SA latest – Rookie spearheads Stormers
26 Jan 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.
Van Aswegen spearheads Stormers – Allister Coetzee has picked Gary van Aswegen at flyhalf for the Stormers’ pre-season match against the Lions.
Coetzee is yet to settle on a flyhalf to play understudy to Peter Grant in the Super Rugby competition. Van Aswegen and Elgar Watts have not played in the Stormers’ systems before, and that’s why they are preferred ahead of Lionel Cronje in this fixture. Coetzee said that Cronje is likely to battle the Sharks in the next match.
On the injury front, the bad news is that lock Anton van Zyl has dislocated his shoulder and is out for four to six weeks. He will be touch and go for the start of the competition proper.
Others who will miss the Tri-Series but are hopeful for the first official game are Jaque Fourie (foot injury) and Francois Louw (hamstring). Fourie has begun running at training, and the Stormers medical staff are monitoring Louw’s injury.
Dewald Duvenage (hamstring injury) may come into the picture for the final warm-up against Boland. CJ van der Linde has a leg injury and should he not recover before Thursday, Steven Kitschoff will start against the Lions with Wicus Blaauw joining the bench.
Stormers – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Schalk Burger (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 CJ van der Linde.
Subs: Siyabonga Ntubeni, Steven Kitschoff, Frans Malherbe, Wimpie van der Walt, Quinn Roux, Pieter Louw, Siya Kolisi, Nic Groom, Elgar Watts, Johann Sadie, Tim Whitehead, JJ Engelbrecht, Danie Poolman.
Bulls bucks face Kings – The Bulls have named a young side to face the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.
Derick Kuün captains a side that includes a string of fringe players. Akona Ndungane makes a comeback after nearly two years sidelined with leg fractures.
Bulls – Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Akona Ndungane, Stephan Dippenaar, Stefan Watermeyer, Sampie Mastriet, Francois Brummer, Ruan Snyman, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, CJ Stander, Derick Kuün (c), Juandré Kruger, Fudge Mabeta, Werner Kruger, Henry Bantjes, Dean Greyling.
Subs: Hans van Dyk, Frik Kirsten, Cornell Hess, Tendayi Chikukwa, Okkie Kruger, Dustin Jinka, Louis Fouché, Bradley Moolman, Courtnall Skosan.
Bulls pair stuck in limbo – Chiliboy Ralepelle and Bjorn Basson will miss the Bulls’ first warm-up game against the EP Kings. The Saru judicial committee that heard their cases on Tuesday has reserved judgment, and the pair remain unavailable.
Ralepelle and Basson, who were last year suspended following positive tests for a banned stimulant, will continue to train in isolation until the verdict is announced.
Brussow to miss start of Super Rugby – Springbok flank Heinrich Brussow will only be back for the fourth round of the new competition. Brussow missed the entire 2010 Test season, and after a second operation to his injured knee, he is still rehabilitating.
The Cheetahs are also waiting on Andries Strauss, who is struggling with a groin injury and will miss the Cheetahs’ warm-up matches on Friday.
The former Sharks centre has been training on his own for the past two weeks, and the coaches don’t want to risk him at this stage. Strauss and fullback Hennie Daniller (calf) will only be available for the practice match against the EP Kings on 4 February.
Prop WP Nel is also battling a hamstring injury and may even miss the Kings clash as well as the Bloemfontein warm-ups.
The Cheetahs’ A team will face Shimlas in a contact session on Friday morning, before meeting the B team in a 20-minute game. The B team will also play a training game against the Griffons.
Lions name Tri-Series squad – John Mitchell has named a 36-man squad for the pre-season games against the Stormers and Sharks. Elton Jantjies and Doppies la Grange have been included despite earlier reports that they will not feature due to their lack of conditioning.
Lions – Jacobie Adriaanse, Martin Bezuidenhout, Michael Bondesio, Jannie Boshoff, David Bulbring, Kevin Buys, Tonderai Chavhanga, Patrick Cilliers, Rory Kockott, David de Villiers, George Earle, Joubert Engelbrecht, Cobus Grobbelaar, JC Janse van Rensburg, Elton Jantjies, James Kamana, Michael Killian, Doppies la Grange, Bandise Maku, Lionel Mapoe, Edgar Marutlulle, Derick Minnie, Waylon Murray, Andre Pretorius, Michael Rhodes, Joshua Strauss, Wayne Swart, Jaco Taute, Franco van der Merwe, Wikus van Heerden, Deon van Rensburg, Dries van Schalkwyk, Jano Vermaak, Warren Whiteley, Ross Geldenhuys and Burton Francis.
Duncan to lead Kings – Rory Duncan will captain the EP Kings in Saturday’s game against the Bulls.
Regular skipper Mzwandile Stick is still unavailable due to a knee injury, and so vice-captain Duncan will make the step up. Tiger Mangweni will take Stick’s place at fullback.
EP Kings – 15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Norman Nelson, 13 Siyanda Grey, 12 Matthew Tayler-Smith, 11 Paul Perez, 10 Monty Dumond, 9 Jacques Coetzee, 8 Darron Nell, 7 Mpho Mbiyozo, 6 Devin Oosthuizen, 5 Barend Pieterse, 4 Rory Duncan (c), 3 Andre Schlecter, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Jaco Engels.
Subs: 16 Jaco Fourie, 17 Ronnie Uys, 18 Ross Kennedy, 19 Lungelo Payi, 20 Marlon Lewis, 21 Shane Gates, 22 SP Marais, 23 Riaan Vermeulen, 24 Frank Herne

167 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
26 Jan 2011, 16:14 pm
Nadal out of the Aussie open I see. Blamed an injury. Which is normal for him when he loses…
26 Jan 2011, 16:21 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-101:
Nah he went in slightly injured this time.
Probably wouldnt have played in this tournament but he had the opportunity to win a non calender Grand Slam so took the risk.
Was heavily bandaged before he stepped onto the court.
26 Jan 2011, 16:23 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-101:
Unnecessarily cynical considering Rafa was heavily strapped when he entered the court and needed medical assistance after the 3rd game of the opening set. He’s the most humble honourable player on the circuit.
Atleast he doesnt accuse his victor of cheating, which is normal when……
26 Jan 2011, 16:24 pm
Good luck to the Bloem Gem in his recuperation, hopefully he is fully fit in time for the RWC.
26 Jan 2011, 16:33 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-103: I see what you did there!
Like after 1995 when the AB team was food poisoned!
26 Jan 2011, 16:35 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-105: i wouldn’t go there if i were you Bagel
how are you doing chap, studies good?
26 Jan 2011, 16:36 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-105:
I dont recall the Abs accusing the Boks of cheating, maybe thats your conscience talking ?
But Krusty did after Eden Park and Wellington last season, didnt he. And the Springbok Captain used those very words against his opposite in 2007, of course.
Silly of me to single out certain matches tho I know, why should they get mentioned over others ?
26 Jan 2011, 16:39 pm
Federer backs Boks at RWC
2011-01-26 13:11Email | Print
Melbourne – Roger Federer will be closely following this year’s Rugby World Cup – just don’t ask him to support the All Blacks.
The Swiss tennis great, now at the Australian Open halfway towards his 17th Grand Slam, On Tuesday revealed he is a keen rugby fan – but backs the Springboks.
He was aware of the tournament set to kick off in October, but told the NZ Herald website he would not be backing the men in black.
“(I’ll support) the Swiss,” he joked. “I think they are starting to get into it a bit.”
Indeed Switzerland, who have about 2 000 registered players, have made progress in recent years but are still ranked 63rd in the world.
“(No) I’ll probably support the South Africans,” admitted Federer, “because my mum is from South Africa. So I always support them.”
Though rugby is irrelevant to most Swiss, the 29-year-old immediately recalled the 2007 World Cup and how he had enjoyed watching the Springboks triumph in France.
26 Jan 2011, 16:41 pm
Ah, yes, the liberal slander of opposition as “cheats”. There was Cab at it again yesterday, labelling Fitzy as ” a HUGE humungous great big cheat……where do u think cheater mccaw learnt his stuff from.”.
No player unscathed in SA.
To which I posed a question:-
Tell me Cab, has any player in the history of SA Rugby EVER ‘cheated’ ?
My understanding is that if a player gives away a penalty, then in your definition he is “a cheat”.
My guess, then, is that very few players – if any – have ever reached provincial let alone Test level that isnt “a cheat”.
In which case, why single out 1 player over the next ?”.
Answers on the back of an envelope.
26 Jan 2011, 16:43 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-108:
of course he will back the boks.
his mom is from the east rand.
we are claiming him.
26 Jan 2011, 16:45 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-102: @Black Panther(Black Panther)-103: OK he gets a pass on this one. I agree he’s a great player, one of the greatest with 9 grand slams (more than most) and more to come, injury allowing.
I’ve just seen this before I think.
But anyway, it’s a pity he doesn’t get the opportunity to play Federer again. That rivalry’s one of the all time great sporting rivallries IMO.
26 Jan 2011, 16:46 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-99:
Yeah no the bit about him being a pratt was from someone else actually. Sounds like he may take himself a little too seriously off the rugby field. But that was only a random comment I picked up somewhere so can’t really say for sure.
26 Jan 2011, 16:47 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-107: Could of sworn there were some accusations but I was very young back then. I must agree with you on Peter, I don’t think many would disagree his a bit of a whinger. That said I was shocked at how much you guys got away with but that’s not their fault that’s just playing the ref.
@Transformation(Transformation)-106: Hey Transie,
heading into 3rd year on the 14th, got a big year ahead of me.
Congrats to you guys at the Kings for a improvements looking forward to the Bulls match, it should be a cracker.
When is Luke coming back or is he already there?
26 Jan 2011, 16:48 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-111:
The Fed is the best player Ive ever seen live, and Ive seen all of the best ones since the 70′s. Such elegance, such skill.
Unfortunately he started to believe his own hype a few years back, the gold-embroidered ’15′ jacket/suit at SW19 a couple of seasons ago confirmed this. Hideous.
26 Jan 2011, 16:51 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-113:
Always remember, its only the ABs/others get away with things. The Boks are so damn unlucky, they get caught for every single offense they commit.
26 Jan 2011, 17:00 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-114: I personally think he’s one of the best ever.
26 Jan 2011, 17:01 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-113: good to hear about your studies mate, keep at it.
well, the Kings are not there yet but any improvement is better than what we had before, so we’re very appreciative. luke is only coming back after he aviva premiership is done and thus his bath contract.
26 Jan 2011, 17:21 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-112: Ooooh I see, sorry, my bad. I can imagine most of the guys think they are hot **** off the field. You have to have a lot of “self belief” (ego) to be a pro sportsman! Although rugby players do seem to still be among the most humble in the modern era.
26 Jan 2011, 17:23 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-115: Finally! You are starting to see the light!
Not really “others” (apart from some obvious examples, like Ireland in 2004) its mostly just the ABs that cheat against EVERYONE, not just the Boks.
26 Jan 2011, 17:25 pm
Federer has said he’ll support the boks in the WC. Legend!
SuperSport have made a big fuss over Cronje not being in this squad, they seem to think it means he won’t take part in the tri-series at all, I reckon they’re talking ****.
26 Jan 2011, 17:31 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-119:
As long as you believe that, you are atleast being consistent. Or, atleast, no less consistent than all the other Victims here.
BaXXies !
26 Jan 2011, 17:44 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-114:
Fed has such skinny arms compared say to Nadal, almost like the current Fitzy as compared to the 1995 Fitzy (“he looks so small” noted a SA rugby writer last year after standing next to the scoundrel).
I am not sure he is better than Sampras when both at their peaks, none of his fault, but Fed never faced the likes of Agassi, Rafter, Courier, Edberg, Becker, Lendl to mention few.
Nadal has been Fed’s only competition since 2007, however, there is a case to argue that Nadal got away with a LOT until a French magazine blew the whistle in 2008.
26 Jan 2011, 17:53 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-122:
Federer never had to face Wayne Ferreira in his prime.
26 Jan 2011, 18:04 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-122:
Both John McEnroe and Sampras have stated that Federer is by far the best ever. I reckon they should know a bit.
26 Jan 2011, 18:11 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-124: Rob,
Agree with you. Think Roger is the best of them all. If some of the greatest think so, reckon they know better than us.
26 Jan 2011, 18:12 pm
@gunther(gunther)-123:
Lol, Wayne was not too shabby, he has a 6-7 career record against Sampras – He nearly always did well against “serve and volly” players but against players with the patience and baseline skills such as Federer or Nadal he would have had no chance imo.
26 Jan 2011, 18:12 pm
Great to read that Roger will support the Boks during the WC.
Read that on Sport24.
26 Jan 2011, 18:15 pm
@Puma(Puma)-125:
Hi Puma, how are you- quietly confident about the Sharks’ chances this year I guess?
I am looking forward to see the warmup against the Stormers next week- wonder which one of John or Bissy will start at no 2?
26 Jan 2011, 18:19 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-128:
bissie.
barney off the bench.
26 Jan 2011, 18:24 pm
@gunther(gunther)-129: not so sure about that opinion Gunta. There’s a lot of respect for both players from the coaches. I think you are going to find a ‘mix n match’ situation developing is my opinion. And I think they’d be right in that line of thinking. And hi Rob. You well?
26 Jan 2011, 18:24 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-128: Feel more confident this year than I did last. Mostly cause we have a fh this year. Have to wait and see. Plenty good teams out there Rob. In our conference any team could top it. That is the way it goes with the saffa sides. Wont take any team for granted.
I also don’t like this new format at all. Think it is flawed, that some won’t play top teams. Can’t see this format working for long.
Not sure who will start for Sharks, but they will both get to play. Think all the players will get a chance. Gonna see plenty rotation in these warm up games. I for one never take these games serious. They are mostly used to get us ready for S15.
26 Jan 2011, 18:25 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-130: 130
Howzit Tassies, how you doing? Have not seen you about here for sometime now.
26 Jan 2011, 18:27 pm
@gunther(gunther)-129:
Probably yes, Plumtree might be a bit nervous to expose John against a motivated and fired up Liebenberg
26 Jan 2011, 18:28 pm
@Puma(Puma)-127: hey Pumes howzit boet. Ja, that ‘blood is thicker than water’ adage strikes a note here.
26 Jan 2011, 18:29 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-130:
Hi Tassies, I am well, thanks, and you? Is the longboard still gathering dust in the garage or have you hit a few spots lately?
26 Jan 2011, 18:31 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-134: 134
Yeah, was good to read it on Sports24. Then went to read it in the NZ Herald.
Think his mother is from Benoni, if I remember correct. Pleased he is supporting the Boks..lol.
26 Jan 2011, 18:33 pm
Cheers Rob and Tassies, out of here now. Catch up if not busy tomorrow.
26 Jan 2011, 18:34 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-133:
I believe Liebenberg is still having physio to remove his head from his poepper as a result of their last meeting.
I’m sure he will be fired up.
He might not survive another encounter.
26 Jan 2011, 18:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-132: some of us have to work for a living mate. I know you’re semi-retired or similarly zoned. We’re pumping and I’m an aging pump-master trying to justify an expensive visit to Kiwi in spring sans the handbreak(who has always found rugga a tad less interesting than other pursuits).
26 Jan 2011, 18:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-131:
I will reserve judgement on the new format but think it might count against teams like the Stormers and Sharks who traditionally toured better than the inland teams.
I see the Shark start their campaign against their old Nemesis from Bloem – will be tough- its never good to meet the Cheetahs early in a competition as they are usually less dangerous later on when injuries start take a toll and their lack of depth counts against them.
26 Jan 2011, 18:45 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-135: Howzit Rob.
The southeaster kills it for me. I don’t do cold water any more so stick to the Corner. But am heading up the E coast shortly as far as Sodwana, so it’ll tag along for sure. Past few months have been busy for me but we should catch up at Boundary Road sometime.
26 Jan 2011, 18:46 pm
@gunther(gunther)-138:
They claim John has lost 10 kg’s- he will therefore hopefully be a bit “lighter” in the scrums too so Liebenberg will back his changes of not having to go for the humiliation at the hands of a physio again
26 Jan 2011, 18:47 pm
@gunther(gunther)-138: he’ll survive Mr G. Put money. Don’t think his poepall saw as much of his head as you proclaim. Taking nothing away from Biz.
26 Jan 2011, 18:50 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-141:
You must enjoy – I am also struggling lately with a bad shoulder so I paddle like a tortoise- we must certainly do a game or two (and some refreshments) this season.
Got to run- catch up soon, cheers.
26 Jan 2011, 18:50 pm
@gunther(gunther)-123: just seen this. Had to chuckle.
26 Jan 2011, 18:52 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-140: you’re on the money about that one Rob.
26 Jan 2011, 18:53 pm
cheers guys. Outta here. Need some shuteye.
26 Jan 2011, 20:52 pm
Decent look about the Stormers side. Will be looking out for van Aswegen – I think we all are. Haven’t seen a hell of a lot of him.
But I really rate that JJ Engelbecht on the wing – hope he gets 30 minutes or so, or even a start against the Sharks.
Yes, and nice to see Roger Federer supporting the Boks.
Champions back Champions.
26 Jan 2011, 21:04 pm
I guess you guys must need the validation a tennis player gives your rugby side…
its nice to know there is support out there for the 3rd ranked team in world rugby…
26 Jan 2011, 21:08 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-149:
But the rankings will change after the WC.
They did last time – it’s a knockout remember.
This tennis oke knows a good side when he sees one.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All