Liebenberg out for nine weeks

Tiaan Liebenberg has injured medial ligaments in his knee and will be out of action for eight to nine weeks.

The Stormers’ hooker went down in the 32nd minute in Saturday’s game against Boland and had to be placed on a stretcher and escorted from the field. Liebenberg appeared to be in great pain, and the time it took to get him onto the stretcher indicated that he may have sustained significant damage to his knee.

After the game, a glum-looking Allister Coetzee confirmed that Liebenberg’s injury was serious. It was feared that Liebenberg had torn his anterior cruciate ligament which would have meant a nine-month layoff. However, further scans revealed the damage was done to Liebenberg’s medial ligament, and that he would be sidelined for eight to nine weeks.

News of his injury is a massive blow to the Stormers’ ambitions of winning the Sanzar competition. Liebenberg creates terrific momentum with his bustling runs, is a key cog in the Stormers’ lineout machine and a powerful scrummager. Deon Fourie has shown much promise, but outside of that, the Stormers are thin on experienced hooking options.

On Saturday night, Coetzee spoke about how he was satisfied with the Stormers’ depth, but given that Fourie only recently returned from an injury of his own, the Stormers may have problems at No 2. Siyabonga Ntubeni is inexperienced, while Callie Visagie is another who hasn’t enjoyed exposure at this high level.

187 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Lol its just a game where the fu-ck have your conversations gone to.

• 152.Cap0: Reply to this comment

you know why i hate you afrikaners? my daughter came home with a afrikaner and after a few drinks he goes on how kak things are now and that in his mind nothing has changed. He wanted to hit me and show me how his father/grandfather treated us coloureds! pathetic afrikaner. maybe he slept with my daughter, maybe not, but he wont show his face at my house again after i threatened him with the knife

• 153.Cap0: Reply to this comment

thats how you are. Ras3xist! Julle wil ons dogters en vroue n@@i maar julle wil nie ons mans werk gee nie

• 154.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Oh bother, now the drinking has started….

• 155.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Just beware… the nick stealer is back… this is Cap0 with a ‘zero’ and not Capo…

:roll:

someone wants to stir the pot more… despicable.

• 156.Cap0: Reply to this comment

Habana is die enigste WP ou wat die coloureds spyker nie!

• 157.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Cap0(Cap0)-156: tomato boy we know it’s you…

• 158.MTN RedLion Roars...: Reply to this comment

@Cap0(Cap0)-156: nic stealing DOOS

• 159.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i’m watching the irish/french game @ the gym so not concentrating…why does it look like even Sexo is mixing his game up better than MSteyn? Yesses Morne needs to pull the finger man!

And like i said earlier, the time for staid/carthorse fullbacks a.la percy is over, check what Bowe is doing!

• 160.Cap0: Reply to this comment

Provice 43 – Racist Bulle 12

• 161.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-159: Morne Steyn is old news. Lambie has seen to that.

• 162.Cap0: Reply to this comment

@ MTN REDLION = Lions looser for 10 years and counting.

• 163.capo: Reply to this comment

stop it now tomatoboy/wo…will kill.nick stealer,you should at least try to improve on the memtioned two’s vocab.as not to give away your game so easily.you are actually quite funny tomatoboy!

• 164.MTN RedLion Roars...: Reply to this comment

@Cap0(Cap0)-160: DOOS

• 165.Cap0: Reply to this comment

MTN REDLIONS ja, jou vrou s’n hy proe lekker

• 166.Cap0: Reply to this comment

Steve Hofmeyr has dumped tickets worth about R5 000 into the Jukskei River in protest against Bono’s comments on the “shoot the farmer” song.

New Po3s after Capo & Skopskiet = Bono!

• 167.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

very nice try by the froggies

• 168.capo: Reply to this comment

french beginning to turn the screw on the irish.brilliant try and into the lead.

• 169.capo: Reply to this comment

french just need to improve on their defence and all kiwi supporters can start tossing and turning in their sleep!just a pity i am already doing the same at the prospect of john smit playing and leading the boks into battle!

• 170.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

feck adoodle dandy !!! 25 phases later and Ireland scores, fantastic game of rugby. Yipeeeeeeeeee

• 171.Cap0: Reply to this comment

great rugby when no quotas are involved : Chilliboy/habana/de jongh/january/zane!!!!

• 172.capo: Reply to this comment

french slowing the game down very nicely…clever buggers!

• 173.capo: Reply to this comment

brilliant game of rugby!well done france

• 174.mainland: Reply to this comment

The Stormers announced on Sunday afternoon that the injury to Tiaan Liebenberg’s right knee is not a torn ACL, as initially thought, but rather damage to medial ligaments in the knee.

Liebenberg sustained the injury during Saturday’s pre-season friendly against the Boland Cavaliers.

It was feared that he would be ruled out for nine months, but the latest news indicates that his injury layoff will be just 8-9 weeks.

• 175.JockBok: Reply to this comment

I suppose we must be grateful for small mercies. 9 months has turned into 2.

I like Deon Fourie, he is a great impact player, especially in the last 20 when the game has opened up a bit. Now it’s time for him to stand up and be counted. I think he has it in him, but the front row will suffer come scrum time as if it wasn’t already a problem.

• 176.mainland: Reply to this comment

is it that difficult to diagnose a knee. why always revised calls on injuries? scan it then make a call surely

• 177.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

So i googled CAPTCHA test, its there to tell humans and a computer apart.

And yes thats how bored i have been today, :twisted: nighty night.

• 178.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-177:

You must be bored if you’re going to bed at 7.30 Hugz.

Oh, I finished ‘The Stand’ today. Great read it was too.

• 179.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-178: she’s going to take a ‘bath’ withGunther first and THEN bed time…

• 180.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

hahahahahaha Transie, i did go take a bath, am off to watch tv now, am so not used to sitting on my bum all day doing nothing.

JOCKBOK so it is agreed, Stormers are the Vegas crowd :twisted: remember to read those 2 Robert Ruark books i told you about. Leon Uris also excellent writer.

Am really gone now.

• 181.SexyTime: Reply to this comment

You guys are a disgrace. This makes me sick. This site used to be about the rugby. A place for gentleman. Makes me sick.

• 182.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Stormers should contact John Smit and hear if he is not interested in a transfer…

• 183.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Only a third?!?! :shock:

A third of New Zealanders plan to step out of the office for a “quickie” to mark Valentine’s Day, a study claims. The survey of 500 Kiwis found fitting in some private time with their partner featured prominently in their plans tomorrow…

No wonder the population is not growing.

• 184.stew: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-183: The sheep are very hard to catch on Valentines Day !!!

• 185.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-184:

Haha nervous or what? After many, many years evolution has made sheep a little errr edgy around 14 Feb…

• 186.stew: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-185: He he , well i will just have to catch my wife instead

• 187.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-186:

Just don’t tell the others…

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.