Smit must prop up Bok bench
12 Apr 2011
JON CARDINELLI says the Sharks have provided the solution to the John Smit conundrum.
Peter de Villiers may be blind, but the answer’s there for all to see. Smit must go to the World Cup as a leader; not as a frontline player. That’s not a contradiction.
De Villiers has criticised the Sharks for their present management of Smit. He’s made it clear that he wants Smit playing hooker at the Sharks and at the Springboks.
But Sharks coach John Plumtree has had other ideas. Smit has played just 18 minutes at hooker in the 2011 Super Rugby competition. While it seems clear to De Villiers that Smit is a hooker, the Sharks believe that he better suits their purposes as a reserve prop.
Plumtree and company are not at fault. Bismarck du Plessis is in the form of his life. He’s not only the best hooker in the country, but one of South Africa’s most important players. Du Plessis is a crucial cog at the set-piece and a bully at the breakdown. The Sharks need him to play as many minutes as possible in the big games. The Boks do too.
Smit struggled when he was shifted to tighthead at the end of 2008, and failed to make a successful transition back to hooker in 2010. He shed a lot of weight in the 2011 pre-season, but at 33 he doesn’t offer as much grunt and dynamism as Du Plessis.
The Sharks have at times included the bustling Craig Burden on the bench, preferring to deploy Smit as a reserve prop. In seven appearances, Smit has featured four times at loosehead and twice at tighthead. He may be given another crack at hooker this season, but his real value in the games that matter is as a reserve loosehead.
There may be an argument to start Smit at No 1 for the Boks, as he has done in three Super Rugby matches thus far. But to do so would deny the Boks another dynamic player. Beast Mtawarira continues to improve at the scrum, and his work-rate around the field is tough to match.
Mtawarirra and the Du Plessis brothers are likely to form the Bok front row at the World Cup with Smit providing support from the bench. Smit told SA Rugby magazine last year that he would play off the bench if it was best for the team. If the first eight rounds are anything to go by, Smit is making good on his word.
The truth is Smit still has a lot to offer as a leader. De Villiers has committed to Smit, and it’s no secret that the Bok captain and senior players play a big role in the running of the side. He may not be indispensable as a frontline player, but he’s crucial to the World Cup cause.
Victor Matfield is the natural successor to Smit, but his captaincy has been less than inspiring over the past 12 months. He made some dubious calls as the Bulls’ skipper in the 2010 Currie Cup semi-final, and wasn’t at his best on the Boks’ subsequent tour of the Home Nations.
The 2011 season has also witnessed a disappointing effort, as unlike Smit, Matfield doesn’t possess the underrated ability to stay on the right side of the referee. It’s something he needs to address, as with the Boks’ robust reputation, you need a charmer wearing the captain’s armband.

376 Comments
12 Apr 2011, 05:25 am
I’m thinking Jono must prop up the list of retired captains…………..ex Dragon!
12 Apr 2011, 05:33 am
I would agree but I do not know who would be captain when we are down 15-20 and need a calm leader. Victor Matfield has shown that he can work with a big budget team, the best coach and players of the same culture. Is he really that good of a leader?
I like Bismarck but history has shown when guys like Francois Pienaar, Hansie Cronje, Gary Teichman, etc was left out to get sexier players that there is nobody to take lead.
The bok team for the World Cup for me would be:
15.) Patrick Lambie
14.) JP Pietersen
13.) Jacque Fourie
12.) Jean De Villiers
11.) Bjorn Basson
10.) Peter Grant
9.) Fourie du Preez
8.) Duane Vermeulen
7.) Willem Alberts
6.) Heinrich Brussouw
5.) Victor Matfield
4.) Andries Bekker
3.) Jannie du Plessis
2.) John Smit (c)
1.) Beast Mtawaria
16.) CJ van der Linde
17.) Bismarck du Plessis
18.) Danie Rossouw
19.) Schalk Burger
20.) Ruan Pienaar
21.) Juan de Jongh
22.) Frans Steyn
12 Apr 2011, 06:04 am
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-2:
Swop Smitty with Bismarck and Frans with Patrick and I would say we will be competitive.
Two number 5 locks, but do we really need a lumbering enforcer type lock at 4? I think not.
Who is back up 10? Lambie or Ruan?
12 Apr 2011, 06:55 am
Wait for it…..
12 Apr 2011, 07:28 am
It’s no secret that I’m a big John Smit fan, and that his form at 1 is troubling. It’s a pity that he isn’t being given more game time at 2, but it’s tricky with Bismark being in such good form.
I really hope John is able to get sharp in the second half of the season. It’s not like Matfield’s form is inspiring at the moment either…
12 Apr 2011, 07:30 am
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-4: DARY !
Oops, this isn’t How I met your mother.
12 Apr 2011, 07:35 am
seriously not worth the time or effort to remotely debate.
Smit is the nowhere man, only there on this so called aura reputation.
at best a bench rider.
imo should be propping up inside the Supersport Commentary box.
12 Apr 2011, 07:36 am
this is odd?
from what i heard, smitty had a cracker on the weekend?
12 Apr 2011, 07:37 am
Now he must make the team because he is ‘charming to the refs ? ‘.
Good heavens man, how far are we willing to go to accomodate a player that cannot even lace Bissys boots?
12 Apr 2011, 07:39 am
anyway, cant we focus on the teams that didnt win with a bonus point on the weekend?
lets rather have a flyhalf debate and all agree on who the best prospect to take over the 10 mantle is?
12 Apr 2011, 07:40 am
Compare Smit to Bissy?
Like comparing a chohauhau to that Alsatian that chased me up the Clifton stairs…..
Simply crazy man…we are going to need a pack that is dynamic and explosive to compete at the WC
Players like Bissy, Beast are simply ‘ must haves ‘.
A bok pack with Smit and Spies is like playing with hands tied behind the backs…..
we get this wrong we may not get out our pool.
12 Apr 2011, 07:40 am
personally, i think its lambie.
how about you guys?
12 Apr 2011, 07:41 am
I see Butch may make Lions debut on May 7 on there away tour.
12 Apr 2011, 07:42 am
anyone at 10….
butch….Lambie….Grant
Please not M Steyn !
12 Apr 2011, 07:42 am
what i dont understand is how p grant can be the most hyped flyhalf in world rugby one week and then, once he plays against a real 10, he is mentioned less than ze war in germany?
this is not a good look imo.
where are his defenders?
where are the ra ra pom pom piddle poodle paddle your dog up the river schitzophrenic hifalutin fanny adams fobbing brigade?
12 Apr 2011, 07:44 am
lambie and butch.
has a nice ring to it.
two natal boys edging the third (grant) out.
oh what a wealth of talent we have here in natal.
12 Apr 2011, 07:46 am
Rugby student team wont fly – only four affirmatives in the squad. May have to gamble with Habana and one other to keep the politicians happy – trust me there is a number the selectors have to target.
As for the team, it looks pretty solid but I may prefer Schalk to start with Alberts off the bench (he is awesome in the last 20 when the opposition is a bit moeg) – also have to start with Bismarck no question, Smit can cover the front row off the bench. One more note Juan Smith, if fit, to replace Rossouw
12 Apr 2011, 07:46 am
@Simon: Barney Smit boet, not Barney Stinson ;
12 Apr 2011, 07:47 am
you cant expect to win in nz, especially in tight territorial games, with a popgun flyhalf.
it simply will not do.
i just dont think p grant has the goods, especially with jdv who has no kicking game playing outside of him and an out of sorts fdp at 9.
lambie is not dependant on any of these players.
he wins immo.
but the season is still a pup.
so lets see shall we?
12 Apr 2011, 07:47 am
Tik
Tik
Tik
Boom.
12 Apr 2011, 07:49 am
The Boks needs an English leader. Afrikaners are not very good at captaining a side when they’re too busy sulking and throwing tantrums.
12 Apr 2011, 07:50 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-16: Its got to be them, real men, both play flat, tackle like daemons, and have excellent tactical kicking. James has got a massive boot nowadays.
Lambie have never played worse than what we have seen from Grant over the weekend. His line kicking was abysmal.
If we need a third, Pienaar will be there.
12 Apr 2011, 07:52 am
FDP has always assisted M Steyn in his ability to ease the pressure with his kicking game …… Could the reason that M Steyn is not performing be that FDP is off his game ?
12 Apr 2011, 07:57 am
@stew(stew)-23: Both are limited and incapable of playing the situation that unfolds. If you wanna see up and unders all day, and the backline being tackled behind the advantage line, pick both, if not, leave both at home.
12 Apr 2011, 07:58 am
Watched Ruan over the weekend. He should be the 3rd scrumhalf option at the moment. Don’t see how we can pick him at 10 if he’s playing his rugby @ 9.
Grant looked kuk this weekend because of his kicking downfield. I cannot understand why they simply cannot use someone like Aplon to take those clearing kicks. Problem (partly) solved.
If you have frans steyn in a match day 15 wouldn’t you want him to play the same role in a Bok team?
12 Apr 2011, 08:00 am
@stew(stew)-23: it is indeed the reason.
fdp gives m steyn the time and takes pressure off steyn with his usually flawless tactical kicking.
make no mistake, fdp will be back but personally, i prefer a flyhalf that is outstanding without reliance on others.
butch may be a bit long in the tooth but lambie is a fantastic PROSPECT.
he still has to prove he is the real deal in my opinion but grant keeps proving why he is not.
@coma(coma)-22: i battle to think of a poor performance from lambie.
12 Apr 2011, 08:03 am
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-25: surely you cant pick a flyhalf who needs another player to do his kicking for him?
why not pick spies at scrummie and let jdv pass from the base then?
nah, lambie is better than grant imo. grant has just never controlled a game when the pressure is on.
12 Apr 2011, 08:04 am
Lot’s of okes here look at one game, and suddenly a player that has been excellent for a year or more is suddenly poor, and vice eversa, this knee jerk reaction is a silly approach.
Smit has been poor for 2 years now, one reasonably competent game against the struggling Lions suddenly does not make him the form player !!!
Grant who has been consistently good has an average game, in a game where the opponents tactically outplayed the stormers and suddenly he is not good enough ??
In order for one to judge form it has to be done over a period of games, not on a game to game basis, must say this knee jerk approach is mostly from Shark bloggers(SL and Puma excluded).
12 Apr 2011, 08:04 am
Lambie is just too inexperienced to general a side to WC victory – 2015 yes he should be in peak form
12 Apr 2011, 08:05 am
Lambie a farken great prospect.
Lets see how he does rest of the season.
He will hopefully play against Bulls twice and come down to Newlands so plenty of opportunity for Lambie to ‘trial’ against Grant and Steyn.
Also sharks have to go to Ellis Park? So we will hopefully see him against Butch as well.
12 Apr 2011, 08:08 am
for me anyone of Grant, Lambie or Butch can only be an improvement on M Steyn, who is absolutely 1 dimensional ……he will never take it flat and get the backs going, not a chance. Simply not in his DNA.
12 Apr 2011, 08:09 am
@stew(stew)-29: cmon man.
frans steyn played in the 2007 wc at 20?
JPP too.
ruan and biz were slightly older.
if his form is good enough then he is old enough and lets not forget his motm performance at 19 in a cc final.
anyways, lets see how lambie does at 10 once he coes back from injury. i for one will be relieved to see him take over from jlp in terms of kicking duties.
vs the stormers jlp missed 9 points (we lost by 10 and didnt take a few kicks on offer at the end as we were chasing the game)
vs the saders he missed pts and didnt tackle.
vs the lions he apparently missed 11 pts?
jlp must do some kicking practice before he is a real option but i would love to see him given a shot at 12 if he can start tackling.
12 Apr 2011, 08:09 am
@stew(stew)-29: So is O’Connor for the Wallabies, but he is going to be their ACE!
Lambie owned him earlier in the year. If you are good enough, you are old enough. How old was F. Steyn when he helped us win the WC final? How much experience did he have?
What evidence do you have that Lambie can’t withstand the pressure?
12 Apr 2011, 08:10 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-32: snap
12 Apr 2011, 08:10 am
@rangerman: because Lambie is playing for the Sharks and is unlikely to move to the Cape mid season?
12 Apr 2011, 08:11 am
lambie doesnt need to “trial” against grant.
it is the other way around.
lambie is the recent bok. grant went to japan because he wasnt considered good enough for the boks.
i have noticed that the vitriol and hype this week is not so vehement.
what could the reason be?
12 Apr 2011, 08:14 am
The last thing I want to see in the last 20 minutes of a world cup final against the all blacks is smit coming on and our scrum cantering backwards as the sharks did against the saders with smit at prop. One area that the boks (and sharks) can potentially dominate is the scrum. When the sharks have started the duplessis bros and beast, they’ve got the better of all opponents. Smit at prop hands that advangtage over to the opposition. I’m a believer in leadership and have always rated smit, but if he plays at prop at test level we will be pushed all over the park. My starting 15 would be beast, bismark, jannie, bakkies, matfield, brussouw, alberts, spies, du preez, lambie, basson, de villiers (c), fourie, pieterson, f steyn. I’d go with de villiers as captain because I think he has more rapport with refs than a guy like victor. Steyn at fullback would be under heavy pressure from aplon.
12 Apr 2011, 08:15 am
@coma(coma)-33:
O connor third in line to play 10
After Cooper and Gits
That Mike Harris is also not bad at 10
Mary had a little lamb
She kept him in her back yard
Every tine she pulled her panties down
His woolly **** grew hard.
Apologies to the diceman.
always been a Lambie fan……1 of the best players i have seen in a long time.
Lets see how he goes in the high profile games…..
Every bloody game should be a trial…..thats the problem in our rugby, too many players can rest on there laurels as they are the ‘chosen ones ‘ and dish up drivel week in and week out knowing they bullet proof!
@coma(coma)-33: @rangerman(rangerman)-32: Not talking about age , maybe i didnt make myself clear , experience – Up against DC he will be beaten purely on experience IMO
12 Apr 2011, 08:16 am
@coma(coma)-34:
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-35: hahahaha! he is unlikely to move fullstop.
he has a long natal history in his blood. the lad is clearly way too calm and smart to fall prey to the hype machine.
@justrugby(justrugby)-28: ag shampies.
i told you all about grants shortcomings last week. my fears were shared by stormers supporters such as robzim and stormersboy but you still see fit to cast this as a provincial assault.
thats up to you buddy but dont expect the stormers to be the force they could be with grant at 10.
he simply cannot control a game when the opposing 10 is on song.
and your backline continues to show their impotency.
surely 9 tries (5 in one game) vs the 21 of the sharks tells you something?
probably not, you take it all way too personally imo.
12 Apr 2011, 08:16 am
So the Varsity cup stays in Cape Town, scchweett , well done Ikeys, even after giving away home adavntage to the okes from the north !!
u19, u21 titles also in Cape Town, sscchhwweet !!!!! looks like the talent pool in CT is overflowing !!!! schwweettt !!!!!!!
Now the seniors need to get it right FFS !!!
12 Apr 2011, 08:18 am
high profile games?
like a cc final?
or must we wait for a wc final?
12 Apr 2011, 08:19 am
ja, well done ikeys.
at least there is a trophy down in the cape.
12 Apr 2011, 08:20 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-36:
Yes, but Elton Jantjes is better than Lambie as he was selected as the best young player in SA ahead of Lambie.
Now that argument is just as sound as your argument that Lambie is better than Grant because he is the recent bok
btw – is their still any reef fish left in the Durban area or have you taken them all by now
This is a backline that will excite – has a distinctive Shark look to it
9. Pretorius
10. Lambie
11. JPP
12. F. Steyn
13. Fourie
14. Mvovu
15. Pienaar (he is Gysie’s son after all -and the Charl Swartzel of Rugby)
its so much more pleasant around here this week.
why is that?
nary a windgat in sight.
(or they are behaving for a change)
12 Apr 2011, 08:21 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-42:
Lets see the stats at the end of the season ?? You have been harping on about the fact that the season is but a pup !!!
You are knee jerking again !!!!
12 Apr 2011, 08:22 am
@Rangerman: I’ll see your “hype machine” and raise you one “beaten all the local teams and still comfortably leading the SA conference”
12 Apr 2011, 08:24 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-46: haha, poor elton.
i truly hope he recovers his confidence as i rate him but he defo not at the level lambie has reached yet.
he has the talent though.
lol, i dont take reef fish mate, what do you take me for! i was in the water at 6 on sat morning and the couta (king mackerel) were thick but they wouldnt come in close enough for a shot.
i let the shad surround me but it seems they werent actively feeding.
then i hear about other bustards smashing natal snoek down the coast!
ag, i will get em soon! but i took my 8 bugs so it wasnt all bad.
12 Apr 2011, 08:25 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-39:
Mary had a little lamb
It wouldn’t stop it’s gruntin’
So she took it round the back of the shed
And kicked it’s f’ckin cnut in
12 Apr 2011, 08:26 am
The simple fact of the matter is that, barring injuries, divot
Is unlikely to look outside his current crop of 10s.
Steyn
Lambie
The Butcher.
Grant must get used to being big in Japan.
12 Apr 2011, 08:28 am
A Natal snoek?
Surely that’s a shark?
@justrugby(justrugby)-49: no, it is you and grant who went mad last week proclaiming p grant as a DEFINITE first choice for the boks.
when lambie is injured.
but i guess after cooper showed grant up as a pretender you cant really stick to that line anymore can you?
wiggle away because i must off to work.
we will see which flyhalf has the goods in ct in 3 weeks i guess.
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-50: ja, but with 4 bye pts in hand and only leading the sharks by 4 without having toured i think the stormers may rue their lack of bonus pts accumulated this year.
us sharks fans know the value of bonus pts better than most man, but it seems the sharks players have finally caught on too.
anyways, tjorts!
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-53:
You are right and the sad fact is he will start with steyn !!
12 Apr 2011, 08:29 am
@ all those talking about lambie’s age… Sure, a few years’ more experience would be nice, but I’d rather have a ytoung and complete player out there than an older, limited player. Besides, lambie’s temperament is fantastic. For me, steyn and grant are both limited players and the only two options who bring it all to the table are lambie and james. If butch james is in top. Form when he arrives in may, then his experience might edge it for him. Otherwise I’d pick a brilliant youngster over a limited older guy for sure.besides, with two full seasons behind hoim and with du preez and jdv on either side, I reckon lambie will be more than ok.
@Rangerman: ahem, actually thats the second trophy we have in the Cape this year…
Grant went to loftus….and won
went to the tank…and won…
playing non stop from japan as well…
looked out of sorts after 5 6 very good games for stormers.
give the chap a chance….
lets see how 2 nd half of the super 15 goes before we make Lambie the bok 10….
He has had a break now….hopefully injury is sorted….and Lambie has the opportunities to show everyone he is the real deal as he goes to Ellis Park, Loftus and Newlands….?
Great opportunity for the young man to show he can handle the high pressure games consistently well…and win them !
Remember he was there when sharks lost to chiefs as well….but that didnt make him poor player….as the loss to reds did not turn grant into a pumpkin either
12 Apr 2011, 08:31 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-55:
So presumably when Cooper has one of his off days, which happens rather regularly, the opposite FH is his superior and has schooled him in the arts?
Oh, btw…my Dad is bigger than your Dad
12 Apr 2011, 08:32 am
@sonofgun(sonofgun)-57: i agree
12 Apr 2011, 08:34 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-55:
I distinctly remember saying that if PDEV started with Lambie I would have no problem, I distinctly remember having a go at bloggers that did not have Lambie in their teams/squad ,saying that he needs to be there, so wtf are you on about ????
I personally would start with Grant, that’s my opinion, surely I am entitled one ??
But hell Lambie needs to be there , starting or on the bench !!!
12 Apr 2011, 08:35 am
amazing how Grant is consighned to the scrap heap after 1 average game.
but fat boy can go years of turbo reverse and be bullet proof.
spies the same
matfielsd now too!
M steyn, Habana et al?
But fark me we are strange fans…..we show as much consistency as Marius Jonker!
12 Apr 2011, 08:36 am
I just don’t know how important this leadership thing is. Surely there are other leaders in this country who could inspire the team to greatness? How much respect will John Smit command from other players who know that he is not the best in his position? How much will his influence inspire them if he is being murdered in the scrums? What will his leadership help the team if his lack of mobility is exposed and we start losing as a result of it?
I am a little old fashioned in this respect. I believe you select your best team and then appoint a captain from among them. Surely there are enough experienced players still good enough to make the Bok starting team?
FDP
JDV
Schalk
Mossie
Juan? Will he have recovered in time?
Victor
Surely the discipline thing is a team effort and not the responsibility of the captain only? My experience is that a well-drilled team that is prepared by professional coaches who know what they are doing, will always be calm and relaxed on the field. Maybe it is the lack of quality coaches that makes the need for a leader so significant.
12 Apr 2011, 08:37 am
this Rangerman is a 1 eyed buffoon ….
anyway
12 Apr 2011, 08:40 am
Bullshit. Smit and the other senior player need to fckoff!
12 Apr 2011, 08:42 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-52:
Hahaha outstanding.
I think I just made a little wee.
12 Apr 2011, 08:43 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-27:
larkham had a pop gun boot.
12 Apr 2011, 08:47 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-68: so did Honiball
12 Apr 2011, 08:50 am
Probable bok squad for RWC
15. Francois Steyn / Gio Aplon.
14. J.P. Pieterson / Francois Hougaard.
13. Jacques Fourie / * Wynand Olivier.
12. Jean De Villiers / Patrick Lambie.
11. Bryan Habana / Lwazi Mvovo.
10. * Morne Steyn / Butch James.
9. Fourie Du Preez / Ruan Pienaar.
8. * Pierre Spies / Ryan Kankowski.
7. Juan Smith / Willem Alberts or Jean Deysel.
6. Schalk Burger / Heinrich Brussow or Jean Deysel.
5. Victor Matfield (vc) / Andries Bekker.
4. Bakkies Botha / Danie Rossouw.
3. Jannie Du Plessis / B.J. Botha.
2. John Smit (c) / Bismark Du Plessis / ChilliBoy Ralapelle
1. John Smit / Beast Mtawarira / Gurthro Steenkamp
Peter Grant is Unlucky to lose out to Morne Steyn
Duane Vermuellen unlucky to lose out to Pierre Spies.
We need the best balance with experience and form.
12 Apr 2011, 08:51 am
We have to face the fact that we are seriously limited in SA when it comes to flyhalves. The debate here rages on forever about who is the best, but in fact we are just trying to find out who is the best of an average bunch. There is not one flyhalf mentioned here who is worthy of tying the bootlaces of Carter, Wilkenson or Giteau (the latter being horribly out of form at present).
All our flyhalves have certain qualities that can compare with the best, but taken as a whole, our players just do not match up. The one notable quality that all of our leading 10′s lack is pace off the mark, quick feet and straight line speed.
12 Apr 2011, 08:52 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-48: jeez ranger, you’ve hardly been on here at all in recent times, but a win for the shorks over the mighty lions and you’re shooting your mouth off faster than julius at a youth league rally.
12 Apr 2011, 08:52 am
@sonofgun(sonofgun)-57:
gotta agree about the comment that that lambie will be fine with du preez and JDV either side of him.
boks have a real risk of going with too many “experienced” players and having a team over the hill.
if PDV gets the courage to pick some youthful form and surround it with sufficient experience we’re in with a shout!
and even though I support the stormers i’ve never been a big grant fan. you’d need to pair him with du preez at 9 and frans steyn at 15 to cover his limited punts and in a world cup i still believe you need a team with an ability to control a game tactically the way carter can for ABs and the way Cooper did for Reds on the weekend.
12 Apr 2011, 08:53 am
Most folks have a provincial agenda, whether they are aware of it or not. Maybe just because they watch all of their own teams games more ardently and subsequently know their own players more than the others.
So when someone touts one of their own above one of yours, the wolves are waiting to pounce on an average/poor game, which of course everyone has.
No-one said Grant was the consummate or ultimate FH. Only a fool would label an individual unworthy after one poor game involving 21 other players.
12 Apr 2011, 08:58 am
@chucky(chucky)-70:
Hey, howzit Mnr de Villiers.
Your squad is exactly the one I expected you would pick. But I thought you’d have Oregan announce it on the tv after a big game rather than give Keo the scoop. He doesn’t like you very much you know….
12 Apr 2011, 09:02 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-75: We have a love hate affair. him been from pietermaritzburg and me from the western cape, but its all water under the bridge.
Just wanted to give you guys something to chat about while I do some “tactical” planning
12 Apr 2011, 09:03 am
must be a lot of bulls fans on this site given the scoring on the latest poll!
12 Apr 2011, 09:06 am
@chucky(chucky)-76:
Lol. Only kidding mate
But don’t you feel the need to replace some of the tired, out of form/over the hill regulars with some young bucks chomping at the bit?
12 Apr 2011, 09:10 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-77:
Large numbers think they have to answer any question on Keo with the name of the team they support. Stupid really.
12 Apr 2011, 09:11 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-71: I beg to differ.
We have a few quality flyhalves in South Africa. We have never ever had an emphasis on flyhalf rather it has been emphasised on scrumhalf.
Joost,fourie etc.
We have used scrumhalves as our attacking weapon or controlling pivots.
Lambie looks the business and we should be grateful that at schoolboy level or at the sharks Plum hasnt converted him into a scrumhalf. We believe a flyhalf should be strong,bulky and have bone crunching defence.
Now we have two young flyhalfs who are been developed by kiwis, who have not opted for bigger physical 10′s. albeit one is progressing rapidly both are bright prospects who would normally be plying their trade at scrumhalf beacause of their size.
Wilkinson, giteu and carter didnt have great scrumhalves inside them they were used as the potent attacking weapon.
So in summary our emphasis has been on brilliant scrumhalves
12 Apr 2011, 09:13 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-79:
yeah i voted sharks, but support stormers, thinking one of the two would top the list, but was blown away by the number who think the bulls can climb to top spot.
12 Apr 2011, 09:14 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-78: LOL i know
I am really tempted to drop atleast
5 boks in that starting team for fresher more consistently on form players, but the reality is this is the probable team. mainly due to “sticking with the tried and tested”
The same reason a disgruntled woman will cheat on her husband with the slimy old no-good ex purely because of familiarity.
12 Apr 2011, 09:18 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-81:
Snap. I’m also a Stormer and voted Sharks.
But I think we now know what’s happened to the Bulls fans on this site. They’re spending their days writing scripts to bump up the Keo polls
12 Apr 2011, 09:18 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-64:
i agree completely. not all of the older boys are washed up. JDV is doin a pretty alright job of captaining the Stormers and call me crazy but i would LOVE to see general Mossie captain a side for a bit. get a feeling he’d be brilliant.
but most of all i agree that PDV should select the BEST team. not the most experienced. look where thats got us in Super Rugby so far. Im gonna have a real difficult time supporting the Bokke with all my heart when i know PDV chose the wrong team. i just hope someone smacks some sense into him before its too late.
im starting to get the feeling PDV is choosing a team that, when they fail, will carry more blame that him because we all know them so well. Elton Jantjies makes a mistake at 10 for the bokke, PDV should never have chosen him. M Steyn makes a mistake, he’s lost his mojo.
I just REALLY hope that we get a proper team chosen for the RWC. im so over this BS we’re getting from our more “experienced” players.
12 Apr 2011, 09:24 am
@TheHon(TheHon)-84: Lets not forget that the RWC is played over 8 weeks and if you reach the final you play 7 yes SEVEN games.
Now when the pressure is on in the playoffs and i have the luxury of choosing a rested victor matfield,john smit,bryan habana for 3 knock out games over gary botha/liebenberg/strauss/chilliboy, bekker/flip/hargreaves and basson/mvovo/hougaard I will gladly take the former.
Remember they arent been chosen over the next four years but over a 8 week tour.
Sad but true experience will win those games. forget about learning from history in the case of England 2003 Australia 1999 it is pure common sense who/what will win RWC”s
12 Apr 2011, 09:24 am
@TheHon(TheHon)-84:
Wise words !
12 Apr 2011, 09:25 am
@chucky(chucky)-82:
You’re right of course. I’d expect your first picks on the list are the starting side, apart from 1 and 2 where it’s probably Beast and Bis (although no doubt Div would have Smit at 1 and 2 if he could)
But I’d say it’s possible to keep the bones of the side you list, but get rid of the obvious out of form players and still have a good team.
12 Apr 2011, 09:27 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-74:
a provoincial agenda?
you sound like comrade julius “tasting menu” malema talking about that racist white little girl.
she mustn’t come and tell us when to close our nightclubs.
if she doesn’t behave we will eat sushi from her naked body.
12 Apr 2011, 09:29 am
@chucky(chucky)-85:
Yes chucky ,what you are saying is true……. if they are in form though !!!!!!!!! ……..why would they suddenly find their form ???
If they have been pis s poor all season how do they suddenly get it “right ” over 3 games ??, won’t happen.
If these experieced players are all showing good form going into the WC , no problem !!!
Time will tell !!
12 Apr 2011, 09:32 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-88:
Eish!
Hold the wasabi…
12 Apr 2011, 09:32 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-88:
12 Apr 2011, 09:35 am
ahhh rubbish. Daft article. John Smits leadership doesnt win matches if the rest of them are too old and catankerous to keep up and if everyone keeps making basic errors.
12 Apr 2011, 09:37 am
@chucky(chucky)-85: @JockBok(JockBok)-87:
Your both right. i dont believe that when choosing the best team he’ll end up with only a bunch of new players because experience should be taken into account. but, for example, all the experience Pierre Spies has cannot make up for the fact that he is not close to RWC form atm. and when it comes to a position as important as FH, would you realy trust Morne Steyn in his current form just because of experience? i agree with chucky that we need matfield and smit. MAYBE habana. but i’m not sure that id just GIVE them starting line up. id have them in the squad, but make them earn a place on the field.
but thats just me.
12 Apr 2011, 09:43 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-89:
The answer i am about to give might sound like a joke but im very serious about it.
PLAYER FOCUS is the problem here or rather lack of it.
The moment our players start focusing on anything but their jobs then there is a problem.
for many years SARU didnt allow players to earn from ads/endorsements etc.
Well here is why—-it takes the primary focus that they should have out of their sights and that is play rugby.
Habana – out of outsurance adverts and stop with twitter
Matfield- cancel blood brother golf days and twitter
Spies – Stop outsurance and usn gym stats adverts
The list goes on…players shouldnt be writing for Supersport blogs, tweeting their every moves, endosrsing kicking apparatuses etc.
Get their primary focus back and that is playing rugby. They are not bigger than the game. stop raising them to idol status and let them work for their places and bonuses. enough with this AURA business
12 Apr 2011, 09:47 am
@TheHon(TheHon)-93: Totally agree.
I dont know where people come up with the assumption that Morne Steyn has all this experience. He had a good season or 2 with the boot, but thats it.
Peirre Spies was never great, he gained experience in the team because of the hype surrounding his Physical Stats in the gym and by what Matfield convinced PDV about the potentiall such a monster should be on the field.
Same as The Tongan Player Epi Tione that cost the sharks a place in the final against the Waratahs in 2008 because of his World Cup Hype ala 1 good season.
Id Prefer Alberts at 8, Juan at 7 and Brussow and Burger at 6
12 Apr 2011, 09:48 am
@chucky(chucky)-94:
exactly.
12 Apr 2011, 09:50 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-90:
@justrugby(justrugby)-91:
hawu.
you dare insult the tuckbox?
it’s time you two rich mhlungus felt the cleansing fire of the revolution.
12 Apr 2011, 09:55 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-97:
Don’t get me wrong comrade, I’m not against eating sushi from a nubile young hostess, but I draw the line at using Ms. Zille as a trough.
12 Apr 2011, 09:58 am
@chucky(chucky)-95:
a back 3 of alberts, juan and schalk would be awesome to watch.
i reckon senior boks are cruising and savings themselves for one big hurrah come world cup. only question is can they lift themselves after months of mediocrity
12 Apr 2011, 09:58 am
@stew(stew)-29:
he’s wayyyyyyyyy more experienced now than Mehrts was when he landed in SA for RWC’95. And thats without a TriN/June-Tests to consider
12 Apr 2011, 10:00 am
A few interesting comments by John Plumtree:
Christo Buchner
Durban – “I’ve not had a call from Peter (de Villiers, Springbok coach) yet. I’m still waiting to hear from him when I should pick him there.”
That was the reaction from Sharks coach John Plumtree on Saturday when he was asked when he would select John Smit at hooker.
Of course, Plumtree’s tongue was firmly in his cheek as he will not let the national coach dictate his team selections.
De Villiers has said that he will only consider Smit as hooker for the Springbok team, while Plumtree has to date only picked him at loosehead and tighthead prop.
Smit admitted after the Sharks’ 27-3 win over a mediocre Lions team that his side had been running on empty during the week.
“It makes it so much more of a relief to have been able to pull this one off and get five log points,” he said of the four tries, with the bonus point-try coming off the last move of the match.
Plumtree said that he had to do something he hated on Saturday and that was to support the Crusaders against the Bulls.
“It was difficult to swallow, but that is the nature of the tournament. You don’t want teams from your own country to build a lead and that is why it was a good weekend for us with the Bulls and Stormers losing,” he said.
“However, we can’t expect other teams to do us favours. We have to determine our own destiny by winning games.”
He added that the players had responded well to the pressure put on them during the week.
“We played some good rugby, but were not patient enough when we got close to their try-line. We made minor tweaks to our defence and it worked. In this competition the Crusaders remain the team that sets the standard. If we can get to their level, there is a realistic chance that we can still win the tournament,” said Plumtree.
Interesting comment by Plumtree about Sharks running on empty before the Lions game.
12 Apr 2011, 10:01 am
Current Poll
After eight rounds, who’s your favourite to win the SA conference?
* Bulls
302486% of all votes
* Sharks
2617% of all votes
* Stormers
2357% of all votes
Total Votes: 3520
…… LOL
12 Apr 2011, 10:06 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-98:
you don’t like eel
12 Apr 2011, 10:23 am
smit
must go
not to the
bench
but into
history
12 Apr 2011, 10:56 am
@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-104: maybe like spies matfield and bakkies and steyn have too??
actually smit playing better right now then all 4 of those
then we wont talk about you front row even
12 Apr 2011, 10:58 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-101: there in lies a very good point made
Kiwis in here come claiming plumtree as a kiwi and yes by birth he is
he learnt his good rugby here in SA at natal rugby
and he clearly points out his hate of having to support the saders over the bulls, because it helped out the sharks
this part of you post says it all piesangs
Plumtree said that he had to do something he hated on Saturday and that was to support the Crusaders against the Bulls.
“It was difficult to swallow, but that is the nature of the tournament. You don’t want teams from your own country to build a lead and that is why it was a good weekend for us with the Bulls and Stormers losing,” he said.
“However, we can’t expect other teams to do us favours. We have to determine our own destiny by winning games.”
12 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-106:
Plum
born’n'bred in NZ
played 50+ 1st-class games in NZ (Taranaki & Hawkes Bay)
spent more than half his life living in NZ.
but, yeah, of course he’s a Safa.
12 Apr 2011, 11:06 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-106: howzit SL, noticed on Sun you were talking about Jonty and having played MGC with Mike James and a pommie character. Was that perhaps Tommy O’ Neil the club pro or was it Lee Daff’s father (Barry) who also played his golf there. Another of the regulars there was Des Macdonald who you might have played a round with.
I’ll be hopefully teeing up in PMB in a few months time Jul/Aug when I hope to come out for 3 weeks. Might even make a trip down to CT as well.
12 Apr 2011, 11:08 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-107: He just loves us BP, cannot get away from the quality of life in Natal and now considers himself an adopted Saffa.
12 Apr 2011, 11:15 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-105:
kiwis might claim him back after the world cup.
then it won’t matter how much he likes the meat at the local butcher and spur milkshakes.
12 Apr 2011, 11:17 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-109:
married to one.
and for all you fellas out there that are hitched…..
thats all that matters.
12 Apr 2011, 11:18 am
I spoke to PDV last night, I know what he thinks about the Smit issue, PDV is a smart fcuker!!!!, watch this space
12 Apr 2011, 11:22 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-108: nope i know the caretaker family , but was just 2 other member golfers
i know mike was on the committee there
12 Apr 2011, 11:26 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-112: Hahahaha!
12 Apr 2011, 11:27 am
Pearls of wisdom by PDivvy & J Melema – will be a best seller.
12 Apr 2011, 11:29 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-110: lol , speak to him as i have and you will understand where his heart is
he at heart condiers himself a saffa , even though by birth he will always be a kiwi , and noone can that that away from him
12 Apr 2011, 11:31 am
@stew(stew)-115:
I think they might be the same person…
I mean, have you ever SEEN Julius and Divot at the same place at the same time.
Hmmmm?
I think not.
12 Apr 2011, 11:32 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-117: Now that explains it LOL
12 Apr 2011, 11:33 am
White people’s attitude towards PDV and Julius is very misinformed
12 Apr 2011, 11:34 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-101: We were running on empty before the Stormers game buddy. Though Plum will never ever say that. Thought we could come short on Saturday due to the tiredness. But really pleased we got that bonus point at the death. Now the boys can just relax this week. Get their free 4 points and be back for the Canes the following week well rested. Then the biggie the return game at Newlands with rested players
12 Apr 2011, 11:36 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-119:
why don’t you enlighten us.
hmmm?
12 Apr 2011, 11:37 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-112: Tell us come on, why wait? Spill the beans Xhosa
12 Apr 2011, 11:38 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-119: Julius sings: “Kill the Boere”, PdV sings: “Castrate the Bokke”…
12 Apr 2011, 11:39 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-111:
I knew there was something about you that I liked….where is your good lady from?
12 Apr 2011, 11:41 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-107: But we have adopted him our own now…hahaha. He was part of our historical CC win in 1990. Came off the bench that day. He feels Durbs in his blood now……hahaha.
Okay will be fair. Half kiwi half Saffa now. His wife and children are South African…. lol.
12 Apr 2011, 11:43 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-123:
now now.
that is EXACTLY the sort of thing Xhosakid is talking about.
whatever you might think of Divvie, there is know doubt he loves the boks.
12 Apr 2011, 11:47 am
@Puma(Puma)-122: John is going to the world cup, PDV doesn’t need the media circus in the build up to the WC, all that Smit has to do is to retire from International rugby and thereby take the decision away from PDV
12 Apr 2011, 11:47 am
@Puma(Puma)-125: hiyas brudda
12 Apr 2011, 11:49 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-127: sorry xhosa but thats BS
12 Apr 2011, 11:50 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-129: Why do you reckon its BS?
12 Apr 2011, 11:53 am
if john smit goes to the WC its because he was chosen and PDV wants him there
and his public statements just a few weeks ago prove exactly that
because he had every oportunity to drop smit even last year
12 Apr 2011, 11:53 am
sorry had pushed submit before i had completed what i was saying
12 Apr 2011, 11:54 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-127: John won’t be retire until after the wc. So he will be going. Good we need him there. Whether he starts or not he has to go.
Did you watch that programme on dstv with Mallett before the Stormers/Reds game on Saturday? He said the biggest mistake he made was not keeping Teich as Captain for 1999. Said had Teich been on the field in that semi against Oz we could have won it. We missed our captain that day he said. Joost also said John has to go to this wc cause leaving out Teich was a terrible mistake and we should never do that again.
John could even be squad captain. Not necessary the team captain. He has go be on that plane in Sept to kiwiland.
My feeling it will be Oz and Nz in the final. For not just can’t see the Boks getting to the semi let alone the final. Just have to hope we can.
12 Apr 2011, 11:55 am
@Puma(Puma)-133: meant – John won’t retire
12 Apr 2011, 11:56 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-131: Exactly.
12 Apr 2011, 11:59 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-128: Howzit t. How you doing brudda?
Jeez that brilliant autumn weather has set in. Good time of year to be in Durbs.
12 Apr 2011, 12:00 pm
now i am not one of the anti pdiv gang and nor am i going to become one.
Pdiv has a job to do yes , but to try shift problems ?? not good
now half the bok team is going through bad form not onlt smit?? should they all quit?? or should the coach have the balls to drop a player out of form???
and please dont try blame the press because most of the press are in agreement that smit has been out of form and at worst should be on the bench
yes smit is now starting to play better but is not as yet the best of any position the sharks from row
and trust me noone knows that better then smit himself , yes he is big enough to admit it and he is working his *** off to be where he should be
persoanlly i dont see him in the starting lineup unless he finds form
but then nor should about 8 bulls players that are boks
NO Xhosa thats why i say its BS , its his job has coach to play and pick the right players for the job .noone can or has forced john to play or be in the bok team , and john has not made himself an honary member
he plays as he feels he is still good enough to play, selectors and coaches are there to do their job
12 Apr 2011, 12:00 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-105:
you mad
this is
about smit
playing
12 Apr 2011, 12:01 pm
@Puma(Puma)-133: PDV echoes exactly those sentiments, hence he will not drop Smit, although he know that pound for pound as they say in boxing, he is not good enough. I got the feeling that PDV really likes Smit as a person but also knows that his buddy doesn’t have the legs and this compromises everyone.
12 Apr 2011, 12:07 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-139: John played very well on Saturday. He will get better as the S15 goes. Now can you imagine having John on the bench in the wc? He can cover all the front row positions. Could come in at anytime if they need him. Now that is a asset to have for any team.
Also the captain must not be Victor. He is just not captain quality for the Boks. Also not playing as well as Bekker right now. Don’t think Juan will make it for the wc. Can’t be out for 6 months and be ready. Then think the field captain should be Jean de Villiers. The players repect him as well.
Squad captain Smitty.
12 Apr 2011, 12:07 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-137: Fair point, dont shoot the messenger, PDV is very skeptical of the press, he believes they never bought into his strategy and for four years they have consistently been on his case. He shares this cynism with the Bafana coach.
12 Apr 2011, 12:09 pm
@Puma(Puma)-136: yup , cant beat durbs weather bro
look one thing is very clear , typically the majority of people shouting the anti smit thing is capt tonians and cape town press and you stormer supporters or wp where ever they are
and it was the cape town f*up that cost us the world cup in the skinstadt era , when mallet was convinced by his sidekick who now coaches the kings to make skinstad capt and drop teichmann
that ulimately cost us the world cup, and i will give mallet credit that he was bif enough to admit that mistake a couple of years later
now i have learnt mostly scroll past the haters in here and hell we have all admitted john is not in great form right now, but he is still better then most they shout for , they also never once admit he played well no matter how well he played , like the past weekend
grant a few weeks ago said in the pre season match cilliers whipped smitty ( which he did and remember smit was back in his first match after a 6 month injury layoff)
now i ask did cilliers beat johnlast weekend ?? or did john actually shove cilliers neck up his ring?? we know the answer to that , did grant give john credit???? HELL NO and i aint mentioning this to pick on grant at all, just showing out the dishonest mindset in here , and also the little CAPE thing where everything none cape is wrong
NO MATTER THE COST THEY WANT THAT CHANGE , AND YES THE PREVIOUS TIME IT COST US A WORLD CUP AT THE TIME WE WERE DOMINATING WORLD RUGBY UNDER THE COACHING OF NICK MALLET
12 Apr 2011, 12:12 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-141: i hear ya xhosa and its not that i blame you boet
just the tendency for everything to kinda put blame on smit
i for one reckon PDV must select his players and if succesful get given the credit and what ever comes with it
and if he fails he should be treaded like the coaches before him that failed
and yes their are some in here that dont give him credit for what he has achieved so far either , and not right
12 Apr 2011, 12:13 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142:
they are all
against you
and john
agents
and bloody
12 Apr 2011, 12:14 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-141: maybe they “never bought into his strategy” because he can’t put a coherent sentence together, without a biblical quote/mixed metaphor/laughable gibberish – hence they can’t understand what his “strategy” is.
what is his “strategy”?
12 Apr 2011, 12:16 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-139: smitty and pdiv actually get along brilliantly
but watch this space Xhosa , smitty is getting better and better as he gets back to match fitness, i have no doubt smitty should be in the squad , right now in the starting 15>??? no
but we forghet the world cup is only in sept
and also i am not surprised pdiv is wary of the press , i mean we all know the press also have their own agenda’s
12 Apr 2011, 12:16 pm
What makes me chuckle is that the de Villiers fan club have gone COMPLTELY QUIET about rabidly defending his honour on this blog…..since they found out he is a John Smit fan.
12 Apr 2011, 12:18 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142: “and it was the cape town f*up that cost us the world cup in the skinstadt era , when mallet was convinced by his sidekick who now coaches the kings to make skinstad capt and drop teichmann
that ulimately cost us the world cup, and i will give mallet credit that he was bif enough to admit that mistake a couple of years later”
that’s quite a statement. you can prove that we would have won the wc if teichman was there, right?
12 Apr 2011, 12:20 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142: Agree there t. I don’t take notice of the Smit haters anymore brudda. Just ignore it. Though sometimes still have my say.
John played really well on Saturday. Had the better of Cilliers for sure. Also John will get better as the season goes. He has hardly started this S15. Still needs game time. At 33 one is never over the hill. John will get better as the season goes.
The biggest mess up WE have ever done was dropping Teich. As soon as he was dropped in a disgraceful manner. I said there and then we will never win the wc. Then they took a INJURED Skinstadt instead. How bloody daft was that? Teich was our best 8 at the time as well. Mallett had admitted that a year later he made a massive mistake. Then saw him being interviewed on Saturday in that programme just before the Stormers game saying just that. It was a huge mistake he dropped Teich. He felt had Teich been on the field in that semi we could have won that game and we sure as heck would have beaten the French if we got to the final. Could have, what if? if only? Now I really hope we don’t have to use those words again after this wc. John has to go to NZ in September. Squad Captain. But must be there to steer the ship.
Though the way our franchises are playing rugby this S15 just can’t see us getting past our pool never mind the quarter final. Hope I am wrong. But plenty of our Boks come from the Bulls team and they are playing a very out of date game. They need to adapt quick. Still plenty games left in this tourney.
Then just hope our 3 coaches get in some help. NOT from Eddie Jones. We need someone else that is working in SuperRugby right now.
Anyhow one can only hope for our Boks. BUT John will be there brudda.
12 Apr 2011, 12:21 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-148: no but it took away the best chance we had
come now how long were we unbeaten for ???? and mallet has admitted in his book its what cost us
12 Apr 2011, 12:22 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-145: So what?, he is a character, the press could have labelled him “eccentric” but they chose to call him “insane” or “dumb” and thats his point.
12 Apr 2011, 12:23 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-148: peanut i dont expect you to admit it cost us , ur from WP , but ask 99% of people that love rugby in this counrty and are from the other provinces what cost us that world cup
the other mistake they made was keeping lem out the team jannie de beer in that other fatal match
12 Apr 2011, 12:24 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-148: Did you watch the programme before the Stormers game on dstv on Saturday? They had interviewed Mallett and it came straight from Malletts mouth. That had Teich been there as captain when we played Oz in the semi we could have beaten Oz. But he had dropped his captain and it was his biggest mistake ever. Mallett said it himself buddy.
12 Apr 2011, 12:25 pm
but ultimately it was the dropping of teichmann
12 Apr 2011, 12:26 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-147: I’m still here waving PDV’s flag, whatever he decides to do,I’ll back him 150%, even if it means Smit going to the WC, personally I’m not convinced of his reasons but I respect them and will support him all the way.
12 Apr 2011, 12:27 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-155: agreed , thus like i said if he fails and gets fired so be it its fair practice
but if he is succesful he should get rewards just like a jake white or kitch was for success
12 Apr 2011, 12:28 pm
From the keyboard of JC.
“Peter de Villiers may be blind, but the answer’s there for all to see. Smit must go to the World Cup as a leader; not as a frontline player. That’s not a contradiction”.
Well,……………………………………………………………………………………………………………lay me down and give me a good hard shaggging!.
Call me an illiterate Oke from Oklahoma.
Call me a what you like………………………………………It will have been said before.
But I’d call that a contradiction.
12 Apr 2011, 12:28 pm
reward is not only financial…
12 Apr 2011, 12:29 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-152: Mallett said in that show on Saturday. He wanted to have Lem play in that semi against Oz, but cause Jannie played well in the quarter against England felt ha had to select him again. Well it was another mistake, cause think if Lem started that game, we would not have had to rely on Jannie to get us into extra time with that great kick on full time. Think we would have beaten Oz in the 80 had Lem started. Mallett should have gone with what he wanted to do.
1999 was there for the taking. France had one superb game against ABs then were really terrible in the final against Oz.
Plenty mistakes that can cost a team. We need to think smart about our selections and not leave some really game winners here at home this time.
12 Apr 2011, 12:29 pm
john smit is the second best hooker in SA.
joost was captain at 2003 world cup not stinkgat
12 Apr 2011, 12:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-153: there’s a difference between “could have” and “would have”.
12 Apr 2011, 12:31 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-151:
eccentric is how you describe your strange aunt.
PDV’s desire to be considered an eccentric coach explains a lot.
@Puma(Puma)-159: and if lem had played against england we would have lost that game.
@cane(cane)-157: hiyas Cane
trust me its vital Smit goes to the world cup in our squad, will he be good enough at that time to start ?? who knows
but if there is one leader in our rugby capable in keeping our divided rugby together in this country ? its JOHN SMIT
trust me under pressure it will not be Matfield for example,
12 Apr 2011, 12:32 pm
@cane(cane)-157:
ahhhh.
You are thinking like russel crowe in Gladiator.
JC is thinking more along the lines of George W in Bomb Iraq Motherless Part I.
It’s a nuanced perspective.
12 Apr 2011, 12:33 pm
@Puma(Puma)-149: I’ll disagree with Mallet or anyone for that matter, we lost a tight semi final in extra time through Larkhams one and only drop kick, kicked 48meters out!!!!, how the hell can one claim the loss of weary Teichmann was the cause for that loss. Its debatable whether Teichmann’s legs would have carried him to the extra time that was needed to settle that game.
We went on to beat the All Blacks in 3rd place play off.
12 Apr 2011, 12:33 pm
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-160: yes untill they brought in skinstadt
and even though he did not take over the captaincy ?? he was given the captains place , and that a capt that made that team tick
and agree 150 % with you , smitty is still 2nd best hooker in this country
12 Apr 2011, 12:34 pm
@Puma(Puma)-159:
difference between mallet and PDV. mallet admits he made mistakes and has learnt from then.
PDV still does not understand why the boks did not win last year
12 Apr 2011, 12:36 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-166: not true
there was nothing wrong with teichmans fitness
also it broke the belief in the team that they had as a unit, its been admitted by all the experts Xhosa so sorry for not taking your word seriously
12 Apr 2011, 12:37 pm
@Puma(Puma)-153: Funny that Mallet said that, I say so because, when I asked him in 2005 in Monte Casino, he thought Lem’s absence was huge.
12 Apr 2011, 12:39 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-170: its in his book xhosa , nothing funny about him admitting it, he admitted it to a public conference at a hotel in durban a few years ago
12 Apr 2011, 12:39 pm
There have been many situations in rugby that not nessarily the best player gets picked but the best combination …..The WC is still a good 6 months away J Smit has time to peak , he has not let SA down in the past so i see no reason not to elect him Captain , i also think the Bok scrum will be more stable with Smit at hooker ……….. Bismarck is good , dont misunderstnd me , but i would use him rather as an impact player and he will get his position next year ……….. Only in SA will they fire the WC winning Captain months before the WC – it just doesnt make sense
12 Apr 2011, 12:40 pm
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-162: Not so literal, just an example of how the media choose angles for stories depending on how they feel about you.
12 Apr 2011, 12:41 pm
@stew(stew)-172: amen stew , and look nicely where the anti smit sentiments get shouted from ….
its pretty clear
12 Apr 2011, 12:42 pm
I really, really, really hope that both Smit and Matfield are in the Bok scrum.
12 Apr 2011, 12:42 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-169:
do not mess with xhosakid.
not only does he have the pdv sextape.
but he also has recorded conversations with the last 5 bok coaches.
as well as the fiancial records for our world cup stadiums.
and most importantly, copies of your latest tax returns.
you have been warned.
12 Apr 2011, 12:43 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-163: Well he could not have played against England, cause he was injured that day. Jannie had to play. They worked out they would do the drops cause Jannie was playing, cause he played a different game to Lem.
We just might have scored more tries had Lem been there, he was a better flyhalf. But yes those drops got us into the semi but still feel we would have made it if Lem played.
12 Apr 2011, 12:44 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-170: here read puma is giving you facts yet you refuse to believe it?? yet you want us to believe what you say????
FROM A POSTING TO YOU MADE BY PUMA
Did you watch that programme on dstv with Mallett before the Stormers/Reds game on Saturday? He said the biggest mistake he made was not keeping Teich as Captain for 1999. Said had Teich been on the field in that semi against Oz we could have won it. We missed our captain that day he said. Joost also said John has to go to this wc cause leaving out Teich was a terrible mistake and we should never do that again.
12 Apr 2011, 12:45 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-176:
gunther , lol boet,
12 Apr 2011, 12:46 pm
@stew(stew)-172: Best post of the day. Well said mate.
12 Apr 2011, 12:47 pm
Viva Smit Viva!!!
Smit should at least play two pool games and one knock-out game.
12 Apr 2011, 12:47 pm
@Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis)-175:
I really really really hope you are making a nice melktert for the ouens.
12 Apr 2011, 12:49 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-167: I must ask: If we need Smit to get us through those really tight and tense games and he starts off the bench as a reserve hooker, wen do you bring him on? 20 minutes to go, the score is 12-12 in a semi with NZ and things are about as tight as they’ll eva get. Bissie is playing just as well as we expect him to… Which coach would have the guts to take him off then wen he could be the catalyst of an historic victory or wld u take off Beast at such a moment?
@stew(stew)-172: Its going to be an interesting few months leading up to the World Cup.
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-182: dont forget the koeksisters
12 Apr 2011, 12:50 pm
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-168: Boks did not win last year?, what do you mean?, anyway, do not answer, I think you have already demonstrated selective retention “tendencies”, by the way, Corne Krige was the Captain in 2003 but I guess too far out for you to remember considering you have already forgotten the successful end of the year tour.
12 Apr 2011, 12:51 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-170: Well it came straight out his mouth. I listened to him speak in that show on Saturday. Surely some others watched that show. It came just before the Stormers/Reds game.
Lem was injured for the quarter final against England. He then thought cause Jannie had a good game against England he should get a chance against Oz, BUT felt he wanted to select Lem for that game but gave Jannie another chance. He said it himself while being interviewed, came from Malletts mouth. Many must have watched that show. So he had a chance to start Lem against Oz and went with Jannie. He said it himself. Not sure when the show was recorded but it must have been very recent. Jannie and Joost was in the studio listening to that show as well as Joost was asked about taking John to the wc. Joost said John MUST go to the world cup, no question.
12 Apr 2011, 12:52 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-171: But I asked him myself in 2005 and he said it was Lem’s absence against Australia. Thats my point.
12 Apr 2011, 12:53 pm
@Ace11(Ace11)-183: Tough.
12 Apr 2011, 12:55 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-176: You forgot that I drink Lagavulin with Julius Malema…….
!!!!!
12 Apr 2011, 12:55 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-164:
Sharkie,
You can have but ONE leader.
Trust me.
We once made the grave mistake of taking Two Coaches to a WC.
With disastrous consequences.
If Smitty is your Capt, fine.
If NOT,
his leadership role would only contribute to the many mixed messages players are already getting.
-Coach,
-Captain.
-Senior Players taking responsibility.
-Young Ones stepping up.
In that order. With no room for Hangers On.
Some kind of off field mentor. Leave him behind. The past is exactly that.
12 Apr 2011, 12:56 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-188: Well then Mallett just says things to suit himself. Cause he said on Saturday it was cause of Teich not being on the field against Oz. HE could have selected Lem but decided to go with Jannie.
12 Apr 2011, 13:00 pm
We all still have to wait and see who is not injured after this S15. Another 8 games to go. Only half way through and we seeing many injuries already. Some top players we think will go to wc could be injured. Have to see who is still there at the end of this tourney.
12 Apr 2011, 13:02 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-178: My point is that I didn’t see the programme Puma is talking about. All that I know is that when an opportunity came for me to ask Mallet about 1999, Him not selecting Lem against Australia was the biggest mistake, clearly he has since changed his mind about it.
Again, this is not hearsay, I asked him myself and he told me. He also said Carter is the best shhhyyt since sliced bread.
12 Apr 2011, 13:02 pm
@cane(cane)-157: LOL
12 Apr 2011, 13:05 pm
Matfield’s form as been MUCH worse than Smith this year.
12 Apr 2011, 13:05 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-190:
julius drinks black label out of a blue label bottle.
but you have taste in whisky I’ll give you that.
rumour has it thast you are the only person alive who knows Julius “Tasting Menu” Malema’s true pants size.
even his tailor has to take his measurement blindfolded in case he should cathc sight of the Lion of Sandton’s junk.
as well as a secret powerpoint document with all 532 of Jayzee’s erogenous zones.
to distract him whenever he starts talking about getting tough on this corruption business.
12 Apr 2011, 13:06 pm
Matfield’s form as been MUCH worse than Smit’s this year.
12 Apr 2011, 13:11 pm
@cane(cane)-191:
the horror
i agree
with a
keewee
12 Apr 2011, 13:11 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-197: You can pour him Viceroy out of a Blue Label Bottle, he probably wont spot the difference, after all , “All brandy is the same”
12 Apr 2011, 13:12 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-200:
brandy is the spirit of the people.
12 Apr 2011, 13:18 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-201:
anyway Julius is not that bad once you get to know him.
I met him recently at a spa in Sandton.
We were both having the full ayoba (back crack and sac)
He took it like a man. Although there was one nasty patch where I thought he was having trouble with service delivery.
He even asked if I had any xhosa in me.
I am thinking of adding a praise singer to team Gunther
12 Apr 2011, 13:23 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-202:
12 Apr 2011, 13:25 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-202: Name your kid, Vuyisile, its a Xhosa name and its also Brian Mujati’s second name, dont know whether he got it from birth or in Hillbrow upon his arrival in Jozi
12 Apr 2011, 13:28 pm
@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-199:
we
agree.
A
contra-
diction
it
is.
12 Apr 2011, 13:29 pm
SL , Skinstad was not made captain, Joost captained the WC side, Gary was ageing and physically he was out on his feet, had suffered injuries and Bob was in the form of his life he was playing brilliant rugby and offering more energy and excitement than what gary was at that stage (gary was a great player, not knocking him), would you have left him out ??
Fail to see why it is a Cape thing ??
The fact that Mallet has stated it was a mistake is because it pissed off senior players , which could happen if JS is booted.
But for Larhams antics we would of been in the final, and if we had won, I wonder if we would be having this conversation !!!
12 Apr 2011, 13:29 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-204:
I think it was probably given to him on arrival in Hillbrow.
Along with a 9mm and four girls from Angola to keep an eye on.
I shall discuss with Mrs Gunther.
What does it mean?
12 Apr 2011, 13:37 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(cunther)-202:
“He even asked if I had any xhosa in me”……………
And what was guthers reply good posters on Keo.
Was it:
A- yes about 6 inches back in 04,
b- Where do you think I got this tan.
c- Forget the humour, Julius, it’s not your strong suit.
12 Apr 2011, 13:37 pm
@stew(stew)-29: Who else we got? M Steyn just isn’t an option. Lambie will get more experience in the 3N.
12 Apr 2011, 13:40 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-206: Form of his life? hell JR sorry but thats rubbish, he had just come back from a very serious injury and long layoff , he hardly had game time.
And this is the cape thing I speak of, teichmann was not injured , he was nothing of the sought
most people questioned Skinstand’s inculusion into the squad even, yet you guys here as long as its a wp player will argue and accept anyhting wrong and argue it was right
Not even from Sharks quaters, it is said to be the biggest mistake ever , Mallet did admit it, he had the goons to do so , maybe you guys should try the same
Teichmann was in good form , we had just come off a 19 match unbeaten record , we were the best around, the only one with an injury cloud was Skinstad
12 Apr 2011, 13:45 pm
Having represented South Africa at all levels, including captaining the under 21 Springbok side in 1996 and 1997, and playing for the SA Sevens team in 1997, Skinstad made his début for the Springboks as a replacement on 29 November 1997 against England. In all he played 42 tests for the Springboks, scoring 11 tries.
His inclusion in the 1999 World Cup squad at the expense of successful captain Gary Teichmann was highly controversial in South Africa, and although South Africa finished 3rd in the competition there were many who believed that Teichmann should have been retained as captain for that tournament. Skinstad carried a leg injury into the competition, and made little impression.
HERE IS AN ARTICLE PORTION FROM THEN
and made little impression ( form of his lfe huh??)and carried a leg injury
12 Apr 2011, 13:45 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-210:
Tiechman, one the best “8′s” ever.
12 Apr 2011, 13:49 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-206: Not sure if Skinstad was in the form of his life at that stage, he was injured when selected and injured most of that tour. Teich was in the form of his life to be honest.
12 Apr 2011, 13:49 pm
@cane(cane)-208:
six inches?
don’t be insulting our xhosa brothers here.
I think he was trying to tell me I was pretty fly for a white guy.
Anyway we went on to the Grand adterwards.
All I can say is that Julius is a big hit with the ladeez.
The walls are quite thin there and at a one stage I could here him screaming
“the revolution is coming to you”.
Anyway we had a great cigar and fish eagle brandy afterwards.
He has promised me the post of tactical advisor to the new Youth League.
I am in charge of stomach out chest in.
12 Apr 2011, 13:51 pm
@cane(cane)-212: Thanks Cane. It takes a non saffa to show some here the truth. Someone looking from the outside in will always see it as it is. Thanks mate.
12 Apr 2011, 13:52 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-211: Pleased you found that information. That clears that up. Skinstad was injured, how he got selected was crazy. Biggest mistake. Hope we learn from that.
12 Apr 2011, 13:53 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-207: It means ” You made us happy”
12 Apr 2011, 13:55 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-207: PS: I hate it when you whiteys ask us darkys what do our names mean, you dont hear us darkys asking you guys what do your names mean……LOL!!!!!!
12 Apr 2011, 13:58 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-210:
Gary was held together was elastoplast at the time of the WC , his form had been poor,not good, i will arguue that with you until we are blue in the face !!! everybody thought Bob, with the x factor that he brought we give us a dimension that we were looking for, everybody was hoping he would deliver the performance he was capable of , becuase he was that good and could of made a difference.
Amazing how it is a province player , a province coach, that derailed the WC campaign, Bob did not pick himself ? as you always say about Smit !!
I dont think it was wrong to include Bob, it is debatable whether nick was wrong to drop Gary !!! history might indicate that it was wrong, but getting too the semi seems to indicate that we did ok without Theich ??
At least Nick had the balls to drop Teich!!!
As did kitch with not including Tiaan Strauss.
Hindsight is a perfect science, but you okes battering Province and the Cape day in and day out is getting a bit much !!!!
12 Apr 2011, 13:58 pm
@Puma(Puma)-215:
Actually Puma,
He is just the kind/style/type of player the Boks need this year.
12 Apr 2011, 13:59 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-219:
kak typing sorry !!
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-218:
Our don’t have any meaning….hehehehehe.
@Puma(Puma)-213: exactly puma
here is part of an article from what mallet said
Mallett’s only regret is dropping Teichmann
June 13 2003 at 11:11pm
By Dale Granger
——————————————————————————–
Former Springbok coach Nick Mallett has for the first time admitted he made a mistake axing his captain Gary Teichmann six months before the 1999 World Cup to accommodate Bob Skinstad at No 8.
Mallett, who made history last Saturday as the first foreign coach to win the French championship when his club, Stade Francais, beat European champions Toulouse in the final, is back home in Cape Town for six weeks. After his arrival on Thursday he wasted no time getting back to familiar terrain at Bishops, this time to watch his son Doug playing for the under-14 team.
It did not, however, take long for Mallett’s expertise to be put to good use as coach for the afternoon.
Mallett’s record as the Bok coach was near flawless in 1997 and ’98 when he inspired South Africa to a world record-equalling unbeaten streak of 17 matches. At the ’99 World Cup the team lost in extra time to a wobbly old Stephen Larkham dropped goal before beating New Zealand in the third and fourth place playoff.
12 Apr 2011, 14:01 pm
@cane(cane)-220: Absolutely Cane. That is the kinda 8 that we need this year. Not sure about our wc mate. Don’t think we will select the best players. Think the players have already been selected by the Coach. Well most, some might be added to the 32 squad.
12 Apr 2011, 14:02 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-218:
That’s because our names don’t mean anything. “Darkie” names always mean something like “e who brings water in the deser” or ” She who sounds like the wind of Peace” I think it’s radicool.
I know the feeling though.
It’s just the same when ******* ask me which wine goes best with foie gras.
Jislaaik build a bridge.
Unity and Peace through understanding.
12 Apr 2011, 14:02 pm
Is that for real? I’ve been away and the Crusaders beat the Bulls 27-0 ? WTF
12 Apr 2011, 14:03 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-218: My mom thought of my name while she was cleaning the floor…..
12 Apr 2011, 14:05 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-227:
you are called muddy footprint?
12 Apr 2011, 14:06 pm
@Puma(Puma)-224:
It’s the same here in NZ Puma.
I think G Henry had already promised playing positions to 85% of the Squad last year.
12 Apr 2011, 14:07 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-219: no he did not pick himself and he did not bring anything to the table as he was not on form
i am not blamming skinstad , but the coaches , was their choice to make
and so what ur telling me is all the press articles are rubbish and you know better??
JR Skinstad was injured , mallett admitted he was wrong , so you saying mallett wrong too?
12 Apr 2011, 14:09 pm
On the Mallet issue: I’d like to add the following:
Mallet did say that he was inclined to select Lem for the Semi. True. Lem himself came to him and asked him to keep Jannie in the starting line up as he’d played a blinder and deserved to keep his spot.
Nick listened to Henry.
Nick (correctly) did say that in fact it may not have been the worst decision as Jannie slotted a very difficult penalty on the touch line from almost the half way line to tie the game and force overtime, something that Henry would have most probably missed (let’s be honest here)
He also said that the Aussies were using drop kick attempts to drive the ball over the dead ball line without incurring a penalty and keep the play in our half, and it just went over, almost as a fluke.
I think we can all agree that having Bob there didn’t work out for us, for various reasons.
One kick though and we’d have played the French in the final and probably beaten them, as Marshall said, they played their final against New Zealand the previous week.
So it was close. Closer than Gunther’s man wax.
12 Apr 2011, 14:09 pm
Smit must retire or be forced to do so!
12 Apr 2011, 14:10 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-223: There you go that clears it up. But if anyone watched that show on Saturday there would have been none even questioning what Mallett said and felt. Cause Mallett spoke there and said it. Straight from his mouth. He made a mistake and should have had Teich as captain, especially for that game against Oz. He said had Teich been on the field that day we could have won. He said it. I watched and listened to him say it. It could have been recent recording that show. Cause he looks like he looks right now not back then. They had Joost and Jannnie and Paulse in the studio to comment on what Mallett had said.
12 Apr 2011, 14:16 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-231: And it was Jannie that said Lem must play in the play offs where we beat the ABs. Lem had a great game.
Like I said previous here. Sure Jannie got us that massive kick at full time to get us into extra time, but had Lem played my feeling we just might not have needed that drop. We may have scored more than Aussies with tries. Lem was a better fh than Jannie. Mallett wanted to go with Lem but felt that Jannie should get another chance cause he played well in the quarter. Yes Mallett said Lem said give Jannie a chance. But Mallett should have called it as he really wanted Lem to play.
Anyhow it is gone and dusted, but a huge chance was missed in 1999. One will always wonder. What if, could we have, if only and so on.
Now hope we don’t make a similar mistake by not selecting our best.
Though even if we do take our inform players. What game plan are we gonna play? I am not confident for our Boks in this wc.
12 Apr 2011, 14:17 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-232:
Who would your back up hooker be? Let say hypothetically if Bismark went down with an injury in a world cup pressure playoff game, who would you like to see come on or feel most comfortable with coming on.
Please dont say Deon Fourie? He cant even find his lineout out jumpers when one of them is just about the tallest man in the world.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-230:
What i am saying is that Mallet did what he thought best at the time, that was good enough for us to almost make the final of the WC, how big a difference would Teich of made, we will never know ??
But to say JS must go to the WC because we cant do to him what nick did to Teich is silly !!!
But because it once again is Shark captain the thing is hyped all out of proportion, somehow the Cape will get the blame !!
@Puma(Puma)-234: Not drop sorry. May not have needed that massive kick that Jannie got at full time.
12 Apr 2011, 14:18 pm
Keo’s latest Poll:
Current Poll
Bulls 37,2087 of all votes.
Sharks 3,087 of all votes.
Stormers 265 of all votes.
LOL ,
There is a niggard in the wood pile somewhere.
( and oh yes I know, so don’t bother.)
12 Apr 2011, 14:20 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-235: John Smit. Without a thought.
12 Apr 2011, 14:20 pm
anyhows lets agree to disagree
12 Apr 2011, 14:21 pm
@cane(cane)-238:
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-225: Ja !!! ja!!! I know, we are like the red indians, with names like “long white cloud” or “sleeping snake”
we can slice it
we can dice it
bottom line is smit or bissy?
for me a no brainer.
but I may be wrong
Maybe smit a ‘ must have ‘
then the worlds best 2 on bench.
lets see how it goes….
i reckon we will have these kiwis here giving us the ‘ 4 more years ‘ medicine.
but we want to be stupid then its only ourselves to blame
12 Apr 2011, 14:22 pm
@Puma(Puma)-234: Sure, I agree with you, Lem should have played, no question in my mind. Maybe Nick just trying to justify himself.
It’s ironic as Nick is not exactly known for his “soft touch” when dealing with players.
Should have stayed in character and made the hard decision.
And yes I would have taken Teich, no question. Bob wasn’t fully fit, still getting up to speed. Cant help but wonder if his contract with Guiness as official spokesperson played a role in his selection.
12 Apr 2011, 14:22 pm
Dont the Bulls have to get some points on the board first?
12 Apr 2011, 14:24 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-236: JR i did not say they cant do to smitty what they did to teichmann , go back to the beginning of my convo with Xhosa kid
this has more to do with what Xhosa kid said PDiv said to him and about the press
i have stated that if PDV thinks john is not good enough , drop him but dont come saying he heends to wait to see if john will retire
that way he takes away the possible press problems that might happen
12 Apr 2011, 14:24 pm
@cane(cane)-229: ABs proved last year they got what it takes Cane. So most should get selected. We never played well last year. So have to see. I bet GH has included SBW though
12 Apr 2011, 14:30 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-244:
Don’t believe everything you read a newspaper article !!
The fact that they were prepared to drop Teich and take a “not fully fit” Bob tells you something about Bobs ability and how it was viewed by perhaps the most astute rugby brain this country has ever seen !!
Mistake maybe ??, but I can understand why mallet made the call !!
The resentment towards Bob is what gets to me !!
12 Apr 2011, 14:33 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-246:
Sorry, did not go that far back, my bad !!
12 Apr 2011, 14:34 pm
look at that 99 squad….
Mallet should / could have taken both Teichmann and Bob.
12 Apr 2011, 14:35 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-249: no problem boet ,
12 Apr 2011, 14:35 pm
bob got a bronze in 99 and a gold in 2007
great player
kak useless commentator!
12 Apr 2011, 14:36 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-248: To be honest JR. Skinstad should have made it clear he was injured. NO injured player should ever, ever be selected. Cause it means one less we have on tour. Skinstad offered nothing in that world cup buddy. Nothing. We all know what a brilliant player he was before that car accident or pub brawl as we have heard here. After that he was never actually the same player. That is a pity cause he still had plenty to offer before that injury. He at that time was playing sublime rugby. But not after that accident.
12 Apr 2011, 14:36 pm
all i know is we drop bissy for the fat boy i will have a farken heart attack
12 Apr 2011, 14:37 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-248: who resents bob?? i sure as hell dont
and i think most resentment people do have that i have seen in here is ab out his commentating , and kinda sucking up to kiwi’s and aussies
hell he was on form a brilliant rugby player
12 Apr 2011, 14:38 pm
@grant10(grant10)-252: there you have just answered JR re Skinstand and what i said about his commentating
12 Apr 2011, 14:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-253: bob should have said no?
Then why the fark doesent smit say no?
Smit not injured, but he plays like he is !!
Slow and ineffective in the extreme….
klaar
12 Apr 2011, 14:39 pm
@grant10(grant10)-254: fatboy club?? yeah brok is that
smit last year yes this year? i would recommend you open your eyes and see slim smitty
i get so the moer in with bob when he commentates i rather listen to the farken radio
Smit for President.
12 Apr 2011, 14:40 pm
@grant10(grant10)-259:
i think stranksy is the same
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-260: lol boet ur stirring again
as for andy capoastagno….fark me….what a wally !
@justrugby(justrugby)-248: I hear you, but I can say this: I was close to many of the local players around that time and the feeling in the WP set-up was one of mild surprise.
Also, the players that I’ve asked the question all agree that Bob was freakishly skilled. That seems to be the consensus.
Problem is, it came out every now and then in a big way, but that injury was a real concern.
As for Nick, I know you guys like the guy and all, and I’m not anti him per se, but having a big mouth and strong opinions doesn’t automatically mean that you have an astute rugby brain.
As my wife sometimes likes to remind me, there’s a difference between knowing it all and being a know-it-all.
Nick gets a lot of credit for his record breaking run, and it’s totally deserved, but he did inherit a team that had gone through the experimentation phase under Carel. Remember how they shifted Percy around looking for his best position, and then Justin Swart got injured and they moved Percy to 15? The rest is history. That was Carel. Picking a mercurial running fullback at 11 (Slappies) out of the blue, that was Carel.
So yes, Nick was good, but it’s a leap to say that just because Nick says so, that it’s so. I’m not on the Bob train as far as that selection was concerned. Not becaiuse he wasn;t talented, but because he was still recovering. Not even just unfit, but still basically injured.
Anyway just my opinion.
12 Apr 2011, 14:41 pm
Smit offers something to the team that is why he can’t say no.
Bob was INJURED you get nothing out of a injured player. Teich was our best 8 at the time and our best captain that had captained the Boks on a unbeaten 17 record. Teich should have been there and Bob should have been left at home where all injured players would have been.
Very simple to work that out I think.
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-260: of Libya?
according
to bloggites
bulls are
going to
take
this one
12 Apr 2011, 14:42 pm
@Puma(Puma)-265: smit is a cancer
plain and simple
a kak prop
and a kak hooker
klaar
12 Apr 2011, 14:43 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-255:
Good after all he is a Hilton boy !!
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-264: TY for awesome honesty M
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-264:
motormouth
mallet
was taking
the team
downhill
even before
the rwc
12 Apr 2011, 14:44 pm
i would rather have a half cripple bissy than a fully fit plod
Well Skinstad and Stransky our worst commentators. Can’t argue with that. Stormers had Bob on Saturday but we had Stransky………
Both useless at commentating. Surely we have better?
Why can’t Dan Retief with a brilliant rugby brain do commentating? I often wonder.
@justrugby(justrugby)-269: lol that he is , but you guys let him loose here in the cape and he lost it , lol maybe the mountain is to blame
12 Apr 2011, 14:45 pm
@grant10(grant10)-254: Looks like Beast will be dropped instead.
Curiously on Keo’s current poll, the majority of the posters on here still think the Bulls are going to win the SA conference…I thought April Fools day was two weeks ago!
12 Apr 2011, 14:46 pm
@Puma(Puma)-273: true puma, dan is a man with huge knowledge of the game rugby , excellent reporter
12 Apr 2011, 14:47 pm
we play plod, matfield and spies , with schalk as a fetcher….i tell you all right farken now , make mates with all these kiwi okes here on this site….
and pray for mercy
because as nite follows day we will get done 6 love ….6 love….6 love….
then listen to the 4 more years ad nauseum
and remember this post come wc quarters when we come home wondering what the fark happened.
12 Apr 2011, 14:47 pm
So Stegmann an FdP on the bench for Bulls on Saturday.
Kuun and Huogaard to start.
Could be a good move. Bring em on later. Reds could be tired. Played Stormers on Saturday. Then had to fly back to Brissie.
Bulls could win this. Well if they play better than last week, which I think they will. But starting with Kuun and Hougaard is interesting.
12 Apr 2011, 14:48 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-275: I dont think so , somehow sensibillity must prevail and yes i believe Smitty is a must for the Squad , but on present form he should not be in the Starting ,lineup
As big a fan as a i am ??? we want to win the cup and that means choose on form and yes smitty’s form is getting better , but its not there yet
@Puma(Puma)-265:
Surely the medical team needed to make the call, again I say the fact that they were willing to risk Bob with an injury , says more about Bobs abilty that anything, the fact that it did not perhaps work out for everybody is debatable, yes teich was the fall guy, mistakes made and learnt !!!
The way of the jungle !!!
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-275: fark me….drop beast for plod!!!!!
Are you befark in your kop!!
@grant10(grant10)-257: Smit wasn’t that bad on Saturday. His cleanout caused a turnover which lead to the 2nd try. He wasn’t great but he certainly wasn’t as kak as previous weeks.
12 Apr 2011, 14:49 pm
Hi Puma, I saw that show with Mallet on Saturday, he was sitting in the lounge and you could see a part of the swimming pool with a fence around it out the window, he actually said a few times he made a mistake not choosing Teichman.
12 Apr 2011, 14:49 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-260: ha ha…
12 Apr 2011, 14:50 pm
@grant10(grant10)-272: ok ok ok ok ok ok we get your friggin point, you have a problem with Smit, every friggin day, the same posts over and over … do you even have to type it anymore or is your keyboard in cruise control.
12 Apr 2011, 14:50 pm
@Puma(Puma)-278:
Spies should be getting splinters as well !!
12 Apr 2011, 14:51 pm
@grant10(grant10)-277: Grant to me we are all barking up the wrong tree
i dont care if we choose the best team even without smitty etc and on form , unless we start thinking and playing effective rugby like the kiwi’s and aussies are ? we in trouble
What our coaching staff are planning is of more concern to me
12 Apr 2011, 14:51 pm
@grant10(grant10)-281: No you thick dense domkop I’m NOT saying I want the Beast dropped, I’m saying that PdV will probably drop the Beast (most likely) to the bench so that he can have his cake and eat it with Bismarck and his captain on the field at the same time!!!
Jassus you really need glasses. Take some valium to calm down.
12 Apr 2011, 14:52 pm
We play the gameplan we did last year the kick and chase stuff. We not even gonna make it out our pool let alone to the quarters, no matter who is playing. We had to adapt or get left behind.
I have a horror feeling that could happen. We have Fiji/Samoa and Wales in our pool. We have to be smart. Hope we can. For now feel worried after seeing Bulls totally outplayed by Saders.
My feeling it will be Oz and Nz in the final. Can’t see us beating NZ in the semi. IF we make it that far. Don’t look like we will at this stage.
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-283: hey hugger hun
yes he did , and kudo’s to him for being big enough to admit it
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-270: And i like Bob. I’ve spoken to him many times he’s a great guy, this is nothing against Bob at all, the timing just wasn’t right IMO.
Now if you have the privilege of chatting to Carel ever, that is quite a positive experience.
Nick’s more of a talker than a communicator. Good coach for sure, but totally different style. Somethimg tells me that Joost was the perfect captain for Nick, temperament wise. Carel has very good vision and understanding of the game. It didn’t work out with him as coach, but remember, we were one Jeremy Guscott drop kick away from winning the Lions series.
On such fine things the career can turn.
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-232: If you say Smit to retire does the same go for Ricky, Spies, Wynand, du Preez, Victor, Bakkies, Morne and Habana because they all seem to be way out of form at the moment.
12 Apr 2011, 14:53 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-287: SNAP. my post 289. Great minds think a like brudda…..
It is how we play the game that will cost us.
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-282: fark my man…..of course he will play the odd decent game….
but hell man a Bok starter????????
Is the jersey that cheap????
You farken nuts my man…..the Saders showed thre truth…
now he has a slightly better game against the lions and it is back in the green and gold?
my man you not lekker in the head!
Okay catch up later.
Cheers everyone.
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-283: heard that too from the horses mouth he admitted that he made that mistake.
12 Apr 2011, 14:54 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-285: lets see when we on the plane home…and you crying like a baby with a wet nappy…..
12 Apr 2011, 14:54 pm
@Puma(Puma)-289: lol bro great minds think alike , fools never differ
MY POST ABOVE URS SPEAKS OF OUR STYLE OF PLAY, as in whats our coaching staff planning
that for me is our biggest problem
all the bulls players are playing a very old style of rugby
luckily stormers and Sharks more alike which would be good for the boks
even cheetahs playing a better brand this year
but the bulls team is full of boks?? and they are not only out of form , but playing the kind of brand that wont do the bok cause any good
that is a big concern
12 Apr 2011, 14:55 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-262: Again?
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-283:
True TH, but he did not say he made a mistake picking Bob ?
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-287: I think you have in spot on. The whole culture of rugby in SA is totally ineffective. Finally people are starting to wake up to it. We’ve been lagging behind the Kiwis for years now and that’s why we get our ar$es handed to us on a regular basis. None of the coaches want to get their hands dirty trying to effect a culture change in SA but until that happens we will continue to get whipped by the ABs. The way I see it is that the Boks play NH rugby marginally better than the NH teams but since they’ve been improving over the last five years we’ve not been able to give them a snotting. Those days are gone but the ABs regularly make fools out of England, Wales etc.
@kevin w(kevin w)-285: its extremely tedious
@Puma(Puma)-293:
SNAP
12 Apr 2011, 14:56 pm
i am off to take a valium
farkit!
12 Apr 2011, 14:57 pm
@grant10(grant10)-297:
and you crying like a baby with a wet nappy…..
classic.
12 Apr 2011, 14:59 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-303: SNAP..teehee twiddle dee..hee hee.
Smit to start off the World Cup campaign right by leading the team to victory against Wales. Rest a few pool games. Starts against Ireland. On bench versus New Zealand in semi’s and starts Final against England.
Who knows if what Div says to the press and what Div says to Plum is the same thing … As a coach i would also want the rest of the world to be expecting one thing and doing another.
Look at the surprise element Tahir brought to the CWC when everyone was screaming and shouting that he should have been included in the India series a month earlier. The proteas failed yes, but Tahir did not as the surprise package.
@grant10(grant10)-294: Jeez you really are very very stupid! I never ever thought this was the case.
I NEVER said I WANT SMIT IN THE TEAM BUT I AM PRESUPPOSING WHAT PDV IS GOING TO DO BECAUSE HE’S ALREADY SAID HE WANTS SMIT AT HOOKER.THEREFORE IT CAN BE INFERED PDV WILL PICK SMIT OVER BEAST IN ORDER TO ACCOMMODATE BISMARCK!!
PERSONALLY I WANT TO SEE BEAST IN THE STARTING LINE-UP…DOES THAT SPELL THINGS OUT TO YOU MY DOMKOP SENILE OLD FRIEND?!
12 Apr 2011, 15:00 pm
@grant10(grant10)-304: ja you better be off, you’ve done enough Smit bashing for today grant
12 Apr 2011, 15:03 pm
I think Grant is going senile. He keeps thinking I’m calling for Smit to be selected ahead of Beast when really I commenting on the high likelihood of PdV picking Smit at prop in order to accommodate Bismarck.
12 Apr 2011, 15:04 pm
@grant10(grant10)-297: mate, I saw Aus and NZ stumble in the 2007 qtrs due to nothing other than poor captaincy and gameplan that needed to change … i saw us battling against Fiji until a certain leader prevented us from the same fate.
He has won u-21 world cup as a prop and captain, and a world cup as hooker and captain, led the Boks to tri-nations glory, a Lions series, has captained the Barbarians, shares a room with McCaw … Logic tells me that a lot of people who actually know the game disagree with you. Your rants are like an alarm going off all night, flippin irritating.
I have tickets to the qtrs and finals and I have not written off the Boks yet – we did that the last time around about a year before kick-off.
12 Apr 2011, 15:06 pm
I can see Smit in the future as a very successful Players Association President.
12 Apr 2011, 15:08 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-312: Good post. Okes need to be reminded of what Smit did for S.A. rugby.
12 Apr 2011, 15:12 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-307: I’m taking this post as a joke because if you think somehow the Boks will beat the ABs in the semis (we won’t even make it that far) with our broken down hasbeen Boks against their new crop of ABs lead by Ritchie you’ve got another thing coming. Saders rugby will provide the blueprint for the ABs RWC success. Not one S15 team has show they have an answer to the Saders brand of rugby. Their players are in sublime form and they have plenty of depth in most positions along with the fact that the ABs are the hardest team to beat at home. No this time they’re going all the way. As much as I hate to admit it, it’s going to take a pretty special team to knock the ABs off their throne.
Look at Os in 2007, he was managed well and saved his best for last…giving a great final 80 minutes for the Boks. Smit can do the same.
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-314: Yeah he is no Bismarck today on form, but he has a sensible head and thats what you need in a world cup campaign. I’d rather him on the bench heading into the semis against the AB’s at home than Coenie or Chilliboy (and no disrespect, they are good players, but he brings something extra to the table)
12 Apr 2011, 15:17 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-317: to be honest his play hasn’t been too bad at 1. During the Crusaders game it was Jannie who was struggling at 3 and during the Lions game Smit was moving around the park and being farily commited. At the moment he’s not on form but not as bad as some make him out to be.
12 Apr 2011, 15:18 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-315: Blues beat them in Round 1. You dont think the Mighty Boks is a “pretty special team” ? They dont do well in knock-out games. Their fans put more pressure on them than actually helping them. So you think we going to lose against Ireland? Wait…. are you South African? Why so negative? Super Rugby is not Test rugby. Anything can happen in the next six months and anything can happen at the World Cup itself.
So yes I believe the Boks can successfully defend the World Cup.
12 Apr 2011, 15:23 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-317: well said boet,
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-318: smit is a gravy train quota.
klaar
@kevin w(kevin w)-317: Yes. Very useful squad member.
12 Apr 2011, 15:29 pm
@grant10(grant10)-304: take some jamal while ur at it
12 Apr 2011, 15:33 pm
Pienaar probably wasn’t the best no 6 in SA in 1995; Smit probably wasn’t the best no 2 in 2007; Bobby probably was more talented than Teich in 1999.
On the other hand McCaw was the best no 7 in 2003 and 2007.
It’s not hard to join the dots and see where the WC’s were won. SA needs a leader.
12 Apr 2011, 15:34 pm
People of Keo
I have noticed on the Ruggavibe website that they have a Ruggababes gallery.
Filled to the brim with cheerleader naughtiness.
It is high time that keo lifted its game.
In the interests of progress I shall be interviewing eager applicants at my seapoint studio.
12 Apr 2011, 15:35 pm
The Boks will lift their game at the RWC. Their biggest strenght is their experience.
12 Apr 2011, 15:36 pm
@Horing(Horing)-326:
Where are those buttons that I can like, like a comment?
12 Apr 2011, 15:38 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-300: No, i don’t recall him saying that, did int pay that much attention to anything else, just heard him say he made a mistake a few times, which i thought took a lot of courage to admit to.
12 Apr 2011, 15:39 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-328:
You know you are in the lead for the Sony Cam in the Rat Race right?
12 Apr 2011, 15:41 pm
The Greatest Film Trilogy Eva:
- A Fist Full of Euro’s.
- A Few Krugerrands More.
- The Good the Bad and the Rugby.
12 Apr 2011, 15:42 pm
Whats good for the game………………………………………………………………………………………forget it.
12 Apr 2011, 15:43 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-320: SNAP thee hee
12 Apr 2011, 15:43 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-312:
OK, so why not select Frik Du Preez, then? He is after all the rugby player of the 20th century. Let him captain the side to boot. And, speaking of boots, let Naas make a comeback and be the vice captain – prolific points scorer that he is and he will tell you himself that he tackles the odd player every now and again. Put Danie Gerber outside JDV and Carel in Habana’s place and, as your logic suggests, the fact that they have collectively achieved so much will make our team much better. In fact, they should just hand us the Web Ellis trophy just by virtue of the fact that we showed up at the tournament.
While we are at it, Federer should be given the Wimbledon crown and win every tournament that he plays in because he is deemed to be the greatest ever. Schumacher should just turn up and win every Grand Prix. There is no such thing as a time to call it quits because there is no such thing as a downward curve in performance in sport.
Yeah, makes perfect sense to me
12 Apr 2011, 15:44 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-327:
12 Apr 2011, 15:45 pm
@Horing(Horing)-326: Like.
12 Apr 2011, 15:45 pm
@grant10(grant10)-321: does that also apply to Ricky, Spies, Victor, Bakkies, Morne, du Preez, Wynand and Habanadonna?
12 Apr 2011, 15:46 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-325: H O O R, H O O R. SA rugby magazine had girls in back in the day. Maybe Keo become to frisky with the girls.
12 Apr 2011, 15:49 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-333: who would you propose be Bok captain?
12 Apr 2011, 15:50 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-333: Dont forget Errol Tobias (you need to get the colour mix right).
12 Apr 2011, 15:52 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-338: Earl the Pearl
12 Apr 2011, 15:54 pm
@stew(stew)-340: rose?..bwaahaa
12 Apr 2011, 15:59 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-341: Only jokin – if not Smit you would have to go with Matfield – is there another choice ?????
12 Apr 2011, 16:04 pm
@stew(stew)-342: Juan Smit (if fit) might be better than Victor, look Victor is a legend but I just noticed he gets super tense with the refs at times which might not work in our favour.
12 Apr 2011, 16:06 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-343: Juan Smith
12 Apr 2011, 16:07 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-343: The only problem i could see with Juan is his pr …. speakin to the press ……… Also new captain at the WC maybe too much pressure ??
12 Apr 2011, 16:13 pm
@stew(stew)-345: fair points… earl it is then, go greens ah fk I mean go South African Rugby Proteas Team!!
12 Apr 2011, 16:19 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-325: Nice, definately second that. Or is it third, or 400?
No brainer really. I mena some people (without adblocker) had to endure some chap in his jockeys for a while…….
Not a big leap from there…
12 Apr 2011, 16:48 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(namedaftermuddyfootprintsonhismomsfloor)-347:
absolutely.
i have not been killed in the rush.
I was thinking of calling them “Beauties of Keo”.
I thought we could have a pro section (cheerleaders etc)
and then an amateur section (maybe dawn and treehugger to get the ball rolling)
We just need to make it clear to ExTraball that its chicks only.
Otherwise it could get Lionel (messi).
I have received NO support from keo in this venture.
Not even the return of my keo dollar fortune.
I feel like a Zim farmer who has just heard the doorbell ring.
12 Apr 2011, 16:54 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-348: At least they rang the doorbell this time. Don’t forget Carol in the semi-pro section ( quite some looker that lady is and an athlete too boot)
12 Apr 2011, 16:56 pm
Considering that Smit is going to be PDVs first choice hooker its a good thing that he’ll get some game time with all the trination games.
12 Apr 2011, 16:58 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-319: The mighty Boks which are currently headed to the RWC are a bunch of broken down hasbeens who couldn’t beat a girls u19 squad right now. Ireland has had our number many times before as has France. Wales nearly beat us last year. If we were to meet either team at the RWC I would be betting against the other side. If we don’t select in-form players and change tactics we will be lucky to get out of the group stages. If PdV goes through with selecting every Bulls player on a Bok contract we will end up as the laughing stock of the RWC.
12 Apr 2011, 17:01 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-349:
semi-pro?
don’t let her catch you saying that
12 Apr 2011, 17:02 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-349:
Good heavens, have you seen me in my Lycra in the Argus Bike Race pictures!!!
12 Apr 2011, 17:05 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-352: I have been called worse here!!
I would like to enter your competition, do you have a section for overseas candidates?
12 Apr 2011, 17:05 pm
@carol(carol)-353:
indeed.
you put the semi in semi-pro
12 Apr 2011, 17:06 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-351: Dont you dare forget about the loss against Scotland! We desperately need young blood who will fight for glory and not just another personal achievement (the senior player give off that type of vibe).
Matfield and co cant possibly believe that they still have what it takes to claim a spot in the run on team. Smit must be there in one way or another and im not going to try and crack that problem, but the rest must brought back to earth and dropped. The youngsters can do it. And Danie Rossouw is totally underrated and not used enough on national and these days domestic level.
12 Apr 2011, 17:08 pm
@carol(carol)-354:
yes indeed we will.
it shall be called “girls of many nations” category.
there will be prizes for those who write Gunther on their body parts when posing.
12 Apr 2011, 17:12 pm
Jannie
Bismark
Beast
Rossouw
Bekker
Burger
Smith(if fit)/Brussow
Du Preez(if he regains his form)/ Mc Cloud/ Hougard (with limited gametime not really an option)
Grant/Lambie
Peterson
Jean
Fourie
Aplon
Steyn
12 Apr 2011, 17:16 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-357:
Body parts sound a bit CSI….!!!
12 Apr 2011, 18:38 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-358: I would also add Sykes even if he is going off to Ulster next year. This is the RWC year. We’ll worry about replacing him next year.
12 Apr 2011, 19:22 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-351: You are sooo right … i mean look at NZ – Conrad smith, Nonu, Donald, Muiliana are in sublime form, Canes and Chiefs wiping everyone before them. And then those NZ teams with their great lineouts, absollutely dominating the competition … lets not even get to the Aussies – I mean Giteau and the Brumbies dazzling their way to victory after victory and the Tahs man … absolutely sublime
12 Apr 2011, 19:38 pm
If you look at the SA teams and the amount of boks in each of the sides, its quite shocking and scary knowing that at least 4 Bull-boks will make the bok team. Matfield, Botha, Spies, Steyn, Kirchner,Olivier (K & O probably on the bench) The Cheetahs at this point look more competitive than the Bulls and the only bok in their team at the moment is Floors. At least he’s a hasbeen who doesn’t feature in the bok setup anymore.
12 Apr 2011, 19:40 pm
O and Du Preez, but lets hope he can regain form. He was out for a long time, so hopefully he’s just still rusty..
12 Apr 2011, 19:57 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-329: That is amazing !!!!
HAAA !!! read and weep boys.
But then again i started brilliantly on super bru as well then took a massive nose dive when the heart took over from the brain, i just cant maintain with the brain choices, the heart just takes over and i convince myself its the brain
Hope you found that Cape Velvet recipe ?? need it before the next SHARKS stormers game
12 Apr 2011, 21:26 pm
I have said many times before that the polls here are a bit whacked… something wrong with the system that allows the voting options to be displayed in the order of results…
Anyway, I don’t believe this one:
Bulls
Sharks
Stormers
Total Votes: 4353
Started: April 11, 2011
12 Apr 2011, 22:13 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-365: did they allow tacci to put in 3700 votes???
13 Apr 2011, 08:52 am
Smit must prop up Bok bench but not actually play on the Bok bench???
13 Apr 2011, 14:24 pm
Oh Captain my Captain…!
13 Apr 2011, 15:43 pm
@chucky(chucky)-70:
A few changes IMO
Probable bok squad for RWC
15. Francois Steyn / Gio Aplon.
14. J.P. Pieterson .
13. Jacques Fourie / Juan De Jongh
12. Jean De Villiers
11. Bryan Habana / Lwazi Mvovo.
10. * Morne Steyn / Butch James/Pat Lambie
9. Fourie Du Preez / Ruan Pienaar/F.Hougaard
8. * Pierre Spies
7. Juan Smith / Willem Alberts
6. Schalk Burger / Heinrich Brussow
5. Victor Matfield (vc) / Andries Bekker.
4. Bakkies Botha / Danie Rossouw.
3. Jannie Du Plessis / CJ van der Linde
2. John Smit (c) / Bismark Du Plessis / ChilliBoy Ralapelle
1. John Smit / Beast Mtawarira / Gurthro Steenkamp
Ryan Kankowski will miss out due to both Willem Alberts & Rossouw can cover 8.No need for a second specialist 8 (Frans Louw more realistic an option to sneak in as second specialist fetcher)
BJ Botha a will not make RWC,hasnt been in squad for a bit.CJ van der Linde has more of a chance at reserve TH.
Wynand Olivier wont make RWC squad.Juan De Jongh covers both 12/13 plus also Frans Steyn also an option at 12 thus no need for another specialist 12.(Butch & Lambie also can play at 12)
This is a 30 man squad.Thats is too big at least by 2 players.usually its a 28 man squad…Rallapelle might miss out as they may choose to go with 2 hookers rather than 3 and last place is between Lambie/Pienaar/Mvovo.
Mvovo-limited becasue he only plays wing (both Aplon & Hougaard cover wing as well)
Pienaar/Lambie-utility tag is only suitable for largely 1 player in team.And both of them fill this quota.One may have to go.
Take your pic
14 Apr 2011, 08:48 am
Am I the only one who thinks this is a bad idea? Didn’t read thru all the posts but this confusion needs to stop. If Smit is goint to be there, he needs to be there, front and center! The team needs 1 leader and that’s the captain. A captain should never be substituted either, unless injured of course, but what JC is suggesting can only fck up the works even more
14 Apr 2011, 08:58 am
@BokiNZ(BokiNZ)-370: ja
k ak idea.
just drop the oke and send him to supersport as a commentator.
15 Apr 2011, 04:25 am
@grant10(grant10)-371: In essence what I’m saying mate. If Smit is going to the WC, it has got to be as the leader…period. Front and center. If not as captain and 1st choice hooker, then he has to be dropped and watch on tele like the rest of us. I feel Smit can still lead this side from the front, but to get there he needs to play. And prop is not it. He’ll never be a 1st choice prop but he could/should be 1st choice hooker. When the international season comes round, it will be too late. Now is the time. Plum needs to reconsider
15 Apr 2011, 04:59 am
“If not as captain and 1st choice hooker, then he has to be dropped and watch on tele like the rest of us.”
What a crock of shite… Smit off the bench for the Boks offers more than any other front-rower in RSA…
15 Apr 2011, 12:00 pm
“Matfield is the natural successor”. Huh??
1) He’s unlikely to be around for bokke after this season.
2) He only looks like a good captain in a winning team. But a winning team doen’t need a captain, everyone just does their job. In a losing team Victor as captain is a sulky petulant pratt. We haven’t seen it often cos he hasn’t often skippered a losing team. But he has been consistent.
There are no other obvious choices. Neither Jean nor Schalk have impressed as leaders. Fourie is like Matfield in spades. Any other offers?
So Plod must travel as captain from the bench. Not ideal but he’ll be on the field for the vital last 20 min.
22 Apr 2011, 00:03 am
Reading everyone’s comments makes me see things in many different ways. The whole experienced versus too old situation can be pretty tricky. If we only send the young ones to the Rugby World Cup and don’t make it past the quarter finals, we’ll think we should have used the experienced players more. But the flip side is true too. If we really think about it, we are in a good position.
We have some of the most experienced players in the world as well as some of the most talented. We stand a very good chance to win the world cup again. The coach, management and senior players have to make hard decisions and be true to the team and themselves. I think the answer lies in putting the teams best change to win first in every decision and cancel out everything else. We can only hope. Go Springboks!
22 Apr 2011, 05:22 am
@jacob(jacob)-375: You’re not in a good position if your experienced players are over the hill and your inexperienced players have only played a series of five-minute cameos.
Well, let’s amend that : you’re in an excellent position to commit rugby suicide, but you’re in a dreadful position to contend for a world cup.
Hope is all you’ve got. Same as Namibia.