Small wonders

JON CARDINELLI says South African rugby is slowly but surely ridding itself of a conservative and limiting obsession with size.

All Gio Aplon needed to do was get up, and he’d be a hero. In one of the great rugby mismatches, Aplon had come face to face with Bakkies Botha at a ruck. The belligerent lock had flattened him, a robust action that would subsequently earn Botha a four-week suspension.

It was a significant moment, and for an instant, the Newlands crowd held its collective breath. To their delight, the diminutive winger got back on his feet and played on. Aplon had literally gone head to head with a 120kg behemoth and lived. If ever there was doubt concerning his aptitude for the brutality of top-flight rugby, it was seemingly eradicated in this instant.

But there shouldn’t have been any doubt. Rugby has changed. It’s no longer a sport reserved for the massive and muscle-bound. Slightly built players no longer prove the exception to the rule. The new law variations have allowed the smaller blokes to come into their own, and size is no longer a prerequisite for selection. If you’re good enough, you’re big enough.

Australia and New Zealand have always embraced this mantra, while South Africa is starting to come round. As seen by the 2010 Super 14 and Tri-Nations competitions, the Antipodeans are taking their preference for more agile backs to new levels. Matt Giteau, Cory Jane, James O’Connor, Anthony Faingaa, Rod Davies and Israel Dagg all fall into rugby’s lightweight category and yet performances for their respective franchises and countries have been as telling, and in some cases better, than those delivered by the heavier backs.

South African teams are slowly but surely following suit. Apart from Aplon, Juan de Jongh is embarrassing the non-believers at Test level, while Super Rugby and the Currie Cup have borne witness to the unique talents of Pat Lambie and Bjorn Basson. Throw Francois Hougaard and Lwazi Mvovo (who aren’t much bigger) into the mix, and you begin to understand why size is now less of a factor in selection than it has been in previous years.

Kicking played a major role in team tactics in 2009. The Springboks were the most successful side in the Tri-Nations thanks to their kick-chase strategy, a ploy that involved accurate box kicks and up-and-unders that were aggressively chased by the fastest players. If the opposition didn’t lose the ball in the air, the chances of losing possession in the ensuing breakdown was high given that defenders were allowed to compete more in this area.

The 2010 season has seen a change to the laws, and thus a change in approach. Unless these deep kicks are accurate, the likelihood of retrieving possession is slim now that the breakdown laws favour attacking sides. Teams are now selecting players who are able to counter-attack, players who are often slighter, shorter and more agile. Keeping possession is key, and if the opposition kicks deep, you can run it back knowing that even if you don’t break the line, you’re still likely to hold on to the ball.

‘The laws have played their part,’ says former Springbok wing Breyton Paulse. ‘Ten years ago the game was a lot tighter and forward-orientated, and there were more big boys on the scene. You may remember a few small backline stars like Christian Cullen, but they really had to work hard to generate those moments of magic.

‘Nowadays, the backline has more of a platform; they have more freedom to attack. The laws have brought the flair back to rugby, and that in turn has changed the mindset when it comes to selecting smaller players.

‘It’s very encouraging to see from a South African point of view. I was worried about the state of the game last year, but the tweak in the laws has meant that the counter-attack is once again a big part of rugby. It’s always been part of the New Zealand game, and perhaps South Africa has been a bit conservative in recent years. That has started to change.’

At 1.78m and 80kg, Paulse wasn’t much bigger than Aplon when he was playing for the Boks. He grew up playing against bigger opposition and it conditioned him for a rugby world where perception was as tough to beat as a Jonah Lomu or Joeli Vidiri. It was feared that Paulse’s size would inevitably count against him in close combat.

But in modern rugby there’s an appreciation for gifted players, and that appreciation isn’t limited by size. It’s not to say that somebody like Aplon hasn’t had to alter his approach, particularly on defence, to make the highest grade. Test rugby is still about dominance at the point of contact, and although the laws favour the attack, defenders still need to make their presence felt.

Many will remember the hit Botha made on Aplon in that Super 14 match between the Stormers and the Bulls, but so few recall Aplon’s own defensive contributions. Through working with Stormers and Western Province collision coach, Omar Mouneimne, Aplon has refined his tackling technique to the point where he’s not a defensive liability. With his mixed martial arts background, Mouneimne was able to teach Aplon to use his body weight to good effect.

‘Even though guys like Gio are smaller, they’ve got to get used to making the big hits,’ explains Mouneimne. ‘Smaller guys need to get under the bigger attacking players.  If you aren’t built like a freight train, you aren’t going to be able to smash back a bigger attacking player with a direct tackle.

A smaller defender needs to work hard to derail that freight train; to upend it by getting low and driving upward.

‘I did a lot of wrestling work with Gio and we worked on using his body weight to a specific end. He did a lot of power and strength work in the gym because wrestling techniques can only take you so far. You also need to have some power behind those hits.

‘We also worked on aggression. Smaller players have to be even more aggressive than others when competing for the ball at the breakdown. The law changes have also made it harder for them, because you can no longer ride the tackle back and then compete for the ball. You have to release the ball-carrier and show daylight.

‘Before, a smaller guy like Heinrich Brüssow would give away negative yards and ride the tackle because he knew he’d have a chance of turning over possession. Now with the new laws, you have to focus on getting a powerful first hit on the attacking player. You can’t give away negative yards, so smaller players have to be clever, and aggressive.’

Paulse agrees that attitude is as essential as technique.

‘Juan de Jongh and Aplon are always punching above their weight. I can relate. I grew up with the game, and my opponents were always bigger than me. When you persist with your rugby and make it to the highest level, fear is obviously not a factor because you’re used to the odds, but in your own mind you’re a rugby player like everybody else.

‘If you had to name some of the world’s best players, you’d be naming some of the smaller guys. Shane Williams has been fantastic for Wales over the years, and then you get the new players like Gio coming through. The standard of skill has improved and the game is played with a lot more flair, which suits the men who rely heavily on skill.

‘The small guys still do strength work in the gym to condition themselves for the big hits and contact, and having grown up with the game, there’s no fear. That’s why people shouldn’t be worried when the little guys get bashed around. They can handle it.’

If you’re tough enough, and you’re skilled enough, then size shouldn’t factor into selection. The top players who want for size have discovered a means of circumventing their defensive limitations, a facet that has so often been listed as a reason for match-day omission.

Rugby has changed, and as long as the lightweights are up to the defensive task, they should be included. Aplon, O’Connor and Dagg are just three who’ve thrilled with their counter-attacking efforts in 2010, and if the respective national coaches continue to show faith in these players, 2011 promises to be even better.

Paulse believes that with more effort from the coaching fraternity, South Africa can take the game to the next level. He believes that Super Rugby mentors need to tap into the talent in the Springbok Sevens side, as these players are already exceptional counter-attacking exponents.

‘Fabian Juries was such a legend in the sevens code, but his strengths have never really been properly utilised in 15s,’ he says. ‘Gio Aplon is an example of a guy who’s played sevens and is starting to make an impact. We need to be looking at how we can bring these guys through. Counter-attacking is a big part of sevens, so perhaps it will help if we start using more of these players in Super Rugby.’

– This article first appeared in the December issue of SA Rugby magazine.

97 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy : i think he was agreeing with me?

@nama1 : 95 kgs and upwards make you a big backline player.

unless you play your rugby in japan because then you are a giant backline player.

naas was a midget backline player as he weighed 72kgs.

but a good midget will beat a bad giant anytime, anywhere.

• 52.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : LOL yes and if you compare that to Mike Tyson who, when he won the world title was 1.80m and 93kg’s.

I’d still back Mike against the Russians..

Echo’s of Rocky 4..

• 53.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : Just look at Chuck Norris. He’s a real shortarse. (looking around nervously)..

• 54.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy : :lol:

you dont find chuck norris buddy, he finds you.

• 55.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : Israel Dagg – 95kg, 6’2″ — qualifies as a big backline player then.

• 56.nama1: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : #51
    I guess a big forward must weigh 110kg’s and upwards then. How many “big forwards” do we currently have in our pack if that is to be the case? :lol: :lol:

• 57.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : I’d say that’s a reasonable statement.@nama1 : I’d say that most of them are heavier than that, with the exceptions like Daniel, etc being below.

Many of the loosies are hovering at the 108 – 100kg mark

• 58.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : yes.

i have set the scale a mite lower than many may think because it starts low with guys like gio aplon at 78kgs and there are a host of 85kg backs in world rugby.

but mostly i am pulling the proverbial and couldnt give atoss as long as the player is talented.

@nama1 : well steggies is not there but the rest must be?

• 59.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transie & Stormersboy.

Since you are talking about boxing.

Cleveland – Boxing promoter Don King has been stopped by security at Cleveland’s Hopkins International Airport for having ammunition in his carry-on luggage.

Hopkins Airport spokesperson Jacqueline Mayo says the 79-year-old King was stopped by members of the transportation safety administration on Sunday night.

She says King had ammunition for .38-caliber and .357-caliber firearms in his bag. (news24)

Didn’t he do some jail time shooting and killing a man in the past?

• 60.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

For a weird body shape, try 1980 Bok fullback and current headmaster of Affies school — Dr Pierre Edwards.

1.98m (6ft 6in) and only 82kg dripping wet!

• 61.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : ja, many of the forwards of old would be classified as midgets these days, even in the backline.

frik du preez only weighed in the 80′s i think?

but i was reading a book the other day entitled “50 greatest springboks” some weird choices but looking at the pics of the morkel brothers, they seemed like big guys.

didnt mention their weight though.

• 62.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@nama1 : Yeah, the don is a gangster, pure and simple. Convicted felon.

• 63.stew: Reply to this comment

Most influential Springbok of all time ????

• 64.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Frik was 6ft 2in and 96kg — not small for those days, but not the usual giant found at lock — like Peter Stagg of the British Lions who towered at 6ft 10in.

Frik’s partner, Tiny Naude, was a lot bigger at 109kg and 6ft 5in.

• 65.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stew : Nelson Mandela. When he wore that no 6 jersey he sent an unequivocle message to the world that we all love rugby, regardless of colour. That passion relfects here daily.

• 66.nama1: Reply to this comment

Forwards in the 3N:

Gurthro: 120kg
    John smit: 116kg
    Jannie Dup: 121kg
    Flip vd Merwe: 118kg
    Victor Matfield: 115kg
    Schalk: 106kg
    Juan: 104kg
    Spies: 106kg

The problem is clear. Our loose trio are “too small”. Of to the gim with you, you buggers! :smile:

• 67.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy : YES!!

• 68.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : #64
    Hennie Bekker partnering Div Visser. What was their respective height and weight?

• 69.stew: Reply to this comment

Tackler is great with google !!!

• 70.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stew : and small furry animals… :)

• 71.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

I would say this apparent ‘sizing down ‘ of springbok players has come out of necessity.Due to improved drug testing,saffers can no longer get away with pumping there bodies full of steroids and basically cheating the rugby world like they used too,hence you are seeing saffer rugby players in there natural physical state I.e a lot smaller…..also this could be a reason for the current demise of the boks…..no roids=bad results. Anyway ,am looking forward to playing a ‘natural’ springbok team in the future .

• 72.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter : :lol: you are actually quite amusing my man.

keep it up please.

• 73.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter : Kuk man, I’m good friends with one of the guys who is big even by forward standards and he took tons of suppliments like creatine but all strictly above board. Here and there you’ll get a cheat but the rest are clean.

• 74.Eish: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter : Just like the ‘natural’ Kiwi team made up of people born on small islands eating roots. Natural of course.

• 75.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

A good big un beats a small big un anyday of the week…

Its a small matter of physics…

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game : clearly you’ve never heard of baby jake matlala :roll:

• 77.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : Of course this “colonialist” has heard of baby Jake. The little tokoloshe proves it by virtue of fighting people smaller than him… Weigh in?

But what takes you to boxing when we are talking rugby…

Dumfarkwit…

• 78.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game : you’re more of a pervert than a “colonialist” :D

• 79.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : 78. Perverse is what you and Rossi get up to… Don’t transfer your eagerness this side…

Unless of course you would like to take up any kisshen career…

• 80.willievz: Reply to this comment

Christian Cullen or Thinus Delport?

• 81.willievz: Reply to this comment

Mike Phillips or George Gregan?

• 82.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

Yes your quite right ‘Eish’, no new zealander has ever taken an unnatural product to enhance there rugby playing ability. The geographical isolation of new Zealand makes it virtually impossible for south Africans to illegally export there steroids to NZ,although if you did manage to get them through our borders I think you would find it impossible to find any interested consumers.New Zealanders would rather share Bakkies Bothas handkerchief than par take in illegal drug taking……NewZealand,s image is built on being 100% natural and sticking needles into eachothers bottoms isn’t very natural is it ‘Eish’

• 83.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

It is easier for a guy with a height of 2m to weigh over 100kg, could be compared to a guy at 1.8m weighing 85-90kg.

I reckon SA pro rugby has more of an obsession about height that weight.

• 84.SuperStirrer: Reply to this comment

@rangerman :
    Very sad about Jinx.
    RIP, music man.
    Huge respect for your lifes philosophy.

• 85.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Thing is, there are very few small rugby players in top class rugby in South Africa.

I’m just on 6 foot and 100 kg’s and I’m considered an average sized Saffer.

The Blue Bulls backline makes The Sharks backline look silly..it’s just hard to find little Yarpies.

• 86.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

Yes ‘great White shark’ you are an average South African.Anyway, could it be South Africa,s obsession with eating copius amounts of bar be cued meat, that has led to the general ‘hugeness’of most Saffers.This is something SA should take a look at,it is a well known fact that,in the animal kingdom, herbivores are much more intelligent than carnivores.I can guarantee that every Springbok(the team not the animal) eats meat and lots of it,this meat eating is reflected on the rugby field. I don’t want to point my finger at individuals and I don’t know the guy,but I wouldn’t be surprised if Bakkies Botha chowed

• 87.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

Continued……Bakkies Botha chowed on a packet of biltong at half time…….now Bakkies isn’t the most intelligent of South Africans…… Food for thought

• 88.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter :

Genetics comes into the equation too. I know guys bigger and taller than me that don’t exercise but look like they could benchpress a New Zealand town.

South Africans are as freakishly big as Pacific Islanders. The only difference is we don’t have the pace of the Islanders.

Yes we eat a lot of meat. We’re Africans dimwit.

• 89.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter : ja, the herbivore feels oh so clever when the carnivore has its teeth sunk into the herbivores neck.

you were funny. now you are becoming inane. up your game you fekken rabbit.

• 90.dquinn25: Reply to this comment

@nama1 : Matfield to me looks like he has reduced in physical build since he started id say he is around 110kgs now the rest of the Boks backrow im sure are all 110kgs or above Burger is 110kgs as is Smith Spies is 108 Danie rossouw was between 115-120 at different times Bakkies said in an interview once he got down to 118kgs from 124kgs South Africa has always has utterly huge guys, Os in 1999 was 130kgs, Smit supposedly weighs 125 id say more like 130kgs as well.

I agree with the poster who said it is far easier to weigh more if you are taller, if you were 2 metres tall it would be very easy to weigh at least 110kgs. If Aplon bulked up it may massivey effect his pace an extra 10kgs is a lot.

Also bear this in mind guys most sportsmen exaggerate about how tall and heavy they are 6 foot 5 and 108kg becomes 6 foot 7 and 115kgs in the program, i remember meeting a few of the Scottish rugby players and they werent anything like as big as they were making out in the match programs take my word for it. Props as well always just say 120kgs as their weight.

Richie McCaw claims to be 106kgs he is clearly no bigger than 98-100kgs, Dan Carter claims 94kgs – bullshit, Habana claims 94kgs as well – bullshit

• 91.dquinn25: Reply to this comment

I remember Martin Johnson on a tv show admitting that the rugby players lie about their height and weight to intimidate opposition, Richard Cockerill was with him and said this was true as in the program he was 5’11 and 100kgs (15st10lbs) but in reality he was actually only 5’6-7″ tall and 90kgs odd

• 92.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

Someone said it earlier that Australia’s use of talented small guys comes mostly from a lack of availability of equally talented big guys.

People have already started to notice the inherent weaknesses that an entire backline of small-but-skilful brings – see the Wallabies previously world-class defence having struggled in the last 18 momths.

I know the Brumbies at least have recognised the issue and have recruited some bigger backs for next season to provide balance.
    Andrew Smith: 194cm, 106kg
    Ed Stubbs: 184cm, 102kg
    Henry Speight: 186cm, 97kg (not huge, but at that height could easily add another 5kg without affecting speed).

It is all about balance.

@dquinn25 : I think for weight they just put the heaviest weight the player has ever been, just like they put someone like Spies’ 100m speed as 10.7, even though I’m sure he has not been that quick since school.

• 93.Eish: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter : Herbivores??? Dont you eat mutton? Oh sorry, you dont want to eat your girlfriend. My mistake.

• 94.marlinspike: Reply to this comment

Just imagine how small Gio Aplon would be if he didnt eat meat, same size as Baby Jake.
    Whatever happened to that pub Franchise chain of his “Baby Jakes” are there any left. I watched him box a few times….no killer punch, but always immensely fit. 4 world titles ama…bloody…zing.

• 95.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

Aplon is not Springbok quality, this is another Pro Stormers keo.co.za article. He had plenty of opportunity during the autumn tests and he did nothing out of the ordinary.
    Why make the issue about size when it should be about performance on the pitch.

• 96.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

There is no substitute for big strong rugby players. The All Black backline is feared for this reason. They’re huge and fast.

The Boks used to be feared for the same reason until quotas came along and now the sponsors that design the jerseys have to shop in the kids section to find sizes to fit our midgets.

• 97.Ohyes: Reply to this comment

Had to register just to comment on this piece of amazing sports journalism – interview and quote a midget to tell you how important midgets are for the game.

Writer conveniently ignores how important dominance in the tackle situation has become – both to keep and win the ball – irrespective if you play the kick and chase or ball retention game.

Every single tackle Aplon makes is regarded as “heroic” – for other backline players its not worth a mention. If Aplon/De Jong tackles Bakkies its player of the tournament stuff – if Bakkies tackles Aplon/deJong its citings and manslaughter stuff.

Aplon, for his undoubtable talents, can never dominate in the tackle situation – irrespective of whatever martial arts training he has recieved.

This writer must also really like PdV – for he has mostly brought through a bunch of midgets during his reign. Fantasies of South Africans playing a open running sevens style game (and yes the “slightly larger” Fijians run over our sevens every time)

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.