Beast stays with Sharks

The Lions have failed to bring Beast Mtawarira to Joburg.

According to The Mercury, the loosehead prop has signed a three-year contract with the Sharks and been pushed up to the same salary bracket as the likes of John Smit, despite being a relatively inexperienced Bok.

‘The Beast is a big part of the Sharks having come from nowhere to advance from the Sharks Academy to the senior team and then to the Springboks,’ coach John Plumtree told the newspaper. ‘He has gone on to become one of the best loosehead props in the world and our coaching staff are excited about continuing his development.’

However, while Mtawarira’s immediate future has been determined, the boardroom battle between the Sharks and Lions could continue well into 2011 after the Sharks lodged a complaint against the Lions with Saru. The Sharks said the Lions offered Mtawarira an alternative contract when he already had a binding contract with the Sharks, which was in breach of the governing body’s regulations.

141 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : lol ranger

jannie is a little older , but not more then a year

• 102.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i am actually not sure at all how this new superrugby format will play out.

but i know the sharks will give me more good times than bad, as usual.

so i am looking forward to kick off!

• 103.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : ok, thanks.

he won a cc (or was it two?) with FS also.

and one with the sharks in 2008.

he has more cc wins than the entire stormers squad put together (ok, maybe willem de waal matches him :lol: )

• 104.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) :

Aren’t the Sharks zero from 15 attempts in professional super rugby, where are the good times there or am I missing something?

• 105.Mighty_Horua: Reply to this comment

sharks_lover .. a bit dof aren’t you? but i guess its all the durban poison you ppl in KZN take …. Jannie is a medical doctor right? For about 2 – 3 years? Well it takes 7 + years to become a medical doctor. So how can he be 25?

• 106.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : I bet you wish you had a Fergie now hey. :-)

There’s only one ……..,

Just imagine playing like **** and still leading the league having lost no games. ;-)

• 107.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : all the semis and finals they played means they won a lot of games my china.

and that gave me joy.

its like you kiwis for example. you win a lot of games between wc’s but then choke like the lead singer of inxs every four years but you always tell us how happy you are with the all blacks :lol:

now apply your logic to your own situation and you will find inner peace sonny.

• 108.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : @104 But hey at least we play good rugby :-)

• 109.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy) : i blame kenny dalglish actually.

when he turned merc pool were never the same again.

fergie cant coach forever though buddy :lol:

• 110.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy) : and we have manners.

• 111.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) :

All the finals they have played, that would be how many? Don’t count O7 as we both know that one didnt really count.

• 112.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : Yeah Ranger but look at the players he turned out as coaches. Hughes,Bruce,Ince etc so somewhere there will be a replacement for him.

• 113.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : haha, didnt count like 1987?

you are not really learning are you?

@bananaboy(bananaboy) : ag, like bill shankly, there is only one fergie buddy.

you sound nervous? :lol:

• 114.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : happy new year to u too…

yeah he is a huge lump, but like deysel i suspect he is a mr glass! like i said alberts needs to keep it up for 2 seasons straight, then he maybe mentioned alongside schalk.

• 115.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) : true, i always punt consistency over a few seasons but even at the lions he was a wrecking ball.

but ja, like lambie, lets see some consistently good seasons before we go too crazy.

• 116.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : Lets see what happens this weekend in the FA cup. Both my parents support Pool so there is a bit extra riding from me on this game.

• 117.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy) : 116 in as much as i hate Manure, Pool will get their arses handed to them on the weekend. just last night they lost 3 – 1 to blackburn who don’t even have a manager!

• 118.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) : Transie you only hate them because they are successful. ;-) . – like the Sharks
    Trust you are healthy, had a good break and looking forward to a gr8 rugby year.

• 119.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy) : nope, bunch of Glory Hunters! Hated them before they won much.

Alex ‘i don’t do interviews with BBC’ Ferguson is the most pompous poehol EVER! As for the Sharks, well i don’t know what ‘success’ you’re referring to :roll: the Sharks are mediocre at best, they’ve never dominated ANY competition. Success = Crusaders ie 7-time Super Rugby champs not the hypocrites from sewage spewing Debben :D

• 120.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) : haha, like the mighty elephants have done much?

the sharks have been the most successful cc team over the last 20 years surely?

6 wins in 22 years, has anyone else won that many in that period?

and they have been losing finalists on 2 or 3 occasions?

but you are being emotional and i have already mad a mistake trying to bring logic into the discussion.

just as long as you dont get hysterical m’kay? :lol:

• 121.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) : as for glory hunters, what else is there in sport?

mediocrity specialists?

well as a mighty elephant supporter i understand your stance :lol:

they are the true southern kings of mediocrity lmao!

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

where did that snippy little kiwi go?

is it already internet closing time in china?

• 123.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : They also have only those 6 victories EVER. And yes, btw, the Bulls also have 6 from the last 20 years. They have a lot more than those 6 though, coupled with a three superrugby title, I’d say that THEY were the benchmark team of the last 20years, wouldn’t you say?

• 124.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tegejo(Tegejo) : thats why i mentioned the last 20 years.

i did not say of the last 100 years tegejo?

i was talking about A COMPETITION with transie as he said the sharks had never dominated any compo.

but yes, we sharkies respect what the bulls have achieved even if it was off the back of a cheating cowardly action by a players and a gutless display by a drunken kiwi yobbo ref who is now an aussie but still a tunc.

there you go, happy?

• 125.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Tegejo(Tegejo) : In between those 6 CC titles and the 3 superrugby titles didn’t they also have a rotten run for a few years in super rugby.

• 126.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : The Sharks and Lions dominated the CC from 1990 – 1996. That period saw their bigger wallets thrash everything in their path.

The Sharks will always be competetive, but dominating a full strengh domestic comp,I doubt it. Unless they buy the entire Grey College, and force them to play in black

• 127.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy) : They went through a bad patch, yes. History only remember winners though…and that they have been. Unlike every other SA team. (And I’m not talking abouth Transvaal fluke)

• 128.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tegejo(Tegejo) : ah, the old “buying players” chestnut.

did bjorn basson go to school in pretoria? young hougie or old hougie? morne steyn? guthro? bakkies?

dont be silly man please.

the sharks won 4 cc’s in the 90′s (between 90 and 96, take a guess who dominated those years then?) and were in two finals after 1996.

they have won 2 in the last three.

now stop being emotional please. the bulls are amazing! happy? :lol:

• 129.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : Did you not read my post? I agreed that they dominated those years. But dude, to be honest. I was still in primary school. Its a helluva long time ago. The Sharks/Cheetah-A team is having a good run at the moment. But even with all their Grey players, they are not near the benchmark team. Only people from Durbs will tell you that. If you go to any rugby-knowing person in Australi, New Zealand or England, they will tell you who the benchmark is. Not only in South Africa, mate. Get a dose of reality. Everything is not blac, white and dynamite!

• 130.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tegejo(Tegejo) : yes it is.

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : 120 do you see me going around claiming the Elephants/Kings are a ‘success’? Hehehe :D only in Debben…

• 132.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : I rest my case. NEXT

• 133.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) : well you cant can you?

or you would be committed.

and not in a good way.

anyways, i am out. battle tomorrow?

cheers man.

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman) : how have you ‘dominated’ a comp when other people have achieved the same thing you’re bragging with before YOU? Let us see the Bulls pull a three-peat then we can talk about domination. The Sharks haven’t dominated sh*t! :D

• 135.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) : transie get over yourself. WP are the true champions. Even Ranger knows this fact.

• 136.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES) : Put away you Tassies…I know its hot in Cape town, mate! But surely a nice cold Fanta would do?

• 137.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

Lopsie gets his man. The wall has come tumling down….. Too little too late, I’m afraid…

• 138.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES) : yoh uvelaphi ngoku wena? :shock: hayi mani sukuphupha apha!

• 139.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Lions not giving up on Beast pursuit

2011-01-06 13:15:03

Golden Lions President Kevin de Klerk
    believes that the tug-o’-war between the
    Lions and the Sharks over the services of
    Springbok prop Tendai Mtawarira is not
    over yet, and the player’s decision will
    ultimately decide his fate.

Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl has indicated that
    the Sharks are adamant that Mtawarira has
    a binding contract with them and the matter
    has now been put to rest. De Klerk,
    however, believes there could still be one
    final twist in this ongoing saga.

De Klerk revealed his admiration for
    Mtawarira as a player and
    explained why he believed there was still a
    chance that the Beast could become a Lions
    player in 2011.

“We’re not done with our negotiations [yet]
    and, ultimately, it is going to depend on the
    Beast where he wants to play his rugby,” De
    Klerk said

“I don’t believe that he has a proper
    contract, but we don’t need – or want – to
    have to go to court to contest that.”

De Klerk compared Mtawarira’s current
    contract with the Sharks to the dispute
    between the same two unions a year ago
    that saw loose forward Willem Alberts and
    fullback Louis Ludik trade Johannesburg for
    Durban.

“It is a similar type of arrangement to the
    one we had with Willem Alberts and Louis
    Ludik where the contracts were not
    complete, so there was an opening for us to
    negotiate with him and we did on that
    basis,” he explained.

“We believe that we have a wonderful
    opportunity for him [Mtawarira] up here at
    the Lions with the new team that we are
    developing.

“We would love to have him on board, but
    we will respect his decision about where he
    would like to play,” he added.

The Lions are in a rebuilding phase with a
    number of young players coming through
    the ranks, and the financial backing of IT
    multi-millionaire Robert Gumede is allowing
    the union to purse a few more well-
    established players to mentor young
    starlets like Elton Jantjies and Jaco Taute to
    name just two.

However, should the ambitious move to lure
    the Springbok loosehead prop to
    Johannesburg fail, De Klerk is confident that
    coach John Mitchell has enough talent at his
    disposal to work with.

“We are pretty well layered and have some
    up-and-coming youngsters that are making
    big statements at the moment, so we are
    pleased about the road ahead,”

De Klerk expects finality on this saga to be
    obtained “over the next few days”.

• 140.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) :

Yeah the more I think about this the more I am becoming totally indfferent as to whether he goes or not.

If he wants to chase the cash, good on him, its a professionaly game with an age limit.
    I dont think think it will be a great move for him rugby wise though and I think you’ll see him lose even more ground in his quest to be no 1 loosehead ahead of Guthro.

As for the Sharks, well they are well covered in the front row so no worries there. Van Staden is a very good player.

Lions becoming the Man City of SA rugby. The union is flat broke but luckily there is a large benefactor to buy players.

• 141.stew: Reply to this comment

What is happening to daily stories on this website ?

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.