SA latest – Coetzee sticks with winning combo
6 Apr 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.
Coetzee sticks with winning combo – Allister Coetzee has made no changes to the Stormers team that beat the Sharks last Saturday.
The Stormers host the Reds at Newlands in what should be a closely contested match, especially up front. Coetzee has resisted the temptation to pick an extra forward on the bench.
Stormers – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Nick Koster, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Juan de Jongh.
Drotske turns to Johnson – The injury to Philip van der Walt has prompted the Cheetahs to select Ashley Johnson at No 8.
Van der Walt tore cruciate ligaments in the game against the Blues, and has flown home to Bloemfontein. Davon Raubenheimer takes his place at No 7, while Johnson comes off the bench to start at No 8.
Coach Naka Drotske has rushed Leon Karemaker onto the bench, while Martin Muller and Riaan Smit are also promoted to the matchday 22.
Cheetahs – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Philip Burger, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Corne Uys, 11 Wilmaure Louw, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Kabamba Floors, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp (c), 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Subs: 16 Skipper Badenhorst 17 Lourens Adriaanse, 18 Martin Muller, 19 Leon Karemaker, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Riaan Smit.
Lions get a kick out of Braam – Former Springbok flyhalf Braam van Straaten will help the Lions with their goal-kicking problems.
Van Straaten worked with the Wallabies during the Tri-Nations last year, and has also been helping various players during the 2011 Super Rugby competition. Pat Lambie, James O’Connor and most recently Quade Cooper have all been sent to Van Straaten for assistance.
The former Stormers and Bok goal-kicker should help Andre Pretorius, Burton Francis and Elton Jantjies with their place-kicking. The Lions’ record in this department has been woeful to date.

205 Comments
6 Apr 2011, 09:15 am
Cheetahs realy up against it now.
6 Apr 2011, 09:16 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-1: Oops forgot the Dragon.
6 Apr 2011, 09:23 am
It will be nice if Karemaker makes it onto the pitch – one of the more interesting players in South African rugby.
He was a stand out player at school level, and then discovered he had a genetic disease which causes his eye sight to deteriorate. After having his contract terminated with WP, he was diagnosed with diabetes, and then managed to pick up a contract in France, playing second division rugby.
After retiring at the age of 24, he was given a shot at the Griquas last year, and now has a chance of making his Super rugby debut.
Great story.
6 Apr 2011, 09:25 am
This new loose trio combo surely beats that of Andre Venter/Rueben Kruger/ Erasmus in the Cheetahs record book
And is a few miles ahead of Vremulen/Juan Smith/Brussow combo for the FS
A quality in motion,,,,
6 Apr 2011, 09:29 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-3: I remember watching Karemaker play Craven Week for WP and he was the standout player in that team! Back then I thought he was going to become a great player. It’s unfortunate how his career has been curtailed by his health.
I really hope that he gets his oppurtunity in Super rugby!
6 Apr 2011, 09:36 am
A loose trio consisting of all POC , first time in history I think, well done Cheetahs, I think this loose trio will do very well, good luck.
The injury bogey has ravaged the Cheetahs , their playing resources get pillaged every year , the fact that they are able to put out a competitive side is amazing……………………got to respect them !!
6 Apr 2011, 09:41 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-6: What is a POC? Please explain…? Is this a new Cape Town PC POV….?
Confusing this…
6 Apr 2011, 09:43 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-7: Prophets Of da City. A Cape Town based rap group featuring Ready D.
6 Apr 2011, 09:50 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-8: This loose trio absolutely dominates the breakdance.
6 Apr 2011, 09:51 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-8: So these Rap artistes find themselves playing for da cheetahs…. Must be bad without Brussouw… Is he not a member of the POCs?
6 Apr 2011, 09:53 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-10: I think it is discrimination if Ratel cannot be part of the POCs. He has skills.
6 Apr 2011, 09:53 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-7:
Players of colour, I am not ashamed to say it ??? I think it’s great that these guys are getting a start,!!! ………. the first time in Super rugby history that a loose trio consisiting of all players of colour gets to start, something to celebrate, progress at last been made !!!
It should never be about colour but given our history I am ecstatic about this !!
You have a problem with it ??
6 Apr 2011, 09:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-9: hehehe… If Brussouw was a member of the POCs then the breakdance will be truly dominated…
6 Apr 2011, 09:54 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-10:
You really are an *** hole of note !!!
6 Apr 2011, 09:57 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-12: Players Of Colour? Is Brussouw not a Player Of Colour?
Can you define Player Of Colour?
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-8: And when the Cheetahs play the Stormers, there is a real battle of the breakdance: POC vs BVK.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-13:
You can’t even succeed at being a clown, pathetic man !!!
6 Apr 2011, 10:00 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-17: Clown? Who’s trying to be a clown?
I suggest that the term POC is quite humorous in a naive, attempted PC way…
6 Apr 2011, 10:02 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-16:
Guess Ricky would be Mr. Fatts!
6 Apr 2011, 10:03 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-18:
fark , you really think you are anything but a clown , a farken poor clown at that ??
6 Apr 2011, 10:04 am
Its the circle of life in the PC world….
POC…. Is this a Rainbow designation?
It is not clear…. Its not Black and White.
Its a bit inbetweeny…. Not black enough and not white enough, no?
Is it PC to label POC?
6 Apr 2011, 10:05 am
Braam has done a fine job with Lambie. He no doubt will do the same at Lions.
Always wonder why Naas Botha has never been utilised as well. Sure he has not played for many years. But one never loses the knowledge. He often explains during a game why the kick never worked for the kicker. Still think he was our best kicker of all time. Whether the stats say so or not.
6 Apr 2011, 10:05 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-20: Is Brussouw not a POC?
If Beast played loosie for the Cheetahs, would he be a POC?
6 Apr 2011, 10:06 am
Prophets of da City
BOOMSTYLE.
6 Apr 2011, 10:06 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-21:
As I said a farken poor clown, move on you reek of desperation !!!
6 Apr 2011, 10:08 am
@Puma(Puma)-22: I would have thought Louis Koen would be involved somewhere along the line. Not much of an attacking flyhalf, but boy could he kick. Is he no longer in Joburg?
6 Apr 2011, 10:09 am
@Puma(Puma)-22: Naas gets paid top dollar as a presenter, hence his reluctance to coach.
6 Apr 2011, 10:11 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-26:
Louis Koen and Derik Hougaardt our FH’s at 2003 WC, Jorrie Muller one of the centres …..EISH !!!
6 Apr 2011, 10:13 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-26
Louis had a life changing operation and is now enjoying a very lucrative career on the cruise ship circuit.
6 Apr 2011, 10:14 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-26: Not sure where Koen is buddy. But just looking at the kicking. Can’t understand why Naas Botha is not been used. Still think he was our best ever.
Actually always think of C. Calder as well that eye coach. Why is she not being used? By any of the francishes? Think kicking you need to be, not only accurate with the boot but with the eye to posts as well. Boks would be crazy not to rope her in now. Or any of the franchises.
6 Apr 2011, 10:15 am
Bluster and bulldust…. Watch the insults fly.
Just because of a question on PC and POC….
There was the POC three…
Labelled thus by PC Justrugby…
What happened to the promises
To all the doubting Thomases
That it would only about good players be….?
Or is this just another misspeak… Like condone vs condemn…. But benefit of the doubt is lost…. POC ain’t Prohets Of the City, but Player of Colour….
Wonder what players think of being called POCs…?
6 Apr 2011, 10:18 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-31: I reckon Paul O’Connell is alright to be refered to as POC.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-27: Howzit Taahirah,
Not so sure how much money they make presenting a rugby show. My feeling it can’t be that great. He is very passionate about the game. I think if approched he would consider it. Just not sure why no union has approached him. Now Braam seems to be doing freelance work for all unions. Good on him. But we should be utilising Naas as well imo.
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-29: Ja, I remember you telling me of the duets you sang with him on the Med cruises some years back. You did the Linda Ronstadt parts, right?
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-32: Yes, gingers count.
6 Apr 2011, 10:20 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-32: LOL. Good one….hehehe.
6 Apr 2011, 10:20 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-27: another fcking hypocrite you are.very silent while hg trying to stir the ***** out of jr,oh wait….you actually started the stirring.
6 Apr 2011, 10:21 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-32: Lol. So Kabamba Floors is a Paul O Connell… Ahhh, that makes sense…. Cheetahs become the fighting Irish…. Bloemfontein Irish…. Like London Irish but without the green..
6 Apr 2011, 10:22 am
Oh look, it’s Loose Rectimus. How delightful.
6 Apr 2011, 10:23 am
@Puma(Puma)-33: I remember reading a piece on it, when Naas was approached to coach the Pumas I think. He was making 3X the money commentating plus none of the stress. A no-brainer for him.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-32: That raises the issue: Is Brian O’Driscoll comfortable with the label BOD? Coz lets be honest, a gifted rugby player no doubt but not the finest physical specimen. Does he imagine people sniggering silently when addressing him as such?
6 Apr 2011, 10:23 am
taahirah sounds like another coconut trying to suck up to his white supremacist gatgabbas.
6 Apr 2011, 10:25 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-39: Forrest Dump… He has his very own movie…. Very touching tale about a mentally challenged dude learning how to take a capo in the woods….
6 Apr 2011, 10:25 am
leeuser kakman still soiling the blog?
6 Apr 2011, 10:27 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-31:
Only a cnut would take something as positive as having 3 players of colour starting for the first time in history as loose trio combination, want take the positive out of it by trying to forward their own cause of trying to expose me as what ???? , a racist !!!!!! BBWWWHHHAAA …………..I know what I am and most know here exactly what I am, you on the other hand are exposing yourself as a poor , cheap little clown !!!!!
But we also knew that, you are pathetic man !!!
Do you even have an original thought or opinion??? you feed off others like a leech !!!
6 Apr 2011, 10:28 am
From what I heard Jannie De Beer modelled his kicking on Naas Botha’s style. We all know what Jannie done to England in 1999 wc. Those 5 drop goals were bloody brilliant. Also at full time. He slotted a massive kick from half way to equalize with Oz in the semi. Now there was a student of Naas. So looking at that, WHY is Naas not utilised as a kicking freelance coach like Braam?
6 Apr 2011, 10:29 am
hg ,the p ussy, still clowning around.
6 Apr 2011, 10:30 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-37: HG was making a point, albeit tongue-in-cheek. He was questioning JR’s (well-published) stance on non-racialism vs his comment on the colour of the loose trio’s skin. In effect, he was asking: Doesnt non-racialism mean being blind to skin colour?
So his stirring had a goal.
Yours never does, apart from trying to create a cyber name for yourself.
6 Apr 2011, 10:30 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-44: Let it go Mini-me… A bit naive but you still alright in mid-life crisis type of way…
No cause here, just having a laugh at your little freudian slips….
Here’s a smiley for you….
6 Apr 2011, 10:31 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-46:
I don’t think even Boswell Wilkie would employ him , he’s that bad !!
6 Apr 2011, 10:33 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-40: Well not sure how much he could earn at the Pumas. But would think at the bigger unions he would make a lot more.
Still don’t think whatever he earns at dstv is a lot. Not sure what else he does, but he will have to be working on more than just presenting to make a decent living. But if he don’t want to do it then that is probably why none of the bigger unions have approched him.
6 Apr 2011, 10:33 am
Drotske has been desparately trying to avoid have a black loose trio but his job is on the line and in that respect there is no room for his prejudice. He is hoping that no one will notice if the team should ever win… and if the team looses because of his kak backline, he will refer to his “experiment” that did not work with the loose trio…
Why does this twat still have a job… because he prays every morning in Afrikaans??
6 Apr 2011, 10:34 am
hg is nothing but an oxygen thief.hopefully some english yob will shut the valve for us.
6 Apr 2011, 10:35 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-47: Yup Taahirah…. You get it.
Mini-me is actually an okay oke in his comfy Clifton kind of way… It is hard to comment on the rest of South Africa with relevance when sitting in the bubble of CT….
At the end of the day I am sure he means well…
6 Apr 2011, 10:36 am
@blouhoender(blouhoender)-5: Dont just say it here – head over to his Facebook page and give him some encouragement by sending a message.
6 Apr 2011, 10:37 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-49: Making friends, Mini-me….?
Whats this movie starring you and Capo….?
Rainman?
6 Apr 2011, 10:37 am
From now on I will only comment on rugby matters……….all these insults are getting boring and I am sure the other bloggers are getting gatvol, I will no longer take the “bait”, even though my natural reaction is to retaliate !!
Sorry to bloggers who have had to put up with this mostly childish rants………………….that’s it from me, rugby or nothing, need to be true to my nic and talk about “justrugby”
6 Apr 2011, 10:41 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-47: so says the coconut.you type of chaps are becoming laughable minute by minute.stirring is stirring no matter which way you want to spin it.trying to discredit a blogger like that might be ok for you but that still makes you a fckinn hypocrite .
6 Apr 2011, 10:41 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-55: Blocked toilet on the fourth Floor.. hurry up mate… got to meet the agreed response time.. KPI’s???
6 Apr 2011, 10:42 am
Johnson should start every game at 8 for Cheetahs.And should be vice captain behind Juan Smith
Coonie Oosthiuyzen needs better conditioning,so does WP Nel,Always huffing and puffing by 55 min
6 Apr 2011, 10:43 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-57: His white mate.. but let that not be a reason **** on him
6 Apr 2011, 10:44 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-58: LOL… twat
6 Apr 2011, 10:44 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-57: *Sigh*
6 Apr 2011, 10:45 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-59: yep agreed on that.
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-59: I thought the same thing on the weekend. Both Freestate fatties look badly out of shape.
@justrugby(justrugby)-56: No use crying over spilt milk…
Its all out there….
I forgive you, though, even if nobody else does….
6 Apr 2011, 10:48 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61: Mind your language young man.. be respectful of your superiors. That attitude is career limiting
6 Apr 2011, 10:48 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-60: oh,one of those oke’s with the girlie names.
6 Apr 2011, 10:49 am
Does all this make Quade Cooper a QC
6 Apr 2011, 10:51 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-67: He is trying to confuse himself… a trait found in many twats
6 Apr 2011, 10:53 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-66: (In my best Essex accent) Sorry Sir… But oi can’t do the impossible, innit…?.Elf and Safety…. If we have a problem then I will just tell my Union…. My yuman right…. Know wot oi mean?
6 Apr 2011, 10:55 am
OK , Later guys.. back to work… building my very big spreadsheet that will probably crash when I am completed with it..
6 Apr 2011, 10:55 am
looks like taahirah is also afflicted by ‘ little man syndrome’ just like his new gatgabba hg.trying to expose jr as a racist probabaly makes them feeling extremely proud of themselves and walking around taller in their little demented world.
6 Apr 2011, 10:57 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-71:
6 Apr 2011, 10:58 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-71: If you need some advice… come to this janitor…. It won’t be free, though….
6 Apr 2011, 10:58 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-70: My answer to you:
Why dont you fkoff and exploit the benefit system so that I can get a foreigner to do the job
6 Apr 2011, 11:00 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-68: hehehe. Yeah right…. Considering his history….
6 Apr 2011, 11:01 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-70: essex?we are impressed…..nah not really.what a fckkin delusional prick.typical symptom of ‘little man syndrome’.the piece of afterbirth probably thinks he is napoleon in his little demented mind.
6 Apr 2011, 11:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-74: I could have done the exercise quite easily in MS Access but the bossman is not into all this technology mumbo jumbo.. so its gonna have to be a big spreadsheet in Excel with 300 tabs
6 Apr 2011, 11:03 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-75: And my answer to you…. British jobs for British workers…. Mate, you’re not needed in mud island…. You’re expendable – only a matter of time until your visa runs out…. Plenty of Stevenage locals can do a Procurement secretarial job
6 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
jr is right.hg doesn’t have any original bone in his screwed up body.
6 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-64:
Yeah just have a look at the difference between say Beast,Kruger(Bulls),etc to WP Nel & Coenie???
And even so Guthro Steenkamp is a bit tubby but his workrate & mobility is freakish for a man his size & conditioning.Cant say the same for Free State fatties.
6 Apr 2011, 11:07 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-78: A bit silly that… Doing category management like that…. Heard of Pivot tables
Surely the bossman just wants the results and not interested in how you get there… or does he not trust your “undoubted” expertise….
Stakeholder management, son…. Get it done….
6 Apr 2011, 11:07 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-79: listen to yourself prick!what a fckinn clown you are……..oh you are from essex,totally forgot about that.
6 Apr 2011, 11:08 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-79: ILR??? Red book next year
6 Apr 2011, 11:09 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-81: lol. Those Free Staters really are a throwback to the props of old. Tommie Laubscher was the last of a dying breed at the time.
Connie and WP bringing tubby back!
6 Apr 2011, 11:10 am
hg just been exposed as a not too clever boy.thanks youknow,can always count on you.
6 Apr 2011, 11:14 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-84: Good for you… as long as its not Chairman Mao’s little red book… Never know with Labour supporters :win:
6 Apr 2011, 11:15 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-85:
Tommie might of been a tubby but he was one strong mother, never ever saw him go backwards !!
6 Apr 2011, 11:16 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-88: He was hey! Singlehandedly destroyed many a scrum in his heyday.
6 Apr 2011, 11:17 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-82: He needs to use the document twat.. I am not the user. I is da creator of a work tool.. Pivot tables dont work well on what is essentially a DB without numerical outputs.. Some outputs will be in MSword….. Think about it.. TWAT
6 Apr 2011, 11:21 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-34:
loius sang liza minnelli showtunes whilst I told lions jokes.
the world lay at our feet.
6 Apr 2011, 11:25 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-90: LOL…. Heard of counts with Pivot table….
Have a cuppa tea mate…. That BP is rising…
6 Apr 2011, 11:29 am
This Pampas team playing in the Vodacom cup have come on in leaps and bounds, unbeaten this year !!!!! they are physical , big and have pace in the backline , quite impressive
Very clever what Argentina are doing to improve their player resource and skills level, will pay big dividends in the years to come !!!
I am sure some of these players are hoping to secure a Super franchise contract in the future??
6 Apr 2011, 11:43 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-93:
Where can I read about these okes boet?
6 Apr 2011, 11:49 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-94:
Just google pampas rugby, quite a bit of info boet !!
6 Apr 2011, 11:52 am
Like johnson , plays with heart , has the occassional brain **** but should develop into an excellent Springbok
6 Apr 2011, 11:55 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-56:
so going forward it’s just rugby for you?
6 Apr 2011, 11:55 am
@stew(stew)-96:
Yeah he reminds me of a Polynesian loosie.Big,Strong,Fast but needs refining to his game.
6 Apr 2011, 11:56 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-93: That is great to hear and SA really deserves to be given some credit for helping other countries to develop their rugby players. Hang your heads in shame NZ and AUS!
6 Apr 2011, 11:57 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-97:
yip !!
6 Apr 2011, 11:58 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-99:
100% correct , good point !!
6 Apr 2011, 11:58 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-98: Think their would be better reason to develop Johnson than Spies …. And it increases their BEE rating lol
6 Apr 2011, 12:02 pm
A New Zealand-based fast bowler rewrote the country’s first-class record books on Wednesday by taking five wickets in a single over, all without conceding a run.
– Neil Manthorp: What is it with Ricky?
– Peter Davies on an Indian Summer
– Cricket TV schedule
South African-born quick Neil Wagner, playing for Otago, tore through the Wellington batting line up in the last over before lunch during a four-day fixture in Queenstown.
Wellington began the over on 136/4 chasing Otago’s first innings of 441 and they ended it at 136/9.
Wagner, 25, had Stewart Rhodes caught in the first ball of the over then clean bowled the next four batsmen — Justin Austin-Smellie, Jeetan Patel, Illi Tugaga and Mark Gillespie.
Only Gillespie survived one ball, blocking a Wagner delivery before falling in the final ball of the over.
To cap his performance, Wagner then claimed another wicket after the break as Wellington were bowled out for 148, with the bowler finishing the day boasting career-best figures of six for 36.
The previous best performance in an over by a bowler in New Zealand was during a test in the summer of 1929-30, when Englishman Maurice Allom took four wickets in five balls against New Zealand at Lancaster Park in Christchurch.
Wagner, who reportedly moved to New Zealand in the 2008-09 season, will be eligible to pay for the Black Caps next year.
6 Apr 2011, 12:02 pm
@stew(stew)-102: they don’t need to develop him he is already better than spies…..mind you so are everybody else.
6 Apr 2011, 12:06 pm
seeing a madrid player sitting on the ground and pumping his fists in glee at the sending off of crouch epitomise what’s wrong in football.i hope rugby never reaches that stage.
6 Apr 2011, 12:10 pm
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-105: Agreed. That was bad. Spanish league for me, is the softest league around.
6 Apr 2011, 12:19 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-106: It filters down so quickly as well. I played a game of football against some Asian kids last night and the ampount of faking, diving, cheating was just pathetic. Its supposed to be fun, but kids copying that kind of stuff have really lost the spirit of the game. The way rugby is going, people getting punished very heavily to provocation, it could go down that path? Personally I think self defence on a rugby pitch, shouldn’t be punished.
6 Apr 2011, 12:20 pm
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-104: oouch – we will be assaulted by the Bully parade any minute
6 Apr 2011, 12:27 pm
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-107: Yes thats the thing…its breeding dishonesty. Agree on the self defence issue. Also this Rooney thing is also bad for football and sport in general. He should be given longing than a two match ban…..then he still has the audacity to appeal the ban. Arrrgggg it pisses me off. These guys are suppose to be role models. I remember when i played soccer a few years back, we got penalised for swearing on the field….i think that should be enforce in top level football too.
6 Apr 2011, 12:36 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-109: yeah if you look at what the refs have to put up with in a premier league match its a disgrace, you can clearly lip read the F word! Its shouted at the ref all the time and the senior players are the worst!
6 Apr 2011, 12:56 pm
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-110: exactly…i dont know why the ref puts up with such behaviour. maybe this rooney thing will set a precedent.
6 Apr 2011, 13:12 pm
What would be the best loose forward combination for the boks?
Brussow, Alberts, Smith.
Burger,Alberts,Smith.
Burger,Vermeulen, Alberts.
Brussow, Rossouw, Alberts.
???
I hope Spies gets a wakeup call. He’s not needed…
6 Apr 2011, 13:12 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-109:
Rooney is trash
6 Apr 2011, 13:13 pm
Stormers by 7.
6 Apr 2011, 13:14 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-113: Yessir
6 Apr 2011, 13:15 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-112:
Brussouw
Burger
or Brussouw.Smith.Alberts.
6 Apr 2011, 13:16 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-112: How about
6. Brussouw
7. Burger
8. Alberts
6 Apr 2011, 13:16 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-116: Snap.
6 Apr 2011, 13:17 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-117:
Or
Brussouw
Burger
6 Apr 2011, 13:22 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-118:
Great Minds think alike.
I would want Schalk in the team if he’s firing. Gotta have a allrounder, the guy can do it all, steal ball, hit rucks , carry it up ,tackle.
6 Apr 2011, 13:22 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-117: @wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-116:
I agree, any one of those combinations would be a handful. Lets hope Alberts gets his chance as the first choice #8 in the bok setup.He deserves it. Spies has been getting far to many chances…Kanko too for that matter. Danie Rossouw ,during the Jake era, did well.Spies never lived up to the hype…
What if Brussow doesnt regain his form…?
6. Flo
7. Smith/Burger
8. Alberts
6 Apr 2011, 13:27 pm
Game will be v. Different against reds. Would have gone with:
15 Jantjes
14 Gio Aplon
13 J Fourie
12 J De Villiers
11 Habana
10 Peter Grant
9 Januarie
8 Vermeulen
7 Francois Louw
6 Schalla
5 Bekker
4 Elstadt
3 Brok
2 Fourie
1 CJ
16 Reynecke
17 Blauuw
18 Anton Van Zyk
19 Nick Koster
20 Duvenhage
21 Lionel Cronje
22 De Jongh
6 Apr 2011, 13:28 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-121: that can be an option….along with stegmann who is starting to show some form now.
6 Apr 2011, 13:33 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-123: Flo was on fire against the sharks. He’s the number 1 fetcher so far…
6 Apr 2011, 13:33 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-122: why those changes?
6 Apr 2011, 13:40 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-124: True…his upper body strength is amazing…he rips the ball so easily from opposition players. Huge loss for Stormers and WP rugby.
6 Apr 2011, 13:49 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-126: at the moment he is going nowhere….yet.will be a great loss if he goes though.
6 Apr 2011, 13:54 pm
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-127: oh i thought it has been confirmed already. i hope he stays put.
6 Apr 2011, 14:01 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-128: no.the oke still harbours wc ambitions and according to his agent they might consider offers if there is no joy on the wc front.
6 Apr 2011, 14:05 pm
We should take up a collection. The FLO fund
6 Apr 2011, 14:05 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-122: How can you still chose Januarie over Duvenage in any situation? Duvenage’s quick, crisp ball, good tactical kicking, up-and-unders and good decision making makes him one of the best number 9s in SA. Januarie is slow and sloppy.
6 Apr 2011, 14:06 pm
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-129: I see. I think he should stay on till after the WC. 2012 will be a new coach and new team, I am sure he will be in the mix.
6 Apr 2011, 14:07 pm
@Caper(frmeyer94)-131: True. I think he was thinking along the lines of Ricky getting under the skin of Cooper and Genia.
6 Apr 2011, 14:08 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-59: No Chief!!!, that little sprint from the dressing room to the centre of the pitch before the start, is enough to have these two gasping for air.
6 Apr 2011, 14:09 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-130: Lol. And if Ratel suddenly wanted to go to the Stormers? (hypothetical of course… never in a million years would he want to do that
)
6 Apr 2011, 14:11 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-132: agree with you there.read an article on ,i think news24,last night that stormers players should not hold their breath for wc selection.apparently pdv has gone stormer cold since 2009.speculation is that pdv got some issues with wpru.
6 Apr 2011, 14:11 pm
Flo is a big loss for WP and Stormers. Last season and this season he’s been a huge part of the team. His work at the ruck is a crucial part of the Stormers’ game. His defense, runs with the ball and work rate is impressive. Weird how PdV chose him for a few matches at the start of the Boks’ 2010 season and then completely dropped him after the horrible overseas tour. Flo was one of the few players who looked alright in those embarrassing losses. Choosing Deon Steggman above Flo for the end of the year tour was ridiculous. Steggman is a wannabee fetcher. I hope Nick Koster will be ready to replace Flo next year.
6 Apr 2011, 14:13 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-135: Well let me rather ask it this way:
sentimentality aside, why would someone who is a top class international who could pretty much make any team want to stay at the Cheetahs?
6 Apr 2011, 14:14 pm
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-136: Why? Thats messed up. @Caper(frmeyer94)-137: As a fetcher?
6 Apr 2011, 14:15 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-133: Januarie’s not the quick, busy and always-looking-for-work player he use to be. Duvenage + Grant are a great comobonation, to.
6 Apr 2011, 14:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-135: But to answer you honestly, he’d obviously be welcome here. FLO is more like a 7 who can fetch than a “play to the ball” fetcher like Brussow. So place for both.
Imagine a squad of Bussow, FLO and Vermeulen alternating with Koster, PLouw and Burger (who probably won’t still be at his best in another couple of years).
6 Apr 2011, 14:17 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-138: He might be biding his time to go to the Sharks instead…
6 Apr 2011, 14:19 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-141: And then imagine a squad of Deysel, Alberts, Daniel, Ratel and Kanko rotating
Who’s the daddy?
6 Apr 2011, 14:19 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-141:
the bulls will take him.
we will ease the cultural transition.
6 Apr 2011, 14:21 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-139: i don’t know but apparently the camp is split over the direction the boks should take in terms of playing style.apparently matfield.fdup,smit and other senior bull and shark players believe that the boks should go the conservative route while schalk burger and stormers players believe that the expansive way should be followed.the influence of the senior shark and bull players on pdv basically reduces stormers players to sideshows for the world cup.
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-141: When does Brussow’s contract with the Cheetahs end?
The Stormers need to buy Sarel Pretorius right away….that boy is magic.
6 Apr 2011, 14:23 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-141: Think Brussow would come to the Sharks. Those Freestaters love Durbs for some reason, we sort of the Freestate by the sea to em.
Must be the warm balmy weather and the warm Indian Ocean that attracts the Freestate boys to Durbs.
…..hehehe.
6 Apr 2011, 14:26 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-147: Jeez, Another that will probably come to Durbs. Those Freestate players love it here…hehe.
Serious though Sarel is one heck of a player. Plenty will be wanting to offer him a contract. Though think Cheetahs will have given him a contract by now.
6 Apr 2011, 14:26 pm
@Puma(Puma)-148: You’re right they do seem to like the coast up there…
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-144: I’ll bet you do. He could practically commute.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-143: i’d really rather not thanks
6 Apr 2011, 14:29 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-150: They sure do and most of our team are from there. Like home from home to em…haha.
Not sure how long Brussow’s contract is with Cheetahs. Think until end of wc. Not to sure though. Also how long has Sarel have a contract with Cheetahs? Plenty will be wanting to offer him something as well.
6 Apr 2011, 14:30 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-150:
we will send a chauffeur-driven bakkie for him.
6 Apr 2011, 14:31 pm
@Puma(Puma)-151: Well not most of our team, but plenty are.
6 Apr 2011, 14:31 pm
@Puma(Puma)-149: lol stop taking all the Free State Boys. Is he still signed with Griquas right?
6 Apr 2011, 14:32 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-152:
6 Apr 2011, 14:33 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-152:
6 Apr 2011, 14:33 pm
@Puma(Puma)-151: I think Brussouw is until 2012 or 2013….i might be wrong though.
6 Apr 2011, 14:34 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-154: I know but they all seem to love Durbs…hehe.
Not sure if he is still signed with Griquas. But a heck of a player.
6 Apr 2011, 14:36 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-157: Not sure when Brussow contracts expires with Cheetahs. Know that Sharks were very keen on getting him last year already. Not sure about Brussow’s contract how long it is with Cheetahs. Thought it was until end of the wc. Sort of remember reading something like that. But like I said not sure.
6 Apr 2011, 14:37 pm
@Puma(Puma)-151: Sarel contract with Griquas.
6 Apr 2011, 14:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-158: ja thats true. I think he is still signed with Griquas so it will be easy for a bigger unions to pick him up.
6 Apr 2011, 14:40 pm
sharks came damn close to signing brussow end of 2009…think he renewed till end 2011 with cheetahs
6 Apr 2011, 14:41 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-160: That Griquas team has a few gems in it.
6 Apr 2011, 14:42 pm
@Puma(Puma)-158: Those 2 are players I think any province would love to have.
Poor Cheetahs get pillaged every season of their talent.
6 Apr 2011, 14:45 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-160: Well that means if Cheetahs have not given him a contract he will be snapped up by one of the big 3 franchises.
6 Apr 2011, 14:46 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-164: They will be snapped up. Both Sarel and Brussow. Feel for the Cheetahs actually. If they could have kept their players they would be a powerhouse really.
6 Apr 2011, 14:46 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-163: Yep. Pretorious, Riaan Viljoen, and on a good day: Earl Rose.
*runs for cover*
6 Apr 2011, 14:47 pm
Stormers building some consistancy in selection. Not looking too bad. Would still like to see Lionel Cronje and Nick Groom come onto the bench. Gary needs some game time with the V-cup team while January needs some time in Siberia
6 Apr 2011, 14:51 pm
@Old School(Old School)-168: Groom is good, so is Schreuder. Both very exciting scrummies.
6 Apr 2011, 14:59 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-167:
In terms of gems………..
……Earl is a cubit zirconia.
6 Apr 2011, 15:00 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-169: Schreuder hasn’t really impressed me thus far. Kid comes with a lot of hype though, so hope he proves me wrong. Groom looks very good yes.
Still sulking about the fact that we let Hoffman go to the Sharks. That guy is pure class!
6 Apr 2011, 15:02 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-170: So you rate him 2? Good. Thought I was the only one.
6 Apr 2011, 15:08 pm
@Puma(Puma)-50: he earns about 1.8 million a year for Supersport commentary/anchor
6 Apr 2011, 15:09 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-172:
I rate him highly.
for the Griquas.
6 Apr 2011, 15:11 pm
@Kritik(Krit)-173: Not bad for a bitpart job.
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-174: Not saying I want him at the Bulls. Just saying he’s very talented but prone to many many many brainfarts. The rugby equivalent of Herschelle Gibbs. Wait. Gibbs is the rugby equivalent of Herschelle Gibbs.
6 Apr 2011, 15:12 pm
@Kritik(Krit)-173: Naas?? Damn thats a lot of Moola. Does Ashwin earn something similar? I thought these guys might be on something like R30 000 a month.
6 Apr 2011, 15:15 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-175:
sweet lord but Herschy was a gifted rugby player.
apparently the bulls offered him HUGE money when he ws a youngster.
6 Apr 2011, 15:18 pm
@Old School(Old School)-171: Thing is, Groom looked amazing against Boland, but that’s really the only run he’s had in the senior team. For me Schreuder looked very good in the warm up matches where he came on off the bench.
So ja, both have promise but need to get game time to prove (or disprove) themselves…
6 Apr 2011, 15:21 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-47:
That was actually very good.
It seems like you have taken to heart my advice about reading the right stuff(and not just the comics) to improve your knowledge to get you into a better position to discern real knowledge from memrisations and recitations.
I am sure too the gf has responded to your request for the help you requested from her. She does have some logic or rationale as that was clearly needed for her to wrap her brain around all those complex physiological, biochemical and pathological processes demanded of her.
Further advice, keep up the good work even as you realised here that the truths often attract some of the unwarranted, questionable rotten elements like the latino.
6 Apr 2011, 15:23 pm
@ET.(ET.)-179:
should read correctly “memorisations”
6 Apr 2011, 15:23 pm
Stormers looking GOOD! Hopefully they drop Voldemardt!
6 Apr 2011, 15:27 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-181: ???
6 Apr 2011, 15:34 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-176: Owen was on 1.2 mil last I heard. So would think Ashwin because he is new is much lower in the salary rankings
6 Apr 2011, 15:35 pm
January= Voldemardt – he is the spitting image
6 Apr 2011, 15:36 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-184: lol he just needs to lose a lot of weight.
6 Apr 2011, 15:38 pm
@Kritik(Krit)-183: Oh ok i see. Still he is earning good money.
6 Apr 2011, 16:04 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-186: You related to Ashwin? Want to tap him up for some of that moola?
Just kidding.
But if you are, I sent him a poetry book he’s been searching for a long time now. I dont think a ‘thank you” note is to much asked.
6 Apr 2011, 16:07 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-187:
6 Apr 2011, 16:08 pm
@Kritik(Krit)-183: I’d rather pay Aswin the R1.2 than Owen. Ashwin makes good sense when he talks.
6 Apr 2011, 16:14 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-189: He does hey?
Admit it, you were surprised upon discovering this. Shocked even. I was!
6 Apr 2011, 16:15 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-189:
agreed.
owen and bros should be commentating on korfball on SS76.
6 Apr 2011, 16:19 pm
I’m hoping the Stormers gonna f the reds up proper!!
6 Apr 2011, 16:21 pm
@Kritik(Krit)-173: Please don’t tell me chippy the new “all out rugby” and post match commentator is going to be earning over 1 mill a year or that fn annoying stransky earns anywhere near a mill, he probably deserves more like R20k a month for his PC bullshiting
6 Apr 2011, 16:30 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-190: Yes, i really enjoy his analysis. I will admit that I was impressed and a little surprised too. I say only a little, because I’d had the opportunity to talk to him before one on one and he came accross very well back then.
But chatting one on one and giving a TV standard post match analysis are two different things, and not many are able to do this well.
He is one. Owen is not IMO.
6 Apr 2011, 16:32 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-191: Yeah. They both suck. Badly.
I’d rather listen to the Ill Postino than them. And that’s saying a lot.
6 Apr 2011, 16:51 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-154: Ha Ha dream on lads!! Brussow and his ilk have been contracted by Toyota!! And we all know how long they last!!
Go Cheetahs!! Cheetahs are playing with real guts and determination, if they can play like they did against the blues with so many injuries and new combo’s they will soon be unstoppable, as the new guys gain experience, and the injured one’s return!!
Soon the Cheetahs will be the SA team to watch out for!!
Go Cheetahs!!
6 Apr 2011, 16:58 pm
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-196: Your eternal optimism is touching
Hope they knock a couple of the teams back down under.
6 Apr 2011, 17:06 pm
That winning combination no doubt includes Januarie off the bench and the ever prawling Sho Boat Habana at 11?
6 Apr 2011, 18:25 pm
Bru picks are in, should be another 100% sweep for me this week.
6 Apr 2011, 18:26 pm
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-196: didn’t they say that about the resurgent Lions?
6 Apr 2011, 21:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-48:
6 Apr 2011, 22:05 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-68:
6 Apr 2011, 22:19 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-56:
Yea, it’s always best to surrender when you have run out of ammo.
It’s no disgrace, HG is twice as smart as you, having two brain cells to your one.
6 Apr 2011, 22:51 pm
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-99:
How wrong can you be?
A few years ago SARU (with all their millions) were embarrassed by the revelation that Australia was spending way more than them on rugby development amongst the poor communities in South Africa.
About the Active Community Club (ACC)
The Active Commuunity Club (ACC) initiative, funded by AusAID and implemented by the Australian Sports Commission, is the flagship project of the Australia Africa 2006 Sports Development Programme (AA2006), designed to improve the physical and social health of community members through participation in physical activities.
The region now has five clubs with some 2,000 members and this number is growing daily. The ACC actively targets all people living in the Buffalo City Council areas (East London) who are able to actively participate in sport, community recreation, fitness, outdoor recreation and other physical activities.
The ACC is designed and driven at community level and supported by stakeholders such as the Buffalo City Municipality, Department of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture, South African Police Services, Department of Health, Education and Social Welfare, Sports Federation, SA Sports Commission and members of the private sector.
About the Australia Africa 2006 Sport Development Programme (AA2006)
In 1997, the Prime Minister of Australia, the Hon John Howard MP announced a package of sport development assistance to Commonwealth countries in Africa, the Caribbean and the South Pacific regions. The African component of which South Africa is a major beneficiary country, known as the Australia Africa 2006 Sports Development Programme, focuses on………
7 Apr 2011, 07:21 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-187: lol Maybe he never got it.