The new face of Super Rugby

Find out everything you need to know about the expanded competition in the bumper 156-page issue of SA Rugby magazine.

We kick off our Super Rugby preview section with an idiot’s guide to the new format (if you still don’t know how it works after reading this, we can’t help you). That’s followed by three pages on each South African team (how they are shaping up, player signings/losses, fixtures, previous log finishes, numbers that matter etc) and one page on each of the Kiwi and Aussie sides.

– The Springboks failed to make any progress on their end-of-year tour

– Is Victor Matfield too conservative to be Bok captain?

– The All Blacks capped off an outstanding 2010 with their third Grand Slam in five years

– The Wallabies were frustratingly inconsistent on their end-of-year tour

– If England are to seriously challenge for the World Cup, they will have to stand up to the big beasts of the game

– Behind the swagger lies a secret diary that is driving England wing Chris Ashton to new heights

– Why the Barbarians are still relevant in the professional era

– Yet again the World Cup schedule helps the big nations and hinders the smaller ones. Why can’t the IRB make rugby’s showpiece event fair to all?

– Plus: Why Stuart Abbott is back in SA, Tim Noakes on the Boks ‘doping’ controversy, Heinrich Brussow’s injury battle, SA players in Europe

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

2,264 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1246 » Show All

• 301.cane: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami : post 281.

No, I am no slaughterman.

My oldest brother had the duty of Axeman.

30 kids from the neighbourhood would show up(aged 4-10). Stand back 20 metres and watch in awesome wonder.

Vegetarians were few and far between in those days.

• 302.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@cane : Lol sounds cool. Poor chicken though, thats a packed execution.

• 303.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther : Don’t get me wrong, the HR Pinot Noir is a splendid wine. But it is a bit of a hairdresser’s choice. It’s about a masculine as a floral foot stool.

• 304.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma : Post 296.

Before you throw that lamb onto the braai on Christmas Day………………………………give it a love bite from me. Waste not want not.

• 305.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : Post 303.

I’ve always thought that about chardonnay.

• 306.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane : Hey, I like chardonnay. You calling me soft, you big old kiwi fruit?

• 307.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane : 304 – Will do Cannie. :cool:

• 308.gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

even worse for I like to stick it in the fridge for half an hour before opening.

I love shiraz…but when its very hot I find it a bit much.

fear not though I have a Vilafonte Series M in reserve.

• 309.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane :301 – Cannie, Bet you pleased you were not the oldest..hahaha. No wonder hardly any Vegetarians… :)

• 310.Puma: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman : 303 – :lol: Stick with the Cabernet or Shiraz. Best Shiraz I have tasted was in Oz.

@gunther : 308 – Gunther if you want to stick your Shiraz in the fridge, stick to Katmans Hairdressers choice :) For me (a red wine drinker) the thought of a good red wine coming out of the fridge is a huge NO NO. :)

• 311.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

What an enviable problem/situation to have to deal with. I have to stick my red wine on the radiator or in front of the little fan heater before I can drink it over here!

• 312.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Puma :

only in summer puma and only certain wines..

red wine should be served at room temperature.

what is room temp in durban during the summer?

unless of course you like your wine the same temperature as your soup :)

in which case keep on dishing out the no no’s :)

• 313.cane: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat :

Are you in Yorkshire Yeti……………or the Himalayas

• 314.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The world’s most respected wine critic, Jancis Robinson MW, rates SA reds rather lowly and says — with much justification — that they all have a characteristic “burnt rubber” undertone.

NZ pinot noirs compete with the very best Burgundy ones both in quality, complexity and premium price. It’s just not a hot climate cultivar and it’s the hardest of all to get just right.

• 315.Puma: Reply to this comment

@gunther : 312 – Gunther room temp in Durbs is in my air con house :lol: I know red wine should be at room temp but not fridge temp wink: that is a bit too cold. :cool:

• 316.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Puma :

Puma what temperature do you think it’s at by the time you have uncorked it and served it?

It’s probably an age thing.

• 317.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma : 315.

Drink it the way you like it PUMA.

You only live once.

• 318.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@cane :

Northamptonshire. It’s no joke here at the moment.

Heard some thumping around the car this morning and it turned out the bottle of water I usually keep in the back had turned into a solid block of ice!

• 319.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : NZ might have a better rugby team (now, not next year) and better wines, but one thing is guranteed, we in SA have the better women. But it is all about priorities, I guess.

• 320.gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane :

precisely.

• 321.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane : 317 – Thanks Cane, know we veterans know better. :cool:

• 322.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma : know = now

• 323.Puma: Reply to this comment

@gunther : 316 – Depends Gunther, If you uncork and serve it straight away (straight out the fridge) rather cold :wink: :) But if left to stand then room temp, depends what temp your room is too. :cool:

Like Cane says, drink it the way you enjoy it. Red wine for me very cold is not on.. lol. But all to our own hey!!!

• 324.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma : meant = stand AT room temp.

Sorry busy working while posing..lol.

• 325.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma : 324 – Jeepers not getting this right, must be a age thing…hehhe

– posing = posting.

• 326.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Puma :

yoh..

your house must be cold at 14 16 degrees :)

sounds like you have cracked open your (warm) wine early.

• 327.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther : I know it’s okay for a Pinot to be slightly chilled. As I said, I’m rather fond of one myself. But it does kind of smack of pink Polo shirts with popped collars.

• 328.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler : Ja, you carry on telling yourself that. And why stop there? Tell us about NZ’s exquisite biltongs and their magnificent boerewors. Hell, why not convince us that their big game viewing is second to none.

They may produce some good Pinots, but the balance of their red wines is light years behind SA’s best. And by this I mean real reds.

• 329.gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

I’m struggling to make the older generation understand.

How did you know I rock the popped collar?

can you see me waving now?

ps that shirt is not as pink as it looks on the webcam….

• 330.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler :

Is there no end to you sycophancy? They’ve let you in the country, you can stop being such an arze licker now.

• 331.cane: Reply to this comment

Goodnight all,
    and whatever you throw on the heat this Christmas……………..I hope you enjoy it.

I sat on Santa’s knee earlier this week, and asked for the following:
    - Hurricanes to win the Super whatever.
    - Wellington Lions to win the NPC.
    - West Coast to win the Heartland Comp.
    - Sharkies to win CC.
    - Celtic.
    - Liverpool/Fulham……………anyone but Chelsea, Man U. or Arsenal.
    - Poms to slaughter Oz in the Ashes.
    - NZ to win RWC.

And the Big Guy said …………..Okay cane.

But just this once,

• 332.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane : @cane : Those shopping mall Santas can’t be trusted. Did he ever explain what he had in his pocket?

• 333.JockBok: Reply to this comment

I’ve started drinking Rose lately due to extreme heat here. Luckily the country I’m in is full of Frenchmen so I can get away with acting like a ponce…

• 334.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther : Lucky guess. You sound like a collar popper I used to know. I bet you struggle to get your facial routine down to the 15 minute mark.

• 335.Puma: Reply to this comment

@gunther : Gunther, I make the most typos, you should know by now..hehehe

My air con is set at 20 just right, house not too warm and not freezing.

Nah, still working but having some mates around later. So will open my wine around 5pm :) It wont stand long either…hehehe. Actually my mates all enjoy a iced cold beer, I do too sometimes. Today it is overcast with rain so the red wine looks a good choice for later.

• 336.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@cane :

You asked for Celtic???

Anyway, Scotland doesn’t want them. Help yourself :)

• 337.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

Plenty of red varietals that can be served chilled… obviously on top of the multitude of Rose varietals (the more savoury the better)… look no further than a GSM (Grenache Shiraz Movedre) or some of the many quality sparkling reds around…

As for those wanting to step away from the Turkeys/Hams… they can easily be done on the Weber… the Turkey’s boned, brined and herb butters stuffed under the skin or a leg ham boned and basted with any multitude of goodness… either with a smattering of red wine soaked hickory chips (or vine clippings) on indirect heat with hood closed and hey presto…

Any of the above chilled varietals match perfectly…

• 338.cane: Reply to this comment

@JockBok :

A Rose is a very delectable summer guff.

• 339.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane : Named after those giants of SA rugby, Earl and Jody, of course.

• 340.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane : 331 – Cane nice post there. But ask for Sharkies to win S15 and Boks WC :wink:

If you don’t post before Christmas Cannie, have a great one and enjoy it mate. Also all the best for your Birthday on the 26th my friend. Only allowed you one week to catch up to me in age…hehehe.

• 341.cane: Reply to this comment

@JockBok :

Easy Jocky,

Variety is the spice of life.

• 342.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz : I know. I’m all for a chilled red. I’m just yanking Goenta’s chain.

• 343.Puma: Reply to this comment

@JockBok : 333 – JockBok, WHAAAT!!! Rose????? Well I never…hehehe. You sound as bad as Gunther with his red wine in the fridge…hahahaha.

How you buddy? When you coming home for Christmas?

Celtic is fine with me, Cannie can have that one in his wish list. Though Rangers are fine too. Have so many Scot mates and it gets hectic with who to support. Celtic or Rangers. I go with the flow who ever is visiting me. But I have a Celtic jersey. Given to me many years back.

• 344.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Puma :

Howdy Puma. Go with Hearts. We are on a bit of a run at the moment, 6 wins in a row including stuffing Celtic, and a draw last week saw us consolidate 3rd place. G*d is a season ticket holder so you’d be in good company :)

In the proccess of packing now actually. Leave after midnight tonight, Ethiopia tomorrow morning 5am, Jozi at 1.15, The Spur at 1.30, CT at 6pm :D

And chilled red is relative mate. Depends on the room temperature, and when it’s hot outside, a little bit of chill can be quite nice.

• 345.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz : 337 – Bryce you a chef? Sounds kinda nice that braai.

I was in Oz on business in Oct. One restaurant served Shiraz very chilled, for me it was wasted, just far too cold, took the lovely taste away. But never put me off, tried it a few times again while there not chilled and was probably the best Shiraz I have had. So does depend on ones taste I suppose.

• 346.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@cane :

Variety is fine bud. But unfortunately you need a lawyer with that Christmas list. Even Santa can’t help you with *any* of those wishes ;)

• 347.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler :

When are you going to stop talking through your ***?

She is not rated in the top 5 wine critics in the world according to Wine magazine, that would be Parker from the States. Robinson is merely regarded as a top wine journalist.

And for the record, SA is among the top 10 in both the world’s leading wine producing countries, and the top 10 wine exporting countries.

• 348.gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman :

look after your face and your face will look after you.

I never take longer than ten.

@Puma :

actually, when I make my annual hajj to provence there is nothing I like more than bruisingly chilled, flinty rose.

I may even pop an ice cube in.

Quelle Horreur…

• 349.Puma: Reply to this comment

@JockBok :344 – Hearts, You support them? Okay if you say so…lol. Most of my mates are either Celtic supporters (most are) but also have quite a few Scot mates supporting Rangers. Often have a mix of all of them over here. Believe it or not they all get on well. lol.

Good you on your way home buddy. You sure will be looking forward to the break.

I know red wine can be served chilled, I am just not keen on it at all. That is if it is like fridge temp, far too cold. You get it also like that in some restaurants in France. Got a Shiraz served to me very cold in Oz and it was not great. Tried it another time not chilled and enjoyed it far better. BUT Rose?? No ways, not for me..hehe.

• 350.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

It is like Gavin Rich winning the top SA rugby journalist award.

Sure as **** does not make him a rugby expert…

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1246 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.