Lions target Beast

The Lions are chasing Springbok prop Beast Mtawarira’s signature ahead of the 2011 season.

Private investors have provided the Lions with a substantial financial boost, and they now have the cash to attract big name players to Johannesburg.

They’ve already signed fringe Bok Bandise Maku and promising wing Lionel Mapoe, and are rumoured to be in talks with World Cup-winning Boks Butch James and Frans Steyn. Now Mtawarira is being mentioned as a possible recruit.

According to Beeld, Mtawarira has been made a financial offer that could prove difficult to refuse. The complication is that he’s bound to a three-year contract with the Sharks, having signed a contract-extension in October.

The Durban-based union are responsible for Mtawarira’s development, having recruited him from Zimbabwe and moved him from loose forward to prop. The Sharks are hoping that Mtawarira shows some loyalty and honours his contract.

152 Comments

• 1.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Dis nou k#ksoek op sy beste!!

• 2.Left field: Reply to this comment

Gotta love it! Has the wheel turned? After having their resources pillaged by especially the Sharks, are they about to return the favour? Better than any soap opera in my view…

• 3.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Yoh tough one. I dont think Beast will go. He seems like a loyal dude and just signed an extension. Maybe after the World Cup he might leave.

• 4.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

This is the team I would pick with squad so far and then the names of people I would try and bring into the team next to them:

15 Tonderai Chavhanga
    14 Lionel Mapoe
    13 Waylon Murray
    12 Doppies La Granje – Gcobani Bobo
    11 Wandile Mjekevu
    10 Elton Jantjes – Butch James
    9 Jano Vermaak – Michael Classenss
    8 Warren Whiteley – Joe Van Niekerk
    7 Wikus Van Heerden
    6 Michael Rhodes – Wesley Wilkins
    5 Franco Van Der Merwe
    4 Hilton Lobberts – Ross Skeate
    3 Lawerence Sephaka
    2 Badise Maku
    1 Kevin Buys – Tendai Mtawarira

16 Hannes Franklin
    17 Patric Cilliers
    18 Jaques Lombaard
    19 Derick Minie – Solly Tyblikia
    20 JC Coetzee
    21 Burton Francis
    22 Michal Killian

23 Hans Van Dyk
    24 Ashley Buys
    25 Jannes Laubasgachne
    26 Cobus Grobelaar – Jonathan Mokouena
    27 Chris Jonck
    28 Herkie Kruger
    29 Johan Jackson
    30 Deon Van Rensburg / Marius Delport

There are still atleast 15 Lions players not even in that sqaud so they starting to build depth

• 5.gunther: Reply to this comment

It will be awesome for the beast when he gets the ball for the first time during the super 15 and all 76 supporters scream beeeeeaaaasst.

Spine tingling stuff.

• 6.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@gunther : 76 supporters! lol Thats cold Gunther.

• 7.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami : Loyal? Sharks made it clear a number of times that they don’t believe in something like ‘loyalty’. From their own mouths: ‘Money talks!’

Sharks will take the purchase if the offer they get is big. Problem for me is, the Sharks will now probably be coming for Coenie.

• 8.CaptainQuirk: Reply to this comment

@gunther : careful, you will get ‘ol Katman riled up beyond belief!

• 9.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE : Why? They’re doing it by the book. You know… the book that got lost in the mail, on its way to the Sharks.

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

go for the money Beast! rugby is a short career they always say.

if the Sharks want loyalty they must get a dog!

• 11.mainland: Reply to this comment

lions going for all the black diamonds.
    “the black diamonds they must shine” JM

• 12.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I don’t take pleasure in the Sharks’ troubles in the slightest.

This soulless Lions team with its BEE cash is a threat to all three of the powerhouse unions in SA.

Not to mention the poor also rans like the Cheetahs, Griquas and co.

If they can buy Beast, they can buy Bakkies, or Dewald Potgieter as well.

Our best hope is that this team purchased from Walmart will not be able to duplicate the spirit that exists at the established unions, performanc on the field won’t match the salary bills, ticket sales will remain low, and that the return on investment will not be what the financiers are hoping for.

Hopefully, in 3 years time, this Ponzi scheme of a franchise will have fizzled out, and things can return to normal.

• 13.mainland: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : caveman thinking as per usual. still communicating in morse code

• 14.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Bouts : Not sure this is the right move for him as a player. Like with most things in rugga, combinations is what it is all about. Will he shape with the Lions combos…remains to be seen. There are a number of players who moved to different unions and just did not fit in because of the structure there. Other side of the coin he might have a blinder. Remains to be seen.

• 15.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Its a marketing ploy … he is extremely popular and the flavour of transformation.

It’s also closer to Zim for him. Will be sad to see him go, but if the offer is right then so be it. And the Sharks have strength and depth in the front row.

• 16.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : Really? I wouldn’t be so worried. If they do it the legal way, like with Beast, the other unions will benefit from the purchases.

That’s what the issues with Mapoe and Fourie were about. There should be a financial benefit towards the losing union. That’s how pro sport is suppose to work. The Mapoe case opened the door for peaceful and mutual beneficial negotiations in the future. This is what should have happened with Fourie, but the Lions’ lawyers handled it wrong.

• 17.Rugby-1: Reply to this comment

The Lions have been stripped of their best players by other unions for years now (much to their own lack of progress and professionalism) and had to suck it up. Didn’t see many tears shed then, so not sure why Lions supporters should be worried anout the “powerhouse” unions sweating over their prized assets.

Bring it on!

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : 12 so says the fan whose team has been caking on BEE money for eons! hahaha how much is the Oasis sponsorship worth Tac? :mrgreen:

• 19.superbok: Reply to this comment

Beast should stay where he is. A contract is a contract.

I would have prefered the Lions try to get Mujati back. Even though he’s not an SA citizen yet, something can always be done. He’s been playing well lately and will only get better.

• 20.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE : Well, with Maku seemingly being the first choice hooker for the future (after WC), I think it is a clever move. Beast showed he’s comfortable with John, Bismark and Adriaan in the front row, so I wouldn’t worry that much about it.

• 21.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Bouts :

No, if they manage it right they can get a lot of top players for relatively cheap transfer fees.

Three year contracts are pretty much the longest that you get these days. So, if you wait for 2 years you only need to buy a player out of 1 remaining year of his contract.

What this means is that established teams’ planning will go up in disarray, as 3 year contracts will no longer be set in stone for 3 years. And yet the benefit of getting 1 year’s transfer fee hardly compensates you if you now need to go out and find a replacement player of equal quality.

No, these big cash Chelsea style operations are bad news for all concerned.

• 22.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Bouts : Pity the Bulls let him go. One for the future I reckon.

Still think the Lions have got it all going for them with the schools in Gauteng and the raw talent out there. No use buying a team if the structures further down goes for a ball of ****. Fix the roots first with the millions they are forking out now and the rewards will come.

• 23.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Its a Springbok Divvie **** conspiracy … Smittie back to prop.

• 24.kevin w: Reply to this comment

apparently you can’s say D!ck on keo even if its the springbok backline coaches name – classic

• 25.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Ian Schwartz did a Q&A on the Bulls website a few months ago.

A lot of fans wanted to know all about which NEW players the Bulls would be targeting in 2011.

Schwartz’s message was basically that the Bulls main focus is on devising the best strategy of retaining their EXISTING players.

This in itself is a massive challenge, and the better your team gets – and the more quality players you produce, the greater this challenge becomes.

I for one don’t look forward to a return to a situation where our talent pool is spread out more evenly, but no SA team ends up winning the Super 15.

We’ll have to see how this situation develops.

• 26.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : Soulless? Regtig? Moet nie stres oor Bakkies nie, ons soek hom nie. BTW Bakkies wou al lank al sy blou truijie geruil het vir ‘n Franse klub. Jy hoef ook nie te stres oor Dewald nie, die flanke by die Leeus het al klaar gewys hulle gaan nog groot dinge doen en het al klaar. Waar dink jy kom die Bulle se geld vandaan, nie BEE nie? Het jy al vergeet van daai tyd toe die Bulle geld by die Lotto moes kry? So asb… om my span “soulless” gaan regtig nie goed af met my nie.

@ Rhys7
    Chavanga at 15? Nah…. did you forget about Taute?

Anyways….
    Enjoy Xmas and NYE everyone.

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : 25 BEE money helps you keep your existing team together, doesn’t it? :D

• 28.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Beast will take the move. It’s easier to get to Zim from Jozi, plus the Zim community in Jozi is vibrant. He will get to speak his native tongue with his fellow Harare crew.. I think he will go..

• 29.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Who is bank rolling the Lions??

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop : the Bulls were soul-less from 1998 to 2003, they boasted the record of the first ever winless season in super rugby history, now their fans don’t want other teams to rebuild :D

• 31.Boks should grow moustaches for RWC: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7 : Bra, it what universe is Bobo the 2nd best nr.12 in Gauteng? LOL. Our Lions are starting to take shape though…I’m loving it. I reckon we could win at least 4 Super Rugby games next year.

Also, Lorrie Sephaka is a liability dude. Especially on defence… the oke doesn’t get ’round the park. The new laws makes an oke like Jannie duP a real asset.

• 32.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation :

All companies need to comply with BEE requirements. Ownership is one of the 7 pillars of BBBEE.

Each company has to find its own way of managing the 7 areas of BBBEE to their best advantage. If some companies choose to sell a massive part of the union to guys who have no rugby tradition, and who just happened to make billions out of government IT contracts, well, that’s their choice.

That will by default completely change the culture of the union, as indeed it has at the Lions.

At the Bulls, their BEE partner is a silent partner at best, and although I don’t know the ownership stats exactly, my recollection is that the Blue Bulls Company is owned about 50% by the Bulls and 50% by SAIL or some such company.

Not sure where Oasis’s shareholding percentage fits into the picture, but it would seem that they are simply sponsors, rather than part owners.

And if they ARE part owners, the shareholding percentage clearly is not significant enough to influence the way the union has traditionally been run.

• 33.Eish: Reply to this comment

Bye Beast. Chase the money. All this does is open the door for one of the youngsters in Shark country. I can name plenty of props sitting on the fringe waiting for these kind of moves. Beast owes everything he has got to the Sharks and the people around him who supported him when he arrived in Durban with nothing. Obviously he has played well and well done to him. Dont be surprised if he comes back, cap in hand.

• 34.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Eish :

If I was Beast I would stay put. A top star like Beast can play for the Sharks for 10 years, and for the Boks for probably as long.

If he is on R2.5m a year at the Sharks, and another R2m or so on his Bok contract, he is making R5m a year before any razorblade adds or other sponsorhip deals.

And he probably eats for free, gets a free car, free accommodation etc.

He can make R50m in his rugby career quite easily, if not twice that.

And you get a family type environment where you can build lifelong relationships at your home union.

I would take that deal anyday over job hopping after the highest bidder every 3 years.

Habana saw the pitfalls of that option. So has Luke Waston and Joe van Niekerk.

It’s not worth it, in the long run.

• 35.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Eish : It’s the professional era – Beast has paid his dues to the Sharks. If it is a better offer, then so be it, all he can do is make sure he does it the right way. Sets an example.

• 36.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : ever considered that Zim is much closer to Jhb than Durbs? It’s not always just about the money.

• 37.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : Remember, transfer fees are determined by the losing union. If they lose a player for cheap… own fault. There are a few guidelines, but usually you work it out with ‘yearly-salary x remaining contract years’.

• 38.rugbywriter: Reply to this comment

No one seems to notice what’s happening here. Notice how many black players are beimg bought with these new owners? I’m telling you, they are going to turn the Lions into an almost completely black team.

• 39.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@rugbywriter : Its so the kings can’t kick them out of the Super 15 ha ha ha

• 40.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : Come on. Very few players is kept involved after their retirements. And those are usually only players who get employment as coaches or administrators.

Getting a free lunch every few years at a ‘marketing’ end-of-year function is really not worth all the effort.

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : you think francois steyn cries or smiles when he looks at his bank balance? go Beast, take the cash..family envrinments are overrated look at deon helberg, pedrie wannenburg, francois hougaard etc getting up to shLt in so-called family environments :roll:

• 42.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@rugbywriter : Not really news, since these rich new private investers made it clear they wanted a majority black team. Their vision.

• 43.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : Agreed. Considering the small number of Sharks actually developed in Natal, I doubt they consider their ‘roots’ to be there.

• 44.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@kevin w : LOL! Funny, but I doubt the Kings will ever ‘kick’ anyone out. They’ve proven it again this year with the CC 1st Division. The Lions don’t even have to pitch to win against them. Rather the Kings will need to be pushed ahead of a team, which is what will happen.

• 45.Boks should grow moustaches for RWC: Reply to this comment

I’m all for the Beast chasing the money, taking advantage of a limited playing window, cashing in while he’s in his prime etc etc. BUT moving only for the money might backfire quite badly.

He’ll be playing in a forward pack (and team) that could struggle in the S15. This could dent his image – not at home that much but certainly abroad. The European clubs follow the S15 closely and he could fade a bit in the Lions pack….

Case in point, Jano Vermaak. He’s a brilliant player, hard worker, good rugby brain. But the fact that he’s been part of a struggling Lions side hasn’t counted in his favour….

BEAAAAST! Stay in Durbs bru.

• 46.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : I’ve heard too many stories by ex-players who felt they’ve wasted their time in South Africa, because the Unions feel nothing for them the day they hang up their boots.

‘Family ties’? Not in the pro-era. No such thing.

• 47.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Boks should grow moustaches for RWC : Agree on Jano but don’t forget he is up against the irreplacable, super dooper, man of the moment, legend of a scrummie in Ricky Januarie……….

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Boks should grow moustaches for RWC : did playing for the Lions count against Jaque Fourie at any point in his career?

• 49.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Final rant. What ticks me off is that people are complaining and throwing their hands up because Gijima invested money in the Lions and now they have money to get and retain players. What is wrong with that? That’s the reason for sponsors and partners. What to the Bulls/Stormers do with their Vodacom money? They retain players and get new players with that money. Now the Lions do it, and it’s a problem. I think the main problem is… some people are getting scared because with the Lions current coach and this cash injection we MIGHT (I hope ? ) see the powerhouse of the 93 and 94 in the years to come. (The last sentience is just to make me feel better)

@ Rugbywriter
    Last time I checked… only 1 so far and interest in one more. I checked Frans and Butch…. still whities.
    They are chasing potential, experience and skill… watch Maku in 2011.

• 50.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop : Do you agree with my comment @ 22?

• 51.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bouts : does anyone think wayne rooney should’ve stayed a Everton, where his real family is from and the club that developed him and made him a star?

• 52.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Boks should grow moustaches for RWC : Ah. But don’t forget the fact that Mitchell is the coach now… which means Beast could probably even become better with his leadership.

Guess you missed the Currie Cup.

• 53.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : Nope. But do you really think his current club will feel a rats’ a$$ about him when he retires? I just meant ex-players have no benefits – thus pointless to try and ‘keep family ties’.

My point was that the place he grow up will always be your ‘roots’, although just as pointless. Where you worked for a few years… they won’t even attend your funeral, so why bother.

• 54.Tomatoboy_ralepelle: Reply to this comment

The Lions are bitching & moaning because the Kings are buying players and not transforming …. isn’t Soweto the biggest black rugby club is SA? why aren’t we seeing more of their players in the Lions team? Time to transform Lions!! Go kings!!

• 55.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@ Kwagga. Agree… but from what I saw this season our youngsters are coming through. Also you can only pick so much youngsters from schools. Think about it… how many youngsters have we developed through the years then they go to other unions. I think we are still strong in that aspect. Things are changing at the Lions (hopefully for the better)

• 56.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Kings in the Super 15 2013 and the Lions?????

• 57.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Kings are going nowhere. EP has never been a serious powerhouse. What will change now?….Luke will have limited impact there and they will keep on talking with great gusto but not be able to deliver.

• 58.cab: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop :
    if they can afford players like Beast (i doubt he’ll move tho), which must be costing an absolute wedge, then they could very well be back at the top very quickly.

Family atmosphere? They’ll be happy as larry when winning and loaded. Veritabe brothers in arms singing each other lullabies on the plane home after each win.

• 59.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop : Things are on the upswing there, largely due to Mitchell. Think it still might take a season for them to hit their straps to the fullest. Maybe 2012

• 60.Tomatoboy_ralepelle: Reply to this comment

kwagga … Lions lost to the Pumas @ Home in their last game …

• 61.gunther: Reply to this comment

Kevin w

You keep repeating the mantra that joburg is closer to Zim?

Do you think beast walks or flies when he visits home?

• 62.cab: Reply to this comment

i must say tho, they going to need some ooph in their pack, both at lock and blindside. why oh why did they lose alberts and deysel?

• 63.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

It isn’t only about money. He also has to ask where is he most likely to win Currie Cups and Super 15 trophies. Having a massive bank balance is great, but can’t compare to winning trophies. Its not as if he hasn’t getting paid a decent salary at the Sharks.

When some players leave a team, their performance and form drops off (Habana, for example). Is it not perhaps a big risk so close to a World Cup?

What is it going to be like playing with a developing team, who are still a fair few players short of being regularly competitive? Are the Sharks not perhaps on the cusp of a golden generation? They have purchased a number of players, and based on the Currie Cup, appear to be on the up. Is his brother not contracted to the Sharks also?

A lot of things need to be considered. If I was the Beast, I would stay in Durban. Johannesburg is a hell hole and the Lions had six good Currie Cup games. Nothing to be bullish about.

• 64.cab: Reply to this comment

and mostert se perd.

• 65.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Tomatoboy_ralepelle : So did the Bulls earlier this year. Believe me I a not a supporter of the Lions but they have shown some glimpses of what could be achieved. Still think it’s the wrong union fir The Beast though

• 66.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21 : Solid post there

• 67.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7 :

Hilton Lobberts lol

• 68.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Beast is very religious and a man of his values would never show disloyalty in any way shape or form.

Added to that not many players have turned their back on The Sharks.

• 69.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Beast must go. It’s perfect revenge on the Sharks for the underhanded stunts they pulled with Ludick and Alberts.

• 70.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@gunther : are ther direct flights from Durban? If there are – are they as regular? For a man of Beast’s schedule, i think shooting home for the weekend could be quite difficult.

What thinks you?

• 71.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Alberts has been The Sharks best investment by far. I bet he loves being a Durbanite now…no more aggro and smelly Gautengalengers to worry about.

• 72.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@kevin w : I honestly don’t think Beast is hankering to run home to Zim as often as you guys seem to think and even when he does want to, he can pay for the flight. Beast could go to WP and be just fine.

• 73.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark : Gautengalengers hahaha.

Alberts and then Deysel off the bench next year is gonna be scary.

• 74.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21 : The Sharks only won 2 trophies in the last decade. What’s your point?

• 75.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21 : The Sharks have been purchasing players and ‘building the ultimate team’ since 1979. Nothing’s changed. Rather, the ‘golden’ team is now on a downward slide with most of the purchases from 4 years ago being close to retirement, or planning to go overseas after the WC.

• 76.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri : LOL! Yeah. I agree. I doubt Zim is a factor in this decision. :)

• 77.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri : you might find flights to Zim are not as common and easy as you think from Dbn & CT – logic / common sense / failed country / robert mugabe / no money / no petrol.

And i don’t know him personally so i can’t say how often he goes, but for someone that works and lives abroad i know how flight connections and airport @rse time eat into your schedule.

I merely said that a move is not always about money and he may have personal reasons.

I still think this could be a **** Muir / Divvie move to get Smit a place at the Sharks. But again, pure speculation.

• 78.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Bouts :

Love us or Hate us…we’ll still kick your arse next year.

• 79.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well since Barney will be playindf loosehead next year (for the Sharks and most likely for the Boks too) this doesn’t surprise me in the least.

• 80.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Bouts : My point is that the bank balance isn’t the only consideration. He also needs to consider where he is likely to have the most success, and currently, that appears to be at the Sharks. This is based on their Currie Cup triumph and the quality of the players at the Sharks.

For all the hype about the Lions, they had a mediocre Currie Cup (they finished sixth), and are still a number of players short of being a championship winning team. Does Beast want to play a role in trying to get a struggling team to a decent level? Or does he want to play a role in trying to help a decent team become champions?

• 81.Redlion is doing pre-season conditioning: Reply to this comment

lol the big lion went down to Dirtbin, refused to swim in the sea where raw sewage flows onto the beaches but instead shook the shark cage and said booo.

now it is true that the Beast has a loophole in his contract discovered by the Lions expensive BEE lawyers …

• 82.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Redlion is doing pre-season conditioning :

Leave our red flag beaches alone.

• 83.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Here beastie beastie beastie! Here boy. See what papa’s got for you. Mmmm, it’s a cheque. You like cheque’s don’t you.

Good boy. Now let’s just tag you and chip you and show you the litter box. You’re going to be very happy here.

• 84.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : Hahahahahahahahaha. Katman you kill me! :lol:

• 85.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : Still need a good Lock or 2. Then you will be getting close to a really solid squad.

• 86.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy : Yep, I was hoping we could flash some cash in front of Juandre Kruger or Andries Bekker. Or both.

I’m really looking forward to a back three of Chavanga, Mapoe and Taute, with Killian covering on the bench. Add Vermaak, Jantjes, La Grange and Murray, and you’ve got a pretty serious backline. And we’re building a pack to match.

• 87.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Alberts dreams even bigger
    2010-12-15 11:00:07

To say that Willem Alberts had a dream start to his Test career is an understatement – three caps as a replacement and a try in every Test he took to the field. rugby365.com columnist Keith Moore spoke to the popular Sharks and Springbok loose forward.

When you watch Willem Alberts play, you can see he is cut from the old-school mould of South African flank – hard working in the forward exchanges, ferocious and unapologetic in defence and an unfortunate sight for midfield defenders when charging with ball in hand.

But when you speak to Alberts you see that it is not just his rugby that is a throwback to the old days.

Quietly spoken and polite, Alberts carries all the trademarks of his small-town upbringing. His uncompromising style on the field is complimented with a very relaxed attitude off it and the humble loose forward speaks more highly of his team’s achievements than his own.

Talking exclusively to rugby365.com from Durban, the barnstorming forward gives some insight into the previous season for the Sharks, what he and the team hope to achieve in the next season, and his dream start with the Springboks from which he recently returned.

“It was a very special tour for me. Making my debut and scoring three tries and just experiencing the whole environment was very enjoyable.” he told rugby365.com.

October 30 was quite a day for Alberts as he lived two of the biggest moments for all South African rugby players – winning the Currie Cup and being selected for the Springboks.

“When the final whistle went in the Currie Cup Final I thought it was the best moment of my life. Then about half an hour later I heard the news that I had been selected for the Springboks and it all made it a very special night for me. I am very blessed to have been able to experience something like that.”

Being selected for the Boks is not just an honour for the players, it is also a moment to remember for their friends and family. When the Springbok squad was announced, Alberts’ phone couldn’t cope with all the support from his loved ones.

“My cell phone actually broke and I am using an old second-hand one which doesn’t have a lot of memory, so when the SMS’s started coming in I had to delete 20 to get to the next 20! But ja, I had a lot of calls from friends and family throughout. It was very special for them which made it even more special for me.”

Despite being one of the ‘new boys’ in the squad, Alberts says that he was made to feel welcome by the regular squad members from the outset when he arrived at the Springbok camp.

“Obviously there were a few Sharks guys on tour and it was awesome to be there with them, but all the senior guys were very welcoming too, so it was great to just be with them in that environment. They are all good guys, so it was very easy for me to settle in.”

Sitting in the change room with the Boks for the first time, Alberts was overwhelmed by the occasion, but mentions that he was also acutely aware of the responsibility that came with being there.

“For sure, you feel it when you are there with all the greats. Victor Matfield was a hero of mine when I was at school and to play alongside a guy like that is a huge honour. But also when you think about all the guys who have worn the jersey before you, you know you have your work cut out for you. It was a very proud moment for me.”

Though a more natural blindside flank or eighthman, he played most of his rugby on the openside for the Boks. According to Alberts it was his natural strengths that gave him the chance to play a part in those games, and the coaches were keen for him to express those strengths.

“I don’t think that they had a stringent plan in playing me at No.6 really. My role coming off the bench for the Boks was simply to make an impact when I went on the field, which is what I was trying to do,” he said of a run that saw him score tries against Wales (a 29-25 win), Scotland (a 17-21 loss) and England (a 21-11 victory).

“In the set pieces I didn’t get a lot of ball due to the normal structure of play, but after a couple of phases of general play, as an opensider I was able to get myself in a good position to get some ball.”

Alberts says that in past teams he has only been used at openside sparingly.

“Since my late school days I played loose forward and lock and it was the same at varsity. I played one or two games at openside for the Lions, but I normally only play there when the coach wants to pick a more physical pack.”

But the product of Hoërskool Monument says he will play anywhere the coaches pick him as long as he gets more opportunities to wear the Green and Gold.

“I’m happy to just get game time. I was playing openside as an impact player this tour but to be honest I think I am best suited to play either on the blind side or eighth man. But saying that, I will play anywhere if it means playing for the Springboks – even flyhalf!”

Alberts’ Bok selection came on the back of his strong performances for the Sharks, who he joined at the beginning of this year. When asked if playing for the one of the big South African franchises aided in his plight to play international rugby, he says that although it is something players have to consider, it wasn’t his only reason.

“That’s always in the back of your mind when you move to a good franchise like the Sharks but it’s not the only factor. It was coming to a point where I needed a change in my rugby career and the opportunity to play for the Sharks came up and I think in the end it worked out quite well.”

Moving to a new city is always a daunting prospect, but Alberts is enjoying his new life living on the coast and says the people of Natal have made the move easy on him.

“Ja, loving it, it’s nice and sunny and hot in Durban! All the people are very friendly and it makes it feel like there is a small-town vibe to Durban. Although it’s a bit English and I’m obviously from a small town that is very Afrikaans but the fact that everyone was so friendly made it easier to settle in and make it feel like home.”

The Sharks are fortunate to have the services of plenty of talented loose forwards to call on, but according to Alberts there are no issues when one player gets picked over another, and says that he is close to his rivals off the field.

“Jean Deysel and myself are very good mates, we go fishing together a lot and Kanko and I are good mates too. We all know that each of us brings something different to the team, and whenever we get a chance to play we are helping the whole side. Everybody is a part of that one team, and I think that is part of our success this year; we all put the team first and the rest follows naturally.”

Currently enjoying a rest period before rejoining his franchise, Alberts has not yet taken part in any of the pre-season preparations, but he is looking forward to a new season of rugby and has already started to focus on the team’s challenges ahead.

“I’m sure there is going to be a lot of emphasis on our game and structure for next year’s Super 15. We have come out of a very good Currie Cup season this year and we would expect to carry that on to next season in both the Super 15 and Currie Cup.”

With the new Super 15 tournament just around the corner, Alberts is confident that with the quality players at their disposal, the Sharks have all the ingredients to launch a winning campaign in the revamped tournament.

“I think we have a good chance to win it – we have a very good squad. It’s a long tournament so the whole squad will come in to play; everyone will have to be at their best for a long period of time and whenever one player needs a rest someone else will have to step up and the rest of us will have to play to the best of our ability.”

When asked what his personal goals for the season are, it seems Alberts is hoping for a clean sweep of team and personal achievements.

“Obviously it would be nice to win the Super 15 with the Sharks and put in a big fight to defend the Currie Cup next year and hopefully make the Springbok squad as well.”

You could wager that the Sharks will have a big job on their hands in a tough new season in the Super 15 and in defending their Currie Cup crown, but in terms of Alberts’ personal goal, it would hard to bet against the man.

• 88.Boks should grow moustaches for RWC: Reply to this comment

@Bouts : Mitchell is a good coach but the Lions came off a really low base last year – they could only go up. Ever heard off the 2nd season blues? His record with the ABs and the Western Force shows he’s not indestructable….

@Transformation : I hear you… oh wait wasn’t he in the shadow of one Adrian Jacobs at one point? lol.

• 89.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : Yes your backline looks very good IMO. I’m a bog fan of Taute (yes I know you saw him first).

The new owners certainly seem to have a chequebook to use I hope they spend it wisely.

• 90.Boks should grow moustaches for RWC: Reply to this comment

@gunther : he treks through the Kruger and across the mightly Limpopo … like all Zimbos… lol.

• 91.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Love the ERC’s reaction to Brendan Venter’s interview:

“It’s statement reads: “The ERC would like to point out that it expects key representatives of clubs participating in its tournaments to engage with the media in a co-operative and respectful manner, and is therefore disappointed by Mr Venter’s approach throughout the interview.

“Share ERC has asked Saracens to confirm that Mr Venter will not adopt the same approach, or one in anyway similar, when giving media interviews before or after Friday’s Heineken Cup Pool 3 game between Racing-Métro 92 and Saracens.”

****’em all, that’s what I say….

• 92.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy : Gosh, they sound upset.

• 93.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : 92 You think?

• 94.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : I see a big role to play for this chap in future…..

• 95.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Boks should grow moustaches for RWC : he was injured! and adi had a good run in 2008

• 96.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Would have like to see Beast and Mujati reunited in a Lions front row. Pity the damn Zimbo has signed for the Saints.

• 97.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : not gonna happen sorry mate

Mujati just extended contract in england and beast is confirmed staying at the sharks , wont divulge my source , but yes its fact

• 98.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I can understand Beast leaving the Sharks if he was being paid a pittance which i doubt, but the man is uber popular with the fans and i am sure one of the higher paid Sharks and treated well , plus dont his family now stay in Durban.

I would be disappointed in him if he left for a few bucks more, and joined Mickey Mouse outfit in Joburg :twisted:

• 99.benno_on_tow: Reply to this comment

“The Sharks are hoping that Mtawarira shows some loyalty and honours his contract.”

Suddenly honouring contracts is important to the Sharks…..hypocrites!

• 100.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

“The Sharks are hoping that Mtawarira shows some loyalty and honours his contract.”

….coming from the Sharks, that’s frikken funny.

anyway, my opinion is that it is the wrong time to move to the Lions or Spears for that matter.

neither of these sides have a recent superrugby history to speak of.

The Lions have always had decent enough players on the park to put together some wins for the union…but instead they don’t.

I’m not altogether convinced that it is the lack of playing personel that doesn’t allow them to achieve more.

much like the cheetahs at superrugby level.

EG: bulls vs cheetahs in a CC final…..it’s going to be a close one.

bulls vs cheetahs in superrugby….comfortable win.

imagine the lions take on all these new players and they still get the boot from superrugby.
    The Lions will be way deeper in the kak than they have ever been with all the salaries to carry?

• 101.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover : I think you don’t want to divulge your sauce because it begins with klip and ends with drift.

• 102.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

also, there are other factors to take into account when moving to a union.

either you move because you are going to get a better lifestyle….eg: a move to WP because,let’s face it, that’s all they’ve got going for them.

or, a move to the Bulls where you are gaurenteed worldclass coaching because, let’s face it, that’s all they’ve got going for them.

…maybe an insight into why one is successful and the other perrenial also-rans.

• 103.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I’ve noticed that the Katman is posting rather intermitantly of late.

Is it because that whenever the Lions announce another signing or are chasing more talent…he whacks himself off with such speed and vigour that he falls unconscious?

• 104.gunther: Reply to this comment

Katman

Just don’t ask for the secret sauce when you go to sharkies spur.

Some things are better when they remain a secret.

• 105.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl : Do you have a webcam in my den?

• 106.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

wikileaks mean anything to you?

• 107.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl : Joburg has a zoo, a planetarium and about 2 dozen Wiesenhof coffee shops. Beat that.

• 108.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl : Um Wikileaks… That’s when a DJ puts a long record on so he can run off to pee, right?

• 109.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Maybe i should just put in terms some of you will understand,

EXSAMPLE: When you get a new cellphone, you upgarade you dont downgrade.

When a man/women re marries hopefully they are upgradeing

Reason for the nastiness, dont have a go at the SHARKSSSSSSSSS

None of us have said anything nasty about him leaving, refer to my first sentence in post number 98, he is a star at the SHARKKKKSSSSS.

• 110.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

yeah, I’ve heard has grown to such an extent that encompasses pretty much the entire population up there these days.

the Planetarium…..sounds like a security home or a shebeen where everyone’s smoking the good stuff?

• 111.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl :

the zoo

• 112.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl : :lol: :lol: bad man :lol:

• 113.benno_on_tow: Reply to this comment

Gotta love the Lions new attitude of fighting fire with fire…….Robert Gumende is attempting to play fantasy league for real & I’m digging his proposals so far!

• 114.gunther: Reply to this comment

Wilkileaks or stikkisheets?

• 115.passdidonnerseding: Reply to this comment

Transfer fees!!!!!!!!!!

• 116.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@passdidonnerseding :

that means there should be a “transfer window” as well and also “transfer requests”

• 117.passdidonnerseding: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl : Thats the only way this **** will end. Its getting out of hand.

• 118.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie :

Nice way to get him away from stormers radar and give him game time hahahahaha ;)

• 119.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark : Dude, don’t use the religious card!! That will make a man feel ****!! lol

• 120.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : You are right, those are the facts, Money heals all… :-)

• 121.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7 : What about Francios Steyn??

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

we all know that besides for the merc mapoe the sharks have only let players go that had very adequate depth and we wish those players all the best for the future.

beast too if he chooses to go.

but can someone remind me of the rules regarding the approaching of players that are under contract?

sure, the sharks appear to have played fast and loose with this rule but the lack of comment now that this is reversed shows that the sharks are simply south africas innovators again.

dont worry people, the sharks are looking strong again and we all know this coincides with a strong bok team (along with the bulls).
    the lions, wp and fs, not so much :lol:

• 123.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Lions = jonny come latelys. Farkin bunch of BEE charity cases.

• 124.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : what ever floats ur boat mate.

• 125.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : yeah whatever danger…are you sulking because nobody is feeling sorry for the poaching Sharks? Bwahaha… Straueli’s been out there app(r)oaching the Ebersohn twins from the Cheetahs… ;)

• 126.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : exactly.

not a good look imo.

but i see no mention of the lions doing things the wrong way?

what a hypocrite lmao!

• 127.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : ‘hypocrites’ you say? Bwahahahaha

Although the Sharks acknowledged the
    move is on the cards, commercial manager
    Straeuli said it wasn ’t confirmed.

‘Basically, they’re announcing something
    they can’t announce,’ Straeuli told keo.co.za.

Ulster have stated that the deal is already
    done and that they ’re in talks with the
    Sharks regarding Pienaar’s release date.

‘We’re in no negotiations with them,’ said
    Straeuli. ‘We have a right to match their
    offer and we won’t release him, we’re
    fighting for him.

‘According to IRB regulations they are
    speaking to a player outside of the window
    period in terms of when his contract ends.’
    bwahahahaha the poacher himself quoting irb rules tltltl

• 128.rangerman: Reply to this comment

cant wait to see how things pan out when the argies join the compo.

after all, they smash france regularly and the ab’s seem to battle to be CONSISTENT in this regard.

• 129.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : as i said, i agree about big ears.

but now that the lions have done it have you anything to say?

anything?

anything?

anything?

didnt think so.

and i guess you know what that makes you my deseitful friend :lol:

• 130.rangerman: Reply to this comment

deceitful even.

• 131.garth: Reply to this comment

I don’t mean to hijack the thread, but does anyone know if the Stormers have bought anyone? I would assume they would want some more depth in their tight-five. Are there any youngsters coming through?

• 132.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Kockett of 2 the lions, Sharks only prepared 2 give him a 6 month contract. Read Sharks had 2 help him get in2 the lions, apparently he had no luck when he appoached them.

• 133.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Buying stars, or has beens or anyone who looks good is one thing, having the ability to reign in those egos is another.

Let’s see Frans Steyn, Butch, Rory etc etc try and play nicely. Goes with the ego of the Director of Rugby I guess.

• 134.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : No one wanted him. Pity about that but he has only himself to blame. His ego got bigger than the team, he was miles ahead of Mcleod at the beginning of the year and managed to unselect himself.

Hopfully at some point in the future he will realise this.

• 135.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2 : Hi, am not upset about it at all, just some Lions seem to thinkthey are sticking to us and i dont like that.

Oh and on the last page ,first post Gant 10 also seems to think the Lions have lured him away from us, i also heard he is a bit of a “problem child” lol.

He was playing well then seemed to spend more time waving his arms around at the ref, used to yell “you missing a good game BUD ! cause invariable things would happen while he was freaking.

I hope he starts playing like he used to and learns to control his temper.

• 136.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : lol sticking to us , i mean sticking it to us. :roll:

• 137.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : @Treehugger : Yep unfortunately he only has himself to blame, he isn’t a team player.

If I were that good and managed to lose my starting position to another I would seriously kick myself. And good for Charl to have stepped up!

Yep, at some point he better learn he isn’t a hero, not only for rugby but for life. It’s one of those lessons that needs to be learned by the time you hit 30 otherwise life will be fairly disappointing.

• 138.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2 : @Treehugger : hi guys.

ja, rory is very talented. more so than mcleod imo.

but charl does the basics better because thats what he is concentrating on, doing his job.

does this make charl more valuable than rory? yes imo it does. until rory sorts his head out anyway.

but i think a lot of what drove rory to being a ball hog and limelight stealer was his desperation to prove he should be the man entrusted with the starting position.

he now enters a situation where he has jano ahead of him so he hasnt really changed his situation.

if he can bide his time he may yet break the big time otherwise he will be overseas at the end of next year imo.

all the best rory.

• 139.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger : Well look who is the Director of Rugby at the Lions. Not exactly a highground of moral fortitude.

It does seem that they are targeting our players, whatever who cares. If you want to play for Muir then you deserve what you get.

• 140.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : Agree. Charl plays to his absolute potential and Rory loses it all to ego.

Quite simple. Vermaak was coming to the Sharks but wanted way too much cash so the egos will clash nicely. Should be a fun sideshow.

• 141.rangerman: Reply to this comment

superstar attitudes and the sharks dont really mix.

just ask luke.

i dont give a toss about his politics or who his dad is or even if he turned into a beautiful, gentle well rounded soul in bath via wp (mustve been the mountain).

what i heard was that he was divisive and arrogant at the sharks. from people who trained and played rugby with him.

if he turns into a lovely butterfly after he emerges from the chrysalis of english rugby, cool. but all i care about going forward is how he plays his rugby and how he fits into the team.

same with rory, biz, smitty and all the rest.

• 142.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : So we are on the same page with Smit then… nice. Think he needs to wind his neck in and retire. Mind is on himself not the game.

As for Luke, well I have this horrid suspicion he is going to be Bok Captain…

• 143.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2 : what tricky dic k forgets is that he still lives in durbs :lol:

ag, i really dont mind the signings they have mde so far and would be surprised if the beast or anyone high profile from the sharks actually leaves (i dont count mapoe as a shark).

why would they? we have won two cc trophies in 3 years and seem to be setting a great foundation for superrugby challengers.

good times at the tank as it has been the last 21 years.

• 144.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : I think his living arrangements suit his ‘lifestyle’ if you know what I mean :-)

Yeah, if they go to the Lions, then it’s for one reason only… and then frankly thanks and goodbye…

We have loads of our own (finally) homegrown talent coming through so it’s looking better and better for the Sharks.

• 145.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2 : haha, no i still think smitty has a role to play.

in fact, the same “retire or be dropped” chants went around in 2006 and early 2007 and smitty showed everyone up then.

he will do it again, watch.

btw, saw him on etv news this morning. he is looking lean and mean. looks like he has defo been working hard in the off time.

• 146.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : He has lost about 15 kgs and is looking good I agree. he does have a place, I just don’t like his ego. :-)

• 147.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2 : i dont get the lifestyle comment, no.

ja, there is loads of talent coming through. hell the fs claim everyone from grey even though they poach like a bunch of rednecks and so why shouldnt we claim guys who come through the academy? :lol:

but ja, the sharks do seem to have a lot of players who stay loyal once tehy get here:

muller
    stefan
    aj
    bj
    butch
    davidson
    smitty
    bj
    ruan
    frans
    etc etc.

stalwarts who were/are happy to play their rugby at the sharks and choose to go overseas if they do leave.

then again, guys like dic k muir and joel went for the money in CT so what does that tell us?

• 148.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2 : i have never met the guy but he comes across pretty grounded to me.

anyway, i must say these guys must find it difficult at times to keep their egos down with all the adulation they get.

but when they start losing i guess it happens pretty quick :lol:

• 149.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I strongly believe if a player wants to go elsewhere you shouldn’t try keep him because i don’t think you will get the best out of him anymore, if he is still under contract and one of our prime players then whoever gets hime must just pay through the nose and we can go hunting at the Cheetahs or Lions for a replacement if need be.

And after saying that i better go into hideing for a whil. :mrgreen:

• 150.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : Joel, well he is still bitter about being dropped, I mean in fairness he was the better player but that whiny little nasal voice would have made me want to punch him in a ruck. :-)

Yeah, the Sharks set up is good, the players and the rest of the staff really get on it seems and they all play their part. Players get treated well, what a life for a 20 something!!!

• 151.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2 : ag poor joel.

in fact he didnt like the direct rugby Mac wanted to play. too rough for joel imo.

he was a good player but mr honiball was better.

• 152.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman : Joel, yes well Joel. Did you know he drop kicked the winning points in the 1995 RWC final in Joburg?

You didn’t, well that’s okay, ask him, he will tell you :-)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.