Smit must prop up Bok bench
12 Apr 2011
JON CARDINELLI says the Sharks have provided the solution to the John Smit conundrum.
Peter de Villiers may be blind, but the answer’s there for all to see. Smit must go to the World Cup as a leader; not as a frontline player. That’s not a contradiction.
De Villiers has criticised the Sharks for their present management of Smit. He’s made it clear that he wants Smit playing hooker at the Sharks and at the Springboks.
But Sharks coach John Plumtree has had other ideas. Smit has played just 18 minutes at hooker in the 2011 Super Rugby competition. While it seems clear to De Villiers that Smit is a hooker, the Sharks believe that he better suits their purposes as a reserve prop.
Plumtree and company are not at fault. Bismarck du Plessis is in the form of his life. He’s not only the best hooker in the country, but one of South Africa’s most important players. Du Plessis is a crucial cog at the set-piece and a bully at the breakdown. The Sharks need him to play as many minutes as possible in the big games. The Boks do too.
Smit struggled when he was shifted to tighthead at the end of 2008, and failed to make a successful transition back to hooker in 2010. He shed a lot of weight in the 2011 pre-season, but at 33 he doesn’t offer as much grunt and dynamism as Du Plessis.
The Sharks have at times included the bustling Craig Burden on the bench, preferring to deploy Smit as a reserve prop. In seven appearances, Smit has featured four times at loosehead and twice at tighthead. He may be given another crack at hooker this season, but his real value in the games that matter is as a reserve loosehead.
There may be an argument to start Smit at No 1 for the Boks, as he has done in three Super Rugby matches thus far. But to do so would deny the Boks another dynamic player. Beast Mtawarira continues to improve at the scrum, and his work-rate around the field is tough to match.
Mtawarirra and the Du Plessis brothers are likely to form the Bok front row at the World Cup with Smit providing support from the bench. Smit told SA Rugby magazine last year that he would play off the bench if it was best for the team. If the first eight rounds are anything to go by, Smit is making good on his word.
The truth is Smit still has a lot to offer as a leader. De Villiers has committed to Smit, and it’s no secret that the Bok captain and senior players play a big role in the running of the side. He may not be indispensable as a frontline player, but he’s crucial to the World Cup cause.
Victor Matfield is the natural successor to Smit, but his captaincy has been less than inspiring over the past 12 months. He made some dubious calls as the Bulls’ skipper in the 2010 Currie Cup semi-final, and wasn’t at his best on the Boks’ subsequent tour of the Home Nations.
The 2011 season has also witnessed a disappointing effort, as unlike Smit, Matfield doesn’t possess the underrated ability to stay on the right side of the referee. It’s something he needs to address, as with the Boks’ robust reputation, you need a charmer wearing the captain’s armband.

376 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All
12 Apr 2011, 10:00 am
A few interesting comments by John Plumtree:
Christo Buchner
Durban – “I’ve not had a call from Peter (de Villiers, Springbok coach) yet. I’m still waiting to hear from him when I should pick him there.”
That was the reaction from Sharks coach John Plumtree on Saturday when he was asked when he would select John Smit at hooker.
Of course, Plumtree’s tongue was firmly in his cheek as he will not let the national coach dictate his team selections.
De Villiers has said that he will only consider Smit as hooker for the Springbok team, while Plumtree has to date only picked him at loosehead and tighthead prop.
Smit admitted after the Sharks’ 27-3 win over a mediocre Lions team that his side had been running on empty during the week.
“It makes it so much more of a relief to have been able to pull this one off and get five log points,” he said of the four tries, with the bonus point-try coming off the last move of the match.
Plumtree said that he had to do something he hated on Saturday and that was to support the Crusaders against the Bulls.
“It was difficult to swallow, but that is the nature of the tournament. You don’t want teams from your own country to build a lead and that is why it was a good weekend for us with the Bulls and Stormers losing,” he said.
“However, we can’t expect other teams to do us favours. We have to determine our own destiny by winning games.”
He added that the players had responded well to the pressure put on them during the week.
“We played some good rugby, but were not patient enough when we got close to their try-line. We made minor tweaks to our defence and it worked. In this competition the Crusaders remain the team that sets the standard. If we can get to their level, there is a realistic chance that we can still win the tournament,” said Plumtree.
Interesting comment by Plumtree about Sharks running on empty before the Lions game.
12 Apr 2011, 10:01 am
Current Poll
After eight rounds, who’s your favourite to win the SA conference?
* Bulls
302486% of all votes
* Sharks
2617% of all votes
* Stormers
2357% of all votes
Total Votes: 3520
…… LOL
12 Apr 2011, 10:06 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-98:
you don’t like eel
12 Apr 2011, 10:23 am
smit
must go
not to the
bench
but into
history
12 Apr 2011, 10:56 am
@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-104: maybe like spies matfield and bakkies and steyn have too??
actually smit playing better right now then all 4 of those
then we wont talk about you front row even
12 Apr 2011, 10:58 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-101: there in lies a very good point made
Kiwis in here come claiming plumtree as a kiwi and yes by birth he is
he learnt his good rugby here in SA at natal rugby
and he clearly points out his hate of having to support the saders over the bulls, because it helped out the sharks
this part of you post says it all piesangs
Plumtree said that he had to do something he hated on Saturday and that was to support the Crusaders against the Bulls.
“It was difficult to swallow, but that is the nature of the tournament. You don’t want teams from your own country to build a lead and that is why it was a good weekend for us with the Bulls and Stormers losing,” he said.
“However, we can’t expect other teams to do us favours. We have to determine our own destiny by winning games.”
12 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-106:
Plum
born’n'bred in NZ
played 50+ 1st-class games in NZ (Taranaki & Hawkes Bay)
spent more than half his life living in NZ.
but, yeah, of course he’s a Safa.
12 Apr 2011, 11:06 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-106: howzit SL, noticed on Sun you were talking about Jonty and having played MGC with Mike James and a pommie character. Was that perhaps Tommy O’ Neil the club pro or was it Lee Daff’s father (Barry) who also played his golf there. Another of the regulars there was Des Macdonald who you might have played a round with.
I’ll be hopefully teeing up in PMB in a few months time Jul/Aug when I hope to come out for 3 weeks. Might even make a trip down to CT as well.
12 Apr 2011, 11:08 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-107: He just loves us BP, cannot get away from the quality of life in Natal and now considers himself an adopted Saffa.
12 Apr 2011, 11:15 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-105:
kiwis might claim him back after the world cup.
then it won’t matter how much he likes the meat at the local butcher and spur milkshakes.
12 Apr 2011, 11:17 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-109:
married to one.
and for all you fellas out there that are hitched…..
thats all that matters.
12 Apr 2011, 11:18 am
I spoke to PDV last night, I know what he thinks about the Smit issue, PDV is a smart fcuker!!!!, watch this space
12 Apr 2011, 11:22 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-108: nope i know the caretaker family , but was just 2 other member golfers
i know mike was on the committee there
12 Apr 2011, 11:26 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-112: Hahahaha!
12 Apr 2011, 11:27 am
Pearls of wisdom by PDivvy & J Melema – will be a best seller.
12 Apr 2011, 11:29 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-110: lol , speak to him as i have and you will understand where his heart is
he at heart condiers himself a saffa , even though by birth he will always be a kiwi , and noone can that that away from him
12 Apr 2011, 11:31 am
@stew(stew)-115:
I think they might be the same person…
I mean, have you ever SEEN Julius and Divot at the same place at the same time.
Hmmmm?
I think not.
12 Apr 2011, 11:32 am
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-117: Now that explains it LOL
12 Apr 2011, 11:33 am
White people’s attitude towards PDV and Julius is very misinformed
12 Apr 2011, 11:34 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-101: We were running on empty before the Stormers game buddy. Though Plum will never ever say that. Thought we could come short on Saturday due to the tiredness. But really pleased we got that bonus point at the death. Now the boys can just relax this week. Get their free 4 points and be back for the Canes the following week well rested. Then the biggie the return game at Newlands with rested players
12 Apr 2011, 11:36 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-119:
why don’t you enlighten us.
hmmm?
12 Apr 2011, 11:37 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-112: Tell us come on, why wait? Spill the beans Xhosa
12 Apr 2011, 11:38 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-119: Julius sings: “Kill the Boere”, PdV sings: “Castrate the Bokke”…
12 Apr 2011, 11:39 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-111:
I knew there was something about you that I liked….where is your good lady from?
12 Apr 2011, 11:41 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-107: But we have adopted him our own now…hahaha. He was part of our historical CC win in 1990. Came off the bench that day. He feels Durbs in his blood now……hahaha.
Okay will be fair. Half kiwi half Saffa now. His wife and children are South African…. lol.
12 Apr 2011, 11:43 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-123:
now now.
that is EXACTLY the sort of thing Xhosakid is talking about.
whatever you might think of Divvie, there is know doubt he loves the boks.
12 Apr 2011, 11:47 am
@Puma(Puma)-122: John is going to the world cup, PDV doesn’t need the media circus in the build up to the WC, all that Smit has to do is to retire from International rugby and thereby take the decision away from PDV
12 Apr 2011, 11:47 am
@Puma(Puma)-125: hiyas brudda
12 Apr 2011, 11:49 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-127: sorry xhosa but thats BS
12 Apr 2011, 11:50 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-129: Why do you reckon its BS?
12 Apr 2011, 11:53 am
if john smit goes to the WC its because he was chosen and PDV wants him there
and his public statements just a few weeks ago prove exactly that
because he had every oportunity to drop smit even last year
12 Apr 2011, 11:53 am
sorry had pushed submit before i had completed what i was saying
12 Apr 2011, 11:54 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-127: John won’t be retire until after the wc. So he will be going. Good we need him there. Whether he starts or not he has to go.
Did you watch that programme on dstv with Mallett before the Stormers/Reds game on Saturday? He said the biggest mistake he made was not keeping Teich as Captain for 1999. Said had Teich been on the field in that semi against Oz we could have won it. We missed our captain that day he said. Joost also said John has to go to this wc cause leaving out Teich was a terrible mistake and we should never do that again.
John could even be squad captain. Not necessary the team captain. He has go be on that plane in Sept to kiwiland.
My feeling it will be Oz and Nz in the final. For not just can’t see the Boks getting to the semi let alone the final. Just have to hope we can.
12 Apr 2011, 11:55 am
@Puma(Puma)-133: meant – John won’t retire
12 Apr 2011, 11:56 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-131: Exactly.
12 Apr 2011, 11:59 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-128: Howzit t. How you doing brudda?
Jeez that brilliant autumn weather has set in. Good time of year to be in Durbs.
12 Apr 2011, 12:00 pm
now i am not one of the anti pdiv gang and nor am i going to become one.
Pdiv has a job to do yes , but to try shift problems ?? not good
now half the bok team is going through bad form not onlt smit?? should they all quit?? or should the coach have the balls to drop a player out of form???
and please dont try blame the press because most of the press are in agreement that smit has been out of form and at worst should be on the bench
yes smit is now starting to play better but is not as yet the best of any position the sharks from row
and trust me noone knows that better then smit himself , yes he is big enough to admit it and he is working his *** off to be where he should be
persoanlly i dont see him in the starting lineup unless he finds form
but then nor should about 8 bulls players that are boks
NO Xhosa thats why i say its BS , its his job has coach to play and pick the right players for the job .noone can or has forced john to play or be in the bok team , and john has not made himself an honary member
he plays as he feels he is still good enough to play, selectors and coaches are there to do their job
12 Apr 2011, 12:00 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-105:
you mad
this is
about smit
playing
12 Apr 2011, 12:01 pm
@Puma(Puma)-133: PDV echoes exactly those sentiments, hence he will not drop Smit, although he know that pound for pound as they say in boxing, he is not good enough. I got the feeling that PDV really likes Smit as a person but also knows that his buddy doesn’t have the legs and this compromises everyone.
12 Apr 2011, 12:07 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-139: John played very well on Saturday. He will get better as the S15 goes. Now can you imagine having John on the bench in the wc? He can cover all the front row positions. Could come in at anytime if they need him. Now that is a asset to have for any team.
Also the captain must not be Victor. He is just not captain quality for the Boks. Also not playing as well as Bekker right now. Don’t think Juan will make it for the wc. Can’t be out for 6 months and be ready. Then think the field captain should be Jean de Villiers. The players repect him as well.
Squad captain Smitty.
12 Apr 2011, 12:07 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-137: Fair point, dont shoot the messenger, PDV is very skeptical of the press, he believes they never bought into his strategy and for four years they have consistently been on his case. He shares this cynism with the Bafana coach.
12 Apr 2011, 12:09 pm
@Puma(Puma)-136: yup , cant beat durbs weather bro
look one thing is very clear , typically the majority of people shouting the anti smit thing is capt tonians and cape town press and you stormer supporters or wp where ever they are
and it was the cape town f*up that cost us the world cup in the skinstadt era , when mallet was convinced by his sidekick who now coaches the kings to make skinstad capt and drop teichmann
that ulimately cost us the world cup, and i will give mallet credit that he was bif enough to admit that mistake a couple of years later
now i have learnt mostly scroll past the haters in here and hell we have all admitted john is not in great form right now, but he is still better then most they shout for , they also never once admit he played well no matter how well he played , like the past weekend
grant a few weeks ago said in the pre season match cilliers whipped smitty ( which he did and remember smit was back in his first match after a 6 month injury layoff)
now i ask did cilliers beat johnlast weekend ?? or did john actually shove cilliers neck up his ring?? we know the answer to that , did grant give john credit???? HELL NO and i aint mentioning this to pick on grant at all, just showing out the dishonest mindset in here , and also the little CAPE thing where everything none cape is wrong
NO MATTER THE COST THEY WANT THAT CHANGE , AND YES THE PREVIOUS TIME IT COST US A WORLD CUP AT THE TIME WE WERE DOMINATING WORLD RUGBY UNDER THE COACHING OF NICK MALLET
12 Apr 2011, 12:12 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-141: i hear ya xhosa and its not that i blame you boet
just the tendency for everything to kinda put blame on smit
i for one reckon PDV must select his players and if succesful get given the credit and what ever comes with it
and if he fails he should be treaded like the coaches before him that failed
and yes their are some in here that dont give him credit for what he has achieved so far either , and not right
12 Apr 2011, 12:13 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142:
they are all
against you
and john
agents
and bloody
12 Apr 2011, 12:14 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-141: maybe they “never bought into his strategy” because he can’t put a coherent sentence together, without a biblical quote/mixed metaphor/laughable gibberish – hence they can’t understand what his “strategy” is.
what is his “strategy”?
12 Apr 2011, 12:16 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-139: smitty and pdiv actually get along brilliantly
but watch this space Xhosa , smitty is getting better and better as he gets back to match fitness, i have no doubt smitty should be in the squad , right now in the starting 15>??? no
but we forghet the world cup is only in sept
and also i am not surprised pdiv is wary of the press , i mean we all know the press also have their own agenda’s
12 Apr 2011, 12:16 pm
What makes me chuckle is that the de Villiers fan club have gone COMPLTELY QUIET about rabidly defending his honour on this blog…..since they found out he is a John Smit fan.
12 Apr 2011, 12:18 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142: “and it was the cape town f*up that cost us the world cup in the skinstadt era , when mallet was convinced by his sidekick who now coaches the kings to make skinstad capt and drop teichmann
that ulimately cost us the world cup, and i will give mallet credit that he was bif enough to admit that mistake a couple of years later”
that’s quite a statement. you can prove that we would have won the wc if teichman was there, right?
12 Apr 2011, 12:20 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142: Agree there t. I don’t take notice of the Smit haters anymore brudda. Just ignore it. Though sometimes still have my say.
John played really well on Saturday. Had the better of Cilliers for sure. Also John will get better as the season goes. He has hardly started this S15. Still needs game time. At 33 one is never over the hill. John will get better as the season goes.
The biggest mess up WE have ever done was dropping Teich. As soon as he was dropped in a disgraceful manner. I said there and then we will never win the wc. Then they took a INJURED Skinstadt instead. How bloody daft was that? Teich was our best 8 at the time as well. Mallett had admitted that a year later he made a massive mistake. Then saw him being interviewed on Saturday in that programme just before the Stormers game saying just that. It was a huge mistake he dropped Teich. He felt had Teich been on the field in that semi we could have won that game and we sure as heck would have beaten the French if we got to the final. Could have, what if? if only? Now I really hope we don’t have to use those words again after this wc. John has to go to NZ in September. Squad Captain. But must be there to steer the ship.
Though the way our franchises are playing rugby this S15 just can’t see us getting past our pool never mind the quarter final. Hope I am wrong. But plenty of our Boks come from the Bulls team and they are playing a very out of date game. They need to adapt quick. Still plenty games left in this tourney.
Then just hope our 3 coaches get in some help. NOT from Eddie Jones. We need someone else that is working in SuperRugby right now.
Anyhow one can only hope for our Boks. BUT John will be there brudda.
12 Apr 2011, 12:21 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-148: no but it took away the best chance we had
come now how long were we unbeaten for ???? and mallet has admitted in his book its what cost us
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All