Sharks enter decisive period

JON CARDINELLI writes that if the Sharks hope to maintain their status as conference leaders they will need to capitalise on a favourable tour draw.

Anything less that three wins will be a failure for John Plumtree’s men, who have to date eased to two comfortable victories. While the performances have been far from polished, their intensity and tactical appreciation have been unmatched. If they can add a dimension of accuracy to their game, they will trouble their tour opponents.

The Sharks play the Force this week, a team that so nearly upset the Reds in the opening round. The Force were typically stingy on defence and controlled possession for long periods. If not for their 25 handling errors, they may have inflicted as much damage to the scoreboard as they did to the Reds’ pack.

The bye arrived at a bad time for the Force, and they now have to start from scratch. They’ll host a Sharks team that’s built some momentum through two wins, a team that has a reputation for meeting aggressive forward challenges head on.

The Sharks travel to Melbourne thereafter to tackle the Rebels, a team that’s enjoyed mixed success. The win against the Brumbies was a magic moment for the Melbourne side, but the Sharks have nothing to fear as long as they stick to their game plan. They have the right mix of muscle and guile to outplay a Rebels side that is limited in key areas.

Next on the Sharks’ schedule is the Chiefs. While the men from Hamilton have always been known for their ability to counterattack, they used to hold a reputation as one of the tougher units at the breakdown. We’ve seen little evidence of this in the Chiefs’ first two games, however, and these failings have contributed to two defeats. The Sharks are a team that bullies opposing packs before unleashing the backline, and I suspect they will be especially tight against the Chiefs.

The final tour match is by far the toughest. If Plumtree harbours hopes of beating the Crusaders he will need to manage his squad cleverly in the preceding weeks. What is in the Sharks’ favour is that the Crusaders are likely to host this game at Trafalgar Park in Nelson, and so home ground advantage may not be as much a factor.

Winning at least three of these four clashes will keep them in the top two of the South African conference, while winning all four will keep them in pole position. They’re well placed now, and while there’s pressure to perform on this tour, it’s a pressure they need to embrace.

They showed good composure against the Blues last week, and will have further opportunities to put substandard sides away on the coming tour. If they can return from their Australasian sojourn with a three from four return, and ultimately a five from six record, they will be superbly-placed as they begin their home leg of the competition.

That first home game in round seven is against the Stormers, a team that hasn’t won in Durban since 2004. Thereafter, they will enjoy a bye.

The promising halfback pairing of Charl McLeod and Pat Lambie has dominated Super Rugby like they dominated the 2010 Currie Cup. Lambie has impressed with his distribution while his kicking game has also been crucial to the Sharks’ cause. McLeod may not offer as much in the tactical kicking department, but the Sharks have a good alternative to Lambie in fullback Louis Ludik, a player who was hugely influential against the Blues.

What’s been less impressive is the lack of synergy between Meyer Bosman and Lambie, as well as the centre combination of Bosman and Stefan Terblanche. That midfield is under pressure to produce in the coming weeks.

The Sharks’ inconsistent lineout and defence will also require sharpening. Terblanche hailed the latter aspect as a reason for victory last week, but the reality is the Sharks missed 20% of their tackles.

It may seem harsh to criticise a team that is yet to concede a try, but their defensive stats tell a story. The Sharks leaked eight linebreaks against the Blues, and had the Aucklanders not committed 29 handling errors, the contest may have been closer.

A sharper showing is required on tour, a four-game period that could be so crucial to the Sharks’ play-off prospects.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

148 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-98: 15 losses in a row now. I wonder what the record is for that in Super rugby ? I think the Bulls might have come close at one stage.

The Bulls with their pedigree.

• 102.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-100: Who gives a damn ?

Pedigree means nothing this year.

• 103.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-98: Yep, it’s official. 15 losses in a row is a Super rugby record held by the Lions, and they are still building that record.

- Most consecutive losses: 15 losses – Lions, 15 May 2009 to 19 February 2011 (still ongoing)

In addition to this, the Lions also hold the record for the most losses in a season.

- Most consecutive losses in a season: 13 losses – Lions, 2010

They also hold the record for the most points conceded in a season.

- Most points conceded in a season: 585 – Lions, 2010

And another;

- Largest points difference conceded in a season: 315 – Lions, 2010

NOW THAT….IS PEDIGREE !

• 104.Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-99:

more likely she was dressed for success.

and he felt it was dangerous.

• 105.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-102: you asked the question, ratel answered and said “winning pedigree” is the difference between sharks and lions, now when that pedigree is put to the test you say it doesn’t matter hahahaha

• 106.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105: ah, still being a silly boy eh?

express an opinion for a change.

i will start you off:

the lions should be replaced by the kings so they can get a break from all the anguish.

• 107.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-104: And it all ended in a Crash Boom Bang.

• 108.Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-107:

and before you know it she was sleeping in her car.

• 109.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-95: :)

• 110.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105: Well, do I have to agree with ratel ?

If you refer back, you will note that I actually said ‘pedigree’ in the sense of going back 20, 30 or more than 100 years of Currie Cup for that matter means very little to me nor is it a topic of interest for me to discuss.

I bet you most on here would have a few different definitions of ‘pedigree’ to begin with. Perhaps as you correctly said, the fact that although no titles have been forthcoming the fact that of all the South African teams, the Sharks have the most super rugby wins – that could be construed as pedigree ? No ?

Whatever your opinion is, and whatever the definition of ‘pedigree’ is, I could care less about it for the 2011 season.

• 111.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-108: Well I think Schalk will be sleeping single for a while if that’s the case…..

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-110: well you tacitly agreed with him already ;)

80. Dusky(Dusky) :
    1 Mar 2011, 09:44 am
    @Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-77: Nail on the head.

• 113.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-112: Ag ok Transie. Congratulations.

Are you a lawyer ? Or just an all round pain in the backside ? :-)

• 114.Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-113:

if you are not careful he will start digging up your school reports.

rather escape before he makes you chew your arm off in frustration

• 115.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-114: He is the forum auditor or something. Must really be the fire at any party !

• 116.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-113: throwing your toys and being insulting when you can’t come up with anything is not a good look. this is just banter dusk, no win or lose.

• 117.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-116: I am too scared to continue this discussion with you – goodness knows where you will go back and dig reference from.

I can just imagine you at a braai.

‘Hey guys, I will start the braai in a minute’

Transie: ‘Well actually, you said at 12.42 that you would start the braai in 5 minutes, so technically you are precisely 7 minutes and 32 seconds late. No problem – just saying you know…’

• 118.Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-116:

well, sometimes people lose it :)

• 119.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-118: Yep – true that !

• 120.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-116: Oooo eeeii…eish…aaaa….you are the winna wena !

• 121.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-117: you’re trying too hard :D

• 122.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-121: Oh, I wasn’t trying hard at all. I think I have a pretty clear understanding to be honest. Doesn’t require much imagination at all.

• 123.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-122: You are coming across as being a bit petulant on this one., especially with post 120.
    Let it go, take it on the chin and get ready for round 2. There’ll be plenty more arguments on this blog, of that you can be assured.

• 124.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-123: thanks Taa…

• 125.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-123: Ok then….

• 126.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

With all due respect Stefan Terblanche has served the Sharks well and is a consummate proffesional BUT he isnt the answer for the Sharks at 13. He doesnt have the speed to cause an trouble for opposition defences,he keeps shooting up in defence exposing inside channels especially.Blues & Stephen Brett specifically were so bad they couldnt exploit this but be sure the OZ sides will see this…vs the Saders Robbie Freuan will be biggest dangerman esp with the speed factor. As a 15 or utility yes but otherwise play Adi at 13 who adds another dimension at 13.Plus Bosman can function better at 12 with a wider running 13 with the ability to run off him.

PS-can the Lions please drop Killian & play Kamana from the start…would like to see Francis have a run at 12 as well.

Waylon Murray is playing some good rugby & at only 24 he was a big loss to the Sharks.

• 127.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-126: What !? Adi Jacobs will defend the channel better than Stefan Terblanche ? Have you been smoking engine degreaser ?

That said though – I do actually agree that Adi should get another go at 13, but not due to his defense. I think Adi is a better 13 on attack than Stefan.

Waylon Murray might be in better shape now, but while he was at the Sharks – he was useless. On attack – used to run all the way along the defensive line hoping he would find a gap. Most of the time this caused him to get bashed backwards in the tackle and have to be rescued by his forwards.

I am pleased for him that he is functioning at the Lions, but he was a zero at the Sharks in the last year or two that he played for them.

• 128.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Adi jacobs is one of the better attacking 13′s we have in the country,

Problem is, he’s worse than a revolving door on one -on-one defence.

At international level having a guy like that in your team will cost you, in missed tackles, line breaks and extra effort from your team mates.

These days in rughby you are called upon to probably tacke 5 or 6 times more than you get to run with the ball if you’re a backline player.

• 129.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128: our natural center is with the sharks soon :wink: like i said yesterday , dont forget the name PAUL JORDAAN

• 130.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-129: Yeah I heard you. SA Sevens? Hope he doesn;t end up another Brent Russell

Personally I think Oupa is doing a more than capable job.

If you didn’t know how old he was you’d swear he’s one of the most promising players in the setup.

Problem is that won’t last forever, but for now he’s the best 13 you have at that level, can’t understand why everyone thinks the Sharks centres are in need of something extra.

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-129: he plays 12 & 10 though sharkie…

• 132.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-131: agreed , but i am sure he can fill that 13 spot

• 133.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

actually jokes aside i know vulindlu is being groomed for 13 and he is still young

big strong fast good defender but he does have poor hand skills , which i know is being addressed

• 134.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-130: btw boet i’ll be at the wp game saturday , press box maybe catch you there for a cold one

• 135.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-134: That will be nice. I’ll check my ticket supplier and see if we’re on for this weekend. In my busy state I haven’t even thought that far,

• 136.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-135: ok just gimme a buzz once you know

i know the wife and i are watching the sharks match at the sharks supporters club , so prolly go the newlands thereafter

• 137.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-136: Cool will do.

• 138.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-136: are you going to leave Mangolitchi in charge of your shop :-)

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-138: lol i told you before mango does not work for me , purely a friend
    and he is back in JHB

now put ur woodenspoon away :lol:

• 140.capo: Reply to this comment

winning all 4 clashes?jc must be smoking some strong stuff.

• 141.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Sharks should never have bought Bosman. They could use Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Adrian Jacobs or

• 142.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well think if we pick up 2 wins on the road I will be pleased. Derby games are tough, but so will picking up wins on tour.

Good luck to Sharks for their games in Oz and Nz.

• 143.Puma: Reply to this comment

Pleased Sharks are out of the humidity. . Damn hot and humidity at a all time high today. Will be good for the team to be playing out of this humidity for a few weeks. They come back the humidity will still be here but not at this level.

• 144.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

What a waste of time even fast-speeding through this.
    What a complete waste of a thread.
    Load of rubbish by what we are led to believe are mature adults and some would even say they are professionals.

Really!!

• 145.capo: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-141: cheetahs was very eager to get rid of him.i wonder why?

• 146.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I think three wins is an achievable goal. The Force ran the Reds close, but the Reds got clouted by the Waratahs. In other words, the Reds aren’t that hot this year (I have a theory that they can thank Ewen McKenzie for that) and the Force are even worse. The Sharks should be able to beat the Rebels, although the latter may be improving. The Chiefs have been pretty woeful. That leaves only the Crusaders, who were beaten by the Blues – who the Sharks comfortably despatched last weekend. I don’t expect the Sharks to beat the Crusaders in New Zealand – but it would be great, and if it doesn’t happen then three out of four would still be good.

• 147.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

Ja there are some okes on Keo that harbour a morbid hatred of the Sharks and any player that plays and has ever played for them. Even if the Sharks started playing like the ABs in every match, had a beautiful expansive running game, rock-solid defence,never let a try in, scored at least 4 tries (all created from a 3 phase movement), converted every try, kicked every penalty, won every single line-out and scrum…basically the perfect team, there will still be some on year that would say they were lucky or god helped them win.

Credit where its due but some okes on here have no appreciation of that. If the Lions start winning matches I would be delighted for them. The same goes if the Stormers do brilliantly well this year but these bitter sour-faced sour pusses will continue to rubbish the Sharks at every given opportunity. Someone here has a point when they say the Sharks get treated far more hashly by the media than any other SA team. I don’t see any articles on here about how the Stormers need to get their backsides in gear.

Last week wasn’t a picture-perfect performance by the Sharks but they came nowhere near losing that match and they’re still yet to concede a try. I hope it stays that way for as long as possible. Even if you are scoring tries through turnovers or off other team’s mistakes that still counts as winning. That’s the rules of rugby. It means you’re putting pressure on the other team and forcing them to make mistakes. The Sharks defence was putting a lot of pressure on the Blues. They were unsettled and it just so happens they send a wayward pass JLP’s way whose quick-thinking and hands passes to JPP with a lovely clear run-in. To act like scoring off mistakes isn’t playing rugby shows very little appreciation for the rules of the game. The whole idea of it is to do what you can to win a game.

What the Sharks need to work on now is their finishing ability. If they can get that right then they will be hard to beat. Its still early days. This is now a very long comp. So many things could happen between now and July. One things for sure the Sharks are a much better team this year. We have more settled combos that are slowly beginning to gel. There is far better morale. Plum has really worked hard on shoring up defence. There also seems to be better discipline as well. Anyone notice there were no fights,no handbags during the game last week? No-one got sent to the bin. Brilliant discipline from both sides. Just need to work on finishing and attacking synergy and maybe things will go very well.

• 148.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-146: Winning the Force game is crucial! Got to hit them hard from the first whistle and we’ve got to play for 80 minutes. Retaining possession is also key. Defending the whole match will sap the energy of the forwards, especially with the jet lag factor. I will be biting my nails next week!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.