Classy Crusaders torture Tahs
4 Mar 2011
RYAN VREDE watched the Crusaders make a statement of intent with a 33-18 victory over the Waratahs in Nelson.
For the first quarter you would have been forgiven for putting your money on the Waratahs for a comfortable victory, such was the Crusaders’ incompetence across all facets of play. However, they showed all the class they’ve become renowned for thereafter, tearing away to victory off the back of an excellent forward display, midfield dominance, a flawless kicking performance from Dan Carter and the desire to bring some cheer, however fleeting, to the earthquake-ravaged city of Christchurch.
The performance was superlative, but ominously, they are likely to get better and can still bank on the return of their inspirational captain Richie McCaw.
The Tahs, so good in the last fortnight, will reflect on this match and cringe. Their early tries came from the Crusaders’ errors, the first birthed from a scrum earned when Sonny Bill Williams, who started awfully but improved exponentially as the match progressed, threw a wild pass at Carter who knocked on. The second emanated from a Luke Burgess turnover, the scrumhalf then rounding off the move in the corner after an expansive attack and slick passing interchange.
However, that was as good as it got for the visitors, who were let down badly by replacement flyhalf Daniel Halangahu, in for the injured Berrick Barnes. Halangahu missed two conversions and a penalty before he was relieved of the kicking duties, but his nightmare continued when he threw the intercepted pass that gave the dynamic and powerful Robbie Fruean the first of two tries. Fruean’s second was vintage Crusaders, dominating the collisions and offloading skilfully in contact. Williams redeemed himself after his earlier error by deftly picking off Fruean despite the attention of two defenders. Carter kicked the conversion, his second, which followed four penalties, for a 26-13 lead.
Any ambitions of a comeback the Tahs may have haboured were shattered when Williams finished a move that again featured a bulldozing run from his midfield partner, Fruean.
The Tahs were patently distraught. They were being decimated at scrum time, battered at the tackle point and cut to shreds by a backline directed masterfully by Carter, whose centres were brutally efficient. Rarely has a Tahs team been made to look so impotent, so utterly devoid of attacking ideas. Certainly they didn’t help their cause by failing to do the basics well, but their desperation at 20 points down probably had everything to do with that.
There was a late consolation score for Afa Pakalani, but it didn’t plaster over a deeply flawed performance. They were completely outplayed by a team who, if they can replicate this standard consistently, will be very, very hard to beat.
Crusaders - Tries: Robbie Fruean (2), Sonny Bill Williams. Conversions: Dan Carter (3). Penalties: Carter (4)
Waratahs - Tries: Tom Carter, Luke Burgess, Afa Pakalani. Penalties: Kurtley Beale

208 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
4 Mar 2011, 10:26 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-92: LOL ja this oke had some terrible stories to tell of the vlaktes. He will never go back, real gentleman.
Thank SAB for most of the problems
4 Mar 2011, 10:27 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-89: Howzit Ranger,
Nah, I just knew they would win this one. Their people needed something to smile about, they delivered.
Very classy team this. We face them on our last game on tour. Gonna be a really tough one.
4 Mar 2011, 10:29 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-96:
We starting a vlaktes here in …. Zanzibar.
Never mind Moz.
@grant10(grant10)-100:
They look very good though, away from their normal ground, city destroyed etc they will be there or there abouts this year as they are every year, the most consistent team in super rugby by a long long way.
@Dawn(Dawn)-90:
there go the crayfish and prawns then.
4 Mar 2011, 10:31 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-104:
I’m tipping your team to edge the match tonight against the Lions.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-70: Well done to Saders mate. Said yesterday they would do it for their people. There is nothing quite like passion. Good on them.
Sharks face them in 4 weeks time. Think that will be tough game for my Sharks.
Roar look at that score … the Saders will walk this competition and become champs, again, no use thinking otherwise …. it is true. And when King Richie returns eish!
Only disappointed that my Lions will not get the chance to thump them at the Den, like we did 3 seasons ago.
Man what a ridiculous amount of midfield talent the kiwis have, wish we had that problem….Looks like it was the tahs previous opposition that was the reason they were looking so good early in the comp.
4 Mar 2011, 10:34 am
@Dex(Dex)-109: Kiwis produce backs like we produce forwards. They never short their ever. Almost all their teams have superb backs.
4 Mar 2011, 10:34 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-97: thanks man.
ja, durbs is a hard place to visit but the blues will do well this year no doubt.
mealamu is a true warrior.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-92: howdy wptid!
how goes it?
i am off tot he beach in an hours time, cant wait.
4 Mar 2011, 10:35 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-106:
Hope so, Blues have the players but I have my doubts about the coach the last time they had a great coach in 03′ they won it.
@Puma(Puma)-107:
Is that in NZ?
4 Mar 2011, 10:35 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-111:
Was great when I was there…
4 Mar 2011, 10:36 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-111: Lekker day here for the beach Ranger. We are in a drought though. The last rain we had was when Sharks played Cheetahs.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-106: noted and I will be laughing at you later tonight.
Supporting the enemy, the antibodies over the Lions. Hell the only team not worth supporting over the enemy is the guppies
@rangerman(rangerman)-111:
I am well, thanks.
I was in your neck of the woods – Durban North to be precise – a few weeks ago, but only for one night for a work course.
Hope you get some nice big bugs!
4 Mar 2011, 10:37 am
@Puma(Puma)-102: howdy man, ja the saders are looking the bizness.
i was impressed with sbw actually.
his offloading is sublime.
the tahs started well but it looks like barnes is a bigger loss than i expected.
how do you think the game vs the force should go tomorrow?
i have tipped the lions to edge it vs the blues simply because of the highveld factor.
4 Mar 2011, 10:37 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-112: Yes, Sharks and Bulls face Saders in NZ. That is one game I am not counting on. Saders are so tough to beat on their turf.
4 Mar 2011, 10:38 am
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-115:
Nothing personal, I just have my money on the Blues, that’s all
4 Mar 2011, 10:39 am
@Puma(Puma)-118:
Thats good to know, I didn’t see the game how did the front row go and in particular Franks?
4 Mar 2011, 10:39 am
The Crusaders looking ominous.
superbru already in its moer.
4 Mar 2011, 10:40 am
@Puma(Puma)-110: they don’t have flyhalf though!
4 Mar 2011, 10:41 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-113: haha, i am glad you enjoyed!
@Puma(Puma)-114: @WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-116: man guys the ocean is like a mirror today.
and though season started on tues, today is my first opportunity to dive.
will take my bag and then head out for an hour or two to the back and see if i can get a fish or two for dinner.
wptid, if you are ever in this neck of the woods again, you pint with the ranger buddy! durbs is a fun place i assure you.
4 Mar 2011, 10:43 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-36: woof!
get flucked.
4 Mar 2011, 10:44 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-123:
Stop it, i’m stuck in the middle of a desert and haven’t dived for nearly 3 years, what do you get of Durban diving lobster, scallop?
4 Mar 2011, 10:45 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-125:
herpes.
4 Mar 2011, 10:45 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-117: I only saw this game today from when SBW got his try. He is top class.
We should win it. Then one never knows. I don’t think there is anything in the travel to Perth. Only a 9 hour flight and 6 hours ahead of us. So that won’t matter. BUT it is very hot there. Looked at the weather been 34 all week, but it is a night game and it cools down at night there. So don’t think weather factor will spoil it.
Must cut down on our handling errors, but think that was mostly due to the humid conditions here. Otherwise I think we should win it. Not by much but by 3 or something like that. Hoping. Our forwards I feel are better than theirs. We should win the battle there. They do have Pocock though, but we will be aware of that.
I have Sharks to win by 5 I think. I also have Lions to win this one tonight. Think it will be tough on Blues after having to travel here, play in tough humid conditions now to face a Lions side that will keep possession and run everything at Altitude. That will be tough. Blues had two hard games as well against Saders and Sharks. I have Lions by 3
4 Mar 2011, 10:47 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-126:
If you’re lucky…
4 Mar 2011, 10:50 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-124:
Come on admit it ……..your egotistic, big mouth has made you look like a pr ick !!!
Again, and again and again !!! twat !!
@rangerman(rangerman)-123: Enjoy it Ranger, the weather is brilliant for that.
@rangerman(rangerman)-123:
Aaaaagh stop bragging man.
The sea is like a mirror here too.
And don’t you greet coloureds. Am waitiing whole farking morning for my “Howdy Dawn”
4 Mar 2011, 10:52 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-125: we call them crayfish or “bugs” but the proper name is “east coast rock lobster”.
the water is warm and they arent as deep or as big as what i have seen in pics from nz and we free dive them.
i take oysters and mussels too.
and i am getting into spearfishing at the moment and hoping i can start bringing home fresh fish for the missus as she gets a bit irritated when i am out all day and dont bring home the bacon.
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-126:
you are doing it wrong!
@Puma(Puma)-127: i am nervous given how we have come unstuck in so called “gimmes” over the last two seasons.
no game is a gimme as the brumbies found out last week and the poms found out on wed night.
4 Mar 2011, 10:52 am
By the way for those that have not played Oubaai, put it on your golfing agenda, fantastic course.
4 Mar 2011, 10:54 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-132:
I would get irritated too
Whole day fishing and bring home nuttin’.
Here is coloured people can teach you how to fish.
4 Mar 2011, 10:54 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-128:
ja boet.
i took mrs gunther out for a lovely dinner at la colombe.
we got home and I fetched a couple of nightcaps.
that was the last thing I remember before waking up on the sofa with a stiff neck.
I may have given her the wrong drink.
4 Mar 2011, 10:55 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-132: I am always nervous when our team plays buddy. Just have to wait and see. We do lose to teams sometimes I expect us to win. So yeah, the nerves are always there. Just hope we get a win on our first game on tour. That will set us up nicely.
How big are the crays you get? Love the stuff…..lol. Thought the best crays were in the Cape?
4 Mar 2011, 10:55 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-123: Please can you dart a shark for me
4 Mar 2011, 10:56 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-135:
No, she spiked your drink
4 Mar 2011, 10:57 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-135:
4 Mar 2011, 10:58 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-135: Check your wallet.
4 Mar 2011, 10:58 am
The best chow is a kreef tail or perly on the braai
Nice red west coast rock lobster
4 Mar 2011, 11:01 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-141: The west coast sure do have the best. Well the best I have ever had.
4 Mar 2011, 11:02 am
Still waiting ………………………….
4 Mar 2011, 11:03 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-140:
Mrs Gunther makes far more money than I do
I think she may have taken advantage of me.
4 Mar 2011, 11:04 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-143:
Statistics show that 1-in-20 of us live next door
to a convicted paedo. Not me, though, I live next
door to two stunning eight year-olds.
4 Mar 2011, 11:05 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-144: Unless she got you to put up some shelves, I doubt it.
4 Mar 2011, 11:05 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-129: for expressing my opinion?
i hope you are wearing pads because you seem a touch emo today JR.
@Puma(Puma)-130: cheers man!
@Dawn(Dawn)-131: howdy Dawnie!
there is an over concentration of caryfish in my hunting grounds so i am aiming to sort that out
4 Mar 2011, 11:07 am
@Puma(Puma)-136: man, i get some big crays.
one will feed you, two will make you fat!
but you never know if you will have any luck til you are in the water and with that, i am off!
cheers all!
4 Mar 2011, 11:10 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-148: They sould a good size then Ranger.
Good luck hope you get a few…lol.
Cheers bud.
4 Mar 2011, 11:10 am
@Puma(Puma)-149: sould = sound
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All