Why the Boks need Butch
15 Mar 2011
Butch James has the hunger, the experience and the intimidating aura to be a match-winning figure at the 2011 World Cup.
In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, senior staff writer Jon Cardinelli says this aura shouldn’t be underestimated, especially in a World Cup year. Global tournaments are won on defence and experience, and James’s value as a game-changing defender is as indisputable as his 2007 World Cup winner’s medal. And at 32, he’s still rattling opponents.
‘I’ve never thought of [Dan] Carter as a fragile player,’ James says in explaining the psychology of big defending. ‘It’s more a case of making your presence felt. You want your opposite number to know you’re around. You want him to be constantly thinking about what you’ll do next.’
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
James goes on to talk about how playing in the northern hemisphere forced him to embrace tactical kicking but why he prefers to play with the ball in hand, why he signed with the Lions, how he feels about leaving Bath, how he deals with injuries, and his competitors for the Bok No 10 jersey.
Former Bok technical adviser Eddie Jones and Bath coach Steve Meehan also explain why James should go to the World Cup.
– Meyer Bosman has added a new dimension to the Sharks backline
– Christchurch is home for all four Whitelock brothers
– After a short stint in rugby league, former SA Schools centre JP du Plessis wants to make his mark with the Melbourne Rebels
– A pre-season injury to Tiaan Liebenberg has given Deon Fourie a chance to shine for the Stormers
– Former Bok prop Robbie Kempson on the Kings academy, the policing of the scrum, and why the Currie Cup First Division format should change
– The Kings are making steady progress ahead of their Super Rugby debut in 2013
– Bjorn Basson is determined to move past a nightmare period in his career
– SA U20 coach Dawie Theron on why he left Griquas, his preparations for the World Junior Championship and ensuring that the system produces quality players
– Financial mismanagement has plunged Namibia into crisis just six months before the World Cup
– Maties coach Chean Roux has a passion for the game
– After making a big impact in Cape Town as a defence, collisions and breakdown coach, Omar Mouneimne has been given the chance to work at Test level with Italy
– Brian Mujati has excelled for the Northampton Saints but don’t expect him to talk about it
– Springbok Sevens skipper Kyle Brown on turning their season around in Las Vegas and the importance of keeping youngsters in the system
– We preview the Easter schools rugby festivals and tell you which matches to watch

168 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All
15 Mar 2011, 06:04 am
Repeating Dragons!
15 Mar 2011, 06:53 am
Gotta ask the wife to buy my copy while I’m overseas. Looks like it could be a good one.
15 Mar 2011, 06:57 am
Buuuutch you beauty.
15 Mar 2011, 07:00 am
just hope that some of that intimidating aura of his can rub off on Elton.
15 Mar 2011, 07:14 am
@Lions snap losing streak(RL)-4: By the looks of the photo, he wants to rub his aura off against Elton….. John.
15 Mar 2011, 07:34 am
i think his wife insisted that the wedding ring appear prominently!
If he’s only scheduled to play his first super rugby game next season, how are they going to prepare him for the world cup? surely not the tri-nations?
15 Mar 2011, 07:42 am
we are blessed with 3 wonderful 10 s ….
butch
grant
lambie
Rest are either learning the trade [ Sias ,Gary, Elton ]
or going to cost us the WC because of 1 dimensionality that is so easy to contain…[ M Steyn ]
15 Mar 2011, 07:43 am
butch due back at Lions in May….will be eligible to play a few super 15 games towards end of competetion…
15 Mar 2011, 07:44 am
Jon, I agree that firstly defence and experience win world cups, but so does reliable goalkicking! Just ask Percy.
Who do you propose will be our goalkicker if Butch plays flyhalf? Please don’t suggest Morne at 12 or 15!
15 Mar 2011, 07:45 am
Butch brings a solid psycological edge no doubt and so does Frans Steyn
15 Mar 2011, 07:57 am
@stand-off(Braders)-9: Frans Steyn….long kicks
Butch…shorter kicks….I believe Butch has a success rate of around 80 % in the bok jersey!
15 Mar 2011, 08:01 am
Sorry, Morne Steyn is still our man for WC.
If Butch was playing Super Rugby, kicking at 80%, things would be different, but too many players come back from the NH and take 6-8 months to adapt to the speed of the game down here (not all players, but most do).
15 Mar 2011, 08:02 am
@grant10(grant10)-11:
Frans Steyn needs to lose 5-8 kg before he comes back, have you seen how fat he is at Racing???
15 Mar 2011, 08:06 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-13: no…havent seen him.
So he is a bit like plod hey?
15 Mar 2011, 08:06 am
Grant10, I doubt his success rate is that high! His goal kicking doesn’t fill me with confidence and he isn’t 1st choice at Bath (Barkly now injured, maybe Butch will kick?) Butch’s line clearance kicks are also terrible- no distance, and his knee’s are poked.
15 Mar 2011, 08:07 am
@stand-off(Braders)-9: Look Butch will definetely need to get up to speed with the SH, but i feel if butch is at 10 then there is no need for morne to be on the park. sure alot of people will complain, but judging purely on 4 rounds of Super rugby I would hand lambie the 15 jumper and kicking duties along with butch. Morne if im not mistaken was primarily been used for his dead accuracy with boot, but i would rather have more attributes in the 10 jumber and a player capable of striking above 80% in the form of Lambie.
15 Mar 2011, 08:07 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-13: Ja i was shocked when i saw him in that game between Racing and Biarritz. When he started by Racing he lost some weight but looks like the french food and wine has caught up with him.
15 Mar 2011, 08:08 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-12:
Peter de Villiers said last week that on current form he will take Butch James as the Springbok flyhalf to the Rugby World Cup, with Morne Steyn as backup.
Pat Lambie will go as an utility backline backup (i.e. flyhalf/centre).
15 Mar 2011, 08:09 am
That cover is so tra-la-la
15 Mar 2011, 08:10 am
@stand-off(Braders)-15: In the bok jumper it might be 70-80 but he hands down offers more than morne at 10.
lets just hope Plod is picking the team not Victor or else we will see stegmann in and morne.
15 Mar 2011, 08:11 am
And by the way, Dan Carter is susceptible to hard defence, although he has improved in this regard.
I remember a match between the Springboks and the All Blacks at Newlands quite a few years ago where Carter’s game fell completely apart after he was rattled by a few hard tackles.
15 Mar 2011, 08:12 am
A three-necked chubby bald guy in a tiny Chevy Spark waved at me in traffic this AM.
NOT what I’m looking for.
15 Mar 2011, 08:13 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-22:
Gunther?
15 Mar 2011, 08:14 am
Keo’s propaganda campaign for the Butcher continues.
15 Mar 2011, 08:14 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-23:
15 Mar 2011, 08:16 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-22:
It was Gunther !!
15 Mar 2011, 08:17 am
Now now Wptid.
Gunther has lots of hair.
As you well know.
15 Mar 2011, 08:18 am
definitley Gunther Dawn!
15 Mar 2011, 08:19 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-27:
You do know they have special products nowadays for removing unwanted and embarrassing body hair?
Settle JR.
I am still munching my toast.
My chevy spark is still in it’s lair.
if he also had Abba blasting away on his stereo and dressed in a pink tutu and a bandana on way to Pilates class….its Gunther!
15 Mar 2011, 08:21 am
and some bull horns perched on the dashboard with a ‘ I lobe our cappie Aura ‘ sign on the bumper….its our Gunther Girl…!
Must say I fail to understand why big guys buy small Chevy Sparks.
Must be so uncomfortable.
I’ll tell you guys one thing.
Judging by the talk with PdV last week, the following players are definitely going to the World Cup, barring injury:
John Smit, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Butch James, Francois Hougaard, Ricky Januarie.
Make of that what you will.
15 Mar 2011, 08:22 am
Let me may make it quite clear though that if I did have no hair, three necks and a chevy spark; I would consider dawn quite a catch.
Grantie
Why do you always have to spoil it
15 Mar 2011, 08:23 am
@grant10(grant10)-31:
Jinne mense.
You better get back to Butch before I get into a world of trouble for deviating from the topic at hand!
15 Mar 2011, 08:23 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-33:
Gunther , care to tell Dawn ?
15 Mar 2011, 08:24 am
Saw him pla yone match fo rbath and lik Luke Watson he did zip. To me I woul dlik et osee him prove he has it as he looked decidedly over the hill. Reputations often outlive deeds. Witness the fact tha twee victoria is till included in most folk sbok selections. bakkies has slipped for sure. Smit will be fortunate to make the squad unless he shows something etc etc. Howmany guys will be included who are past it.
I am hoping the Super 15 and Tri Nations will clarify matters. Like a teddy bear there are those who cannot let go of their favourite players!! Objectivity is in scarce supply and emotions rule.
15 Mar 2011, 08:24 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-35:
Unless … the fat bald guy is also a Midnight Oil fan?
He could hear it from the Spark.
15 Mar 2011, 08:25 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-35: spoil what?
15 Mar 2011, 08:25 am
The more I look at that cover the more I hate it.
15 Mar 2011, 08:26 am
@Beeno(Beeno)-38: jeepers….you actually make sense every now and then….even though i have to read the posts a few times to make or tails of what it is you saying.
15 Mar 2011, 08:28 am
So i subscribe to the online version and it seems that there’s a problem with it…. pages 21 – 43 are from the sowetan soccer magazine…. I’m all for supporting local sport, but I spent my good money on a RUGBY magazine, not a soccer one! please sort this out!!!!
15 Mar 2011, 08:28 am
I am not a midnight oil fan.
My car is black ( sadly not the dolphin shape) and I rarely get to work before nine.
Keep searching for me.
I will definitely wave back
15 Mar 2011, 08:29 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-21: 2005. Remember that one though, one late hit by Vic, round the neck stood out. It all culminated in him dropping the ball in his 22 in the 2nd half when he saw Bakkies bearing down on him, fear in his eyes plain to see, a deer caught in headlights.
15 Mar 2011, 08:32 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-44:
Drop the Abba now.
It’s time.
15 Mar 2011, 08:33 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-45:
That’s it, it was 2005.
15 Mar 2011, 08:33 am
Fact is Morne Steyn was and is not PDV’s first choice player, he plays first choice due to lack of alternatives rather than talent or at least belief by PDV on part. PDV still feels that Ruan Pienaar fickle nature has let the country down, leaving PDV with no choice but to have Steyn as his first choice flyhalf.
The question I would like to pose though, Does Morne know this?
15 Mar 2011, 08:35 am
The abba is in Granties mind.
It was before my time really.
But we let him have it because he has so little.
Together with the pilates, it’s the gift that keeps on giving.
15 Mar 2011, 08:39 am
@grant10(grant10)-42:
To “make or tails” you say grunter!!! What is that all about?
No I recall OZ coming to SA in 19965 as world champions etc etc but having a side with too many oever the hill players. The challenge now is to put emotional attachments aside and take a hard look at form. Very few can do this.
We all know the bulle saying “maak al die bulle ‘n bokke (excuse my Afrikaans!) If you ask the bulle who should go to the world cup they will name the entire bulle team and then add on a few others perhaps!! Hahahahahahahahaha always find bulle delusions hilarious!! All Stormer posters have a solemn duty to keep these oaks on track, a demanding task for sure.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All