The danger of derbies
1 Mar 2011
RYAN VREDE believes the brutal physicality of the South African Super Rugby derbies have the potential to seriously undermine the Springboks’ World Cup campaign.
With the expanded Super Rugby tournament in its infancy, that appears to be a premature assertion. But you would have to present a convincing argument to alter my position, shaped by watching the controlled violence played out in Johannesburg, Bloemfontein, Cape Town and Durban in the past fortnight.
South African derbies have featured more ruck cleans and counter rucks than in the Australian equivalent. Furthermore, South African derbies totalled 26 more tackles than their Australian counterparts and 241 more than the all-Kiwi contests (that figure is significantly higher because of the cancelled Crusaders-Hurricanes match).
However, those statistics fail to reflect the brutality of the collisions in South African derbies. I don’t have access to technology that could accurately measure force at point of contact, so my view relies on the experience of watching derbies live and from South African players in interviews consistently confirming that the physicality of matches against Australasian teams pales in comparison to those against their countrymen.
The Saffa player has always been driven by the primal urge to pummel his brother into submission. The Australasian teams don’t share that mentality, preferring to strike with the rapier rather than establish their dominance by wielding the bludgeon.
What’s more, South African players, particularly forwards, are bigger, stronger and faster than they have been at any point in the country’s history and so possess a greater capacity to inflict serious injury.
It is no surprise that with the forward-orientated approach that characterises most South African derbies a string of talented forwards have already been injured, with varying degrees of seriousness.
Bulls’ hooker Gary Botha injured his collarbone in the opener against the Lions and will be out for another fortnight. Schalk Burger of the Stormers is expected to miss between two to three matches with a knee injury sustained against the Lions. Bulls lock Bakkies Botha is doubtful for their match against the Highlanders as he is being treated for serious bruising to his foot.
However, the most significant injury is that of Cheetahs and Springbok blindside flank Juan Smith, who tore his Achilles tendon on Friday against the Bulls and faces a lay-off of between six and nine months, almost surely ruling him out of the World Cup. Smith, with the intense physicality of South African derbies, won’t be the last marquee Springbok to suffer this fate.
There are still 16 derbies to play in the next four months. Ominously the physicality will only increase the fitter the players get and the closer we get to the play-offs.
When the South African Rugby Union agreed to an expanded tournament they told us it was what locals wanted. Thousands of empty seats at those derbies thus far tell a different story. It speaks of the administrators’ greed and their lack of concern for the well-being of their prime assets.
In signing on for an expanded tournament they showed no appreciation for superior physicality of South African derbies when compared to those contested between Australasian teams. It was a shortsighted decision that has the potential to seriously undermine the Springboks’ World Cup defence.
COMPARISONS BETWEEN THE COLLISIONS IN DERBIES
SA derbies tackle stats – 1054 tackles made @ an average of 132 per game
Lions v Bulls – 70/203
Cheetahs v Bulls – 169/142
Sharks v Cheetahs – 56/110
Stormers v Lions – 152/152
Aussie derbies tackle stats – 1028 tackles made @ an average of 128 per game
Rebels v Tahs – 138/119
Rebels v Brumbies – 214/73
Tahs v Reds – 156/120
Reds v Force – 112/96
NZ derbies tackle stats – 816 tackles made @ an average of 136 per game
Landers v Chiefs – 147/184
Blues v Crusaders – 82/118
Canes v Highlanders – 121/164
SA derbies ruck cleans (own ball and counter rucking)
Lions v Bulls – 261 and 43/ 129 and 104
Cheetahs v Bulls – 251 and 103/ 271 and 69
Sharks v Cheetahs – 184 and 23/ 93 and 78
Stormers v Lions – 218 and 76/ 259 and 64
Aussie derbies ruck cleans (own ball and counter rucking)
Rebels v Tahs – 194 and 53/ 178 and 55
Rebels v Brumbies – 107 and 97/ 315 and 45
Tahs v Reds – 166 and 72/ 263 and 70
Reds v Force – 157 and 60/ 158 and 55
Kiwi derbies ruck cleans (own ball and counter rucking)
Landers v Chiefs – 313 and 108/ 201 and 116
Blues v Crusaders – 193 and 57/ 156 and 65
Canes v Highlanders – 236 and 77/ 217 and 108

360 Comments
1 Mar 2011, 09:41 am
Good article Ryan.
1 Mar 2011, 10:03 am
Having watch Maties vs NMU last night in Stellenbosch in very windy conditions, I agree completely.
A very physical encounter (in part as it was difficult to pass in the strong winds) with both teams seemingly focussing on crashing through tackles (that old South African problem). The other varsity cup games that I saw painted a similiar picture, which just illistrates that the problem is through layers of age ranges and competition. Yes, there have been some good play makers and creative play (in the backline), but it seems that when things get tough, it is crash and burn!
1 Mar 2011, 10:07 am
Although this is a view that a lot of us share, I wish there was a way to quantify the difference between SA derbies and overseas derbies. To be fair, I don’t think the tackle stats is the most appropriate evidence to support this.
Are the Newtons of force really greater when Bakkies tackles Schalk than when Thorne tackles Mealamu?
Do the Kiwis pull out of the tackle a bit at the last moment to soften the blow or does the SA player get a 10% boost in energy just before he makes the hit?
It is undeniable that our derbies APPEAR more violent and brutal. I am almost certain that they are indeed.
But I cannot explain it based on facts.
1 Mar 2011, 10:17 am
the stupidity of this new format will be exposed when they start playing the return games.
1 Mar 2011, 10:22 am
how can juan be counted as a casualty of derbies when he tore his achilles without anyone touching him?
phil waugh out injured(bicept), james horwill out injured(ankle), rod davies potentially out(fractured cheekbone), ed quirk potentially out(broken ribs)
1 Mar 2011, 10:34 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-5:
Agreed. I thought listing the injured players was a bit of a stretch, given that those injuries were a combination of freak occurences, guys returning from injury prematurely and the normal wear and tear of rugby.
1 Mar 2011, 10:35 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-3: I get the feeling that there is just that extra bit of animosity in local derbies, more so than in Australasia. Almost as if every game between local sides is a grudge match for some or other reason.
Thing is, if the “back and forth” on this site is anything to go by, I’m not at all surprised.
1 Mar 2011, 10:37 am
So basically what this article leads to is that we must wait and see as the dust settles and pick our National team from whomever is left standing?
I think we need to put a stronger emphasis on player management this year, as injuries are no doubt influenced by fatigue and wear and tear.
Never been more important than now.
1 Mar 2011, 10:44 am
I thought that the Tahs v. Reds game on Saturday looked the most brutal.
Yip, the NH is laughing it’s ar$e off at this format.
1 Mar 2011, 10:45 am
i’m going to forward this article to tony johnson on the re<union show and ask if he can discuss it at length with his panel. i'm interested to hear what the kiwis think of this so-called less intense nature of their derbies.
1 Mar 2011, 10:51 am
Actually from these stat NZ derbies are the hardest. They make more tackles and hit more rucks. Then us, then Aus. What’s the big fuss?
This is a highly arrogant article. It just ignores the NZ derbies, who are also known to smash each other! If these stats show anything, its that Aus has it the easiest.
1 Mar 2011, 10:53 am
@seamus(seamus)-9: me too, considering the reds came out with horwill, peter hynes, davies and quirke carrying niggles and likely to miss the brumbies match.
1 Mar 2011, 11:00 am
“I don’t have access to technology that could accurately measure force at point of contact”
Everything about that statement is just daft, Ryan. Of bloody course you don’t have access to such technology. But would you believe it, neither does anyone else. I’m not shitting you. No one has such a measuring device. Accurate or not. You are, in fact, operating on a level playing field with rugby writers the world over. Let that set you free.
Kiwis and Aussie are trained from childhood to run for the gaps and/or try to create these gaps, and they will tend to offload to a player thought to be in a better gap-slicing position rather than just to always hog the ball, run crash-bash and hope that the defence falls away.
what a joke this article is. And Smith was carrying an injury into the game. Why did Drotske risk his best player?
Ryan write an article about the mismanagement of players and the lack of quality coaches in SA rugby (sorry general statement…there are exceptions) and not this drivel.
How about doing some real reporting and commenting on attendance figures? Lets look at the Sharks games to start, did more people turn up to watch the Blues?
1 Mar 2011, 11:01 am
It still begs the question:
Why can the Bulls beat the Chiefs by 60 points in a final, but they scrape through against teams like the Lions and Cheetahs, who in turn get hammered by 40 points by those very same Chiefs or Blues or Crusaders.
And I just used the Chiefs as a random example, because it represents a general trend.
No matter how the Cheetahs lift themselves, why can’t the Bulls just pretend they’re facing the Chiefs, and do what they usually do against teams of that level of ability – which is clobber them?
1 Mar 2011, 11:04 am
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-16: but that was not a “derby”
I agree, the numbers don’t mean much. I think the difference lies with the intent. There is a difference between targeting a ruck with the intent of providing quick ball or preventing a turnover, and the intention of causing physical harm to an opposition player. Unfortunately the latter is more evident in local derbies.
Verde catch a wake up my boy … look at the kiwi stats they tackle more and counter ruck more on average than any other conference and you call them soft.
Also their polynesian backs are bigger, stronger and faster than backs from any other conference and when they hit they hit hard … just ask Burger and he will tell you how he cries when they hit him.
1 Mar 2011, 11:05 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-13:
Hehehe!
I love how Ryan has developed this recent trend to debate something – with himself!
Like:
“In hindsight I might have erred when I said blablabla earlier this year. In my own defense, when I said it, gobledykook abracadabra factors had to be considered, whereas now, nincampoop gibberish has come to light.
So while I was right before, there is a valid case to be made that I am more right now. And this is because while I don’t have a magical, force-measuring device, I do need to fill some column space, and having a debate with myself is a great way to do just that.”
1 Mar 2011, 11:10 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-21: Ha ha, exactly.
And the constant reference to mysterious inside sources (and technology, existing or not) is meant to lend an aura of credibility. Like, “well, if there were such an impact measuring device, I’m sure we’d be reading about it here first, because he’s clearly on top of such things”.
1 Mar 2011, 11:11 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-18: Exactly, I would like to see, as the season progresses average attendance figures for local derbies compared with touring sides for each country. I don’t buy this derby popularity thing, not in SA anyway.
So to spell it out for you genius Cheetahs vs Blues which had more attendance?
1 Mar 2011, 11:12 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-21: hehehe just like the time he wrote “olivier’s time is now” and a couple of weeks later he was bashing meisiekind left right & centre!
1 Mar 2011, 11:15 am
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-23: well the Tahs?Reds game was so empty they gave away tickets to school kids, something fishy about Sanzar’s reasoning…i blame Andy Marinos!
1 Mar 2011, 11:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-24: well Vrede changes hid mind ad often as he changes his underpant, once weekly.
1 Mar 2011, 11:16 am
“I don’t have access to technology that could accurately measure force at point of contact, ”
I, on the other hand, have access to such technology.
1 Mar 2011, 11:17 am
We are the most unfit and lackadaisical and out-of-shape conference.
1 Mar 2011, 11:18 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-21:
Howzit baby.
1 Mar 2011, 11:19 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-22:
I told you already. Ryan is a Wikileaks insider.
1 Mar 2011, 11:20 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-29:
Hello Dawn.
1 Mar 2011, 11:20 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-8: True.
I think there was talk of Pdv and his team being in contact with the franchises and them having a gentlemen’s agreement to rest players and manage them correctly, but the truth is, he really has no control.
1 Mar 2011, 11:21 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-25: Reds got bashed and bruised in that match. They are carrying a lot of injuries.
1 Mar 2011, 11:22 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-31:
How are you today.
1 Mar 2011, 11:30 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-31: @Dawn(Dawn)-34:
Do I detect a Piet Koornhof/Marcelle thing going on here?
1 Mar 2011, 11:33 am
I must admit, Olivier, Matfield, Du Preez, Morne Steyn and Gurthro, Potgieter and Spies all look half asleep at the moment.
In contrast, vd Heever, Kirchner, Rossouw and vd Merwe look switched on big time.
Seems to me the pre-season was a bit too lackadaisical for some of the big stars, while some other guys are hungrier for rugby.
I also wonder to what extent guys are trying to save themselves for the World Cup, avoiding unnecessary risks. To me that is absolutely the wrong mindset, but Spies and co. look like they’re just going through the motions right now.
P*ssing me off big time.
1 Mar 2011, 11:34 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-34:
So so.
1 Mar 2011, 11:34 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-35:
sies.
I’ve just remembered a particularly nast Piet Koornhof joke
1 Mar 2011, 11:37 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-36:
I think the big players had a slow pre season.
they will improve as time goes on.
if we can get past next weekend then we will be in a great position.
the highlanders will be a much tougher proposition than the last two.
although altitude and the jet lag should do for them in the last 30
1 Mar 2011, 11:37 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-36: Tac for themit could be that the WC is the most important and getting into the team. Maybe they are simply focussing on their main proirity. At the end of the day, you should be smiling. Two away wins, are two away wins, and the Bulls have their 8 points.
1 Mar 2011, 11:38 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-35:
Magtag
Can’t you find a better comparison.
I like Tac. Hy vattie kukkie.
Am all for a bit of cultural exchange.
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-38: Do share.
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-39:
While Victor is hobnobbing with business men at Mont Blanc, or attending Virgin Active sponsor awards, the Lions players are doing fitness training, running bleep tests.
Some guys need to refocus on the rugby, I reckon.
1 Mar 2011, 11:39 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-37:
How so?
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-36: you think so? hell I think that Ludeke is to blame for the poor pre preparation, lucky for him it is 2 from 2 but it could easily have been 0 from 2.
@Dawn(Dawn)-41: I like him 2, he’s a Bulls supporter after all.
1 Mar 2011, 11:42 am
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-39:
Trust me, Bulls are only just getting started. One or two minor tweaks and they’ll be back to their best. The fact that they have come away with 8 points is unbelievable considering how shlte they have been.
First and foremost, they have to do something about their loosies, especially with Thompson looming for the Landers.
Pottie and Steggman looking very weak. Play Rossouw at 8 or 7.
1 Mar 2011, 11:42 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-44:
Too busy to focus on the rugby as much as I’d like. And when I do make time for rugby, the Bulls look like they don’t want to be there.
Some serious uitkukking needed at Loftus, I reckon. Guys look lazy.
1 Mar 2011, 11:44 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-46:
Besides. We think alike.
We both said “lackadaisical”
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-36: Francois Hougaard is going to be hungry for rugby when he returns from injury….we can expect barnstorming performances from him.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-42:
I think it will lead to a banning.
It will certainly lead to a strongly worded missive from the Cape Spanish Embassy.
1 Mar 2011, 11:45 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-41: Tac’s ****(geneous) to the core, you’re better off flirting with the Jocks
1 Mar 2011, 11:46 am
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-51:
Did you follow the reaction to the Kuli Roberts column?
1 Mar 2011, 11:47 am
there is nothing wrong with saffa derbies in terms of physicality.there will always be intense rivalry between the provinces and rightly so nothing more or less than what you would find in aus or kiwi derbies.just looking at the aus conference there is no love lost between the reds and the tahs.just another nothing article from vrede.
@John Galt(John Galt)-47:
daniesour at 7
steggers at 6
spies at 8 with a rocket up his arse.
@John Galt(John Galt)-47: Wouldnt you need pace for Thompson, seeing how quick he is off the mark? How about Derick Kuun too start in place of Potties or Stegmann to counter Thompson?
1 Mar 2011, 11:50 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-56: No please no Kuun. I beg of you.
1 Mar 2011, 11:51 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-53:
yep….
what is wrong with these people?
1 Mar 2011, 11:52 am
Y’all jealous.
Nothing wrong with a bit of * * * * * * * genousness.
Besides … any team that still has Fudge can’t be all that bad.
1 Mar 2011, 11:52 am
I think the derbies might favour the smaller teams….it will give them confidence and their form will be better throughout the tournmament. I expect the Lions and Cheetahs to give visting teams a hard time.
1 Mar 2011, 11:53 am
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-58: I honestly dont know.
1 Mar 2011, 11:54 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-57: Why not? he is not half bad and quite quick around the park.
1 Mar 2011, 11:55 am
Provincialism is huge in South Africa – due to the many years of international isolation. We have grown up bashing each other up! Even today many guys rather support their provinces than the national side. They are rather punting players from their franchise rather than punting the best guy for the job.
So franchise battering will continue until we all have a mind change.
You read it here. My team is stronger than, will beat any All Black team, our players are big, faster, hurdle than any other, better etc. We are so blinded by our own franchise players that we don’t see the potential of others.
1 Mar 2011, 11:56 am
the bulls empire is slowly crumbling!i believe that they can’t play any better than what they have done up to now.there will be no three in a row for the tswane bulls
1 Mar 2011, 11:57 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-62: The Kockott/Bismarck of the Bulls. To eager to partake in off the ball/ petulant stuff.
I spoke in tongues at the end there!!!
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-58:
What people.
1 Mar 2011, 11:59 am
I’m in Cape Town today – my oh my this place is blazing!
1 Mar 2011, 11:59 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-67:
those people.
1 Mar 2011, 12:00 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-55:
Yip. already looks better. You’ll immediately notice the difference in Spies and Steggers when you have a big, ball carrying 7.
All you have to do is see the difference in Kanko and Daniels play over the last 12 months with Alberts there to see what I’m talking about.
1 Mar 2011, 12:00 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-66: Inspired by your surroundings I see…
1 Mar 2011, 12:01 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-65: I see…..but still useful. @capo(capo)-64: I dont think so….with Meyer in charge that wont happen. They have great youth systems…they just maybe need to buy experienced players to replace the Boks that are leaving after this year.
1 Mar 2011, 12:02 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-69:
What those which people
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-63: are you talking about the Sharks fans?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-71:
For sure! I’m sitting in an office looking at the mountain. You don’t get better than this mate! Flew in this morning…the pilot said it was 38 yesterday and 37 today. How do the Capies handle this heat?
Have y’all chased Tac away now.
Meanies.
1 Mar 2011, 12:03 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-67: the wannabe comedian is trying to get into the national past-time of mocking coloured people and especially coloured women but he is a bit of a coward to come out with it !
@Transformation(Transformation)-74:
Hehehe! Hmmm and some others!
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-68: Yip stay out of the sun buddy. I am cooped up in my office with the aircon on contemplating if i should go out for lunch.
1 Mar 2011, 12:04 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-76:
I hope i didn’t offend the man!
1 Mar 2011, 12:04 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-72: I think capo is right to a degree, in that we cant replace Fourie, Vic, Bakkies. The likes of Hougaard, Kruger and Flip will take a year or 3 to come close to filling those massive boots. I thus foresee some pain in the future. For example: had we not had the Victor Matfields of this world these past 2 games you can bet your bottom dollar we’d have lost them.
1 Mar 2011, 12:05 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-79:
Thanks for the advice buddy!
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-75: Yeah it’s been quite hot of late. Feb/March are our hottest months so no real surprise there, but it’s been quite something I can tell you.
You at the Uni?
jeez but the cricket world cup is boooooooooooooooooooring!
1 Mar 2011, 12:06 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-75: By drinking lots of beer to cool down.
1 Mar 2011, 12:07 pm
@capo(capo)-77: on keo you can mock anyone except white folks, when you do that you’re “exposing what everyone suspected” .
@capo(capo)-77: Dude. Have you ever been to a Marc Lottering., Riaad Moosa, Kurt Schoonraad, Joe Barber comedy show? Did you laugh?
What?
Only coloured people are allowed to make fun of coloured stereotypes?
How boring.
@capo(capo)-77:
you stupid arse creeping scumsucking douche
I am talking abolut the stupid journalists who write this ****.
now fokkof you mongril
1 Mar 2011, 12:08 pm
This heat has creeped up on us….just suddenly it got hot again. Even in the morning at 6 it is stifling.
1 Mar 2011, 12:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-86:
gatgabbas reunited
we need to get you a special two-faced smiley
1 Mar 2011, 12:10 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-87:
Why oh why did you mention that article.
Why.
Why?
1 Mar 2011, 12:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-86: aw shampies
is widdle twansie a widdle sad that his suppor for bob mugabe wasnt seen as funny.
grow a chin pal. the moment a black player is mentioned in a poor light you, rosso and a host of degenerates hop up and down and whine like pinky kekanas beemer engine just before….
take the lambie thread yesterday as exhibit one
haha, maybe rosso will have forced the bulls players to pass every ball to basson with her online fruitcake sale
@Dawn(Dawn)-91: Was resisting it all morning.
Sorry.
@Dawn(Dawn)-91: definately something fishy about that article.
Actually she should be fired not for racism but for writing such poor stuff. I mean really, it’s worse than high school level. Shocking grammar and all round poor effort,
Subject matter wasn’t funny, if that’s what she was aiming for.
If that wasn’t what she was trying to do well then it’s another story entirely.
Problem is, David Bullard was fired for a similarly poorly conceived, but infinately better written article.
What’s good for the goose must be good for the gander
1 Mar 2011, 12:15 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-87: why don’t you mock your own kind whatever that may be and btw i don’t find marc lottering funny!
1 Mar 2011, 12:15 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-91: which article?
1 Mar 2011, 12:16 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-94:
exactly.
1 Mar 2011, 12:17 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-96:
The Kulu one about the coloured people.
1 Mar 2011, 12:20 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-92: it wasn’t meant to be funny hahaha…it achieved it’s intended purpose as all of you got your panties in a bunch objecting to my facetious convo with cab while Spooner gets no mention instead his provocative assertions about colonialism get blatant backing from the likes of you
i got all you self righteous boys foaming at the mouth alright, now chew on that sh*t
1 Mar 2011, 12:22 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-96:
Ranger, off to Guinjata for 10 days of R&R this weekend. . (rest and recuperation not Rum and Rasberries)
Going to be eating plenty crays and prawns.
I got snapped up by a very large GT when I was there last so going back to try and catch the bugger this time.
1 Mar 2011, 12:24 pm
@capo(capo)-95: Dude. Im coloured.
You dont find Marc Lottering funny? Google his take on why coloured people cant be terrorists.
1 Mar 2011, 12:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-94:
Absolutely correct. Written by a half wit amatuer who can only get recognition if she is controversial.
Fire her for being an illiterate baffoon.
1 Mar 2011, 12:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-99: dont be silly.
you exposed yourself.
maybe you can repent like ed the lion?
p.s. i attempted to show you that colonialism wasnt just white people washing up on shore, but black tribes in search of pastures.
but you are obviously too thick for sensible discussion.
as you were you ignorant east capian
@Dawn(Dawn)-98: just read it. it was very poorly written and badly thought out.
give her anudda chans i say!
@John Galt(John Galt)-100: lucky man. cray season opens today but the sea is a bit of a mess so i will wait til the weekend before my first bug braai.
1 Mar 2011, 12:33 pm
I am worried about Morne Steyn. He has played noon stop rugga since the B&ILions and must mentally exhausted. He also has the added bonus that the Bulls donnot have a second flyhalf to give M Steyn an rest!
J Msith is a huge loss as he a RWC winner and is our best forward!
Haha, just seen the add for the coffee table book on the History of the Stormers!!! Should be called ‘Beaten Black and Blue’!!!
@rangerman(rangerman)-103: exposed myself hahaha as what? what did spooner expose himself as since you’re the arbiter and judge of morality on this blog ranger
1 Mar 2011, 12:34 pm
gunther and his mates like taahirah can mock coloured people but it’s very interesting to note the following from prof heese’s book: Professor Heese suggested a genetic mix for the average Afrikaner to be: 35.5% Dutch, 34.4% German, 13.9% French, 7.2% African/Asian/Khoi, 2.6% British, 2.6% Other European, and 3.5% undetermined. Hardly the ancestry you’d expect from such ardent segregationalists.
1 Mar 2011, 12:35 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-103:
OF COURSE we the only people who know what tik is!
That part made me
1 Mar 2011, 12:36 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-106: No, that would be Grant10!
@rangerman(rangerman)-103: yes you can paint me with all sort of stereotypes as you’ve done before, it makes no difference
clearly you get off on playing for the peanut gallery, who’ll be here any minute to cheer you on.
i’ve told you before i’m not the progeny of farm hands, get over it!
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-101: listen here guinther’s buddy!i don’t find marc lottering funny so let’s just leave it at that.
1 Mar 2011, 12:37 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-83:
Actually not! I’m carrying out interviews today and tomorrow. Quite time consuming and boring, but I’m in CT, and that is what matters.
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-85:
A bit early but will a bit later on!
1 Mar 2011, 12:38 pm
@capo(capo)-107:
who is an ardent segregationalist?
shut up now.
nobody cares what colour you are.
you are low class jiveass scum.
and that’s then end of it
1 Mar 2011, 12:40 pm
@capo(capo)-107: Dude. Which part of post 101 didnt you get?
My issue lies with those people who took the column to be an attack on coloured people, relating it to Jimmy’s comments. Whether or not it was funny is debatable. What is however beyond dispute is that it was an attempt at humor. She didnt set out to insult.
Dont be so touchy.
all we need now is shaun pipjejoller and grantie and we will have a full house of whackjobs.
but for now let’s work with what we have.
@capo(capo)-111: An exclamation mark. Wow.
You really showed me there.
1 Mar 2011, 12:42 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-110:

“playing for the peanut gallery”
Good one!
1 Mar 2011, 12:43 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-103: you suddenly trying to be a self-proclaimed protector of morality on this site but most of us know that you are nothing but a low-class racist and vile little man suffering from ‘last outpost’syndrome who believes that he is superior because of his so-called superior english education.you are scum squirrel hunter and are the kind of person that really sickens me!
@rangerman(rangerman)-103: what you seem to be impervious to rangerman is that whatever happened in the past is not commonly used to provoke people on this blog, i hardly ever here people making fun of the anglo/boer war concentration camps, imfecane or the holocaust.
but some protected species always go on about how good it was that this country was pillaged and colonised because the positives outweigh the negatives and they get away with it because apparently they’re only saying it to rile up the “chip on the shoulder brigade”
well i turned the tables and look at you now
@Transformation(Transformation)-110: whats wrong with the progeny of farmhands comrade?
the progeny of farmhands are the sons and daughters of the soil comrade.
you are a counter revolutionary and you have tendencies. bleddy agent
calm down transie, you like bob, we understand. he sent those bleddy english back to england eh?
what a man!
tell us what you think of gaddafi next please.
1 Mar 2011, 12:45 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-112: As you say, back in the Motherland
1 Mar 2011, 12:46 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-120:
Bonjour LeRangerman! You are in your element today!
1 Mar 2011, 12:46 pm
And another rugby blog goes down the tube labeled politics………………..
Get over yourselves, go to a DA, Afriforum or ANC meeting if you have issues. I’m sure your party of choice will listen to your all important views. As for me, I don’t give a rusty fark.
History of the Stormers!! Must be a lot of pictures in that book!!
1 Mar 2011, 12:47 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-110: hey, leave me out of it.
1 Mar 2011, 12:47 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-113: i believe that it’s you mr wannabe comedian.you are the biggest low-life racist trash on this site together with yopur mates taahirah,woodycrossdresser,charo,shartks lover,rangerboytjie.why don’t you crawl back into the hole you came crawling out off!
1 Mar 2011, 12:51 pm
@capo(capo)-125: Yopur mates?
Im Jewish now?
Eish.
1 Mar 2011, 12:52 pm
@capo(capo)-118: thats about the biggest compliment i have had in years.
may the bile flow unimpeded from you until you are cleansed brother.
@Transformation(Transformation)-119: so you are saying that you are the same as all the people you detest?
or are you just so much smarter?
have you ever heard me making fun of someones suffering?
poor taste is poor taste wether you want to try and justify yourself or not pellie.
why does it matter so much to you that i think you are as ignorant as malema in this regard?
1 Mar 2011, 12:52 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-126:
don’t confuse him
1 Mar 2011, 12:53 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-122:
ag, just keeping my mind nimble.
1 Mar 2011, 12:55 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-113: so the man that loves to mock and racially attacks coloured people on this blog is nothing but a liquorice allsorts character himself now as per prof ja heese!
1 Mar 2011, 12:57 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-127: i am not your brother or your buddy you racist piece of gutter trash.
1 Mar 2011, 12:59 pm
@capo(capo)-131: Easy, pal. You need to calm the fck down.
1 Mar 2011, 13:00 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-120: pffft whatever, why would you care of opinions of a lying xhosa?
1 Mar 2011, 13:00 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-126: another one very proud of their superior english education it seems.when all else fail it’s time to mock bloggers spelling and grammar mistakes!wow, i bow to you superiority!
1 Mar 2011, 13:01 pm
@capo(capo)-130:
capo.
when will you understand.
it’s not about colour.
it’s about class.
and you have none.
everybody knows what you are about…now and with your previous aliases.
1 Mar 2011, 13:01 pm
Well, if nobody is talking rugby, I would like my little political say:
“From the beginning of the Upper Paleolithic period, hunting and gathering cultures known as the Sangoan occupied southern Africa in areas where annual rainfall is less than a meter (1000 mm; 40 in),and today’s San and Khoi people resemble the ancient Sangoan skeletal remains. These Late Stone Age people in parts of southern Africa were the ancestors of the Khoisan people who inhabited the Kalahari Desert. Likely due to their region’s lack of suitable candidates for domestication, the Khoisan did not have farming or domesticated animals until a few hundred years before then, when they adopted the domesticated cattle and sheep of the Bantu that had spread in advance of the people’s actual arrival. The Bantu people, with advanced agriculture and metalworking technology developed in West Africa from at least 2000 BC, outcompeted and intermarried with the Khoisan in the years after contact and became the dominant population of Southeastern Africa before the arrival of the Dutch in 1642.
After the arrival of the Bantu, the Khoisan and their pastoral or hunter-gatherer ways of life remained predominant west of the Fish River in South Africa and in deserts throughout their region, where the drier climate precluded the growth of Bantu crops suited for warmer and wetter climates. It took the arrival of Mediterranean crops from Europe in the 17th century for the Bantu farmers, and later white Boer farmers, to spread to the rest of the country and begin replacing the Khoisan population. During the colonial era, the Khoisan survived in South Africa, Namibia and Botswana. Today many of the San live in parts of the Kalahari Desert where they are better able to preserve much of their culture and lifestyle.”
One could say South Africa was colonised well before the Europeans arrived couldn’t one?
1 Mar 2011, 13:03 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-121:
Yeah I must say there is no place like this on mother earth mate! The beauty, the intelligent people and then the greatest sportsmen and woman in this country. I love adding water to batteries!
1 Mar 2011, 13:04 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-129:
How’s life treating you mate? I must say your team is quite impressive! Still early days, but looking good.
1 Mar 2011, 13:05 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-127: you think i care about what you think or call me? water of a duck’s back charlie
you may be “in your element” but you still using weak stereotypes to label me: a dishonest xhosa, a xenophobe who burns somalian spaza shops, a bleddy agent, a malema. these are all tired. get new material
1 Mar 2011, 13:06 pm
@capo(capo)-134: 2 more exclamation marks.
I am stunned.
When all else fails?
You are yet to respond to my post 114. Do you dispute that she at least attempted humor?
If yes; What specifically in the piece points to malicious intent as per you?
If no; can only other coloured people make fun of coloured stereotypes?
Or no one at all?
ardent segregationist – heck that’s such big words, I’m not even sure if I am or not…. however I do know 3 things:
1. Marc Lottering is laugh out loud funny
2. NZ derbies are every bit as physical as SA derbies. After 10 years of excuses that we are always struggling because of extra travel, we now have uncovered something new to complain about…
3. I expect the Bulls and Sharks to do well in Super and CC rugby… and I’m already sick of the idea… Not that I care about the teams, but it means we might see up to 6 games with them in it. (Why go to the first, when you can see any of the other 5 life)
– The Super Rugby competition should be made smaller again. 3 NZ, 2 SA, 2 Oz and top Argentinean team (based in SA for travel reasons). Countries should decide who represent them with a local competition of choice (i.e. as many teams and format as you like, in our case a early CC?), but only players representing (contracted to) the local team can represent the team in Super competition.
– A Super Alternate competition will run. This competition will feature Japan, Fiji, Samoa, Tonga and the top team of Argentinia and every SanZar team not in Super A
The incentive to perform at top of your game in local competition will be clear. If you are not in top 3, you are going to loose some serious cash
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-137: Haha welcome home son, welcome home……
@capo(capo)-125: only gtrash is you little yeast aftrebirth rubbish that you are
ur an insult to your people …
1 Mar 2011, 13:09 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-135: everybody, accep your butt-licking pals ,know that you are nothing but racist scum old china!you have been mocking and racially abusing coloured people on this forum since your arrival on this site.you’ve got your friends like hg an the ones mentioned that finds you utterances very funny.you talk about class but it seems that you’ve got none yourself.how can a racist be classy?
1 Mar 2011, 13:10 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-142:
Dis lekka in die Kaap bro!
1 Mar 2011, 13:11 pm
gtrash = trash
1 Mar 2011, 13:11 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-143: i left a message for you on the lambie mr low life racist plonker.quick to accept money from the the people that you so love to racially abuse and mock on this site ne down there at cattle baron,canal walk?
1 Mar 2011, 13:12 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-146:
Is gtrash turbo charged?
1 Mar 2011, 13:12 pm
@capo(capo)-144:
I mock universally.
with no respect to colour nor creed.
clearly you think irony is what you do to your shirts before you wear them.
1 Mar 2011, 13:14 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-146: don’t worry,you are forgiven for spelling mistakes due to your far super last outpost english education!
1 Mar 2011, 13:14 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-149: the little outcast cant handle it boet , he sits and insults day in and day out in here and when he gets it back he cries like the little sniveling dog that he is
1 Mar 2011, 13:15 pm
@capo(capo)-144: Gunther does not have ay friends here.
He rides alone.
A one-man wolf pack he is.
1 Mar 2011, 13:15 pm
@capo(capo)-150: isnt there a truck for you to run in front of ? or a building to jump off……. do the world a favour dude
1 Mar 2011, 13:16 pm
i could say i pity capcrap , but that would be a waste , he aint worth anything
1 Mar 2011, 13:17 pm
The History of the Stormers! I wonder if it is factually based or written by the Argus.
1 Mar 2011, 13:18 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-154:
hiyas ratel ltnc
1 Mar 2011, 13:19 pm
@capo(capo)-147: should read lambie thread.don’t crucify me now sharks lover as i don’t possess(i think there might be far too many s’s in that word) your superior english eucation.
1 Mar 2011, 13:20 pm
The History of the Stormers! I hope there is a whole chapter on their Turbo-reverse scrumming techniques. They haven’t pulled their heads out of their arses since Robby Kempson stopped playing.
1 Mar 2011, 13:21 pm
@capo(capo)-157: what a sad little excuse for a human you are ?
1 Mar 2011, 13:21 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-140: keep your racist chomma gunthie company.i don’t normally responds to coconuts.
1 Mar 2011, 13:22 pm
@capo(capo)-157: Dude, seriously?
1 Mar 2011, 13:23 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-158:
and they still got their headsw in their asses
WP wont win jack **** with the so called tight 5 they have
btw did you see jannie killing woodcock?? , woodcock should have been penalised about 6 times and not only the once for his scrumming in on jannie everytime he got crunched
1 Mar 2011, 13:24 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-156: Sharks looking good. That’s the real reason behind the Cape outburst. Whenever we up, they got to get all political. Their little Mediterranean island isn’t even part of Africa.
1 Mar 2011, 13:25 pm
@capo(capo)-160: jeez bro. Now if someone doesn’t agree with you he’s a coconut?
Ever considered that maybe it’s you?
You’re going to run out of people willing to talk to you soon on here if you’re not careful.
1 Mar 2011, 13:26 pm
The History of the Stormers! A text book on how to market a cr@p product.
1 Mar 2011, 13:26 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-164: aint that a fact boet , that oke has serious issues
1 Mar 2011, 13:27 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-159: answer me this one question?how the heck can you come to the cape with your racist tendencies towards coloured people knowing that these people are the majority in the cape?i also see that you’ve got a friend in mnany ,that feels just like you, that there are too many coloureds in the cape.
1 Mar 2011, 13:28 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-164:
oh I think we are well past that point.
1 Mar 2011, 13:28 pm
The History of the Stormers! One chapter on the final in Soweto and the rest photo’s of Bob Skinstad in a speedo.
1 Mar 2011, 13:29 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-162:
‘Jannie killing Woodcock’? That is not allowed now!
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-163:
As a Stormer I have to agree. Our tight five look a bit light! Light in weight that is.
1 Mar 2011, 13:29 pm
@capo(capo)-167: where have i said one fing word about the coloured people?? stop listening to the little **** voices you have in ur head dude , ur fiing mental
because you are a total waste of human skin it does not mean your race is , so stop making up **** , MORON
1 Mar 2011, 13:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-133:
we zulus just cant trust your lot from the ningi mzimo across the river you see.
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-136: that wasezactly my point to transie. he just didnt want to listen because it doesnt fit with the current “africa for black people only” nationalistic view.
1 Mar 2011, 13:30 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-169:
Why are you so obsessed with the Stormers? You only criticize a threat now – correct. When you talk all shoebeshoe about a team it means they are not a threat. But when you get nasty it means the team is a real threat! Thanks for that mate! Don’t stop! We like it.
1 Mar 2011, 13:31 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-170: lol hiyas bill ltn chat
sad but true mate , and like i said before, CJ is no scrum power , he never has been
1 Mar 2011, 13:32 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-172:
the Zulu’s dont take K*rap from them
1 Mar 2011, 13:33 pm
i suddenly feel very dirty with sharks lover around.time to pump some iron and hit the shower afterwards.play nice now girls and see you soon.
1 Mar 2011, 13:33 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-174:
Yep very disappointed mate! Spent a lot of money on what! We should have bought The Beast instead. He is dying to come to Cape Town but he hasn’t been made an offer yet. He didn’t like the idea of Egoli though. Hehehe
1 Mar 2011, 13:34 pm
i dont know what you trying to stir up here Ryan, but you article is misdirected.
1 Mar 2011, 13:34 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-174:
In fact all rugby players want to come to the Cape. Just not enough space for them all!
1 Mar 2011, 13:35 pm
@capo(capo)-176: uhm get it right scum bucket i aint near you , i dont mingle with trash , so stop wishing aND DREAMING
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-173: Whatever, I don’t go on about the Bulls do I? You see whilst I hate (too harsh, but you know what I mean) the Bulls, I respect them. They walk their talk. Is there a coffee table book about the history of the Bulls?? Stormers are windgat. That’s why I pick on you guys. Also Solomen’s betrayed a great SA captain, in a Cape plot.
A threat! Please, when last did you beat us in Super rugby?
I reckon the cape has one too many coloureds.
The blogger at post 88 is responsible for this thread getting ugly. I went through the whole thread and it all went bad after comment 88.
1 Mar 2011, 13:36 pm
@capo(capo)-160: Coconut?
Indulge me. How did you arrive to this conclusion?
1 Mar 2011, 13:38 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-179: lol bill not quite mate , only sharks that ever come here to the cape is the ones on retirement
1 Mar 2011, 13:39 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-181:
LOL – I’m just stirring mate! Yeah you guys are great! Simply the best, better than all the rest! Which great SA captain? We haven’t had a good one for a while mate. You talking about Francious Pienaar now!
1 Mar 2011, 13:40 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-185:
Naa the Great Whites mate!
1 Mar 2011, 13:40 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-179: You right, all the Sharks want to go to the Cape. After all, the last time we lost there in Super rugby was 2005!!
1 Mar 2011, 13:42 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-183: Not true rossi , this started by capo on another thread and just crept over to this one
1 Mar 2011, 13:43 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-188:
Really! I thought it was about 1999! Jeez so not such a great record after all! They way your were gloating mate I really thought 90′s! Well a semi finalist in Super 14 last year is not too shoddy! We didn’t take the silverware, but made it to the end. I think we also did so in the Currie Cup! Not consistent enough though!
1 Mar 2011, 13:43 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-184: boet best just ignore it, the moron is just pulling us all down into his level of stupidity
1 Mar 2011, 13:44 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-186: Gary Teichmann. Mallet and Solomens stabbed him in the back for their cut on the Guiness man, I’m sure.
1 Mar 2011, 13:45 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-191:
You guys never learn do you!
1 Mar 2011, 13:45 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-183:
nice try lilly.
why don’t you just say that it was me
that sad thing is that nobody takes anything you have to say seriously anymore.
you have the same problem as steve hofmeyer and julius.
you have a credibility gap
1 Mar 2011, 13:46 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-192: Gary Teichman! He was mediocre boet!
1 Mar 2011, 13:46 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-190: Not enough for a whole coffee table book though, surely.
Hyped to the maximum!
1 Mar 2011, 13:49 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-196:
Teams usually raise their game when they play champion sides mate. We are used to it! We are used to be champions year in and out. Some sides who have rarely won anything really, come on here and bloat about winning 5 Currie Cups. Really in different league mate. Champion sides never need to boast.
1 Mar 2011, 13:50 pm
bloat = gloat hehehe
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-195: 17 wins in a row mediocre? Mixing fact and fiction again? Go read the Argus.
I’m sure Gary wasn’t ‘flash’ enough down in the Cape. After all he walked his talk.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-195: now thats BS bill and you know it, tis what cost us a world cup, for glory boy tongue
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-193: and what dont we learn ?? pray tell
1 Mar 2011, 13:53 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-199: Naa didn’t make the grade mate! Flash is the word!
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-200:
You know me better mate! I never BS! I call a spade a shovel mate!
Spooner was my nic once! I know how to stir!
1 Mar 2011, 13:53 pm
so, from this thread, we can indeed conclude that south african derbies are the most brutal.
1 Mar 2011, 13:54 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-202: :lol; i know full well what ur upto
1 Mar 2011, 13:54 pm
Capo is Grant10.
1 Mar 2011, 13:55 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-200: Good old Natalian that fella.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-202: hulle se ook , “as kak praat gras was? dan was jy nou deur die donkie se hol”
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-197: Back in the dark days of Apartheid, when Maaties received a huge amount of state funds, you were the boys. Well done.
You’ve won nothing in the last 10 years. Championship my arse!
1 Mar 2011, 13:56 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-201:
Getting into an argument with Capo! It is a lose lose situation mate.
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-203:
Yeah just look at the battle going on now! I’m telling the Shark boys how good they are and they just won’t accept my honesty!
1 Mar 2011, 13:56 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-206: hehehee thats me bro
1 Mar 2011, 13:57 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-209: I know boet , but sometimes you gotta say whats needed
after that you gotta brush ya teefs for even reposding to the *******
1 Mar 2011, 13:59 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-208: Don’t pull the race card on me mate! Short memory hmmm. If you didn’t know WE WON THE PLASCON WALL AND ALL TWO YEARS IN A ROW MATE! But then your side didn’t take part in that competition now did they! :lolz;
1 Mar 2011, 14:00 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-211:
…and what do we all achieve? Sweet nothing! I’ve learnt to ignore! It’s made me a better spooner!
1 Mar 2011, 14:00 pm
In the 80s the Currie Cup belonged in the Cape and the country to the Afrikaaner.
In the 90s a new South Africa was born and the Sharks dominated.
In the 00s the Bulls came back.
Th 10s are going to belong to the Sharks.
1 Mar 2011, 14:04 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-214:
Oh! You a psychic? Sharks are the new super power of rugby. Pretty much the Manchester United’s of rugby I guess! Well then congratulations on owning the 10′s mate. Let me be the first to congratulate you and your team! Kudus to the Guppies! Hoorah hoorah hoorah. That is three cheers by the way!
1 Mar 2011, 14:07 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-205: hahaha
1 Mar 2011, 14:08 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-211:
I’m in Cape Town today. Thinking of rushing off to Clifton later on! it is 37 degrees in the shade! What colour speedo does Grant10 wear?
1 Mar 2011, 14:08 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-215:
the sharks may oncee again threaten without bringing home the bacon.
i hope not because damn it feels good to win a trophy.
remember?
1 Mar 2011, 14:09 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-215: which team do you support? now dont be scared, we will just bite a little…
1 Mar 2011, 14:10 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-217: blue.
and its a thong i hear.
ugh.
he is always talking about brazilians so he probably has one.
eish wena, i am grossing myself out.
@rangerman(rangerman)-218: Yeah that Plascon Wall and All did the world of good for us mate! Twice in a row! Hope we can make it a treble next year!
I can’t take this anymore.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-217:
bill i wouldnt know , ask capo
1 Mar 2011, 14:11 pm
@SHARKattack(mabu)-219:
My dad said: “Never swim with Sharks” I’m surrounded by them!
1 Mar 2011, 14:11 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-220:
1 Mar 2011, 14:12 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-222:
Shellby! How you doing? Long time
1 Mar 2011, 14:12 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-220:
1 Mar 2011, 14:13 pm
dangerous derbies
imagine how far we could go with this.
dangeous ******* dangerous derby in durbanville?
(the football side before fred khumalo turns uppity with me)
1 Mar 2011, 14:13 pm
Twee boere vang n ou wat steel…hulle gee hom n dice en se vir hom as jy tussen 1 en 5 gooi dan moer ons jou. Hy vra “en as ek 6 gooi?” boere, “dan gooi jy weer!!”
1 Mar 2011, 14:14 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-228:
Yeah Dangerous d a r k i e s were quite a team! hehehe – it even censored the word – LOL
@Dawn(Dawn)-222: me neither!
psst….what are we not taking?
sounds like something zuma said to schabir actually.
@John Galt(John Galt)-205:
they are certainly birds of a peculiar feather.
1 Mar 2011, 14:15 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-224: im sure he ment loan sharks!
1 Mar 2011, 14:16 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-230: ja, the world has gone mad.
i was reading the comments to freds column and it seems most black people feel the word d arkies has no negative connotations.
but i wonder how they feel about honkies using it?
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-229:
I don’t have access to technology that could accurately measure the ridiculousness of this article.
1 Mar 2011, 14:17 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-231:
I see Scabby grabbed a birdie on the front nine on saturday
@rangerman(rangerman)-231:
The heat mate! The heat!
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-232: but capo was a copper so he probably had to duck the stones that grant threw when grant was on the front lines taking names.
i wonder if grant managed to escape the teargas capo was laying down?
what a grand world we live in
Where’s transformation?
I am looking for that term that they used when the wine farmers of old used to pay their workers with wine…
1 Mar 2011, 14:18 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-234:
Whities d arkies, who cares.
1 Mar 2011, 14:19 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-222: The heat? Nelly had a hit song dispensing advice a couple of years back on how to beat the heat.
Give it a try.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-240: dop system
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-194: Okay. It was you. You messed up the thread. People were nicely chatting no filthy insults and then you came along and messed it up.
1 Mar 2011, 14:20 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-237:
actually i heard it was an eagle.
luckily he had his force field up and the eagle just bumped her head.
what these birds will do to feed their kids eh?
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-238: ah, that was zumas answer to shaiks next question.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-240:
the dop system?
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-240: Why do you want to know?
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-243:
Thanks, some debate in the office I am in at the moment…
1 Mar 2011, 14:21 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-240: hiyas Morne , i missed ur answer to my teasing you on the fact you chose the blues to win?/
1 Mar 2011, 14:21 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-240:
dop system?
1 Mar 2011, 14:22 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-240: funnily enough, the guy who took us on the tour of the Laphroig distillery told us that they too used to be fed a dram the size of a tumbler each day.
those ******* laphroigs were exploiters of the worst kind.
1 Mar 2011, 14:23 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-247:
Long story short…
I had 88 bottles of wine in a garage at one office (meant for gifts to clients over the years), and since we are moving that office to a new building I had to do something with it.
Decided to divide it up between staff, who all walked out of the office with 4 bottles of wine each.
And as you can imagine, the connection was that they are being paid with wine rather than cash… and so the question came as to what the term was that described this method of payment.
1 Mar 2011, 14:24 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-244:
lilly.
why don’t you go and worry about how many times our star signing will get the ball on saturday.
i was merely responding to old capo.
who is lower than a snakes balls.
but really, nobody cares what you think, least of all me.
why don’t you run along and sue keo for slandering elton jatjes.
1 Mar 2011, 14:25 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-249:
Hi,
Did not read much on Keo in the last week so I missed your question but can well imagine what that was.
The Blues game was always going to be a very good test for the Sharks, they came through quite nicely, and can rightly be regarded as favourites to end top of the local conference.
1 Mar 2011, 14:25 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-244: haha, you have flamed countless threads.
i believe the bulls players have promised to pass bjorn all the ball this weekend and in an extraordinary turn of events, they have managed to convince the highlanders players to do the same as a belated apology to the maoris, the red indians and visitors from outer space.
apartheid wasnt mentioned because no one in either side is old enough to care.
1 Mar 2011, 14:26 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-251:
dont the Aussies still do that??
keep their indiginous people drunk in old small towns
1 Mar 2011, 14:27 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-242:
I can take the heat.
I can’t take all this **** mudslinging and brawling and fighting.
1 Mar 2011, 14:29 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-252: You once mentioned that you have a lady named Taahirah in your office. She obviously can not have any part in this so you can pass her share of the loot on to me.
1 Mar 2011, 14:29 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-257:
Who is fighting!
1 Mar 2011, 14:30 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-257: Yeah, I feel the same. Guess were getting old. Time to step back and let the new kids take over.
1 Mar 2011, 14:30 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-256: i believe so.
and they lock the indonesians up in concentration camps in the outback.
very sad.
much better at Laphroaig.
1 Mar 2011, 14:31 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-254: lol was teasin mate , but one thing i know is i would always get an honest opinion from you and an unbiased one
1 Mar 2011, 14:32 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-261: wow
ag i think it has all been rather inoccuous.
this site hasnt changed at all since i first started blogging here in 2007.
reminds me of a song:
its all the same
only the names have changed
every day
it seems we’re fading away
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-258:
Very good memory, but she has moved on to bigger things!
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-260:
Reason I don’t spend as much time here anymore. Just the odd second that I am really bored.
1 Mar 2011, 14:34 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-263: before they ship them back to where they were trying to escape from you see.
kudos to our govt for not doing the same to the poor zimbos escaping bob pol pots self created sh ithole up north.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-262:
Shot.
Sharkies look really impressive, not just to find a 13 for you guys…
not = now
1 Mar 2011, 14:35 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-267:
That is incitement. Be careful!
1 Mar 2011, 14:36 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-267: till then boet stefan is doing a great job
i have a feeling the sharks will be using paul jordaan there, even though he is a natural 12
1 Mar 2011, 14:37 pm
plus stefan had to take the captaincy reigns as smitty was injured , adi not in good form although he did quite well in the vodacom cup team last weekend
vulindlu is still injured and so to the other 13 planned for the sharks , wynand pienaar
1 Mar 2011, 14:38 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-268:
or maybe we should have taken JDJ off Wp’s hands
1 Mar 2011, 14:40 pm
Talking of outside centers…
Notice how Waylon is hitting seriously good form again?
Isn’t it strange that Waylon’s slump at the Sharks came about the same time Bradley moved on?
And that he is finding form again thanks to one of the most underrated inside centers in SA? Doppies?
1 Mar 2011, 14:41 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-272:
Hey pretty soon you will have a choice between Lionel and JDJ, place your reserve price now!
1 Mar 2011, 14:48 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-273:
That’s right,
The decline also was corrolated with the ‘re-emergence’ of Jacobs.
1 Mar 2011, 14:52 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-267: meyer bosman hasn’t looked great, looks disjointed but perhaps time required for settle….
although limited i’m a little baffled at the release of strauss?
1 Mar 2011, 14:52 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-274: hehehe
1 Mar 2011, 14:56 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-264:
Most of the rugby iterated guys long since have left: TH, LH, Pietman, Mozart and several other whose name I forgotten.
1 Mar 2011, 14:57 pm
meyer is the most overrated player in super rugby and i have to say the cheetahs did some good business getting rid of him.
1 Mar 2011, 15:01 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-278: thats why we mostly blog elsewhere
end of the day we are here for our love of rugby , not some sicko’s racist squeels
1 Mar 2011, 15:02 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-274: is it greedy to want both?
think i’d take lionel, leave the little guy for the kapies
1 Mar 2011, 15:02 pm
@Seven(Seven)-276:
Look at who left and who has stayed:
Gone: F Styen, Butch, Pienar, Brad Barritt, Kockott, Strauss
Stayed: J Pietersen, Ndungane, Jacobs
Call it a ‘Natural Selection’?
1 Mar 2011, 15:05 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-274: With Paul Jordaan comming back from the bok 7′s and the very highly rated Fred Zeilinga not sure the Sharks would need either of those 2 though Morne.
But yeah i am sure those 2 are getting very restless, but you cant always run away , you gotta up the anti , lift ur game and you will play more
1 Mar 2011, 15:07 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-280:
The other blogs aren’t busy , the rugby proper standards there are pretty poor,
Nothing comes close to the Super Rugby Blog of 10 years ago.
1 Mar 2011, 15:15 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-282: it does hurt as the only one i’m glad is gone is kockott…
a back division of
pienaar,mcleod
lambie, james
barritt,strauss,terblanche
steyn,ludik,pieterson,mvovo
hoffman and lionel cronje as utilities
1 Mar 2011, 15:20 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-273: Brad left and the guess who surfaced? the two donkeys swannie & dries strauss
1 Mar 2011, 15:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-286: pacy adi and crabby waly were right behind…
adi can stay in sharks xv…divvy will still select him from there…perhaps not now he has jdj
1 Mar 2011, 15:27 pm
the sharks still have the great oupa terreblanche to energise the midfield.
1 Mar 2011, 15:32 pm
@Seven(Seven)-276:
The Strauss deal was done some time back.
1 Mar 2011, 15:34 pm
@Seven(Seven)-287:
Adi was quite impressive in the VC game.
1 Mar 2011, 15:40 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-253: Everyone was chatting nicely and you ruined the thread. Admit it.
1 Mar 2011, 15:41 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-252: Okay. Cool.
1 Mar 2011, 15:42 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-255: So you admit that Gunther inflamed this thread. Thanks.
1 Mar 2011, 15:45 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-293: Barca star Messi to help Perpignan!
2011-03-01 09:45:01
French rugby giants Perpignan and Spanish football heavyweights Barcelona have called on two-time world footballer of the year Lionel Messi and his team-mates to help them fill the 1992 Olympic Stadium for the rugby European Cup quarterfinal with Toulon.
The Catalonian teams released an animated film featuring Messi and his fellow Barcelona stars performing the haka as they endeavour to sell all 55,000 tickets for the all-French clash on April 9, which should feature among others English legend Jonny Wilkinson, who is currently playing for Toulon.
Barcelona and Perpignan struck an agreement a few months ago which paves the way for the rugby side, the 2009 French champions and last year’s Top 14 finalists, to play one of their Euro matches on the Spanish side of Catalonia.
Barca’s mythical Camp Nou stadium had been hoped for, but was ruled out. Monjuic has now been chosen, and the presidents of both clubs are optimistic they can fill it to capacity.
“We are convinced we can meet the challenge of filling Monjuic for a rugby match,” said Barca president Sandro Rosell Monday when he met his Perpignan counterpart Paul Goze at the Camp Nou.
Goze said if the stadium was at capacity, the club stood to make a fortune.
“If the stadium is full then this match can earn us 500,000 euros,” said Goze, whose side are normally limited to a capacity of 14,500 at Stade Aime Giral.
Perpignan have been allocated 20,000 tickets, Toulon 8,000 and Barcelona 20,000 while the remainder are in the hands of tournament organisers, the European Rugby Cup (ERC), and its sponsors.
“This event counts a lot for us, for three reasons,” explained Rosell.
“First, we want to celebrate Catalan rugby, in the north as well as the south, and also celebrate the union of the two clubs.
“Secondly, it will also be a Catalan party, an identity which Barca and Perpignan share.
“Finally, we wanted it to be a family get together, that can allow children, parents and grandparents to come along and discover rugby.”
1 Mar 2011, 15:45 pm
Thanks to Pissant things have settled nicely again. Thank you Pissant.
1 Mar 2011, 15:53 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-295:
Great pleasure.
For a really great read, check out Dewald Potgieters column on Superrugby.
http://www.supersport.com/rugby/blogs/dewald-potgieter/Rugby_teaching_you_lifes_lessons
1 Mar 2011, 16:02 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-296: Yep. Knew he is a bright guy from following his Twitter posts.
Didnt know Fourie du Preez”s nickname is “Porra”!
1 Mar 2011, 16:15 pm
1 Mar 2011, 16:18 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-298: Great call!
THIS IS SPARTA! 300
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-297: he explained it last week in last week’s blog entry, dewalt comes across as quite lucid
1 Mar 2011, 16:19 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-300: Stole my thunder there bro
1 Mar 2011, 16:19 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-301: He he he. Seems like I beheaded Leonaidus…
1 Mar 2011, 16:20 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-302: very impressed with these articles from him. I might Friend him on facebook. But then I have to worry about my wife “poking” him on the sly…..
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303: his is quick his name must be lightning bolt, usain’s half-brother
@Transformation(Transformation)-302: He’s an Eastern Cape boytjie. Might explain it.
1 Mar 2011, 16:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-305: eish, becareful of bumping into Taahirah on FB
1 Mar 2011, 16:26 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-304: That you did fella
@Transformation(Transformation)-308: I’ve seen worse. Much worse. Mostly on this blog actually
1 Mar 2011, 16:31 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-307: ek weet, he went Daniel Pienaar…
1 Mar 2011, 16:34 pm
Only incompetent fools will talk stupidly about technology in a situation like this one referred to here.
All I ever need here are BCs as that will give the most important measurement required simple a piece of paper.
Again let me instruct you that the measurement more often than not will spell out that notion I refer to as DECREPTITUDE.
More specifically and closer to home base Smith, Burger, James, Smit(need I go on) all are just decrepid.
As we hit 28 years we hurtle headlong and rapidly towards that physiological or, more correctly, pathological state, easily noted by the inability to readily and easily do the physical things one was capable of as a 19 yr. old.
If you are not an original thinker but, in fact ,a mere follower(like the sheep you so love to refer to) then you will grapple with this concept.
My advice just accept it and move on but please stop effin blteating like the sheep you are.
1 Mar 2011, 16:37 pm
ET in his element
1 Mar 2011, 16:43 pm
@ET.(ET.)-311:
Talk to yourself again?
Voices in your head?
1 Mar 2011, 16:44 pm
@ET.(ET.)-311:
Only 28 and you’re over the hill????
1 Mar 2011, 16:45 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-314: don’t argue with ET on sports science…just don’t
1 Mar 2011, 16:48 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-314:
calm down.
pissant has only just managed to pour oil over troubled waters.
don’t light the fires again
1 Mar 2011, 16:49 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-316:
Oh no you don’t
You’ve had your brawling fun
Now it’s my turn
1 Mar 2011, 16:52 pm
Dawn coming out of retirement for one last brawl. Rocky 7!
1 Mar 2011, 16:52 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-317: you’re sure you wanna go down this road?
1 Mar 2011, 16:53 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-318:
1 Mar 2011, 16:53 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-317:
as you were then
maverick you are cleared for take off.
1 Mar 2011, 16:54 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-319:
Of course
I got 5 minutes to spare
If you gonna eulogise, then use the arrow and direct your epic at somebody.
Otherwise it just looks mal.
1 Mar 2011, 16:55 pm
@Pinky Kekana kills Beemer buys Merc(gunther)-321:
Listen you coloured-hater pinko liberal racist.
1 Mar 2011, 16:58 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-323: Shut it, Mrs Coconut.
1 Mar 2011, 16:58 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-312:
Too many decrepid ‘thinkers’ here , the main problem plus they too constantly pickle what little ‘brain cells’ in their possession with too much ethanol.
The brain like any muscle needs to be exercised more as we all hurtle to decreptitude but the concept is too complex to comprehend.
So we read simple stupid novels which are just other peoples, thoughts which may be more or LESS challenging than our own(or should I say mine).
So let me go and exercise my brain as I generate the genes of the muscle-type, nicotinic acetyl choline receptor(Noakes cannot even do that, the silly rented quoter).
See I even lead, like a good captain, by EXAMPLE.
1 Mar 2011, 17:01 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-323: @>^..^< katman(katman)-324:
Aah. We’ve gone down the gutter again. let me join you.
Something to chew on: I dont know what this fuss bout the Kuli-scribbling is all about.
I mean have you have her picture?
She’s hot!
That means she’s a ho..ie.
Thus it cant be racism.
1 Mar 2011, 17:02 pm
2nd have = seen
1 Mar 2011, 17:02 pm
@ET.(ET.)-325:
Decrepit.
Not decrepid.
1 Mar 2011, 17:03 pm
When you’re accustomed to trawling the regular news sites (News24, IOL, M&G), you might never know of the amazing news that is broken on rapport.co.za
Like the CCTV footage of cops storming Cats Pyjamas in Melville and assaulting patrons. Hectic stuff.
And the report of Schalk Burger Snr and his physical spat with a domestic worker that has now ended up in court.
Or a revealing piece on the child trafficking… er, talent scouting, that the Bulls practice amongst Cape schools.
Check it out – it’s all there.
1 Mar 2011, 17:07 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-329:
or *** for grades at university.
or tokoloshes stealing court dockets
rich pickings indeed.
1 Mar 2011, 17:12 pm
@ET.(ET.)-325: on ESPN during breaks/commercials there’s this short program called “Sports Science” they measure all sort of sport related things like the force a linebacker generates before he hits an opponent or the the force a player generates before he heads a ball and how many milli-seconds is the ball in contact with his head. you think they can help Ryan?
1 Mar 2011, 17:23 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-326:
1 Mar 2011, 17:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-331:
Ryan? Really Ryan? Who would want to waste such good time with someone who is incapable of understanding simple science?
They do that type of measurements ALL OVER the world except in Ryan’s world.
It simply requires attaching small sensors, eg. in this case transducers to the body and converting one type of energy to another readable measured form of energy.
There are a large number of such tv programmes on a number or sports’ channels here, too much to get excited about unless you are specifically involved with the research.
1 Mar 2011, 17:24 pm
Does anyone else think picking winners for this weeks games is really difficult.
1 Mar 2011, 17:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-331:
I think a linebacker would hurt ryan.
quite badly in fact.
1 Mar 2011, 18:20 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-290: yeah but then again its vodacom cup…he could possibly push meyer bosman, however i can see lambie and potgieter either at 10/12 getting a run soon…especially if meyer keeps dancing around. no complaints on his defence so far
1 Mar 2011, 22:25 pm
it still hurts when I pee…
1 Mar 2011, 23:31 pm
all baled and blown right out, no more gusto left for the fight…
1 Mar 2011, 23:56 pm
Where have all the flowers gone?
Long time passing
Long time ago
Girls have picked them every one
When will they ever learn?
Where have all the young men gone?
Long time passing
Long time ago
Gone for soldiers every one
Where have all the soldiers gone?
Long time passing
Long time ago
Gone to graveyards every one
Where have all the graveyards gone?
Long time passing
Long time ago
Covered with flowers every one
When will we ever learn?
2 Mar 2011, 00:02 am
I dont understand that poem, is it about soldiers of hoe?
2 Mar 2011, 00:08 am
bulls had to make 203 tackles against lions, ***** bells u dont see that every day.
2 Mar 2011, 00:14 am
its a song by Pete Seeger early 60′s folk legend before Bobby D
Left out 2nd verse, it goes
Girls have picked them every one
Where have all the young girls gone?
Taken husbands every one
Gone for soldiers every one
Gone to graveyards every one
Covered with flowers every one
When will we ever learn?
Cycles where life goes back to the flowers over the graves
the stupidity of war
when will we ever learn
when will they ever learn
2 Mar 2011, 00:18 am
peter seeger, hell not sure heard of him either, was he not the poefta who wrote where do you go to my lovely on the boulevard of saint michele or something?
2 Mar 2011, 00:24 am
naah that was a pommie Peter Sarsteadt
Pete Seger was an anti Vietnam anti establishment early 60′s New York beatnik in the Alan Ginsberg, Bob Dylan tradition
2 Mar 2011, 00:24 am
if you into the folk stuff, do you like that horrendous stuff by John Denver, liewe fok between that and jazz – i’d rather shoot me toe off.
2 Mar 2011, 00:27 am
He was one of the first to popularize ‘we shall overcome’ which was taken up by Martin Luther King Jr. as their trademark protest song during civil rights movement in 60′s
2 Mar 2011, 00:28 am
what about creedance clearwater revival, good old decent rock n roll, no heavy lyrics, long silences or harmonicas?
2 Mar 2011, 00:30 am
John Denver is commercial twaddle
Real folk music is Leadbelly, Joan Baez, Woody Guthrie, Joni Mitchell, Crosby Still Nash Young, Judy Collins, Bob Dylan, Pete Seeger, and the whole west coast sound that developed from it
2 Mar 2011, 00:31 am
good god almighty, you know your stuff, sounds like you were interested in all the american stuff, actually it was probably their best generation after the motown.
2 Mar 2011, 00:32 am
wasn’t much of a CCRW fan, they too much like country rock commercialism for me, I was more a real folk follower, like Odetta, try listen to some Odetta if you ain’t heard her already
2 Mar 2011, 00:35 am
never heard of her, will try, i like nina simone. am just slightly concerned cos i tried to listen to that sitar music and they pluck a chord every hour or so which reverberates like someone dropped a clanger, dont really do it for me,
2 Mar 2011, 00:36 am
Bobby McGee by Kris Kristofferson was a nice folksy song, hear the version by Janis Joplin, the mama of rocking blues, she overdosed just before or after Hendrix
2 Mar 2011, 00:37 am
seems like all the others are vas in die slaap, bettter also catch some shut-eye.
later ou doos.
2 Mar 2011, 00:38 am
yes Janis was a strange old bird, i felt a bit for her, not right in die kop.
2 Mar 2011, 00:42 am
no sitar is another sound altogether if you brought up on heavy metal its unlikely you going to get attuned to sitar or Indian violin or flute, its another dimension and very much classical in appreciation, one has to develop an ear or a feel for it, the mood is in the reverberation of the string instruments backed by the high intensity of the raga or time tempo by the tabla drum
2 Mar 2011, 03:50 am
” ……..and so possess a greater capacity to inflict serious injury. ”
To really emphasise that point you could add, correctly too, that we have ALWAYS also had a more violent mode of living than our ANZAC pardners.
In short, we like to moer each other because of our pugilistic inclination and nature governed by our societal history.
2 Mar 2011, 06:39 am
For modern folk music try the Fleet Foxes or Ray la Montaigne.
2 Mar 2011, 07:20 am
Hodt Stomer ina Bcup
This is a very big issue which has been highlighted by critics of the new format. IMHO I do believe now there is too much rugby. 24 weeks of S15 is a major danger for the bok contracted players.
In RWC year rest some of the stars and play those who need the time. The aussie games have had some niggle and the some of the kiwi games were hard but no where near the huge bashing going on in the derbies.
2 Mar 2011, 07:45 am
Anyone playing at 100% now has got rocks in their head.
2 Mar 2011, 09:08 am
What an amusing thread! The usual crew sowing discord, I see. When you step back out of the breach, you realise how juvenile it all is.