The new face of Super Rugby

Find out everything you need to know about the expanded competition in the bumper 156-page issue of SA Rugby magazine.

We kick off our Super Rugby preview section with an idiot’s guide to the new format (if you still don’t know how it works after reading this, we can’t help you). That’s followed by three pages on each South African team (how they are shaping up, player signings/losses, fixtures, previous log finishes, numbers that matter etc) and one page on each of the Kiwi and Aussie sides.

– The Springboks failed to make any progress on their end-of-year tour

– Is Victor Matfield too conservative to be Bok captain?

– The All Blacks capped off an outstanding 2010 with their third Grand Slam in five years

– The Wallabies were frustratingly inconsistent on their end-of-year tour

– If England are to seriously challenge for the World Cup, they will have to stand up to the big beasts of the game

– Behind the swagger lies a secret diary that is driving England wing Chris Ashton to new heights

– Why the Barbarians are still relevant in the professional era

– Yet again the World Cup schedule helps the big nations and hinders the smaller ones. Why can’t the IRB make rugby’s showpiece event fair to all?

– Plus: Why Stuart Abbott is back in SA, Tim Noakes on the Boks ‘doping’ controversy, Heinrich Brussow’s injury battle, SA players in Europe

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

2,264 Comments

Pages: « 129 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 3946 » Show All

• 1651.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

This could be the last test for the following:

1. Boucher
    2. Harris

• 1652.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts :

Did you see the 1st over? Tendulkar edged Steyn to Boucher but given not out.
    The snicker showed a distinctive edge.

• 1653.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer : @grant10 : They performed it together a year earlier in Aneheim too – worth looking that up. Springsteen must be one of the greatest songwriters of all time. and what Morello does with a guitar defies logic. And you kind of believe it when it comes from them.

• 1654.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer :

Hi Mate! No I didn’t – I’m not watching at the moment.

It is going to be a long day…

• 1655.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

aah skittle sticks, oldfarty’s excuse for a sport. How anyone can classify this drawn out humdrum of an unfathomable waste of time beats the hell out of any kind of rationalized thinking.

Only the last bastion of the dead ended empire can continue cavorting around on a field of idiocy pretending they actually enjoying themselves. How the pathetic strains of colonialist regiment of mad dog insanity prevails in spite of its archaic throwback to the ingrained Victorian heredity it was bred on refuses to die hard, but by God, how pathetic it is.

This ain’t sport, its the equivalent of old man’s croquet for young brainwashed imbecile fools. Even lawn bowls offers more excitement…

• 1656.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : with a river out back, no doubt? If Hirsh gave one a good smack from the Wynberg end in a strong southeaster, there’d be a fair chance you’d see some broken roof tiles.

• 1657.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : Yes, it’s not quite Dungeons and Dragons, is it?

• 1658.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer : if the technology’s there to be used, use it. Bloody hell!

• 1659.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : and happy New Year to you too Skops. See you’re at a loss for words early into the new year.

• 1660.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : I’m guessing Skoppie just did not trust protecting his jewels behind a box, at school. Clearly no appreciation for the finer refinements of the beautiful game then. Someone’s missing out.

• 1661.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES :

My point exactly. But the Injuns didn’t want to. That’s where the toothless ICC should have stepped in.

• 1662.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

That wicket just secured his spot for the next 10 test matches

Well done!

• 1663.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo :

I know you’re watching. Just sit back and enjoy. And go and grab a Castle.

• 1664.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES : Skoppie had no time for cricket at school. Between home economics as an extra subject and his duties as captain of the interpretive dance team, he was a very, very busy boy. Not to mention the dinosaur painting in his spare time.

• 1665.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer : I’ll never understand why the Injuns can dictate terms, particularly when they are the bloody visitors. Eat what’s put in front of you. Hope we still klap the sods.

• 1666.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

dungeons and dragons wazzat?

Howdydoody Tassies, happy Ny to you too, seeing as they keep saying when in Rome do as the Romans do, we still dancing to Justinian and Julian and Gregorian loonytunes here on the turn of the sun.

One lil snick and a catch followed by utter delirious elation and broad boast chest beating, god almighty this so called sport can but bring out everything that is imbecilical delirious in modern mankind

A lil snick and an inane catch is the epitome of such focussed endeavors for 5 whole days on the trot under the madly contested heat of the burning midday sun.

Outright self made insatiable insanity, not much else here on display.

• 1667.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

tried my hand at this archaic last bastion pastime at school, was an ok kinda off spinner and a reasonable bat at around 6 or 7 but sh’t the rest of the time standing out at long stop or switching between silly mid off and deep square leg or round the f’cking bend I had enough of this unfathomable waste of time by time I reached age 14. Far better fun to be had in the pool or on the trampoline or on the tennis court where your time was your own and you weren’t wasting endless afternoons in endless nonsensical pursuit of a hard little ball of cork wrapped in red leather.

Pathetic ain’t even half the description of such humdrum lunatic type idiocy.

• 1668.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo : But you’re watching, right?

• 1669.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Why isnt lazy Smith bowling?

Wonder if he also wannabe a specialist batsmen?

• 1670.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Newlands opener an all-SA affair
    2011-01-04 10:00:02

The Sharks will again travel to Cape Town
    to take part in the now annual Neo Africa
    Tri-Series – only this year it will be an all-
    South African affair at Newlands.

Australian outfit, the Western Force, joined
    the Sharks and the Stormers in the inaugural
    three-team series last year, but in 2011 the
    Men from Perth will be replaced by the Lions
    who will join the two South African coastal
    franchises to make it an all-SA affair.

The 2011 Neo Africa Tri-Series will take
    place from January 28 to February 5, with a
    replay of the 2010 Currie Cup Final – as a
    Durban side takes on a Cape side – closing
    out the series.

The first match kicks-off on Friday, January
    28 when the Stormers host the Lions at
    Newlands at 7pm.

The next match (Tuesday, February 1) sees
    The Sharks and Lions battling it out (also at
    7pm), with the series finale taking place on
    Saturday, February 5 between the Stormers
    and the Sharks – scheduled for 5pm.

The Sharks will play their opening Super 15
    match two weeks later when they host the
    Cheetahs on February 19 in Durban (at
    5.05pm), whilst the Lions play host to the
    Bulls later that night at 7.10pm.
    The Stormers have a first-round bye before
    getting their 2011 season underway
    against the Lions – at Newlands, again – on
    February 26.

Ticket prices and information:
    Stormers v Lions:
    All seating – R40
    Danie Craven standing – R20
    Scholars’ enclosure – R10

Lions v Sharks:
    All seating – R30
    Danie Craven standing – R10

Stormers v Sharks:
    All seating – R40
    Danie Craven standing – R20
    Tickets for all the matches will be available
    at all Computicket and Shoprite/Checkers
    outlets, as well as on the Computicket
    website from January 17, and from the
    Newlands Box Office from January 25.

• 1671.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : What’s this R10 more to see the Stormers play nonsense? Talk about delusions of grandeur.

I urge you all to get down to Newlands, pay the paltry R30 or R40 and catch a glimpse of the New Lions. Even if it’s just to say you where there when history happened.

This is the dawning of the age of Leo.

• 1672.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I have nothing against Harris. He’s filled @>^..^< katman : at least he had fun then. I spent much of my time dancing to the tune of the boss’s stokkie. He was also a very very busy boy.

• 1673.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

ok outta here. Work to do. Some of us have to keep the economy in forward gear. Speak later.

• 1674.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES : jissus. what the donner? Keo, call in the techs boet. Something’s sprung a leak.

• 1675.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

not watching anymore had my midday coffee shake down at Berthas and back in my bakkie n back to site

This ridiculous game gonna drag on another 2 and half days only to result in a stupid inconsequential draw. If ever there was a worse contested waste of time than this I’ve yet to see it.

• 1676.grant10: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : 1653 yeah….fark me that was clasic stuff….keep those you tube classics coming my man!

• 1677.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation : 1670
    i will be there for all 3 ….

• 1678.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@grant10 : Yep, 8 minutes of sustained goose flesh.

• 1679.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

Great clip of The Boss and Co. Katmandu.

Try this: Give a minute or two before quiting.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yooqIsQnjME

• 1680.E.T.: Reply to this comment

The loutish element in the nationl team once more give SA sport a black eye while they in typical Ponting fashion go against even the accuracy of the technology by having negative words and attitudes for The Master and Harbas and the umpire Ian Gould.

Gould actually gave two masterful and correct decisions in both cases but to you think that will prevent Mafia Smith and dirty Stain from having nasty words with probably the most honest of batsmen? They only succeed to make themselvs look silly and excessively stupid.

• 1681.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Shut up fool.

• 1682.grant10: Reply to this comment

its bloody chaos and carnage out there at newlands…..high drama and great theatre

• 1683.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

You want mind numbing sport try athletics. Dudes trying to outrun each other. Or outjump or outthrow each other. Even jukskei requires more skill.

• 1684.E.T.: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup :

If that is directed at me I would appreciate more cyber courage from you lout!

Pity you don’t play the game too well as you would fit in well with the Mafia Smith loutish element.

NOTE the IF.

Do YOU not agree now then with the technology you were deeming to be USED?

PATRIOTISM is the sickness of the emotionally challenged!!

• 1685.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Tendulkar a real magician

Will be proclaim as a demigod – if not already

Tendulkarism!

• 1686.E.T.: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua :

Agrre with your earlier idea of getting rid of the fines-master who backs up as the drinks -master with th emoney accrued for the mafia club who drink so much that they send Audis crashing into gates and walls.

What is Abe being asked to do that Gilly has not done for Australia and with wonderful mastery at that too?

• 1687.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane : Hmmm… my-ghetto-has-a-bigger-drug-problem-than-yours hip-hop doesn’t normally float my boat, but I appreciate the sentiment in trying to better the community. And although it’s not my cup of tea, it’s pretty good for what it is.

And there is something about that Gin girl that I like. Can’t quite put my finger on it…

• 1688.Boo_Habana: Reply to this comment

Tendulkar is okay, but he is no Don Bradman thats for sure!

• 1689.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

They did ask AB – He refused profoundly – The Mafia totally accepted his excuse of being a specialist batsmen

or was the reason to be the Best Batsmen?

Selfish I say!

• 1690.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane : Here’s a Kiwi band that a friend of mine recently introduced me to, called The Naked And Famous. Kind of indie electro pop rock (did anyone say MGMT?), and quite moreish.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCcUXEC5_eU

• 1691.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Boo_Habana :

Bradman didnt had to face Glen Mcgrath and Shane Warne

So Quota_Sux whats happening this time of year there in upper Forest Hill?

• 1692.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

AB even dedicated his 280+ to Mafia Smith

• 1693.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@ ET. Wow how did you manage so many disparate pieces of c r a p into one post.
    What the h e l l is cyber courage supposed to mean? I suspect you are a stranger to courage in all it’s real forms.

I haven’t expressed any view at all about the use of any technology so I don’t know who you are confusing me with.

” negative words and attitudes for Harbas” Are you referring to the oaf who called Symonds a ******? To the poon who klapped his own teammate live on TV?

And you tangental comment about patriotism. It is one thing to make stoopid comments but you are taking the p I s s.

• 1694.Boo_Habana: Reply to this comment

even i can average 58+ if I play most of my matches on the flat India tracks… tendulkar is good … but Bradman is the cricketing god! The Frik du Preez of cricket

• 1695.Boo_Habana: Reply to this comment

Kallis almost has the same Avg as Tendulkar … and he can bowl! .. best batsman in the world atm = Tendulkar …. best cricket in the world atm = King Warrior Kallis

• 1696.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Pointless trying to compare them. Different times, conditions, opponents, technology, etc

• 1697.Boo_Habana: Reply to this comment

Eshowe – KwaZulu-Natal MEC for co-operative governance and traditional affairs Nomsa Dube on Monday called on the national department of science and technology to investigate the causes of lightning after seven people in lightning strikes.

“We will do an investigation and talk to the department of science and technology on what is the cause of the lightning,” said Dube.

She was visiting Mpumazi in Eshowe where seven people from two families died after being struck by lightning on Sunday.

LOL …. dumb idiot, doesn’t even know what causes lightning!! .. probably another grade 5 MEC getting a R1m/month salary … racism!! … white people are responsible for the lightning, the same white ppl who sell vrot chicken to blacks ..all racism mr N (D)omsa!

• 1698.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Don’t mock her until the findings of the Committee investigating why the sun is hot have been presented to parliament.

• 1699.E.T.: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup :

You rather conveniently ignore the prime target of Mafia Smith and dirty Stain, namely THE MASTER, who so happens to be amongst the most HONEST also

Ignoring your garbage do you then call for the use or non-use of the latest technology.

Smith the cricket mafia leader has, but now stupidly remonstrates with that technolgy rep., the umpire, on the field whilst simultaneously bad-mouthing THE MASTER and Harbas., how utterly stupid. Does he not know that you cannot have your cake and want to eat it too?

• 1700.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

“white people are responsible for the lightning, the same white ppl who sell vrot chicken to blacks ..all racism mr N (D)omsa”

What does this have to do with Bradman and the Master?

Pages: « 129 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 3946 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.