SA latest – Rookie spearheads Stormers
26 Jan 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.
Van Aswegen spearheads Stormers – Allister Coetzee has picked Gary van Aswegen at flyhalf for the Stormers’ pre-season match against the Lions.
Coetzee is yet to settle on a flyhalf to play understudy to Peter Grant in the Super Rugby competition. Van Aswegen and Elgar Watts have not played in the Stormers’ systems before, and that’s why they are preferred ahead of Lionel Cronje in this fixture. Coetzee said that Cronje is likely to battle the Sharks in the next match.
On the injury front, the bad news is that lock Anton van Zyl has dislocated his shoulder and is out for four to six weeks. He will be touch and go for the start of the competition proper.
Others who will miss the Tri-Series but are hopeful for the first official game are Jaque Fourie (foot injury) and Francois Louw (hamstring). Fourie has begun running at training, and the Stormers medical staff are monitoring Louw’s injury.
Dewald Duvenage (hamstring injury) may come into the picture for the final warm-up against Boland. CJ van der Linde has a leg injury and should he not recover before Thursday, Steven Kitschoff will start against the Lions with Wicus Blaauw joining the bench.
Stormers – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Schalk Burger (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 CJ van der Linde.
Subs: Siyabonga Ntubeni, Steven Kitschoff, Frans Malherbe, Wimpie van der Walt, Quinn Roux, Pieter Louw, Siya Kolisi, Nic Groom, Elgar Watts, Johann Sadie, Tim Whitehead, JJ Engelbrecht, Danie Poolman.
Bulls bucks face Kings – The Bulls have named a young side to face the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.
Derick Kuün captains a side that includes a string of fringe players. Akona Ndungane makes a comeback after nearly two years sidelined with leg fractures.
Bulls – Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Akona Ndungane, Stephan Dippenaar, Stefan Watermeyer, Sampie Mastriet, Francois Brummer, Ruan Snyman, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, CJ Stander, Derick Kuün (c), Juandré Kruger, Fudge Mabeta, Werner Kruger, Henry Bantjes, Dean Greyling.
Subs: Hans van Dyk, Frik Kirsten, Cornell Hess, Tendayi Chikukwa, Okkie Kruger, Dustin Jinka, Louis Fouché, Bradley Moolman, Courtnall Skosan.
Bulls pair stuck in limbo – Chiliboy Ralepelle and Bjorn Basson will miss the Bulls’ first warm-up game against the EP Kings. The Saru judicial committee that heard their cases on Tuesday has reserved judgment, and the pair remain unavailable.
Ralepelle and Basson, who were last year suspended following positive tests for a banned stimulant, will continue to train in isolation until the verdict is announced.
Brussow to miss start of Super Rugby – Springbok flank Heinrich Brussow will only be back for the fourth round of the new competition. Brussow missed the entire 2010 Test season, and after a second operation to his injured knee, he is still rehabilitating.
The Cheetahs are also waiting on Andries Strauss, who is struggling with a groin injury and will miss the Cheetahs’ warm-up matches on Friday.
The former Sharks centre has been training on his own for the past two weeks, and the coaches don’t want to risk him at this stage. Strauss and fullback Hennie Daniller (calf) will only be available for the practice match against the EP Kings on 4 February.
Prop WP Nel is also battling a hamstring injury and may even miss the Kings clash as well as the Bloemfontein warm-ups.
The Cheetahs’ A team will face Shimlas in a contact session on Friday morning, before meeting the B team in a 20-minute game. The B team will also play a training game against the Griffons.
Lions name Tri-Series squad – John Mitchell has named a 36-man squad for the pre-season games against the Stormers and Sharks. Elton Jantjies and Doppies la Grange have been included despite earlier reports that they will not feature due to their lack of conditioning.
Lions – Jacobie Adriaanse, Martin Bezuidenhout, Michael Bondesio, Jannie Boshoff, David Bulbring, Kevin Buys, Tonderai Chavhanga, Patrick Cilliers, Rory Kockott, David de Villiers, George Earle, Joubert Engelbrecht, Cobus Grobbelaar, JC Janse van Rensburg, Elton Jantjies, James Kamana, Michael Killian, Doppies la Grange, Bandise Maku, Lionel Mapoe, Edgar Marutlulle, Derick Minnie, Waylon Murray, Andre Pretorius, Michael Rhodes, Joshua Strauss, Wayne Swart, Jaco Taute, Franco van der Merwe, Wikus van Heerden, Deon van Rensburg, Dries van Schalkwyk, Jano Vermaak, Warren Whiteley, Ross Geldenhuys and Burton Francis.
Duncan to lead Kings – Rory Duncan will captain the EP Kings in Saturday’s game against the Bulls.
Regular skipper Mzwandile Stick is still unavailable due to a knee injury, and so vice-captain Duncan will make the step up. Tiger Mangweni will take Stick’s place at fullback.
EP Kings – 15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Norman Nelson, 13 Siyanda Grey, 12 Matthew Tayler-Smith, 11 Paul Perez, 10 Monty Dumond, 9 Jacques Coetzee, 8 Darron Nell, 7 Mpho Mbiyozo, 6 Devin Oosthuizen, 5 Barend Pieterse, 4 Rory Duncan (c), 3 Andre Schlecter, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Jaco Engels.
Subs: 16 Jaco Fourie, 17 Ronnie Uys, 18 Ross Kennedy, 19 Lungelo Payi, 20 Marlon Lewis, 21 Shane Gates, 22 SP Marais, 23 Riaan Vermeulen, 24 Frank Herne

167 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
26 Jan 2011, 11:59 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-42: since that match is televised I would really like to see what the hype around Brummer is all about.
26 Jan 2011, 11:59 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-49:
Dippenaar has been a disappointment during the last 2 seasons, yes.
26 Jan 2011, 12:00 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-50: Wearing a Bulls jersey no doubt hey Tac?
26 Jan 2011, 12:00 pm
@RedLion is waiting …(RL)-51:
There’s no hype. He is a good Vodacom Cup player, and an average Currie Cup player.
He needs to take a step up to become a regular Super Rugby player. If Steyn goes down its gonna be sink or swim time for him.
Brummer seems to have the talent, but his mind goes AWOL at times. Some days he is hot on form, other days he misses kicks in front of the posts.
26 Jan 2011, 12:05 pm
@RedLion is waiting …(RL)-51: i don’t know about Brummer hey, he’s a bit of a ‘loskop and he got displaced by l.cronje & sias ebersohn in the U20s…will check for him too!
26 Jan 2011, 12:06 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-50: get off it man, you don’t booze is that it?
26 Jan 2011, 12:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-56:
It would be like Clark Kent having a drink with Lex Luthor.
Once his identity is compromised Superman may as well retire!
26 Jan 2011, 12:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-56: Tac prefers his drinks homogeonously…..
26 Jan 2011, 12:09 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-58:
Not true. I like many different brands of beer.
26 Jan 2011, 12:14 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-54: so if Steyn cries off injured it is first Jaco v then Brummer? eish.
26 Jan 2011, 12:16 pm
@RedLion is waiting …(RL)-60:
I would think it depends on how Brummer performs this year. Jaco vd Westhuizen will probably be an emergency cover at flyhalf if Brummer proves to be out of his depth.
26 Jan 2011, 12:17 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-58: i’ve got lots of afrikaner mates i can call them up, Piet, Jaco, Ryno, Wimpie and more
26 Jan 2011, 12:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-62: You sound like Trevor Noah…
26 Jan 2011, 12:24 pm
@Bouts(Bouts)-40:
Yebo. He is committing career suicide by going back.
26 Jan 2011, 12:31 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-59: variety is the spice of life as you say…
@Transformation(Transformation)-62: yeah, some of my best friends are black..
26 Jan 2011, 12:33 pm
Good to hear the issue of conditioning this season has been addressed:
http://www.sarugby.co.za/newsarticle.aspx?newsid=394217&leagueid&fixturescatid&resultscatid&vidcatid&piccat&statscatid&statsteam&newscat
26 Jan 2011, 12:38 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-65:
Like Chris Rock says: “All of my black friends have alot of white friends. And all of my white friends have one black friend”.
26 Jan 2011, 12:40 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-66: yeah we posted this earliet this morning, good news. I’m sure Keo will wake up later this afternoon and mention it. Then again, maybe not.
26 Jan 2011, 12:44 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-68:
Oh right, bit late on the take this morning. Reassuring to hear they all came to an agreement amongst them though.
Yeah keo.co.za is definitely becoming less and less of a one-stop-shop for rugby news each month that goes by. They’re not even cutting and pasting in good time anymore.
26 Jan 2011, 13:11 pm
It seems like there’s life after Morne Steyn. – Bulls website
It is claimed that Louis Fouché has the biggest boot in the country, with rumours that the former Leopards u.21 player has kicked penalties in excess of 60 metres already. But for the former Rustenburg High School pupil, who just turned 21, life as a professional player at the Vodacom Bulls, is much more than slotting massive penalty kicks.
He spoke to http://www.thebulls.co.za during pre-season training at Loftus.
“I was quite pleased after the training camp in George and is enjoying the hard work now that we are back at Loftus as well,” the bulky Fouché admitted.
“It is my first time in the senior ranks, so I had no idea what to expect. But things are so professional here at the Bulls that I slotted in without any problems. I did burn away my ‘baby fat’ in the last couple of months and pre-season is quite tough, but I am enjoying it a lot,” the former Pukke Rugby Institute student said.
As a kicker, he was quite keen to work with Bulls kicking ace, Vlok Cilliers, and Fouché admits that he was not disappointed by the opportunity.
“Vlok has a very calm way in approaching things and that helps a lot. I have enjoyed working with him thus far. Obviously I have set some goals for myself this season – no player should be without goals – so it is nice to know you have someone like Vlok to guide you along the way,” Fouché said.
Bio:
Names: Louis Daniel Van Zyl
Surname: Fouché
Height: 1.86
Weight: 92
DOB: 4 January 1990
Place of Birth: Pretoria
Marital Status: Single
Favorite Film: Van Wilder
Favorite Food: Lasagne
Secondary School: Rustenburg High
Squads:
Vodacom Bulls 2011
Leopards u.21 2009/10
Leopards u.18 Craven Week 2008
Leopards u.18 Academy Week 2007
26 Jan 2011, 13:35 pm
Stormers starting to take shape. As soon as Jacque Fourie returns they’ll actually look very good on paper.
Even the front row looking better with CJ there. Except for Brock Harris of course.
He almost single handedly lost the CC final by having the ball ripped away from him a few times and repeatedly getting caught way behind the advantage line. Very average.
26 Jan 2011, 13:44 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-66: Nice post man!
@John Galt(John Galt)-71: Ja Brok didnt have his best season, but he is capable of better, so hopefully he finds some form this season. Where is Blaauw?
But I agree – the team is already looking great! STORMERS!
26 Jan 2011, 13:45 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-71: He must stay out of the backline. That’s where all the problems start for Brock.
26 Jan 2011, 14:02 pm
@RedLion is waiting …(RL)-60:
I would not sleep at night if my team’s flyhalf was Jaco vd Westhuysen. Morne better keep it together, for the sake of the Bulls.
26 Jan 2011, 14:18 pm
The 2010 Sport24 Awards winners were:
Performance of the Year:
Patrick Lambie – 20.43%
Hashim Amla – 15.12%
Louis Oosthuizen – 13.19%
Hashim Amla – 12.76%
Mark Boucher – 9.86%
Siphiwe Tshabalala – 8.59%
Lee-Anne Pace – 6.77%
AB de Villiers – 6.23%
Francois Hougaard – 3.01%
Ernst van Dyk – 2.54%
Ernie Els – 0.87%
Davy Jacobs – 0.63%
Plonker of the Year:
Peter de Villiers – 27.53%
Peter de Villiers – 15.25%
Jonty Rhodes – 9.93%
Benni McCarthy – 7.75%
Bakkies Botha – 7.66%
The Rose Brothers – 6.72%
SABC – 6.71%
Andries Bekker – 5.23%
Jacques Kallis – 3.89%
Sharks Crowd – 3.67%
SAFA – 3.47%
SABC – 2.19%
26 Jan 2011, 14:21 pm
Bulls team looks good for the future…get rid of kuun, put jaco and akona out to pasture and prospective side
really impressed by cj stander
26 Jan 2011, 14:23 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-75: plonker of the year Sharks Crowd – 3.67%
men lie, women lie, numbers don’t
26 Jan 2011, 14:34 pm
Good team for the Stormers, just need a decent attacking fullback now or shift Aplon to the back and replace him at wing.
26 Jan 2011, 14:37 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-77:
Must have been the Stormers team that voted that one in.
26 Jan 2011, 14:39 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-79:
How did Bekker find himself on that list?
26 Jan 2011, 14:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-77:
Sorry the Province team from last years CC.
26 Jan 2011, 14:41 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-80:
I think his infidelity with a Varsity student got him a nomination.
26 Jan 2011, 14:47 pm
I don’t get the Jaques Kallis vote. Crashed his car and? Don’t tell me none of you guys ever crashed a R2m car through your neighbour’s gate at 3am in the morning while pissed…..
26 Jan 2011, 14:47 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-82:
jeepers.
nookie with a fresher AND an award nomination!
where is the downside?
26 Jan 2011, 14:57 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-80: Jaaaa – those pictures of him smooching that varsity chick in the park. They were sent to You magazine or something. Ai Foeitog
26 Jan 2011, 14:57 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-83: More like crashing a R3000 car into your neighbour’s R2m gate!
26 Jan 2011, 14:58 pm
@gunther(gunther)-84: Just his wife. But some wouldn’t nescessarily consider that a “downside”..
26 Jan 2011, 14:59 pm
@gunther(gunther)-84: LOL – ery true. I spose only downside is when you are recently engaged/married and she finds out.
Also when your dad (an ex-Bok legend) KAKS you out in public about it.
Eish
26 Jan 2011, 15:05 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-88:
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-87:
collateral damgage.
no broken eggs, no omelette.
26 Jan 2011, 15:05 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-88: my dad would have to take a chill pill, not in public mate!
26 Jan 2011, 15:11 pm
@gunther(gunther)-89:
cept the eggs seemsed to end on his face..
Anyway….
26 Jan 2011, 15:13 pm
Back to the thread update: Nice to see Gary Van Aswegen given a run against the Lions. I think I’ll have to go and give that one a watch at CT Stadium. Tickets R40. Bargain.
26 Jan 2011, 15:15 pm
SARPA escalates fight for unpaid Eagles
2011-01-26 13:30:10
The South African Rugby Players Union has escalated the fight for the players in the South Western Districts Union, many of whom are still owed salaries from last year.
The current turmoil at the SWD Rugby Football Union continues, as a number of issues pertaining to the contracting of players remain unresolved and SARPA has now raised the matter with the national controlling body- the South African Rugby Union.
“We have been in communication with SWDRFU and we have not been able to resolve the outstanding issues,” said Adrian Coetzee, SARPA Membership Liaison Adviser for the South and Eastern Cape.
The main issues that remain unresolved are:
* The non-disclosure of SWDRFU of their financial position/situation which is required to provide proof that they are in a financial position to honour their contractual obligations to the players.
* The enforcement of an agreement between SARPA and SWDRFU confirming that SWDRFU will honour the contracts of the 2010 contracted players until end of October 2011.
* The non-payment of medical aid and injury insurance premiums.
“It is of grave concern for SARPA that these issues remain unresolved and despite certain undertakings that were given to us those undertakings have not been honoured,”Coetzee said.
“A number of players are agreeable to accept lower contracts but then they need to find additional employment to supplement their much lower contracts. SARPA has proposed that SWDRFU arrange their training sessions in such a manner to allow players to also work during the day but train in the mornings and evenings. This has not been implemented as discussed and agreed,” Coetzee added.
A number of senior players that were pivotal to the success of the SWD Eagles in 2010 have been excluded from the contracted squad despite an agreement confirming that these players will be contracted until end of October 2011.
This include players like Bevan Fortuin, Shaun Raubenheimer, Jacques Engelbrecht, Henry Grimes, Sinethemba Zweni, Bobby Joubert, Wiekus Harmse and Jandré Blom.
“This matter was discussed at the SARPA Executive Committee and they are giving their full support to the players of SWDRFU in their endeavour to resolve these outstanding issues. This include [SARPA] Executive Committee members like the Chairman Victor Matfield and the President Bismarck Du Plessis,” said Coetzee.
“SARPA will take this matter up with SARU as they are the overall custodian of rugby and call on them to assist and settle these outstanding player issues and disputes and jointly find ways of ensuring that professional rugby be allowed to continue in this region and at levels attained by the group of players that did so well in 2010,” concluded Coetzee.
26 Jan 2011, 15:16 pm
Breaking news:
Bok Emblem to be changed (Again!)
http://blogs.sport24.co.za/uysh/bok-emblem-to-be-changed-again
26 Jan 2011, 15:23 pm
@Emile07(Emile07)-94: It’s got my vote!
26 Jan 2011, 15:31 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-82: @BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-85:
Ah yes, it’s amazing how quickly we forget these things. I’d heard he was a pratt, just couldn’t remember what it was that got him on the list.
26 Jan 2011, 15:33 pm
@Emile07(Emile07)-94: don’t care if the emblem is placed on the bum, it the team is winning qha!
26 Jan 2011, 15:46 pm
The EP Kings squad looks like the retirement village for the Bulls/Cheetahs of a couple years back
26 Jan 2011, 16:13 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-96: Ag I wouldnt say he is a “prat”. It was a very stupid thing to do, but we forget the okes are still laaities themselves, and we dont know the pressure or other worries he had in his life.
How many of us were studious and faithful and committed when we were like 21/22/23 years old?
If the older “wiser” people like politicians (snort!) and evangelists in America and so on get bust cheating, what chance does a dof-rugby-playing-hulk have?
Im sure he learnt his lesson
26 Jan 2011, 16:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-97: Amen Transie! Dont care the colour of the kit or the emblem or the players or if the emblem is there or not. The boys must just win and play good rugby and enjoy themselves.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All