Return of the king
7 Feb 2011
Fourie du Preez will be the Boks’ key player this year as they seek to defend the World Cup.
In his most revealing interview yet, Du Preez talks to SA Rugby magazine about why the Springboks struggled in 2010, his big-match temperament, who should replace him as Bok scrumhalf when he retires from international rugby, why he wants to play in Japan, and who he thinks should be the next Bok coach.
We also speak to Heyneke Meyer and Bryan Habana about what makes Du Preez the best scrumhalf in the world.
‘If he doesn’t play the Boks are in serious trouble and the Bulls wouldn’t be the side they have been in the past couple of years, says Meyer. ‘People point out that he is integral to their game plan, which is true. There isn’t a better box-kicking scrumhalf in world rugby. But that doesn’t take into account his full value.
‘As the link between the forwards and the backs he is the most influential player on the park. Your decision-making has to be so sharp there, especially at international level where space and time are at a premium. No player can match his decision-making under pressure.’
Also in the new issue, on sale this week:
– Bryan Habana needs creative players around him if he’s to start scoring tries at Test level again
– Francois Louw refuses to believe that his World Cup dream is over
– Local businessman Robert Gumede on why he’s invested in the Lions, transforming the game, and the players he’d like to bring to Joburg
– Stirling Mortlock on what the Rebels hope to achieve in their debut Super Rugby season, why Danny Cipriani will excel, and his desire to get back into the Wallabies squad
– Alcohol addiction and excessive partying cost kiwi referee Steve Walsh his job in 2008. SA Rugby magazine finds out how he turned his life around
– JP Pietersen is confident he can regain the form that made him one of the world’s best wingers in 2007
– While the Test nations up north are coming to terms with the new law interpretations, the club structures and mentality will forever contrast the philosophy down south
– It’s been just over a year since Gareth Thomas became the first openly gay professional rugby player. In this candid interview, the former Wales captain talks about his new life, changing perceptions, and being portrayed by Mickey Rourke in an upcoming Hollywood movie
– The Olympic Games will transform sevens rugby
– Referees must stop interpreting the laws and start applying them consistently
– The three Pacific Island rugby nations will never be able to compete with the world’s best
– Jacques Cronjé on his World Cup snub, maturing, and going head-to-head with Sébastien Chabal at Racing Métro
Click here to subscribe to the print or digital editions
PLUS: Get your GIANT 2011 fixtures poster FREE with this issue (Super Rugby, Vodacom Cup, Varsity Cup, Six Nations, Tri-Nations, Sevens World Series, Currie Cup and World Cup fixtures)
Follow us on Twitter:
@SARugbymag
@mark_keohane
@SimonBorchardt
@jon_cardinelli
@Ryan_Vrede
@Gareth_Duncan

603 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
7 Feb 2011, 17:19 pm
@gunther(gunther)-248: Actually, yes. But it’s a terrible story.
7 Feb 2011, 17:22 pm
@grant10(grant10)-241: I’d like to see this Alsatian you outran up the steps. Either is was lame in its hind legs or it was chained to a lamp post.
7 Feb 2011, 17:23 pm
is = it
7 Feb 2011, 17:27 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-252: I admit i had a 50 m headstart…..and the steps are about 70 m high…i beat him over the road by about 2 m…
you do the maths
7 Feb 2011, 17:45 pm
Katman
Yep I heard about that.
I must say I’m also quite curious about Granties Alsatian.
Perhaps it was a two legged native of Alsace visiting his grandchildren.
7 Feb 2011, 18:11 pm
the 40m dash in a speedo and flip flops, followed by an alsation, with a final hop, skip and a jump into the hot tub.
7 Feb 2011, 18:20 pm
all i know is FdP better not be taking all this arse-kissing stuff to his head, cos he’s been old for a while and was not looking like the player of old just before his injury, he was a behaving like a bit of a prima donna whenever he got tackled, and for a blue bulle that is almost sacriledgeous, and also one of the reasons that FdP was the best in the world was that he could do everything including break with speed and strenght around the edges, but he’s become slightly 1D with the box-kicking **** – hopefully he comes back on the scene with renewed vigour and hunger to become the world’s best 9 again.
7 Feb 2011, 18:49 pm
@cab(cab)-257:
I agree, he is ageing and not the player he used to be – not dynamic enough anymore to keep up with players like Genia for example.
Bakkies, Victor, Jean, Bryan, Schalk, Smit and even Smith are also probably past their prime.
2015 should be a better year for SA in the WC.
7 Feb 2011, 18:52 pm
UCT seems to be winning fairly easily against Shimlas in Bloem.
Won’t be surprised if the Varsity cup final will again be between UCT and Stellenbosch with Stellenbosch winning it as usual.
7 Feb 2011, 19:09 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-258:
rob i think the Boks are looking good for 2011, except the snr players need to be hungry, fit and rested – slightly concerned about this extended S15, the coaches say they going to manage the players, but its never going to happen, or at least not to the degree needed to keep them primed for the RWC in October.
7 Feb 2011, 19:17 pm
@cab(cab)-260:
The key will be to find the balance between rest and play – it will differ from player to player- the gifted one will have to use all his talents and also be very assertive as the super 15 coaches will obviously first look after their own interest (I would too if my job depends on it)
7 Feb 2011, 19:22 pm
Jonty Rose back in the Cape and playing for Maties- nearly got his head taken off by a Pukke player- very physical so far , first Matie (Stokkies Hanekom, WP under 21) already off with concussion after 3 minutes
7 Feb 2011, 19:25 pm
Referee looks about 15 years old weighing in at a full 42 kg’s.
7 Feb 2011, 19:28 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-262:
Jody even
7 Feb 2011, 19:36 pm
fdp is the king allright…the king of kicking the leather of the ball and the best thing he can sleep soundly at night because nobody else are interested in taking away his mantle.long the live king fdp…and goodbye to the world cup as well!
7 Feb 2011, 19:40 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-264:
Hi rob
Jody is carrying so much weight , I am sure he has eaten Earl !!!
7 Feb 2011, 19:43 pm
Jody Rose is a spitbraai waiting to happen.
7 Feb 2011, 19:47 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-266:
He is to the Matie team what Ricky is to the Stormers – maybe it’s a fashion thing.
7 Feb 2011, 19:48 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-268:
7 Feb 2011, 19:49 pm
The Matie hooker with the pink pant seems to be quite a useful player
7 Feb 2011, 19:58 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-252: @gunther(gunther)-255: hahaha hey u two, have u guys never seen an Alsatian?
7 Feb 2011, 20:03 pm
Transie
I can only assume that the Alsatian was trying to chase Grantie for stealing its owners’s speedo off the line.
7 Feb 2011, 20:28 pm
maybe grant had just seen the brazillian mens volleyball team and the alsation could sense grant was carrying a bone in his speedo?
7 Feb 2011, 20:28 pm
or luke was at the beach?
7 Feb 2011, 20:35 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-262: I thought he was looking to play for UJ, but I think that Mitch told him to piss-off.
7 Feb 2011, 20:37 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-273:
good day ranger . how you been??
was at the game saturday , so much better then tuesday
and when the other 7 players return that sharks forward pack gonna be huge
7 Feb 2011, 20:39 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-271:
For the record, I keep 2 Alsations – actually real name is German Shepherd.
A couple of years ago, I was at the Wanderers and it was pissing down. Covers on etc. And the then security company were using German Shepherds to protect the pitch. When some fool decided to turn the covers into a slippery slide.
The security guard let his dog loose. I was cheering for the doggie.
Well he almost made it over the advertising boards. Then it got a bit messy.
I quietly had another beer as it was still raining.
7 Feb 2011, 20:39 pm
@gunther(gunther)-272: why did the owner leave the gate open knowing his alsatian is aggressive?
7 Feb 2011, 20:45 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-273:
How was your game reserve experience?
No place like the bush.
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-277: tl tl tl well that ‘fool’ was clearly not as nimble footed as out Grant
@gunther(gunther)-272: I think Grantie failed to mention that the Alsatian (or even Elsation, as he’d prefer) was governed to the speed of its blind owner. But still, he beat the dog. So let’s break out the carbon neutral, organic cap classique.
7 Feb 2011, 20:46 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-277: tl tl tl well that ‘fool’ was clearly not as fleet footed as our Grant
7 Feb 2011, 20:48 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-276: howdy man.
alls good here, alls good.
cant wait for ruggas to begin.
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-279: howzit man. ja, quality stuff. and sodwana was just as good.
how often you get to the bush?
7 Feb 2011, 20:50 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-281:
he is fast senor, really really fast!
7 Feb 2011, 20:55 pm
Welcome back General Du Preez.
Time to put all the pretenders back in their place.
7 Feb 2011, 20:55 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-283:
I got to the bush about 3 times in the last 15 months or so. Kruger is just 4 hours up the road for me.
Favourite place is Ngwenya Lodge – on the Crocodile River which forms the southern boundary of the park.
Otherwise Hazyview or Hoedspruit area slightly further north.
Always see plenty there.
7 Feb 2011, 21:00 pm
As for the Oros man down south in the shadow of the mountain.
He must be k*king himself. The General is back in town.
7 Feb 2011, 21:04 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-286: have stayed at ngwenya lodge, great views but it was the end of summer so there was plenty of watar away from the river so not too many sightings.
but i dont really mind. shingwedzi, thats my favourite place in the kruger.
and i like mkambati in transies back yard. combines game and beach like few other places.
7 Feb 2011, 21:08 pm
Now for goodness sake don’t waste him on the 2011 S15 and 3N in a RWC year.
Give him gametime, keep him sharp but please preserve him for the RWC.
7 Feb 2011, 21:11 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-284: Arriba! Arriba!
7 Feb 2011, 21:17 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-288:
Was at Ngwenya July last year.
Saw a video in the pub – taken by a guest in July the previous year – showing a lion kill from that viewing deck. Very special – then everyone came out to play. A curious leopard even walked passed.
On one ocassion, we witnessed 4 of the big five from Ngwenya in one day. Very special.
7 Feb 2011, 21:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-290:
The only thing that would have passed him would be his knees going passed his ears.
Even going up stairs.
7 Feb 2011, 21:28 pm
Transie
Up until Grantie walked by it was probably quite placid.
Maybe it fancied Granties fair-trade rooibos latte.
Maybe the Bright Blue and PJ Powers playing on Granties iPod drove the poor thing insane.
7 Feb 2011, 21:36 pm
@gunther(gunther)-293: Thanks for the Great Wall of China/Easter Island post…..
7 Feb 2011, 21:39 pm
@gunther(gunther)-293: Grant put the speed in speedo. Jabulani!
7 Feb 2011, 21:42 pm
I had a text today from my local beauty salon offering Brazillians and Hollywoods……with a free “Vajazzle”….for Valentines day!!
I had no idea what it was, I had to google it!!
Blimey.
7 Feb 2011, 21:49 pm
Carole
Have you visited the temple if the rising speedo?
Was it worth the climb?
Katman
SA’s very own goldenballs.
Bend it like Bezeidenhout
7 Feb 2011, 21:51 pm
We had a leopard wander onto our building site here in Chad a couple of weeks ago. It was discovered on a Sunday morning when the guys arrived. Unfortunately it never made it back off the site as it was cornered, killed and eaten.
The hide is still drying on a rock.
I’m still shocked by it. But to the locals it was free food. End of.
7 Feb 2011, 21:54 pm
@gunther(gunther)-297: I have indeed visited Grants Eyre…..Even as someone who can run a bit, his steps are quite challenging.
Worth the climb, he has a great sea view!! Not impeded by billowing speedos either!
7 Feb 2011, 21:55 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-298:
Bit of a shock for you, however would make a stunning sporran!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All