Lions maul Sharks

The Lions forwards impressed in the 41-10 win over the Sharks at Newlands on Tuesday.

The first half was error-strewn, as both teams battled to control the ball in contact. As the game wore on, however, it became apparent that the Lions had enjoyed more game time as a unit, and when they put phases together, they were dangerous.

The Sharks scored first through Pat Lambie, a great finish to a solid build up where Willem Alberts was prominent. But the Durban side conceded a penalty soon after, and a subsequent maul from the lineout saw the Lions snatching the lead right before half-time.

Another penalty was kicked to touch early in the second stanza, and after some initial resistance, the Sharks defence relented. Warren Whiteley scored after a deft tap-on put him into space, while a grubber allowed Jaco Taute to extend the Lions lead thereafter.

The Sharks scored a well-worked try of their own, Lwazi Mvovo finishing well to lend the scoreline some respectability. But as the game progressed, so did the Lions. Their forwards looked more organised, and the whole team as a unit played with purpose. This was confirmed when they crashed over from two more forward drives.

Burton Francis was the more dangerous of the two Lions flyhalves, as Andre Pretorius was guilty of crabbing across-field and thus limiting his backline’s space. Francis also kicked well at goal in blustery conditions.

The Sharks were rusty and battled for synergy throughout. A more accurate assessment of where they stand should be done following their next game against the Stormers. They’ll need to sharpen up in the handling department, and their set-pieces also need work.

744 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] Show All

• 701.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-693: ja…its not easy…

i say no family and partners, etc….

but HG s banshee should be given an honary exemption.

So too must HG S small w illy…

• 702.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-685:

What would you know about Chinese culture your idea of culture is a pint of bitter and a curry whilst racially insulting the Indian waiter (behind his back of course because we know you don’t have a pair) with your mates.

• 703.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-697: Its called the best of colonisation :lol: You do know that the Sugar Industry has its own act that, to all intents and purposes, protects it as a cartel… Colonial souties, far too farking clever for their own good… :lol:

• 704.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-698: LOL

Not a threat

at my age i may end up in hospital….

but fark me i will definitley want to moer him!

• 705.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-700: Ja, ja, you Stormer okes are really confused… Not just with the jailbird jerseys, but also thinking the warthog is athletic and charismatic… Eish!

• 706.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-694: yeah Ricky looked quite athletic scoring in Dunedin :D

• 707.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-701: Ja I also say your pomp should also be given an exception to these no family rules…

So, open season on Mini-me… :lol:

• 708.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-706: Yeah, about as athletic as Rossi :lol:

• 709.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-701: :D

• 710.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-702: Yeah I know enough to feel sorry for yoooou :lol:

• 711.grant10: Reply to this comment

work to do

as a last repartee

ban that unspeakable piece of filth i say Roy….

I will e mail you with my reasons…..it will run into a vast amount of chapters….so expect the mail by 2012…

• 712.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-696: I can take the heat fella. Don’t you worry about me. You’ve got enough on your plate as it is…

• 713.grant10: Reply to this comment

hg

fARKEN rOBBIE wILLIAMS ON CRACK….

but farken good value…

prat

• 714.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-713: Run away now and don’t forget to take the missus…

Where’s JR… I’ll find the oke for you now before you go :wink:

• 715.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-707:

The only pomping going on here is between you (aka press stud) and the other delusional sharkie…… the one who spears giant king fish and swims amongst 100kg sharks !!

Don’t both of you want to come and have a dive in False Bay ?? :)

• 716.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-715: Got you… Hehehehehe

Kn.obber…

• 717.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-710:

Your knowledge about other cultures is as good as your rugby picks from 2010, you know very little. When your at the curry house you can’t help the racist Indian joke though can you?

• 718.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-715: So he doesnt only swim amongst them, he weighs them as well while under water? Impressive!

• 719.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-717: Schweet… Now calm the fark down… You were just a little bit of collateral damage… Nothing personal :lol:

• 720.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-708: FARK OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 721.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-717: Is it ok for me to make racist Indian jokes?My girlfriend is Hindu.

• 722.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-721: Yeah and some of my best friends are black. And Jewish.. :)

• 723.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-718:

Talented guy !! :)

• 724.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-721: There is no such thing as a racist joke if u can take what u give. My wife is Chinese Thai and if she calls me a ‘soutie’ or as the Ozzies like: a Yaarpie- I am ok with that :)

• 725.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-720: Poppa, is that you? :lol:

• 726.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-724: The gf regulary rags me with colourd stereotypes. Good thing though is that she is scared to death of coloured girls! Wont even look one in the eye foe eye of being stabbed with a broken beer bottle.

• 727.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-726: LOL!! That’s funny!! Now can we talk rugby plz guys?? (asking nicely). Ok- here is my question: what chance have my beloved Stormers got this year?

• 728.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-727: About 3.6%

• 729.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

:(

• 730.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-727: Sweet farkall…?

Other than the Double velvet Tri-Series, of course… :lol:

• 731.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

bulls will win the s15 in an away final at jade stadium.

…you heard it here first.

• 732.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-717:

Don’t waste your time.

He’ll never admit it, though everyone knows it’s true.

• 733.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

One always lives in hope guys. I remember being in Seoul, Korea in like 2000 and watching the Stormers on a small PC screen against a NZ side. We got hammered that year too :(

• 734.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-732: Hows the duplicity intensity today…?

Kiwi level – sheepshagging gale force

or

Stormer supporter level – gentle brokeback breeze…

• 735.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-732: You getting embroiled in racist chats again? Dawn! let’s see u talk RUGBY for a change :)

• 736.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-727: not good, the SHARKSSSS are overwhelming favourites to take the Saffa conference…Stormers don’t even have a flyhalf!

• 737.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-736:

Sharks overwhelming favorites?
    Why?

• 738.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-735:

Did I start it?

Watch your bek with me bru.

If anyone else blathers on it’s OK.

But as soon as I say something you get all befuk.

• 739.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-738: It’s just that I have followed you on keo for more than a year now and you very seldom say anything about the RUGBY.

• 740.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-739:

question:

how much do you think a chick knows about rugby anyway?

…catch the ball,catch the ball….

• 741.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-740: LOL! I will give you a typical Dawn-type comment though: “Januarie was k*k in the game- he doesn’t deserve a spot in the boks” Dawn: So do you think he was the sole reason why we lost? She waits until someone says something bad a quota then she POUNCES. No rugby nuance- just a diatribe of venom.

• 742.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-738: Prawny, in short, Yes. Post 732 says you did… :lol:

• 743.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-740: HEY !!!!!!!!!!

What do you mean ?????

How much do you think a chick knows about rugby anyway?
    …catch the ball,catch the ball… :mad:

• 744.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-743: I have been known to shout
    Offsides
    forward pass, open your eyes ref
    wheres the fecking support
    High tackle ref
    Heeeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaa tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.