Return of the king
7 Feb 2011
Fourie du Preez will be the Boks’ key player this year as they seek to defend the World Cup.
In his most revealing interview yet, Du Preez talks to SA Rugby magazine about why the Springboks struggled in 2010, his big-match temperament, who should replace him as Bok scrumhalf when he retires from international rugby, why he wants to play in Japan, and who he thinks should be the next Bok coach.
We also speak to Heyneke Meyer and Bryan Habana about what makes Du Preez the best scrumhalf in the world.
‘If he doesn’t play the Boks are in serious trouble and the Bulls wouldn’t be the side they have been in the past couple of years, says Meyer. ‘People point out that he is integral to their game plan, which is true. There isn’t a better box-kicking scrumhalf in world rugby. But that doesn’t take into account his full value.
‘As the link between the forwards and the backs he is the most influential player on the park. Your decision-making has to be so sharp there, especially at international level where space and time are at a premium. No player can match his decision-making under pressure.’
Also in the new issue, on sale this week:
– Bryan Habana needs creative players around him if he’s to start scoring tries at Test level again
– Francois Louw refuses to believe that his World Cup dream is over
– Local businessman Robert Gumede on why he’s invested in the Lions, transforming the game, and the players he’d like to bring to Joburg
– Stirling Mortlock on what the Rebels hope to achieve in their debut Super Rugby season, why Danny Cipriani will excel, and his desire to get back into the Wallabies squad
– Alcohol addiction and excessive partying cost kiwi referee Steve Walsh his job in 2008. SA Rugby magazine finds out how he turned his life around
– JP Pietersen is confident he can regain the form that made him one of the world’s best wingers in 2007
– While the Test nations up north are coming to terms with the new law interpretations, the club structures and mentality will forever contrast the philosophy down south
– It’s been just over a year since Gareth Thomas became the first openly gay professional rugby player. In this candid interview, the former Wales captain talks about his new life, changing perceptions, and being portrayed by Mickey Rourke in an upcoming Hollywood movie
– The Olympic Games will transform sevens rugby
– Referees must stop interpreting the laws and start applying them consistently
– The three Pacific Island rugby nations will never be able to compete with the world’s best
– Jacques Cronjé on his World Cup snub, maturing, and going head-to-head with Sébastien Chabal at Racing Métro
Click here to subscribe to the print or digital editions
PLUS: Get your GIANT 2011 fixtures poster FREE with this issue (Super Rugby, Vodacom Cup, Varsity Cup, Six Nations, Tri-Nations, Sevens World Series, Currie Cup and World Cup fixtures)
Follow us on Twitter:
@SARugbymag
@mark_keohane
@SimonBorchardt
@jon_cardinelli
@Ryan_Vrede
@Gareth_Duncan

603 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
7 Feb 2011, 14:25 pm
@gunther(gunther)-149:
Naah! Strictly Bulls and Sharks jerseys that the Zimbos are selling in Durban Road!
7 Feb 2011, 14:37 pm
@ Gunther – hahahahahahaha!
All in a good laugh hey…
@ Mighty – I hear you mate – and, yes – absolutely – I do not forget that – ESPECIALLY the support they have given to the best, and oldest, provincial competition in world rugby – our beloved Currie Cup!
Yeah – maybe my words were a little strong – my objections are voiced against the broader ‘prostituting’ of everything ‘sacred’ – ie steeped in tradition and history – in sport today… Let me remind you – let any sport lose its core values – it’s principled core values – and it will die… Maybe not ‘today’ – but it will whither like anything else based on the fake towers of the ‘money god’…
7 Feb 2011, 14:57 pm
@Nick Armstrong(Nick Armstrong)-147: “true Bok supporters”
hahahaha
7 Feb 2011, 15:08 pm
@Nick Armstrong(Nick Armstrong)-152: today, tomorrow, together
do the Bok player play for free like the first Bokke played for pride and honour?
why do we have SARPA yapping at the heels of SARU about player contracts, are the players greedy?
SARU has to make money to keep these players contracted in this country and NOT lured by the pound to the UK and France, they can’t do that on a biltong stall budget, get real! S
mit, Matfield, Bakkies, Fdp, Fourie etc, would ALL be gone if SARU didn’t compliment the franchise salaries with sizable contracts! Pay them with tradition and honour and see how quickly they will be GONE!
7 Feb 2011, 15:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-154: I don’t think anyone is saying the Boks shouldn’t have a corporate sponsor. Everyone knows how important this is. The gripe here is the size and placement of the logo. A sponsor who recognises and respects the jersey for its heritage by keeping the logo modest and non-intrusive would win the hearts and minds of the people far more than the one who tries to plaster it as big and bold as he can. Incorporating a subtle logo into the jersey design in a clever way (as opposed to simply slapping the logo onto the open space) would do far more for the brand.
7 Feb 2011, 15:30 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-155: go BIG or go home…well Happy Ntshingila in an ad industry veteran, so he is aware of the latest international trends in advertising
7 Feb 2011, 15:37 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-150: Ie the Currie Cup has been enjoying Absa cash for a long time,25years!!!!, now the so-called “true rugby supporters” want to turn their noses at it? Hahahahaha
7 Feb 2011, 15:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-153: The true bok players, are chowing that cash big time. Thinking of bonus’ etc. John Smit was certainly smiling at the launch. ABSA MONEY B1TCHES!!! Eat your heart out.
All the Bok are thinking is: “WE GETTING PAID!”
7 Feb 2011, 15:44 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-157: the problem is that ABSA opened their mouth as to the make up of the teams in the currie cup, and you know mos, tac & his afriforum “broeders” took umbrage and closed their savings accounts
so imagine now they have to wear a moerse ABSA emblem on their chests HAHAHAHAHA, kinda ironic really
7 Feb 2011, 15:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-159: Well for years Absa was sorting out their beloved Currie Cup. The name on the jersey is a small price to pay. I don’t even think it looks bad at all.
I’m not delighted about Standard Chartered on the Liverpool Jersey. I loved Carlsberg, but I’m not going to throw a damn hissy fit about it.
7 Feb 2011, 15:53 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-160: liverpool is scouser club man, you can’t compare it with the Bokke! how come the All Black jersey is not emblazoned with Poppa’s Canoes on it’s front?
@>^..^< katman(katman)-155: Good post Katman,
Agree totally there. Think the logo is far, far too big and should actually have been left out. Jersey would have looked far smarter with no log on. Also the Protea could drop the big yellow strip on the top. Would make for a nicer looking Protea and balance the Bok on the other side.
Jersey right now just looks too busy. Less sometimes is better.
@Puma(Puma)-162: log = logo
7 Feb 2011, 15:54 pm
We sold out to “The Man” a long time ago.
7 Feb 2011, 15:56 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-164: For sure we did. Pity.
7 Feb 2011, 15:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-161: Hey, you respect the Pool! And keep the Ab’s out of your sponsor b1tching.
7 Feb 2011, 15:58 pm
“….here comes the man, holds out his hand, he’s looking strangely at me….”
7 Feb 2011, 15:58 pm
@Puma(Puma)-162: the absa logo is the same font size as the red Mr Price on the Sharks jersey.
7 Feb 2011, 15:59 pm
So, FDP reveals why the BOKS struggled in 2010? Huh, is there something that we did not know? I thought that the real issue was that there were guys working on their careers after they are fired post WC 2011. They are all forming bands:
1. Fat Boys’ Revival
Lead singer: John “Speknek” Smit
Guitar: Ricky “Burger King” Februarie (used to be Januarie until he ate himself into another month)
Drums: AD “Pouch” Jacobs
Current hit song: “We do munchies while they do crunchies”
2. Three Blind Mice
Lead singer: Pieter “Smokey” De Villiers
Bass: Gary “Fading” Gold
Percussion: Di ck “the Pr ick” Muir
Current hit song: “Black Mechanic”
3. The Carthorse Ensemble
Piano: Frans “C’est la vie” Steyn
Triangle: Morne “No Brain” Steyn
Xylophone: JP “Juice Pelile” Pietersen
Tamborine: Zane “Pure Pain” Kirchner
Violin: Patrick “Can’t kick” Lambie
I believe that Habana is starting a band called, “Look,Mom, no hands” and Pierre Spies is going to call his band “The ancient aeroplane engine” – because try as you might, there is no hell you will get contact out of him.
7 Feb 2011, 16:00 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-167: anyone who says paroltones is going to get a PK.
7 Feb 2011, 16:01 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-157: I think the ABSA on the jersey looks fine, actually looks better than Sasol, but it is the huge big logo to the side that makes the jersey look far too busy. Actually the logo pushes the ABSA to one side and really does not look good. Makes it sortef of looke lopsided..lol. Who ever designed it should have thought about just dropping the logo.
7 Feb 2011, 16:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-171: sortef = sort of
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-166: hahaha i ain’t b’tching, i’m asking you a simple question and seemingly you have no answer for it…imagine how many farms the NZRU would buy for Carl Hayman if they had a sponsor on their jersey
i wouldnt worry about the size of the absa logo
I would worry about the size of the fat boys ego
@Puma(Puma)-171: Jeez..lol. Must give this up. Another typo there..lol. looke = look
7 Feb 2011, 16:04 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-169:
7 Feb 2011, 16:04 pm
@Puma(Puma)-175: At the boozer for lunch??
7 Feb 2011, 16:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-168: Transie but this is our national jersey
7 Feb 2011, 16:05 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-169: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
classic! Gunther-esque!
7 Feb 2011, 16:06 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-177: Wish…hehe. Just had a coffee, think it was far to strong
7 Feb 2011, 16:08 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-169: Hahahahahaha
7 Feb 2011, 16:09 pm
@grant10(grant10)-174: hi boet, i hope you enjoyed being at newlands and watching some rugga again…was that game really a “friendly”? i saw a lot handbags in there
7 Feb 2011, 16:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-168: Transie, I have no problem with the ABSA on the jersey, but it is their logo to the side that should have been dropped.
7 Feb 2011, 16:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-182: okes played hard….but my word the stormers were pi s s poor mate….same old same old….pack being bullied….made me mal i tell you…
7 Feb 2011, 16:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-182:
you can bet at least one of the handbags was granties mansac..
7 Feb 2011, 16:17 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-160:
carlsberg is a drink for homeless people.
7 Feb 2011, 16:19 pm
@grant10(grant10)-184: even with CJ in the mix? what happened to deon fourie?
7 Feb 2011, 16:19 pm
@gunther(gunther)-185: It’s european!
7 Feb 2011, 16:22 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-187: even with cj at loosehead we were done in the scrums in 1 st half! Not sure where deon is….i think he and koster were injured still…
we need f Louw back asap….he is a pivotal player in that stormers set up imo
7 Feb 2011, 16:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-187: we missed J Smit playing for the sharks big time….his absence strengthened the sharks immeasurably…
7 Feb 2011, 16:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-173: Like I said. Some Saffas are moaning about their jersey, they need to deal with it. Other teams are fine with theirs. I have no desire to debate the issue with you, because you and I both know that I really couldn’t care less.
7 Feb 2011, 16:27 pm
@grant10(grant10)-189: CJ has never, IMO, been the best scrummager out there. His work on the park was OK though for me.
But you are right, we did get manhandled a bit in the scrums.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-188:
so are left-hand drive cars.
and like left-hand drive cars they are best in Europe.
but don’t let it stop you.
I’m sure you pull it off with aplomb
@gunther(gunther)-186:
Well I liked it on my Pool jersey! So there!
7 Feb 2011, 16:28 pm
@grant10(grant10)-190: LOL one of your funniest JS comments in a long time!
7 Feb 2011, 16:29 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-191:
7 Feb 2011, 16:29 pm
@gunther(gunther)-193: man-purses are not my style.
But I see that the Seinfeld reference passed you by on that one
7 Feb 2011, 16:31 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-168: I have an Absa account, and I will continue to do so. So there is no so called grudge against them about their comments last year, as I believe it was blown out of proportion in an opportunistic attack by Afriforum.
I do believe that it is Absa’s right to have their logo on the jersey as it was Sasol’s right before them, and Castles before that.
My argument is about the size and the placement of the logo and thats it. The Mr Price logo you are referring to is big as well, but it does not interfere with the sharks logo as it is placed futher down.
The Absa logo is on the chest with the Springbok and Protea logo’s, and the top part of the Absa logo is about 1cm away from the Springbok logo. In any brands CI there are rules about the amount of empty space there should be around the logo and clearly this was not followed. That is terrible design practice and makes our Bok jersey look like a cheap Pick and Pay retail newspaper insert. Your ignorant go big or go home argument wont work here, no matter how you spin it.
I actually have a lot of respect for Happy Ntshingila. He has always been a marketing man in the business and client service side of advertising agencies though. So he wouldn’t now much about technical graphic design.
7 Feb 2011, 16:31 pm
The size of the ABSA logo looks kakka and cheapens the jersey, but it’s not nearly as bad as the DHL stormers dishcloth.
7 Feb 2011, 16:32 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-197:
totally.
not really my thing.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All