Why the Boks need Butch
15 Mar 2011
Butch James has the hunger, the experience and the intimidating aura to be a match-winning figure at the 2011 World Cup.
In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, senior staff writer Jon Cardinelli says this aura shouldn’t be underestimated, especially in a World Cup year. Global tournaments are won on defence and experience, and James’s value as a game-changing defender is as indisputable as his 2007 World Cup winner’s medal. And at 32, he’s still rattling opponents.
‘I’ve never thought of [Dan] Carter as a fragile player,’ James says in explaining the psychology of big defending. ‘It’s more a case of making your presence felt. You want your opposite number to know you’re around. You want him to be constantly thinking about what you’ll do next.’
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
James goes on to talk about how playing in the northern hemisphere forced him to embrace tactical kicking but why he prefers to play with the ball in hand, why he signed with the Lions, how he feels about leaving Bath, how he deals with injuries, and his competitors for the Bok No 10 jersey.
Former Bok technical adviser Eddie Jones and Bath coach Steve Meehan also explain why James should go to the World Cup.
– Meyer Bosman has added a new dimension to the Sharks backline
– Christchurch is home for all four Whitelock brothers
– After a short stint in rugby league, former SA Schools centre JP du Plessis wants to make his mark with the Melbourne Rebels
– A pre-season injury to Tiaan Liebenberg has given Deon Fourie a chance to shine for the Stormers
– Former Bok prop Robbie Kempson on the Kings academy, the policing of the scrum, and why the Currie Cup First Division format should change
– The Kings are making steady progress ahead of their Super Rugby debut in 2013
– Bjorn Basson is determined to move past a nightmare period in his career
– SA U20 coach Dawie Theron on why he left Griquas, his preparations for the World Junior Championship and ensuring that the system produces quality players
– Financial mismanagement has plunged Namibia into crisis just six months before the World Cup
– Maties coach Chean Roux has a passion for the game
– After making a big impact in Cape Town as a defence, collisions and breakdown coach, Omar Mouneimne has been given the chance to work at Test level with Italy
– Brian Mujati has excelled for the Northampton Saints but don’t expect him to talk about it
– Springbok Sevens skipper Kyle Brown on turning their season around in Las Vegas and the importance of keeping youngsters in the system
– We preview the Easter schools rugby festivals and tell you which matches to watch

168 Comments
15 Mar 2011, 06:04 am
Repeating Dragons!
15 Mar 2011, 06:53 am
Gotta ask the wife to buy my copy while I’m overseas. Looks like it could be a good one.
15 Mar 2011, 06:57 am
Buuuutch you beauty.
15 Mar 2011, 07:00 am
just hope that some of that intimidating aura of his can rub off on Elton.
15 Mar 2011, 07:14 am
@Lions snap losing streak(RL)-4: By the looks of the photo, he wants to rub his aura off against Elton….. John.
15 Mar 2011, 07:34 am
i think his wife insisted that the wedding ring appear prominently!
If he’s only scheduled to play his first super rugby game next season, how are they going to prepare him for the world cup? surely not the tri-nations?
15 Mar 2011, 07:42 am
we are blessed with 3 wonderful 10 s ….
butch
grant
lambie
Rest are either learning the trade [ Sias ,Gary, Elton ]
or going to cost us the WC because of 1 dimensionality that is so easy to contain…[ M Steyn ]
15 Mar 2011, 07:43 am
butch due back at Lions in May….will be eligible to play a few super 15 games towards end of competetion…
15 Mar 2011, 07:44 am
Jon, I agree that firstly defence and experience win world cups, but so does reliable goalkicking! Just ask Percy.
Who do you propose will be our goalkicker if Butch plays flyhalf? Please don’t suggest Morne at 12 or 15!
15 Mar 2011, 07:45 am
Butch brings a solid psycological edge no doubt and so does Frans Steyn
15 Mar 2011, 07:57 am
@stand-off(Braders)-9: Frans Steyn….long kicks
Butch…shorter kicks….I believe Butch has a success rate of around 80 % in the bok jersey!
15 Mar 2011, 08:01 am
Sorry, Morne Steyn is still our man for WC.
If Butch was playing Super Rugby, kicking at 80%, things would be different, but too many players come back from the NH and take 6-8 months to adapt to the speed of the game down here (not all players, but most do).
15 Mar 2011, 08:02 am
@grant10(grant10)-11:
Frans Steyn needs to lose 5-8 kg before he comes back, have you seen how fat he is at Racing???
15 Mar 2011, 08:06 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-13: no…havent seen him.
So he is a bit like plod hey?
15 Mar 2011, 08:06 am
Grant10, I doubt his success rate is that high! His goal kicking doesn’t fill me with confidence and he isn’t 1st choice at Bath (Barkly now injured, maybe Butch will kick?) Butch’s line clearance kicks are also terrible- no distance, and his knee’s are poked.
15 Mar 2011, 08:07 am
@stand-off(Braders)-9: Look Butch will definetely need to get up to speed with the SH, but i feel if butch is at 10 then there is no need for morne to be on the park. sure alot of people will complain, but judging purely on 4 rounds of Super rugby I would hand lambie the 15 jumper and kicking duties along with butch. Morne if im not mistaken was primarily been used for his dead accuracy with boot, but i would rather have more attributes in the 10 jumber and a player capable of striking above 80% in the form of Lambie.
15 Mar 2011, 08:07 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-13: Ja i was shocked when i saw him in that game between Racing and Biarritz. When he started by Racing he lost some weight but looks like the french food and wine has caught up with him.
15 Mar 2011, 08:08 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-12:
Peter de Villiers said last week that on current form he will take Butch James as the Springbok flyhalf to the Rugby World Cup, with Morne Steyn as backup.
Pat Lambie will go as an utility backline backup (i.e. flyhalf/centre).
15 Mar 2011, 08:09 am
That cover is so tra-la-la
15 Mar 2011, 08:10 am
@stand-off(Braders)-15: In the bok jumper it might be 70-80 but he hands down offers more than morne at 10.
lets just hope Plod is picking the team not Victor or else we will see stegmann in and morne.
15 Mar 2011, 08:11 am
And by the way, Dan Carter is susceptible to hard defence, although he has improved in this regard.
I remember a match between the Springboks and the All Blacks at Newlands quite a few years ago where Carter’s game fell completely apart after he was rattled by a few hard tackles.
15 Mar 2011, 08:12 am
A three-necked chubby bald guy in a tiny Chevy Spark waved at me in traffic this AM.
NOT what I’m looking for.
15 Mar 2011, 08:13 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-22:
Gunther?
15 Mar 2011, 08:14 am
Keo’s propaganda campaign for the Butcher continues.
15 Mar 2011, 08:14 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-23:
15 Mar 2011, 08:16 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-22:
It was Gunther !!
15 Mar 2011, 08:17 am
Now now Wptid.
Gunther has lots of hair.
As you well know.
15 Mar 2011, 08:18 am
definitley Gunther Dawn!
15 Mar 2011, 08:19 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-27:
You do know they have special products nowadays for removing unwanted and embarrassing body hair?
Settle JR.
I am still munching my toast.
My chevy spark is still in it’s lair.
if he also had Abba blasting away on his stereo and dressed in a pink tutu and a bandana on way to Pilates class….its Gunther!
15 Mar 2011, 08:21 am
and some bull horns perched on the dashboard with a ‘ I lobe our cappie Aura ‘ sign on the bumper….its our Gunther Girl…!
Must say I fail to understand why big guys buy small Chevy Sparks.
Must be so uncomfortable.
I’ll tell you guys one thing.
Judging by the talk with PdV last week, the following players are definitely going to the World Cup, barring injury:
John Smit, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Butch James, Francois Hougaard, Ricky Januarie.
Make of that what you will.
15 Mar 2011, 08:22 am
Let me may make it quite clear though that if I did have no hair, three necks and a chevy spark; I would consider dawn quite a catch.
Grantie
Why do you always have to spoil it
15 Mar 2011, 08:23 am
@grant10(grant10)-31:
Jinne mense.
You better get back to Butch before I get into a world of trouble for deviating from the topic at hand!
15 Mar 2011, 08:23 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-33:
Gunther , care to tell Dawn ?
15 Mar 2011, 08:24 am
Saw him pla yone match fo rbath and lik Luke Watson he did zip. To me I woul dlik et osee him prove he has it as he looked decidedly over the hill. Reputations often outlive deeds. Witness the fact tha twee victoria is till included in most folk sbok selections. bakkies has slipped for sure. Smit will be fortunate to make the squad unless he shows something etc etc. Howmany guys will be included who are past it.
I am hoping the Super 15 and Tri Nations will clarify matters. Like a teddy bear there are those who cannot let go of their favourite players!! Objectivity is in scarce supply and emotions rule.
15 Mar 2011, 08:24 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-35:
Unless … the fat bald guy is also a Midnight Oil fan?
He could hear it from the Spark.
15 Mar 2011, 08:25 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-35: spoil what?
15 Mar 2011, 08:25 am
The more I look at that cover the more I hate it.
15 Mar 2011, 08:26 am
@Beeno(Beeno)-38: jeepers….you actually make sense every now and then….even though i have to read the posts a few times to make or tails of what it is you saying.
15 Mar 2011, 08:28 am
So i subscribe to the online version and it seems that there’s a problem with it…. pages 21 – 43 are from the sowetan soccer magazine…. I’m all for supporting local sport, but I spent my good money on a RUGBY magazine, not a soccer one! please sort this out!!!!
15 Mar 2011, 08:28 am
I am not a midnight oil fan.
My car is black ( sadly not the dolphin shape) and I rarely get to work before nine.
Keep searching for me.
I will definitely wave back
15 Mar 2011, 08:29 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-21: 2005. Remember that one though, one late hit by Vic, round the neck stood out. It all culminated in him dropping the ball in his 22 in the 2nd half when he saw Bakkies bearing down on him, fear in his eyes plain to see, a deer caught in headlights.
15 Mar 2011, 08:32 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-44:
Drop the Abba now.
It’s time.
15 Mar 2011, 08:33 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-45:
That’s it, it was 2005.
15 Mar 2011, 08:33 am
Fact is Morne Steyn was and is not PDV’s first choice player, he plays first choice due to lack of alternatives rather than talent or at least belief by PDV on part. PDV still feels that Ruan Pienaar fickle nature has let the country down, leaving PDV with no choice but to have Steyn as his first choice flyhalf.
The question I would like to pose though, Does Morne know this?
15 Mar 2011, 08:35 am
The abba is in Granties mind.
It was before my time really.
But we let him have it because he has so little.
Together with the pilates, it’s the gift that keeps on giving.
15 Mar 2011, 08:39 am
@grant10(grant10)-42:
To “make or tails” you say grunter!!! What is that all about?
No I recall OZ coming to SA in 19965 as world champions etc etc but having a side with too many oever the hill players. The challenge now is to put emotional attachments aside and take a hard look at form. Very few can do this.
We all know the bulle saying “maak al die bulle ‘n bokke (excuse my Afrikaans!) If you ask the bulle who should go to the world cup they will name the entire bulle team and then add on a few others perhaps!! Hahahahahahahahaha always find bulle delusions hilarious!! All Stormer posters have a solemn duty to keep these oaks on track, a demanding task for sure.
15 Mar 2011, 08:41 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-45: that hit was on Kelleher…not Carter…
And it was Ricky that was in the face of carter all day…
I was there
15 Mar 2011, 08:42 am
@Beeno(Beeno)-50: LOL
Had to read that twice as well….but I get your drift
15 Mar 2011, 08:42 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-48:
Frans Steyn, when fit and motivated in world class. Unfortunatley he is rotting in France. Every effort must be made to get him back. Fire the coach I say and do it now.
15 Mar 2011, 08:44 am
@grant10(grant10)-51: Dunno whether I have my dates confsed but I distinctly remember a hit on Carter. It wasnt the “steel plate” arm hit on Kelleher, is that the game you’re referring 2?
15 Mar 2011, 08:58 am
I ike Butch and his no nonsense style but I think he needs to show his discipline at S15 without getting carded as theis will cost all in RWC time.
Personally I think Bambie is good enough already.
15 Mar 2011, 09:03 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-54: ja…that was the 2005 test at newlands….JDV scored an intercept try and carter went to pieces….ricky was in his face and rattled him big time.
most remember ricky for the great try in 2008….i remember ricky putting fear into carters eyes that day
15 Mar 2011, 09:10 am
@Beeno(Beeno)-53:
Spot on, he’s not playing badly in France, but he’s nowhere near where he could be.
PDV was right (for once) when he said that some of the guys playing overseas were off the pace against Wales last year.
15 Mar 2011, 09:11 am
@grant10(grant10)-56:
Yep, Ricky was very very good back then, his pass was still loopy but his speed off the mark was crazy, putting huge pressure on flyhalves.
But alas, the King Pies have struck the poor fellow…….
15 Mar 2011, 09:13 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-48:
I think he know’s that he will never be what Ruan is/was to PDV…his form in 2009 and 2010 (Super Rugby, not tests) just made it impossible for PDV not to choose him.
15 Mar 2011, 09:14 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-58: ja….that weight has sadly retarded his strengths
15 Mar 2011, 09:19 am
@grant10(grant10)-60:
I just don’t get why he can’t lose the weight??? Smit has shown that no matter what your body type the weight can come off…….does Ricky just not have the will power?
Those guys burn 5000-8000 cal per day, Ricky must be over-eating to still keep that weight on!!!
15 Mar 2011, 09:26 am
YOu know, and I’m as critical as the next guy, but I must say that Ricky actually has lost quite a bit of weight. If you watch him closely he’s not carrying the same spare tyre as last year.
Still missing speedy service in his game though.
And by lost weight, I’m not suggesting that he’s in great shape yet. Just better than he was.
15 Mar 2011, 09:26 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-61: definitley discipline i reckon
15 Mar 2011, 09:28 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-62: true….but still so slow in clearing the rucks….duvenhage far more ‘ sprightly’ in getting to the breakdown….only player slower than getting to breakdowns than rick is plod
15 Mar 2011, 09:30 am
@grant10(grant10)-64: LOL no comment, but yes, he takes an age to clear, when he’s there in time. Guys like Duvenhage, Hougaard and Pretorius clear very quickly, it’s one of the chief ways you can put pressure on the other team. Keep em defending without giving them a chance to recover.
If you take too long the defensive lines regroup and it’s like starting over again…
15 Mar 2011, 09:30 am
bla blah blah Butch blah blah blah. This guy is not going to be a Bok saviour. He created havoc when he was playing flyhalf in the first 6 months of De Villiers tenure causing more problems than giving solutions. In the June tests last year he failed to impress and got nailed with a couple of penalties.
Why dont we invest in guys who are doing it and deserving? Lambie is the top points scorer in the Super 14 AHEAD of Dan Carter at present. His conversion and penalty goal count is ahead of most other players, and his general play is astute.
Grant (who has only been back for 2 weeks of Super Rugby) has the highest penalty goal count of the tournament. His attacking play on Sat was solid and so is his defence. He was great in last years Super rugby tournament and after loads of reports of him prbably coming back soft and not up to Super rugby standards, I can say ive seen none of it. he looks fit and able and as solid as anyone else. Both him and Lambie have scored more points that Morne Steyn – and Steyn had a game more than Grant already.
Between them and Steyn as a backup goal kicker I cant see a huge problem at flyhalf that we have to go get Butch to save us here. The fact is he´s not going to save anyone. He´s going to make matters worse.
15 Mar 2011, 09:32 am
Truth is, while they’re both better 10s than Morne Steyn, I don’t believe Butch, Lambie or F.Steyn are reliable test match goal-kickers.
Is Grant really more creative than M.Steyn? he plays flyhalf for a side that is seemingly reliant upon 3 pointers and is regarded by most as boring.
Even though PDV has reportedly said James is his WC flyhalf, I think it will be Morne Steyn. There is still hope for some creativity for the Bok backline but they must change their inside centre for a player who can pass much more regularly and astutely.
15 Mar 2011, 09:37 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-67: Hi 008
why so scarce these days>
At least with Butch, Grant and Lambie we have choices.
Far better than when it was M Steyn or Ruan, who didnt want to be there!
I agree on boks 12…thats a concern for me as well
15 Mar 2011, 09:37 am
The moment Lambie gains an extra yard of pace (bit of speed training will do the trick) and 4-5 kg of muscle, he should be the Bok 10….until then, I’m happy for the guy to backup Steyn/Butch.
I think 2012 will be his year…..(unless of course the world ends).
15 Mar 2011, 09:38 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-67: And Morne Steyn is creative? Haha where have you been for the last 2 years? Grant is by no means a boring flyhalf. I dont know where you get this **** from. Honestly man. Regarded by most indeed. As far as reliable goal kicking goes how many did Grant miss on Sat against the Highlanders?
15 Mar 2011, 09:39 am
jc kritzinger out for season
and i heard a little bird whisper that J Fourie will be benched vs bulls…
damnation!
15 Mar 2011, 09:39 am
@grant10(grant10)-68:
Yip, 12 is a concern. JDV at his best is awesome, but he seems to be a crash baller for the Boks and nothing more.
Scary to think that Meyer Bosman is prob’s the form 12 in SA at the moment.
15 Mar 2011, 09:40 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-70: Grant is a fanatastic 10….with Lambie and Butch a real contender for bok 10 spot….no matter what old 008 says…
15 Mar 2011, 09:41 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-72: To me JDV has regressed a helleva lot….
for boks and stormers i would go JDJ 12 and j fourie at 13….
jdv needs to step up
15 Mar 2011, 09:41 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-70:
I agree, I think Grant is very under-rated and deserves a crack in this years Trinations (along with Lambie).
Plays very flat, tackles like a machine and kicks at 75-80%. Good player.
15 Mar 2011, 09:42 am
@grant10(grant10)-74:
Yip, agree with that combo….
15 Mar 2011, 09:42 am
Yes, please. Let Butch play for the Boks this year. That way PDV and co will keep their filthy hands off Lambie.
Amazing how people think that having Butch at 10 for the Boks is going to intimidate the opposition. Laughable, really. Oh, and defense wins you World Cups, so therefore we will be favourites. Yeah, with coaches who still believe that there is nothing wrong with the defensive systems while we are leaking tries at a greater rate than uranium is leaking from a *** nuclear plant – it stands to reason that we must be favourites. Huh?
Oh, and having Butch at 10 is going to rectify the problem – naive at best. We are not leaking tries in his channel during set moves; we are leaking tries because Habana breaks the defensive line, because we kick the ball away and do not follow up in a line, because JDV implements the rush defense while M Steyn hangs back, because our centres have to compete at rucks while the forwards have to defend against quick backs et cetera ad nauseum.
NZ are the best defensive team on the planet and they will get better. Their systems are well drilled and their players have excellent technique. We will not catch up to them in a month of Sundays.
15 Mar 2011, 09:44 am
It will be really sad if Steyn and Butch are taken to the WC in the place of Grant and Lambie. Steyn is not international quality and Butch has not played at a decent level for ages. He’ll have to prove himself first. Neither of them have the correct skills for the modern 15 man game that SA is already struggling to adopt. However, Lambie and Grant are winning matches for there teams and have the necessary balance and quality to their game. I’d pick Lambie as my 1st choice as I believe he can do the job for the next decade.
15 Mar 2011, 09:46 am
If Steyn is not international quality, Grant certainly isn’t.
15 Mar 2011, 09:48 am
@grant10(grant10)-71: tough
15 Mar 2011, 09:50 am
@garth(garth)-78:
Harsh on Steyn. I think a FDP/Steyn combo is still our best bet for the WC. I still believe we need a 90% kicker (in the WC). Without FDP though, Steyn seems to go AWOL.
15 Mar 2011, 09:51 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-77: while we are leaking tries at a greater rate than uranium is leaking from a *** nuclear plant – it stands to reason
Thats not even clever or funny. Just leave it out man. You wouldnt be joking about it if it was happening in Sa.
Apart from that I agree with everything your saying – spot on.
Agreed Garth Steyn should be backup at 12 at best. Butch as a reserve stay in SA option.
15 Mar 2011, 09:52 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-75: Agreed. Well said.
15 Mar 2011, 09:53 am
‘Aura’
Bwahahaha…
Too much of aura around here.
15 Mar 2011, 09:54 am
@grant10(grant10)-74: Agreed again. I have been supremely unimpressed with de Villiers since his return and this crash ball thing just kills supply to the backline. The ball never reaches a wing because of it and quite often even results in a turnover cos he cant recycle fast enough or there isnt support play.
There are some options at 12.
Juan de Jongh, Lambie if he´s not the starting flyhalf, Frans Steyn, Doppies La Grange is playing some excellent rugby.
15 Mar 2011, 09:55 am
To sum up (for me).
1. Steyn (as long as FDP is there)
2. Lambie (as long has he starts at least 4 3N games, home and away)
3. Grant (see Lambie)
4. Butch
………
………
345.Me
……….
……….
987. Keo
988. Elton
15 Mar 2011, 09:57 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-72: How is Bosman the form 12 when Doppies La Grange has the highests stats for most runs and most run meters and Bosman has the highest missed tackle count. Always knew he was a major defensive liability at the Cheetahs. he´s totally overrated.
Mapoe as well has been sllipping off tackles like theres no tomorrow. So far he´s not living up to his hype either.
15 Mar 2011, 09:57 am
@super_adi(super_adi)-79: What can Steyn do that’s special? He can kick 90%, but we have 3 or 4 other flyhalfs that can at 80% +. So what’s special. I’d rather have someone who can get the backline moving so we can try and outscore the opposition. All Steyn can hope for is that we bring the other team down to our standards and have a kicking dual. That’s not rugby. You want to demolish the other team, not flip a coin.
15 Mar 2011, 09:58 am
Keo as I sat in marsielles watching the boks throw away a 14 point lead, I turned to my French friend and said, watch Butch James change the game, he slowed the game, changed the dynamic and 17 points later the boks were in the semis.
Now after witnessing such a display and the subsequent final impairs, you’d thinki’d be in your corner on this point but I am not, 4 years is a long time, the game has changed, our competition have improved and the irb will not be forgiving of butch’s hardline tackling.
It’s time to move on, give this a rest. We have plenty of talent to fill the boots of butch, with less penalty risk attached, do we need a hard man at 10, no. Do we need a game changer, yes. Hence can I lobby on behalf of the fans, give this a rest. It’s not as if you have an interest in his appearance in a bok jersey?
15 Mar 2011, 09:58 am
for me…
1 butch
2 grant
3 lambie
4 my aunt agnes
5 my uncle ken
982 M steyn
15 Mar 2011, 09:59 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-87:
Good point. Doppies has been good. I clean forgot about him.
15 Mar 2011, 09:59 am
Look like great articles, hopefully better than the last issue.
Butch and Smit have to be at the WC. Whether they are in the starting 15 is debatable but whether they should be there or not isnt, in my opinion
15 Mar 2011, 10:01 am
@garth(garth)-88: well said young man…
M Steyn makes that bok backline sterile…we not gonna win a wc on the skop en jag !
15 Mar 2011, 10:02 am
Grant10 your aunt Agnes can’t kick for toffee and her tackling is no better than Naas in his prime!
15 Mar 2011, 10:03 am
@Weepee(Weepee)-89: 100% Well said. This is the 2nd time weve had this article shoved down our throats. Sometimes I get the feeling that the Keo scribes dont so much as write an opinion but try and force others to see it their way. I say NO BUTCH.
15 Mar 2011, 10:03 am
Jokes aside on Elton. He would be my 5th choice.
He’s at least better than Naas Olivier!!!!
15 Mar 2011, 10:04 am
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-92: smit can be there
as a commentator
butch can play
imo
15 Mar 2011, 10:05 am
@Weepee(Weepee)-94: ja
but she can bake cool milktert
and that will keep the players happy
15 Mar 2011, 10:06 am
@grant10(grant10)-97:
LOL, Smit would still make my 22 (as backup for Bismark only though).
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-96: my aunt agnes is better than Naas Olivier
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-99: i could live with that….barely!
15 Mar 2011, 10:07 am
@garth(garth)-88:
Well being able to kick that well is pretty special, but he is far from one-dimensional that many believe. I’m not saying that he is amazing or that Grant is terrible but that Steyn is a better option at 10 for SA than Grant.
15 Mar 2011, 10:09 am
Who would put Grant from Stormers ahead of Lambie? Think right at this very moment Lambie is our best fh. No question.
I rate Butch, but have to see how he plays when he arrives for Lions in the S15.
We can all go on and on here about fhs, but PdV has his selections already for wc. Morne will be our fh. Just hope he ups his game this S15 from just being a superb kicker. We need more from him.
15 Mar 2011, 10:10 am
@garth(garth)-88: naieve to think that at International level you can destroy the opposition. How many games are there in a WC final where the opposition is destroyed and if it is ever achieved its done off the back of a 15 man effort.
The secret in International rugby is to take your points whenever they are on offer and keep the scoreboard ticking over. If you don’t do that and the opposition do , you start to play catch up rugby and execution becomes fraught with tension and mistakes appear.
The secret therefore is to always stay within a score of the opposition. Tell me how many tests have you seen where the opposition that has been more than 1 score behind has come back to win (apart from at Soweto last year), very few. Thats why you need a dead-eye **** in your team to convert your points.
Slum town, it’s like formula one when that Martin brundle starts talking nonsense about a driver for you to findout that Martin is his agent! I wonder if keo has the media rights to butch or has gone into the agent business onthe side! Because no one sees the bok style of 2007 winning this years world cup.
@super_adi(super_adi)-102: M Steyn will reduce the bok backs to a sterile bunch of impotent plodders…as he did last year….
15 Mar 2011, 10:11 am
@grant10(grant10)-101:
Yeah, I think Smit from the bench could work. Then we don’t lose the ‘leadership’ thing, plus old Smit can still scrum and throw pretty dam well.
My plan for Smit. Start with Bissie in the big games, bring Smit on at 60min if we are winning. Else Bissie plays the full 80. And again, Smit must go to the WC as a hooker!!
15 Mar 2011, 10:11 am
The AB’s backilne on present for will look something like this:
9. Ellis
10. Carter
11. Sivivatu
12. SBW
13. Fruean
14. Jane
15. Dagg
Morne Steyn, Jean De Villiers, Zane Kirshner, Wynand Olivier, Ricky Januarie, Brian Habana and Butch James are not going to cut it. They are the safe options and would be great if we were playing for 2nd place, but we are not. I hope PDV is going to start supporting the right players.
15 Mar 2011, 10:12 am
Sharks v Crusaders game definitely at Twickers on Sunday 27 March.
15 Mar 2011, 10:13 am
be bold pdv….get rid of these sterile and aging heroes of yesteryear….its all about dynamic ball in hand play nowdays….see the sharks and lions style…thats the recipe….not the skop en jag en bid
15 Mar 2011, 10:18 am
Bok Backline for the WC
9 Fourie, Mcleod
10 Steyn, Lambie, Butch
11 Habana, Mvovo
12 JdV, Lambie, Butch
13 Mossie, JdJ
14 JP, Basson
15 Frans, Lambie, Basson
15 Mar 2011, 10:19 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-70: that was the point I was making, Morne Steyn isn’t creative but it doesn’t seem like Peter Grant is much better on the creativity front. I’d say SA are looking for a creative flyhalf who can reliably kick at goal in the test arena, but there isn’t one available.
@grant10(grant10)-68: morning g10, offline duties getting in the way of blogging time and I haven’t managed to see many of the S15 games anyway so I’d just be talking out of my hat (even more than usual
).
You seem to rate Grant as a creative force, but how does that square up with the limited Stormers backplay?
And come on now, you know Smit is already inked into the WC 22 if not the 15
@garth(garth)-78: James is arguably the most expansive flyhalf of the lot.
15 Mar 2011, 10:19 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-109: I know read it on Sunday. Don’t agree with it though. Our team gonna be so tired for their home games when they get back. Crazy this really.
15 Mar 2011, 10:20 am
Yawn.
I can only point you to the stats.
FduP and Morne Steyn in combination.
Trinations 2009: we scored more tries than Aus and NZ put together.
Super14 2010: which team scored the most tries? How many scored by outside backs?
Ill help you out
Shadow 8
Hougaard (at 11): 7
Zane: 5
Then Morne himself: 5
Get outta here.
15 Mar 2011, 10:23 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-104: 3N 2010
New Zealand 32 (20)
South Africa 12 (3)
New Zealand 31 (13)
South Africa 17 (7)
Australia 30 (17)
South Africa 13 (3)
I’d call that being dominated, even worse. We took ourselves out of those game before the even started. These are the same guys we have to beat to win the WC. Don’t expect NZ and Aus to fall out this time. Also, don’t ever expect the All Blacks to change their game plan. They go on the field to out play and outscore the opposition, not out penalize and out defend them. We need balanced players that can win game and adapt their game plan. Not one dimensional players, like Morne clearly and obviously is.
15 Mar 2011, 10:24 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-114:
at last somebody without a sanitary pad inserted into their nether regions speaks some sense.
15 Mar 2011, 10:24 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-111: Lambie is sure versatile. He is a valuable player for sure to have in the squad. If you look at it that way. But for now I think he is showing he is our best fh. So far he has been in our conference. His kicking was outstanding this past week and also last.
15 Mar 2011, 10:26 am
@Weepee(Weepee)-105:
Peter de Villiers does.
@Puma(Puma)-113:
Wasnt confirmed on Sunday, the Crusaders and Sharks had agreed but the English RFU hadnt given the green light because of the clash with the Halequins game on the Friday. RFU have only just confirmed now.
I dont know, I think they’ll be ok. There wont be any jet lag coming home from London and they would have had a few more days to prepare for the Crusaders because the game is on a Sunday.
All I know is that its going to be a cracker. There’s going to be plenty of ball in hand, running rugby on show at a packed Twickers.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-112: The ball stops as soon as Jean gets it and predictably crash balls up the middle again.
15 Mar 2011, 10:27 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-111:
PdV all but confirmed last week that Ricky Januarie, Fourie du Preez and Francois Hougaard will be the scrumhalves at the World Cup.
15 Mar 2011, 10:28 am
@Puma(Puma)-117:
Ya, he’s definitely a fh. He has put that argument to rest for good.
Just giving all the options should someone pull up with an injury.
15 Mar 2011, 10:29 am
The chosen ones will be there! Loyalty to me means loyalty to the Bok. Winning is not everything.
15 Mar 2011, 10:30 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-121:
Awesome, cant wait to see Januarie in the squad. The only thing he has proved this year is that a man can live on pies and only pies.
Actually forgot about Hougaard. He’ll definitely be there as well.
15 Mar 2011, 10:30 am
@garth 108: sean maitland is the form kiwi 14 by a mile!!!
15 Mar 2011, 10:32 am
gotta run
go proteas….
15 Mar 2011, 10:32 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-119: It was a given. Cause the game was gonna be played on the Sunday, just knew it was going ahead. They just had make sure it was fine with the residents around Twickers for Sunday. Sharks had already agreed. Also it was on sw yesterday. So knew it was gonna happen.
It not the jet lag from London. The tiredness will carry on from the long haul flight from NZ. Also they have travelled already 18 hours to get to NZ. They come home on the Tuesday. Probably only get to train a bit from the Wednesday. Our game against Stormers will be very tough. We on the back foot here buddy. Stormers only have a 2 hour flight. Compare that to all the travel the Sharks will have done. Crazy to have agreed. I know it is for a good cause. But it could cost Sharks huge this.
15 Mar 2011, 10:34 am
Kirschner
JPP
Jean
Fourie
Habs
Steyn
Fouriedp
Guths
Plod
Doepdepoep
Maters
Botha – lezi
Smith – unfit not a problem – a half is better than nothing
Cheese Burger
My lover – Spies my kies
15 Mar 2011, 10:36 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-122: For sure.
@John Galt(John Galt)-119: What I was trying to say in my post 127. Sure no jet lag from London but the continuous travel. Have to count the travel from the time they left our shores until they get back. Globe trotting before some big home games is madness. Tiredness will set in huge.
15 Mar 2011, 10:36 am
It was irresponsible of the clown to play Lambie in the EOYT.
The kid is not ready for that level of rugby yet.
The Super 15 is perfect for him to fine tune his game right now. Leave him alone until next season and then bring him into action at test level.
15 Mar 2011, 10:42 am
@garth(garth)-115: Noteworthy that all those games involved SA and what I am saying is that it has not only to do with the Flyhalf position but the balance of the whole side. A side gets hammered when their balance is wrong. Getting rid of MS is not going to change that. Also in those games NZ at least had a good kicker to keep them ahead when they were dominating elsewhere on the pitch, admittedly running our poor kicks (from MS and Rickie) back at us with interest.
The problem lies in getting the balance in all your combinations right and we were missing Bakkies ( after 1st test in NZ – yellow carded) , FDP (whole TN’s) , Brussouw ( whole TN’s almost), Juan Smit had just come back from injury and Bekker was injured later on. Also no FS at fullback compared to previous year.
The 2010 TN’s was a blip but no-one goes onto a rugby field at International level expecting to walk over the opposition. 2010 may just turn out to be a blessing in disguise.
15 Mar 2011, 10:42 am
@PDivviedoesthingswrite(PDivviedoesthingswrite)-128: FDP, Fourie, JPP and Smith. The rest of your choice are either over the hill or not good enough and should go nowhere near the WC.
15 Mar 2011, 10:44 am
@PDivviedoesthingswrite(PDivviedoesthingswrite)-128: Unless Doepdepoep is Bismark, then you can add him to my list too.
15 Mar 2011, 10:46 am
Kirschner; Stain
JPP Aplon
JdV Jdj
JF Olieboy
Habs Mvovs
Stained and tarnished Butcher
FdP, Hamburger, Hougie
Guthro, Beast
Plod, Bissie
Doep CJ
Mats, Bekker
Botha=lezi VdM
Smith Cheeseburger Alberts Steggies
Spies Spies Spies
15 Mar 2011, 10:47 am
Damn website fracking with me so early in the morning.
15 Mar 2011, 10:47 am
And tell me, if you look at WC results how many of the WC finals have been won by young squads i.e. where the level of experience in Internationals amongst the players averages 30 or less tests. Look at Oz , England and SA when they won the WC and tell me what the average no. of tests per player was.
15 Mar 2011, 10:48 am
@garth(garth)-132:
If you like it or not – the chosen ones will be there. Why bother arguing or putting your best team on paper. It makes no difference. The team is chosen whether they are playing well or not!!!
15 Mar 2011, 10:50 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-131: We scored 4 tries in those games and had 10 scored against us. That’s why we lost. When we got so far behind after the first 30 minutes, we did not have the players to score tries and get back into the game. We were one dimensional, with our one dimensional game and our one dimensional flyhalf. I have not said that we should throw out all the players that can kick, just those that can only kick or only defend. We need players that can do it all.
15 Mar 2011, 11:00 am
@PDivviedoesthingswrite(PDivviedoesthingswrite)-137: You are right. My team for post WC is:
1. Beast
2. Bissie
3. Jannie
4. ???? We actually have no outstanding No. 4′s
5. Bekker
6. Brussouw/Flo
7. Smith/Deysel
8. Koster/Alberts
9. Hougaard/Mcloed
10. Lambie
11. Aplon
12. Juan de Jongh
13. Fourie
14. JPP
15. Frans
or
11. Mvovo
12. Frans
13. Fourie
14. JPP
15. Aplon
Hopefully the clan of old useless men and their coach would be gone.
15 Mar 2011, 11:19 am
@garth(garth)-139: Geez!!!, I had underestimated your deep hatred for the Bulls
15 Mar 2011, 11:28 am
RIght now i would still say M Steyn is the first choice Bok flyhalf. We have to wait and see if Butch can still mix it at international level.
The way the Boks play they need a solid reliable kicker and M Steyn is the best kicker we have had since Naas!
15 Mar 2011, 11:29 am
We need to see Butch playing for the Lions now, so that we can have a better look at him and see if he is good enough to be our world cup no.10. I have no doubt that he is a great player, but to judge him by his performances for bath is inaccurate, as the quality of domestic and club rugby up north is not nearly at the same level and intensity as super rugby. Some judge him on his world cup 2007 performance, but that is four years ago, don’t get me wrong, he was one of the best pivot’s in that tournament. But we need to see him play competitive super rugby for the lions and see how he performs and if he can stay injury free.
If indeed butch does produce, the same style and quality of play in 2007, he will definitely be a better option than Morne Steyn. We all know that Steyn’s goal kicking is more superior, but James proved that he is a very capable goal kicker, but his attacking, tactical and defensive play is far more superior than that of Steyn. I will definitely keep Morne in the match 22, as he is still a valuable asset for the side.
The problem for Butch is, that Morne has proven himself in recent seasons and got the respect of many Bok supporters and Pdiv for his brilliant goal kicking and his, maybe one dimensional, but solid performances, its not like he let the Boks down at any stage and he is a good player. Where James needs to come to the Lions and prove to the country and Pdiv and gain their respect and confidence in only a couple of months. It will be a tough task, but i believe he does have the ability to do that and if he does so, he will be without a doubt the best option at 10 for our World Cup campaign. But like any other player he has to first earn it, he cant just walk in to the side.
Where does that leave Lambie and Jantjies? First of all i wil not even take Jantjies, i will take Lambie and give hime some off the bench world cup experience against lesser sides. Lambie has proved he is ready for the big time, but not quite ready to fill the shoes of Steyn or James. Jantjies on the other hand not nearly there yet. Maybe in a couple of years!!
15 Mar 2011, 11:34 am
No quality No. 4′s???? Sykes, Hargreaves, Rossow, Bakkie still have someting left in the tank. I know some of those guys play at 5, but will have no problem switching to 4.
15 Mar 2011, 11:35 am
@grant10(grant10)-110:
skop en jag en bid
15 Mar 2011, 11:36 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-140: Dude, I lived in Pretoria for a year. You have no idea.
15 Mar 2011, 11:39 am
wow van wyk has more lives the many cats
15 Mar 2011, 11:40 am
smith is playing like an ******* as usual and putting so much pressure on the other batsmen to score the runs
15 Mar 2011, 11:47 am
smith run out 7 from 18 balls?? what a blessing he is out
15 Mar 2011, 11:54 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-143: For anyone who thinks Bakkies no longer has it, must simply ask that young English lock ( Courtney Lawes)…, he had a thing or two to say about Bakkies, and Bakkies went looking for him in the wars, we all know who won that little battle.
15 Mar 2011, 11:55 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-148: Bugger. Hope Ireland not gonna do a England on us. We actually had to win this one big. See AB not playing either. Hope we not in trouble here.
How you brudda? What is your feeling for our Sharks to play in London?
15 Mar 2011, 11:58 am
Rain coming down there. Just hope we get a full game in. Don’t need a draw here with Ireland. That would benefit India. Was hoping we could come out and really put on a big score. Only two wickets down, so we could still do it.
15 Mar 2011, 12:03 pm
smith is useless in this world cup, his biggest score is less that 30 if i recall well. If it was any other player they’d be dropped. Johan Botha can captain the team ffs
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-149:
imo
WC Team
1. Beast
2. Bissy
3. Jannie
4. Botha
5. Matfield
6. Brussow
7. Juan
8. Alberts ( Spies needs to sort himself out )
9. du Preez
10. Steyn / Butch
11. Mvovo
12. Doppies / F. Steyn ( not JDV, it’s the same as including Olivier )
13. Fourie
14. JP P
15. Aplon / F. Steyn
Post WC Team
1. Beast
2. Bissy
3. Jannie
4. Flip
5. Bekker
6. Brussow
7. Alberts
8. Spies
9. Hougaard
10. Lambie
11. Mvovo
12. F. Steyn
13. De Jongh
14. JP P
15. Jaco Taute
15 Mar 2011, 12:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-152: 100% with you on that.
15 Mar 2011, 12:33 pm
Tri Nations should be used to rest some players and try new ones, who cares if we lose the Tri Nations, we need to have our eyes on the biggest prize!
15. Aplon
14. Van den Heever
13. Fourie
12. Strauss
11. Mvovo
10. Lambie
9. Du Preez (looking good so far, needs some game time for the boks)
8. Vermeulen
7. Alberts
6. Brussow
5. Bekker
4. Hargrieves
3. J. Du Plessis
2. B. Du Plessis
1. Van de Linde
16. Gary Botha
17. Steenkamp
18. Sykes
19. Kankowski
20. Mcleod
21. M.Steyn
22. JP Pieterson
15 Mar 2011, 12:42 pm
YES PLEASE!!!!!
I hope to every rugby deity that Butch will be in the Bok team for the WC. It is the only way that PDV and co can keep their filthy little hands off Lambie.
What do the following players have in common?
1. The player-formerly-known-as-Januarie
2. M Steyn
3. J de Villiers
4. B Habana
5. J de Jongh
6. F Louw
7. J P P
8. Z Kirchner
9. P Spies
They were all once considered to be the best in their respective positions, but they are really battling at present. Why? Because they spent too much time with the Boks and under the influence of coaches who do not know their arses from their elbows.
Please, PDV, take Butch and leave Lambie where he is.
15 Mar 2011, 12:44 pm
sharkie10: i’d play doppies before strauss!
15 Mar 2011, 12:45 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-156: NOOOOO
You cannot seriously want to expose our youngsters to the AB’s and Wannabe’s while under the coaching of the three blind mice.
Their confidence is going to be dented beyond repair. We can never allow talents such as the ones mentioned in your team to experience defeat in the Bok jersey. We must not allow our national team to be further humiliated – as if that is possible.
15 Mar 2011, 13:48 pm
SuperSport’s search for ‘Lady Rugga’
——————————————————————————–
10 March 2011, 13:41
HOME | WHO ARE WE LOOKING FOR? | HOW TO ENTER | WHAT IT TAKES | AUDITION DATES & VENUESDo you know the difference between a tighthead and a rolling maul?
If so, you could be just the lady SuperSport is on the hunt for – a sharp, sassy female rugby presenter whose first assignment will be at the Rugby World Cup in September.
SuperSport is embarking on a Lady Rugga talent search, with auditions across the country aimed at finding a woman who is not only passionate about the game, but understands its nuances and is camera-friendly.
The Lady Rugga roadshow starts in Bloemfontein in April and will touch base in Pretoria, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Durban and Port Elizabeth.
Entrants will be whittled down to a list of 12, to be determined by a judging panel of SuperSport’s rugby experts. Thereafter, they will feature on a one-hour weekly magazine programme in which they will be introduced to viewers and carry out rugby reporting assignments.
The number of finalists will be reduced each week until the grand announcement in May.
The winner will undergo training and join up with SuperSport’s Rugby World Cup team in New Zealand.
HOW IT WORKS
English-speaking contestants travel to venues in their region, register and then prepare to present a 30-second sound clip before the judges. In addition, they will have to do an off-the-cuff 30-second soundbite.
All auditions will be recorded, to assist the voting process.
After all eight auditions are held, a dozen finalists will be announced, after which this number will be whittled down each week.
The four Lady Rugga magazine shows will be broadcast on SuperSport in April and may.
DATES AND VENUES
•April 4th 2011: Varsity Shield Final, Venue (TBC)
•April 8 2011: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
•April 9 2011: Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg
•April 11th 2011: Varsity Cup Final, Venue (TBC)
•April 15 2011: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
•April 16 2011: Newlands Rugby Stadium, Cape Town
•April 29 2011: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
•April 30 2011: Mr. Price Kings Park, Durban
PLEASE NOTE: Entrants need to be 18 and above.
15 Mar 2011, 15:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-152: I love the way the press were lauding Smith for his ‘captaincy; in the last match… I must have missed it, all I saw was craptaincy
15 Mar 2011, 16:42 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-160: This could either be brilliant or a stuff up.
What if they decide on a fatty??
15 Mar 2011, 21:46 pm
Meyer Bosman has added no new dimension to the Bok backline, he is k a k.
Butch James should also not just go to the world cup, he should start ahead of Morne Steyn too.
16 Mar 2011, 06:28 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-157: 100%
16 Mar 2011, 06:34 am
Maybe it is best that they stick to the old men and let them go and humiliate themselves with kick and chases and rush defenses and interceptions and all lineout and no scrum and number 10 that only kicks and 12 that just crash balls and 8 that is a big moffie and 11 that is ***** clueless. Rest the talented bunch that are coming through. 2012 Trinations is going to be tough against the World Champs.
16 Mar 2011, 08:46 am
Lambie should be first choice with Steyn a close second , James should play CC
16 Mar 2011, 09:05 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-166: Sparticus,
Agree with you about Lambie. For now he should be our first choice fh. Lambie is our best fh this S15 in our conference. Not just saying that cause I am a Shark supporter, cause without a doubt he is our best so far.
17 Mar 2011, 13:46 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-159: I agree. When they get back to their different franchises, the decent coaches are going to have to have a Bok rehabilitation course so they can unlearn the sh** taught to them in the Bok setup.