The new face of Super Rugby
20 Dec 2010
Find out everything you need to know about the expanded competition in the bumper 156-page issue of SA Rugby magazine.
We kick off our Super Rugby preview section with an idiot’s guide to the new format (if you still don’t know how it works after reading this, we can’t help you). That’s followed by three pages on each South African team (how they are shaping up, player signings/losses, fixtures, previous log finishes, numbers that matter etc) and one page on each of the Kiwi and Aussie sides.
– The Springboks failed to make any progress on their end-of-year tour
– Is Victor Matfield too conservative to be Bok captain?
– The All Blacks capped off an outstanding 2010 with their third Grand Slam in five years
– The Wallabies were frustratingly inconsistent on their end-of-year tour
– If England are to seriously challenge for the World Cup, they will have to stand up to the big beasts of the game
– Behind the swagger lies a secret diary that is driving England wing Chris Ashton to new heights
– Why the Barbarians are still relevant in the professional era
– Yet again the World Cup schedule helps the big nations and hinders the smaller ones. Why can’t the IRB make rugby’s showpiece event fair to all?
– Plus: Why Stuart Abbott is back in SA, Tim Noakes on the Boks ‘doping’ controversy, Heinrich Brussow’s injury battle, SA players in Europe
Click here to subscribe to print edition

2,264 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 … 46 » Show All
5 Jan 2011, 11:19 am
@cane :
This year we’re going to whip posteriors.
I can feel it in my water.
5 Jan 2011, 11:19 am
@>^..^< katman : Not to mention the all too prevalent “cover your @ss paper” which has become extremely popular these days…
5 Jan 2011, 11:20 am
@cane : Or, in the local lingo, the “poepholpaleis”. (For those not conversant with Afrikaans and the penchant for combining adjectives and nouns into single compound nouns, a “poepholpaleis” is a poop hole palace.)
5 Jan 2011, 11:22 am
@stormersboy : hiyas bro , HNY , hope you had a great festive season
btw is puma still here?
5 Jan 2011, 11:23 am
@I am a stormer : India’s team is whipping your yarpies’ posterior right as we speak (so to speak).
5 Jan 2011, 11:24 am
@TheTackler : Another example of said compound nouns would be kakprater, right?
5 Jan 2011, 11:27 am
@sharks_lover : Hey fella, to you too. Was the season good to you? I had a very indulgent one but thems the breaks…
5 Jan 2011, 11:28 am
@TheTackler :
If I needed two guys to bat for my life, it would be these two.
Lets see how they go.
5 Jan 2011, 11:32 am
@>^..^< katman : Only when you’re like Joost, denying you’re drug-sniffing off a floozy’s leg, or those performance-enhancing drug-takers in the Bok side denying that you’ve done the old dirty. Or early-stage Hansie Cronje, when the Devil still made him do it, rather than a guy called Gupta, or Patel, or Singh (like a canary)…
5 Jan 2011, 11:41 am
@I am a stormer : AB and Kallis are batting to SAVE a test, not to WIN one.
5 Jan 2011, 11:43 am
we get a lead of 220 its game on…
5 Jan 2011, 11:45 am
Kallis caught behind!!!
5 Jan 2011, 11:47 am
@TheTackler :
We’ve got the runs.
They still have to get them.
Cricket is a funny old game.
5 Jan 2011, 11:48 am
@Mighty_Horua : How old are you?
5 Jan 2011, 11:54 am
indians will not fancy chasing 250
5 Jan 2011, 11:55 am
@>^..^< katman : it’s the defective forest hill genes! can’t do anything about it
5 Jan 2011, 11:57 am
@I am a stormer :
Your 430 modidified to 380 can only be described as being a manisfesstation of what sick patriotism can do even before Harbhas reduced it to 52/2 before the close.
Don’t take this too seriously as you were wont to do yesterday, but there is a lesson there for you to learn. Hopefully much age is on your side.
5 Jan 2011, 11:58 am
oh hell….
Squeaky bum time….this is now a serious issue !
5 Jan 2011, 11:59 am
prince is a fighter of note…cmon boys!
Does Tackler ever have anything nice to say about SA or is he just trying to get a reaction? Seems to be a nasty piece of work, either way.
every bloody run like golddust now!
5 Jan 2011, 12:00 pm
@I am a stormer : 1958. Not AB. He plays too freely. A guy like Amla is much more solid IMO.
Oops AB is out. hier kom k uk.
@Transformation : You mean he’s genetically cursed with the kind of “humour” others outgrow at age 12?
cmon boys ….another 120 runs and its a game on!
quota Prince won’t make 10! well it could’ve been worse, Duminy could’ve been coming in now!
5 Jan 2011, 12:01 pm
@stormersboy :
Stupidly you have just sacrificed your life by handing it over to the Smith Mafia members. And the New Year has not really even started in earnest!!!
5 Jan 2011, 12:01 pm
@grant10 : Dig in Deep time. Ashwil owes us a big one, let’s hope it’s today.
5 Jan 2011, 12:02 pm
With regard to the cricket. There is not much chance of winning a test with only 6 batsmen and Harris as your spinner. Smith out of form and Boucher a passenger.Duminy should be the extra batsman and spinner. He spins it more than Harris ever will. There again, Steyn probably gets more spin than Harris. Tsotsobe has a lot to offer in years to come.
5 Jan 2011, 12:04 pm
@E.T. : What you talking about Doc?
5 Jan 2011, 12:05 pm
Oh well, last day of leave before a soft landing back at work tomorrow.
The missus asked about going to the movies. I hesitated before agreeing.
I think I made the right decision.
@E.T. :
You’re such a plonker. But don’t take it too seriously.
@stormersboy :
Yeah, spoke too soon. A bit of a curse.
5 Jan 2011, 12:06 pm
They’r into our tail already…eish!
5 Jan 2011, 12:09 pm
The value of a match winning spinner is vital to winning close test matches. The Turbonator is one – a pity we don’t have one YET!!!
The way to play now is by attacking and trying to get as many as possible, as the unplayable ball will come sooner or later.
Good luck lads!!! Come on Prince and Kallis – lets show some courage when it counts most.
5 Jan 2011, 12:10 pm
C’mon Prince, prove me wrong here.
You’ve made runs when SA have been in trouble before.
5 Jan 2011, 12:13 pm
The real problem comes when Kallis Retires, and it won’t be long now. Another year tops. Then you lose 2 players, a seamer and possibly the best batsman of modern times. (yes I said Batsman, not just allrounder, that’s a given). You have to find another batsman and another bowler as we do not have another allrounder like him.
The only alternative is to Drop Boucher at the same time, give AB the gloves (whether he wants them or not) and pick Duminy and another seamer. And maybe another spinner in place of Harris who doesn’t convince me, but I’m open to argument on that one.
5 Jan 2011, 12:15 pm
I’m so glad we are losing! … Make Shukri Conrad the coach and have this test team :
1. G Smith
2. A Peterson (cpt) – great record as cpt @ prov level
3. Amla
4. Kallis / Vandiar (2012 onwards)
5. JP Duminy
6. Prince
7. AB (keeper)/ Thami Tsolikele
8. R Peterson
9. D Steyn
10. W Parnell
11. Lobsy
5 Jan 2011, 12:17 pm
@stormersboy :
Feigning ignorance now?
Did you not minutes ago put you life in the hands of mafia members Abe DeV. and Jacques ‘Carless’?
Try Prince hopefully next time despite his off-colour.
5 Jan 2011, 12:19 pm
@John Galt :
What an utter fool!! It should be mon key really. The man you derided you now encourage. Stuff that morons are composed of.
5 Jan 2011, 12:21 pm
Kallis not going to last for too long. Taking lot of strain.
5 Jan 2011, 12:21 pm
@stormersboy :
Howzit buddy! Compliments mate!
Tahir has to be brought into the mix and agree with you on dropping Boucher for Duminy and moving AB to take the gloves.
The value of a top class spinner is vital for grounds like Newlands, Sydney, PE, etc. A pity Tahir only qualified now as he would have made a huge difference to the balance of this side. Duminy would become a spinning option too then.
5 Jan 2011, 12:22 pm
AB has a back problem that will not stand up to tie rigors of keeping in 5 day cricket.
Find another keeper.
Kallis will cut back on one dayers but expect him to play tests for another three years subject to injuries.
5 Jan 2011, 12:22 pm
@E.T. :
Nope, I just SA to do well, I think he’s our last chance with Boucher being so kak at the moment. Simple.
There are 2 big trolls on this site right now. With small flacid pe nis’.
Im out. Later.
5 Jan 2011, 12:23 pm
@E.T. : You are one irritating little ****. Like a mosquito. If your online persona is anything to go by, you have zero endearing qualities, and you must be bags of fun around the house.
5 Jan 2011, 12:24 pm
@Mighty_Horua : Only 3 seamers? That’ll never work IMO. Also I’d have Johan Botha before I’d have Robin Peterson.
Rusty Theron has to come into strong reckoning for the 4th seamer place.
After Jaques retires, I’d look at the following 13:
Smith
Petersen
Amla
Duminy
Prince
De Villiers (Keeper)
Johan Botha
Steyn
Tsotsobe
Theron
Parnell
Morkel
R Peterson
Guys like Vandiar can stake their claim for inclusion, if he’s as good as he is made out to be I’d have no problem picking him in place of Botha.
Just my take at the moment. Again some of those positions could be filled by others, it depends at the time.
Getting close to 2K here Okes.
Not a place to be for those with delicate posteriors.
A Kiwi will take the 2000.
We always take all the meaningfull milestones.
Only Skim could defeat us.
@gunther :
Then Kuhn or Van Wyk become the only other possible options. Tsolikile may be an option too. His batting is not that bad, but his keeping is superb.
5 Jan 2011, 12:25 pm
@John Galt :
That knowledge you show seemingly, does that make you G A Y?
Tail between the legs run as usual!!
5 Jan 2011, 12:26 pm
yes
5 Jan 2011, 12:26 pm
2000.please
Pages: « 1 … 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 … 46 » Show All