SA latest – Kritzinger crocked
14 Mar 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.
Kritzinger crocked – The Stormers have confirmed that prop JC Kritzinger will take no further part in the 2011 Super Rugby tournament after injuring his knee in the game against the Highlanders.
The news is a blow to the Cape team, who are currently without injured front-ranker Tiaan Liebenberg. Coach Allister Coetzee said that Ethienne Reynecke will be selected on the bench as cover for hooker Deon Fourie this weekend, while Siyabonga Ntubeni will play in the Vodacom Cup.
Champs wait on Botha, Hougaard -The Bulls will make a final decision on the availability of Gary Botha and Francois Hougaard this Tuesday. Coach Frans Ludeke is hoping the pair will play against the Stormers on Saturday.
Botha (shoulder) and Hougaard (foot) will undergo fitness tests on Tuesday. Botha has missed two matches because of his injury while Hougaard is yet to play since the pre-season.
Kamana cited – Lions fullback James Kamana will face a disciplinary hearing on Tuesday after being cited for a tip tackle during the Lions’ 25-20 win over the Cheetahs last Saturday.
The Kiwi speedster was yellow carded for his dangerous tackle on Cheetahs centre Robert Ebersohn in the 60th minute of the Bloemfontein clash and will now face a hearing chaired by Jannie Lubbe in Johannesburg.

32 Comments
14 Mar 2011, 08:19 am
taute the best imo
14 Mar 2011, 08:22 am
Why was’nt the guy that slapped Bekker 5 times not cited? Really should be banned for a month.
14 Mar 2011, 08:27 am
Citing is becoming such an issue …. is this becoming too much ?
14 Mar 2011, 08:28 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-2: If you watch properly Bekker slapped him from the back first
14 Mar 2011, 08:34 am
Bekker used his shoulder but through no punches, so the questions is unanswered why was he not cited.
14 Mar 2011, 08:49 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-5: what about their scrummy that openly threw punches
14 Mar 2011, 08:53 am
@stew(stew)-3: **** man
14 Mar 2011, 09:00 am
The idiot form the Highlanders should be banned for life, what a shocker, throwing five punches and not connecting once, typical Kiwi hand bag slinging.
14 Mar 2011, 09:23 am
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-8: LOL thats my point exactly I dont think he connected once.
14 Mar 2011, 09:27 am
Shame for Kamana, he has earned his starting spot after some good injection off the bench.
14 Mar 2011, 09:29 am
Thought Bekker showed some good restraint there. Bakkies wouldn’t have tolerated that sort of treatment from a no-name Kiwi.
14 Mar 2011, 09:45 am
Good injection off the bench?
I thought kiwis didn’t go in for that sort of thing?
14 Mar 2011, 09:52 am
Stupid tackle by Kamana. Probably deserves a slap on the wrist. Taute is better though.
14 Mar 2011, 09:56 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-13: Well done on your team boet. I’m proud to say I picked them on Superbru. Just had a feeling….
14 Mar 2011, 10:19 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-14: Thanks man. It sure was a relief. Let’s hope it wasn’t just a flash in the pan.
14 Mar 2011, 10:23 am
Both Kamana and Taute should be starting they are such dangerous players. I suppose where to start. Lions actually got some talent in their backline.
14 Mar 2011, 10:29 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-14:
don’t rub it in.
14 Mar 2011, 10:39 am
@cab(cab)-16: correct. Killian doesn’t make the grade. I’d even have Chavanga.
14 Mar 2011, 10:46 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-17: You backed the Cheetahs? Let me guess, you’ve also picked the Poms to win the CWC? Dummkopf.
14 Mar 2011, 10:46 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-18: Are you serious, Killian has great skills and easliy makes the grade.
Cannot argue on Taute, thats Bok written all over him.
14 Mar 2011, 10:51 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-19: Yeah he backed the Highlanders too.
taking a pounding for that one…
14 Mar 2011, 10:53 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-20: Unfortunately yes. How many defenders have you seen Killian beat with good footwork or pace. He’s a typical vanilla player. Only works when mixed with certain exciting flavours.
Taute, has some ability, but hasn’t show the necessary skills required of a fullback, so might still need to find his best position. Will only know once the S15 season is over how well he has developed.
14 Mar 2011, 10:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-19:
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-21:
the cheetahs came quite close to pulling it off.
as for the highlanders…how was I to know that steve walsh would forget about the off side law?
14 Mar 2011, 11:11 am
Lol sure, ok….
I must say it’s easy to be windgat after getting all your picks right bar the draw, next week is a different story
14 Mar 2011, 11:17 am
What did Kamana do wrong? No farm boy was hurt in such a way that he had to go to the hospital, hell Brussouw was the only casualty in that match as a result of FS stupidity and desperation… the only place we hurt them was on the scoreboard.
14 Mar 2011, 11:20 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-24:
indeed you are very windgat.
like the hugenot tunnel when the berg wind is blowing.
14 Mar 2011, 11:21 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-23: All I’m hearing are stories. Close this, ref that. The shortened version is that you simply got it badly wrong. Seems you couldn’t pick your nose without some kind of embarrassing setback, let alone pick a winner. Next time the katman advises you, pay attention. I don’t do it often, so when I do it’s gold. In fact, I was scarily close in my predictions for the first 3 encounters of the weekend – I had the Crusaders by 30+, I had the Chiefs and Canes tied, and I had the Force and Blues tied (anyone else come close to this?). I also had the Lions by a much bigger margin, but little did I know that they’d chosen a ref with vertigo, astigmatism and narcolepsy. His inability to spot countless forward passes and fumbles kind of defeated the purpose of having him run around with a whistle while there was a match on the go.
14 Mar 2011, 11:34 am
gunther tell him it is not so, tell him that all the snot boogies you pick are winners :LOL:
14 Mar 2011, 11:44 am
@Lions snap losing streak(RL)-28:
what is a snot boogie?
vrotgat.
14 Mar 2011, 16:59 pm
What about that Highlanders number 4 that repeatedly punched Andries Bekker, why isn’t he cited?
14 Mar 2011, 19:16 pm
After watching both games at the weekend i have to say the cheetahs v lions game was a typical sa derby match plenty penaltys and not much else but congrats to the lions in winning it has been a long time coming.The 2nd raters v highlanders match was also poor the 2nd raters defence was good but their attacking play was very poor.The one thing that stands out for me is when habana was playing for the bulls he was scoring plenty of tries and playing good rugby in a very good bulls team and they made him look good(apart from his natuaral talent),but since going to the 2nd raters his play is2nd rate and he is deffiinatelyNOT playing as good as he was at the bulls and that is because the 2nd raters have ruined him but it was his choice.One thing that is annoying me with the bulls play we have probably the two fastest wingers in sa rugby and they are not getting the ball and i cannot understand why the bulls do not play to them.
14 Mar 2011, 19:52 pm
Boyohboy did the bulls make the highlanders look good last week after watching the **** they played against the 2nd raters.