Ikeys topple Tuks

UCT broke their Varsity Cup curse with a 26-16 victory over Tuks in the final in Pretoria.

UCT shot out of the gates, scoring in the first minute after stealing a Tuks lineout feed and shifting the ball wide to No 8 Greg Mallett. Demetri Catrakilis added the extras, but that was as good as it got for the Capetonians in the first half.

Tuks’ intensity, power and accuracy in the collisions was impressive, and their work at the breakdown rabid. That stifled UCT’s ability to play the expansive game they are renowned for, and their unwillingness to shift to a more pragmatic approach cost them initially.

Tuks conversely seemed to have found their attacking groove after a slow start, flyhalf Wesley Dunlop sinking two penalties before centre Jean du Plessis rounded off a move that featured efficient phase play. Dunlop banked the conversion and later a penalty, before Catrakilis made it a six point deficit (16-10) going down the tunnel.

Tuks had bossed the facets of play that mattered up to that point, with UCT having a limited rebuttal to their brutal gain line assault and set piece superiority. A rebound looked unlikely at that stage, but the visitors showed a greater appreciation for building a platform and profited as a result. Two Catrakilis penalties got them level with 25 minutes to play and with that came a patent shift in momentum.

Tuks’ defensive resolve was steadily eroded by their determined opponents, and when UCT hooker Matthew Page finished off a move that featured multiple phases, you sensed Tuks’ resistance had been depleted. Catrakilis continued his flawless kicking performance with the conversion and a fourth penalty to establish a 10 point lead.

The hosts finished strongly, but UCT’s defensive effort was immense, tackling desperately through a plethora of phases for six minutes to hold on for a deserved victory.

59 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

MAGIC STUFF

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

so, what was that about heyneke meyer now dragons?

• 3.grant10: Reply to this comment

ikeys beat tukkies twice away from home…..stormers beat bulls at loftus…lekker man!

• 4.sohojo: Reply to this comment

huge come from behind win getting smashed by the mote powerful Tukkies forwards yet stood firm and didn’t give an inch when it counted, wave after wave of Tukkies charges were cut down inches from the line and in the end the never say die Cape boytjies deserved the away win in front of a baying Tukkies crowd.

• 5.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-2: exactly what i asked on the other thread

HM was meant to be the best ?? well i think not as to what we saw in this match

brilliant defence at the end there by UCT

even with a scrum turbo reversing faster then a formula1 car :lol:

• 6.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Well done Ikeys !!!!

• 7.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-2: mr kick and chase and mr collisions is busy consoling Ludeke via skype right now.

• 8.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

also take into account the UCT had to travel up north when infact they should have had a home final

puzzles me as to why then they did not just play it at maties home ground

• 9.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

well congrats CT boys anyhows ,

• 10.Nartjie: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-3: Waar staan die Super beker jou nar? Julle het maar ook sleg oorhulps gelyk saterdag teen die Reds. Daar is mos n gesegde, al waar die Kapenaars bekers wen is in die koerante!

• 11.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Bet you all the Sharks, Lions and Bulls scouts are well in attendance in Pretoria right now – cheque books in hand.

• 12.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-10: relax boet , they just enjoying a win

• 13.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-11: lol nope
    maybe the bulls have them there

sharks academy is now full ,

• 14.Nartjie: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-8: what should be very puzzeling is how UCT can use players that has played super rugby, was it not for action from the organisers, Hilton Loberts would also have played tonight. I thought varsity cup was for students only, I guess different rules for different folks.

• 15.sohojo: Reply to this comment

H. Meyer tried his conventional Moer em en Maak sag ancient bully Brekers program but it didn’t work on the never say die Ikeys from the fairest cape who showed once more that good old Cape flair will fck up droll doos rugby time and time again and again

• 16.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-11: you gotta love a cape name like DRAGHOENDER :lol:

• 17.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-14: oh ok must say i didnt watch to much of this and to be honest i am not aware of it

just remember though this game should have been played in the cape

what players are not students that played??

• 18.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-16:

Lol, he is a professional Varsity cup player – last yeat he played for Maties, this year for Tuks – Next year probably doing his Phd in rugby science at Freestate university.

• 19.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-16:

Says it all.

Great to see the passion of student rugby – if only all our professional teams played like that.
    And Tukkies never gave up at the end – good to see.

• 20.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-18: :lol:

• 21.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-14: @sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-17:

According to the rules each university is allowed x number of non full time students- same rules for everyone including Tuks (Draghoender, etc)

• 22.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

After eight rounds, who’s your favourite to win the SA conference?

Bulls 86%
    Sharks 8%
    Stormers 7%

Keo there is something very wrong with your poll – where is Mitch’s mongrels where is the orange croc team?

• 23.sohojo: Reply to this comment

ou naartjie huiling in his oumas melktert after bully breeks got bedondered opgefok once by Highlanders at Loftus then by Stormers at Loftus and then totally opgefok geneek in hulle holle in by Crusaders who now have thoroughly landed the Flou Nullified tag firmly round these overrated prima donnas Flou Nulletjie se ogefokte koppe.

• 24.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-21: ok if thats the case then no rules were broken

• 25.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

It didn’t take a genius to work out that UCT would win this after Keo tipped tukkies to win.

• 26.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-19: yeah must say i enjoyed the passion out there

• 27.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-24:

Exactly, Nartjie is just sour

• 28.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-25: lol

• 29.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

well imma pissoff , all have a good evening further

ciao and out

• 30.Nartjie: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-21: except that TUKS does not go publicly proclaiming that they are the only varsity that fields only students like UCT does. And lets call a spade a spade, the whole transformation thing makes it a tad difficult for any northern university to field a legitimate team (read – players of color) to compete with the Maties & Ikeys of the world. I do not see Tuks using the Blue Bull u20 players to bolster their ranks like Ikeys did.
    Everything must be looked at through the glasses of perspective, just like everybody south ranted & raved about their stormers invaluable game plan, guess what when they came up against a team that actually cleaned the ruck & mauls they all of a sudden looked like the sorry losers they are that played against the Bulls in the S14 final last year. No cooking clue what to do when Flo Joe is neutralized, no plan B, C or Z.

• 31.Nartjie: Reply to this comment

@sohojo(sohojo)-23: waar staan die beker jou nar? Hoeveel keer is die Wp se naam op daai beker peanut brain?

• 32.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-30:

Whatever way you want to paint it, the Varsity Cup stays in the Cape.

This was student rugby, mate.

Don’t get so hectic. It’s only Monday.

• 33.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-30:

Calm down citrus.

It

• 34.sohojo: Reply to this comment

die ou domdoos is ****** beker befok, hy kyk nie rugby nie hy bid en suig aan beker bekommernis. Waar die fok le die beker is sy enegste hoop en waarde, hy’s glad nie geintereseerd in hoe sy span nou speel, al wat aanhoudend klop in daai vreemd en afwesige kop is waar le die domdoos beker en nie die feit dat sy span soos agteruit rigting onnoseles taamlik nou lyk.

• 35.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-30:

It’s all legit.

In the same way that students at maties and tukshop spend the best part of a decade studying animal husbandry and playing rugby.

• 36.Nartjie: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-32: actually Stellenbosch should belong to Boland! But then again the mafia agter die druiwe gordyn will concock anything to win, even if they have to steal from other provinces to make them look good. In any other sport you play at Stellenbosch you get Boland colors, except rugby. Now how is that right?

• 37.Nartjie: Reply to this comment

@sohojo(sohojo)-34: hey vuilbek, eet jy met daai mond? Ek sal wat gee dat jy so voor my moet praat. Jy is seker een van daai kindertjies wat met sielkunde groot gemaak word en op 35 nog by mammie tuis gaan en met groot bravade die vloekwoorde uit tik op jou sleutelbord om die ooms te beindruk en al sy geld gebruik om n BM te ry sodat die tannies ook kan dink jy het iets bereik, maar eintlik het jy net genoeg petrol n maand om een keer n na-week langs Voortrekker weg af te ry. Come to Belville and CY!

• 38.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-36:

Sounds perfect to me.

• 39.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-37:

You’re ranting now, mate.

Breathe.

Don’t forget to breathe.

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this nartjie oke is more like a lemon, he be sour….dang! :mrgreen:

• 41.sohojo: Reply to this comment

nou wies die naar wat so opgewonder beindruk oor waar le die domdoos onnoselike beker en nie watte soort afwesige rugby sy span taamlik nou speel?

En hy hak en skaak oor beker bekommernis en einaardige vloek woorde maar glad nie oor sy egte probleme van waar die donder gaat die flou nulle hulle oorgewonderde gatte weer in rat sal kry

• 42.WP_: Reply to this comment

I’m a proud Ikey tonight!

Brilliant defence won the game at the end but it was a great team perfrmance!

Catrakilis take a bow, awesome performance at 10

And about 10 Bishops boys in the side, yes boys!

Balance of power has shifted in SA, Stormers winning big derbies away from home and now UCT win a big ‘home’ final in Pretoria.

Nothing better! First of many trophies coming to CT this year!

• 43.WP_: Reply to this comment

And by the way Naartjie, Maties played Joe Pietersen in the final a couple of years ago, his first game of the tournament, which they won…

So, hypocrite much?

• 44.whatever: Reply to this comment

Well done Ikeys!! Great stuff.

• 45.oscarthedawg: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-37: Nee wat boet, jy kom regtig net oor as ‘n suurgat. Ontspan, dis ‘n game. Of dink jy werklik daar’s hierdie moerse conspiracy teen wie jy ookal ondersteun?

• 46.crazy monkey: Reply to this comment

Great win UCT! Everyone knows they play the better rugby, but tonight they showed that they also had the better spirit…Heyneke can’t buy that with his Blue Bull cheque book.

UCT lost their starting tighthead before the game, but they guts it out. It wasn’t great, but they pulled together and stood their ground.
    Tuks in the first half were like George Foreman…punched themselves out trying to put Ikey’s away…UCT were easily the better conditioned team – their loosehead had to switch to tighthead halfway through the game, but was still on the line making tackles and getting his arms under the ball when Tuks were throwing the kitchen sink at them, same with their flank who had to move to lock, and their hooker took a beating and kept coming back as well.

You can’t coach guts.

• 47.sohojo: Reply to this comment

Guts it was, pure untold guts that took on the bigger heftier pack and gutsed it out and didn’t give half an inch on the try line for phase after phase of soak and repel.

• 48.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Die Sacs kom terug!”

“Die anderdag se more was die Sacs weer daar!”

• 49.Michael: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-48: An old SACS man?

• 50.Old School: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-30: They never proclaimed that. Go view the program again. They said that they were the only totally amateur team. No one, not even the coaches get paid. Players like Whitehead played last night out of own free will.

• 51.last movement: Reply to this comment

What a brilliant game.

I thoroughly enjoyed the game I thought it was a spectical to watch. Skills and running rugby in this tournament have the can attribute to it success.

Finally we won the Cup. I will say – if we had played stellies we probably would’ve lost. I don’t understand the Stellenbosch – UCT thing, it’s an enigma – they just have out number.

As for @Nartjie(Nartjie)-36: you’re a tool. UCT deserved to win no matter which way you spin it. Don’t be angry cos you were beaten by an amateur side. Tukke were extraordinary on the night and they looked like winning it for a large part. What a pity the supporters are such wingers.

Now UCT, how about doing something about a stand/lights. On a side note, Max Price is a doosh. Made UCT sound like a bunch of snobs.

• 52.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-49: UCT are the Sacs. It used to the the South African College (SAC).

• 53.Grizz: Reply to this comment

Great game, well done Ikeys.

I felt the whistle blower was in danger of spoiling a good game with some of his calls?? No matter the players got to grips with the situation and turned out a very worthy performance. I think there are a few of these youngsters we will be seeing a lot more of, Dunlop for one, he looks to be a very useful “10″.

Great defence in the closing minutes by the Ikeys, thankfully the discipline was good too. Over all, good rugby!

• 54.FoxAche: Reply to this comment

No guts, no glory! Awesome victory. It reminded me so much of the Intervarsity at Newlands in 1976, when the Ikeys gutsed out a grinding win against a potent Maties side in driving rain. I was privileged to be in the stands that day to witness it. A young Nick Mallet at #8 too. Is the Ikeys No. 8 with the scruffy Mohican haircut who last night scored the opening try, related to Nick?

Anyone else remember that 1976 game?

• 55.norman: Reply to this comment

last movement no 51
    calling the uct head a slanderous name shows exactly what you are.
    you should be ashamed of yourself degenerating to such levels.
    bet you have no sporting abilities whatsoever.
    time you took a good look in the mirror.

• 56.Willewragtig: Reply to this comment

@FoxAche(FoxAche)-54: Remember the 1976 Intervarsity game very well, was at Stellenbosch in my second year. Nick Mallett and Dave Zietsman at scrumhalf combined well in the wet to help set up a memorable win for the Ikeys

• 57.norman: Reply to this comment

54 fox
    that varsity no 8 geg mallet is the son of dave mallet nics brother..
    bishops are the feeders these days to varsity..
    but they are not the only ones.
    basil bey a great varsity former skipper and legendary bishops coach must have been amongst the many thousands throughout the world who were thrilled with the victory which had so much guts and glory.

• 58.FoxAche: Reply to this comment

57 Norman.

I have been on the receiving end of Basil Bey’s counter-attacking teams too often!! Am amazed that he hasn’t been brought in as an attacking consultant for Bok sides over the past decade or two. Thanks for clearing up the Greg Mallet issue.

• 59.svs: Reply to this comment

its true

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.