Beast stays with Sharks
5 Jan 2011
The Lions have failed to bring Beast Mtawarira to Joburg.
According to The Mercury, the loosehead prop has signed a three-year contract with the Sharks and been pushed up to the same salary bracket as the likes of John Smit, despite being a relatively inexperienced Bok.
‘The Beast is a big part of the Sharks having come from nowhere to advance from the Sharks Academy to the senior team and then to the Springboks,’ coach John Plumtree told the newspaper. ‘He has gone on to become one of the best loosehead props in the world and our coaching staff are excited about continuing his development.’
However, while Mtawarira’s immediate future has been determined, the boardroom battle between the Sharks and Lions could continue well into 2011 after the Sharks lodged a complaint against the Lions with Saru. The Sharks said the Lions offered Mtawarira an alternative contract when he already had a binding contract with the Sharks, which was in breach of the governing body’s regulations.

141 Comments
6 Jan 2011, 09:38 am
wish the SA teams would rather get sa players abroad back as opposed to the raping and pillaging of our home franchises…
6 Jan 2011, 09:46 am
@grant10(grant10) : I hope you’re not referring to the Lions here. Because it’s pure self-defense.
6 Jan 2011, 09:50 am
@>^..^< katman(katman) : no mate….mean it sincerely, stormers and most franchises have blood on there hands….i understand lions frustrations….just dont think its good for our rugby….and would rather have some saffas back than this constant poaching…by all saffa teams…
6 Jan 2011, 09:52 am
gents…gotta run…have a great day …and go Proteas!!
6 Jan 2011, 09:56 am
I hope the Proteas can do to India what the Poms are doing to the convicts right now, rip them a new one.
6 Jan 2011, 09:58 am
@grant10(grant10) : Nice to see you back.
6 Jan 2011, 10:04 am
Howzit guys. All the best for the new year. Just came back from Oz. Hope you have a great year, appreciating what the Bulls will do for SA rugby, yet again!
6 Jan 2011, 10:05 am
@Tegejo(Tegejo) : You mean dragging us back to 1986? Can’t wait.
6 Jan 2011, 10:09 am
@>^..^< katman(katman) : Nah, being the only competitive side in the Super15. Bulls and Stormers. For the rest of SA…. ESPECIALLY the dreadful Lions, I see a very long season….
6 Jan 2011, 10:12 am
Well done Beasty, you got what you really wanted.
He was never going to leave, lets face it. He is now part of a young champion side and going to a very green but hungry Lions side might have done his career a slight disservice.
Look at Alberts, I dont think he is now any better a player he was 3 seasons ago with the Lions, he is just playing in a team with a better pack and team around him and he is finally getting the recognition he deserves.
Beast also recently bought a massive house in the Durban North area I think for him and his missus, not the type of thing a bloke does if he is looking to upsticks every time his contract is up for renewal.
Now you have to perform my boy, no excuses.
6 Jan 2011, 10:15 am
I nearly cried, laughing when I read the young champion side bit…..
6 Jan 2011, 10:15 am
So we lost Beast, but pissing Brian van Zyl off (and squeezing his wallet) is priceless in its own way.
6 Jan 2011, 10:24 am
@Tegejo(Tegejo) :
Okay. You are going to have to explain why you laughed. It wasnt a joke and I certainly never misspoke.
Unless of course you’re like that homeless dude on the corner of Umgeni and Goble(cant think of the terrorists name that has replaced Goble) roads who is prone to fits of uncontrolled laughter for no apparent reason.
Must be the drugs.
6 Jan 2011, 10:32 am
@grant10(grant10) :
You make a good point. But after considering it for a moment I came to the conclusion that this is a perfect demonstration of the fact that all our best players are still plying their trade locally.
In a way, it is proof that our policy of only picking local players for the Bok team is working.
6 Jan 2011, 10:33 am
@John Galt(John Galt) : Not the drugs, mate. I cant help laughing at dellusional people. Its like laughing at the little ret@rd boy shoving the ice cream against his forehead. You know its wrong, but you cant help yourself….
6 Jan 2011, 10:35 am
@John Galt(John Galt) :
I think he was laughing at the “young” part.
6 Jan 2011, 10:39 am
@Tegejo(Tegejo) : “young champion side” = Currie Cup CHAMPIONS 2010.
Pretty simple, really.
Lol, I loved your post at 59… your prediction that the Bulls and Stormers will be “the only competitive sides in S15″
Let’s wait and see what the Sharks say about that.
6 Jan 2011, 10:47 am
Sigh.
So much sudden optimism in Durban.
Hate to be there when reality sets in.
6 Jan 2011, 10:52 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : In my opinion, only one team can claim it’s a champion side, and that’s the Bulls of 2007 – 2010. And before them, the Crusaders of 2000 – 2005.
6 Jan 2011, 10:55 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : Then I could argue that the Kings are also a young championship side, as they won the 1st division. If winning a dewatered CC makes you happy, by all means. Some of us bigger unions set higher targets for ourselves….
6 Jan 2011, 10:56 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus) :
Still dont get it.
15 Ludik – 24 yrs
14 Ndungane 29
13 Stef – 35
12 Strauss 26
11 Mvovo – 24
10 Lambie 20
9 Mcleod 26
8 Kanko 25
7 Alberts 26
6 Daniel 25
5 hargreaves 24
4 Sykes 26
3 JDup 25
2 Bissie 26
1 Beast 25
Average age 25 and a half. Not exactly the oldest team I’ve ever seen lift the currie cup.
6 Jan 2011, 11:02 am
@John Galt(John Galt) : Jannie Dup’s 25 hey?…Get your facts straight
6 Jan 2011, 11:02 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus) :
Never been much of an optimist myself.
I dont know what will happen in this years S15 with its new layout. Quite frankly, anyone who says they do, is a moron.
What i can say is that Sharks were playing a great brand of rugby toward the end of last season, a brand that mixed the SA and NZ style to perfection. It wasnt just a ‘throw the ball around and hope it works’ style. If they carry on in that method this year, I really think they will be difficult to beat.
Lets just hope it continues. And if you think Im not going to back the Sharks 100% even if they come short this year, you’re horribly mistaken.
6 Jan 2011, 11:06 am
Dewatered?
6 Jan 2011, 11:08 am
@John Galt(John Galt) : amazing how they can all be optimistic about their teams . but dont you sharks supporters dare ??????
i mean grant has been an ******* about smitty , but atleast grant is fair and does not sit here and run down other teams
tacci is a clown of note , the poor oke prolly crapping his diaper
others trying to tell us like tegejo how we wont get anywhere blah blah , what an arogant twatwaffel , i mean a short while ago the same useless sharks slaughtered his famous amazing wp
buncha clowns i tell ya
6 Jan 2011, 11:08 am
@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking) :
According to the Sharks website he was born 14/10/1985. So at the time of the currie cup he was?
You’ll have to help me out here, my maths is a little laboured.
6 Jan 2011, 11:11 am
@John Galt(John Galt) : john i just happen to know a few of the bulls players and one or 2 in their management and him always tacci always knocking the sharks as useless and running down someone like john smit ??
they will be the first to tell him to go back to danville and stop showing his idiotic stupid moron side
see bulls are a great team and have got good people playing for them
unlike some of their supporters
6 Jan 2011, 11:12 am
as for the super 15 , there are no favourites , new year new season new competition
time will tell
but id rather be a team comming off a winning note then one or 2 that had their asses handed to them on a platter
6 Jan 2011, 11:17 am
Some Province supporters are still feeling the pain…like Burger after that one tackle..
6 Jan 2011, 11:19 am
yes, the sharks are gonna getcha.
the bulls will once again be our stiffest competition locally as they have been for the last 4 years.
the chok….uhm…stormers will probably be up there again but the sharks seem to have their number (since 2004 really).
so my prediction is:
sharks to top the local pool, bulls in second and stormers pushed really close by the lions for third.
lucky there are so many sharks fans in CT so the pubs and restaraunts will still do a brisk trade.
6 Jan 2011, 11:21 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn) : schalk is made of stern stuff foreshore.
it was interesting to watch some of the keo youth league and clifton revolutionary brigade start shouting his praises after denigrating him last year for going to the beach.
hypocrites.
but there is a new man van staal in town and his name is willem alberts.
6 Jan 2011, 11:26 am
Alberts is the real deal. Not only is he a tough rugger player but he also has an even temperament. Professional, intelligent and results orientated.
Burger is like the cartoon version of Alberts.
6 Jan 2011, 11:31 am
Alberts not in the same league as THE BURGER
After Alberts can get a pass away or feed his backline – only then Alberts mite be mentioned in the same paragraph than Schalla
Alberts could just be another 1 season wonder! After almost 9 years at the pinnacle of rugby Schalla is the real deal
6 Jan 2011, 11:38 am
Sehwag out. Hopefully a sign of things to come!
6 Jan 2011, 11:41 am
Jannie du Plessis was born on 16 November 1982
Ask Wiki if you want to verify
And don’t believe all the bulls… the Sharks website feeds you.
I even saw Lionel Mapoe’s profile with a pic of him in a Sharks jersey on there last year
6 Jan 2011, 11:43 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua) : blah blah blah,
6 Jan 2011, 11:44 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy) : good morning old chap ^5
6 Jan 2011, 11:45 am
@rangerman(rangerman) : good day ranger bro ltnc , HNY by the way hope you had a good one
alberts and deysel will be breaking a few more oposition ribs this year for sure
6 Jan 2011, 11:50 am
Name: Willem Alberts
Date of Birth: 11/05/1984
Place of Birth: Pretoria
Position: Eighthman
Height: 1.92 m
Weight: 119 kg
High School: Monument Hoer Skool
Club: Acer Durban Collegians
Sharks Debut: 2010 vs Chiefs (Vodacom Super 14)
——————————————————————————–
Name: Jacques Botes
Date of Birth: 28/11/1980
Place of Birth: Nelspruit
Position: Flank
Height: 1.82m
Weight: 99kg
High School: Potch Gymnasium
Club: Envirosan Old Boys
Sharks Debut: 2005 vs Stormers (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Anton Bresler
Date of Birth: 16/02/1988
Place of Birth: Windhoek Namibia
Position: Lock
Height: 1.98 m
Weight: 112 kg
High School: DHS
Club: Jonsson College Rovers
Sharks Debut: 2010 vs Griquas (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Craig Burden
Date of Birth: 13/05/1985
Place of Birth: Durban
Position: Hooker
Height: 1.84 m
Weight: 100 kg
High School: Maritzburg College
Sharks Debut: 2006 vs Cheetahs (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Dale Chadwick
Date of Birth: 20/06/1989
Position: Prop
Height: 1.83 m
Weight: 107 kg
High School: Westville Boys High School
Sharks Debut: 2009 vs Leopards (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Patric Cilliers
Date of Birth: 03/03/1987
Place of Birth: Pietermaritzburg
Height: 1.86 m
Weight: 113 kg
High School: Michaelhouse
Sharks Debut: 2007 vs Lions (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Kyle Cooper
Date of Birth: 10/02/1989
Place of Birth: Johannesburg
Height: 1.78 m
Weight: 106 kg
High School: Glenwood Boys High School
Name: Keegan Daniel
Date of Birth: 05/03/1985
Place of Birth: Humansdorp
Position: Flank (loose forward)
Height: 1.88 m
Weight: 94 kg
High School: Dale College
Sharks Debut: 2006 vs Reds (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Jean Deysel
Date of Birth: 05/03/1985
Place of Birth: Free State
Position: Eighthman/Flank
Height: 1.91 m
Weight: 112 kg
High School: Hentie Cilliers
Club: Goss & Balfe Crusaders
Sharks Debut: 2007 vs WP (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Justin Downey
Date of Birth: 11/11/1986
Height: 1.92 m
Weight: 104 kg
High School: Northwood Boys
Sharks Debut: 2009 vs WP (Absa Currie Cup)
Name : Monty Dumond
Date of Birth : 20/08/1982
Place of birth: Klerksdorp
Position : Flyhalf
Height : 1.81m
Weight : 95 kg
High School : Orkney High School
Club: Airtron Harlequins
Sharks Debut: 2007 vs Lions (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Bismarck du Plessis
Date of Birth: 22/05/1984
Place of Birth: Bethlehem
Height: 1.89 m
Weight: 111 kg
High School: Grey College (Bloem)
Club: Chemspec Jaguars
Sharks Debut: 2005 vs Waratahs (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Jannie du Plessis
Date of Birth: 14/10/1985
Weight: 118 kg
Sharks Debut: 2008 vs Western Force (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Alistair Hargreaves
Date of Birth: 29/04/1986
Height: 2.01 m
Weight: 114 kg
High School: DHS
Sharks Debut: 2006 vs Griquas (Absa Currie Cup)
Name : Wiehahn Herbst
Date of Birth: 05/07/1988
Place of Birth: Klerksdorp
Height: 1.80 m
High School: Klerksdorp High School
Sharks Debut: 2009 vs Boland (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Adrian Jacobs
Date of Birth: 14/08/1980
Place of Birth: Kraaifontein
Position: Centre
Height: 1.79m
Weight: 95kg
High School: Scottsville Senior
Club: Thanda / ZRA Zululand Rhinos
Sharks Debut: 2004 vs Brumbies (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Ryan Kankowski
Place of Birth: Port Elizabeth
Position: Eighthman
Height: 1.93 m
Weight: 107 kg
High School: St Andrews
Sharks Debut: 2006 vs Lions (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Rory Kockott
Date of Birth: 25/06/1986
Place of Birth: East London
Position: Scrumhalf
Weight: 89 kg
High School: Selborne College
Sharks Debut: 2007 vs Bulls (Vodacom Super 14)
Name : Patrick Lambie
Date of Birth: 17/10/1990
Position: Fullback / Flyhalf / Centre
Height: 1.77 m
Weight: 92 kg
Sharks Debut: 2009 vs Griquas (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Piet Lindeque
Date of Birth: 31/01/1991
Place of Birth: Freestate, Winburg
Weight: 94 kg
High School: Grey College Bloemfontein
Sharks Debut: TBC*
Name: Louis Ludik
Date of Birth: 08/10/86
Place of Birth : Kempton Park
Position: Fullback
Height: 1.83m
Weight: 92kg
High School: EG Jansen Hoer Skool
Club: Duikers
Name: Luviso Lusaseni
Date of Birth: 16/12/1988
Place of Birth: East London
Position: Eighthman / Flank / Lock
Height:1.92 m
Weight: 105 kg
High School: Selborne College
Name: Charl McLeod
Date of Birth: 05/08/1983
Position: Scrumhalf
Weight: 88 kg
High School: Wonderboom High School
Sharks Debut: 2008 vs Boland (Absa Currie)
Name: Steve Meyer
Date of Birth: 21/03/1984
Position: Flyhalf
Height: 1.84m
Weight: 92kg
High School: Kearsney College
Sharks Debut: 2006 vs Leopards (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Gerhard Mostert
Date of Birth: 04/10/84
Place of Birth: Rustenburg
Height: 1.99 m
Weight: 122 kg
High School: High School Rustenburg
Sharks Debut: 2010 vs Chiefs (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Tendai Mtawarira
Date of Birth: 01/08/1985
Place of Birth: Harare
Weight: 116 kg
High School: Peterhouse
Sharks Debut: 2007 v Waratahs (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Lwazi Mvovo
Date of Birth: 03/06/1986
Place of Birth: Umtata
Position: Wing
Height: 1.85 m
Weight: 91 kg
High School: Maria Louw High
Sharks Debut: 2008 vs Boland (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Skholiwe Ndlovu
Date of Birth: 13/02/1985
Height: 1.82 m
Weight: 98 kg
High School: Northwood Boys
Sharks Debut: 2007 vs Boland (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Odwa Ndungane
Date of Birth: 20/02/1981
Place of Birth: Umtata
Position: Wing
Height: 1.84 m
Weight: 96 kg
High School: Hudson Park High
Sharks Debut: 2005 vs Stormers (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Sabelo Nhlapo
Date of Birth: 17/12/1988
Position: Loosehead prop
Height: 1.91m
Weight: 118kg
High School: Highlands North Boys High School
Name: Ruan Pienaar
Date of Birth: 10/03/1984
Place of Birth: Bloemfontein
Position:Scrumhalf
Height: 1.87 m
Weight: 93 kg
Sharks Debut: 2005 v Stormers (Vodacom Super 12)
Name: JP Pietersen
Date of Birth: 12/07/86
Place of Birth: Cape Town
Position: Fullback/Wing
Height: 1.90 m
Weight: 102 kg
High School: HS Generaal Hertzog
Sharks Debut: 2005 vs Boland (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Andre Pretorius
Date of Birth: 29/12/1978
Position: Flyhalf
Height: 1.76 m
Weight: 90 kg
High School: Dinamika High School
Sharks Debut: 2010 vs Blue Bulls (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Julian Redlinghuys
Date of Birth: 11/09/1989
Position: Tighthead Prop
Height: 1.76 m
Weight: 110 kg
High School: Monument High School
Sharks Debut: 2009 vs Blue Bulls (Absa Currie Cup)
Name : Michael Rhodes
Date of Birth: 19/12/1987
Height: 1,97 m
Sharks Debut: 2009 vs Blue Bulls (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Mark Richards
Date of Birth: 09/09/1989
Place of Birth: Springs
Position: Wing / fullback
Height: 1.75 m
Weight: 82 kg
Name: Ross Skeate
Date of Birth: 02/04/1982
Height: 2.01 m
High School: SACS High School
Club: Harlequins
Sharks Debut: 2010 vs Blue Bulls (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Andries Strauss
Date of Birth: 05/03/1984
Height: 1.86 m
Weight: 97 kg
High School: Grey College- Bloem
Sharks Debut: 2006 vs Chiefs (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Riaan Swanepoel
Date of Birth: 14/01/1986
Place of Birth: Craddock
Height: 1.83 m
Weight: 103 kg
High School: Northern Cape High School
Sharks Debut: 2008 vs Boland (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Steven Sykes
Date of Birth: 05/08/1984
Place of Birth:Middelburgh
Position:Lock /flank
Height:1.98m
Weight:118 kg
High School: Marlow Agricultural High School
Sharks Debut: 2005 vs EP (Absa Currie Cup)
Name: Stefan Terblanche
Date of Birth: 02/07/1975
Place of Birth:Mossel Bay
Position:Fullback, wing
Height:1.87 m
Weight: 95 kg
High School: Swellendam High School
Sharks Debut: 1998 vs Blues (Vodacom Super 14)
Name: Eugene van Staden
Date of Birth: 16/12/1980
Place of Birth: Crodock
Position: Tighthead / Loosehead
Height:1.82 m
High School: Bredasdrop High School
Club: Duikers
6 Jan 2011, 11:51 am
@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking) :
@@John Galt(John Galt) :
6 Jan 2011, 11:51 am
alberts is the man van staal as jean deysel is an injury free juggernaut…alberts will have to finish a couple of seasons without breaking down like an umlazi E20.
6 Jan 2011, 11:53 am
@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking) : jannie was born 1985
Name: Jannie du Plessis
Sharks Debut: 2008 vs Western Force (Vodacom Super 14)
wikipedia my friend is one of the worst placers to get stats
6 Jan 2011, 11:54 am
Happy New Year to you all and may the Sharks win the S15, the Bokke the WC and the Proteas win this series as well as CWC.
To my Sharks bruddas don’t worry about the other supporters, the knowledgable ones know that they had some seasons in the doldrums and are sober enough to realise it can bit again. Life is strange and who knows what it will dish up as long as we remain true to supporting the Sharks (and Man Utd – just for you Ranger
) nothing else matters.
6 Jan 2011, 11:55 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua) : nine years?
wtf?
he played in the 2003 wc with barely a game at superrugby level?
no man, thats 8 years.
he is a king, no doubt.
but alberts broke him, plain and simple.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : howdy man, ja happy new years.
alberts and deysel are scary as a combo. with keegan and botes in the background most sides will be nervous.
6 Jan 2011, 11:56 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : Gday SL, hoep you had a good NY in that “wonderful” city. That info has to be wrong as Jannie is older than Bizzie
6 Jan 2011, 11:58 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : geez my spelling is shite today. That should be “bite” instead of “bit” in the first post and “hope” instead of “hoep”. Guess I’m just excited about what the Sharks are going to do this year
6 Jan 2011, 11:58 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : hiyas piesangs HNY bro
look agreed but a blue blind oke like tacci i love telling off,
6 Jan 2011, 12:00 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : haha, happy new years transie.
alberts is hard buddy.
ask schalk. he will tell you himself.
119kg’s of excuse me mofo.
and you know it
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : haha! screw manu! POOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!!!!!!!!!!
you’ll never walk alone (even if you are crawling)
6 Jan 2011, 12:02 pm
is biz the older boetie or is it jannie?
who cares, they are both cc champs.
and they are sharkies.
6 Jan 2011, 12:04 pm
willem alberts scored three test tries in his first three tests.
is this a record for a flanker?