Blitzboks hit jackpot in Vegas
13 Feb 2011
The Springbok Sevens beat Fiji 24-14 in the Cup final in Las Vegas to win their first tournament in two years.
The last time the Blitzboks won a Cup final was back on 5 April 2009 at the Adelaide Sevens during their World Series-winning campaign. Since then, they have suffered a poor run of form. Last season, they only reached one Cup final and lost five out of six Plate finals (which is the 5th/6th place play-off). This season, they failed to reach the Cup semi-final stage in the opening three tournaments and won only two out of three Plate finals.
However, they starred at this season’s Las Vegas tournament, completing an unbeaten run and securing the Cup title with impressive victories over England and Fiji.
In the Cup semi-final, Cecil Afrika inspired the Blitzboks to victory as they overturned a 10-0 deficit to beat England 17-10.
England dominated the first half and starved South Africa of possession to keep them scoreless at the break. Dan Norton and Tom Powell touched down to secure the former a 10-0 lead at half-time.
Then came the Blitzboks’ comeback. Branco du Preez’s chip ahead into space put speedster Afrika through for the first try. Afrika then turned provider as his long pass put Kyle Brown into space out wide and the skipper dived in at the corner to give South Africa the lead. With seconds left on the clock, the Blitzboks hung on to possession and were given a penalty in England’s red zone. Afrika converted the three-pointer, sealing a great comeback win.
In the final, the Blitzboks recorded an inspirational victory over a physical Fiji.
The Pacific Islanders were far bigger than their South African counterparts and used their size to their advantage as they dominated at the breakdown. However, the Springbok Sevens attacked smartly by running into space and offloading through the tackle. Clever interplay saw South Africa surge into an early 14-0 lead through Afrika and Du Preez.
Fiji hit back as Watisoni Vatu dotted down but Chris Dry’s try put South Africa 21-7 up at the break.
Fiji were within reach when Mitieli Nacagilevu crossed the whitewash but Bernando Botha’s try wrapped up proceedings and saw South Africa home. The Blitzboks’ tournament win puts them back into World Series title contention.
The Blitzboks’ campaign at the Las Vegas Sevens has regained Paul Treu and his players a lot of respect and they have every right to celebrate their impressive performances. However, they need to compete at this level and at the same intensity consistently. They have shown their full potential this past weekend by employing the correct game plan and playing to their strengths, but it will all be for nothing if they suffer another rough patch hereafter.
The reality is the Springbok Sevens have regressed since their 2008-2009 World Series triumph. This Las Vegas tournament victory is the perfect opportunity for them to turn things around.
Blitzboks fixtures and results, day 2:
Cup semi-final: South Africa 17 England 10
Cup final: South Africa 24 Fiji 14
For all fixtures and results click here

146 Comments
13 Feb 2011, 19:10 pm
come on bokkies!
13 Feb 2011, 19:46 pm
the Poms are the most improved side this year, i’m not too confident but GO BOKKE!!!!!
13 Feb 2011, 20:04 pm
Make it happens Bokke!
Its there for the taking; it’s about being hungry!
13 Feb 2011, 20:18 pm
get RID of paul TRUE …. farking quota!
13 Feb 2011, 20:18 pm
anyone seen springboksarah lately? i want to suck her toes!
13 Feb 2011, 21:27 pm
Former Springbok scrumhalf
dies
2011-02-13 19:39
East London – Former Springbok
scrumhalf from the 1960s and
early 1970s, Dirk de Vos died on
Saturday from a heart attack in
Potchefstroom at the age of 69.
Born on 8 April 1940, De Vos was educated at Graeme College, Grahamstown.
He represented Western
Province and Western Transvaal in Currie Cup matches.
Not always popular with the
critics, he was often criticised for being a selfish player, but on his day he could be a match-winner with his darting runs and
strategic kicks.
Former Bok captain Hannes
Marais was sad to hear of De
Vos ’ death.
“He was a good friend of mine
but I knew he wasn ’t well lately
as he did not join us for recent
reunions,” Marais said from his
home in Port Elizabeth Sunday.
“Dirkie could do brilliant things
but would often play his own
game.
“He loved to kick and charge and
if it worked that was wonderful
for the team,” Marais added.
De Vos represented South Africa
in three Test matches, touring
Ireland and Scotland in 1965, the
United Kingdom in 1969-70 and
Australia in 1971.
He played Tests against Scotland
at Murrayfield in 1965 and 1969
- both games were lost – and
replacing an injured Springbok
captain Dawie de Villliers, he
played one home Test at
Newlands against Australia in
For most of his international
career De Vos played in the
shadow of both De Villiers and
Piet Uys.
After the devastating tour of
Ireland and Scotland when both
internationals were lost, De Vos
was sacked for 1965 tour of
Australia and New Zealand and
former captain Nelie Smith took
his place as understudy to De
Villiers.
De Vos only able to reclaim a
place in 1969.
The “Umbrella Test” at
Newlands saw De Vos play an
outstanding game along with Piet
Visagie at flyhalf, and he was
selected for the demo-hit tour of
the United Kingdom in 1969-70.
On the tour of Australia in 1971
he was deputy scrumhalf to
Joggie Viljoen.
Altogether he played 18 matches
in the green and gold.
13 Feb 2011, 21:57 pm
cecil afrika,what a boytjie!
13 Feb 2011, 22:00 pm
these kiwis are being MONSTERED by the gigantic fijians
13 Feb 2011, 22:02 pm
bokkies against fiji
13 Feb 2011, 22:14 pm
Going to be a good final!
13 Feb 2011, 22:32 pm
nice to see countries like guyana embracing sevens rugby
13 Feb 2011, 23:34 pm
on this whole scotland “english d#icks up the @rse thing”.
my most memorable foreign test was in edinburgh rwc1999.
before the game had a chat with the late gordan brown – the “broon from toon” – what an absolute gentleman!
later, my wife and i sat amongst jock supporters during the game – the most fair minded i have yet to meet.
and afterwards, we meandered back up prince’s street, on a fan pub crawl.
the atmosphere was unbelievable – zero animosity – just one big rugby party.
there is no more true rugby-spirited group group of fans in the whole wide world.
better than the welsh, english, irish, saffa, oz or kiwi.
even better than the french.
stick that up ya jumper, capo.
13 Feb 2011, 23:36 pm
gordan = gordon.
of course.
just for the intellectual cripples.
13 Feb 2011, 23:54 pm
Man those Fijian’s are born to play rugby including the 4 Fijian born All blacks. What fine human specimens…
Go Bokke…
13 Feb 2011, 23:59 pm
Cap0…..you can suck the real capo’s ****! I’m sure SpringbokSarah has taste.
14 Feb 2011, 00:22 am
Lets go Bokke!
14 Feb 2011, 00:25 am
Cecil in for 1st try off the set piece – wow!
14 Feb 2011, 00:26 am
oops too much space for em….
14 Feb 2011, 00:27 am
Fiji uptight…
14 Feb 2011, 00:28 am
SA7 Fiji 0
14 Feb 2011, 00:29 am
Brilliant try!! Sa working sevens magic
14 Feb 2011, 00:30 am
12 – 0
14 Feb 2011, 00:31 am
Fiji melt through SA porous defence…
14 Feb 2011, 00:32 am
12 – 7
14 Feb 2011, 00:34 am
Brilliant try by SA to end first half in styyyyyyyyyyle!
14 Feb 2011, 00:35 am
19-7 to SA
14 Feb 2011, 00:36 am
Come one boys!!!!!!
14 Feb 2011, 00:37 am
SA never beaten Fiji in final out of four encounters….
14 Feb 2011, 00:40 am
Fierce forward battle for first 3 minutes, no score
14 Feb 2011, 00:42 am
Fiji through for comeback, ahhhh come on boys!!!!!
14 Feb 2011, 00:42 am
19 – 14
14 Feb 2011, 00:43 am
Here we go again.
14 Feb 2011, 00:44 am
SA fighting proud
14 Feb 2011, 00:45 am
whats the SCORE!!???
did Botha scor…..
TRY………. you beauty!!
14 Feb 2011, 00:46 am
commentary PLEASE!!!
14 Feb 2011, 00:46 am
24 – 14 to SA
14 Feb 2011, 00:47 am
1:20 s to play
how much time left?
sweeet…
thanks!
14 Feb 2011, 00:48 am
Drop goal charged. Fiji knock on, SA posession of Scrum
14 Feb 2011, 00:48 am
did we win?
14 Feb 2011, 00:49 am
Fiji was coming back, but SA Win with brilliance and brains!!!!!!!!
14 Feb 2011, 00:50 am
Cecil Afrika for Bokke?
Wonderful stuff
Thanks for updates. Cheers on the bokke.
24-14 to SA
14 Feb 2011, 00:51 am
woooo hooo!!!
thanks for the commentary Rugby911.
14 Feb 2011, 00:52 am
Pleasure guys, great win for the Bokke, Fiji off their backs at last
14 Feb 2011, 00:59 am
awesome win! Such determination. CAPO…..eating humble pie?
14 Feb 2011, 00:59 am
it has been too long- of course thsi doesn’t mean that we will beat them next time, but it was just getting agonising to have them beat us every time.
Wonderful!! Well done blitzbokke- it seems like cecil Afrika is great playmanker huh? he comes back, and we look strong again? I just wish we had Fabian Juries with us still. he should come back and get himself an olympic medal…
14 Feb 2011, 01:06 am
The last 90 mins. of this tourney was live on one of the national channels, NBC, meaning the S.A. semi against England and the final were shown.
Yesterday from 4.30pm EST until 6pm it was also live.
Cecil Afrika is the star of the tourney by a distance.
14 Feb 2011, 01:08 am
@XV(XV)-51:
You have got the wrong one. This one you refer to is the nick stealer racist who is now sick of the sterilty of RT.
14 Feb 2011, 01:08 am
TRIBUTE TO CECIL AFRIKA
The Great Man !!!!!!!!!!!!
The Hero of a Nation Today !!!!!!!!
We love you Cecil !!!!!!!!
Cecil would be an excellent choice for wing with Mvovo for the 15s. The lines he runs are like a sharp knife through wors.
Cecil is the next big thing.
14 Feb 2011, 01:13 am
Yeah not bad for a quota, its time to stop calling anything that we dont like a quota…credit to Paul and especially to Cecil…lets keep the progress going!!!
14 Feb 2011, 01:19 am
what a victory for the bokkies!great to see the celebrations …at least it seems black,white and coloured get along brillianty unlike here on keo where racists like charo,wooden spoon and others who still long for those pw botha days.
14 Feb 2011, 01:22 am
Paul Treu – future Bokke coach ?????
14 Feb 2011, 01:23 am
cecil afrika was brilliant and brought great energy to the team.
14 Feb 2011, 01:26 am
@capo(capo)-59: He is a future Bokke for sure. Those who say he is too small forget that Aplon proves this lies wrong. Cecil would be a fantastic impact player. How is the fat kiwi gonna catch our Cecil after 72 mins ?
14 Feb 2011, 01:30 am
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-58: Lets not get carried away now, he needs to prove himself in the 15 man game first, but maybe he ha a future, would like to sa SARU put in a progression play for something like that, dont think we invest enough in coach’s
14 Feb 2011, 01:30 am
totally agree with you rg.
14 Feb 2011, 01:35 am
now for kenya to make it a good day for africa in the nevada desert.
14 Feb 2011, 01:55 am
RG,you absolutely rock my man!
14 Feb 2011, 02:14 am
@Geldjie(Geldjie)-64: @capo(capo)-62: Dankie gentlemen ! We’re drinking wine in my house . Don’t care there is work tomorrow . Blitzbokke !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
14 Feb 2011, 02:57 am
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-60: I may be wrong, but he has been playing 15 man rugby for a while already and had little impact. Seems 7′s is his game, he was brilliant in Dubai, carried the Boks.
14 Feb 2011, 04:36 am
Awesome….well done boois.
Cecil is a star and he kicks well too. Lets hope they can keep winning run now. Branco will learn a lot from this form of game like our Giomite did.
I am surprised about this win as those Fijians are monsters, even the kiwis have 3 on the field at all times.
14 Feb 2011, 04:50 am
@kevin w(kevin w)-66: how does this work? you say ‘you maybe wrong’ which either means you don’t have any evidence about what you’re going to say. then you continue to make a claim on the player, still without providing supporting any shred of evidence.
cecil afrika played for the baby boks in 2008 with likes of nick koster, francois hougaard, duvenhage etc at wing and was absolutely brilliant using his pace to leave opponents eating dirt. after that year he went STRAIGHT to Sevens as paul treu offered him a contract and the provinces hadn’t yet. he was a youngster learning the ropes in the year when the likes of Aplon, Mbhiyozo, Robert Ebersohn, Benjamin, Stick won the World Series, now 2years later he has matured to the leader/player you see today.
so really i don’t know where he’s played 15 man rugby and made no impact!
but again you couched your baseless claim just incase.
14 Feb 2011, 05:03 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-68:
Sheesh Transie, I see emotions ran high on the weekend, no need to let it spill into the new week.
He did follow it with ‘but’ and I read it as he is not sure, too lazy to check or have no idea how google works and was venturing out on a vague (and now we know, wrong) recollection…
Part of this blog is that we can actually learn from one another and it would be much nicer if we do it in a friendly and helpful manner rather than full out attack.
14 Feb 2011, 05:25 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-69: hehehe what do you mean ‘emotions ran high’?
no man, i’m only asking for clarity, if i’m going to say slarti has been working at that company for a while and has made no impact the LEAST i should provide is evidence to support my claim. To just say ‘i may be wrong’ is useless.
14 Feb 2011, 05:31 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-69: the player that has impressed me the most this year is that Paul Jordaan, whoa, that boy has gas, a step of not and he is strong! Definitely our future inside centre. I can see him with juan de jongh in a few years time (quote me!) terrorising defences.
14 Feb 2011, 05:38 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-70:
Few odd caracters around on the weekend…:roll:
Fair enough but I bet you, you have never seen my name connected to a company. Kevin though, thought he did in the case of Cecil…turns out he WAS wrong after all!
14 Feb 2011, 05:41 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-71:
Trans, I see way to little of anything outside of Super rugby and tests to even comment but I will make a note of his name and look out for him in future…and I will remember who told me as well!
14 Feb 2011, 05:55 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-73: which team do you support kakade?
14 Feb 2011, 06:08 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-74:
I have been a long suffering Cheetah supporter.
14 Feb 2011, 06:13 am
Grammy song of the year does not go to B.o.B and Bruno Mars, unfortunately.
14 Feb 2011, 06:30 am
@ET.(ET.)-76: lady antebellum?
14 Feb 2011, 06:31 am
Album of the year goes to the Suburbs, Arcade fire.
14 Feb 2011, 06:33 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-77:
Yes with,I need you now. Sorry for my B.o.B and Bruno
14 Feb 2011, 06:38 am
Transie, Cecil Afrika was really on fire in the 3 games I saw him play on national tv.Without him none of those games would have been won.
Where exactly is he from.I do remember him from that koster u/20 ‘Bok juniors.
14 Feb 2011, 06:44 am
@ET.(ET.)-80: he is from Missionvale, in Port Elizabeth’sn Northern Areas!
14 Feb 2011, 06:52 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-81:
What a surprise that is!
Missionval, kleinskool, Bethelsdorp all said in the same breath with one hourly bus from the Bridge(Baakens) serving all 3 at once with a long ride.
Was Parnell not from some place close by too?
14 Feb 2011, 06:57 am
what a wonderful and welcome surprise to wake up to on a perfect morning in Paradise…
14 Feb 2011, 07:03 am
@grant10(grant10)-83:
You so lucky son of a gun.
And thanks for your concern but the gloaters have been nakedly exposed by the ploy.
14 Feb 2011, 07:23 am
Smile though your heart is aching,
Smile even though it’s beaking.
To those in need of that advice, take it freely and live with it.
14 Feb 2011, 08:58 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-68: Transformation, Afrika played for Griffons in 2007, 2008 and 2009 both in the Vodacom Cup and the CC Premier Division and is currently still a member of the Harmony Club. He was a bit “nat agter die ore” when he played there and will have a greater impact now for sure…
14 Feb 2011, 09:01 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-81: He might have been born in PE, but Cecil Afrika is from the States, the Freestates. He matriculated from Hentie Cilliers High School in Virginia, played for the Harmony Sports Academy and Craven Week for the Griffons
14 Feb 2011, 09:08 am
Well done Blitzboks.
14 Feb 2011, 09:10 am
@charo(charo)-12: Good post Charo.
14 Feb 2011, 09:23 am
@Watsonsemoer(Watsonsemoer)-86: i know he played for the Griffons, but for anyone to judge Cecil’s aptitude for the 15 man game from when he played for the griffons in ’06 – ’08 is as ridiculous as saying francois hougaard couldn’t make an impact at the Bulls and Bokke because Wp didn’t give him a contract after being with their U21s.
@fsjakes(fsjakes)-87: fair enough.
14 Feb 2011, 09:39 am
@ET.(ET.)-54: sorry ET…was referring to post #4……….
14 Feb 2011, 09:46 am
Damn!
So the Quotas managed to pull this one off!
14 Feb 2011, 09:49 am
@charo(charo)-12:
I was at that game to, it was a Sunday afternoon.
Had a couple of friends from CT visiting and we had a great day…. until I got home. My house had been broken into in broad daylight and ransacked
Broon fae Troon. what a legend.
14 Feb 2011, 10:33 am
It was fantastic. After the Fiji-vs-NZ game I thought there is nou way the Boks could win against Fiji! I haven’t seen such passion and sheer brutality in a 7s game for a long time! But then came the Boks and took it even a step further! Now this was true bok intensity! If they can play like that every tournament, they’ll always be champions.
14 Feb 2011, 10:34 am
I was dissapointed with Fiji leaving the stadium when they walked off the field, not even collecting their medals. Yeah, they’re passionate, but that was against the spirit of 7s Rugby.
14 Feb 2011, 10:43 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-92: yeah, the Qoutas and their Quota Coach!!!
14 Feb 2011, 10:44 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-92: in ONE tournament they beat Australia, England & Fiji!
14 Feb 2011, 11:03 am
@Watsonsemoer(Watsonsemoer)-86: My point exactly! you obviously did not read my post have you? I said he was a junior when he played there and SHOULD make a bigger impact now. If you stop being so defensive and actually read other posts you would not argue for the sake of argueing!
14 Feb 2011, 11:07 am
@Bouts(Bouts)-95:
yep no handshakes either.
14 Feb 2011, 11:14 am
@Watsonsemoer(Watsonsemoer)-98: when i said in my post “for anyone” i wasn’t referring to you, so get off your high horse! you are no one of the people who declared that his impact in the 15 man game is insignificant.
14 Feb 2011, 13:13 pm
top draw performance from the boys….brilliant to see.
14 Feb 2011, 13:53 pm
Terror Mtembu…that’s a better sized player to match the Fijians.
14 Feb 2011, 14:49 pm
Cecil Afrika is the best sevens player in the world currently.
No arguments, no debates, he just is.
14 Feb 2011, 15:07 pm
@WP_(WP_)-103: he is outrageously talented!
14 Feb 2011, 15:12 pm
I hate Sevens but I reckon its going to take over from rugby in the popularity stakes within the next decade.
14 Feb 2011, 15:12 pm
Good to see the Blitzboks won their first tourny in a while…
Was beginning to think Treu had run out of ideas… and finding decent 7′s players.
A good 1st step back to the top of the 7′s heap… Below 1st place is unacceptable….
Especially considering the talent available.
No excuses Mr. Treu. You have been No. 1 before. Time to get back to the top where the Blitzboks should be.
14 Feb 2011, 15:24 pm
Much irony in the perception that the Blitzboks were more popular in Las Vegas than in their “hometown” tournament at George…
Truly farked up.
14 Feb 2011, 15:24 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-105:
I bloody hope not. It’s a good day out but I hardly ever watch on tv.
The only way Diet Rugby will beat the 12 volt stuff is if the Yanks embrace it. And even then, for fans of the real game, it’ll never overtake it. It’s a side show, that’s all.
14 Feb 2011, 15:35 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-107: not inconceivable, those All Black supporting hordes SWORE at the Blitzbokke like they’d stolen something! quite embarrassing!
14 Feb 2011, 15:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-109:
very embraboer.
I’m delighted that george is losing out.
word on the street is that it’s going to PE.
I trust you will keep the muthas in line.
14 Feb 2011, 15:50 pm
Magtag this site is booorrinng today
14 Feb 2011, 16:05 pm
@gunther(gunther)-110: none of that kak here! we will make it a party no doubt
14 Feb 2011, 16:06 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-111: Come now lass, we’ve had rocker chicks, scotsmen in kilts, U2, Bona, Steve, John Smit, what more could you ask for?
14 Feb 2011, 16:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-112:
mantener un ojo en el cabo español…
14 Feb 2011, 16:09 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-111: Its because all the “racists” have more urgent and interesting things to do than interact with assorted prawns, hot.ties and brokebacks when Super rugby is yet to start…
14 Feb 2011, 16:10 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-113:
who is Bona?
Bono’s sister?
14 Feb 2011, 16:12 pm
can the rebels beat the waratahs?
14 Feb 2011, 16:13 pm
@gunther(gunther)-114: los espanoles son malos mierdas poco. a veces…
14 Feb 2011, 16:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-118:
gently china
14 Feb 2011, 16:19 pm
@gunther(gunther)-114: nos hemos transformado personas aquí
14 Feb 2011, 16:21 pm
@gunther(gunther)-119:
You think he thinks it’s funny? That’s why he put a laughing smiley at the end?
14 Feb 2011, 16:22 pm
@gunther(gunther)-116: Oh dear…..
I hope that’s not a “freudian slip”
Not even going to the concert. Threw my ticket into the Berg river in protest.
14 Feb 2011, 16:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-120:
George no está tan lejos de Port Elizabeth.
14 Feb 2011, 16:28 pm
@gunther(gunther)-119: that’s the onl;y way he knows how
14 Feb 2011, 16:28 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-120:
I was gently admonishing him.
Next time I will dispense with all facial expressions.
14 Feb 2011, 16:30 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-122:
i went to see them years ago at wembley.
I can’t believe they have got any better if their recent stuff is anything to go by.
I think if you haven’t seen them before it’s worth going.
Bono gets on my tits though.
14 Feb 2011, 16:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-106:
????? What u on about? Amounts of talent available????
2008-2009 season was only season where unions let fringe players go to play on the circuit.Since then treu has had massive difficulty getting top proffessionals to be involved in 7′s circuit as they are contracted to provinces who wont let them go even Vodacom Cup Players.
In 2008-09 the likes of Phillip Burger,Kabamba Floors,Mpho Mbiyozo,Mzwandile Stick,Gio Aplon,MJ Mentz,Danwell Demas,Fabien Juries(prior era) etc That was the core of the team.
the next 2 yrs All those guys arent in the team. But if you look at say NZ- DJ Forbes,Lote Raikambula,Tomasi Cama,Umaga-Marshall etc still there.Same with England Ben Gollings etc
Australia is the most impressive team IMO,brand new team made it ork quickly.
14 Feb 2011, 16:35 pm
@gunther(gunther)-123: la que les será smash
14 Feb 2011, 16:37 pm
@gunther(gunther)-126: I saw them last time they came out. Great concert. Been there, done that.
It’s like the joke they like to tell in Ireland:
“What’s the difference between Bono and God?
A: God doesn’t walk around dublin pretending to be Bono.”
Yip, that about sums it up. Although, after having watched the DVD “It might get loud” I have a newfound respect for Edge…
14 Feb 2011, 16:43 pm
At a recent U2 concert in Glasgow, Scotland, Mr Self-Righteous asked the audience for total quiet.
Then, in the silence, he started to slowly clap his hands, once every few seconds. Holding the audience in total silence, he said into the microphone, “Every time I clap my hands, a child in Africa dies.”
From the front of the crowd a voice with a broad Scottish accent pierced the quiet…
“Well, ****** stop doin it then, ya evil *******!”
14 Feb 2011, 16:48 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-129:
you should check out harry enfield (comedian) he nails bono.
14 Feb 2011, 16:49 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-127:
yoh mshimiwam.
dealing out the beat downs.
I was going to bring you your machine gun, but now I’m not so sure that’s a good idea.
14 Feb 2011, 16:53 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-127: ungazihluphi sibali…
14 Feb 2011, 17:06 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-127: new zealand are doing too badly when you consider that umaga-marshal is now in the sader super rugby 22, kurt baker is recently injured in pre-season for highlanders, save tokula was also playing centre for chiefs last year, i think he’s gone to europe though, i don’t see zar lawrence in the latest team too…
14 Feb 2011, 17:08 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-130: hahaha good one.
@gunther(gunther)-131: Harry’s a genius, love his stuff!
14 Feb 2011, 17:58 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-127: Mmmm. So there is no talent available in South Africa for Sevens…? In South Africa, so “rich” with natural talent? Psst, Don’t tell that to a Kiwi. Care to give examples of which players Treu has been refused access to by Provinces…?
14 Feb 2011, 18:01 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-128: y Rossi mierda…?
14 Feb 2011, 18:06 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-134:
True sbali.
@gunther(gunther)-132:
LOL….
14 Feb 2011, 18:14 pm
y de todos los negros racistas
14 Feb 2011, 18:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-128: Muy estupido al intentar hablar un idioma civilizado
14 Feb 2011, 18:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-136:
He had to battle to let Juries comebk into side last yr,had WP refusing till the end part of CC
Same with Danwell Demas who had been out of favour in Cheetahs side.Even this yr he is nowhere near Cheetahs 22 in Superrugby.he will be playing VC
Lionel Mapoe last yr wasnt playing ANY rugby yet none of the provinces SHARKS/CHEETAHS wouldnt let him play 7′s to get his fitness back up.He was finally let go in november last yr then pulled AGAIN
the likes of Akona Ndungane have been enquired about on his recovery road to use 7′s as steppping stone back into 15′s as NZ has done with a lot of their AB’s yet the bulls wont release him.
Trompie Nontshinga wasnt realeased by griquas even when sitting on bench for Vodacom Cup team.
Stick & Mbiyozo have declined due to aspirations of Kings to compete for higher honours-FAIR enough
14 Feb 2011, 18:23 pm
Akona on a sevens pitch???
I think the ref would be quicker
14 Feb 2011, 18:45 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-141: Hellsteeth, many of those chaps you mention are not marquee SA rugger players.
SA is known for the size and physicality of its players… The chaps who turn out for the Blitzboks are little dwarfs in comparison…
Much like Bafana Bafana in the soccer world…
14 Feb 2011, 19:11 pm
Wo ist dieser Skopdoos liberalen narren?
14 Feb 2011, 19:13 pm
der narr dichter…
14 Feb 2011, 20:08 pm
Living in the United States, it gave me great joy to watch some rugga on a national broadcaster (NBC). It gave me even more joy to see my Bokkies win in Vegas, baby.
The thing that bothered me afterward, though, was the ball handling skills of the sevens players. I have never seen a Springbok, Super Rugby or even Currie Cup rugby team handle the ball, as fluidly and purposefully as the Blitzbokke do.
They truly looked like Aussies or Kiwis, was such the precision and alacrity with which the ball was shifted around.
Most South African 15man teams either shovel the dung or gooi kak. The confidence and skill that these players demonstrated made me wonder why PDV doesn’t emlploy Paul Treu as a skills specialist in the runup to the World Cup.
Forgive me for my outlandish and outrageous comment in the previous paragraph. I have this strange thought that common sense and national pride would supercede ego and confidence laagers.