SA latest – Du Preez benched

Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.

Du Preez benched - Francois Hougaard starts in place of Fourie du Preez for the Bulls against the Reds in Brisbane.

The move is surprising given the perilous position the Bulls find themselves in. The Bulls have said it was part of a planned rotational policy. Gerhard van den Heever fills the void Hougaard leaves on the wing.

In other changes, Jaco Pretorius and Flip van der Merwe have failed to recover from injuries. Stephan Dippennaar starts at outside centre and Akona Ndungane comes onto a bench spilt 4-3 in favour of forwards.

Chiliboy Ralepelle displaces Gary Botha at hooker, and Derick Kuün runs on at openside flank, Deon Stegmann dropping to the wood.

Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Derick Kuün, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Gary Botha, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Deon Stegmann, 20 Francois Brummer, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Akona Ndungane.

Jean still sidelined – Jean de Villiers failed a fitness test on Monday and will miss his second match in succession.

The Stormers’ No 12 went down with a groin injury in training last week, and was replaced by Juan de Jongh when the Stormers hosted the Reds. It’s been confirmed that De Villiers is still battling with the injury and won’t be risked against the Lions.

Lions lose two more – Flank Josh Strauss and lock George Earle have been ruled out of the clash with the Stormers due to concussion.

The news follows James Kamana’s season-ending injury, meaning the Lions will be without three players for Saturday’s game. David Bulbring is likely to replace Earle while Cobus Grobbelaar should start in Strauss’s stead.

Meanwhile, Butch James could make an early start to his Lions tenure. If Bath fail to reach the Premiership play-offs, James will feature for the Lions against the Brumbies in mid-May.

52 Comments

• 1.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Good news about Butch, probably best not to rush Jean back !!!

• 2.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

stormers going to fumble this game and probably drop it.

• 3.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

I see Mark Cueto got a 9-week ban for eye-gouging, which looked far less serious than, for eg, Burger on Fitzgerald (8 weeks) or Burger on Pocock (0 weeks).

yeah, those Safas have a case – they really DO get treated very unfairly…..

• 4.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-3:

Shocker.

That was at least , at least , a 12 – 16 week ban , that was the worst gouge I have seen on tv before , it doesnt compare to Schalk on Fitzgerald or Bismarck on Thomson.

• 5.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-4:

shocking.

I think Cueto is a frustrated optician.

• 6.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-4:

Burger on Fitzgerald was definitely worse, and coming in the 1st minute of a match – unprovoked – as compared to Cueto, which came at the end of a scrap in the 2ndH. Furthermore, Fitzgerald was prone on the ground and completely unprotected (as was Pocock); Cuetos opponent was a protagonist and fully involved in the biff and looks to have started it.

disgusting that Cueto only got 9 weeks, clearly the hypocrites at RFU wanted him avail for RWC preparation.

Burger ? nah, he was “innocent” and merely targetted as a result of ‘persecution’…..

• 7.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

Injuries still going to play a major role in this years WC squad!! And with some Boks horribly off form, it might be a blessing in some instances!!

1. Guthro (injured); Beast ok! Coenie progressing
    2. Bismarck ok! Smit ok! Strauss sb back
    3. Jannie ok! CJ hmm?? van Staden (I like him) and WP Nel
    4. Bakkies Hmmm?? Elstadt Flip vd Merwe Rossouw
    5. Bekker ok Victor Hmmm?? Hargreaves
    6. Brussow ok! Louw ! Burger Hmmm??
    7. Juan (hope so!!) Deysel (hope so!) Josh Strauss
    8. Alberts!! Kanko; Spies ?? Vermeulen; Johnson, Whiteley
    9. Pretorius!! F du P; Mc leod
    10. Lambie, Butch, Morne, Grant
    11. Mvovo!! JP ?? Basson; vd Heever
    12. J dV; Bosman, Strauss, Olivier
    13. Fourie, J de J; Doppies;
    14. Mjekevu; Killian; Habana??
    15. Frans Steyn, Taute, Daniller, Viljoen, Aplon

Still some good quality players available!!!

• 8.Dookie: Reply to this comment

Bulls team announced:

Zane Kirchner (46), Gerhard van den Heever (23), Stephan Dippenaar (15), Wynand Olivier (78), Bjorn Basson (16), Morné Steyn (80), Francois Hougaard (20), Pierre Spies (63), Dewald Potgieter (38), Derick Kuün (63), Victor Matfield (116, c), Bakkies Botha (92), Werner Kruger (49), Chiliboy Ralepelle (26), Dean Greyling (6).

Replacements: Gary Botha (78), Rossouw de Klerk (5), Danie Rossouw (107), Deon Stegmann (46), Fourie du Preez (106), Francois Brummer (3), Akona Ndungane (64)

• 9.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@Dookie(cd141545)-8: Fourie Du Preez getting a rest? Wow… he must be tired after the hectic 2010 season. Dippernaar is useless and Kuun is just plain k@k. Good to see Hougaard not on the wing where he is wasted. Good luck bulls, you are going to need it.

• 10.stew: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-9: FDP is out of form – the Bulls need a bit of spark

• 11.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dookie(cd141545)-8: Would have liked to have seen someone else at 12 and also at 8.

• 12.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

I have to agree what Naas said on Superrugby about Spies. When he gets the ball there is already a few guys waiting for him and they hit him hard and he then spill the ball. Give him the ball into space and he will do some damage. On his defence old Naas didn’t say anything, wonder why.

• 13.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Can anyone tell me why Morne Steyn was benched in the last 10 minutes against the Saders? Or is the part of rotation policy?

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

FdP dropped?!!! :shock: hehehehe ludekak must’ve looked at that israel dagg try and saw fdp turn to shove dagg with his buttocks :razz:

the ‘best player on the planet’, the ‘pure genius’ has been dropped tl tl tl

probably saving him from being owned by genia again, that loss last year after the reds flew back from SA must still be reverberating in ‘pure genius’ ears.

I see mullet rat dippenaar is also in the mix AGAIN for this fixture…scotty higginbotham must be licking his chops.

• 15.Dookie: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-11: Agreed. Spies should be riding the bench and Rossouw to start. As for Wynand I suppose the less said the better. Surely he cannot be that k@k 2 weeks in a row?

@Transformation(Transformation)-14: Not sure if Ludeke is making a statement, or if they have a plan with regards to dropping FdP. Maybe they feel Hougaard will ask more questions of Genia. I think you need someone to get in the face of Genia and put him under pressure, which will result in pressure on Cooper.

I think they might just surprise the Reds the weekend, but then again I am ever the optimist when it comes to the Bulls.

• 16.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

planned rotation.

• 17.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Transie has just wet himself.

over a planned rotation.

Please report to matron for new onnerpant.

• 18.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-17:
    He’s the worst troll on this site. Adds no value whatsoever.

And, after Tac gave him a solid beating on this site a few weeks ago, all he does is yap on. Like a little runt terrier. Very annoying.

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-18: “solid beating”? where? keep dreaming sonny boy :razz:

• 20.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-19:

tac is a lover not a fighter :)

• 21.WP_: Reply to this comment

Stegmann is lucky to even be on the bench.

That walking-penalty is a waste of space

• 22.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-20: meisikind + mulleyt rat dippenaar = best centre combo in mzantsi ;)

• 23.We are red: Reply to this comment

these rotations are shite. Dropping the second best halfback in the world isn’t going to help them.

Licking my lips for this game. Got my tickets. Big crowd. Bulls hate Suncorp Stadium.

I hope it is like last year’s game. Open running rugby, phisical, and reds win

• 24.stew: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-23: Your no 1 halfback ???

• 25.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-23:

I hope that you learn to spell physical

and that your braincell doesn’t die of loneliness.

• 26.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-14: ***** what a sour-faced acid tongued little poephol you really are! In fact you sound like a little b!tch the way insult these players with school boy insults. It seems obvious to me that you delight in the downfall of SA teams. I don’t like the Bulls but seeing them going downhill like this is a disaster for SA rugby. Obviously you want to see SA rugby fail miserably. You’re one of those ‘crusading’ AB jersey wearing types who will not stop on your quest to destroy SA rugby or until it has been completely ‘transformed’. I’m sick and tired of reading your kak posts delighting in the misery of other teams.

• 27.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-25: Hahahahhaaaahaaaa! Brilliant!

• 28.WP_: Reply to this comment

@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-26: Well said

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

JR:26: tough t!tties for jr, i ain’t going nowhere :razz: and fyi i didn’t give the bulls players any of those name, blue bulls fans gave them those labels.

SA Rugby will be transformed whether you or WP_ like it or not ;)

i support the Springboks and not the Blue Bulls so if they lose i don’t give a sh*t. As for being a ” ‘crusading’ AB jersey wearing” whatnot, well just layoff the stereotypes before making a bigger poephol (read circle) of yourself ;)

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

south africa had two teams in the s14 final last year and we still got belted in the tri-nations, so keep thinking that the kak the bulls are playing has any relation to how the boks play. The three stooges have their own ‘gameplan’

• 31.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Is this the beginning of the new breed of South African rugby players getting their deserved chance

• 32.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-29: I don’t think its possible to be a bigger poephol than you…even WP supporters are sick and tired of your hate speeches.

• 33.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-29: Btw I’m happy to see SA rugby transformed as long as its inclusive of white, black, coloured players alike as long as they deserve to be there. But to be honest I fail to see how its being transformed right now. Even PdV wants to persist with picking a white player (Smit) that is inadvertently keeping out a much better black player from the squad (Beast) so where’s the transformation transie? I just don’t see it happening.

• 34.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

du Preez has been underperforming big time so its probably a good thing that Hougaard is on at no. 9.

• 35.Transformation: Reply to this comment

why not ask the same thing of plumtree? Why is that only beast & jannie need a rest but bissie doesn’t need one where john relieves him?

Pdv is not the be-all & end-all of transformation, the first thing he did as coach was to go beg john to come back from clermont, and when jonh came back he vouched for de villiers, now that is the kind of ‘you wash my back & i wash yours’ deal they have

• 36.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-33: I don’t think Smit’s inclusion would really have anything to do with the colour of his skin.

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

smit is a true quota

• 38.WP_: Reply to this comment

Grant you’re the quota on this site

• 39.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

So the fans have to wait for the 3N for the duel between the Genia and that fake from Tswane!

And wasnt that fool on SArugby mag just recently?

• 40.scar: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-7: Any news on when Brussouw and Strauss (x2) will be up and running again? I will drop Johnson from your list – even Kabamba played better at 8!

Not much on the foreign front. Looked like BJ was struggling in the Heineken Cup.

• 41.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-22:

Meisiekind and Mullet vs Higginbotham…….part 2

• 42.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-21: Flouw has given away more penalties this season than Steggmann.

• 43.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-23:

errm, very good, reds won the game last season but the bulls won the whole frikken shebang.

or did you forget?

• 44.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

relax okes

Transie is a wanker…never nails his colours to any mast. Just nit picks the previous weeks losers.

easy to do that

• 45.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-39:

does genia have a superrugby trophy?
    or a trinations
    or a worldcup

nope, genia will never make it onto the superrugby cover.
    sorry

• 46.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

@scar(scar)-40: Nope, hoping he will be ready by the time the Cheetahs host the Shaaaks!!

Right now if we can just get Frans Viljoen, Adriaan Strauss, Daniller and Benjamin back it would help!!

Viljoen needs a break!! Possible team for Saturday

1. Coenie – Playing well
    2. Barnes – Playing well, but we need Strauss back
    3. WP Nell – Beginning to hit his 2009 form….
    4. Uys – Hoping Hendrik Roodt kan step up
    5. Steenkamp – Playing well just his english is horrible lol
    6. Floors – Need Wesley Wilkens, Wessells or Brussow back
    7. Karemaker – Need Frans Viljoen back
    8. Johnson – Blowing hot and cold
    9. Pretorius – Been a gem
    10. Ebersohn – Finding his feet, and the backline is firing again
    11. Louw – Out of position, neeed real winger like Benjamin or Rocco Jansen there
    12. Uys – Been a warrior, but he is taking a battering, Geel for back up
    13. Ebersohn – His linebreaks are becoming more prominent, as the confidence, and familiarity with his boet grows
    14. Burger – Great finisher, but eish, he hates defence
    15. Viljoen – Has been great on the counter, but needs a rest, please Daniller recover

16. Adrianse – Been good, time to blood Marchel vd Merwe
    17. Badenhorst
    18. Raubenheimer
    19. Vermeulen/Izak vd Westhuizen
    20. Tewis de Bruyn
    21. Naas Olivier
    22. ANother hope Snyman is fit soon!! Go Cheetahs!!

• 47.sohojo: Reply to this comment

Best decision Bully Brekers could have made get that overrated prima donna sourpussy mommy’s boy right out the equation and Bully Brekers rugby will come right, suddenly you gonna see a whole new lease of life with Hougaard at 9 instead of that overrated useless glory halelujah piece of messianic rubbish.

• 48.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

In what way is Francois Hougaard such a step down from Fourie? Based on form so far this S15?

Unlucky for Jean de Villiers also, but in no way is Juan a bad sub. I dont think J Div couldve saved the Stormers last Saturday, the problem was in the forwards more, and 9 and 10 KICKING everything away. I never though I would see Aplon do one bad up n under after another…. eish. It was not good viewing.

ALL the SA teams need to sort their **** out and quickly. Its like the bad old days of 2002/3 where all the SA teams get beaten – at home too!

• 49.scar: Reply to this comment

@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-48: And did they kick it away!! Being at Newlands on Saturday was a real dissappointment. Naive kicking game their downfall with Cooper showing it should be done!!

• 50.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Francois Hougaard is a very good player, might just give the Bulls that little bit of spark that they are needing right now and he is quite unpredictable on the field so difficult to read.

• 51.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Hougaart brings speed and unpredictability, not sure if his style is the good match for the Bulls forwards, in short we will see an uncontrolled mayhem.
    Genia and Cooper will kick to the left corner just like they did to Habana and Aplon, in short we shall have fun!
    Reds by 12

• 52.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Stormers have options for this weekend with Jean and possibly Habana out. I think Habana needs time off….even if he pulls through for this weekend.

De Jongh and Fourie can partner again.

JJ can be brought in for Habana

or

Jantjes can play at wing (if fit)

Or

Aplon at wing with Jantjes at fullback

OR

Lionel Cronje at Fullback with Aplon at wing.

Lionel Cronje also to make the bench to provide Fullback cover.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.