Forbes finished off a counter attack from New Zealand’s red zone before setting up Tim Mickleson in the corner for a 19-14 lead. Former Bishops and UCT student Matt Turner then came on as a super sub to score a great inidividual try to level the scores. New Zealand were dealt a further blow as Bryce Heem was sent off for punching. However, four minutes after the final hooter, Cama’s boot clinched victory and New Zealand’s fifth tournament win in George.

The Springbok Sevens had to settle for the plate title as they beat Argentina 10-5 in the final after a poor run on day two.

The Blitzboks lacked direction on attack without their talisman Cecil Afrika, who had to withdraw from the final clash because of injury. They had several opportunities early in the first half but poor decision-making denied them the lead. After the fifth visit to Argentina’s red zone, Bernado Botha eventually dived in at the corner as he gathered Branco du Preez’s chip ahead for a 5-0 lead at the break.

Argentina levelled the scores as Diego Palma exposed the Blitzboks’ defence out wide, but Franki Horn sealed the win for South Africa after finishing off a set piece move in the dying moments.

The win gave some joy for the home fans, who had to witness a poor day two for the Blitzboks in what should be the final sevens tournament hosted in George (Cape Town and PE are tipped to be the next hosts of the South African leg next season as George’s contract rights expire next year). However, head coach Paul Treu and his team shouldn’t celebrate this victory as it is just a consolation prize. All it confirms is fifth place. South Africa have a lot of work to do ahead of the next tournament, the Wellington Sevens in New Zealand, on 4 and 5 February if they want to improve.

Earlier in the day in the plate semi-final, Cecil Afrika scored a last-minute try to help the Springbok Sevens to a 24-21 win over Wales.

When Aaron Shingler crossed the chalk to put Wales 21-17 ahead with 30 seconds left in the match, it seemed that the Blitzboks would suffer their worst ever finish at a tournament on home soil. However, from the final kickoff, South Africa never gave up and an impressive team effort saw Afrika score in the corner to steal the win from the defending Sevens World Cup champions.

Afrika opened the scoring for the host team before Wales went ahead through a converted try. The Blitzboks had a 10-7 lead at break as Afrika grabbed a brace for the final move of the first half.

Wales were the better team in the second half as they had the upper hand at the tackle points and enjoyed most of the possession. This eventually saw Richard Pugh dive under the posts to put Wales ahead. The Blitzboks hit back through Kyle Brown but conceded a late try which almost cost them the game. However, Afrika completed his hat-trick and converted the final try for the win.

In their first match on day two, the Springbok Sevens were knocked out of the cup section after a 19-10 defeat against England.

The Blitzboks started the quarter-final clash well and led 10-5 at half-time, but a poor second half display saw them fail to score a point after the break as England rallied to victory through two late tries. Head coach Paul Treu will lament his player’s poor defence towards the end of the match as slipped tackles cost them the game while they became static with ball in hand and failed to convert their scoring opportunities.

This wasn’t the case in the first stanza as the Blitzboks delivered an impressive all-round performance. Cecil Afrika opened the scoring after sniping a gap out wide. England capitalised on South Africa’s only mistake in the first half, failing to retain possession at the tackle point on halfway, to see John Brake run clear down the touchline to level the scores.

From the resulting restart, Afrika almost fumbled the ball deep in his red zone but gathered possession and broke into England’s territory with 50m run. The Blitzboks spread play wide and Bernado Botha finished off a good piece of attacking play.

However, it was all England after the break. Speedster Dan Norton should’ve scored early but knocked on the ball with a clear path to the try line ahead of him. It didn’t matter though as Isoa Damu dotted down and Brake completed his brace in the last two minutes of the match to seal victory.

Blitzboks’ results:
Cup quarter-final – SA 10 England 19
Plate semi-final – SA 24 Wales 21
Plate final – SA 10 Argentina 5

For all results click here

167 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

tried to do a wc 30 squad….damn dificult….

• 2.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@grant10 :

Hoezit Grant10?

• 3.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Whatsup with the Poms and their orange (7s) and purple (15s) jerseys?

They look Ridiculous! Wannabees!

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua : howzit my man….

Let me have a go at a wc 2011 bok squad before heading out for the day …

Subjext to form and full fitness….if i was the oke tasked to do the job….my squad would be ….and heavens above it is so damn tough ….but here goes.

First….i am a firm believer in specialists…..

second i am a firm believer in balanced loose trios…..and always believe a fetcher is non negotiable.

Okay….here goes .

15….F Steyn…..15 P Lambie

14 JP Pietersen….Gio Aplon

13 J Fourie….A Jacobs

12 J De Villiers…J De Jongh

11 B Habana…L Mvovo

10 B James….M Steyn

9 FDP….r pIENAAR

8 p spies…w alberts

7 j smith…s burger

6 brussel sprout …steggmann

5 matfield [ capt ] …A Bekker

4 bakkies…D Rossouw

3 Jannie Dup….CJ VD LINDE

2 king bissy….chilliboy

1 guthro….beast…

Of course there is plenty of rugby to be played still….and not sure about the doping charge with Chilliboy. If he goes down i would look at Maku or Gary Botha.

Why not Smit?

Well he doesent make the starting line up…..and i do not fancy the complications of entrusting the captaincy to matfield with smit staring over his shoulder.

I have learned a long time ago….as in the Highlander tv series….’ there can only be 1 ‘….and matfield would need that confidence shown in him.

Really tough on players like BJ BOtha, F Hougaard, R Januarie, the young flip vd merwe, ….but the players chosen are experienced, specialists and even the couple of youngsters like mvovo and lambie have shown they are capable of standing up to the big time.

Okay….

• 5.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Im orait

I would rather include FLO instead of Stegman, cause Steggies went missing on the Tour

FLO had to play against the two top fetcher (Richie and Pocock)

He wouldve improved if Pdivvy just selected him

• 6.Seven: Reply to this comment

wow could actually agree with grant for once…

except no room for stegman, flo,potgieter,vermeulen,deysel,burger all ahead of him, he did nothing on this end of year tour and got thrown around…

also your bias against smit is ridiculous, he would surely be a better safety net than chilli

• 7.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Seven : actually no grant…

bj should be there ahead of jannie if not definately

hougard should probably be in the top 30 albeit for jacobs

• 8.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

The team has bulked up a bit by bringing in a few boertjies. The quotas however still can`t tackle. Get rid of the useless lot ie. Delport, etc.

• 9.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Seven :
    Jannie has improved tremendously this year. No doubt he was the no. 1 TH in SA in 2010. That doesn’t mean that he is great, it just says a lot about the quality, or lack thereof, of the TH’s we have in the country.

BJ has done nothing in the chances he got this year to warrant a place in the squad for the WC next year.

• 10.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Lot’s of Maoris in the crowd today They must have chartered a few 747′s from er, Cape Town…

• 11.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

Ya. The quarterfinals are the highest level the Blitzbokke will reach for the next while. Everyone else seems able to surge when one is needed, while our boys seem to not have that killer gear.

• 12.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Seven : #7
    Jannie was the best TH in SA this year. He improved tremendously compared to last year. That does not mean that he is great. It says more about the quality, or lack thereof, of the TH’s we have in the country.

BJ has done nothing this year in the chances he got to warrant a place in the squad for the WC next year.

• 13.nama1: Reply to this comment

Gremlins at work wrt post 9 & 12.

Sorry.

Time for a new 7′s coach. I don’t think Treu can take this team much further.

Get Carel Dup or even Slaptjips in. I think either of them will do well as 7′s coach

• 14.Seven: Reply to this comment

@BishopsOD : average players, the majority who will never really make it in super 15

• 15.Seven: Reply to this comment

@nama1 : lol ok, not much competition in tightheads, all average but bj is special with mobility and strength and ability at rucks and most importantly scrumming like a rock.

jannie is always got something else on his mind and cj is good without being consistent

• 16.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

Well no one listens do they. Why don’t The men in power install Wikus van de merwe as captain, find The most athletic prawns in district 9 and get them in The team,The blitzboks Are going nowhere at The moment and Wikus will add some much needed nouse to the set up….. But no The bigoted men in power can’t get passed there racist outlook on The prawn community…anyway i will keep championing The cause

• 17.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

You can only afford maybe one light arse in your 7`s team.

• 18.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Seven : 15
    I think Jannie’s problem is that he wants to play like his brother. Probably a bit jealous that his laaitie boet gets all the limelight. :lol:

If he just concentrate on the basics of TH play, and leave the other stuff for his brother who is obviously more talented than him, he can become even better.

• 19.Seven: Reply to this comment

possibly…i mean he’s certainly good enough, just needs to become a dominating force at th and not just an average building block

• 20.Seven: Reply to this comment

a decent blitznok team

kyle brown
    francois louw
    ryan kankowski

conrad hoffman

elton jantjies
    fabian juries
    cecil afrika

• 21.Seven: Reply to this comment

maybe that mjekevu who moved from the lions, my soul there are better rugby players in south africa, at least for the first few rounds…

• 22.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

If sevens was taken seriously eg If sevens were in the next Olympics 2012. I would pick a big and fast sevens side.
    Prime Selection criteria: Speed + Size (exception being Juries + Sithole + Afrika + Horne + Delport – best of the sevens bunch)

Spies
    Horne
    Kankowski

Hougaard
    Afrika
    Juries
    Mapoe

JPP
    Andries Bekker
    Sithole
    Van der Heever
    Delport

Then you would see action!

• 23.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

This Paul Treu has done his time. Sevens needs another chap in charge. Treu is SA’s Mr 7′s but clearly his vision is limited…

• 24.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter : 16. Classy, Poppa…

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883 : you know sibusiso sithole is my nephew?

• 26.WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : 25. He runs fast, so that makes sense :lol:

In all seriousness, I think he’s a good player. Seems to have faded out of the limelight. Was he injured?

• 27.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Those SA All Black supporters are a classy bunch (not) .

Our guys were makeing their way off the field after the pom game when the SA AB supports started shouting insults and swearing at them.

• 28.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Love the poms new rugby kit, them and Stade France (sp) have best looking kit.

• 29.ufo: Reply to this comment

Hey Guys…

I haven’t posted in a while… but must do so to pass on some sad news…

poet and musician Michael Copley… better known to you all as Jinx… had just died…

He was a gentle and deeply, profoundly talented and caring soul…

May he rest in peace…!

Cheers Mick

• 30.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@ufo :

That is just sad. Never met the guy.

But his posts were always upbeat and entertaining.

RIP, my friend.

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WESTERN PROVINCE – SOUTH AFRICA’S BENCHMARK SINCE 1883 : he is a rookie to sevens…he is at the sharks academy *damn it*…plays wing 4 their u21

• 32.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo : 29 – ufo, VERY, very sad to hear that. Jinx was one of the nicest bloggers here ever. His poems was brilliant. So really sad to read this.

To all his family out thoughts and prayers are with them.

• 33.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo : 29 – Always remember the beautiful poem Jinx wrote when we won the cricket in Oz two years back. Think he wrote something about KP but it was moving. Felt like a piece of a Alan Paton novel. Transie buddy look it up mate and post it here in honour of Jinx. I have no idea how to go back and look for old posts. You are the best at that.

That poem Jinx (Michael Copley) wrote was around Dec early Jan.

• 34.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Very sad, my condolences 2 his friends and family.

• 35.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma : Dec 2008 Jan 2009. Meant to put that up there.

• 36.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : Transie buddy, read my post 31.

• 37.Puma: Reply to this comment

Just logged on to say. Congrats to All Blacks 7′s

• 38.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

Silly end to a great final. I don`t think kicks at goal for penalties should be allowed in 7`s. Just does not seem to be right.

• 39.ufo: Reply to this comment

Hey Puma & Stormer…

Yeah… He was a special human being… And a MASSIVE Bok and WP fan…

Here’s a poem he wrote last month:

The awakening stirring in you too

In the star mansions of the sky millions
    The watchful moon drops one tear,
    To splash on your sown seeds
    For that dream to become clear.

In the dark soil of patience and perseverance,
    Where the process is sure and slow,
    Through the nights of alone toil
    Intent is trusting even though doesn’t know.

Heart petals flower and become open
    To the possibilities of universal love,
    Strength shakes off the cobwebs
    As truth reveals an understated presence of the Dove.

Duality loosens its chains
    At the entrance to the fifth gate,
    There’s an honouring that emboldens
    As it transfigures you in that space.

There’s a holy fire in the pulse
    Of Mother Earth blessing you,
    There’s a new vision piercing the silence,
    The awakening stirring in you too.

Michael Copley
    12/11/2010

• 40.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : 34 – Treehugs, Very sad to read about Jinx passing. He was one of the nicest bloggers on keo.

• 41.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo : 39 – UFO, Thanks for that buddy. Jinxie’s poems were always touching and beautiful to read. So really sad to hear of his passing.

• 42.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Springbokvel : 38 – Good point there.

• 43.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

Also, time should stop from the moment a line-out has been ruled until the line-out has formed. Same could be done for scrums (especially resets). The official timekeeper`s role should be expanded in this regard and the latter should be the sole judge of time.

• 44.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo : 39 – I had a lot of fun posting with Jinx during the IPL tourney. We had some good laughs there together. He had a good out look on life, well that was the impression I got reading his posts here.

• 45.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Puma : hi puma, hope u well and keeping safe, watch out 4 all the vaalie holiday makers in your neck of the woods, they drive more aggressively than us :lol:

• 46.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : Too many of them here already..hehe :) Me I am just staying put right here in the estate :wink:

Had all the impla sleeping again right outside my garden around 6am this morning. Rather be here than the beach this time of year :)

• 47.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo : 39 – UFO, Just looked up Michael Copley on the net. There are plenty of his poems there. Some really brilliant ones. Hope all the bloggers here that knew him take a look at some of (Jinx) as he was known here poems there.

• 48.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma : 41

You’re welcome bud… Yes, a sad day indeed.

Here’s another from Jinx. A little insight into how he saw things…

Made from poetry

The poet’s words are dancing,
    Making soul contact and impact,
    The sweet fire burning through,
    Getting through the cracks.

The beat is sweating
    Inside the rhythm of love,
    Questions have surrendered,
    This answer is enough.

Words bend through colour
    As they rain on your path,
    Evoking mysterious nuances
    From way back they find your heart,

Sorrow may sting and hurt,
    Joy may intoxicate,
    But with words strung together
    Understanding takes its shape.

Feel the river of the cosmos
    Winding its way to you,
    On the tip of a tongue
    A voice can transform you.

In what ever way you feel,
    In what ever way you see,
    The universe is a secret
    Made from poetry.

Michael Copley
    21/10/2010

• 49.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Normal service has resumed.

• 50.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma : 47

yes Puma… he’s well known in poetry and muso circles in Cape Town.

What I’ve posted were a couple of the poems he shared with me…

• 51.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@ufo : Man, that is really very, very sad news. Jinxie was easily the classiest blogger on Keo.

Fk. Hate to hear that.

Every blessing to him and his family. I am sure he’s strumming his geet around a camp fire with a Castle, sitting next to a Bulls fan telling him that rugby is the world’s greatest game (and that Province are undoubtedly the best), but that it’s still just a game and the bigger idea is human kindness.

Fk.

Knew his music, from everything to everywhere (including giving me tips on Congolese music – Papa Lemba will go on in a few minutes)

God bless.

• 52.ufo: Reply to this comment

Cheers Puma

gotta go…

Take Care…

Tell those you love…
    that you love them…
    every day!

• 53.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@ufo : Boet can you tell me what happened?

• 54.carol: Reply to this comment

What sad news about Jinx –

He was always friendly and great fun to blog with. His poems were a bonus. I feel honoured to have been included in his lighthearted Christmas verse here on Keo two years ago.

Our thoughts are with those who have lost him.

Go safely Jinxie and R.I.P. ***

• 55.ufo: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe :

yeah Joe…

by far way the classiest, deepest thinking blogger on Keo…

pity he didn’t enrich more lives like he did yours and mine and some of the other bloggers here…

will let everyone know the funeral arrangments when they’re sorted out…

really gotta go now…

• 56.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe : Soda, remember how he also loved the verse of others.
    We used to quote ‘The Jam’ lyrics to one another….
    He had great taste!

This is so sad.

• 57.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo : 52 – UFO, I do just that everyday buddy, you just never know what tomorrow brings. It may never come, so what you can do today never put it off for tomorrow. My motto.

Cheers Ufo.

• 58.ufo: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe :

they’re not sure yet… collapsed today in his flat in Camps Bay… suspect heart attack or stroke…

cheers for now…

• 59.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol : 54 – Hello Carol, You remember that Poem Jinx wrote during the cricket two years back? Was really touching. Go and look on the net under his real name and see some really beautiful poems there.

Wow!! feel so sad about this. Jinx and I posted plenty on the crici thread during the IPL and had plenty laughs together. He was one special person for sure.

Go well Jinxie. You were the best blogger here by far.

• 60.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@carol : I have always found this parallal universe we call Keo anthropoligically interesting, not least of which is making anonymous friends.

Jinx was a good friend.

• 61.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo : 58 – UFO, So sad to hear that. Only today? So close to Christmas too.

Going to let the guys know on RT as Jinx posted there too sometimes. Hope that is okay buddy.

• 62.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Puma : Puma bud, can you post the link, just drop the www and it’s ok.

Well it is DEADLY FKG COLD HERE. And we have a major snow storm blizzard.

My surreptious plan is to persuade my wife that beacuse there is bugger all to do we might as well have an afternoon “nap”. Where I will turn on my legendary charm.

This has about a 2% chance of working. But no show unless you go.

• 63.Puma: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe : 62 – Joe, Just type “Michael Copley” Plenty of his poems, songs, photography comes up. There is plenty of his stuff there.

• 64.Puma: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe : 62 – AND you can keep your bloody cold weather…. :) You wanna live there hey!!! hehehehehehehe. 31 here today with plenty sun. EAT YOUR HEART OUT :lol:

• 65.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma : Like you Puma I have no idea how to find old stuff on here. I would love to get a copy of the jokey poem that he wrote about lots of bloggers here on Christmas Eve I think it was 2 years ago.
    Some of us were cast as Santas reindeers……Very funny, but I don’t know how to find it.

• 66.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol : 65 – Carol, When Transie is posting here ask him. He will find all those old posts. I would really like Transie to find the post Jinx wrote about Keven Pietersen. Was a real classic post that. Was around Dec 08/Jan 09. Great poem. Transie is the mouse wizard
    here :)

• 67.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol : 65 – I remember that poem he wrote Carol, just don’t know how to get it. Where is Transie when you need him :roll: :)

• 68.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe : @60 – You are right, friends have been made and lost right here on Keo.

Interesting how you can ‘connect’ with some and really enjoy their company. Even better when you meet them in real life….Sadly I never met Jinxie, come to think of it I have not met you yet!!

Remember how you avoided meeting me…..and instead drank warm beer with your mate in Buckingham or some godforsaken town!! :-)

• 69.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma : We will get Transie to trawl the archives when he gets back to work on Monday!!

These non rugby weekends are really odd….bring on Super 14 !!

• 70.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol : 69 – Transie is on here all the time. Will probably be on tomorrow. Ask him if you see him posting here.

Go look at some of the great poems Jinx wrote Carol. I was just reading some more of his stuff. Just type his real name and plenty comes up. (Michael Copley)

• 71.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma : Thanks Puma, will do.

• 72.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol : Some great poems there Carol. He was sure gifted.

• 73.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

RIP Jinx

Your posts will be missed.

• 74.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler :

You’re such a t i t.

What are you?

• 75.phil72: Reply to this comment

RIP Jinx

• 76.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer : A tackler. And a very good one.

• 77.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

What can I say? I’m devastated. Full appreciation is only given to those who can no longer receive it in person. Salute Jinxie. We wont forget.

• 78.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler :

Mate, I’m sure you are. You like to go in hard and low.

But people here are just paying their respects to a fallen soldier.

Have a heart.

• 79.whatever: Reply to this comment

RIP Jinx.

• 80.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

The fickle hand of death dances across this illusion called life once again. now here, now there, and the shadow slips a parting tear, then gone, as if none were ever here.

“We would ask now of Death.” And he said: You would know the secret of death. But how shall you find it unless you seek it in the heart of life? The owl whose night-bound eyes are blind unto the day cannot unveil the mystery of light. If you would indeed behold the spirit of death, open your heart wide unto the body of life. For life and death are one, even as the river and the sea are one. In the depth of your hopes and desires lies your silent knowledge of the beyond; And like seeds dreaming beneath the snow your heart dreams of spring. Trust the dreams, for in them is hidden the gate to eternity. Your fear of death is but the trembling of the shepherd when he stands before the king whose hand is to be laid upon him in honour. Is the sheered not joyful beneath his trembling, that he shall wear the mark of the king? Yet is he not more mindful of his trembling? For what is it to die but to stand naked in the wind and to melt into the sun? And what is to cease breathing, but to free the breath from its restless tides, that it may rise and expand and seek God unencumbered? Only when you drink form the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance.

So long Jinx,

fly free on the wings of love

• 81.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ufo : @ 29

Thats very sad to hear, I enjoyed his posts immensely.

R.I.P. our Keo-brother.

• 82.cab: Reply to this comment

very sad, a very nice man.

• 83.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Apparently, the ridiculously-named “blitzboks” were given a right royal old verbal bollocking by their own AB-supporting countrymen as they traipsed off the pitch in defeat…

Some excitement in sleepy old George, then? At last!

• 84.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

The time has definitely come, for Wikus to captain the blitzboks.After working with NZ prime minister Peter Jackson on the recent documentary ‘district 9′ WIkus would have picked up valuable rugby knowledge from being in the presence of a person from NZ.With this gift of NZ ‘know how’ and Wikus’s physical attributes,the blitzboks may be able to elevate themselves from sevens minnows to ‘competitive challengers ‘

• 85.Robzim: Reply to this comment

So sad to have heard the news about Jinx.

What a gentleman and true lover of music/arts and incredibly kind person.

R.I.P Jinx.

• 86.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ufo : #29
    Jinx…

R.I.P.

Your love for music and favourite musicians was never questioned.

• 87.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ufo : #52
    “Tell those you love…
    that you love them…
    every day”

Best advice ever.

• 88.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : #49
    Fok jou, oupa. Did you not read post 29 and some of the posts that followed it. What kind of human being are you?

• 89.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@nama1 : This thread is captioned “Kiwis rule in George”. I’m sticking to the topic here.

• 90.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

I am so saddened to hear that we have lost a genuine, caring and most of all a wonderful poet! You will be sadly missed mate! May your poems and music echo from above! With sadness RIP Jinx!

• 91.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

R.I.P. Jinxie!

And condolences to the Copley family and all his friends.

• 92.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

So whats up with the super freaky tv interview with Brenden Venter after Sarecens loss 2 Raceing Metro yesterday.

I saw it on Sky news this morning, those of you that know how 2 do the you tube thing, i am sure it will be there, thats how bizzare it is.

• 93.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger :

Bwhahahahahaha hillarious and yes it is on the tube…

wwwyoutubecom/watch?v=2FgchHlaSQE

Just add the dots…

• 94.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : Just watched it – well worth a look :-)

• 95.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Sorry to hear about Jinx. He seemed like a genuinely nice chap. How old was he?

• 96.grant10: Reply to this comment

i simpy am shocked and broken hearted about Jinx….my neighbour….what an awful loss ….RIP mate.

• 97.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast :

@kaksioek : Snorrie couldn’t have done better himself, so my thoughts are IS THIS GOING TO BE OUR NEW BOK COACH :twisted:

• 98.Transformation: Reply to this comment

R.I.P jinx…

• 99.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : venter is new Pdv…’i have to think about it, very deeply’

• 100.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation :

Ive given Venter his fair dues previously, because he’s doing a great job at Saracens esp in terms of the clubs team ethic, juniors studying etc. But this shows him as being a spoilt petulant child with his foundations based in arrogance. Not a great example he is showing to the same youth at his club that he is trying to instill professional behaviour. I hope he watches this later and cringes.

• 101.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

R.I.P. Jinx, we will mis you for sure, you were class man, real class.

• 102.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Ah, so we have another South African rugby coach talking in riddles.

He’ll fit in perfectly.

• 103.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

heres one for G10:-

“David Flatman: Gospel truth? Luke Watson’s a Godlike genius
    From the Front Row: We’re sad that our laugh-a-minute South African is heading home, but he has taught me that religion can be cool… almost

Sunday, 12 December 2010

Let’s face it, we’ve all got an opinion on Luke Watson. When his signing for Bath was announced last season he instantly became an enigma, a man admired by some but acerbically berated by others.

Everyone seemed to know his story inside out and he was promptly declared hero or monster by a load of blokes who had never met him. We talked of his father, the anti-apartheid activist “Cheeky”, and of the infamous speech that Luke gave at Cape Town University, where he said he had to struggle “to keep himself from vomiting” on the Springboks jersey. We talked of his selection through nepotism for South Africa and his subsequent exclusion. We knew it all, or so we thought.

Then he arrived, and wow. It is fair to say I have never met anyone quite like Luke. This is a man who doesn’t feel nervous, ever. He smiles and laughs, all day. He loves his life. This is not a man battling with demons past, this is a man absolutely at peace with his actions and absolutely confident – certain – that things will be all right, that he will be provided for.

Luke must have been brought up to be confident, that much is sure, but there is something else, something fortifying his strength and rock-solid assertiveness, and this is his faith. One important thing to note is that he never brings up the subject of religion, but he will gladly talk freely about his beliefs when he is asked. He describes his version of Christianity and how he has, almost, customised it to fit perfectly with his perception of the modern world.

Now I am not a particularly spiritual person but I must say, the way he talks to me makes sense. It is less Songs of Praise than I always presumed it must be, more relaxed and accommodating. There are fewer rules and there is far more room for freedom of thought in his world than there was at my Sunday school as a child. It’s almost cool. Almost.

Not so cool, mind you, that it stops David Barnes, our most inappropriate player, giving him stick every day for it. “Lukey won’t be out for a beer this weekend, Jebus won’t let him,” says Barnes, using the phraseology of Homer Simpson. “This is why I love you, Barn,” replies Luke, “because just when I thought you couldn’t make yourself seem any more stupid, you manage it.”

Despite his notoriety, Luke does not fall into the oldest of social traps by taking himself too seriously. He is the first to dish out the banter toward other players and, in turn, loves getting a bit back too. Rugby learned a long time ago that a good bit of mickey-taking was surely the best way to make a newcomer feel welcome, and we didn’t hang about with Luke. “Just read John Smit’s book,” I said to him on the team bus. “I’ll say one thing for him, he’s a great judge of character.” In said book, South Africa’s World Cup-winning captain had described Luke as cancerous and divisive, so I hoped the new boy would take it as a joke. “At least I got a mention, brother, I don’t think he knows who you are,” he shot back with a grin. That shut me up, for a minute or two anyway. As it happens, there are 40 men in this squad who would label Smit’s observations as ridiculous.

Then we learned about his habit: Luke is an addicted texter. His chubby little thumbs will be pumping day and night, sending out tweets, emails and jokes alike. At one point last March, I laughed so loud at one of his messages that Leicester’s Ben Youngs, sat next to me, demanded to see what I was looking at. After reading through all of Luke’s old messages he declared him a legend. “Bit strong,” I said, “he’s only five foot nine, and most legends are taller than that.” Youngs agreed but said he would still love to meet him, to find out what makes him tick.

He might not get the chance now, though, as Luke has decided to return to South Africa to play for the Kings, for him a hometown franchise he hopes to help through the ranks. This is his dream and, sad as we are to lose such an amazing bloke and player, we all feel happy the opportunity presented itself at the right time. “Lucky bit of timing, hey mate?” quipped Barnes, hours after the announcement. “Luck’s got nothing to do with it, my man,” said Luke. “If it was right, it was always gonna happen.”

What a wonderful way to look at life; maybe Harry Secombe was on to something…”

• 104.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : thanks BP…..

yeah….LW ..my main man…..so happy he will be back soon.

• 105.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@grant10 :

I didnt realise he was still only 27yrs, he seems to have been around much longer. Good luck to him.

• 106.capo: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : thanks bp.that piece nearly brought tears to my eyes.luke is a legend indeed!

• 107.cane: Reply to this comment

@ufo : Post 29.

Jinx may be gone,
    but he won’t be forgotten.

A class act here on Keo.
    One of my favourites of all time.
    Witty, knowledgeable and most importantly, a great Guy.

Jinx, a veteran poster in more ways than one.

My sincere condolences to his family and all those that loved him.

cane.

• 108.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane : 107 – Cane, Nice post there mate.

Jinxie was my favourite blogger too.

• 109.capo: Reply to this comment

i don’t know this guy at all but went on his website.some real inspirational stuff on it!rest in peace buddy and condolences to your family and friends.

• 110.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : 100 i remember an exchange we had re venter, he is arrogant, that was never in doubt and he might also be a great manager. I don’t think the two mutually exclusive – look at jose mourinho :D

• 111.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : :lol: so have you thought about it ???

But really what would make him talk like that, something must have happened and why is he coming home, my 2+2=3 comes up with new bok coach after the WC, the arrogance, the funny talk and leaving Saracens all at once :roll:

• 112.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger :

the ‘something that happened’ was that he received 2 separate fines and now is doing a ‘Fergie’ (ie Sir Alex hasnt spoken to BBC for 4-5 year, despite being obliged to. He is sulking because the BBC exposed the nepotism behind Fergies son being involved as a players agent.).

That was cringeworthy watching Venter in that last clip. He has his heart in the right place as a Manager but, perhaps, a bit childish.

• 113.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Such sad news :cry:

A lovely man & beautiful spirit on his last journey, the one home.

Bless him & his family.

• 114.superBul: Reply to this comment

Hahaha i think it will be the Comedy of the year if Peter de Villiers can get Brendon Venter as his media liaison or spokesperson. Imagine the confusion after a interview with this two.

• 115.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Rugby_Princess :

Errr howzit?!

• 116.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther :

Done his best and got a kick in the teeth maybe? Childish yes but how do you get back at them…

• 117.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : I couldn’t believe that was a mature grown man talking like that, he really made his name tougti.@superBul : :mrgreen:

• 118.cab: Reply to this comment

i don’t think Venter’s really ever been operating with a full pack of cards. what have the english done to him? bit of magnamity would not go awry. these guys would do well to remember thats its an english league and an english club that pay their salaries and allow them to live here. a guest, nothing more nothing less, don’t take a dump on the dining room table.

• 119.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger :

If you look at the comments on the U tube clip you will notice that that are quite a number of people who support him.

Venter has never been a person to follow the conventional route ( the “lets go back to the drawing board” nonsense that people seem to prefer) – he is an “out of the box ” thinker who likes to call a spade a spade, and this is just his way of showing the authorities (who fined him on a couple of occasions for telling it as he believes it is the truth) that if he cannot call it as he sees it he will rather say nothing.

Maybe it is childish, but it is just his way of getting his point across in an ironic way. The bloke is a qualified medical doctor and can be extremely articulate if he wants to be – in fact much more so than just about any other rugby coach in this country.

• 120.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Robzim : Oooohhhhhhhhhhhhh !

I didn’t see it on you tube, saw it on sky news, but what you say does explain the freaky interview even if he is makeing a bit of a t*t of himself.

• 121.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Robzim : jannie du plessis is a medical doctor so please spare us ;)

• 122.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Jeepers i am bored out of my mind, pouring with rain, hub watching documentaries and nothing more to read on keo, so i googled salvia divinorum or diviners sage and read the wiki on it :evil: verrrrrrrrrrrry interesting, think i might buy me one lololol.

• 123.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger :

I hate the lull in these seasons.

It’s been raining here in Jhb since Wed – getting our late afternoon, early evening thundershowers.

Hope it doesn’t play too much havoc with the cricket. I’m getting ants in my pants now. Can’t wait for the cricket to start.

I’ve requested a cricket thread twice now from keo – but not a sausage. Maybe you want to have a go using your charms.

• 124.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer : go read about that plant lol, it will give you something think about :twisted: I agree, loath the lull, normally there is banter to read.

• 125.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger :

just read some pf it now. Not your ordinary garden variety. Now dawns on me why my zim landscaper concentrates more on one area of the garden than the others. :D

• 126.grant10: Reply to this comment

damn i am broken sad about Jinx…..terrible, horrible news…..this is really a bad day …cool guy….positive and funny as well….sad day for keo.

Well done to Rugby Talk for putting up a moving tribute to Jinx on their site….read the poems….brought tears to my eyes.

• 127.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10 : 126 – Grant, I feel the same buddy. Feel so really sad about Jinx. Was my favourite blogger here on keo. Had many good laughs with him.

Agree Grant, The tribute on Rugby-Talk for Jinx is really great. Thanks both to Gbs and SuperBul.

I never met Jinx but blogging with him here so many times feels like I have lost a very good friend. His poems were superb. Did you hear that Bokke song he sang on RT? Brilliant, really enjoyed listening to it.

• 128.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Very sorry to hear about Jinx’s passing. Condolences to his family.

• 129.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma : ja…well done to gbs and superbul….makes me think o all the time wasted having stupid cyber fights on the site….life is just too short….i met jinx…very cool oke….and have personal friends who know him well through the film industry. I had to break the news to them this morning and they are devastated…it is obvious jinx toched a cord with many,many people….this site and the planet are poorer with his passing…

cheers puma….got stuff to do…look after yourselk mate.

• 130.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Transformation :

Remember Dr Uli Schmidt. Imo the best bok hooker ever – but what a “hooligan” :)

• 131.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10 : 129 – Grant, Very wise words from you there brother. Too many stupid fights between (brothers) here really. Cyberspace never mind about that, we all talk to each other here almost on a daily basis. We all should be more tolerant of each other. Banter but that should be as far as it goes. We could all take a leaf out of Jinxies book. Maybe it is time for everyone to have a good banter and a laugh before Christmas. Even the ones that left should come back even for a day. Would be great. Time is far too short Grant for fights. I turn 55 next Thursday and wonder where the heck the years went.

Live life to the fullest and enjoy it, fighting is just a waste of a good day.

Pleased you back posting here buddy. Missed your posts and JR.

• 132.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Puma :

I saw what RT did – was very special.

Had a beer with David a while back. And he met and was in regular contact with Jinx.
    Phoned David this morning and he was unaware of the news and obviously devastated as well.

I’ve read some of his poems – what an amazing man. Seems he was only in his 50′s if I’m not mistaken.

• 133.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Puma :

Hey Puma, its all true what U said and as long as you remember that WP is the best there is no need for fighting :)

And you must have a great birthday next Thursday, i will be up in Mossel Bay on that day and will have a special cold one on you.

• 134.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Robzim : 133 – Howzit Rob, Add SHARKS to that too…hehehehe.

Thanks Rob, I will have a glass of red wine..hehe. Years are flying now bud.

Enjoy MOssel Bay, never been there ever but heard it is great.

• 135.Puma: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer : 132 – Yes nice tribute to Jinx by Rugby Talk.

Jinx was 53 two years younger than myself. Was a superb person. Only ever spoke to him here but a real gent he was with a great sense of humour and brilliant poems he would sometimes post here.

• 136.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Puma :

Jinx had a great sense of humour.

He even laughed at some of my attempts at humour. :D

• 137.Puma: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer : 136 – Jinx was the best.

• 138.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Robzim : @ 133 – lol now if ever there were fighting words SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• 139.marlinspike: Reply to this comment

Treehugger I’m the same guy who likes your bougainvillea. Is there a biography on Jinx that you know about?

• 140.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10 : @Robzim : Grant, Rob and for that matter everyone that knew Jinx/Michael Copley can all post a tribute to him on Rugby-Talk. Gbs has opened his blog to everyone today. You are all very welcome to pay your respects to Jinx there. Gbs will be posting the tributes to his mother I think or agent.

Please if everyone you must blog on that tribute thread to Jinx under your own nics here. Let us hold hands today and be friends. Please no one going over there saying anything bad or fighting. Everyone welcome to post a tribute.

gbs has opened the blog now. Thanks. This is for our very dear buddy Jinx.

• 141.marlinspike: Reply to this comment

@Puma : I went onto the site and posted….****…sad news Puma…he was a gem.

• 142.Puma: Reply to this comment

@marlinspike : 141 – Thanks for posting a tribute on RT to Jinx. He was a superb person. Everyone here can post a tribute over on RT. Hope all his friends go over and pay their respects there. Gbs will send the whole thread in a few days time to his mother or agent.

Thanks for posting there once again buddy. Much appreciated.

• 143.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

It is with great sadness that I have to share with you the passing of one of the rugby blogging legends in SA, Jinx, who apparently passed away last night due to heart complications.

Writer, poet, musician, friend.

rest in peace brother.

• 144.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Glad to see he is celebrated, later from me.

• 145.Puma: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt : 143 – PissAnt have you posted your tribute on RT? RT will send all the tributes later his week to his mother.

• 146.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Life seems so dull without rugby! Now for the long days watching the boys chasing the red ball across the field. Good luck to our cricketers. Lets get the no. 1 tag back.

• 147.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts : 146 – Bill thanks buddy for posting a tribute on RT for Jinx. Much appreciated.

Yeah, long days without rugby, but time will soon fly and S15 will start. Remember crici starts next week, that will keep us busy.

• 148.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Heard about Jinx from Garnt 10, sad and tragic !!!

RIP Jinx, my sincere condolences to all those close to Jinx !

• 149.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

England were very unlucky. New Zealand were just plain lucky.

• 150.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

England and a six-man New Zealand side were deadlocked at 19-19 in the closing stages until the latter were awarded a penalty in a kickable position. Cama, who impressed with the boot throughout the tournament, stepped up and slotted the kick from the 22m line to claim the win.

NZ clinched the deal when it mattered. No chokes.

• 151.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark :

since when does a team, with 1 man down, win when ‘lucky’ ?!

• 152.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

I was shocked to see how many South Africans support the All Blacks in George. Watching on telly you could see swathes of black jumpers in the crowd. Shame on you!
    The next venue should be selected to counter this support, so hopefully Durban or Rustenberg gets the nod. Can you imagine the huge adavantge New Zealand gets from such a large support base, especially in Cape Town.

A bigger shame is seeing Habadonna at the rugby wearing, not South African or Bok gear but New Zealand. Wow Bryan talk about biting the hand that feeds you.

Before the usual bilnd followers start beating their drums, think about it logically. Here is a Brand amabassador spruiking some one elses product.
    Imagine the uproar if Brand amabassador for Nike, Drogba was seen in Addidas gear. He would loose his sponorship.

Wonder what the Blitsbpkke players must have thought seeing Bryan with a big NZ on his back.

If it was what you were wearing I hope we dont see you in the Bok jumper again and you dont break Joosthedoos’s try record either.

• 153.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack : hey kevvy;)

DJ Forbes, New Zealand captain
    (Cup winners)

On winning the Cup

“It is definitely a proud moment. The
    key thing that people need to know
    is that we came here with six new
    caps and they really stood up. To
    play finals, in front of an awesome
    crowd like this, to dig really deep
    until the final moments was really
    pleasing.”

On beating England twice in George

“They are a difficult side, they are well
    coached, well drilled and they have a lot of
    tricks up their sleeve. To knuckle down and
    beat them back-to-back is credit to the
    boys.”

On the crowd chanting ‘DJ Forbes’

“It is quite special. We mentioned it during
    the week that George is probably our
    second home in terms of the World Series
    and the support they give us is awesome.
    We really dig deep because there are a lot of
    people that are really focused on us
    winning and we put a lot of smiles on these
    supporters’ faces.”

• 154.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Hi Tranny the sevens should definetly go to Rustenberg or anywhere else to negate the support base.

Wonder what the Blitsbpkke players must have thought seeing Bryan with a big NZ on his back.

• 155.No7: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : Same as the 15man game – when playing the English, send a Kiwi to the sin bin and they win the game

• 156.whatever: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack :

Be interesting to get skopdoos’s take on these turncoats……

• 157.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

The south african sevens should be be held in district 9,joburg.This will give the prawn populous a taste of international rugby,whether they will give there full support to SA is doubtful after the way you treat them, but maybe some bridges will be built

• 158.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

157. bokke baiter great movie did you watch it?

I have a laugh whenever I pass a road sign sign saying Prawn flats…

• 159.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The ABs home-town Barmy Army gave the Boks a right old raspberry when they were whipped.

• 160.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@whatever : Turncoats or discerning connoisseurs of fine rugby skills? Hmmm… even Habana.

• 161.Eish: Reply to this comment

George has shot themselves in the foot. Hopefully they wont get the next tournament. What the hell is Habana trying to prove? That’s like working for company and wearing the unifrom of the opposition to work. Poor taste. Durban would love the sevens to come back.

On the rugby, our boys need to get their defense sorted out. No 8, not sure of his name, Bernard???, missed 5 tackles in the 2 games I watched. Afrika plays with all heart and leaves nothing out there. He can be proud of his performances.

• 162.gunther: Reply to this comment

Terrible to read about Jinxes passing.

A gentleman poet whose loss will be felt by all.

Go in peace.

• 163.gunther: Reply to this comment

On different note it was disappointing to see the behavior of some of the Cape Spanish supporters jeering and abusing the south african team as they left the field.

Disappointing but hardly suprising.

And as for habana wearing an all black shirt??

Maybe he was just trying to blend in :)

I doubt his clothing spoonsors will be charmed though.

• 164.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther : rossoneri said it was to promote next year’s world cup when i queried habana’s choice of hoodie :D

• 165.gunther: Reply to this comment

Transie.

I think Lilly is talking out her cute bum.

Besides habana has a clothing contract with Canterbury.. I am sure they could give a toss about what he was promoting.

Anyway why do you have to wear an all black top to promote the world cup next year?

Are they the only team playing?

• 166.Eish: Reply to this comment

Just a question for all and sundry.

A few years ago some white fella’s gave Treu a hard time in Hong Kong. This made front page news and Hoskin’s etc all questioned if these were true South Africans and the country was up in arms. What is being said about these lovely individuals who are swearing openly at the whole squad???? And should Habana not get fired immediately?

• 167.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack : @ 152

just beeeeeautiful

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.