Kiwis crowned in Hong Kong

New Zealand swept to a Sevens Cup title while South Africa beat Australia in the Plate final in Hong Kong.

South African-born Mat Turner scored for England in the first half of the final, but the Kiwis added further tries before and after the break. New Zealand continued to apply the pressure after that, and completed what was ultimately a comfortable 29-17 win. The result sees New Zealand taking pole position in the Sevens championship.

In the Plate final, South Africa hung on for a narrow 26-19 win thanks to some terrific defence. Paul Treu’s charges were knocked out of the Cup competition earlier in the event when they lost 24-19 to Fiji.

Canada claimed the Bowl title by thumping Japan 33-12 while Kenya edged Spain 17-12 in the Shield final.

For all the results, click here.

97 Comments

• 1.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

No one cares.

• 2.Rage: Reply to this comment

Desperately unlucky Russian dragons

• 3.SEEBRIES: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-1:

Why comment then?

• 4.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The Plate is the booby-prize.

• 5.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Why 7s’ matters: A great training ground for players to learn how to use space.

Oh so unlucky! Those fijian are giants but watching a guy like Cecil makes me a proud supporter. David versus Goliath.
    The new guy Sithole is pretty big and strong, I think we will see him in S15 in now time.

True to step down: http://www.blitzbokke.com/?p=3519

• 6.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Aussie Ref completely ******** the Fijians.

• 7.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

There’s an Olympic gold medal up for grabs in Sevens.

• 8.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-5:

Paul True to step down…
    Posted on 01 April 2010

you fell for for an last years April Fools joke …. hahahahahaa

• 9.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

7-7 HT

come on Samoa

• 10.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

hard luck Samoa.

so it is the Poms vs NZ in the final.

• 11.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

C’mon we want the triple B/caps, 7′s, Crusaders

• 12.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-11:

good win knocking out the proteas, and as much as I’d love to see the black caps win, I think you’re being a bit hopeful there….

• 13.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-7:

ha ha tackler said booby

• 14.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-12:

I was meaning the win over the Proteas, we have got further than expected so anything from here is a bonus.

• 15.poppa69: Reply to this comment

kittykat

funny. when the blitzedbok won the 7s you were crying like the prize rooster (****) on the farm.
    now you don’t care.?

what a mamparra.

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-15:

In a few weeks he won’t care about the Bulls either.

• 17.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-1:

says the first post’er

• 18.cane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-11:

The Triple.5

We drew a Soccer International in Wuhan, against The Peoples Republic of China.

1-1

• 19.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Very disappointing. Looks like a shite weekend of sport and one to forget and move on.

Lets hope The Sharks can salavage some pride.

• 20.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-15:

“mamparra”.

Have you been taking Night Classes Popps.

• 21.cane: Reply to this comment

Sa vs Aus
    about to kick off.

Hong Kong is the greatest 7′s Tournament.

• 22.cane: Reply to this comment

1st blood to SA. Try.

Slippery under foot.

• 23.cane: Reply to this comment

The Aussies quickly strike back.

7-5

Oz ahead.

• 24.cane: Reply to this comment

Even more quickly the SA go under the posts.

12-7
    SA ahead.

• 25.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

I wonder if the Saders would choose Hong Kong to host the Super rugby final later this year … or Soccer city.

• 26.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-20:

Pops is the Safa-Whisperer.

• 27.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Hong Kong 7′s is amazing, wish I was there!

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

Great go forward momentum by SA gives them their 3rd try to end the half.

19-7

Would take a CHOKE to lose from here.

Surely not twice on the same weekend.

• 29.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-28:

Still wondering which of our cricketers was taking bribes from the Indian bookies to take a fall in that game. It would make sense then…

• 30.cane: Reply to this comment

Good game this.

SA ahead by 7 with 1 minute to go.

• 31.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

oh no

• 32.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

:smile:

• 33.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Sithole , very impressive !!

• 34.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-18:

I have a foot in both camps so that one doesn’t count for me lol

• 35.cane: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-29:

Earlier in the week Predawn, I heard a NZ Cricketing “Personality” say the winning the toss would be crucial.

He indictated that it was EVERYTHING.

We won the Toss.

Don’t be too hard on your boys. They are a great Team.

• 36.cane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-34:

Twin Loyalties.

• 37.cane: Reply to this comment

Looks like some Our (NZ) best players are on the bench?

• 38.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

here we go folks

the cup final

the Poms vs Fiji A Samoa A and Tonga A (aka NZ)

• 39.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-36:

Ha you got it

• 40.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-35: Very much so Cane. I said it in one of my posts here on Friday. A day/night game means sometimes who gets to bat first will have the better of the conditions. Just the way it goes. Think for world cups they really should have day games. That way it is almost equal for both teams the conditions.

Anyhow good luck to your Black Caps against Sri Lanka. I will support your team in that game. But if India get to the final will be supporting India. Cause of the huge community of Indians living in Durbs.

• 41.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

How did AfricA go, RL ?

• 42.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well done to our Blitzboks winning the plate.

• 43.WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton: Reply to this comment

they should lock Kyle Mills up in a room with Bakkies Botha … Bakkies will sort out the filth!!

• 44.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-41: See the National Anthems will be sung today at Twickers. You think the Saders will do the haka?

• 45.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-40:

I see the track will be hard and fast tonight at Twickers, you feeling confident?

• 46.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-41: Cecil was at his usual best … kept the convicts busy, scored a good try setup a few other and kicked some conversions.

• 47.Puma: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-45: No not really….hehehehe. Just looking at a photo on back page of our sports section of the paper and there is a photo of Robbie Freuan. Man he is HUGE. How we gonna stop him and SBW? Jeepers Saders midfield are awesome

• 48.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Mills and BoonXXies

could be quite a love story for the modern age.

Wasn’t a good look, has to be said. What is it about SA that gets them so beefy, I seem to remember the otherwise phlegmatic Fleming giving Biff a few choice words too.

• 49.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

well we came 5th
    for a bunch of little guys it ain’t so bad

7′s is a good sport and when you see countries like Russia stepping it up then its on the right track to making it global, unlike skittle sticks which is still a remnant of the last bastion outposts of British colonialism. And the colonies busy stuffing up the colonizers at least that shows something came out of colonization.

I mean when the last 4 standing are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and New Zealand, then it surely shows that the last white hopes have already been totally banished from the playground… hip hip hooray. Just like boxing or sprinting, or middle distance or long distance running for that matter, no more great white hopes standing, anywhere.

BTW Sri Lanka also batted second, England won the toss and batted first, now how did SL’s run chase pan out in contrast to ours?… 231/0.. that’s how.

• 50.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

5-5 now

• 51.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

12-5 to the colony

• 52.Puma: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-45: Actually read the paper wrong this morning. Man I laughed soooooooooooooo much.

Thought I read. Cause this is a Saders “home” fixture they have been permitted to provide off-field entertainment, which includes the national anthem to be sung by kiwi Geoff Sewell. And the South Africans can sell their broerewors rolls……..hahahahaha. Man I laughed so much almost chocked on my sandwich I was eating. Thought WHAAAAAAAAAAT? They allowed sing the Anthem and we get to sell boerie rolls, what the heck………..hahahahahahaha. Had to have another read and saw I missed the ‘S’ …. :lol: So it actually said Anthems. So think the anthems will be sung before the game. Wonder now if Saders will do the haka?

RFU have got into the spirit of the southern invasion and permitted stands selling boerewors rolls and NZ meat pies..

• 53.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

Up the colonies, fckup the landlords

• 54.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

who is that big Fijian without a jersey number … damn good player he is.

• 55.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-52: meant – choked

• 56.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

South Sea Islands 12 – The Old Mother Hubbard 5, now we heading for reality at last, maybe they get too cook them and eat them when its all over. Choice rewards.

• 57.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-52:

Thats superb that the Poms have come to the party.

• 58.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

now the colonisers are getting it handed to them

22-5

• 59.cane: Reply to this comment

@Roar Loud(RL)-54:

Fiji are not playing RL

• 60.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

SSI 17 – OMH 5

Still on track for that mighty feast

• 61.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-59: oh okay

• 62.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

and another ooh la la 22 SSI – OMH 5

big pot brewing nicely waiting for pakeha stew.

• 63.Puma: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-57: They sure have. Good on em.

BUT the anthems? Jeepers they making this a big thing hey!

That will be a first for a Super game.

• 64.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

2 terrible ref decisions going to make it too tough for England.

• 65.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

27-5 to the colony :smile:

• 66.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

29-12

• 67.cane: Reply to this comment

England will lose this game,
    But they are a very very good team.

Good to see Mickleson get a try.
    he is a workaholic.

• 68.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Kiwis work as a team at the breakdown pretty incredible.

• 69.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Kiwis, winning the HK 7′s

• 70.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-49:

Unfortunately for you Mugabe your blonde haired blue eyed masters are going to be around for a loooooong time….and I have personally contributed another to that tally.

• 71.WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton: Reply to this comment

since when is 5th place good enough?? get rid of paul true!!!

• 72.cane: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-62:

“pakeha”.

Oooooh, …………………………………………………………………………………I’m impressed.

• 73.Puma: Reply to this comment

Congrats NZ on winning the HK 7′s

• 74.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-63:

I was at the games when The Sharks took on Harlequins at The Stoop a few years ago and the atmosphere was incredible.

Braai smoke all around the stadium, beers flowing…it was like being at Kings Park except for the bitter cold.

• 75.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

Do me a favor Cane chuck Predawn and his entourage into that boiling pot of yours or send him home to the ‘home’ country, he’s outa place here.

• 76.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

the big white arselick reckons he’s still superior for some dumbfuck ignoramus reasoning

• 77.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-75:

…and you’re simply out of your mind…

• 78.cane: Reply to this comment

No One does 7′s like Hong Kong.

And they have been doing it for 30 years. (at least)

Long, long, long, before the IRB got in on the act.

• 79.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

you still carrying that sawn off bazooka around with you that gives you all that false supremacy status creeping out your dumbfuck gat?

• 80.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

‘…dumbfuck ignoramus….’

You should not copy and paste so often…it has become very very tedious.

• 81.cane: Reply to this comment

Easy Guys,

You will frighten off potential new posters.

• 82.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Just having a bit of fun ;-)

• 83.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-81: nah nothing scares away people like Keo tv … it is true.

• 84.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

I love Keo’s latest tv episode … he says ‘even if you are a Shark and you think ooooh my team could lose, bet on them to lose and you can still make money’

• 85.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

‘tedious’ .. that’s a nice big English word they taught you while rounding you up in their colonialist school

Lord Kitchener taught you and your ilk well while shacking you up in his colonizing concentration camps, not so boertjie boytjie

• 86.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@skopiskoobidoo(ilanjo)-85:

Aaactoooalllly oold boy…I am part Blighty, part Frog, part Fritz and part Hollands.

• 87.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

so you a mix of all those witsblitz colonizers all rolled into one, that makes you the ultimate last of the great white hope warriors… aah ha so that explains all this false sense of supremacy ******** up that antiquated witsblitz kopff of yours.

You should join the WWE wrestling circus they could use another antiquated Rambo specimen such as you, then you can take out all those antiquated frustrations on those you still falsely think you are master of.

Unless they go taking theirs out on you.

• 88.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

screw’ng is a verbotten woord here .. the g’damn huns are taking over the place

• 89.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Yaaas yaaaas what what.

• 90.WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton: Reply to this comment

Worst SA players in Super rugby 2011 : Elton Jantjies, Bryan Habana, Maku, Spies!!!!

• 91.skopiskoobidoo: Reply to this comment

FdP, Matfield, Olivier, Kirchner all coming a close second

Bok team for WC on promise

Aplon / Taute
    JPP / Aplon
    Fourie / JdJ
    JdV (c) / F. Steyn
    Grant / M. Steyn
    Mvovo / Basson
    Duvenhage / Hougaard
    Vermeulen / Alberts
    Alberts / Elstadt / Burger / Deysel / Louw
    Brussow / Burger / Louw / Deysel / Daniel
    Bekker / Matfield
    Flip / Elstadt / D. Roussow
    JdP / CJ
    Bismark / Chili
    Beast / Gurthro / CJ

13 backs
    18 forwards = 31

If party is allowed 32 then one more back
    If party only allowed 30 reduce by one loose forward

• 92.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Francois Louw after Brussouw the second best fetcher we have.

FACT

• 93.WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton: Reply to this comment

i like JDV = cpt!!

• 94.Horings: Reply to this comment

@WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-90: Add Olivier and Jaco Pretorius to that list. Glad to see Jaco vd Westhuizen had a good game. I will pick the following team for the Bulls against the Hurricanes:

15. vd Westhuizen
    14. vd Heever
    13. Kirchner
    12. Olivier
    11. Basson
    10. Steyn
    9. FdP
    8. Potgieter
    7. J Kruger
    6. Stegmann
    5. Matfield
    4. Bakkies
    3. W Kruger
    2. Botha
    1. Greyling

If JvdW has a shocker. Bring on Hougaard and shift vd Heever to fullback. I am really looking forward to vd Heever’s progress at fulback. He’s got a good boot and could provide the Bulls with some options from 15. He also transformed one of his weaknesses (defense) into a strength.

• 95.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-93:

Lol enjoy what you have china, after this year your Bull empire will slowly crumble to sh.i.t

• 96.WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton: Reply to this comment

wp booi …. i support the Stormers

• 97.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-52:

Puma, there was even a rendition of ’10 guitars’, a NZ clubroom classic if ever there was one.

Great atmosphere at HQ yest, sensational.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.