The new face of Super Rugby
20 Dec 2010
Find out everything you need to know about the expanded competition in the bumper 156-page issue of SA Rugby magazine.
We kick off our Super Rugby preview section with an idiot’s guide to the new format (if you still don’t know how it works after reading this, we can’t help you). That’s followed by three pages on each South African team (how they are shaping up, player signings/losses, fixtures, previous log finishes, numbers that matter etc) and one page on each of the Kiwi and Aussie sides.
– The Springboks failed to make any progress on their end-of-year tour
– Is Victor Matfield too conservative to be Bok captain?
– The All Blacks capped off an outstanding 2010 with their third Grand Slam in five years
– The Wallabies were frustratingly inconsistent on their end-of-year tour
– If England are to seriously challenge for the World Cup, they will have to stand up to the big beasts of the game
– Behind the swagger lies a secret diary that is driving England wing Chris Ashton to new heights
– Why the Barbarians are still relevant in the professional era
– Yet again the World Cup schedule helps the big nations and hinders the smaller ones. Why can’t the IRB make rugby’s showpiece event fair to all?
– Plus: Why Stuart Abbott is back in SA, Tim Noakes on the Boks ‘doping’ controversy, Heinrich Brussow’s injury battle, SA players in Europe
Click here to subscribe to print edition

2,264 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 46 » Show All
21 Dec 2010, 09:41 am
@bryce_in_oz :
I am in agreement with you.
Smit had a good 2009, a decent 2010 S14 but a poor 3Ns.
However Tim Noakes warned us of player fatigue and Smit was not the only one.
Smit has now had an enforced rest. By all accounts he has lost weight and hit the gym hard. Apparently looking great.
Clearly he is fighting and that is a quality we admire.
But yes, lets see the S15 form. My bet is that both Smit and Bissie will play very well.
I would try and look for to put Smit into the starting 15 if I could but failing that have him on the bench.
21 Dec 2010, 09:43 am
@Biscuit : you sum it up perfectly my man.
My persistence is an absolute abhorrence of accomodation selections and any form of entitlement culture, it weakens pro sport….
But i am trying to tone it down….promise.
21 Dec 2010, 09:46 am
@Biscuit : smit cannot start at 2 imo….and 3 is completely out of the question….he will end up in hospital.
So , unless Bissy has an injury, Smit will have to make a move at 1…..and there is serious okes fighting for that spot.That is about the sum of it imo.
21 Dec 2010, 09:48 am
@grant10 :
Entitlement does suck – Did you disapprove of sneaking Luke into the side?
Lets see the S15 form. Then lets judge.
21 Dec 2010, 09:59 am
@Biscuit : difference is luke should of been a bok in 2006 already mate….and you surely would acknowledge that…..
No…i always prefer merit….never liked the way LW was chosen, wished he had said no….but the man was used as a pawn.
I agree…lets see what the super 15 comes up with….if smit shows he is worthy of a starting place, on merit, i will be the 1 st to say well done…..i do harbour doubts though….bissy is far more than a ‘ normal ‘ hooker.
To me Bakkies, Bissy, J Smith and Brussow are crucial parts of a bok pack that can do real damage in wc 2011….and jannie dup has , imo, been the ‘ find ‘ of the 2010 season…anchoring that bok scrum like a good th should do!
21 Dec 2010, 10:01 am
@gunther : Kallis does a Judge Motata
Kallis ploughs Audi R8 through gate
Cape Town – Proteas star batsman Jacques
Kallis was apparently involved in a car
crash in the early hours of Tuesday
morning.
An eyewitness told Sport24 that Kallis had
crashed a white Audi R8 through the gate
of a neighbour’s house off Herschel Walk in
Wynberg, Cape Town around 02:30.
The witness said he awoke to an “almighty
bang” and noticed a car inside his neighbour’s property.
His wife, fearing a burglary was in
progress, immediately called the police.
“Soon thereafter three cop cars arrived at
the scene. I clearly saw it was Jacques Kallis
behind the wheel. Kallis at no stage left the
car,” the witness told Sport 24.
“Kallis must’ve called his girlfriend as she
arrived shortly thereafter and took him
away once everyone had left.
“The car, which was severely damaged,
was removed from the driveway by a tow
truck,” the witness added.
The Proteas star, currently involved in the
Test series against India, scored his maiden
double century in the first Test at
SuperSport Park in Centurion last weekend.
21 Dec 2010, 10:07 am
@Biscuit :
Yep, ruggaworld had a current pic of slim Smit, in one of the threads… who has also now fully recovered from his chronic cervic op and ready for the start of the Sharks season…
22man 85min test rugby… bench selection is just as important as the XV at the top level… Smit/BDP, the order is not that important as long as they’re both there…
21 Dec 2010, 10:07 am
@Transformation :
was he drinking “strong tea” with a colleague?
21 Dec 2010, 10:09 am
@gunther : Harris is twice as good as Symmo. The numbers just don’t lie in cricket averages, whether you like it or not. Symcox was not even ordinary, but sub-mediocre.
21 Dec 2010, 10:12 am
@TheTackler :
harris is a turkey.
self basting at that…
if you think cricket averages have no context then you are dumber than I thought.
No wonder you left south africa when sheltered employment became a thing of the past.
21 Dec 2010, 10:17 am
@gunther : after a double to ‘strong tea’ is the only proper drink to imbibe…
Didn’t hear anything about him being tested for alcohol though…if those cops didn’t then they’re poephols!
21 Dec 2010, 10:21 am
@gunther :
It’s all that fake hair.
Got into his eyes.
Are you coming for drinks.
21 Dec 2010, 10:21 am
@Transformation :
Maybe its the same cops who looked after Tony Yengeni
VIP squad…
21 Dec 2010, 10:26 am
@Dawn :
what drinks, where?
this is quite a busy time of year for me.
also I am heading to Arniston thursday morning.
do you think they used the hair from his back?
21 Dec 2010, 10:27 am
Audi R8? Plus money for breast implants. I mean hair implants. Was cricket affected by the recession?
21 Dec 2010, 10:30 am
Our own Tiger Woods.
21 Dec 2010, 10:35 am
@TheTackler :
Yep… Harris is the quickest Japie spin bowler to date to 100 test wickets… and took only 6 matches less than the opener Morkel to get there… hence he’s currently ranked 14 in the world out of all the bowlers eh.
21 Dec 2010, 10:35 am
If JS can outplay, BDP for the 2 position that’s awesome. But we all know he does not have the skills or the strength.
21 Dec 2010, 10:37 am
@garth : i agree.
21 Dec 2010, 10:39 am
bissy and brussow will have mc caw and pocock having sleepless nites.
Not so with smit….thats just the way it is…
21 Dec 2010, 10:43 am
@>^..^< katman :
could it be sponsored?
I believe boucher phoned Maserati looking for a sponsored car
no self-esteem issues there then.
21 Dec 2010, 10:51 am
@gunther : Cricket averages average out across whatever contexts in which they occur.
Harris is much much better than Symmo, or Hobson, or McKinnon, or Chevalier or even Tayfield.
Averages don’t lie.
21 Dec 2010, 11:03 am
@gunther :
Not now man.
When I say so.
Next year.
21 Dec 2010, 11:03 am
@gunther : I heard Boucher also bought a house in the same Herschel Walk development. A regular little athlete’s village, stumbling distance from the post match celebrations.
21 Dec 2010, 11:04 am
@TheTackler :
Are you still here.
21 Dec 2010, 11:05 am
Watse gesypery goes on in our cricket team.
21 Dec 2010, 11:07 am
@>^..^< katman :
where kallis goes boucher will never be far away
21 Dec 2010, 11:09 am
@>^..^< katman :
athletes village?
does that mean there will be free condoms in the lounges?
21 Dec 2010, 11:11 am
Harris is not worth a spin bowler! Useless as a fielder and batsmen
Atleast Symmo smashed a 100 against Pakistan!
21 Dec 2010, 11:13 am
Batsman or batsmen?
21 Dec 2010, 11:14 am
@Mighty Horua :
Even if the ball did go through the stumps…
21 Dec 2010, 11:14 am
@gunther : Yep. And signs in 15 languages not to flush sanitary pads down the loo.
21 Dec 2010, 11:15 am
Playing second fiddle to Roelof at any form of the game must constitute Uselessness!
Not even second fiddle! 10th Fiddle
Being the alleged spin bowler in the team and Greame Smith tossing the ball to JP Duminy – Pathetic!
21 Dec 2010, 11:22 am
@>^..^< katman :
is there a Mcdonalds on site?
because then they could bring them back to life as hamburgers.
21 Dec 2010, 11:24 am
@gunther : yeah those cops are a real classy bunch…
21 Dec 2010, 11:30 am
@gunther : You mean like Supreme Poultry is currently doing with expired chickens?
21 Dec 2010, 11:30 am
@Transformation :
chest in stomach out
21 Dec 2010, 11:31 am
@>^..^< katman :
much the same.
what did the lesbian frog say to her girlfriend?
21 Dec 2010, 11:33 am
@gunther : wonder if kallis did my township simpleton routine that got me & rosso off the one time…
21 Dec 2010, 11:35 am
@gunther : I don’t know. Was it something like “come on honey, do your tadpole dance for me”?
21 Dec 2010, 11:36 am
@Transformation : What? You threatened a traffic officer with a stolen firearm?
21 Dec 2010, 11:36 am
@>^..^< katman :
close
mmm! it’s true we do taste like chicken.
21 Dec 2010, 11:38 am
@gunther : ha ha. I do however know what you get when you cross a hippo with a lesbo.
21 Dec 2010, 11:38 am
@Transformation :
more likely he pulled the ANC vibe and gave it the
“offisher do you know who I am?” routine.
21 Dec 2010, 11:39 am
A Likkalotapus.
21 Dec 2010, 11:39 am
@>^..^< katman :
?
21 Dec 2010, 11:40 am
@>^..^< katman :
@ 241.
that is going to upset the keo youth league.
21 Dec 2010, 11:46 am
And speaking of athlete’s villages… All the athletes were congregating on the village before the Olympic Games. There is a great spirit of cross-cultural friendship and everyone goes out of their way to make new friends. The American athlete spots a young man carrying a 4m long, 6 inch wide carry bag and makes the logical assumption.
“You must be a pole vaulter,” he says.
“Actually I’m a Sveed. But how you know my name?”
21 Dec 2010, 11:51 am
@TheTackler :
Why don’t you rattle of your list of credentials then and lets see how they compare to those of a world-renowned scientist?
21 Dec 2010, 11:56 am
What do you Saffas eat for Christmas lunch?
Boerworst or Biltong?
Swilled with Sour Cane or Sav Blanc.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 46 » Show All