Kiwis crowned in Hong Kong
27 Mar 2011
New Zealand swept to a Sevens Cup title while South Africa beat Australia in the Plate final in Hong Kong.
South African-born Mat Turner scored for England in the first half of the final, but the Kiwis added further tries before and after the break. New Zealand continued to apply the pressure after that, and completed what was ultimately a comfortable 29-17 win. The result sees New Zealand taking pole position in the Sevens championship.
In the Plate final, South Africa hung on for a narrow 26-19 win thanks to some terrific defence. Paul Treu’s charges were knocked out of the Cup competition earlier in the event when they lost 24-19 to Fiji.
Canada claimed the Bowl title by thumping Japan 33-12 while Kenya edged Spain 17-12 in the Shield final.
For all the results, click here.

97 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
27 Mar 2011, 13:02 pm
12-5 to the colony
27 Mar 2011, 13:04 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-45: Actually read the paper wrong this morning. Man I laughed soooooooooooooo much.
Thought I read. Cause this is a Saders “home” fixture they have been permitted to provide off-field entertainment, which includes the national anthem to be sung by kiwi Geoff Sewell. And the South Africans can sell their broerewors rolls……..hahahahaha. Man I laughed so much almost chocked on my sandwich I was eating. Thought WHAAAAAAAAAAT? They allowed sing the Anthem and we get to sell boerie rolls, what the heck………..hahahahahahaha. Had to have another read and saw I missed the ‘S’ ….
So it actually said Anthems. So think the anthems will be sung before the game. Wonder now if Saders will do the haka?
RFU have got into the spirit of the southern invasion and permitted stands selling boerewors rolls and NZ meat pies..
27 Mar 2011, 13:04 pm
Up the colonies, fckup the landlords
27 Mar 2011, 13:05 pm
who is that big Fijian without a jersey number … damn good player he is.
27 Mar 2011, 13:06 pm
@Puma(Puma)-52: meant – choked
27 Mar 2011, 13:07 pm
South Sea Islands 12 – The Old Mother Hubbard 5, now we heading for reality at last, maybe they get too cook them and eat them when its all over. Choice rewards.
27 Mar 2011, 13:07 pm
@Puma(Puma)-52:
Thats superb that the Poms have come to the party.
27 Mar 2011, 13:08 pm
now the colonisers are getting it handed to them
22-5
27 Mar 2011, 13:08 pm
@Roar Loud(RL)-54:
Fiji are not playing RL
27 Mar 2011, 13:09 pm
SSI 17 – OMH 5
Still on track for that mighty feast
27 Mar 2011, 13:10 pm
@cane(cane)-59: oh okay
27 Mar 2011, 13:10 pm
and another ooh la la 22 SSI – OMH 5
big pot brewing nicely waiting for pakeha stew.
27 Mar 2011, 13:11 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-57: They sure have. Good on em.
BUT the anthems? Jeepers they making this a big thing hey!
That will be a first for a Super game.
27 Mar 2011, 13:13 pm
2 terrible ref decisions going to make it too tough for England.
27 Mar 2011, 13:14 pm
27-5 to the colony
27 Mar 2011, 13:15 pm
29-12
England will lose this game,
But they are a very very good team.
Good to see Mickleson get a try.
he is a workaholic.
Kiwis work as a team at the breakdown pretty incredible.
27 Mar 2011, 13:16 pm
Congratulations Kiwis, winning the HK 7′s
27 Mar 2011, 13:18 pm
@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-49:
Unfortunately for you Mugabe your blonde haired blue eyed masters are going to be around for a loooooong time….and I have personally contributed another to that tally.
since when is 5th place good enough?? get rid of paul true!!!
@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-62:
“pakeha”.
Oooooh, …………………………………………………………………………………I’m impressed.
27 Mar 2011, 13:20 pm
Congrats NZ on winning the HK 7′s
27 Mar 2011, 13:21 pm
@Puma(Puma)-63:
I was at the games when The Sharks took on Harlequins at The Stoop a few years ago and the atmosphere was incredible.
Braai smoke all around the stadium, beers flowing…it was like being at Kings Park except for the bitter cold.
27 Mar 2011, 13:22 pm
Do me a favor Cane chuck Predawn and his entourage into that boiling pot of yours or send him home to the ‘home’ country, he’s outa place here.
27 Mar 2011, 13:24 pm
the big white arselick reckons he’s still superior for some dumbfuck ignoramus reasoning
27 Mar 2011, 13:25 pm
@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-75:
…and you’re simply out of your mind…
27 Mar 2011, 13:26 pm
No One does 7′s like Hong Kong.
And they have been doing it for 30 years. (at least)
Long, long, long, before the IRB got in on the act.
27 Mar 2011, 13:26 pm
you still carrying that sawn off bazooka around with you that gives you all that false supremacy status creeping out your dumbfuck gat?
27 Mar 2011, 13:27 pm
‘…dumbfuck ignoramus….’
You should not copy and paste so often…it has become very very tedious.
27 Mar 2011, 13:36 pm
Easy Guys,
You will frighten off potential new posters.
27 Mar 2011, 13:38 pm
Just having a bit of fun
27 Mar 2011, 13:43 pm
@cane(cane)-81: nah nothing scares away people like Keo tv … it is true.
27 Mar 2011, 13:50 pm
I love Keo’s latest tv episode … he says ‘even if you are a Shark and you think ooooh my team could lose, bet on them to lose and you can still make money’
27 Mar 2011, 13:54 pm
‘tedious’ .. that’s a nice big English word they taught you while rounding you up in their colonialist school
Lord Kitchener taught you and your ilk well while shacking you up in his colonizing concentration camps, not so boertjie boytjie
27 Mar 2011, 13:59 pm
@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-85:
Aaactoooalllly oold boy…I am part Blighty, part Frog, part Fritz and part Hollands.
27 Mar 2011, 14:07 pm
so you a mix of all those witsblitz colonizers all rolled into one, that makes you the ultimate last of the great white hope warriors… aah ha so that explains all this false sense of supremacy ******** up that antiquated witsblitz kopff of yours.
You should join the WWE wrestling circus they could use another antiquated Rambo specimen such as you, then you can take out all those antiquated frustrations on those you still falsely think you are master of.
Unless they go taking theirs out on you.
27 Mar 2011, 14:08 pm
screw’ng is a verbotten woord here .. the g’damn huns are taking over the place
27 Mar 2011, 14:19 pm
Yaaas yaaaas what what.
27 Mar 2011, 14:34 pm
Worst SA players in Super rugby 2011 : Elton Jantjies, Bryan Habana, Maku, Spies!!!!
27 Mar 2011, 14:50 pm
FdP, Matfield, Olivier, Kirchner all coming a close second
Bok team for WC on promise
Aplon / Taute
JPP / Aplon
Fourie / JdJ
JdV (c) / F. Steyn
Grant / M. Steyn
Mvovo / Basson
Duvenhage / Hougaard
Vermeulen / Alberts
Alberts / Elstadt / Burger / Deysel / Louw
Brussow / Burger / Louw / Deysel / Daniel
Bekker / Matfield
Flip / Elstadt / D. Roussow
JdP / CJ
Bismark / Chili
Beast / Gurthro / CJ
13 backs
18 forwards = 31
If party is allowed 32 then one more back
If party only allowed 30 reduce by one loose forward
27 Mar 2011, 15:01 pm
Francois Louw after Brussouw the second best fetcher we have.
FACT
27 Mar 2011, 15:04 pm
i like JDV = cpt!!
27 Mar 2011, 15:07 pm
@WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-90: Add Olivier and Jaco Pretorius to that list. Glad to see Jaco vd Westhuizen had a good game. I will pick the following team for the Bulls against the Hurricanes:
15. vd Westhuizen
14. vd Heever
13. Kirchner
12. Olivier
11. Basson
10. Steyn
9. FdP
8. Potgieter
7. J Kruger
6. Stegmann
5. Matfield
4. Bakkies
3. W Kruger
2. Botha
1. Greyling
If JvdW has a shocker. Bring on Hougaard and shift vd Heever to fullback. I am really looking forward to vd Heever’s progress at fulback. He’s got a good boot and could provide the Bulls with some options from 15. He also transformed one of his weaknesses (defense) into a strength.
27 Mar 2011, 15:11 pm
@WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-93:
Lol enjoy what you have china, after this year your Bull empire will slowly crumble to sh.i.t
27 Mar 2011, 15:27 pm
wp booi …. i support the Stormers
28 Mar 2011, 10:42 am
@Puma(Puma)-52:
Puma, there was even a rendition of ’10 guitars’, a NZ clubroom classic if ever there was one.
Great atmosphere at HQ yest, sensational.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All