Classy Crusaders torture Tahs
4 Mar 2011
RYAN VREDE watched the Crusaders make a statement of intent with a 33-18 victory over the Waratahs in Nelson.
For the first quarter you would have been forgiven for putting your money on the Waratahs for a comfortable victory, such was the Crusaders’ incompetence across all facets of play. However, they showed all the class they’ve become renowned for thereafter, tearing away to victory off the back of an excellent forward display, midfield dominance, a flawless kicking performance from Dan Carter and the desire to bring some cheer, however fleeting, to the earthquake-ravaged city of Christchurch.
The performance was superlative, but ominously, they are likely to get better and can still bank on the return of their inspirational captain Richie McCaw.
The Tahs, so good in the last fortnight, will reflect on this match and cringe. Their early tries came from the Crusaders’ errors, the first birthed from a scrum earned when Sonny Bill Williams, who started awfully but improved exponentially as the match progressed, threw a wild pass at Carter who knocked on. The second emanated from a Luke Burgess turnover, the scrumhalf then rounding off the move in the corner after an expansive attack and slick passing interchange.
However, that was as good as it got for the visitors, who were let down badly by replacement flyhalf Daniel Halangahu, in for the injured Berrick Barnes. Halangahu missed two conversions and a penalty before he was relieved of the kicking duties, but his nightmare continued when he threw the intercepted pass that gave the dynamic and powerful Robbie Fruean the first of two tries. Fruean’s second was vintage Crusaders, dominating the collisions and offloading skilfully in contact. Williams redeemed himself after his earlier error by deftly picking off Fruean despite the attention of two defenders. Carter kicked the conversion, his second, which followed four penalties, for a 26-13 lead.
Any ambitions of a comeback the Tahs may have haboured were shattered when Williams finished a move that again featured a bulldozing run from his midfield partner, Fruean.
The Tahs were patently distraught. They were being decimated at scrum time, battered at the tackle point and cut to shreds by a backline directed masterfully by Carter, whose centres were brutally efficient. Rarely has a Tahs team been made to look so impotent, so utterly devoid of attacking ideas. Certainly they didn’t help their cause by failing to do the basics well, but their desperation at 20 points down probably had everything to do with that.
There was a late consolation score for Afa Pakalani, but it didn’t plaster over a deeply flawed performance. They were completely outplayed by a team who, if they can replicate this standard consistently, will be very, very hard to beat.
Crusaders - Tries: Robbie Fruean (2), Sonny Bill Williams. Conversions: Dan Carter (3). Penalties: Carter (4)
Waratahs - Tries: Tom Carter, Luke Burgess, Afa Pakalani. Penalties: Kurtley Beale

208 Comments
4 Mar 2011, 08:31 am
Crusaders vs Blues?? WTF?? Some one sleeping on the job Dragons
4 Mar 2011, 08:34 am
Blues to win by 2?? Maybe 24-22?
4 Mar 2011, 08:34 am
thought they were playing tahs
4 Mar 2011, 08:35 am
They are.
4 Mar 2011, 08:36 am
We at week 17 already? Who’s top of the log?
4 Mar 2011, 08:37 am
@rastafox(rastafox)-2: lol
4 Mar 2011, 08:38 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-1:
4 Mar 2011, 08:41 am
Wish could watch this game!!!
4 Mar 2011, 08:42 am
@Hop Hop Spinnekop(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-5: Bulls!
4 Mar 2011, 08:43 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-7: Whats that saying Puzah Thursday hey!
4 Mar 2011, 08:44 am
Come on Crusaders bring these tahs back down to earth.
4 Mar 2011, 08:45 am
Slick hands Polatu…
4 Mar 2011, 08:46 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-11: tahs will win this gae fairly easily imo.
4 Mar 2011, 08:47 am
****!!
4 Mar 2011, 08:49 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-13: I reckon that too but i want them to lose points.
4 Mar 2011, 09:00 am
looking tight to me
4 Mar 2011, 09:01 am
Yes cmon Crusaders!!
4 Mar 2011, 09:12 am
The lack of Berrick Barnes is costing the Waratahs this game. Halangahu is terrible, worst player on the field so far, apart from Sonny BIll.
4 Mar 2011, 09:14 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-18: is SBW rubbish in the game?
4 Mar 2011, 09:16 am
Shameless Dagg threw a 45 degrees forward pass to Fruen
Kiwi referees, home ground advantage, the NZ answer to Marius Joubert and Jonker
4 Mar 2011, 09:17 am
Come on Saders! Wooohoooooooooooo!
4 Mar 2011, 09:18 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-19: His first three passes all went to ground, he was driven back in his first two or three runs, although he has started getting into the game now.
A sweet offload for Freuen’s second try in 3 minutes. He looked really flustered in the begining but is getting into it.
Crusaders are looking really slick all of a sudden.
4 Mar 2011, 09:20 am
Since Polota-Nau has gone off, the Waratahs scrum has been destroyed. Polota-Nau is the most important player for Australia this year.
4 Mar 2011, 09:21 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-21: molo Mhlekazi injani impilo apho eNtshona Kapa?
4 Mar 2011, 09:24 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-23: did he get injured again? What type of injury is it?
4 Mar 2011, 09:24 am
Gi Saders…
4 Mar 2011, 09:26 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-23:
Wow
Robbie Deans thought the same, just to bring back in a hurry Stephen Moore
4 Mar 2011, 09:27 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-20: those forward passes are out of hand.
4 Mar 2011, 09:30 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-25: Not sure, it looks like his ankle, although it could be knee. He looked broken half way through last week’s game, I am very surprised he played today. I am not sure how injured he is, but he struggled to get off the field. No stretcher or anything though.
Threw a sweet offload for the Waratah’s try and was battering people around the field.
4 Mar 2011, 09:31 am
didn’t get my flippin superbru pick in on time. Dead rubber for me this one.
4 Mar 2011, 09:32 am
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-28:
Right.
In the past few weeks have seen a bazillion forward passes.
4 Mar 2011, 09:35 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-31: bazillion you say
@Transformation(Transformation)-24:
Molo Transformation, no need to call me “sir” – the weather in the Western Cape is lovely today.
I now just need the Tahs to make a bit of a comeback to close down the margin…
Dead thread.
I know what to do.
Manyi Manyi Manyi!
4 Mar 2011, 09:36 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-32:
I say gazillion
4 Mar 2011, 09:36 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-13:
Must be feeling like a p rick just about now !!
4 Mar 2011, 09:37 am
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-28:
It’s a Kiwi specialised trade,
they scored two tries against France in 2007 from double forward passes and then like a ‘wily wagon load of *******’ they scream ever since about a border case pass
4 Mar 2011, 09:37 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-34:
Manyi, Manyi Manyi?
That’s not funny
In the katman’s world
4 Mar 2011, 09:38 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-31: they must clamp down on the forward passes it ‘s very annoying
4 Mar 2011, 09:38 am
Beale has an exemption from tackle, seemed like
4 Mar 2011, 09:39 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-38:
Not funny in the cullart world either.
Revenge, I say. (And justice for Os).
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-29: He is a quality player. Yes well done Crusaders. This bodes well for S.A teams.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-33: the Mhlekazi is a ‘Mr’ not a “sir” kinda like uMnumzana and i inquired about you health not the weather
4 Mar 2011, 09:40 am
@Transie:
Sawubona ndoda…Remember last year I told u about Robbie Freaun..said he was a year or 2 from finished article but has the whole package…See what I meant?? Uyinja!!!
SBW might be the real deal…he is tearing Tom Carter & Halangahu a new as*hole…only weakness is his lack of speed.but otherwise he is complete
@Hondo(Hondo)-37: they are particularily bad with the forward passes. I also saw a couple from the Blues last week-end, which were blantant but no sanction, bit fn annoying.
@Transformation(Transformation)-32: Sonny BIll is starting to open up – a nice try, lots of decent passes and offloads.
4 Mar 2011, 09:41 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-29:
short term effort will be rewarded by two months of paid rest
@Transformation(Transformation)-43:
Shows you how kak my Xhosa is!
I know you asked about my health – “impilo”.
Are you doing well?
saders in a different class out there….those 2 centres very special
@justrugby(justrugby)-36: the game is not finished!
4 Mar 2011, 09:42 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-41: coloureds unite
4 Mar 2011, 09:42 am
Knew Saders were going to do it.
4 Mar 2011, 09:46 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-51:
Don’t mess with us.
We swear like troopers have no teeth and smell funny.
4 Mar 2011, 09:47 am
The Waratahs have caught the Brumbies disease – lots of nice stuff happening in the backline, but its all going sideways. Nothing straight, nothing forward.
4 Mar 2011, 09:48 am
@Puma(Puma)-52: I actually doubted them. i thought they would be too distracted with the earthquake drama. But good on them.
4 Mar 2011, 09:49 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-51: Dyslexics untie!
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-44: Sawubona sbali sam…hayi ndoda uFruean ngimbone kuleya-ITM cup bekashisa bhe!!!! i thought GH would take him on the eoyt last year considering that stephen donald was also selected on the strength of performances in that comp…
even against the Blues, the second Sader try by Ellis originated from Fruean busting through and ripping up the field…
@Dawn(Dawn)-53: Hey I dont smell funny! lol We are the majority in Cape Town….they can come and take us on.
4 Mar 2011, 09:50 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-54: not even the passes
4 Mar 2011, 09:51 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-48: i’m great thanks, always a pleasure to see you on this forum..
@Dawn(Dawn)-53: You only smell funny because there’s an overconcentration of you.
I love coloured women.
Just never, ever piss them off…
4 Mar 2011, 09:52 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-55:
Nothing like an earthquake to motivate a team.
Opposite effect
4 Mar 2011, 09:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-61:
At least now we know definitively who is responsible for the massive depletion of fish stocks globally.
Marine biologists everywhere are rejoicing.
4 Mar 2011, 09:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-61:
Yes.
We also like to marinade ourselves in whatever perfume is cheapest on the stalletjie by the station.
4 Mar 2011, 09:55 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-13:
Fortunately you get it wrong more often than not.
4 Mar 2011, 09:55 am
Daai opmerkings oor kleurlinge was nie Kuli.
4 Mar 2011, 09:56 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-62: True
4 Mar 2011, 09:56 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-64:
Hey. Don’t hold us responsible for the End of the Line.
We catch fish and sell to white people.
4 Mar 2011, 09:57 am
Doing it for the whole country, superb stuff from the Crusaders.
4 Mar 2011, 09:57 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-69:
True.
4 Mar 2011, 09:59 am
eish Ranger catching flak in absentia…
4 Mar 2011, 10:01 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-72:
Rangerman’s a good oke, I’m sure he can take it.
4 Mar 2011, 10:05 am
If the Waratahs had taken penalty chances rather than kicking for the corner, they might have had a chance of winning this game.
4 Mar 2011, 10:08 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-73: can you please ask Bheki Cele to put his dogs war from Police Intelligence back in their kernels, what are they doing raiding the offices of the Public Protector, just weeks after she found him in the wrong for leasing buildings without following the proper procedure? behaviour unbecoming from the “General”!
4 Mar 2011, 10:10 am
Is pakalani any good?
4 Mar 2011, 10:10 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-75:
Dogs war back in their kernels?
Magtag.
No wonder Manyi get so bedonnerd.
4 Mar 2011, 10:14 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-76: He is quick, nice running style, good feet, very small, good broken field runner. Looks to be a nice attacking wing – he scored a good try, taking a gap outside a flanker.
No comment
ahhh my least favourite S15team loosing…its going to be a good weekend.
Now I just need to catch some fish!
4 Mar 2011, 10:15 am
Oh, and agreed, it is conduct unbecoming.
Cele should resign.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-78: is he fijian? Sounds exciting.
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-80:
There’s none left, bru. Didn’t you read Kuli’s column? The coloureds ate them all.
4 Mar 2011, 10:17 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-82: Recent Tongan under 20 captain.
4 Mar 2011, 10:17 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-83: Da issie vissie.
4 Mar 2011, 10:18 am
talking of fish…went to Moyos in Blouberg last nite…had a West Coast Snoek Pate starter….bloody awesome !
4 Mar 2011, 10:19 am
I @WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-83: I live in Sydney and there are many ex kapies here too. It seems its not only witouks and jews that migrated here.
Met a paramedic here who once worked in the Muizenebrg beach patrol who left with all his extended family. His reckons its sooo quite compared to the vlaktes.
Actually there are lot of ex Safa Indians here too.
4 Mar 2011, 10:21 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-77: Dogs of war!
4 Mar 2011, 10:21 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-66: well done to the saders.
i too thought the emotions would overcome them but they focussed and gave the tahs an *** whupping!
one game down, plentsch rugby to come and i am going looking for bugs a bit later.
yes please!
4 Mar 2011, 10:22 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-87:
We ain’t going that far.
We will be starting a coloured colony in Mozambique.
4 Mar 2011, 10:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-88:
KENNELS not KERNELS
4 Mar 2011, 10:23 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-87:
Well, it’s no surprise then that most of the combat medics operating in Afghanistan come to Cape Town for practical training…they spend a few weeks on a bus on the Vlakte and they’ll have seen more stab wounds and gunshot wounds than they would in a few years in, say, Australia.
Paramedics are heroes. If I find one in a pub I buy him/her a drink – who knows, next time they might be digging a round out of me!
4 Mar 2011, 10:24 am
Saders Up…
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-55: Yeah, just knew they would win, but never thought by this much. They a classy team for sure.
Well done Saders.
Roar.
@Dawn(Dawn)-90: Yes you are. There is a vlaktes in western sydney.
@rangerman(rangerman)-89:
Forgot to congratulate you on your fine win over my team last weekend.
4 Mar 2011, 10:25 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-91: kennels it is then
4 Mar 2011, 10:26 am
ROAR!!!
no bonus points for either team….good
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-92: LOL ja this oke had some terrible stories to tell of the vlaktes. He will never go back, real gentleman.
Thank SAB for most of the problems
4 Mar 2011, 10:27 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-89: Howzit Ranger,
Nah, I just knew they would win this one. Their people needed something to smile about, they delivered.
Very classy team this. We face them on our last game on tour. Gonna be a really tough one.
4 Mar 2011, 10:29 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-96:
We starting a vlaktes here in …. Zanzibar.
Never mind Moz.
@grant10(grant10)-100:
They look very good though, away from their normal ground, city destroyed etc they will be there or there abouts this year as they are every year, the most consistent team in super rugby by a long long way.
@Dawn(Dawn)-90:
there go the crayfish and prawns then.
4 Mar 2011, 10:31 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-104:
I’m tipping your team to edge the match tonight against the Lions.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-70: Well done to Saders mate. Said yesterday they would do it for their people. There is nothing quite like passion. Good on them.
Sharks face them in 4 weeks time. Think that will be tough game for my Sharks.
Roar look at that score … the Saders will walk this competition and become champs, again, no use thinking otherwise …. it is true. And when King Richie returns eish!
Only disappointed that my Lions will not get the chance to thump them at the Den, like we did 3 seasons ago.
Man what a ridiculous amount of midfield talent the kiwis have, wish we had that problem….Looks like it was the tahs previous opposition that was the reason they were looking so good early in the comp.
4 Mar 2011, 10:34 am
@Dex(Dex)-109: Kiwis produce backs like we produce forwards. They never short their ever. Almost all their teams have superb backs.
4 Mar 2011, 10:34 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-97: thanks man.
ja, durbs is a hard place to visit but the blues will do well this year no doubt.
mealamu is a true warrior.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-92: howdy wptid!
how goes it?
i am off tot he beach in an hours time, cant wait.
4 Mar 2011, 10:35 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-106:
Hope so, Blues have the players but I have my doubts about the coach the last time they had a great coach in 03′ they won it.
@Puma(Puma)-107:
Is that in NZ?
4 Mar 2011, 10:35 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-111:
Was great when I was there…
4 Mar 2011, 10:36 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-111: Lekker day here for the beach Ranger. We are in a drought though. The last rain we had was when Sharks played Cheetahs.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-106: noted and I will be laughing at you later tonight.
Supporting the enemy, the antibodies over the Lions. Hell the only team not worth supporting over the enemy is the guppies
@rangerman(rangerman)-111:
I am well, thanks.
I was in your neck of the woods – Durban North to be precise – a few weeks ago, but only for one night for a work course.
Hope you get some nice big bugs!
4 Mar 2011, 10:37 am
@Puma(Puma)-102: howdy man, ja the saders are looking the bizness.
i was impressed with sbw actually.
his offloading is sublime.
the tahs started well but it looks like barnes is a bigger loss than i expected.
how do you think the game vs the force should go tomorrow?
i have tipped the lions to edge it vs the blues simply because of the highveld factor.
4 Mar 2011, 10:37 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-112: Yes, Sharks and Bulls face Saders in NZ. That is one game I am not counting on. Saders are so tough to beat on their turf.
4 Mar 2011, 10:38 am
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-115:
Nothing personal, I just have my money on the Blues, that’s all
4 Mar 2011, 10:39 am
@Puma(Puma)-118:
Thats good to know, I didn’t see the game how did the front row go and in particular Franks?
4 Mar 2011, 10:39 am
The Crusaders looking ominous.
superbru already in its moer.
4 Mar 2011, 10:40 am
@Puma(Puma)-110: they don’t have flyhalf though!
4 Mar 2011, 10:41 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-113: haha, i am glad you enjoyed!
@Puma(Puma)-114: @WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-116: man guys the ocean is like a mirror today.
and though season started on tues, today is my first opportunity to dive.
will take my bag and then head out for an hour or two to the back and see if i can get a fish or two for dinner.
wptid, if you are ever in this neck of the woods again, you pint with the ranger buddy! durbs is a fun place i assure you.
4 Mar 2011, 10:43 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-36: woof!
get flucked.
4 Mar 2011, 10:44 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-123:
Stop it, i’m stuck in the middle of a desert and haven’t dived for nearly 3 years, what do you get of Durban diving lobster, scallop?
4 Mar 2011, 10:45 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-125:
herpes.
4 Mar 2011, 10:45 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-117: I only saw this game today from when SBW got his try. He is top class.
We should win it. Then one never knows. I don’t think there is anything in the travel to Perth. Only a 9 hour flight and 6 hours ahead of us. So that won’t matter. BUT it is very hot there. Looked at the weather been 34 all week, but it is a night game and it cools down at night there. So don’t think weather factor will spoil it.
Must cut down on our handling errors, but think that was mostly due to the humid conditions here. Otherwise I think we should win it. Not by much but by 3 or something like that. Hoping. Our forwards I feel are better than theirs. We should win the battle there. They do have Pocock though, but we will be aware of that.
I have Sharks to win by 5 I think. I also have Lions to win this one tonight. Think it will be tough on Blues after having to travel here, play in tough humid conditions now to face a Lions side that will keep possession and run everything at Altitude. That will be tough. Blues had two hard games as well against Saders and Sharks. I have Lions by 3
4 Mar 2011, 10:47 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-126:
If you’re lucky…
4 Mar 2011, 10:50 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-124:
Come on admit it ……..your egotistic, big mouth has made you look like a pr ick !!!
Again, and again and again !!! twat !!
@rangerman(rangerman)-123: Enjoy it Ranger, the weather is brilliant for that.
@rangerman(rangerman)-123:
Aaaaagh stop bragging man.
The sea is like a mirror here too.
And don’t you greet coloureds. Am waitiing whole farking morning for my “Howdy Dawn”
4 Mar 2011, 10:52 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-125: we call them crayfish or “bugs” but the proper name is “east coast rock lobster”.
the water is warm and they arent as deep or as big as what i have seen in pics from nz and we free dive them.
i take oysters and mussels too.
and i am getting into spearfishing at the moment and hoping i can start bringing home fresh fish for the missus as she gets a bit irritated when i am out all day and dont bring home the bacon.
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-126:
you are doing it wrong!
@Puma(Puma)-127: i am nervous given how we have come unstuck in so called “gimmes” over the last two seasons.
no game is a gimme as the brumbies found out last week and the poms found out on wed night.
4 Mar 2011, 10:52 am
By the way for those that have not played Oubaai, put it on your golfing agenda, fantastic course.
4 Mar 2011, 10:54 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-132:
I would get irritated too
Whole day fishing and bring home nuttin’.
Here is coloured people can teach you how to fish.
4 Mar 2011, 10:54 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-128:
ja boet.
i took mrs gunther out for a lovely dinner at la colombe.
we got home and I fetched a couple of nightcaps.
that was the last thing I remember before waking up on the sofa with a stiff neck.
I may have given her the wrong drink.
4 Mar 2011, 10:55 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-132: I am always nervous when our team plays buddy. Just have to wait and see. We do lose to teams sometimes I expect us to win. So yeah, the nerves are always there. Just hope we get a win on our first game on tour. That will set us up nicely.
How big are the crays you get? Love the stuff…..lol. Thought the best crays were in the Cape?
4 Mar 2011, 10:55 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-123: Please can you dart a shark for me
4 Mar 2011, 10:56 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-135:
No, she spiked your drink
4 Mar 2011, 10:57 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-135:
4 Mar 2011, 10:58 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-135: Check your wallet.
4 Mar 2011, 10:58 am
The best chow is a kreef tail or perly on the braai
Nice red west coast rock lobster
4 Mar 2011, 11:01 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-141: The west coast sure do have the best. Well the best I have ever had.
4 Mar 2011, 11:02 am
Still waiting ………………………….
4 Mar 2011, 11:03 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-140:
Mrs Gunther makes far more money than I do
I think she may have taken advantage of me.
4 Mar 2011, 11:04 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-143:
Statistics show that 1-in-20 of us live next door
to a convicted paedo. Not me, though, I live next
door to two stunning eight year-olds.
4 Mar 2011, 11:05 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-144: Unless she got you to put up some shelves, I doubt it.
4 Mar 2011, 11:05 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-129: for expressing my opinion?
i hope you are wearing pads because you seem a touch emo today JR.
@Puma(Puma)-130: cheers man!
@Dawn(Dawn)-131: howdy Dawnie!
there is an over concentration of caryfish in my hunting grounds so i am aiming to sort that out
4 Mar 2011, 11:07 am
@Puma(Puma)-136: man, i get some big crays.
one will feed you, two will make you fat!
but you never know if you will have any luck til you are in the water and with that, i am off!
cheers all!
4 Mar 2011, 11:10 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-148: They sould a good size then Ranger.
Good luck hope you get a few…lol.
Cheers bud.
4 Mar 2011, 11:10 am
@Puma(Puma)-149: sould = sound
4 Mar 2011, 11:11 am
Out of here now. Catch up later.
Cheers everyone.
4 Mar 2011, 11:12 am
What’s with the women giving the guys a hard time.
The extent of my requirements from a man is to bring me Grouse on demand.
4 Mar 2011, 11:24 am
Scary stuff this! When I saw the headline it sent shivers down my spine. There I was thinking the Tahs were the best in the comp so far…oh hell no! Jeez these okes really are made of steel mentally, to be playing like this after their city was devastated. Credit where its due. I can’t see any of the SA teams troubling the Saders and they just ripped apart the best team in Aus. I can see it being a Saders vs Blues final. Finisn en klaar.
4 Mar 2011, 11:25 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-152:
you sound like you could do with a hard time.
4 Mar 2011, 11:37 am
Yep Saders without MCaw and traditional slow starters makes then now favourites to win
4 Mar 2011, 11:39 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-148:
Actually we call them crayfish as well, you don’t have to dive deep in NZ to get decent crays, the diving back home is superb, a little cold but clear and clean, an abundance of scallops, paua, mussels and sea fish I often ask myself what the fark im doing in China.
4 Mar 2011, 11:39 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-155:
Steady on Kev its early days mate.
4 Mar 2011, 11:41 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-156:
What the fark are you doing in China?
4 Mar 2011, 11:41 am
Red or green crays
4 Mar 2011, 11:46 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-156:
Fish market, they have the best anyway.
In China.
4 Mar 2011, 11:46 am
University of the Western Cape (UWC) head coach Deon Davids has been snapped up by the Golden Lions Rugby Union as coach of their Vodacom Cup and Under-21 teams.
Roar my beautiful Lions, roar!
4 Mar 2011, 11:48 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-159:
Both, the green are the pack horses and some of them can be huge.
4 Mar 2011, 11:49 am
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-161: Nnooooooo. I want U-dubs to qualify for the varsity cup. Wait when is he leaving?
4 Mar 2011, 11:50 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-160:
Im 2000 km from the sea no fresh stuff here, unless some goverment guy takes you out and then the skies the limit.
4 Mar 2011, 11:51 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-158:
Wife and twins
Congrats Crusaders! I hope this helps to lift the spirits of the great people of Christchurch! Good luck to all!
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-161: Decent signing.
4 Mar 2011, 12:05 pm
indeed iori, indeed. Rassie was caught sleeping, I guess he likes coaching the WP under 21 team himself. WPians you get to keep Chester Williams and Loffie in the Cape.
University of the Western Cape (UWC) head coach Deon Davids has been snapped up by the Golden Lions Rugby Union as coach of their Vodacom Cup and Under-21 teams.
Davids, who – up until now – has been in charge of UWC in the inaugural Varsity Shield, will join former Bulls age-group coach Nico Serfontein at the helm of the Lions’ Vodacom Cup side.
Davids is no stranger to top-level coaching, having been in charge of the Boland Currie Cup team in 2009. He was replaced in that job by Chester Williams, who suffered a string of poor results in the position and was, in turn, replaced by former Lions coach Eugene Eloff.
The former UWC mentor had his side playing some exciting, running rugby in the inaugural Varsity Shield – something that he feels will be encouraged by the rest of the coaching staff at the Lions.
As things stand now, UWC are in third place on the Varsity Shield log – six points behind the second-placed FNB CUT and eight points behind the top-placed FNB Wits side. A play-off spot is not out of the question yet, but the loss of Davids will be a big blow to the Western Cape outfit.
Although he has been with the union for a couple of days only, Davids is already clearly excited about working with high-pedigree coaches – such as former All Blacks boss John Mitchell and his assistant, former New Zealand Test flyhalf Carlos Spencer.
“It’s only my first week, but we have had some interesting talks already regarding their vision and philosophy about the game.
“I think that it’s something that I can identify with and I’m looking forward to being involved here,” he told rugby365.com.
Golden Lions Rugby Union CEO Manie Reynecke explained that the plan was that Davids and Serfontein would coach the Vodacom Cup side together for the interim, after which Serfontein would move on to a different role within the union developing their structures.
He told rugby365.com: “We have to expand our coaching corps; it is part of our long-term strategy and fits in with our structures that we are developing.
“Obviously he (Davids) comes with a decent track record, so we are happy to have him involved here,” he added.
By Michael de Vries
4 Mar 2011, 12:12 pm
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-168: The Lions are setting up great structures.
4 Mar 2011, 12:20 pm
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-168: Tacitus won’t like this…
4 Mar 2011, 12:26 pm
if the lions lose again this weekend it will be how many games in a row?
4 Mar 2011, 12:30 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-160:
I went to a seafood disco last night ………. and pulled a mussel.
4 Mar 2011, 12:32 pm
@Panache ( òó /) Aplomb(Panache and Aplomb)-172:
it might have been worse.
you could have gone home with crabs.
4 Mar 2011, 12:38 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-171: my boi, tell daddy red what’s the highest you have ever counted without the use of your fingers and toes?
4 Mar 2011, 12:43 pm
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-174:
well I didn’t think it was that bad.
more red ***** on the braai this weekend
keep them structures coming
4 Mar 2011, 12:45 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-173: If you find yourself thinking you cod have danced all night that’s a moray.
4 Mar 2011, 12:50 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-175: well if it gets really bad you can always use your little muir as an extra pinky to help with the counting.
4 Mar 2011, 12:51 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-176:
sadly I got thrown out by the bouncer for being a grouper…
4 Mar 2011, 12:53 pm
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-177:
fortunately I have very fat fingers.
which is why mrs redlion always has a smile on her face
4 Mar 2011, 12:54 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-171: If the Bulls supporters accidentally beat their wives again this weekend, how many in a row would that be?
4 Mar 2011, 12:56 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-180:
do we have a history of wife beating?
I didn’t get the memo.
4 Mar 2011, 12:57 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-176: Ha ha, very good. But still a few rungs short of the best line in Finding Nemo – “With fronds like these, who needs anemones?”
4 Mar 2011, 13:03 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-181: It’s all accidental, of course, and certainly won’t fly in court. The defence attorney simply whips out The Formula – 2(klippies) squared x the square root of the ref + a request to turn down the sound = an irresistible force – and the judge throws it out quicker than a Shaik parole hearing.
4 Mar 2011, 13:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-183:
4 Mar 2011, 13:07 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-175: eeeeew the mrs rl is actually 7 year old pitbull terrier named Pumba, after that hog in the Lion King, I guess that explains the funny walk … eeeew Gunther, eeew.
4 Mar 2011, 13:11 pm
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-185:
mrs redlion is a bull terrier?
punda?
an easy mistake to make.
I guess what you save on shoes and handbags you lose on foodbills.
fighting over the remote can’t be that fun either.
4 Mar 2011, 13:13 pm
Hmmm…. only the Bulls, Sharks, Stormers and Highlanders are undefeated now.
If all goes right, the only undefeated sides after this week will be South African, and all three will be at the top of the table.
4 Mar 2011, 13:18 pm
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-174: You cant count the number of consecutive Lions losses on your fingers anyway, you will need toes as well and if they lose tonight, it will be onto the last foot with only 4 toes left.
Lets hope the Lions don’t lose tonight. As said here last week, losing to local opposition is one thing, but in the format of the current competition, the Cheetahs and Lions being the whipping boys of the antipodean boys puts pressure on the genuine contestants in the South African conference.
So – please Lions – don’t lose this one. Try not to screw this one up.
4 Mar 2011, 13:21 pm
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-187: The Sharks have such a bad record in Australia. I am a bit nervous for the Western Force game.
You know the Sharks have the most Super rugby wins of any South African franchise over the history of Super rugby, but – they have won the least number of games against Australian opposition of any team.
So – a bit nervous for this weekend.
Best though is the Lions mustn’t lose to the Blues. If the Bulls beat the Highlanders all is still well.
4 Mar 2011, 13:59 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-176: GOOD ONE
4 Mar 2011, 14:36 pm
bulls men beating their wives are very common behaviour just as it is them normally marrying their sisters.
4 Mar 2011, 14:41 pm
great victory for the mighty crusaders!nothing can compensate for the death and destruction but this will at least put a smile on the faces of the citizens of christchurch.well done boys.keep up the good work and smash the overrated sharks as well.
4 Mar 2011, 14:56 pm
@capo(capo)-192: Are you a kiwi? If the Sharks are overrated then so must be the Stormers who only just scraped a win against a bottom feeder team.
4 Mar 2011, 15:03 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-193: we are not discussing the stormers here now,but the mighty crusaders!how many super titles have the crusaders won compared to the sharks?if you can answer that question honestly i then believe your mind will be expanded in terms of the meaning of the word ‘overrated’.
4 Mar 2011, 15:12 pm
The Sharks are overwhelming favourites to win the saffa conference.
4 Mar 2011, 15:16 pm
@capo(capo)-194: what about the answer to “are you a kiwi?”
4 Mar 2011, 15:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-195: did you cut and paste that from your last posts?
4 Mar 2011, 15:17 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-196: are you jr’s spokesperson?
4 Mar 2011, 15:18 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-197: buz’ entanyeni uba umqala awuthethi!
4 Mar 2011, 15:35 pm
@capo(capo)-198: no but are you a kiwi?
4 Mar 2011, 15:40 pm
ask your neck if your neck doesn’t speak – are you talking in parables?
4 Mar 2011, 15:46 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-193
His overenthusiastic support of the Kiwis clearly identify him as Sefrican.
4 Mar 2011, 15:47 pm
Good Luck to the Lions tonight!
and of course to the Sharks and Bulls tomorrow!!
4 Mar 2011, 15:48 pm
Crusaders are the black beast of the Waratahs. Two Super rugby finals, and a lot of regular matches, no doubt about it. May be it is psycholocical
4 Mar 2011, 15:49 pm
Perdon, psychological,
4 Mar 2011, 16:59 pm
The Tahs really let me down, thought they might pip this one.
Tahs 2
Lions 6
Chiefs 8
Brumbies 5
Sharks 7
Cheetahs 1
Bulls 11
Was doing so well on Bru which is not the norm.
4 Mar 2011, 17:03 pm
Not a massive fan of either team -saders def played well enough to win. In my opinion its a shame we still have to tolerate a home town ref who had two sets of rules tonight. Tahs got pinged for everything until the last 20 when the saders had the match in the bag. Breakdown was particularly inconsistent.
It’s a shame we never saw an even contest cause I think the saders would have won the game despite the ref. Dissapointed that such a potentially great game was tarnished by incosistency.
I love watching the top teams play but I thought tonight would be more even contest. Unfortunately the Tahs and the ref put in sub standard performances. I felt that after about 30 mins the tahs just gave in to adversity with the saders diving over the ball and not being called for any knock ons. Maybe I’m being unkind to a city that just experienced a teriible trajedy.
4 Mar 2011, 17:16 pm
ROAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LIIIIIIIOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNSSSSSSSSS