Dewaldt holds try-scoring key
10 Mar 2011
JON CARDINELLI says that Dewaldt Duvenage’s snappy service will provide the Stormers with some much needed impetus against the Highlanders.
Any coach will take two from two, but the try-scoring stats must be a cause for concern. The Stormers have scored one pushover try in 160 minutes of rugby. One try is the best they’ve managed against the Lions and Cheetahs, two of the three worst defensive sides in the 2010 Super 14.
Coach Allister Coetzee lamented a lack of energy following the Stormers’ lacklustre win against the Cheetahs. Changes were always going to be made following that terrible showing at Newlands. After recovering from a knee injury, Gio Aplon has been selected, but even he will rely on his forwards to lay the platform and his scrumhalf to translate gain-line dominance into quality backline ball.
While the Stormers’ forwards have been inconsistent this season, Januarie has been consistently disappointing in his primary roles as a distributor and alternate tactical kicker. It surprised to see him getting a starting chance given his form in recent years. Januarie was first shunted to the Stormers bench at the end of the 2009 season, and 2010 saw Duvenage making that No 9 berth his own.
Januarie is favoured for his busts from the base, but if you break down his performances, his high error count and late arrival at the breakdown costs his team momentum. This in turn robs the Stormers of the opportunity to pressure defences and create try-scoring opportunities. Duvenage may be less robust and flashy, but it’s his ability to execute the basics at high speed that has allowed the backline to succeed in previous seasons.
Duvenage started 12 of the Stormers’ 15 games last year, and in that time the team conceded just three defeats. Whether he was a starter or a substitute, he had a profound effect on the Cape side’s try-scoring potential. They scored 26 out of a season total of 39 tries when he was on the park.
While his timing and precision can influence the attack, his decision-making isn’t to be underestimated. Duvenage gives the Stormers a great tactical kicking option, meaning the Cape side can switch between the ball-in-hand approach and the drive for territory. This in turn eases the pressure on flyhalf Peter Grant, and has the opposition defence in two minds.
A lot of people expect the Stormers to come out running on Friday, but to embrace an all-out expansive approach would be foolish. Duvenage will put some pace onto the ball and Aplon will provide the penetration out wide, but the Stormers can’t afford to be too loose against a team like the Highlanders.
Their 2010 success was built on a powerful forward effort. Gain-line dominance will again be crucial in the coming fixture, and Duvenage has an important role to play in wearing down the Highlanders defence. While he won’t threaten the defence at the fringes like Januarie, he will ensure the Stormers control possession and keep moving forward.
The stat of one try in two matches is disappointing but not as concerning as the Stormers’ inability to control possession and build an attack of substance. Now that the Stormers have their key attacking cog back in place, you’d expect the attacking machine to run a lot better. They should play the game that proved so effective in 2010, and once the Highlanders defence has cracked, the tries will come.

51 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
10 Mar 2011, 09:45 am
sooo overrated dragon!
one dimensional!
10 Mar 2011, 09:49 am
at least he will provide quicker ball….it may just be the tonic stormers require…also Aplon to provide some attacking impetus from 15
10 Mar 2011, 09:53 am
Stormers struggled to score tries in 2010 already, and now they have the same halfback combo they had then.
I am not banking on much improvement in this department.
10 Mar 2011, 09:55 am
Ryan – do you guys actually think before you type?
Last week your ominous bulls and now more half-baked ideas?
Although I support the inclusion of this scrummie … the facts you quote do not support your article.
1. He played in 80% of the games (12/15)
2. Only 66% of the tried were scored while he was on the field (26/39)
For your “facts” to support your article, the scoring percentage actually needs to be HIGHER than the playing percentage. Sheesh.
STOP THE RUBBISH – give us REAL journalism.
10 Mar 2011, 09:59 am
Tranny is right he is one dimensional but he does add more than Tubby who was given the run around by Sarel in the Cheetahs game.
It was like watching Cartman playing rugby.
I still cant believe that thses two are the best the Stormers have. Hell I would play Habadonna at scrummie before Dewalt.
10 Mar 2011, 10:05 am
Ai… another Stormers story. There other franchises out there Keo writers, no jokes.
10 Mar 2011, 10:09 am
I wonder who’s next. Duane Vermeulen telling us how it’s possible to get skunk look for only R250 at Frikkie Minnaar’s Beauty Salon?
I know of a great story. Some PI worked involved in this one.Go an find out what is under Strauss’s beard because Stansky couldn’t recognize him on Friday in his own words.
10 Mar 2011, 10:14 am
@Hop Hop Spinnekop(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-6: The name Ryan Vrede not mean anything to you?
10 Mar 2011, 10:28 am
JC trying to promote Rassies little rentboy… This youngster is average compared to Ricky or Bolla. No doubt that he could play a blinder as with every other average player. The bottom line is that he is included because the stormers have won two out of two and they can now afford to include an average player who can promote Afrikanerdom.
10 Mar 2011, 10:52 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-3: Why do they not see Duvenhage for what he is? Competent CC player at best. I’d rather invest my efforts in the U21 scrummie from last year. I guess the Stormers are ‘all in’?
I the Stormers do manage a win, I anticipate lofty praise for Duvenhage as being the architect of the victory. Will definitely be tough with Cowan wanting to fly-swot him.
10 Mar 2011, 11:14 am
Lets see what Duvenage brings to the stormers besides being slimmer than Januarie.
10 Mar 2011, 11:25 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-3: PA earlier in the week you talked about defence and you said it was all about attitude, if you don’t mind can you please explain some more if possible.
It sounded very interesting
10 Mar 2011, 11:26 am
@JA-JA(JA-JA)-12: Actually I am interested in hearing some more about it.
10 Mar 2011, 11:52 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-1: I do agree he is a bit over-rated Transie (how did they let go of McCleod and Hoffman) but I will take him over Januarie at the moment. Some one has to get that backline moving!
@davidv(davidv)-4: Dont be silly David! Asking for real journalism on here is like asking for Cheetahs to win S15…. it aint gonna happen (this year anyway). Why arent these okes at the practise sessions? Interviewing coaches and players and giving us some real facts and stats?
They sitting in a coffee shop somewhere blogging opinion and rumour – lekker comfy job.
Was anyone else as surprised as me to learn that this start of 12 points in 3 games is the best ever start to a Super Rugby season for the Stormers?!
I was amazed, so hopefully that is a good sign. If they can replicate the form they showed last year and build on this good (but very shaky) start, then the season might turn out ok
@grant10(grant10)-2: Totally agree with you Grant. Just wish Liebenberg would hurry up and get back now to lossen things up
10 Mar 2011, 12:06 pm
@JA-JA(JA-JA)-12:
I will try.
Defense relies on a number of factors, some of these include;
Communication
Patterns
Commitment
Technical Application
Of these, communication and commitment is arguably the most important as the other two can be coached over time.
When you try and encourage communication and commitment you are in a sense asking that person for an attitude shift or change in his mindset. Quiet folks will need to be loud and positive in their communication. Guys that shy away from heavy contact, need to back themselves to tackle any guy on the field if he is in his channel, even if he is 20 kilograms heavier.
From the moment any player takes up the game of rugby, you are coached how to pass, kick, run with the goal to score tries. The whole point of rugby in fact is to score points, for that you have to have the ball of course.
Defense is an area of the game where you have to encourage players to play as hard, and as committed, WITHOUT the ball. (With the aim of winning it back of course).
Proper communication by players, and commitment in the tackle and in their channels will only come if those players believe in themselves, and their team mates. You need to be positive when defending, you need to have courage, and although as a coach you can encourage this within your players, it is ultimately up to them to show this.
10 Mar 2011, 12:14 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-15: My coach always said if you scared to tackle the man you gonna get hurt , defense for me is alot in the mind as well , look at Jean De Jongh , why is he better than say Paulse defensively ?
Re the scrummie issues , I disagree Pissant , I think Januarie was our main reason for our backline issues , with bad ball on the backfoot you can have the best backline in the world but it wont help much.
10 Mar 2011, 12:39 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-15: Thanks PA really appreciate that.
10 Mar 2011, 12:44 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-16:
No doubt Januarie was utter **** so far, I just believe Duvenhage is not that great either.
10 Mar 2011, 12:45 pm
Yes, it was 160 minutes of rugby, but P Grant only played since the 60th minute of the Lions game.
I hope that the fusion of him an Duvenage will give some urgency and intent to our attack.
Also, Brok Harris, if you’re listening, please don’t take any more stand-offs. They usually hit you 3 yards behind the gainline
10 Mar 2011, 12:48 pm
i would really love them to give the vodacom cup scrummie nic groom a run, he had a great game against (yes substandard) boland in the warm ups and ended up with man of the match.
10 Mar 2011, 12:54 pm
watch duvenage launch aimless box-kicks in his quest to be an fdp clone! The guy is mediocre, no variations, no sniping runs, just quick pick & dish…have you seen him try and be flashy with the attempt at a no-look pass?
10 Mar 2011, 13:01 pm
Usual flavour of the month quick fix mentality from the journos on this site. I think the problems are deeper than that unfortunately. What always seems glaringly obvious to me is the Stormers’ inability to play as a unit. They just look far too disjointed at the moment.
10 Mar 2011, 13:02 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-22:
They still get bullied in contact…
10 Mar 2011, 13:22 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-23: So we can add conditioning to the list of issues then?
10 Mar 2011, 14:32 pm
Truth is, Francois Hougaard should be wearing 9 jersey for Stormers. Please please please sign Sarel Pretorius or Jano Vermaak next season.
at the moment Stormers Scrum half pecking order should sit like this:
9 Francois Hougaard
20 Cronrad Hoffmann
Other squad members: Ricky Januarie, Bolla Conradie & Dewladt Duvenhage
Had the stormers back room team been abit brighter in their decisions, Stormers wouldnt have problems at 9 which is a major place to have problems, linking the forwards and backs.
10 Mar 2011, 15:34 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-25: As I understand it the Sormers could have signed Hougaard but signed Duvenhage. I read somewhere that at U19 level WP they played Duvenhage as 1st choice and Hougaard as 2nd choice.
10 Mar 2011, 15:35 pm
For the life of me I cannot understand why people hate on Duvenhage so much. Nobody ever claimed he should be playing Springboks or anything like that. And what has he ever done to prove himself to be so sh*t??? He’s been incredibly consistent for the stormers for the last 2 seasons and even though he doesn’t have the physical impact of jimmy cowan or the tactical brilliance of fourie du preez… But he’s ten times the passer that januarie is and ten times the kicker. His defense is solid and his tactical awareness is at worst average. So why hate on him? He is the best scrumhalf at WP and he would be in the top two at most other provinces. That’s what I think.
10 Mar 2011, 16:13 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-27: You can think what you like mate… It is my opinion that carries weight on this blog .10 times the kicker and 10 times the passer.. your illussion or your substantiated fact???
10 Mar 2011, 16:26 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-28:
gently chine.
your opinions carry about as much weight here as kate moss does after her morning *****.
10 Mar 2011, 16:27 pm
shite
poo
dump
10 Mar 2011, 16:44 pm
Over-rated
10 Mar 2011, 17:08 pm
Januarie will be back, rest assured
10 Mar 2011, 17:09 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-27:
Perhaps because they love so much Januarie?
10 Mar 2011, 17:21 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-28: Your opinion carries more weight? Illusion or substantiated fact?
Listen “mate” this isn’t a court room and there’s no judge that looks at all our comments at the end of the day and then uses their “weight” to deliver a binding judgment on who the better scrummie is.
How would you like me to substantiate my opinion on Duvenhage’s kicking and passing? Shall i find the stats on how many of his kicks land exactly where he wanted them to go? Or how many of his passes land in the breadbasket?
FACT: Januarie barely kicks.
OPINION: When he does it’s often a bit of a shambles.
FACT: Januarie has one of the slowest pass rates in the S15 (time taken to arrive at ruck + time taken to deliver the ball).
OPINION: This makes it more likely that he will either a) sell the recipient at a cheap price to the opposition forwards or b) in a rare moment of clarity realise the oncoming disaster and “salvage” it by darting forward before getting crushed behind the advantage line.
Boom town.
10 Mar 2011, 17:23 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-33: you mean they decided Duvenhage was shi*t as a result of thinking that Januarie’s better? Surely reasonably minded people like ourselves wouldn’t be so obtuse…
10 Mar 2011, 18:54 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-35:
Answer:
Reasonably minded people would never consider Januarie at the first place,
and that definition’s applicable to AC and PdV
10 Mar 2011, 20:05 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-36: True story…
10 Mar 2011, 20:30 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-34: @Hondo(Hondo)-36: Have the two of you stopped flirting with each other now… get a room and consumate the love story.
Tarlo, Ricky proved himself as a springbokand so has Bolla Conradie. He kicks when its necessary.. simple stuff
Speed of passing?? He passes to the player that is best able to cross the gainline if he does not cross the gainline himself… Speed of passing means fkall when you cannot make the pass effective..
10 Mar 2011, 20:45 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-36: Did you get yourself a girlfriend yet… all that w anking is not helping in relieving you of your frustrations.. Which hand do you use?? Try using the other one if you cant get yourself a girlfriend or if you cant afford to buy yourself regular action.
10 Mar 2011, 22:53 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-38: Is that the depth of your argument? He’s proved himself as a springbok? Actually you know what I think you’re right… He used to be good so it makes perfect sense that he is currently good as well because that’s how things work isn’t it? I’ll see if I can get Allister Coetzee on the line and talk him into finally getting us a proper flyhalf, I’m thinking Henry Honiball. Francois Pienaar lives in Cape Town and f*ck it he’s a world cup winning captain, let’s drop Francois Louw for him shall we? Frik du Preez is still alive, he MUST be a great lock still!!!
You’re a bit silly you know.
10 Mar 2011, 22:53 pm
Hahahahah, just watched a replay of the Bulls games and whilst they played like plonkers (they have in all games this season so far), and thus probably did not deserve to win……… the probability is the ‘Landers only did so by cheating. Bulls on attack minutes/secs to go a few metres to the line, you would have to back the Bulls to score and then draw the match. It was a good bet! The hand of god Jammie Mac and the blind ref Stu ensured what was in the end a good victory. BUT, it was done by foul deeds, so really there is vokall to gloat about!
10 Mar 2011, 22:56 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-40:
Mate, he is just a chip on the shoulder, anti white, wind up artist. Ignor him and the smell goes away!
10 Mar 2011, 23:12 pm
@whatever(whatever)-42: Ya I missed the game but as soon as I Dicko it usually means the saffa side will loose. Look at his stats as a ref and you can see Saffa are on the bad side of his averages.
IMHO i think he is doos like you know who knows fockall.
10 Mar 2011, 23:13 pm
38 youknowwho, Dale Santon is a springbok too ¿was he a superclass? no me jodas chavalin.
Vamos Dewalt, confiamos en ti
10 Mar 2011, 23:50 pm
Any scrumhalf running 3 meters in the direction of his flyhalf before he passes the ball is a liability on the field.
A scrumhalf’s job is:
1. Arrive at the breakdown in time.
2. Pass from the breakdown accurately and quickly to the left or right.
3. If flyhalf is in compromised position, employ alternate tactics i.e. kick, break or set up a next phase.
Januarie fails miserably on points 1 & 2. The fact that he doesn’t arrive in time at the breakdown limits his options with regards to point 3.
He is well over the hill.
Duvenhage does very well on point 1 & 2. On point 3 he is not as creative as Hougaard, but Hougaard’s pass is not as good and he tends to overdo the breakaway around the breakpoint, which robs the backline of quality ball.
Duvenhage and Grant rescued the game against the Lions in 15 minutes.
Duvenhage’s appearance against the Cheetahs altered the dynamics of the game and it was clear from the 45th minute that the Stormers would win.
The real problem that the Stormers have, and it will make it very difficult to even reach or win the final, is that they still don’t have a tight five, and therefor they don’t have quality ball. The only option they have to counter the lack of a pack is to focus on the defense. Hence the lack of tries. At least they can win games without quality ball. The Bulls can’t as proved by the manner in which they lost to the Highlanders. They don’t have the quality in the backline from 10 – 15, with the possible exception of the wings, but the poor fellows hardly saw any ball at all.
The Sharks on the other hand has quality forwards and quality backs. If I was a betting man, I would bet some money on the Sharks this year.
11 Mar 2011, 07:08 am
The Bulls/Stormers double would be very nice for lowly rated Highlanders.
11 Mar 2011, 07:15 am
‘ Irate him big time and certainly felt the Boks missed him or that kind of skill set last year ‘.
John Mitchell on Brussow.
I have said it a 1000 times….Brussow and Steggmann absolute must have s for WC squad as opensiders.
Imperative to have 1 of these lads starting in bok side. Add balance and without these specialists we looking for trouble.
Masn I would love to have Mitchell as Bok coach.
3 Stooges scare the daylights out of me!
11 Mar 2011, 07:16 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-46: I am there tonight…nerves jangling…perfect morning here in CT…..sea is blue….MOUNTAIN IS CLEAR 1
going to be a thriller….i sense a stormers revival
11 Mar 2011, 07:45 am
I am a Stormers supporter and do not want either Duvenhage or Janurie to play for us. They are both k@k players! Nough said.
11 Mar 2011, 08:24 am
@garth(garth)-49: Agree 100%
Having Duvenhage starting ahead of Januarie is like getting a bicycle to ride to work instead of walking…
But I guess beggers can’t be choosers
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All