Aussie latest – Barnes, Palu back for Tahs brings you news from Australia’s Super Rugby franchises.

Barnes, Palu back for Tahs – Berrick Barnes and Wycliff Palu were named in the Waratahs’ run-on side to face the Cheetahs in Sydney on Saturday.

Barnes returns after missing the defeat to the Crusaders because of a concussion. He replaces Daniel Halangahu at pivot.

In a new-look loose trio, No 8 Palu starts his first Super Rugby game in 10 months, which sees Ben Mowen switch to blindside flank and opensider Pat McCutcheon forces Dave Dennis to drop to the bench.

Lachie Turner is preferred ahead of Ryan Cross at outside centre in place of the injured Rob Horne while hooker John Ulugia is promoted to the starting line-up ahead of Damien Fitzpatrick with first-choice Tatafu Polota-Nau on the sidelines.

Waratahs – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Afa Pakalani, 13 Lachie Turner, 12 Tom Carter, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Pat McCutcheon, 6 Ben Mowen, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Dean Mumm (c), 3 Al Baxter, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Sitaleki Timani, 19 Dave Dennis, 20 Brendan McKibbin, 21 Daniel Halangahu, 22 Ryan Cross.

Chambers dropped – Utility back Will Chambers has been dropped from the Reds’ match 22 for their clash against the Rebels this weekend.

Chambers has started at outside centre for the Queenslanders’ opening fixtures this season, but has now been replaced by Ben Tapuai after some poor performances in the No 13 jumper.

The only other change sees lock Adam Wallace-Harris comes in for the injured Van Humphries (broken thumb) while Radike Samo provides second row cover on the bench.

Reds – 15 Ben Lucas, 14 Rod Davies, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Anthony Faingaa, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia (c), 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Adam Wallace-Harrison, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 James Slipper, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Ben Daley.
Subs: 16 James Hanson, 17 Greg Holmes, 18 Radike Samo, 19 Ed Quirk, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Mike Harris, 22 Luke Morahan.

Rebels rotate backs – Mark Gerrard’s shoulder injury has forced the Rebels to reshuffle their backline.

Julian Huxley switches from inside centre to replace Gerrard at fullback. Stirling Mortlock moves to No 12 while Lachlan Mitchell slots in at outside centre. Wing Afusipa Taumoepeau is promoted to the starting line-up with Peter Betham named on the bench.

Rebels – 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Afusipa Taumoepeau, 13 Lachlan Mitchell, 12 Stirling Mortlock (c), 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Tom Chamberlain, 6 Jarrod Saffy, 5 Adam Byrnes, 4 Alister Campbell, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Nic Henderson.
Subs: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Laurie Weeks, 18. Hugh Pyle, 19 Tim Davidson, 20 Richard Kingi, 21 Peter Betham, 22 Luke Rooney.