McCaw staying in NZ?

Richie McCaw has intimated that he desires to continue playing in New Zealand after the World Cup.

It is widely known that many All Blacks are weighing up lucrative offers to join European clubs after the global showpiece in 2011, but McCaw suggested he may not be part of the exodus.

At present playing abroad precludes New Zealanders from All Blacks selection, and McCaw was mindful of this.

‘I’m having a really good think about it and I’ve always said enjoyment is the key,’ McCaw told the Sunday Star Times.

‘I loved it this year, I loved running out for an international and playing for the All Blacks, there’s nothing better. So I want to keep going. I’m talking to the union about what they want from me and what I want. If we can come to an agreement I’d love to carry on because I’m enjoying this.

‘I’ve made no secret of it that I love playing in New Zealand and my desires to play overseas have never been that great. Those desires change as you move on in your career, but you can’t beat running out in front of 80,000 people at the Millennium Stadium or somewhere else and you’d be a mug to not want to do it for as long as you can.’

109 Comments

• 51.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

maybe is at the beginning of a sentence and starts with a capital ‘M’.

Maybe you need to go back to school.

• 52.gunther: Reply to this comment

or maybe not.

• 53.Transformation: Reply to this comment

some kiwis are already getting gatvol of the SBW show :D

When too much Sonny is enough.

David Long
    December 12, 2010

A NEW ZEALAND TV advertisement for the
    World Cup featuring Sonny Bill Williams has
    been banned by the New Zealand Rugby
    Players’ Association.

The commercial, made by Sky TV’s ad
    agency DDB, broke the rules on how the All
    Blacks can be used by their sponsors as it
    focused too heavily on Williams and
    because of this it’s been red carded. NZRPA
    boss Rob Nichol said the advert needed to
    feature other players more prominently.

”It doesn’t matter if it’s Sky or any
    commercial partner, when they put together
    TV commercials there are supposed to be
    three players or more that are shown,”

Nichol last night told Auckland’s Sunday
    News. ”That’s not to say they can’t do
    anything else, but if they want to they need
    to get the individual’s consent and that’s
    what we’ve said. We have said that we can’t
    sign off on it and you’d have to go and talk
    to Sonny Bill.

”It has got other players in it, but the cut of
    it I saw features Sonny Bill in it quite
    prominently, which means it’s more about
    him as opposed to the team,”
    added Nichol.

”If it’s more about the individual you’ve
    either got to get the athlete’s consent or
    you’ve got to have a deal with the athlete
    and that’s pretty common across most
    sports.”

Williams has made a huge impact in his
    short time in New Zealand rugby and just
    completed his first tour with the All Blacks.

Everything points to him being in the frame
    for the World Cup.

Mastercard are an example of an All Blacks
    sponsor also getting a player on board.

Their All Blacks ads feature Richie McCaw
    prominently, that is because they also
    sponsor the All Blacks captain and pay him
    separately.

Most other ads involving the All Blacks for
    their commercial partners will involve three
    All Blacks, if not more featuring in the ad.

This is done to convey the impression that
    the sponsor is sponsoring the team, not the
    individuals.

”They can put requests in for who they
    want for the adverts and the NZRU by and
    large handle that well,” Nichol said.

”They
    will work it around and quite often they’re
    able to deliver on that.

”But over a whole period of a year they try
    very hard to equal out the appearances of
    the All Blacks in different commercial
    activities and more often than not the
    sponsors are reasonably happy.

”The bottom line is the footage they [Sky
    TV] are looking to use and the design is
    pretty cool, there is nothing wrong with the
    ad, it’s just that it zeroes in on one particular
    player more than others and it’s around one
    individual player rather than the team.

”So on that basis we’ve had to say hang on
    a minute, that’s not what the collective
    agreement which governs the way they can
    use player imagery allows them to do.

”So they’ve got to work it a different way
    which more often than not means sitting
    down with that individual player or their
    representatives and seeing whether they’re
    comfortable or not.”

• 54.cab: Reply to this comment

SBW fever is great for the Bokke, remember what happened when big bad Jonah was talked up, the Bokke played out of their skin to get to him. the more the merrier i say.

• 55.cane: Reply to this comment

@cab :

I remember exactly what happened when Jonah was talked up.

Christian Cullen scored 14 tries against the Boks. And Josh Kronfeld got one or two as well.

(Fark…………..how many Boks have scored 14 tries against 1 Nation?)

Sonny Bill is just warming up.

• 56.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : You buy it out of “average” wages that would seem a king’s ransom to the average-wage yarpie. No worries!

• 57.cane: Reply to this comment

Those that DO NOT believe in SBW will perish in hell.

Those that believe in SBW……………well they will too.

Hell will be a busy place it seems.

• 58.cab: Reply to this comment

@cane :
    haha, yes SBW looks the business, but he still has not played the Bokke.
    they;ll all be keen to topple the big dog.

• 59.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : So just how much pocket money does mum give you?

• 60.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane : To me, SBW is just another dyslexic short wheel base.

• 61.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

Fortunately nobody gives a f uck what you think.

• 62.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA : And good evening to you, nobody.

• 63.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@cab : The Boks? They couldn’t topple a little Scottish kitten this year. Easybeats.

• 64.gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA :

you seem bitter.

life not turned out quite as you hoped?

• 65.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

Of course McCaw will stay in NZ, he needs to teach the next generation of #7s how to cheat and get away with it.

• 66.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

McCaw wont go North because it will spoil his reputation. He’ll get beaten up, penalised and laughed at all the time!

• 67.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong :

Yeah, youre probably right

McCaw vs NH opposition:-

Played 47

Won 45

incl 3 consecutive Grand Slams.

Lost in NH:-

1 (vs France, Cardiff’07)

Named 3 times as IRB Player of the year.

Noone is laughing at Richie. Definitely at morons like you, but not at The King himself.

• 68.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : He wouldn’t be the first kiwi superstar with a huge reputation, who was a complete waste of space when he had to adjust to the Northern Hemisphere without his other All Blacks to protect him: Josh Cronfeld, Karl Heyman, Luke Macalister, Jonah Lomu, Dan Carter etc. But he is a lot smarter then those guys, go figure?

• 69.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong :

ooooooh, is the worm alive or should I bother biting it or not ?

Carl Hayman was Captain of Newcastle, they were desperate to keep him prior to being signed for Toulon on 1 of the biggest contracts in World rugby. He was so good in UK, even Stephen Jones named him – a NZer, twice, in a Guinness Prem XV

Luke McAlister was named Sale Sharks player of the year and was regularly named as Player of the Month in Guinness Prem. Only injury after 18mths of starring for Sale halted further awards. He was so good, even Big Hit praised him, a NZer.

Lomu never played for a UK club. He has been fined by English police, however, for hit’n'runs on a few of their players.

Dan Carter took Jonnys World points record. Nuff said.

• 70.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : dont waste your time BP… Hongkong Dong has no idea at all…. just another misplaced Saffa who believes the propoganda hes fed daily…

NZ players never perform in the UK, thats why England now have a number of NZers in their national side, its why so many national sides have kiwis as their coaches or assisting, why even two Saffa teams have NZ coaches..

still, they have the WC (you know that old chestnut) and it must fill them all with such sheer enjoyment to have a team that performs for 2 weeks every 4 years…

forget losing to sides like Saracens and Scotland… luckily Saracens WONT be at the WC, and they arent drawn to face Scotland… so they may indeed be a force at the WC, but then Cirque de Springbok has been getting laughs for years now..

• 71.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69 :

You really are a sorry bitter old doos are’nt you? Same old bitter and twisted little digs. Why don’t you just take a long walk off a short pier you misplaced keeewee twat.

Yes, our second stringers lost to Sarecens and our main side (although again not at full strenght) lost to Scotland. Not great, and certainly nothing to write home about, but then your full strength team lost to a very average French side in the last W/C. **** happens hey?

Like I said to that low life countryman of yours………don’t choke on your mutton bone over Christmas……… doos!

• 72.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever : and here he is, right on cue..

the moral policeman of keo, without any morals of his own…

my rebuttal was to HKS in regards NZ players being succesful in Europe, but of course you read through the thread and are in complete agreement with HonkKong about his opinion ne?

the old “not at full strength excuse”? you big hits brother?
    gees, thats almost as bad as the building for the WC excuse..

seems your now an expert on mutton bones? is that the REAL reason you moved to NZ?

had to have your little piece of lamb too did we?

as for sorry and bitter, one only ever has to read your retorts to any foreigner on this blog, and theyll see what true bitterness is huh?

it must really grate that the country you despise sooooo much is actually providing you with sanctuary and safety, not to mention a comfortable standard of living..

the only dooos is yourself, your are the epitome of hypocrisy, as evidenced daily on this blog..

as for france, yeah one loss in however many years certainly is better then one win in however many years.. whats your current record stand with the French, something like 3 wins out of the last 10 games…

continue to crow over another teams efforts against ours, simply because you never know what effort your team can be bothered providing huh?

thats right, Id rather support a team that loses a knockout game and wins almost everything else, rather then support a team who this year alone won HALF their games… HALF….HALF..

for “World Champions” it is a damning statistic… DAMNING!!

• 73.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69 :

Says he who shunned his own country for the land of kangaroos?

You have managed to keep your little hissy fits in check the last few weeks so therefore you due for a melt down?

Nutjob

• 74.whatever: Reply to this comment

Not too sure how you deduce that I dispise the country I live in just because I think two of it’s exports are fu k pigs?? Yet again you get it wrong, how did you pass at school dude? Interesting deduction, almost as good as that jarpie, Tackler, and his wine deduction!

• 75.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever : it only takes me 3 hours to get back into NZ, as I will be this saturday.. so, while I may live in Aussie for monetary reasons, I still maintain contact with my roots by returning every 6 months or so..

glad to see everyone is keeping track of my hissy fits, the fact so many do leads me to believe that you guys dont have much else in life, or is it just the fact Ive got under your skin by pointing out many home truths…

vatso katvis..

its just a shame when you moved to NZ you brought the hatred with you, though I suppose its not your fault, cant help the DNA you were born with I guess…

• 76.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Merry Christmas!

• 77.gunther: Reply to this comment

Good to see they are letting poops out for Christmas.

• 78.whatever: Reply to this comment

@gunther :

Yeah, the muzzel and straight jacket come off for a week at Christmas time. The men in white coats keep a good check on him though, so when he starts frothing at the mouth, it’s back to the padded cells……..a shame really, cause when he gets going it’s a fun meltdown and entertaining to watch.

• 79.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever : bwahahaha had your little rant have we bottom feeding pondlife?

the fact my posts occupy so much of yours and grunters thoughts really is a panacea to me.. it makes my “meltdowns” seem all worthwhile..

so thanks, best Christmas Ive had in years knowing you two have this constant NEED…

• 80.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever : by the way, its “muzzle” not muzzel..

that SA schooling pedigree coming to the fore again huh? wonderful..

• 81.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69 :

Very poor doos, you trying to be a Tackler 2? You have made plenty spell and gram errors here that we could write a book, but who cares?

Also, try being original…..”bottom feeding pondlife” is wet panties retort. Think of something yourself, oh yeah, parrot fashion, thats the keewee way hey?

Doos….with tinsel …….

• 82.whatever: Reply to this comment

Speaking of bottom feeding pondlife, your fellow keewee Dougie boy showing his true “west Auckland” colours again. Does’nt take much………..so tell me poppadoos, are you also one of the expat keewees that swear and throw bottles when you watch your team live in OZ?

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever : hahah try being original? like your “originality” following grunters lead?

bwahahahaha dooos is sooooo original too..

oh no, not making generalisations now are we? gees, i thought you were the sort of boy who denigrated those that make generalisations..

hypocrite much?

• 84.poppa69: Reply to this comment

hows this for originality whatever..?

you are the seminal tick that is found on the bottom of a gorillas sweaty ballz.. with a face to match i bet..

now, have yourself a wonderful christmas in NZ, enjoy all of NZ’s local produce, and try not to let the maori boys beat you senseless again mate..

grow some..

vatso katvis

• 85.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

actually its ‘pondlife bottom-feeder’

ie those that feed on the excrement of the otherwise lowest common denominator/pondlife.

• 86.cane: Reply to this comment

It’s Christmas here in Godzone already.
    The Big Guy is on his way from the North Pole.

And I truely feel the LOVE.

I sat on his knee in The Mall,
    much to the delight of the Little People,
    and asked for the The Webb Ellis Trophy …………………………and Charlize Theron in a bikini, to be placed in my Christmas stocking.

The Big Guy said, “no worries. It won’t happen on the 25th, you Son of a Sea Cook, but it will happen.

Santa always delivers!

• 87.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane : 86 – Cannie..hehe. You have asked Santa a lot there.

Merry Christmas to you Cane and Happy Birthday for tomorrow too. Have a good one mate and a red wine on me, of course not chilled straight off the wine rack and enjoy those great flavours…from my house to yours.

Cheers Cane enjoy the rest of your night. Catch up tomorrow or next week.

• 88.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane : That mall Santa is an unemployed Aussie with a disgusting internet browser history. In Brisbane, Sydney and Canberra he is not allowed within 100m of children. But I’m sure he’ll sort you out with something special.

• 89.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I asked Santa for a wooden leg for Christmas.

But not as a main present.

You know, just a stocking filler.

• 90.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Two drums and a cymbal walk off a cliff.

Ta-da-dshh.

• 91.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Tough crowd.

• 92.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 89

~~~~belly wobble~~~~~

• 93.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther :

You got a big belly?

• 94.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

To all the Keo bloggersphere. Wishing you and your families a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year. Every blessing to you and your families.

• 95.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn :

well, not comparatively.

• 96.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@whatever : Bees Roux behaved worse.

• 97.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69 :

@84 What are you on about? Maori boys beating me senseless? Please explain, or are you just having another racist meltdown?

I don’t need to grow anything boet, got them already….you on the otherhand?? Down the rounds yet? Checked all the doors locked and all security cameas working?

@Black Panther :

Yeah, you are an expert at feeding off excrement, normally your own.

@TheTackler :

So he has been found guilty has he?

• 98.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Merry Christmas Richie, the whole world loves you!

• 99.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong : think you might be a tad wrong there ! ! !

• 100.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther : Just to let you know, Lomu played for Cardiff Blues and was useless. Average Kiwis have done well in Europe, but the “superstars” have been useless. Byron Kelleher is the exception.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.