SA latest – Coetzee sticks with winning combo
6 Apr 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.
Coetzee sticks with winning combo – Allister Coetzee has made no changes to the Stormers team that beat the Sharks last Saturday.
The Stormers host the Reds at Newlands in what should be a closely contested match, especially up front. Coetzee has resisted the temptation to pick an extra forward on the bench.
Stormers – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Nick Koster, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Juan de Jongh.
Drotske turns to Johnson – The injury to Philip van der Walt has prompted the Cheetahs to select Ashley Johnson at No 8.
Van der Walt tore cruciate ligaments in the game against the Blues, and has flown home to Bloemfontein. Davon Raubenheimer takes his place at No 7, while Johnson comes off the bench to start at No 8.
Coach Naka Drotske has rushed Leon Karemaker onto the bench, while Martin Muller and Riaan Smit are also promoted to the matchday 22.
Cheetahs – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Philip Burger, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Corne Uys, 11 Wilmaure Louw, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Kabamba Floors, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp (c), 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Subs: 16 Skipper Badenhorst 17 Lourens Adriaanse, 18 Martin Muller, 19 Leon Karemaker, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Riaan Smit.
Lions get a kick out of Braam – Former Springbok flyhalf Braam van Straaten will help the Lions with their goal-kicking problems.
Van Straaten worked with the Wallabies during the Tri-Nations last year, and has also been helping various players during the 2011 Super Rugby competition. Pat Lambie, James O’Connor and most recently Quade Cooper have all been sent to Van Straaten for assistance.
The former Stormers and Bok goal-kicker should help Andre Pretorius, Burton Francis and Elton Jantjies with their place-kicking. The Lions’ record in this department has been woeful to date.

205 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
6 Apr 2011, 10:33 am
Drotske has been desparately trying to avoid have a black loose trio but his job is on the line and in that respect there is no room for his prejudice. He is hoping that no one will notice if the team should ever win… and if the team looses because of his kak backline, he will refer to his “experiment” that did not work with the loose trio…
Why does this twat still have a job… because he prays every morning in Afrikaans??
6 Apr 2011, 10:34 am
hg is nothing but an oxygen thief.hopefully some english yob will shut the valve for us.
6 Apr 2011, 10:35 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-47: Yup Taahirah…. You get it.
Mini-me is actually an okay oke in his comfy Clifton kind of way… It is hard to comment on the rest of South Africa with relevance when sitting in the bubble of CT….
At the end of the day I am sure he means well…
6 Apr 2011, 10:36 am
@blouhoender(blouhoender)-5: Dont just say it here – head over to his Facebook page and give him some encouragement by sending a message.
6 Apr 2011, 10:37 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-49: Making friends, Mini-me….?
Whats this movie starring you and Capo….?
Rainman?
6 Apr 2011, 10:37 am
From now on I will only comment on rugby matters……….all these insults are getting boring and I am sure the other bloggers are getting gatvol, I will no longer take the “bait”, even though my natural reaction is to retaliate !!
Sorry to bloggers who have had to put up with this mostly childish rants………………….that’s it from me, rugby or nothing, need to be true to my nic and talk about “justrugby”
6 Apr 2011, 10:41 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-47: so says the coconut.you type of chaps are becoming laughable minute by minute.stirring is stirring no matter which way you want to spin it.trying to discredit a blogger like that might be ok for you but that still makes you a fckinn hypocrite .
6 Apr 2011, 10:41 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-55: Blocked toilet on the fourth Floor.. hurry up mate… got to meet the agreed response time.. KPI’s???
6 Apr 2011, 10:42 am
Johnson should start every game at 8 for Cheetahs.And should be vice captain behind Juan Smith
Coonie Oosthiuyzen needs better conditioning,so does WP Nel,Always huffing and puffing by 55 min
6 Apr 2011, 10:43 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-57: His white mate.. but let that not be a reason **** on him
6 Apr 2011, 10:44 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-58: LOL… twat
6 Apr 2011, 10:44 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-57: *Sigh*
6 Apr 2011, 10:45 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-59: yep agreed on that.
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-59: I thought the same thing on the weekend. Both Freestate fatties look badly out of shape.
@justrugby(justrugby)-56: No use crying over spilt milk…
Its all out there….
I forgive you, though, even if nobody else does….
6 Apr 2011, 10:48 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61: Mind your language young man.. be respectful of your superiors. That attitude is career limiting
6 Apr 2011, 10:48 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-60: oh,one of those oke’s with the girlie names.
6 Apr 2011, 10:49 am
Does all this make Quade Cooper a QC
6 Apr 2011, 10:51 am
@Lucem Petimus(Lucem Petimus)-67: He is trying to confuse himself… a trait found in many twats
6 Apr 2011, 10:53 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-66: (In my best Essex accent) Sorry Sir… But oi can’t do the impossible, innit…?.Elf and Safety…. If we have a problem then I will just tell my Union…. My yuman right…. Know wot oi mean?
6 Apr 2011, 10:55 am
OK , Later guys.. back to work… building my very big spreadsheet that will probably crash when I am completed with it..
6 Apr 2011, 10:55 am
looks like taahirah is also afflicted by ‘ little man syndrome’ just like his new gatgabba hg.trying to expose jr as a racist probabaly makes them feeling extremely proud of themselves and walking around taller in their little demented world.
6 Apr 2011, 10:57 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-71:
6 Apr 2011, 10:58 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-71: If you need some advice… come to this janitor…. It won’t be free, though….
6 Apr 2011, 10:58 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-70: My answer to you:
Why dont you fkoff and exploit the benefit system so that I can get a foreigner to do the job
6 Apr 2011, 11:00 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-68: hehehe. Yeah right…. Considering his history….
6 Apr 2011, 11:01 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-70: essex?we are impressed…..nah not really.what a fckkin delusional prick.typical symptom of ‘little man syndrome’.the piece of afterbirth probably thinks he is napoleon in his little demented mind.
6 Apr 2011, 11:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-74: I could have done the exercise quite easily in MS Access but the bossman is not into all this technology mumbo jumbo.. so its gonna have to be a big spreadsheet in Excel with 300 tabs
6 Apr 2011, 11:03 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-75: And my answer to you…. British jobs for British workers…. Mate, you’re not needed in mud island…. You’re expendable – only a matter of time until your visa runs out…. Plenty of Stevenage locals can do a Procurement secretarial job
6 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
jr is right.hg doesn’t have any original bone in his screwed up body.
6 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-64:
Yeah just have a look at the difference between say Beast,Kruger(Bulls),etc to WP Nel & Coenie???
And even so Guthro Steenkamp is a bit tubby but his workrate & mobility is freakish for a man his size & conditioning.Cant say the same for Free State fatties.
6 Apr 2011, 11:07 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-78: A bit silly that… Doing category management like that…. Heard of Pivot tables
Surely the bossman just wants the results and not interested in how you get there… or does he not trust your “undoubted” expertise….
Stakeholder management, son…. Get it done….
6 Apr 2011, 11:07 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-79: listen to yourself prick!what a fckinn clown you are……..oh you are from essex,totally forgot about that.
6 Apr 2011, 11:08 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-79: ILR??? Red book next year
6 Apr 2011, 11:09 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-81: lol. Those Free Staters really are a throwback to the props of old. Tommie Laubscher was the last of a dying breed at the time.
Connie and WP bringing tubby back!
6 Apr 2011, 11:10 am
hg just been exposed as a not too clever boy.thanks youknow,can always count on you.
6 Apr 2011, 11:14 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-84: Good for you… as long as its not Chairman Mao’s little red book… Never know with Labour supporters :win:
6 Apr 2011, 11:15 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-85:
Tommie might of been a tubby but he was one strong mother, never ever saw him go backwards !!
6 Apr 2011, 11:16 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-88: He was hey! Singlehandedly destroyed many a scrum in his heyday.
6 Apr 2011, 11:17 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-82: He needs to use the document twat.. I am not the user. I is da creator of a work tool.. Pivot tables dont work well on what is essentially a DB without numerical outputs.. Some outputs will be in MSword….. Think about it.. TWAT
6 Apr 2011, 11:21 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-34:
loius sang liza minnelli showtunes whilst I told lions jokes.
the world lay at our feet.
6 Apr 2011, 11:25 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-90: LOL…. Heard of counts with Pivot table….
Have a cuppa tea mate…. That BP is rising…
6 Apr 2011, 11:29 am
This Pampas team playing in the Vodacom cup have come on in leaps and bounds, unbeaten this year !!!!! they are physical , big and have pace in the backline , quite impressive
Very clever what Argentina are doing to improve their player resource and skills level, will pay big dividends in the years to come !!!
I am sure some of these players are hoping to secure a Super franchise contract in the future??
6 Apr 2011, 11:43 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-93:
Where can I read about these okes boet?
6 Apr 2011, 11:49 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-94:
Just google pampas rugby, quite a bit of info boet !!
6 Apr 2011, 11:52 am
Like johnson , plays with heart , has the occassional brain **** but should develop into an excellent Springbok
6 Apr 2011, 11:55 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-56:
so going forward it’s just rugby for you?
6 Apr 2011, 11:55 am
@stew(stew)-96:
Yeah he reminds me of a Polynesian loosie.Big,Strong,Fast but needs refining to his game.
6 Apr 2011, 11:56 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-93: That is great to hear and SA really deserves to be given some credit for helping other countries to develop their rugby players. Hang your heads in shame NZ and AUS!
6 Apr 2011, 11:57 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-97:
yip !!
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All