The new face of Super Rugby

Find out everything you need to know about the expanded competition in the bumper 156-page issue of SA Rugby magazine.

We kick off our Super Rugby preview section with an idiot’s guide to the new format (if you still don’t know how it works after reading this, we can’t help you). That’s followed by three pages on each South African team (how they are shaping up, player signings/losses, fixtures, previous log finishes, numbers that matter etc) and one page on each of the Kiwi and Aussie sides.

– The Springboks failed to make any progress on their end-of-year tour

– Is Victor Matfield too conservative to be Bok captain?

– The All Blacks capped off an outstanding 2010 with their third Grand Slam in five years

– The Wallabies were frustratingly inconsistent on their end-of-year tour

– If England are to seriously challenge for the World Cup, they will have to stand up to the big beasts of the game

– Behind the swagger lies a secret diary that is driving England wing Chris Ashton to new heights

– Why the Barbarians are still relevant in the professional era

– Yet again the World Cup schedule helps the big nations and hinders the smaller ones. Why can’t the IRB make rugby’s showpiece event fair to all?

– Plus: Why Stuart Abbott is back in SA, Tim Noakes on the Boks ‘doping’ controversy, Heinrich Brussow’s injury battle, SA players in Europe

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

2,264 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1146 » Show All

• 101.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn : That’s a big accusation to make, claiming that someone deliberately reneges on his bet obligations. Hope he isn’t reading this.

• 102.Puma: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : @Dawn : We can all have a glass for Jinx tonight.

• 103.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Puma : Yep, let’s do that.

• 104.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Dawn : 99 – Very sad Dawn, can’t believe he is gone.

Was looking for some posts Jinx done during the IPL we posted plenty together. He was really gifted with words. Took me forever to find those, but came across some great posts when he was talking to you Dawn. He sure was fond of you plenty.

• 105.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Dawn , lol. I just googled Skop’s nazi shark tirade, farkin hilarious. Jinx also commented on that thread.

• 106.Puma: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : 103 – Right its on..hahaha.

The last time I spoke to Jinx he told me to hop on a plane to CT and come and have drinks with everyone at Firemans. Just too far for me though. Wish somehow I did. So will have a few glass for Jinx tonight here in Umhlanga of course. He wont mind at all. Probably would say, “I dig that lank”…hehe.

• 107.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

He KNOWS I will moer him.

• 108.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Puma, Jinx brother spoke about him and mentioned both blogs in the eulogy.

• 109.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Slappes : 108 – Very nice of Jinx’s brother to do that.

Go Google “Roelof saves SA. Keo.co.za.” Jinx posts a great post there to Roelof. Only Jinx could say such great words.

• 110.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Eish! Why amongst all the malls in CT does my wife want to go to Kanala Walk today?

• 111.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Slappes : Jinx posted under another nic during the IPL. (for fun of course) Google Frikkadelhi Daredevil that was his nic during the IPL. He posted some great posts then. He was gifted with words.

• 112.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Slappes : 110 – Look up Shark_Lover there. He runs the Cattle Baron Restaurant in that Mall.

Pity you going to the Malls this time of year. Not for me…hehe.

• 113.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No malls please, thank you!

Voortrekker Road was bad enough.

• 114.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Puma, Dawn lol. I hate malls – period! Voortrekker was scary but it seems as if Katman knows his way around there? Scaly place and people, Lions supporters are quite at home there. :)

• 115.JockBok: Reply to this comment

I did my Christmas shopping in Somerset Mall yesterday. I was on the telephone from Chad while my wife was fighting the crowds.

Easy :D

• 116.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Rest in peace Jinx.

• 117.E.T.: Reply to this comment

@Dawn :
    @107

My! Oh my! Am I surprised you have not received the so promised goods? That one just panders to this cyber crowd. Totally untrustworthy, if ever there was one such.

Surely you know you are dealing with a veritable, grossly self-interested, conniving skunk – net ‘n ou soetbek.

• 118.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Slappes :

Nee jong

Katman almost drove us to Katmandu.

Missed his turnoff.

• 119.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn : the worst news this holiday is that Rossoneri has stopped drinking :shock: now i get gesuip alone!!!!! Not kosher AT ALL

• 120.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation :

Whatever for.

• 121.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Trying to imagine two sour old crones drinking together…not a good mind picture.

• 122.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Dawn :

She wants to save what’s left of her two front teeth.

• 123.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Stormers, Sharks and Bulls to make the play offs of Super Rugby next year.

• 124.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn : just…

@Great White Shark : ah Predawn and his useless imagination :D

• 125.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Slappes :

Please tell this doos I’m not a sour old crone

• 126.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Sharks team for next Year

1. Beast
    2. Smit
    3. Jannie
    4. Sykes
    5. Hargreaves
    6. Daniel
    7. Alberts
    8. Kanko

9. Mcleod
    10. JLP
    11. Mvovo
    12. Bosman
    13. Adi
    14. JPP
    15. Lambie

16. Bismarck
    17. Van Staden
    18. Skeate
    19. Deysel
    20. Hoffmann
    21. Riaan Swanepoel
    22. Odwa

• 127.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark : She is reg my bru.

• 128.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Bulls team for next year.

1. Guthro
    2. G.Botha
    3. Werner Kruger
    4. Bakkies
    5. Matfield
    6. Stegmann
    7. Potgieter
    8. Spies

9. FdP
    10. M.Steyn
    11. Basson
    12. Wynand
    13. Pretorius
    14. Gerhard
    15. Kirchner

16. Chiliboy
    17. Greyling
    18. Danie
    19. Van Velze
    20. Hougaard
    21. Brummer
    22. Dippenaar

• 129.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Dawn, no need to. He seems like the stalking type, and you don’t need a crazed lovestruck shorky following you in the holidays…

• 130.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Stormers team for next year

1. Blaauw
    2. Liebenberg
    3. Brok
    4. Fondse
    5. Bekker
    6. Burger
    7. F.Louw
    8. Vermeulen

9. Ricky
    10. Grant
    11. Habana
    12. JDV
    13. JF
    14. Aplon
    15. Jantjes

16. Deon Fourie
    17. CJ
    18. Anton van Zyl
    19. P.Louw
    20. Dewaldt
    21. Lionel Cronje
    22. Juan de Jongh

• 131.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I predict 1 SA, 1 NZ and 1 Aussie team in the semis next year, with the other spot a toss up between an SA and Kiwi team.

The true effect of the new format will take time to become clear, but I just have a sneaky suspicion that it’s gonna nail us more than usual.

If the Bulls lose away to the Stormers and Sharks, the Sharks lose away to the Stormers and Bulls and the Stormers lose away to the Sharks and Bulls, then all 3 SA teams are stuffed.

And that is a very possible scenario.

• 132.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus : I notice you don’t see the Lions losing to anyone. Finally you seem to be seeing the light.

• 133.subliminal verses: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami :

I dont like a few positions there in that sharks team mate

1. Beast
    2. Smit……time to go old man (Bissy)
    3. Jannie
    4. Sykes
    5. Hargreaves
    6. Daniel
    7. Alberts
    8. Kanko

9. Mcleod
    10. JLP….Lambie way too gifted to be wasted @ 15 (Lambie)
    11. Mvovo
    12. Bosman….(JLP)
    13. Adi
    14. JPP
    15. Lambie……(Ludick)

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : naturally Tacitus is only concerned about the ‘super powers’ :D

• 135.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@subliminal verses : who actually rates alistair hargreaves? Everytime he gets picked for the Bokke he pulls a ‘Stegmann’…

• 136.subliminal verses: Reply to this comment

@Transformation :

Yeah……good in black and white tho (realentles defense)

would try out Anton Van Zyl or Ross Skeate for the green and gold instead

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@subliminal verses : i rate A van Zyl too, even more after that Baabaas game…

• 138.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus :

We were just talking about you!

• 139.subliminal verses: Reply to this comment

@Transformation :

I rate Keegan Daniel as well….have you eva the pace on that kid ???

• 140.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Well, looks like TheTackler got served good and proper by the top dog!

• 141.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@subliminal verses : yeah but what else does he bring to the table, pace and? Is he a ball carrier, link man, does he slow down oppo ball?

• 142.subliminal verses: Reply to this comment

@Transformation :

he could play 12 or 13, i think

• 143.subliminal verses: Reply to this comment

who remembers Adrian Kaper ????

• 144.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@subliminal verses :

I remember that legend – used to work wonders with the run rate!

• 145.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Statistics are like a lamppost to a drunk man. It does not serve to illuminate but rather, to keep him upright.

A very apt description when it comes to statistics, specifically where it is used to motivate the inclusion and exclusion of certain players.

I had to learn the hard way that statistics, although extremely useful, can sometimes be very damaging. Especially in a dynamic medium such as rugby where success is dependent on more things than just raw mathematical or scientific data. Most telling, statistics only become useful, or useless, depending on the interpretation of data and how that is done.

In my days of doing analysis in sport I got very frustrated by certain coaches insistence on the continued selection of certain players when my analytical data suggested they were not where they should be from a performance point of view considering widely accepted bench marks. That was until I ventured into coaching myself.

I learned as the saying above goes, that statistics merely support views in rugby, it does not illuminate or give certain clarity on events or players.

Practically I am also reminded of this whenever I see a Baa-baa team, or World XV team assembled. Statistically you can pick the best individual players in the world in certain positions, but that is no guarantee they will gel as a team, in fact, they seldom do.

The recent End of Year Tour was supposed to answer the question of leadership within the Springbok team, in the absence of regular captain John Smit who underwent surgery and rehab. His long serving deputy, Victor Matfield was charged with the honour to lead the Boks on tour and given the performances, the questions on whether there is life after John Smit from a captaincy or leadership role, remains largely unanswered.

The situation is even more complicated with the fact that Smit’s continued inclusion in the Bok team mostly based on his leadership ability, is keeping who many believe to be the best hooker in the world at the moment, Bismarck du Plessis, on the bench.

Many argue it is more of a sentimental issue than a logical one, and statistically they can prove this to you rather convincingly, but I am afraid it is not that simple.

I think Smit would be first to admit that 2010 was a forgettable year for him. From a form and conditioning perspective it was probably his worst year as a professional player.

But is one bad season enough to make what would arguably the most crucial decision for a Rugby World Cup in 2011?

If one bad season is all we consider, not many players will play more than 20 tests for South Africa, let alone 50 or 100.

It is a very fine line one walks when you pick teams based on form alone, especially at test level where form comes from different dynamics (lower levels of competition, different teams and different competitions).

The question we should ask, is whether a fit, conditioned John Smit would be a asset, or liability for the Springboks at World Cup 2011?

Following that, it would be up to the player to ensure he is (fit and conditioned), because I do not believe this should be a case of either or, for me it is a case of having the best captain, lock forward, and hooker in a match day 22, and I cannot see why this is impossible.

• 146.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt :

Surely as long as Smit’s performances as a player are overshadowed by those of Bismark, then it will always be a case of “either or”? Only one hooker can take to the field.

• 147.grant10: Reply to this comment

smit is a hero….yesterdays hero!

• 148.gunther: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt :

• 149.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@gunther :

You know I had to. ;)

• 150.gunther: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt :

an early christmas present?

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1146 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.