SA latest – Smit back at tighthead
9 Mar 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.
Smit back at tighthead -John Smit will start his first Super Rugby game this season at tighthead prop when the Sharks take on the Rebels in Melbourne on Friday.
Smit replaces Jannie du Plessis in the front row and takes over the captaincy from outside centre Stefan Terblanche.
The other change to the pack sees No 8 Ryan Kankowski promoted from the bench, which sees Keegan Daniel move to openside flank and Jacques Botes drops to the reserves.
Wing Odwa Ndungane has recovered from his light concussion to make the run-on side this weekend, while speedster Lwazi Mvovo replaces the injured JP Pietersen.
Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Bench: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Conrad Hoffmann, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 Adrian Jacobs.
Sharks consider London fixture – The Crusaders are planning to stage their home match against the Sharks in London, but they will need the Durban franchise to agree to the change in venue.
Following the earthquake in Christchurch, the Crusaders have moved to Nelson as a temporary base. Since the disaster, there has been a move to stage a game in London in order to help their financial situation.
According to The Witness, Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl has been approached by his Crusaders counterpart and the Durban franchise is weighing up the pros and cons. The fixture is the Sharks’ fourth and final
tour game before they return to South Africa, so to travel all the way to London would place them at a disadvantage.
Both the Crusaders and Sharks stand to make money from the proposed fixture at Twickenham, but Van Zyl said a ‘rugby decision’ rather than a financial one would be made. The decision will be announced following the Sharks’ game against the Rebels on Friday.
Brussow back in action – Heinrich Brussow will make his return to Super Rugby against the Lions this weekend.
Sias Ebersohn will start at flyhalf while Andries Strauss has been named captain for the Cheetahs’ clash with the Lions. Naas Olivier has been dropped to the bench after some poor performances in the first three rounds.
Coach Naka Drotske has made several other changes, with Riaan Viljoen slotting in at fullback, flanks Philip van der Walt and Brussow introduced to the back row and Martin Muller coming in at lock.
Cheetahs – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Philip Snyman, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss (c), 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Martin Muller, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Subs: 16 Skipper Badenhorst, 17 Kobus Calldo, 18 Kabamba Floors, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Fabien Juries.

536 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
9 Mar 2011, 12:59 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-95: Good point
9 Mar 2011, 13:02 pm
if by tokoloshe you mean kiwis, i ain’t scared of them, ask Popps
9 Mar 2011, 13:03 pm
Sharkies, lets do it. This competition needs some spicing up. If nothing else, it’ll give the other competitors a chance!!
Personally, I’d agree to this. Put big focus into the next 2 weeks, then send Bissie, Alberts, Sykes and Lambie home. Start with John (Burden on bench), Deysel (waiting in London), Mostert and JLP (with Swannie on bench).
4 key players would be well rested for the Stormers game and the 4 replacements are all top quality and would play their balls off to prove they’re up to it.
But we need at least 6 points from the next 2 for my plan to work.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-98: You think? I was going for more of a “house” feel than a “will and grace”..
I’ll have to work a bit on my delivery
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-99: As long as you mapped all the processes a hundred percent right and you compressed that supply chain nicely like a good boy… No time for me. Hardly been posting. Normal HG show is around 5 – 6pm GMT. Too much mess mopping during the day.
People are being clean today so a bit of time to teach on Keo
9 Mar 2011, 13:05 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-104: Yeah, control your emos
Got to go
9 Mar 2011, 13:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-106: I really wish there was a sarcastic font or icon..
9 Mar 2011, 13:13 pm
Just worried about Ndungane, a concussion shouldn’t be so lightly taken. Its a trend in rugby. Should be 10 days minimum.
9 Mar 2011, 13:14 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-106: Where’s grantie? He’s going to blow his lid at this headline!!!
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-96:
Apparently Snor wants to copy The Sharks style of play for the Boks.
Doesn’t this clown have an original idea of his own.
9 Mar 2011, 13:16 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-111: Come on, henry’s being copying the Saders for years!!!
9 Mar 2011, 13:17 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-109: They just change headlines at will here…..hahaha. The last I looked it was about Sharks playing in London.
Anyhow, think the rotating has started. We need to keep players fresh. This game I think is the ideal time to start John. He as scheduled to play in all 3 front row positions.
9 Mar 2011, 13:17 pm
Oooooooh Grantieeee. Come out, come out wherever you are!!
9 Mar 2011, 13:18 pm
@Puma(Puma)-113: Agreed, Jannie has been on awesome form, but just started looking a bit tired in that 2nd half.
9 Mar 2011, 13:19 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-112:
Well he’s picked a class team to copy, that’s for sure.
9 Mar 2011, 13:20 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-116: Henry and Divvie!!
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-115: We will see more rotating as the season goes.
Come on Grantie, come play with the big boys.
9 Mar 2011, 13:21 pm
Cheers everyone, catch up later.
9 Mar 2011, 13:21 pm
@Puma(Puma)-118: For sure, that why I like my London idea.
9 Mar 2011, 13:22 pm
SA latest – Smit back at tighthead
grantie is going to cough up a ball when he reads this.
9 Mar 2011, 13:24 pm
I call upon the Rugby Gods to send forth their Scrum Prophet, Grant10. Let him speak with us, so we, humble supporters, can finally understand the dark art of scrumming.
9 Mar 2011, 13:25 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-111: it is not the Sharks style, it is the kiwi style of play … poachers.
9 Mar 2011, 13:29 pm
The Rebels won’t trouble the Sharks front row any.
Besides, they specifically requested John play against them.
They want to get an indication of form before signing him for next year
9 Mar 2011, 13:31 pm
I see that Keo has his own Radio program these days too…
I wonder if he’s replacing wackhead simpson
9 Mar 2011, 13:31 pm
It’s a style of play that has them whooping arse. Your Kiwi coach is probably coaching your boys in much the same way but your boys aren’t executing it as well I guess.
Another season or two and the team should be firing on all cylinders.
9 Mar 2011, 13:32 pm
Cappie is back!!!! And at 3 to boot hahahahahaha
sharks think rebels are kak…tl tl
9 Mar 2011, 13:34 pm
The reason why John is moved to tight head is because Plumtree knows (like so many of us) that he is not good enough to be hooker. So they keep on throwing him a bone. Time for a new Bok captain, not Vic because I think he get too emotional and I thought I saw a tear in his eye when things didn’t go his way. Send Juan Smith to the best doctors over the world and get him ready…. make him captain too.
9 Mar 2011, 13:35 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-126:
jeremy mansfield
9 Mar 2011, 13:37 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-130: Yeah more like.
9 Mar 2011, 13:43 pm
and now all the little John Smit haters will run in here throwing their grade 2 insults around
9 Mar 2011, 13:45 pm
@Hop Hop Spinnekop(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-129: Plum does not throw him bones, he throws cookies at him.
The real reason why turbo aura is back at 3 is because Plum did not have the balls to look Beast in the eye and ask him to sit on the bench.
9 Mar 2011, 13:53 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-132: John Smit is a hasbeen prick who should have retired 2 years ago, you know it, so tell me why does Plum still put up with him?
9 Mar 2011, 13:58 pm
Oh yeah!! Here goes some real banter.
Well if Brok can play 3, why not John? Lets face it John is the 2nd best scrumming 3 in the country at the moment. Jannie is the best.
9 Mar 2011, 13:58 pm
watch the difference in the scrums on friday….rebels just been thrown a lifeline….
9 Mar 2011, 14:01 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-135: LOL
I can only assume you taking the piss….
I was at the sharks…lions game….smit went to 1 second half…fark me he turbo reversed at a snot spoed.
Who is the rebels loosehead?
9 Mar 2011, 14:01 pm
sharks gonna miss that eugene van staden oke….now thats a fine prospect
9 Mar 2011, 14:02 pm
@@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-86: @Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-98:
I note you have been busy on the early show(rare lately) and with much effect too.
Keep going.
9 Mar 2011, 14:02 pm
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-134: Pat Cilliers is a scrumming joke, everybody in Durban knows that, thats why you picked him up so easy. Brok is useless. WP Nel had one good CC game years ago, where he was allowed to get away with murder come scrum time so except for John, Werner is the only other option, except maybe CJ, but that guys technique is hopeless and Brok seems to AC a better option.
Basically other than Jannie, Smit is the next best scrumming 3 in the country. Stormers should have bought BJ, seems they got there ABCs all wrong.
9 Mar 2011, 14:03 pm
@grant10(grant10)-137: Grant do u reckon we put JS out to pasture? I would!
9 Mar 2011, 14:04 pm
ja…stormers should have bought bj and cj…agree
9 Mar 2011, 14:05 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-141: smit is nothing more than a problem for both the sharks and the boks….
because the plonkers have made promises and now sitting in the ****…
@grant10(grant10)-136: There you are Grantie. Why do Stormers look so closely at meaningless friendlies. Maybe cause its the only thing you ever win?
@grant10(grant10)-138: Van Staden is 30 and has been playing in France for years. He’s a veteran, not a prospect.
Some scrum guru.
@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-134:
same reason we tolerate the guttersnipe lions who couldn’t win a game of rugby against a team of tacklebags.
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-140: Pat Cilliers is NOT a scrumming joke- he always holds his own- especially against taller props. Didn’t he show CJ up recently?
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-144: van staden a damn fine player…far better than that has been mate
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-91:
But this one takes the cake thus far.
I leave you to your devices as I am concentrating on the cricket(and have not read much here).
9 Mar 2011, 14:07 pm
@grant10(grant10)-143: Problem?? For the Sharks?? To me a front-row consisting of CJ Fourie and Brok seems more of a problem!! Hell Smit could start at 2 or 3 and improve your side. Maybe even 1, but I’ll give the over-rated 50 cap veteran the benefit.
9 Mar 2011, 14:08 pm
like a pubic hair on soup.
so it begins.
rara pom pom fat boys dancing queen club in session.
members only
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All