Blitzboks lucky to be in Cup play-offs

GARETH DUNCAN reports on the Springbok Sevens’ inconsistent performances on day one at the Wellington Sevens.

The Blitzboks will have to thank Canada for their place in the Cup section. After their 31-5 win over the latter, they suffered a 14-12 loss to France in their second group match. All France had to do to confirm their Cup spot ahead of South Africa was to beat the lowly North Americans.

A French victory was expected against Canada, who also lost 38-0 against Fiji. However, Canada upset France with an 19-14 win, handing the Blitzboks a Cup play-off lifeline. South Africa followed with a draw against Fiji, confirming second place behind the Pacific Islanders in Pool D. But it was a match South Africa should have won.

Fiji were far the better team in the first stanza and rightfully took the lead after speedster Seremaia Burotu ran in the corner for the first try of the game. In reply, the Blitzboks couldn’t build any momentum on attack because of poor passing and handling while their defence was easily penetrated. South Africa were lucky to be trailing 7-0 at the break.

In the second half, the Blitzboks produced an improved performance. They camped inside Fiji’s red zone for most parts of the half but could only score one try through Branco du Preez to level matters.

Bernado Botha had the opportunity to dive over for the match-winning try, but he lost the ball forward over the line. South Africa were then awarded an injury-time penalty in a kickable position to clinch the match, but they went for the try and failed.

The Blitzboks will now face Australia in the Cup quarter-final on day two. In the other Cup play-offs, England face Argentina, Fiji play Samoa and New Zealand take on Wales.

Blitzboks results (Day 1):
South Africa 31 Canada 5
South Africa 12 France 14
South Africa 7 Fiji 7

Blitzbok fixtures (Day 2):
South Africa vs Australia (04:17 k/o)

For all fixtures and results, click here

Follow Gareth on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

988 Comments

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 1920 » Show All

• 651.Porto: Reply to this comment

@capo(capo)-644: Do you want me to take off my shoe?

• 652.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Guys, try not to be dragged down to his level.

• 653.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-642:

I’d take the example of the Barbarians. The results speak for themselves.

The Italian situation was not an entire success, probably because of what he had to work with..which wasn’t much.

Another good example of a competent coach would be Coetzee. Coetzee is slowly getting there and the hard work he has put in is reaping big rewards.

Mallett is gold in South African coaching terms.

• 654.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-648:

Its probably time for new ideas and get some fresh perspective. I dont think a coach should stay on for more than 5 years with any team. Graham Henry has done well but i think its his final year as well and he will be hoping for redemption at the RWC this year.

What i do know is that the boks need new ideas.

• 655.Two Eyed: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-647: I don’t blame Porto. Would u support a kid like him?? Think even the Salvation Army packed away their music instruments when they saw him.

• 656.Two Eyed: Reply to this comment

Anyway….out of here.

• 657.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Good to see the rugby talk flowing again, with that I’m outta here, job done.

Cheetahs had a good win over the Kings. I reckon they are going to do well in the new format which really suits them. The SA conference is going to be exceptionally tough and hard fought.

Later.

• 658.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Two Eyed(Two Eyed)-655:

Lol…..:)

• 659.logos: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-647: How dare you be so nasty to miss Gwantie’s inner circle!!

You better watch it, when she gets hysterical she pulls hair and goes for the eyes. Nasty woman our miss Gwantie

• 660.trupisero: Reply to this comment

What games are being shown today?

• 661.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@logos(logos)-659:

We’ll send her some Drugs to cure the dysmenorrhea

• 662.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-638:

HG – I think you and transie just missed each other.

Check his post #559.

• 663.logos: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-661: Is that a periodical condition? :-)

• 664.capo: Reply to this comment

@Porto(Porto)-651: well we all know now that those white kiwi boys did not stop at taking your mammy’s shoes off now!!!sometihing for you to chew on if you had forgot your roots:Although M?ori make up only 14% of the population, they make up almost 50% of the prison population.[50] M?ori have higher unemployment-rates than other cultures resident in New Zealand [51] M?ori have higher numbers of suicides than non-M?ori.[52] “Only 47% of M?ori school-leavers finish school with qualifications higher than NCEA Level One; compared to a massive 74% European; 87% Asian.”[53] M?ori suffer more health problems, including higher levels of alcohol and drug abuse, smoking and obesity. Less frequent use of healthcare services mean that late diagnosis and treatment intervention lead to higher levels of morbidity and mortality in many manageable conditions, such as cervical cancer,[54] diabetes[55] per head of population than non-M?ori.[56] M?ori also have considerably lower life-expectancies compared to New Zealanders of European ancestry: M?ori males 69.0 years vs. non-M?ori males 77.2 years; M?ori females 73.2 yrs vs. non-M?ori females 81.9 years.[57] Also, a recent study by the New Zealand Family Violence Clearinghouse showed that M?ori women and children are more likely to experience domestic violence than any other ethnic group.[58]

you must be glad some scots church minister adopted you old china otherwise it would have been the end of you a long time ago!

• 665.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-561: I “associated” you with post 440, because I actually did respect some of what you had to say about having some decency on this blog… eg. No go areas with the hazing on the blog i.e. family etc especially since you experienced a rather unsavoury attack yourself…

But since you and Transie have twisted my actual intentions and the fact that you could actually think in the way that you do, certainly, my respect has eroded for you okes somewhat drastically….

Actually through the comments of Capo, to the absolutely twisted sense of morality shown by you and Transie on this thread I certainly have had a sense of humour failure with you okes….

Not that any of you should care. Hell, I won’t care for your opinion either – but what I never, ever will do is personally attack someone else through a personal tragedy that they might have experienced…

I don’t need to apologise to you for because my intentions for mentioning you were actually a sign of what is now a misplaced sense of respect of what you might have to say.

As for people like Capo – a true Cancer… A visible embodiment on a Blog of the Dark side of Africa… An embodiment of a farkup waiting to happen… A refutation of the stupid multicultural view that all people can co-exist without hate… A truly evil malignancy in the Spirit of Saouth Africa… A true hate monger and an example of what “Sunter’s” low road can look like…

• 666.charo: Reply to this comment

@capo(capo)-664:

kind of “mirrow”-images you and a lot of your neighbours?

• 667.capo: Reply to this comment

time to enjoy the fruits of my wealth!cheers for now you sad racist losers …enjoy your mundane lives!

• 668.JL1: Reply to this comment

Mallet is a good coach,Italy is struggling with their depth, no wonder they have 1 Kiwi, 2 Aussies and 2 Saffas in their team

• 669.logos: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-668: One can only dream of having Mallet as Bok coach

• 670.capo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-665: it took you half a day to come up with post665?i was wondering what happened to you!i bet your brain must be wrecked after all that thinking!loser!

• 671.JL1: Reply to this comment

@logos(logos)-669: After PDV we have a chance, if ticket prices come down :lol: to get Mallet

• 672.capo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-665: grow the fark and while you at it grow some balls.look like you swallowed an oxford dictionary!in your fervour i believe you spelled south africa wrong!ai ai ai!

• 673.logos: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-671: :-)

• 674.JL1: Reply to this comment

@capo(capo)-670: You need professional help or just have the lobotomy done

• 675.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@capo(capo)-664: straight from Wikipeadia? impeccable source :lol:

not a bad thing going to jail if you have the, how shall I say it, majority vote

lets not point fingers now..

• 676.JL1: Reply to this comment

Maybe we can convince someone like Wayne Smith to help us

• 677.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-674:

I’d much rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy. :D

• 678.gunther: Reply to this comment

Fruits of my wealth?

It looks like capo has relieved some unsuspecting tourist of their iPhone.

By the way capo my old chum.

I wouldn’t start quoting the representation of certain population groups on prison.

Trust me when I say it doesn’t look good for your lot :)

• 679.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@logos(logos)-663:

you could say that…

Anyone know which games are televised?

My farken TV guide won’t load

• 680.JL1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-677: Met Eish!

Klippies is now famous

• 681.JL1: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-679: BBC is showing 6 Nations if that is of any help

• 682.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-679:

Italy vs Ireland at 4pm

Stomers vs Sharks at 5pm on SS2

France vs Scotland at 6:30

• 683.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-682:

Stomers – who are they? What have they won?

The Stormers of course.

• 684.trupisero: Reply to this comment

thanks guys.

Just been called by the local Paddy’s to go watch the game. I don’t think I should watch the Sharks game though.

• 685.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-683:

and what have they won? :)

• 686.Bhloo: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-683: Stomers or Stormers. Same diffs.

What have either of them won recently………… :)

• 687.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Bhloo(redj)-686:

SNAP!!

• 688.Porto: Reply to this comment

@capo(capo)-664: Take fish off hook, throw in bucket, re bait the hook and cast off! I think I’ll open a fish ‘n chip shop!

• 689.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-685:
    @Bhloo(redj)-686:

You okes don’t have to be so nasty now.

We live in hope.

Going to a long season.

• 690.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-582:

You know Grant, you make a lot of assumptions about me and I’m not sure why.

I’ve been attacked endlessly by this muppet Capo about the cowardly Scots with the English d!cks up our asses in nearly every post he makes. I do try to laugh it off but it is not easy, and thankfully others on here take this guy to task for his disgusting comments.

He is a low down piece of sh.it, this much is obvious and I, like you, won’t sit by as I am attacked endlessly. Again, I’m not sure why you accuse me of fence sitting, I just try and ignore most of the kuk going on unless it’s aimed at me personally. Scrolling by doesn’t make me a racist, it means I think someone’s talking sh.it but my jumping in will only make the situation worse.

Unless of course it’s something like the disgusting attack on Puma’s brother. Oh man, that was the lowest thing I’ve ever heard on here or pretty much anywhere else. I had to say something.

But anyway, I don’t want to drag it up and through the wringer again, but as Porto mentioned earlier, the IRA are nothing more than thugs and the vast majority of Irish people, many friends of mine included, despise them for all they are worth.

There is no romantic struggle, just bombs hidden in prams and punishment beatings galore, mostly over illegal activities such as drugs and pirating. The victims, of course, are Irish.

Just so happens my favourite band are Irish and the lyrics of this song of their’s will say what I’m trying to say far better than I ever could. Call me a coward, call me a fence sitter, whatever, just read this to the end.

Oh it must be so romantic
    When the fighting’s over there
    And they’re passing round the shamrock
    And you’re all filled up with tears
    “For the love of dear old Ireland”
    That you’ve never even seen
    You throw in twenty dollars
    And sing “Wearing of the Green

[Chorus:]
    Each dollar a bullet
    Each victim someone’s son
    And Americans kill Irishmen
    As surely
    As if they fired the gun

Now you’ve never stood on Belfast’s streets
    And heard the bombs explode
    Or hid beneath the blankets
    When there’s riots down the road
    No you’ve never had your best friend die
    Or lost a favorite son
    But you’ll stand there and tell us
    Just what we’re doing wrong

Each false word a bullet
    And Englishmen kill Irishmen
    As surely
    As if they fired the gun

From the minute that you’re born you’re told
    To hate the other side
    “They’re not like us, they’re not the same
    We know because we’re right”
    But can’t you see we’re all the same
    There is no right and wrong
    Why can’t we stop and realize
    Just what we’re doing wrong
    We’ve hated too much too long

Each old lie a bullet
    And Irishmen kill Irishmen
    As surely
    As if they fired the gun

How can you convince yourself
    That what you do is right?
    When people are dying there
    Night after night
    Don’t you ever wonder
    Why it still goes on?
    The hopes and fears and all the tears
    Are buried in your ground
    Buried in your ground

Each rumour a bullet
    And careless talk kills Irishmen
    As surely
    As if words fired the gun

Well it’s lasted for so long now
    And so many have died
    It’s such a part of my own life
    Yet it leaves me mystified
    How a people so intelligent
    Friendly, kind and brave
    Can throw themselves so willingly
    Into an open grave

Each new day a bullet
    And ignorance kills Irishmen
    As surely
    As if we fired the gun

• 691.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-689:

hahaha….just calling it like it is.

Good luck for your team, lets hope they lose in the final to the sharks ;)

• 692.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Ahhh, that’s better.

What odds the Jocks this afternoon then?

• 693.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-692:

Glad you got that off your chest.

Think the frogs will take it unfortunately.

• 694.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Porto(Porto)-688:

Reading all that has happened on this thread, it becomes very clear to me that there are 3 things in life, for which money cannot buy.

And they are health, brains and class.

Let him be. Ignore him.

• 695.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-693:

Yeah, I think so too. But the eternal pre-season optimism of a Stormers and Scotland fan never fails to appear around this time of year, i.e. before a ball is thrown in anger :D

• 696.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Porto(Porto)-688:

Do you do haggis? And the next question is, are you a salt n sauce or salt n vinegar man???

(For the casual observer, this is me and Porto sussing out which part of the country we are from…)

• 697.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-696:

Well, I’ve got the warthog ribs in the orange juice now, to be followed by marinade and fire.

• 698.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-695:

hahaha, I think the Stormers will do well again this year, dunno about the Jocks though.

• 699.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Are you both Scotchmen from Scotchland?

• 700.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-690:

Well said. Good post.

Just hope Grant understands and doesn’t get all emotional again and fly off the handle.

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 1920 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.