Kaplan to ref at World Cup

Jonathan Kaplan, Craig Joubert and Shaun Veldsman have been selected by the IRB to officiate at the 2011 World Cup.

Joubert and Kaplan are on the referees’ panel of 10, while Veldsman is one of the tournament’s four dedicated television match officials. Marius Jonker and Mark Lawrence didn’t make the cut.

Kaplan hasn’t called many big games of late, and so this selection will be a massive boost. He’s already refereed 63 internationals, and the competition in New Zealand will be his fourth World Cup.

The other referees at the tournament will include Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand) Steve Walsh (Australia), Wayne Barnes (England), Dave Pearson (England), Alain Rolland (Ireland), George Clancy (Ireland), Romain Poite (France) and Nigel Owens (Wales).