NZ latest – Hayman rumours quashed brings you news from New Zealand’s Super Rugby franchises.

Hayman rumours quashed - The NZRU has denied rumours that Carl Hayman will sign a three-month contract to play for the All Blacks in the World Cup.

According to media reports in Europe, it was believed that the NZRU were having secret negotiations with Hayman’s French club Toulon about the possibility of a short-term deal, which would allow the prop to be selected for the All Blacks’ World Cup squad in September/October.

However, NZRU CEO Steve Tew denied this.

‘We are not in discussions with Carl, or the French club, about him being back here for Rugby World Cup,’ Tew told Radio Sport.

‘Carl’s been a topic of conversation in our place for several years. We tried incredibly hard to try and bring Carl back to New Zealand so that he would be released to play for the All Blacks again, but we failed to do that. He chose Toulon and that is what he has decided to do.’

Hayman left for Europe after the 2007 World Cup and played for Newcastle before linking up with Toulon last year. The NZRU offered Hayman a lucrative deal (which included a farm in Taranaki) to return home before he signed with the French club, but he rejected their offer.

Jack to skipper Saders – Chris Jack will captain the Crusaders in their first pre-season match against the Reds this weekend.

Jack will lead an understrength Crusaders team in Cairns on Saturday as a number of regulars are sidelined with injuries. Israel Dagg, Sean Maitland, Zac Guildford, Ben Franks, Kahn Fotuali’i, Corey Flynn and Ryan Crotty have been ruled out while Dan Carter, Kieran Read, Sonny Bill Williams and Brad Thorn only return from their break on Monday.

Crusaders – 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Patrick Osborne, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Adam Whitelock, 11 Tu Umaga-Marshall, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Brendon O’Connor, 5 Luke Romano, 4 Chris Jack (c), 3 Nicholas Barrett, 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Wyatt Crockett. Subs: 16 Jonny McNichol, 17 Tom Taylor, 18 Matt Berquist, 19 Steve Alfeld, 20 George Whitelock, 21 Joel Everson, 22 Andrew Olorenshaw, 23 Codie Taylor, 24 Francis Smith, 25 Sam Prattley.