Blitzboks lucky to be in Cup play-offs
4 Feb 2011
GARETH DUNCAN reports on the Springbok Sevens’ inconsistent performances on day one at the Wellington Sevens.
The Blitzboks will have to thank Canada for their place in the Cup section. After their 31-5 win over the latter, they suffered a 14-12 loss to France in their second group match. All France had to do to confirm their Cup spot ahead of South Africa was to beat the lowly North Americans.
A French victory was expected against Canada, who also lost 38-0 against Fiji. However, Canada upset France with an 19-14 win, handing the Blitzboks a Cup play-off lifeline. South Africa followed with a draw against Fiji, confirming second place behind the Pacific Islanders in Pool D. But it was a match South Africa should have won.
Fiji were far the better team in the first stanza and rightfully took the lead after speedster Seremaia Burotu ran in the corner for the first try of the game. In reply, the Blitzboks couldn’t build any momentum on attack because of poor passing and handling while their defence was easily penetrated. South Africa were lucky to be trailing 7-0 at the break.
In the second half, the Blitzboks produced an improved performance. They camped inside Fiji’s red zone for most parts of the half but could only score one try through Branco du Preez to level matters.
Bernado Botha had the opportunity to dive over for the match-winning try, but he lost the ball forward over the line. South Africa were then awarded an injury-time penalty in a kickable position to clinch the match, but they went for the try and failed.
The Blitzboks will now face Australia in the Cup quarter-final on day two. In the other Cup play-offs, England face Argentina, Fiji play Samoa and New Zealand take on Wales.
Blitzboks results (Day 1):
South Africa 31 Canada 5
South Africa 12 France 14
South Africa 7 Fiji 7
Blitzbok fixtures (Day 2):
South Africa vs Australia (04:17 k/o)
For all fixtures and results, click here

988 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 20 » Show All
4 Feb 2011, 19:16 pm
@capo(capo)-429: Michael Collins has been forgotten long time ago… Its BOD now… But he’s also a bit a soft leprechaun…
Ag, the Irish… The only good thing to come from the Emerald isle is Butter, Guinness and U2…
4 Feb 2011, 19:17 pm
@Fern(Fern)-449:
A new low, if it was possible, on this blog.
4 Feb 2011, 19:17 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-444: you seriously need a dose of reality my cowardly scots friend and start working on that scots independent drive.in 2011 the people of southern sudan refused to stay se x slaves to the arab north but you still find the scots very happy to bend-over for the english masters.
4 Feb 2011, 19:18 pm
Puma get a tracing agent to get the IP address of this wanker.
4 Feb 2011, 19:18 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-451:
…and even then, Bono is a prat.
4 Feb 2011, 19:19 pm
@Fern(Fern)-449: Fern, I am too. He used to blog here under Lukeisbaas.
4 Feb 2011, 19:20 pm
@Puma(Puma)-456:
he is very lippy behind a keyboard.
4 Feb 2011, 19:20 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-454: This oke is a fool I tell you. He has always comes back here under another nic.
4 Feb 2011, 19:21 pm
Regarding Post 440: “Nice”. Okay I’ve now had my fun… What a peabrain
Transie, Rossi : Hope you twisted little hypocrites enjoy what your mate has to say here.
Truly you okes have lost your right to criticise anyone on Keo if you have nothing to say regarding said post.
cheetahs 14 – Kings 3 in the 14th minute… Dries Strauss with 2 tries
The site administrators should do the same and then get an attorney to send a letter to the arse to stop spewing hate speech or face its day in Court. A nice criminal record in South Africa or wherever the coward lives will send the message home.
4 Feb 2011, 19:22 pm
@Fern(Fern)-457: For sure Fern. People like that just disgust me.
Banter is fun but not the kinda stuff he says.
4 Feb 2011, 19:22 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-455:
he “cares” about africa because he makes money from it.does not pay tax either.
4 Feb 2011, 19:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-460: Sharks made a mistake letting Strauss go. Pleased he is doing well at Cheetahs though.
4 Feb 2011, 19:24 pm
@capo(capo)-453: Have you lost all your teeth?
4 Feb 2011, 19:24 pm
@Puma(Puma)-448: you can dish it out old tjomma but you can’t take it ne!!
4 Feb 2011, 19:25 pm
@Fern(Fern)-463:
I used to like U2, even saw them in concert mid 80′s. but they just harp on about shi.t now, calling politicians while on stage and stuff.
Fark, I just paid 100 euros for a ticket, sing you f.uckers…
4 Feb 2011, 19:25 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-460:
not sounding too good for the Kings this week.
4 Feb 2011, 19:26 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-455: Naah, I’m finished here for today. After the specifically personal attack on Puma from the uneducated dunce about a personal tragedy, I will no longer have anything to say with, on or about him or her. Reminds me of the twat who personally attacked G10′s family. I hope Grant says something about this oke
Cheers.
4 Feb 2011, 19:26 pm
I see old Grant10 and Capo are showing their class
That is te problem with miibg sht with ice cream, it does nothing for the sht but shure f arks up the ice cream
Capo, truly the lowest that one can stoop down to, does that make you feel strong?pleased with yourself?
4 Feb 2011, 19:27 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-450: @Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-459: Thanks guys.
4 Feb 2011, 19:27 pm
@Puma(Puma)-464:
Did they let him go or did he want to go bru?
4 Feb 2011, 19:28 pm
@Puma(Puma)-462: what’s wrong with putting flowers on your brother’s grave?in the past you cried like a M OFKOP on here on how your brother was killed by black people.you can make degrading comments but cant take it when it comes your way and btw nobody threatened you with anything your sad piece of human garbage.grow some balls ffsake man!!!!!!!
4 Feb 2011, 19:29 pm
@capo(capo)-466: I’ve never seen Puma dish out anything like what you posted. You are a credit to SA Coloureds!
4 Feb 2011, 19:29 pm
@capo(capo)-466:
I agree with HG, that post 440 referring to Puma’s brother is way out of line !!!!
Geez just popped I and I see all hell has broken loose.
Talking rugby far more fun for me !!!
Cheers all have a good weekend !!
4 Feb 2011, 19:30 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-469:
Enjoy the pub.
4 Feb 2011, 19:31 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-469: that’s just fine with me you expat coward hiding away on mud island.good riddance to bad rubbish!!!!!
@capo(capo)-473:
leave it out, that is totally uncalled for and u know it.
@justrugby(justrugby)-475: Thanks JR.
4 Feb 2011, 19:32 pm
@capo(capo)-473: You sad piece of mongrel scum
4 Feb 2011, 19:33 pm
@Porto(Porto)-474: and you must be credit to porras?
You really are an idiot Grant!
Go back to jacking off over your Watson poster and stop confirming what a prick you are on here with your idiotic garbage.
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-472: Not sure really. Maybe he wanted to go cause Sharks had signed Bosman. But really not sure about it at all. Just thinking that could have been it.
4 Feb 2011, 19:34 pm
@cab(cab)-478: your man called me a disgusting coward so he needs to take his punishment on the chin like a real man!!
4 Feb 2011, 19:36 pm
@capo(capo)-484:
no, call him a coward or poephol doos back, but that comment of yours is very poor form, let us hope you have, or never will, experience that kind of pain.
4 Feb 2011, 19:37 pm
Okay out of here.
Cheers everyone. Enjoy your weekend.
4 Feb 2011, 19:37 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-482: and you are real class yourself i guess!!
4 Feb 2011, 19:39 pm
@capo(capo)-481: With respect to your second class education, let me explain; your comments unfortunately extend the streotypical view of SA Coloureds; savage, uncouth, malnourished and with no respect for human dignity, caused by self loathing as a result of being “nobody’s child”
On the other hand, gerritriteupye!
@Puma(Puma)-486:
Take it easy mate.
have = have never
i’m out, bladdy hell, what actually goes thru some ppls minds.
4 Feb 2011, 19:41 pm
@capo(capo)-440: this is low and uncouth chap! Actually it is despicable! No decent human being should make fun of other’s bereavement(sp)!
Ultimate low!
4 Feb 2011, 19:42 pm
@capo(capo)-487:
Bwhahahah – coming from you I’ll take that as a compliment. You’ve shown your serious lack of class on here, and I think everyone is an agreement about what you are. So not really fussed about you or your opinions, but carry on fool it’s good for a friday laugh listening to your drivel
4 Feb 2011, 19:43 pm
@cab(cab)-485: death is part of life and puma needs to deal with it instead of forever crying like a farking woman over it!death or murder has visited my family as well but i don’t come on a farking website to bemoan black people or whoever killed my uncle like this puma woman has done in the past.
4 Feb 2011, 19:43 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-489: This portuguese stuff is easy; Capoisadiddyinat
4 Feb 2011, 19:44 pm
@capo(capo)-493: Thats because with your background, you don’t have the same respect for humanity as normal people
4 Feb 2011, 19:45 pm
@Porto(Porto)-494:
amgonnygeeumakikinrabaws
4 Feb 2011, 19:46 pm
@Porto(Porto)-488: is that now your white view?the question is whether your view can be considered as important in today’s south africa?use every ounce of your first-class education to figure that one out old chop.
4 Feb 2011, 19:47 pm
@capo(capo)-497: Actually I’m not white
4 Feb 2011, 19:48 pm
You at the game Transie?
4 Feb 2011, 19:49 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-496: eesjoostafukkineejit inat, hinks amaporra
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 20 » Show All