Return of the king

RYAN VREDE, writing in SA Rugby magazine, explains why Fourie du Preez will be the Springboks’ key player this year as they seek to defend the World Cup.

Accept, as a point of departure, that the technical qualities that constitute skill are speed, accuracy, adaptability and form, combined with the less observable quality of heart.

Now consider the assertion that rare prodigious skill is achieved when those qualities are blended with vision, intelligence and consistently cool temperament under pressure and you move towards a greater understanding of why Fourie du Preez is South Africa’s most gifted and, in a World Cup year, most valuable player.

Few of Du Preez’s contemporaries have displayed all these qualities as consistently as he has throughout his career. Even fewer have embodied all at any one time, where doing so has defined Du Preez.

It is therefore no surprise that the Springboks, and to a lesser extent the Bulls (in the Currie Cup), struggled without him in 2010, the former resembling a zombie staggering aimlessly and impotently through the international season. His return from a shoulder injury reignites hope of a defence of the promised land the Springboks occupied in France in 2007 and improves the Bulls’ bid for a third successive Super Rugby title.

Only All Blacks Richie McCaw and Dan Carter can compare with Du Preez’s value to their sides. All are players with the capacity to be the difference between defeat and victory.

‘There’s no question about that,’ Heyneke Meyer, Bulls technical director and long-time mentor to Du Preez, agrees. ‘If he doesn’t play the Boks are in serious trouble and the Bulls wouldn’t be the side they have been in the past couple of years.

‘People point out that he is integral to their game plan, which is true. There isn’t a better box-kicking scrumhalf in world rugby. But that doesn’t take into account his full value.

‘As the link between the forwards and the backs he is the most influential player on the park. Your decision-making has to be so sharp there, especially at international level where space and time are at a premium. No player can match his decision-making under pressure. How often do you see him take the wrong option, whether it be a quick tap, breaking around the blindside, countering from deep, picking off a strike runner or playing wider?

‘It’s no secret why Morné [Steyn, Bulls and Springbok flyhalf] excelled in 2009 and struggled in 2010. Fourie takes so much pressure off him. He is the team’s brain and his absence is more often than not reflected in the result.’

Du Preez’s former team-mate at the Bulls and senior Springbok Bryan Habana concurs and extols his value beyond the technical disciplines.

‘You’re lifted when you see him lacing up his boots opposite you in the change room,’ Habana begins. ‘He has an aura that few players I’ve ever played for or against have. He brings a sense of calm, a sense of expectation. What’s more, you know there are a bunch of guys down the corridor wishing he was in their change room, and a team of [opposition] coaches who’ve spent weeks analysing his play, trying to make sure he is a non-factor. I know, I’ve been in the opposing change room. You can’t put a value on a player like that, especially in the big games.’

Habana raises an important point. While there is no action, no manoeuvre, and no tactical insight beyond Du Preez – what he sees in his mind’s eye he is able to execute with precision – his ability to do so in matches of the highest significance amplifies his potency. It is one of the qualities that separates the good from the great.

Consider his most significant contributions in recent history for the Bulls: scoring their first two tries in the 2009 Super 14 final to settle their nerves after a poor start, and later setting up a decisive score for Habana with the most perfectly weighted grubber.

In the Currie Cup final later that year, Du Preez’s execution matched his awareness with a cross-kick to an unmarked Francois Hougaard on the wing. To illustrate that his range of ability knows no bounds, he later scooped a wayward pass off his bootlaces and put Habana away. Their third try saw Du Preez chip into an unmanned space, leaving Habana a simple collection and sprint to the tryline.

He turned the tide of the 2010 Super 14 semi-final when he broke blind to score a momentum-shifting try against the Crusaders, and in the final he picked off Hougaard’s angled run to strike an early blow from which the Stormers never recovered. A similar highlights package could easily be compiled for the Springboks, his masterclass against England in the pool match of the 2007 World Cup headlining the piece.

‘If your scrumhalf crumbles under pressure your whole team will fall apart,’ Meyer explains. ‘Fourie never will because he has no flaws that can be exploited. Absolutely none.’

Du Preez says: ‘I’d like to think that I can excel, not just survive, in the biggest games. When you look around the field in big Tests and finals rugby you can see the guys who are just happy to survive, happy to be there. I won’t settle for that. I want to be the difference between my team winning and losing, and when you’ve got a team of players with the same mindset, it makes for a formidable unit. I back myself to put in at least an eight out of 10 performance in the biggest matches. Anything less and I’m letting my team down when they need me most.

‘The game has changed in form a lot in recent years, but the one thing that stays the same is that you have players who can handle the pressure of big matches and those who can’t. I’d like to be remembered as a player who wasn’t found hiding in a bunker while my team-mates were taking heavy fire.’

Too many Springboks were holed up in those bunkers while under siege throughout the 2010 Test season. Admittedly their generals (read: the coaches) had failed them with a flawed battle plan, one that was too reliant on their star soldier, who described watching from his couch or the stands as ‘torture’.

‘There are a couple of reasons the Springboks did poorly,’ Du Preez begins his post-war assessment. ‘We came into the 2010 season still on the high of 2009. We were on top of the world and when our confidence took a knock we never recovered. It didn’t help that we also had a tough two-Test series in New Zealand where we seldom win.

‘But the main reason is that the guys couldn’t seem to make up their minds about how they wanted to play. In 2009 I was a part of the decision-making process regarding our game plan. I was probably also central to it working. But without me there the guys kept playing the same game, there was no adaptation and not enough appreciation for the strengths and weaknesses of my replacement, be that Ricky Januarie, Ruan Pienaar or Francois Hougaard. Our execution was poor, sure, but I think we could have been more clever tactically.’

The impermanence of Du Preez’s absence was the consoling thought in a nightmare international season. However, his return, not unlike a second coming given the  redemptive qualities that accompany it, will be short-lived.

Du Preez has decided to pursue a career with Suntory in Japan following the World Cup (he’ll be 29 at the time), citing a desire to get out of his comfort zone and spend more time with his family as the primary reasons for his eastern expedition. With Du Preez restored, 2011 promises much for the Springboks. However, if a successor isn’t identified and invested in quickly, 2012 threatens to resemble the apocalyptic film by the same name.

Du Preez’s thoughts on this issue have been documented by this magazine, and having watched his anointed, Francois Hougaard, in an extended run with the Springboks, they haven’t changed.

‘He was brilliant in the Tri-Nations games he played,’ Du Preez says. ‘He showed he had the temperament to complement his talent. He struggled in the wet on the end-of-year tour but he’ll improve in that area.

‘He’ll be the Springbok scrumhalf for the next seven to eight years. My aim now is to pour as much of my knowledge into him as possible before I go to Japan. To leave empty.

‘He’s the perfect student, always keen to learn. I’ve come across team-mates who’ve wanted the guy ahead of them to fail so they could get a chance, but that’s never been the case with Francois. I want to leave South African rugby in better shape than I got it, and in Francois you have a player who could exceed what I’ve done.’

Having named his heir, what then of a coaching successor to Peter de Villiers? Du Preez doesn’t hesitate: ‘I think Heyneke would be the perfect candidate and he deserves the opportunity given what he’s achieved.

‘Next year will be a rebuilding year for the Boks and Heyneke has shown that there’s nobody better at putting structures into place for long-term success. He could build something that lasts beyond the four-year cycle between World Cups and I think we need that. He hasn’t been a head coach at Test level but indirectly he’s been responsible for much of the success of South African rugby through his player identification and player development at senior and junior level. A hands-on role would make him so much more valuable to South African rugby.’

Du Preez concludes with a telling statement: ‘I’d reconsider international retirement if Heyneke became coach.’

In that eventuality the debate will be raised about letting his genius rest at its apex, rather than exposing it to the erosive effect of ageing and the criticism that accompanies that process.

That is a discussion for the future. The present has Du Preez as a master of his craft, the Bulls and Springboks’ fulcrum and the player on which a world title defence rests more than any other.

However his story unfolds, Meyer believes Du Preez’s rugby eulogy won’t change.

‘Joost van der Westhuizen had the ability to hurt sides around the ruck fringe with his physicality. Then defences became tighter with the introduction of league-style systems and his threat was lessened.

‘George Gregan was the best when the game demanded a No 9 with sharp passing skills during the era where multi-phase play was the trend. But Fourie combines both those strengths and adds an unmatched kicking game and immense rugby intelligence.

‘He’ll be remembered as the best scrumhalf ever to play the game.’

– This article first appeared in the March issue of SA Rugby magazine. The April issue will be on sale from 16 March.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition

227 Comments

• 1.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

The sooner Hougaard is back the better… otherwise FDP is going to play the entire Super season at 80mins a piece in a RWC year if he’s not injured!

• 2.Hondo: Reply to this comment

A long and tiresome article, I lost its message? ;)

• 3.SimonSays: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-2: Something about FDP and Bruce Willis saving the RWC by blowing up a giant asteroid before Fourie makes sweet boom boom to Liv Tyler.

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is the type of bulls arse-kissing article Tacitus likes.

you’d consider playing for the bokke IF heyneke was coach fdp, a “homogeneous” Bok set-up? :roll:

• 5.MTN RedLion Roars...: Reply to this comment

if he stops with all the aimless kicking and does more passing then yes he is the General, not king … but play a doff doff kicking game like what was displayed on Saturday where the Highlanders returned it after scoring in the corner …

• 6.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Where did he say homogenous?

What a bitter little Twatstick you are :lol:

• 7.rugbyprof: Reply to this comment

Not another du Preez article!!!!

Go find some interesting stuff.

• 8.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

He’s named the next Bokke number 9 I didn’t know he was a Bokke selector as well, the man is talented.

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

did you see that it was a question kn:obhead? :-)

• 10.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

These articles about him being a genuis and consistanly being world class are incorrect, he had a superb 09′ and a great world cup, can somebody please tell me the other times he was a genuis in a Bokke jersey as he was pretty awful in 08′ and never plays well up north, no disrespect just want to know the other times he was a genuis?

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

nzinchina: duck now chap, get your staaldak reinforced tl tl tl :razz:

• 12.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-11:

I didn’t read the article just skimmed it, its the same shite they always write, your the resident rugby almanac can you answer 10?

• 13.MTN RedLion Roars...: Reply to this comment

the bulls were forced to make 517 tackles in 3 matches and only forced 375 from the teams they faced so far … kick the ball away and you be forced to defend.

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

nzinchina: well, Fdp is the ‘best rugby player on the planet’ based only on 2 years of rugby: 2007 and 2009, that’s it.

• 15.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Yeah Transformation doesn’t rate the toughest provincial contest in world rugby as much of a yardstick, let alone 3 cup winning medals in 4 years…

Why not?

Cause Lillith told him not to…

• 16.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Don’t worry Transie.

We all know where your coming from, whether you pit a question mark at the end of it or not.

Transparent :)

• 17.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-14:

C’mon he must have played like a genuis at other times in a Bokke jersey the article said so, lets wait for some others to tell us when.

• 18.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-17: I can’t ever remember him being anything other then brilliant in the biggest of matches especially knock outs (World cups and Club finals). He may not have always been the best, but when it counted he was.

• 19.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

NZ my China

Why don’t you make up your own mind?

Du Preez wasnt bad last year until he was injured no?

He was also injured for a deal of 2008 before being rushed back into action.

If you are looking for an opinion you will have to look further than Transie I’m afraid.

He doesn’t do those.

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

FDP has the ability to play more than the skop en jag….regretfully this seems tobe his preferred option. Both Bulls and Boks better catch a fat wake up, the new game and rule interpretations favour the team carrying the ball….and in FDP and M Steyn at 9 and 10 we have players who sem to have skop ingrained in their DNA

• 21.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-16:

Or the usual smiley, tl tl tl or whatever… bet he’s off cutting and pasting now!

No doubt he’s on the ‘search cut and paste’ mission right now…

How about you go google, wiki and then cut and paste me the name of a half-back from the modern era that has three Super rugby, a RWC, a BIL and two 3N medals next to their name?

Run along little boy… but remember to ask Lillith if you’re permitted to post it…

Do I think he’s a genius… without a doubt… do I think he’s the most successful modern 9 that has ever lived… I have a few favourites… Is the most successful modern 9 of all time… well his trophy cabinet speaks for itself!

• 22.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-15: toughest provincial comp in the world? matter of opinion I’d suggest.. especially as that “toughest provincial comp” has only produced 3 super titles, on that note id say that it isnt..

but thats my opinion too..

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

but i would still play FDP as my bok 9…with a firm set of instructions…and Butch or lambie or Grant at 10

Not the 1dimensional M Steyn.

• 24.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-22:

So what provincial comp do you rate higher than Super rugby mate?

Definitely matter of opinion… but the NH (as entertaining as I find it)… has only started to catch up the last few seasons with so many Antipodeans and Japies moving North…

• 25.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Funnily enough I typed culturally homogenous into this little website I use called google and I came up with a picture of our Cabinet.

The Blue Bulls of world politics :lol:

• 26.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Grantie

Good to see you have calmed down and are not threatening to moer anybody.

How one dimensional was Steyn in the Super 14 last year?

• 27.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

I wonder why South Africa produce exceptional scrum halves and New Zealand exceptional fly halves, but not the other half? Since the game turned professional I would say the 3 best scrum halves are Joost, Gregan and FDP and the 3 best fly halves Mehrtens, Wilkinson and Carter. Now there have been ok fly halves for South Africa, but none that were consistently the best and the same with New Zealand scrum halves. I guess its probably down to the style of play and South Africa playing a more forward orientated game and the scrum half controlling the forwards and the kiwi’s having a lot more emphasis on the backs and the fly half controlling them?

• 28.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-25:

“culturally homogenous”

Sounds like a Greek yogurt…

• 29.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-24: super rugbys an international comp isnt it? provincial to my mind is the CC, ITM cup, Top 14 etc..

semantics I know…

the NH comps I cant watch, I dont find the rugby appealling at all..

• 30.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Greek yoghurt indeed.

Rich and thick.

• 31.stew: Reply to this comment

Return of the King refers to McCaws return FDP has a long way to go

• 32.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-26: well keep on being a cheap shot artist wannabee abba dancing raving queen and i may wanna moer you…..prat!

M Steyn offers very little save an accurate pole kicker….i have noticed his tactical kicking is poor as well this year….

give me a 10 that plays flatter and can get his backs into the game effectively…like lambie….or the master Butch, any day of the week.

M Steyn , Spies ,Smit, JDV are hanging on by a thread imo….surviving more on past deeds and accomplishments than current abilities or form.

• 33.stew: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-27: Justin Marshall was outstanding ????????????????????????

• 34.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-15: 2 down and counting :razz:

• 35.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

I see the RFU spoilsports have nixed twickers for the sharks vs crusaders game.

What about wembley?

• 36.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-19:

Don’t get me wrong I think he is a superb player, was a simple question re other times in a Bokke jersey where he was a genuis, I can’t remember any but happy to be corrected.

• 37.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-29:

Well I was quoting FDP’s 3 super titles in that impressive trophy cabinet of his… I don’t rate the Currie Cup any more than I do the ITM cup as world class barometer…

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-30:

I’m not sure Transparent know his bulgaricus from his acidophilus particularly when his missus is around…

• 38.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-32: Hey Grant yesterday when I asked you was Hondo racist towards you, you said ” he is racist to every decent person on this planet.” . What do you mean by that? just trying to understand, was he racist to you? what did he do?

• 39.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Grantie

Where was the cheap shot?

I was just pleased that you had calmed down.

But I may have been premature.

Please don’t hit me, you are a decade older than me. I don’t want to get in trouble with the senior citizens association.

I noticed that in the midst of your emo outburst you didn’t answer the question.

Oh well, never mind.

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-19: the last time i checked FdP captained the Bulls to a 10th finish in 2008 so to say he was injured for “most” of the season is a lie.

• 41.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-38:

Its an internet forum let him say what he wants, you don’t have to read or respond to his posts.

• 42.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

NZ in China.

So out of the last 4 years we have established that he was injured last year and had a slow return to form after being injured for half of 2008?

I’m not sure what your point is :)

• 43.MTN RedLion Roars...: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-20: ha people said that FDP’s absence from the Bok team was the reason why the Boks sucked last year but that is not true, it was because Mafield insisted on playing the skip en jag game even though the law interpretations favoured teams who could play with the ball in hand … Matfield mistakenly believed that skop en jag is effective because his bully boys won a trophy … little did he know that the antipodes were slow on the up take … by the time the 3N had had come around they had adapted. Now because Matfield is as thick as brick he learnt the hard way what skop and jag brings when you play against a team that has the skill to run a kicked ball 80m back.

• 44.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-40:

You’ve gone a bit quiet now… not getting the results you were after?

Surely most rugby kenners would know after just a few minutes ‘thought’?

I’ll repeat the question…

“Which other half-back from the modern era has three Super rugby, a RWC, a BIL and two 3N medals next to their name other than FDP of course?”

• 45.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Transie

How is it a lie?

He broke his band?

Now run along and find something else to ***** about :)

• 46.stew: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-35: I suppose Twickers is the home of rugby …… should be great fund raiser , those pounds will go along way to helping the people of Canterbury….. It will be a great occasion

• 47.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-38:

C’mon guys… leave Grant alone for just a day… we all know how cyber-emotional he is… it’s just not cricket this online bullying… it’s about as impressive as getting Skopskiet to go red-faced and start drooling fckidilly ad nausea…

• 48.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Stew

The RFU have turned it down.

There will be no game at twickers.

Thats why I suggested Wembley.

• 49.stew: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-44: G Gregan must come close ??

• 50.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-41: ha ha… your statement is rather ironic isn’t it?

• 51.stew: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-48: Damn ….. screw the RFU then ………. just shows they still have disdain for the colonies

• 52.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-46:

Personally I could not think of a better gesture…

• 53.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-42:

I really don’t want to repeat myself again, can you tell me outside of 4 weeks WC 07′ and the first half of 09′ when he was a genuis in a Bokke jersey as that constitutes about 30% of his career for the Bokke, again no disrespect just a simple question.

• 54.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-47: jus asking, I wasn’t hurling insults etc or continuosly hammering on about how useless the Boks cpt is.

• 55.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-49:

For sure he certainly does… but not quite due to semantics…

Interestingly George Gregan like FDP has won every single major trophy he has competed in at least once in his career… the most recent great feat being with the Suntory Goliaths in Japan just before retiring…

Ironically FDP is heading there at the end of this year to finish off his career…

• 56.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-48: Its probably for the best.

• 57.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

NZ in China

***** pal.

Your poor wife.

Ok

2007 genius
    2008 not genius/injured
    2009 genius
    2010 injured

So to answer you question,since it seems you wont shut up until somebody does, outside of 2007 and 2009 he was a non genius in international games.

Well done.

Grab yourself a beer.

You’ve earned it :)

• 58.MTN RedLion Roars...: Reply to this comment

NZ China

I believe that O’Neil has offered Sydney as an alternative to Christchurch … he is brilliant. I would say let the kiwis host group matches and the semis and the final should take place in a proper stadium. What are your kiwi thoughts on this?

• 59.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-57:

Ha ha cheers.

• 60.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

dupreez started his career in 2004 with the boks. He turned in a top draw performance against the kiwis away in particular, when the boks were pipped at the death.Skalk Burger drew all the attention but it was dupreez that helped do the damage on the scoreboard while burger did it on defence.

2004-2006 was the rotation with ricky januarie, 2008 he got injured as in 2010.

top player…the thing I like the most about him is that he doesn’t kak his brook at the site of a kiwi and get overawed. Exactly the opposite in fact, they kak there brook when they see him playing.

• 61.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Make sure it’s cold my china.

From the back of the fridge.

• 62.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@MTN RedLion Roars…(RL)-58:

I would say if your fishing you won’t catch me, Australia hasn’t held the B/cup since 03′ and we have beaten them 9 out of the last 10 times so Mr O’Neil can blow hot wind up his own ar se as much as he likes, rugby isn’t about stadiums young man its about people and a passion for a great game, if it isn’t held in CHCH that would be very sad, Eden park and NZ will do a fine job because 95% of our population black and white lives and breathes rugby, would you prefer the world cup to held in England beause it generates the most money for those old fuckwits at the IRB?

• 63.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-61:

It seems Transy lost his link with Google and Wikipedia… those ‘two down and counting’ half-backs have yet to be names… damn EC ‘dial-up’ internet! :wink:

Well I’m off until the the UK markets are rolling… laters…

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-44: don’t allow me to be the subject of ur neurosis money_man :)

• 65.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-63:

What do you trade?

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-45: when did he break his hand gunther, in february, july? how long is “half a season”?

• 67.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

I see on the Supersport site that Jean De Villiers says that the Stormers’ attacking play is going downhill and that they will have to sort it out soon.

Well done, Jean, you talk a good game, but I would much rather hear the coach say things like that. However, in this time where our Springbok coaches are stuck with their heads in the sand, it is quite refreshing to hear that there are people who own up to their deficiencies.

Now it is a question of starting to deliver on the field. With Aplon and Duvenhage in the starting line-up, I may just postpone my planned walk-over to the Sharks.

• 68.grant10: Reply to this comment

stormers will win Fri

• 69.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-47:

HAHAHAHA :)

I do remember back in 2004/5 when I prefered Ricki as scrummy, FDP used to kick away too much possession then. The rules changed to favour the defensive team and then suddenly FDP kicking became “genius”. Now the tables have turned and holding possession is more important and it’s making FDP look less amazing than he is hyped to be.

• 70.Mike H: Reply to this comment

I still believe WC’s favour a string defensive side and therefore come WC no matter the new rules territory will be more important than it is in the S15.

• 71.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

FDP is over the hill. So is Big Vic and Habana. And Bakkies. And Schalk. And we’re not even talking about the guys so far over the hill they’re in the creek in the valley bed — Smitty, Butch…

Jake’s team are now geriatrics.

And it’s too late to find the young ones now.

• 72.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-71:

They said that of England in 2007 and they made the WC final.

• 73.Mike H: Reply to this comment

But ye we just don;’t have the coaching intelligence to win a WC this time round.

• 74.justrugby: Reply to this comment

No scrum half comes close to FDUP as far as the full skill set required to be a world class scrum half, he has it all.

It all depends on who is playing for and under what instruction he is given in respect of a game paln.

He has the ability to adapt to any plan/condition, he is astute , has speed, power, an eductaed boot, a snipping break and a scud like pass and a fantastic temprament.

We are fortunate to have a player of his class, now it’s up to the coaches to decide what part of those skill sets he must use according to their game plan, and therein normally lies the biggest problem.

But I would rather have FDUP in my team than be playing against him, that’s for sure !!!!!!!!!!

• 75.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

NZINCHINA and Transie

Four five six you guys are way off the mark here. Fdp has never been the flashy no 9 you would consider to be the top dog. Do yourselves a favour and have a look at the guys work rate on the field.

He marshals defence, his positional play has no equal, rock solid on defence, he reads the game better than any player of his generation. He has zero weaknesses. (Ask the Stormers that tried to get him out of the game in S14 2010…..not happening)

You two lovers please pull your head out your rusty sheriff’s badges and give credit where it is due.

• 76.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

FDP is a great of the modern game.

The only guys giving him grief are the same idiots who thought Johnny W was overrated.

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

habana
    jdv
    m steyn
    spies
    smit

all hanging in by a tenuous thread.

the only reason they would make bok squad currently is past achievement and a dollip of sentimentality thrown in.

bok management another weak link

will take a minor miracle….no a miracle of rather alarming proportions now that I contemplate it, to retain Bill

• 78.grant10: Reply to this comment

please boks get Eddie and rassie involved sooner rather than later!

• 79.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-77:

Early days, but I thought Smit looked pretty sharp against the force, but time will tell.

• 80.Finfan: Reply to this comment

FdP the greatest scrummie ever?? Danie Craven must be turning in his grave. And those who saw Gareth Edwards play would also disagree.

• 81.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-62: Yes I would much rather it was hosted in England, then the IRB would make a big profit and could then take the world cup to a new country like Japan, Argentina or the states. Rather then host it in New Zealand and make a loss, then have to take it to England, France, South Africa or Australia, to recover the losses, then take a punt again.

• 82.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Watching England – Scotland 2003 on ESPN, fok me Jason Rob was quick!!!!

• 83.garth: Reply to this comment

He just needs to keep his head straight and not get carried away with the **** dished out by Bulls coaches and Morne on his outside. Kick only when it is the right decision. Don’t always give the ball to a forward standing off. If your flyhalf is kicking away possession, go blind side or skip him a few times. Make sure you get to the base as quickly as possible, don’t wait before picking up the ball and getting it to your backs. You are wasting valuable time and allowing the opposition to arrange their defenses. Run, run, run.

• 84.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-75: tschoeps…another one in the bag 8)

• 85.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

I love all the guys pasting the Bulls.

They won the Super 14 last year (under the new rules) at a canter. They’ll be back.

• 86.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-75: and doing all that, he still has time to stand at the base of a ruck and wave his arms around like a traffic cop at a busy intersection.

• 87.grant10: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-79: did he touch the ball?

• 88.Transformation: Reply to this comment

is there any chance we can get a SARugby mag cover with Whiteley, Minnie & Strauss on? And do an indepth story on these guys instead of the usual suspects…how many FdP, spies, habana, smit, jdv, frans steyn, mossie, bakkies, vic, bissie, schalk.

Give us willem alberts or anton van zyl for a change!

• 89.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-88:

why don’t you email keo instead of bleating about it for the thousandth time.

better still write a letter to the magazine :)

• 90.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-89: You might get a pen for your troubles…..@Transformation(Transformation)-88:

• 91.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-90:

in my eye?

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

gunther: go f*ck yourself :D

• 93.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-90: hiyas boetman ^5

• 94.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-92:

relax buddy.

you moan like a pre-menstrual teenager everytime an issue of sa rugby comes out.

I was suggesting you might have more luck going straight to the top.

use it or don’t.

then again maybe you just like the attention :)

• 95.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-91: don’t they give people pens if they publish their letters?

Don’t forget your superbru picks.

I chose the Lions for a win over the Cheetahs. First time I can say that in a long time.

• 96.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-95: its in bloem boet and brussow is back

cheetahs to win by 8

• 97.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-93: Hi Sharkie. You going to the game on Friday? I have grandstand tickets.

• 98.Transformation: Reply to this comment

that was not a moan bozo, this website is the on-line partner to sarugby mag. :D

• 99.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-97: nope working

friday nights to busy for me

• 100.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-95:

even more reason to write in then.

they sure as nuts don’t give pens to people who complain on keo.

otherwise transie would waltons by now :)

picks done.

disaster awaits.

• 101.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-96: I thought I’d go “wild card” on this one. ;)

I’ve some catching up to do and I know the smart money would be on the Cheetahs, especially after their showing against the Bulls in Bloem, but I’m not going to improve my points tally by staying inside the box.

Surely they’ll pull off a win sooner or later? They’ve come so close this may be their best chance.

I am really keen to see how Heinrich gets on. He really would make a difference to the Springbok setup if he can get his A game back.

But I guess the whole country is hoping the same thing.

• 102.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

There was a time when this “king” could not compete with Ricky and Bolla… so the boere network sent Ricky down to the Cape to unseat Bolla at the stormers and therewith shorten the queue for a very average player who needs constant PR to perform. Rassie then also signed Dewalt D hoping that the dog fight between Ricky and Bolla will leave one casualty and therewith space for another Afrikaner, who remains a very average player

The plan seemingly worked but it does not prevent me from exposing it

• 103.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-102: The phrase “tilting at windmills” ring a bell?

• 104.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-103: I will give you an opportunity to explain so that I make further gat out of you. ;-)

• 105.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-101:

not quite the whole country.

only the white supremacists :)

• 106.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-105: :-D

• 107.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-105: Forgot to add that bit. he’s keeping Kabamba out of the team probably, after all.

• 108.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-106:

langers how is your property search in france going?

• 109.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-107:

I know.

the situation floors me.

• 110.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-109: :)

• 111.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-108: Completed the purchase two weeks ago… Almost a Billiionaire now ;-)

I need to look at my SA portfolio now… looking for properties with decent rental and capital appreciation potential

• 112.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-111:

the rental market in france is very good but the capital appreciation is poor.

rand is strong if you are using external funds.

if you want strong capital appreciation from a depressed market you should look at spain.

rental returns are weaker though.

• 113.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

I have looked at Spain and as you said, rental returns are poor. The place is saturated. You can still get rentals of 4.5% in France. I can still get good rental in the UK but it requires high management if you rent on a per room bases. My friend has 11 properties in Stevenage which he rents on a per room bases. Loads of stress… he has 35 rooms and therefore 35 tenants to bug him.

• 114.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-113:

35 rooms?

that’s a lot of eastern europeans.

• 115.grant10: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-113: @The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-114: if you looking to buy to tent here you had better have at least a 40 % deposit….banks are more than conservative…they atre making Jaap Marais look like a raving liberal….fark me it is a challenge to get the banks to approve…i am bisy with 2 absolute beaut deals….and fark me am i having a battle…banks are insanely conservative…

• 116.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-114: GlaxoSmithKLeins big headquarters and laboratories are in Stevenage.. Many visiting foreign interns from all over the world but mostly from India.. Stevenage is very multicultural. Good place to be :-)

• 117.grant10: Reply to this comment

buy to rent…not tent

• 118.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-117: Unless you are doing a deal for Ghadaffi :)

• 119.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-115:

40% deposit?

that’s hectic.

no wonder nobody is buying anything.

I think the property market here will be in its moer for the next decade.

We bought overseas last year 20% with a fixed rate of 3.1 for 20 years%.

• 120.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-115: Bankers are w ankers mate.. The money is all being used in the grand casino of investment banking. The c unts are buying up commodity options because of their herd mentality. All they have created is a commodity bubble which will burst when Obama decides to release Strategic Oil reserves and then the whole world will be in kak again be cause of w anker bankers. Hopefully we will do the proper thing and put them all in concentration camps.

• 121.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-119: banks are absoltuely looking for any reason to decline….they sniff an opportunity to say no they will decline. Buy to let market stuffed 6 love….i have some very good mates [ developers ] who have been forced to liquidate….property market still very poor….i would steer clear of any speculation unless an absolte gimmee

• 122.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-121:

that’s why I went the overseas route :)

ouch so business must be quite ****** then?

• 123.grant10: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-120: couldnt agree more …predators of note….the amount of pain and suffering i have seen so many go through over last 4 years is absolutely terrible….they have f all mercy, good people cast out of there homes through no fault of there own….disgraceful at times…

• 124.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-122: ja…volumes down literally 90 % since the 2007 days….very tough and frustrating….

• 125.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-124:

chin up.

at least you are beating me on superbru.

if the worst comes to the worst you can become a sports pundit.

or you can breed just rugby and sell the puppies :)

• 126.grant10: Reply to this comment

i feel so sorry for those trying to apply for home loans dirctly t to banks themselves….no chance i tell you, especially if you self employed….we literally have to spoon feed the banks….vast amounts of info required…and fark me dnt have a sniff of a poor cr record….then you well and truly farked…even if its a bloody gym,doctoe, truworths acc, etc…

any small thing….banks say no!

• 127.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-121: You can get 90% mortagages in the UK at 5% pa which is a total ripoff if you consider that the Bank of England rate is .5%… However anything below 4% can be cover by rental which makes the buy to let market still very lucrative. I am on 3.5% at the moment but it should be 2.5%.. I still need to take the matter with the FSA. They added an Arbitary 1% because they are w ankers and presume that can do as they please

• 128.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-125: LOL

Ja…it has been tough….but my heart goes out to the consultants…who work 10 times harder for a 10 th of there income they used too….

boom times were enjoyed, bur fark me they well and truly becoming a distant memory

• 129.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-119:

China was the place to be for property over the last 2 or 3 years an appreciating yuan and skyrocketing year on year % gains, the city i’m in is up rough 300% since I’ve been here, unfortunately there is over 60 million empty apartments and that number is climbing rapidly, when you go out at night there is often one or two lights on in a 20 storey building. There is no yield though so prices are going to come back big time at some point in the future.

• 130.grant10: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-127: far better than here….dont even try and get a discount below prime anymore….i see deals being approved at prime plus now….the other day prime plus 4 %…asked why, banks reply was basically tell your client thats the deal or no deal….wanke rs i tell you.

my advice shaun…dont invest here now mate…its still far too volatile

• 131.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-129:

I’m a simple soul that’s why I went for france.

steady unspectacular growth, long term tenants, strong legal framework good rental returns and low borrowing costs.

china scares me.

they made mrs gunther eat dog.

• 132.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-131:

Yer but France is a mess, overrun with unemployed North Africans and the rest who don’t really want to work, the last time I was there I thought i was in Algeria. Economically Europe is farked, the Chinese will be ruling the joint in 20 years, they work very hard and plan 50 years out, get used to it, we have dog most nights…

• 133.grant10: Reply to this comment

sri lankans going mal here

• 134.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

Even the King cannot save the Bulls or Boks when you have a backline devoid of runners and idea. The King could not stop Olivier acting like a P0EPH0L on Saturday and being glory boy instead of passing the ball to get the try.

A Kiwi friend of mine and I were talking rugby in the gym this morning and he said a very simple, but (to me) a very truthful and accurate statement. He said “besides a few legends, rugby is a young man’s game”. In SA we to often hang onto players because of their reputation or form a few seasons back.

At the time he was asking me about Smit and what is going to happen with him. He was using Brad Thorne and Rokocoko (sp?) as examples in NZ. He reckons players like Fruean, Ranger, Poki (excuse mis-spellings) will be in RWC.

Got me thinking about SA squad. Will they persist with players like Olivier, Jean and Habana? Players undoubtedly great a few years ago (2009) but too old and unimaginative for RWC 2011.

When will the Juans, Bassons, vd Heevers, Lambies and so on get their turn?

• 135.cane: Reply to this comment

FdP,

“‘But the main reason is that the guys couldn’t seem to make up their minds about how they wanted to play. …………….”

There is the problem in a nut shell.

“the Guys couldn’t make there minds up…………….”.

FFS,
    The Coaching Staff should be deciding, and dictating tactics and style.

Too many Chiefies and not enough heads down to do the graft.

Player Power is a HUGE folly.

• 136.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-131: LOL

• 137.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-130: I have two properties that I need to upgrade ( New Kitchens, Bathrooms and flooring). I will propably need R200k.. The properties are mortgage free so I could raise a mortgage but It would probably be best to use UK funds.

Got to shoot off….

Till later all… and remember that I am omnipresent.

• 138.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-135:

indeed.

the management are two busy booking massages and trying to work out if their ties match their shirts.

so the lunatics are running the asylum.

• 139.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-132:

sigh.

you are probably right.

• 140.grant10: Reply to this comment

@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-134: so very true…

• 141.grant10: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-137: use the uk funds if possible my man…save yourself the frustration

• 142.grant10: Reply to this comment

will sri lanka make 400?

• 143.charo: Reply to this comment

in 2007 fdp took over from latham as the best rugby player in the world.

he still holds the mantle.

• 144.DT: Reply to this comment

Fourie will continue to be the best 9 in the world …….however the Bulls are not a force in the modern game like they were last year. Based on last weekends performance they were always behind in the pace of the game ………Fourie was ok but not the same as 2 years when he was super fit and confident . Fourie other challenge is Morne Steyn …..the man can kick a bit but there not much else. Put Lambie outside Fourie and it could be the top 9/10 combination in the world!

• 145.cab: Reply to this comment

oh yes another of the Great Ones, who can walk on water and lift RWC trophies along with Thabo.

• 146.cab: Reply to this comment

Anyone know the average age of the England RWC-winning 2003 squad?

Unbeatable.

• 147.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

rugby is a young man’s game 100% on the button.

here’s my young man’s team to smack the delirious old ghosts of Xmas past to delirium and back again

Taute / Viljoen
    Poolman
    De Jongh
    F. Steyn
    Mvovo / Basson
    Grant / Van Aswegen
    Duvenhage/ Mcleod
    Koster / Whitely
    Elstadt / Alberts / Strauss
    Minnie / Brussow / Steggman / Daniel
    Bekker (c)/ Hargreaves
    Flip
    Buys
    Maku / Burden
    Beast / Kitschoff

Come bring your ou manne, this team will smack your 2007 Bokke super duper stars to Xmas past and beyond. Wanna bet, any takers?

• 148.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-142: what? ya kiddin’ me.

• 149.Transformation: Reply to this comment

are we playing fantasy league now?

• 150.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-143:

If you say so.

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-146:

This will a bridge too far for the class of 07′.

• 152.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-119: bloody hell…just nailed that big deal….4 days of sweat…but done!

• 153.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-152: Well Done guy. Let the good times roll.

• 154.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

Boks 011 equivalent to English 07 or Wallabies ’95, one foot too far over the hill and in the grave

Rugby is a young man’s sport don’t ever forget it, those thinking they can still give 100% while staring 30+ in the eye forget it, they not anywhere near the same playing field, and what compounds matters worse is that rugby has stepped up at least an extra 30% in physically and fitness requirements since 4 years ago.’the game is played at least 40% faster with far bigger hits and clean outs and at least 30% more demands in terms of phase play consistency and continuity. The old men still thinking they can mix it with the young warriors at same intensity for 85 min at full tilt better start thinking again, because they can’t.

• 155.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-146:

I hope my post #488 adequately answered your question and put an end to that silly little spat.
    Poeple need to read AND understand.

• 156.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-152:

windhoek..

back of the fridge..

don’t spend it all at once!

• 157.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-156: happy for the buyers….and ja…the cash is always a cool by product.

• 158.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-155: hiya ET, you may win this Friday now that Ricki is out. Well done

• 159.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-158:

If the ‘Landers play as well at sea coast level as they played at altitude against your Bulls, I doubt the questionable Stormers will win even without Ricki.
    It is never just one player.

• 160.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-159: True, Drizzel will win. But, maybe, what if, you know, yada yada, …,…., But gotta go, chat later, without Rici u do look better Cheers

• 161.shaunswindon: Reply to this comment

This would still be my South African 30 Man World Cup squad to defend the William Webb Ellis Trophy…..

15. Francois Steyn / Riaan Viljoen.
    14. J.P. Pieterson* / Gio Aplon or Francois Hougaard
    13. Jacque Fourie / Marius Joubert.
    12. Jean De Villiers / Patrick Lambie.
    11. Bryan Habana / Lwazi Mvovo.
    10. Morne Steyn / Butch James.
    9. Fourie Du Preez / Ruan Pienaar.
    8. Pierre Spies / Ryan Kankowski.
    7. Juan Smith* / Willem Alberts or Jean Deysel.
    6. Schalk Burger / Jean Deysel or Heinrich Brussow.
    5. Victor Matfield (vc) / Andries Bekker.
    4. Bakkies Botha / Danie Rossouw.
    3. Jannie Du Plessis / B.J. Botha.
    2. John Smit (c) / Bismark Du Plessis.
    1. C.J. Van Der Linde / Beast Mtawarira.

* = injury cloud.

• 162.ET.: Reply to this comment

There is nothing ‘kingly’ about the play of this scrum-half yet.

Let’s wait until he delivers those displays,if ever again, before we use such royal adjectives.

• 163.cab: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-151:
    we shall see, still a younger pack than england 2003 who beat allcomers.

@ET.(ET.)-155:
    yes, i understood your comment in response, but felt might have been a bit too close to the bone for you as a friend and all, some things are perhaps ernstig, like seeing the messiahs lift the trophy once again…all hail ek se.

• 164.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-163:

quite right.

you certainly don’t want to get too close to et’s bone.

• 165.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-163:

For me it is easy I simply walk on the mostly straight tracks of truth.

Die manne weet nie altyd die egte waarhede nie. Die geskiedenis is nie so goed verstaan nie.

Ek sien ook nou ou man Tutu se hy is ook nou San weens die gemoer oor die Manyi uitbarstings.

• 166.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-157:
    since u are now cash flush (glad to see you are more concerned about the buyers wellbeing), are you going to buy some other toys for the tub?
    a ‘fighting irish’ speedo?
    a new kalishnikov water pistol?
    a rocky balboa night gown?

• 167.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-164: Not even with a knick-nack paddywack.

• 168.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-166: :)

• 169.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-165:
    yip the old bishop is a very gentle soul, hard to believe so many forged in the violence of SA, reading about him the other day, quite interesting with him and that huddersfield okie.

• 170.ET.: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-164:

Let me take you away from your lonely shots in the dark and back to your pressure comment to save you.

As you should know the pressure is always on the host nation hence not one has taken the coveted Cup on home base.

Which may mean India and S.L. are disqualified by that historical factor from lifting the Cup.

Maybe it should be, in fact, the crooked Pakistan I should bet on BUT they like to BET on themselves too often too.

I still think India will be the first to win it at home but now you have created some doubt again as you make me think about the history.

• 171.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-169:

Lions to cross their rubicon against the Cheetahs?

Should be much hope and then the hoped for road going just up under the Mitch.?

• 172.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-168:
    what u think is going to happen this wend? pity they playing the cheetahs now.

• 173.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-169:

I think you mean Trevor Huddlestone, also a priest.

• 174.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-171:
    yeah dunno, would have rather had the cheetahs later.

• 175.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-173:
    yep, correct, plumtree, plumstead, hudderfield, huddlestone – not the sharpest.

• 176.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-172: We’re heading for a double bonus point victory (you get the second bonus point when the opponent taps out in submission).

• 177.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-166:

there was talk of a malema soap on a rope but apparently it goes soft very quickly.

there will be definitely be an inflatable bono.

@ET.(ET.)-170:

the pressure for them will be like NO team has faced before.

• 178.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-176:
    lol, i like your optimism.

• 179.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-166:

Nou vang jy weer strond aan?

Jy luister ook nie.

• 180.cab: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-177:
    yeah suppose enough is enough, this really is just puerile, but i’ve got this picture of grant sudsing up in the tub with duckie.

• 181.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-177: Perhaps a funicular for those pesky Clifton steps.

• 182.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-179:
    ja ok, dus waar.
    toemaar kyk ek gou-gou daar rocky klip op utube wanneer hy op die steppe draf.

• 183.cab: Reply to this comment

philadelphia, your part of the world. think they got a statue of him. must be bladdy cold in winter if you a pietermaritzburg boytjie.

• 184.ET.: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-177:

I think that is more your hope than your reality. And all for a Protea lifting of the Cup. I understand.

Remeber, however, Kirsten is not the only Saffa Capie ther as he also has Craig Matthews and Smons to call on in his battle against the Free Strate, N.Tvl,Tvl control of cricket in the country.

So is it aSaffa North vs. South battle with Indian players the mere pawns?

• 185.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-181:

as long as its faster than the alsatian :)

• 186.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-184:

oh no pellie.

that’s definitely the reality.

I’m not sure you appreciate the fanatacism of the fans there and the pressure to succeed.

remember the timid bangladeshis stoning the windies bus because they thought it belonged to the home side?

the indian team will be slaughtered under a withering hail of day old chapatis should they go down.

• 187.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-174:

The sooner they get that win the better it will be for Mitch to further correctly influence their exciting play.
    The mind is very important thus a win will be good for the motivation.

Reg ek is nou weer uit sien julle later .

• 188.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i knew the alsatian was coming through once the steps got mentioned :razz:

• 189.ET.: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-186:

I do know those fans and it is a big load to carry but I do not want to think of it but the players have to undeniably live with it hence some stupid things done like yesterday trying to please the crowd by sending in Pathan at 3 to supposedly finish the game and entertain the rabid throng.

• 190.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-188:

as night follows day :)

• 191.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-183:

Ekis nie van Natal af nie man waar kom jy nou aan dit?

Dit is Kaapstad, dan primere skool in die Baai en terug Kaap toe vir die res tot nou Philly toe. Die Kaap is ook f o k k e n koud man en nat.

Cheers nou.

• 192.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-189:

maevis bought me a rabid throng for valentines day.

I had to take it back because it made me froth at the mouth.

• 193.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-188:

Your knowledge of Biko determined by the not so truthful Donald Woods and that Peter Gabriel song, Biko?

You don’t have much muscle to throw around even on that overweight 6 ft. frame of yours.

• 194.ET.: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-192:

If she took the r out of it then she is rabidly naughty and that will lead to the uncovering of your ‘business’ BEE dealls with her.

Really gone now!!

• 195.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-194: You keep on saying that, and then disappointing us. Go already.

• 196.ET.: Reply to this comment

You should really consult a psychologist about your,gnawing, soul-destroying problem of jealousy, but soon.

• 197.ET.: Reply to this comment

Seems you really want me to stay and say more positives things about your Lions?

Too bad.

• 198.Transformation: Reply to this comment

ET, firstly you make grave assumptions and then climb on to them with zeal, uyanya!

• 199.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Just go, so we can air the place out a bit and resume our conversations.

• 200.Transformation: Reply to this comment

ET. unlike you and shaun langenhoven i’m not in the business of name-dropping ;) now fix your onnerpant tl tl tl

• 201.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The King needs a stylist.

His clothes are terrible.

• 202.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-200: kuk man, you are as big a name dropper as anyone on the site.

pity no one gives a toss about the names you drop :lol:

• 203.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-201: howdy dawnie!

jean pant wif tie are top class nommer eens in pretoriatown.

• 204.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-201:

quite right.

he needs you to take him to Access Park.

• 205.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-202: really? example? :-)

• 206.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-198:

Do you see my question mark at the end of the first sentence of post ##193?

It means a question is being asked so how do you conclude “assumptions”?

Seems like too much of those funds on a “private white school education’” have not had the desired effect,correct if you cannot even differentiate a question from a statement from an “assumption” in a sentence?

@200
    Have you forgotten all those Xhosa names you drop wrt the sponsors of the Bulls and others with the likes of Xhosakid and other of the tribes?

Are you shocked and disappointed with Tutu now claiming to be of San and thus “coloured” as he mocks tribalism and further quests non-racialism?

• 207.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-202: just because nobody knows your “scrum guru” cousin doesn’t mean i namedrop 8)

• 208.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-205:

Are you now trying to deny this ‘enkwenkwe ncinci’? Then you are clearly lying. And do persons have to deny others they clearly know just to protect your fragile ego? How arrogant of you.
    Have you never been targeted by the tribe in those awful years for being at a “private white school”( and how do i know this if you did not “drop ” it)?

Don’t be a DRAG, don’t be a QUEEN, it does not go down well with the culture in the tribe.

• 209.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-207:

I won”t hold on hope but I WILL let you choke on the noose around your neck.

• 210.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-205: thats the point isnt it?

i cant give you an example because the names you drop are as meaningful as the “celebrities” in sa survivor :lol:

haha, i see et has you on the back foot so i will just sit back and watch you squirm :lol:

• 211.rangerman: Reply to this comment

oh wait transformation, just give me five minutes to send out emails to my “guppie(sic) gang” :lol:

childish fool.

• 212.ET.: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-210:

Don’t sweat on it.

Like the nc,nc,nc, sorry I mean Anc and its government, he never answers the pertinent questions(like the one above about a simple question mark) which puts him in a bad ‘scrum’ bind and that only. further demeans him.

Our Transie Manyi is not the most honest nor the most dishonest too.

• 213.ET.: Reply to this comment

I am coloured,” says Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu.

That was his response when asked to comment on the row over government spokesman Jimmy Manyi’s comments and National Planning Minister Trevor Manuel’s response.

Manuel branded Manyi a racist “in the mould of HF Verwoerd” after remarks he made a year ago as director-general of labour about an “over-concentration of coloureds” in the Western Cape.

Speaking at a media briefing before delivering the annual Desmond Tutu Ecumenical Lecture at a packed hall at the University of the Western Cape (UWC) on Wednesday afternoon, Tutu said: “I’m not supposed to say something about that. I’m trying to not get involved in a way.”

But, he said, it did appear there was “something afoot”.

“It is surprising that something that was said a year ago should suddenly come out as if it is a put-up job.

“For my own perspective, where would I be classified? According to my genome, which was sequenced, I am related to the San people, so I am coloured.”

Tutu, a Nobel Peace Laureate, said that having overcome apartheid, South Africans should not be turning on one another. “I am very deeply saddened.”

Tutu said the Freedom Charter belonged to all who lived in South Africa. He said that he, and other older people, were prompted to ask: “What is happening in our country?”

“There is a pain,” he said gesturing towards his chest.

Tutu, who described himself as on his “last legs”, slammed racism throughout his lecture titled “The Musings of a Decrepit”, his last before his retirement as UWC chancellor.

“Racism asserts that what endows persons with worth is a biological irrelevance such as skin colour … It does not tell you whether he is kind or clever.”

Tutu said corruption would drag South Africa down if left unchecked by its politicians and people.

“Our country, with such tremendous potential, is going to be dragged backwards and downwards by corruption, which in some instances is quite blatant.

Tutu warned that people were not fools.

“They notice things and one day they will explode … What is happening in north Africa is to remind governments everywhere that people are not fools. One day they will call rulers to account.”

Tutu pointed to the “ructions” in the Arab countries of Tunisia, Libya, Algeria, Yemen and in Egypt, where members of the public were instrumental in forcing Egyptian president Hosni Mubarak to step down.

“So I thought to myself, ‘Hey, get out whilst the going is good, before they start toyi-toying to get you out!’ Yuh, do you want to be a chancellor for life? Not on your life.”

Tutu wandered from topic to topic as he discussed events which had recently made news headlines. He called on the students who filled the hall to appreciate their opportunity to be associated with this “outstanding institution” as he had done during his 24 years as chancellor.

Later, while telling a story about Struggle stalwart Cheryl Carolus, Tutu pointed to his speech where the word “carousel” had mistakenly been typed instead of Carolus. He chuckled, slapped his leg and said: “You have an example of my decrepitude!”

michelle.jones@inl.co.za – Cape Times

More to worry about Transie Manyi!

• 214.ET.: Reply to this comment

More Transie as Tutu quests non-racialism instead of TRIBALISM!!

{{{ Archbishop Desmond Tutu on Wednesday passed wide-ranging criticisms of President Jacob Zuma and his administration.

Delivering the annual Desmond Tutu Ecumenical Lecture at the University of the Western Cape, the former cleric, who turns 80

later this year, strayed far in his speech from the strict definition of ecumenical.

“I am very fond of President Zuma. He is affable and warm. But I do believe it would have been better for him to have been pronounced innocent by a court of law weighing the evidence, rather than through a dubious administrative act,” Tutu told his audience.

He then turned his attention to South Africa’s controversial arms deal.

“And, if indeed there is nothing to hide, the government surely has nothing to fear from a judicial commission of inquiry into the arms deal. It is an unnecessary albatross to carry the huge doubts.”

On corruption, he warned the country was being dragged backwards.

“Our country with such tremendous potential is going to be dragged backwards and downwards by corruption, which, in some instances, is quite blatant.”

Tutu criticised Zuma’s relationship with Schabir Shaik and the Gupta family.

“It may be that there is nothing to worry about with the parole of 1/8Schabir 3/8 Shaik, but it must raise eyebrows when someone who was said to be at death’s door is shown playing golf. It is worrying when his close relationship to the president is put in juxtaposition.

“Perhaps the Gupta family would make all those lucrative deals and it is merely coincidental that the president’s son is a beneficiary.”

He described these relationships as worrisome.

“It may all be above board, but it is worrisome. I am sure it is all in order, but it is disturbing that there are these seeming coincidences.”

Tutu called for a return to a constituency-based electoral system.

“I think the party lists for selecting our representatives have served their very important purpose of ensuring representation for every conceivable grouping in the transition years.

“But we really do not want kow-towing sycophantic voting figures who are always ready to change their principles in order to stay on those party lists.

“We must revert to the well-tried constituency system,” Tutu said

• 215.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-212: i wonder if transformation will even admit that Bikos followers were actively assasinated by the anc comrades?

• 216.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Don’t worry.

I have made the ANC aware that Langers and Capo have already left the western cape . Hearing this they have promised to abandon the whole sorry business.

Job done.

• 217.too 2rue: Reply to this comment

Good player.

Is clearly a twat.

As confirmed by the petulance, throughout, vs UnderJocks.

Twat.

• 218.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-216: :lol:

• 219.ET.: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-215:

That is the big NO-NO with that lot as we all know truth is not the trump card with a large part of the nc, nc, nc,
    Tl, tl, tl!!

Away for a long while now.

Transie here is your chance to get the knife in my back, but beware i will be able to draw it out by 11pm, your time

• 220.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-206: what xhosa sponsors are you on about ET…seek help :-)

• 221.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-206: my education seems to be an obsession of yours, let it go.

my knowledge of biko is not based on your chosen examples, happy now?

• 222.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-215: bwahaha…i swear, reading yours and ET’s posts one would be convinced i own the African National Congress :mrgreen:

but keep bashing those scarecrows boys if it makes y’all feel like u hitting the spot 8)

• 223.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

KickKing I hope he realises after his break that rugby rules have changed and that possesion is king. Nah I doubt it, pity as he has scored some amazing tries and his out of hand play is great. Maybe he has lost some speed?
    Anyway both the Kiwis and more the Aussies kick more than us statistically.

• 224.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-220:

As I predicted, I will respond to your predicted stabs.

Have you conveniently forgotten how you spoke to some of your tribal buddies(sometimes in the vernacular) about Gumede (and his ill-begotten gains) or Oasis owners(Bulls connections) or HSM(Safika) wiith much black pride and bravado and arrogance? Do you recall that spat wrt economy involving HG and X-Kid with input from you that you mistakenly, but smugly and disparagingly, refer to?

Does it matter whether it is specifically Xhosa or Zulu or Tswana or Sotho or Venda or any mix? To me it is all the same, unnecessary, unwanted, pompous black arrogance.
    Can you ever claim you have never exhibited such arrogance here?

Did Mandela not say he would FIGHT against white domination and black domination?

Does Tutu, like me constantly, not speak and seek non-racialism besides him hammering away at black corruption?

Again I ask why the black arrogance, as in your assertion wrt any other “using Biko’s name in vain”? What have you even ever done to warrant exhibiting arrogance as you so smugly sometimes do?

• 225.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-221:

Why do you not answer the question about being targeted in those awful years? Is it too embarrassing and painful?

Did you not drop the private education, so it is up for examination is it not, especially wrt your flaunted black arrogance?

As for the education or more correctly appropriateness of it in that background or even lack of it, I would not crow about it.

If you really want education for your benefit let me exhort you to consider another African, like Frantz Fanon, and especially his ‘Wretched of the Earth’ and ‘Black skin, White mask’ .
    After that education you will certainly better understand where you fit, in the scheme of an African society.

I suspect these are all pearls before swine but I must try.

• 226.grant10: Reply to this comment

tribalism will bring more and more pain…

Only 1 tribe for me….a non racial SA tribe….

Way to go…

But people too farken stupid….huddle together in little splintered groups….makes me lekker be fark!

• 227.Beast: Reply to this comment

Back to rugby…If Fourie pulls away his shirt you will find a big S tattood on his chest, he is only weak in the presence of Kryptohnite!! Can not believe ha wants to go and waste the last part of his career in Japan! England or France I can understand, but Japan?!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.