SA latest – Smit back at tighthead

Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.

Smit back at tighthead -John Smit will start his first Super Rugby game this season at tighthead prop when the Sharks take on the Rebels in Melbourne on Friday.

Smit replaces Jannie du Plessis in the front row and takes over the captaincy from outside centre Stefan Terblanche.

The other change to the pack sees No 8 Ryan Kankowski promoted from the bench, which sees Keegan Daniel move to openside flank and Jacques Botes drops to the reserves.

Wing Odwa Ndungane has recovered from his light concussion to make the run-on side this weekend, while speedster Lwazi Mvovo replaces the injured JP Pietersen.

Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Bench: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Conrad Hoffmann, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 Adrian Jacobs.

Sharks consider London fixture – The Crusaders are planning to stage their home match against the Sharks in London, but they will need the Durban franchise to agree to the change in venue.

Following the earthquake in Christchurch, the Crusaders have moved to Nelson as a temporary base. Since the disaster, there has been a move to stage a game in London in order to help their financial situation.

According to The Witness, Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl has been approached by his Crusaders counterpart and the Durban franchise is weighing up the pros and cons. The fixture is the Sharks’ fourth and final
tour game before they return to South Africa, so to travel all the way to London would place them at a disadvantage.

Both the Crusaders and Sharks stand to make money from the proposed fixture at Twickenham, but Van Zyl said a ‘rugby decision’ rather than a financial one would be made. The decision will be announced following the Sharks’ game against the Rebels on Friday.

Brussow back in action – Heinrich Brussow will make his return to Super Rugby against the Lions this weekend.

Sias Ebersohn will start at flyhalf while Andries Strauss has been named captain for the Cheetahs’ clash with the Lions. Naas Olivier has been dropped to the bench after some poor performances in the first three rounds.

Coach Naka Drotske has made several other changes, with Riaan Viljoen slotting in at fullback, flanks Philip van der Walt and Brussow introduced to the back row and Martin Muller coming in at lock.

Cheetahs – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Philip Snyman, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss (c), 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Martin Muller, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Subs: 16 Skipper Badenhorst, 17 Kobus Calldo, 18 Kabamba Floors, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Fabien Juries.

536 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 301.grant10: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-295: he is racist to every decent person on this planet.

And if you find that acceptable it is a sad refection on you as well.

• 302.grant10: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-297: correct…van staden and burden would be my reserves…you are 100 % correct with that assertion

• 303.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-293:

Come on boet. Lets see how the next few games go. Three matches are not enough to judge.

The tour of New Zealand will be the real test and we should be able to see if Puma is right…can he really play all three positions. Time will tell.

One way or another he will be tested.

• 304.ET.: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-294:

Wow you forgot your vulgarity!

Can hardly believe it.

• 305.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-304:

stop humping my leg like a deranged maltese that swallowed granties viagra.

here is a poesklaap.

just for you.

make it last :)

• 306.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-303: he has shown he is not a 3….

he is not good enough to oust Beast

And we all know what a huge player we have in bissy

Smell the coffee my man….

plod is klaar

• 307.Panache : Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-268:

Hey Crank

You could get a job in a charm school – as a bad example

• 308.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-305: sies man….

• 309.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-303: Smit will be playing all 3 front row positions this tourney. Plum stated that from the start. So this is no surprise at all.

We will see Bissie and Beast at some stage on the bench and Smit starting. Long tourney this and with Smit able to play there we are fine. Don’t think John was that bad at th as many make him out to be. We won plenty with him playing there for the Boks in 2009. He plays for some of the game at th for Sharks and gives Jannie a rest is just fine. Every player will need a rest in this long S15. Remember our cover th is injured right now. Just pleased we have John there.

• 310.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-308:

it’s ok.

extraball has promised to replenish your supply :)

• 311.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-309:

If we’ve learnt anything from the Currie Cup and the first three rounds of the Super 15……..Plumtree knows what he’s doing.

People should be grovelling at his feet and hanging on his every word.

If he says Smit is that good…then he is.

• 312.ET.: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-305:

Just a little scratch on the bottom and you come back true to form with the double of vulgarity and sexual references.

I wont hold on hope, I will let you choke on the noose around your neck.

• 313.ET.: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-310:

The problem with your sexual references wrt others is that there is not a modicum of TRUTH in it. Just plain old baby-like thumb sucking.
    Try sucking an orange, it truly is sweeter.

Signs of desperation.

• 314.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Panache ( òó /) Aplomb(Panache and Aplomb)-307: not here to be charming you dom doos…here to voice my opinions….

You want a charmer go find a girlfriend prat

• 315.Transformation: Reply to this comment

if Yoda messes up Cappie’s neck again then it will be all over rover for the aura and we can kiss Bill goodbye!

• 316.ET.: Reply to this comment

India first team to qualify for the quarter-finals.

Is it ominous?

You out there can answer that.

• 317.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-315: would hate to see cappie aura hurt….

believe me though if aura were to walk away the most relieved people would be the boks

the most unhappy would be kiwis, poms, frogs, aussies who all view him as a soft touch.

• 318.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-316: very ominous

i have lost the faith ET

allowed myself to be duped …again…..Jusrtugby warned me…said i was setting myself up for a huge fall

fark…he was so right!

• 319.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-317: You have contacts in the Kiwi,Poms,Frogs and Oz camps that have told you this I gather otherwise its just unsubstantiated rubbish.

Lets agree that JS has never been the best player in his position wherever he has played and that the only reason he was in the Bok and Sharks sides is his leadership skills. It appears that this notion has followed him throughout his career from High School and is one of the reasons the Bulls didn’t offer him a contract when he left school and why he went to Natal. Funny thing is he is still around and has the dubious honour of calling himself a WC medal winner,CC medal winner, A 3N winner and a B&I Lions series winner. Not bad for an average player wouldn’t you say. What is it then that keeps dumb coaches like Plumtree etc selecting him. No accounting for brains there is there.

• 320.ET.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-318:

Hey! that lose to England may just be what is needed to scare them back to earth. It is really early days yet.

They just need to realise that they need to relax as they are like many of the top teams to all intent and purpose in the quarters. For instance if they go into the game against India on Sat. accepting that they do not have to win then they WILL perform better than if they do the reverse.
    They choke when they put pressure on themselves.

• 321.cab: Reply to this comment

what u gaylords harping on about? amandla viva. free biko!

dont concern yourself about cappie and his team, they looking fine.

stick to clifton tannies volleyball action, not frontrow play.

• 322.ET.: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-319:

You are skating on thin ice. Do you enjoy that and do so without fear?

You are sacrificing your stocks if it is placed on Smit. He is long a non-starter in any team I would select as he is and has clearly demonstrated with his performances for more thhan a season already that he is decrepit(i.e. breaking down due to AGE). No one dodges father time.
    But he is not the only one. Juan has already paid the price.

• 323.cab: Reply to this comment

a soft touch … hahahaha … i think i just shat meself – smit has played all over the world against the toughest frontrankers on the planet – and in fact it was the french who first played him regularly at prop. For someone who supposedly did so badly at prop, i find it bizarre that we beat the best scrummaging pack in the world, the BIL.

• 324.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-321:

How the ‘fark’ can you free a dead man and your lot killed him too in the most barbaric manner in the back of a ‘bakkie(not an ambulance) on his way to a Pretoria jail.

• 325.cab: Reply to this comment

do you not what it takes to play in those frontrows, balls of steel, not hottubs and rubber duckies … as far as i can tell smit has never blown his own horn unlike half the other flashman prima donnas supported on here. the coach asks him to play TH he does, the coach asks him to play bench he does it. He’s got a 100 test matches of experience under his belt including bring much pride to SA and u want to take potshots from the tub – get your hand off it – and the rubber ducky.

• 326.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

The pressure on India will be enormous.

I wouldn’t read too much into them being the first to qualify.

They have played all the easy games :)

• 327.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-324:
    i’m sure steve would’ve laughed, than preferred to be eulogised by a bunch of pretend revolutionary prima donnas with an anti-smit agenda.

• 328.cab: Reply to this comment

Its all pretty much immaterial in any case, the coaches are not idiots, Plumtree clearly outlined Smit’s worth, and PdV and kie also know it – The question is not whether Smit will start, cos Beast and Bismark will start, but who you want for backup. You going to pick rallapelle or fourie over smit for the RWC in new zealand? u got rocks in your head, but go on, viva amandla, let chaos ensue, u so used to shouting, your forgot to about thinking.

• 329.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Well I don’t know much ,but I do know that when Smitty plays 3 the scrummy fetches the ball behind the FB’s *** !!!!!!!

This can’t be a good thing………..oh yes before I get referenced to a wonderful 2009, a sublime Brusow, Vic, FDUP,Morne ,Bakkies etc had a small part to play in our success, this despite being humiliated in the scrums.

I am not saying that Smitty cannot do a holding job at LH or hooker, but folks at 3 ?????

Sure the Sharks can utilize him as they see fit, I do not think that PDEV is contemplating him at 3…………….but fark I could be wrong !!!!!!!

• 330.cab: Reply to this comment

so maybe he is not the greatest 3 of all time, but he can cover it in a bind, as i understand his role it is primarily cover for 1 and 2, but the sharks are using at 3 cos of the injury to van staden and rotating the other springboks. who knows why they doing it, but whether the sharks win or lose vs the rebels, i doubt very much it will come down to smit.

• 331.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-330:

Will be interresting to see how it goes, for the Sharks sake I hope it works out !!

• 332.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-330: leave biko out of this you insensitive c unt!

• 333.cab: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-331:
    yes, lets see

@grant10(grant10)-332:
    wtf u calling a c untie, you tasswad? if biko is the best u can come up with to get on your high horse, then u really are desperate. i would wager i have far more respect for biko than u ever did, mr R1.

• 334.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-333: you a c unt of monstrous proportions….need a snotklap…i would gladly oblige….you are a farken insensitive d oos….what a complete wan ker….the disrespect you continue to show to great leaders viciously murdered is beyond comprehension ….you a farken sicko man…fark you !

• 335.cab: Reply to this comment

Grant

You dont have it in you, i’d knock your head straight off your shoulders.

All i want to know is what were you doing with that R1 in your hand when Biko was getting murdered?

Why werent you protesting when the going was tough, rather than conforming? You call this protest? You are a joke man.

• 336.Transformation: Reply to this comment

cobras getting murdered! Yoh!!!!!!

• 337.cab: Reply to this comment

See unfortunately there are people that were deservedly named revolutionaries, and then there are others who talk a good game, but talk alot of **** mostly, and the big problem here is that your pride has got dented again cos i called you out on smittie smittertjie scrumming, and i sense u dont like it that i talk about the tub and rubber ducky, its disrespectful and all, you couldnt give a damn about biko, do you even actually know what biko did?

• 338.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-337: you a disrespectful c unt and should be ashamed of yourself cab…..you ever in CT please get hold of me…please …you farken c unt!

• 339.grant10: Reply to this comment

farken p rick.

• 340.cab: Reply to this comment

actually, i thought our exchanges were largely banter, but you want to make it serious no problem.
    there is no way i could ever take u seriously as a middle class clifton revolutionary, sorry its just not going to happen, i dont really take any of you seriously to be quite honest.
    u seemed to have lost touch with reality. what was once an easy going fella has turned into a right royal peckerhead.
    bladdy idiot.

• 341.grant10: Reply to this comment

fark i am so the moer in…cab…you have no idea you p rick….you a big mouth little c unt….i cant wait to meet you…then we see…

• 342.Transformation: Reply to this comment

calm the hell down fellas

• 343.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-338:
    i’ll give u my email address u want to make something of it, and i actually will be in CT fairly soon, so we can spare everyone else with all this bravado and take it offline if you really got a problem.

• 344.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

LOL. Juicy!

Tell these farken champagne Che revolutionaries the story, Cab.

Sitting back watching you smack them six-love.

• 345.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-344: :lol:

• 346.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-340: fark you…dont even address me again cab….you are the most insensitive c unt ever….i simply cannot believe your audacity ….farken unbelievable….you can banter with me all you like….all your reamrks about me are actually funny….i dont mind..but your flippant and callous remarks about a murdered hero of the people is sick man….who next you gonna denigrate…Hani ?

Have some respect you sick c unt….
    and now…you farken persona non grata forme….so dig at me all you want….but no 1 thing…i have less than farkall respect for you…and think you the biggest c unt on kep…and that includes that unspeakable piece of filth….thought i had seen the biggest d oos ever…but you even surpassed that pr icks lofty heights…

now not amother word to the likes of you …fark off !

• 347.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Careful, the Clifton Tamil Tigers may run you over with their Raleigh bikes.

You are in danger.

They may even rendition you to watch dolphins in a speedo at Camps Bay.

• 348.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-346:
    boohoo, shamepies, shut it man, you silly twat.

• 349.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-340: Cab, You the honest real one here buddy. Don’t take that rubbish from Grant. Anyone swore at me like that I would never take that nonsense.

He twisted everything you said, or probably can’t read and understand too much. Remember what a hypocrite Grant10 is. He supports the IRA who were nothing but cold hearted murderers and he SUPPORTS that.

• 350.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I think Gwantie and Mini-me need bigger tampons. Serious, it is the time of the month when the moon is full zenith.

The emotional confusion for ladies and speedo wearers the world over is at a peak.

Bigshit!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.