Smit must prop up Bok bench
12 Apr 2011
JON CARDINELLI says the Sharks have provided the solution to the John Smit conundrum.
Peter de Villiers may be blind, but the answer’s there for all to see. Smit must go to the World Cup as a leader; not as a frontline player. That’s not a contradiction.
De Villiers has criticised the Sharks for their present management of Smit. He’s made it clear that he wants Smit playing hooker at the Sharks and at the Springboks.
But Sharks coach John Plumtree has had other ideas. Smit has played just 18 minutes at hooker in the 2011 Super Rugby competition. While it seems clear to De Villiers that Smit is a hooker, the Sharks believe that he better suits their purposes as a reserve prop.
Plumtree and company are not at fault. Bismarck du Plessis is in the form of his life. He’s not only the best hooker in the country, but one of South Africa’s most important players. Du Plessis is a crucial cog at the set-piece and a bully at the breakdown. The Sharks need him to play as many minutes as possible in the big games. The Boks do too.
Smit struggled when he was shifted to tighthead at the end of 2008, and failed to make a successful transition back to hooker in 2010. He shed a lot of weight in the 2011 pre-season, but at 33 he doesn’t offer as much grunt and dynamism as Du Plessis.
The Sharks have at times included the bustling Craig Burden on the bench, preferring to deploy Smit as a reserve prop. In seven appearances, Smit has featured four times at loosehead and twice at tighthead. He may be given another crack at hooker this season, but his real value in the games that matter is as a reserve loosehead.
There may be an argument to start Smit at No 1 for the Boks, as he has done in three Super Rugby matches thus far. But to do so would deny the Boks another dynamic player. Beast Mtawarira continues to improve at the scrum, and his work-rate around the field is tough to match.
Mtawarirra and the Du Plessis brothers are likely to form the Bok front row at the World Cup with Smit providing support from the bench. Smit told SA Rugby magazine last year that he would play off the bench if it was best for the team. If the first eight rounds are anything to go by, Smit is making good on his word.
The truth is Smit still has a lot to offer as a leader. De Villiers has committed to Smit, and it’s no secret that the Bok captain and senior players play a big role in the running of the side. He may not be indispensable as a frontline player, but he’s crucial to the World Cup cause.
Victor Matfield is the natural successor to Smit, but his captaincy has been less than inspiring over the past 12 months. He made some dubious calls as the Bulls’ skipper in the 2010 Currie Cup semi-final, and wasn’t at his best on the Boks’ subsequent tour of the Home Nations.
The 2011 season has also witnessed a disappointing effort, as unlike Smit, Matfield doesn’t possess the underrated ability to stay on the right side of the referee. It’s something he needs to address, as with the Boks’ robust reputation, you need a charmer wearing the captain’s armband.

376 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All
12 Apr 2011, 13:12 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-200:
brandy is the spirit of the people.
12 Apr 2011, 13:18 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-201:
anyway Julius is not that bad once you get to know him.
I met him recently at a spa in Sandton.
We were both having the full ayoba (back crack and sac)
He took it like a man. Although there was one nasty patch where I thought he was having trouble with service delivery.
He even asked if I had any xhosa in me.
I am thinking of adding a praise singer to team Gunther
12 Apr 2011, 13:23 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-202:
12 Apr 2011, 13:25 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-202: Name your kid, Vuyisile, its a Xhosa name and its also Brian Mujati’s second name, dont know whether he got it from birth or in Hillbrow upon his arrival in Jozi
12 Apr 2011, 13:28 pm
@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-199:
we
agree.
A
contra-
diction
it
is.
12 Apr 2011, 13:29 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142:
SL , Skinstad was not made captain, Joost captained the WC side, Gary was ageing and physically he was out on his feet, had suffered injuries and Bob was in the form of his life he was playing brilliant rugby and offering more energy and excitement than what gary was at that stage (gary was a great player, not knocking him), would you have left him out ??
Fail to see why it is a Cape thing ??
The fact that Mallet has stated it was a mistake is because it pissed off senior players , which could happen if JS is booted.
But for Larhams antics we would of been in the final, and if we had won, I wonder if we would be having this conversation !!!
12 Apr 2011, 13:29 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-204:
I think it was probably given to him on arrival in Hillbrow.
Along with a 9mm and four girls from Angola to keep an eye on.
I shall discuss with Mrs Gunther.
What does it mean?
12 Apr 2011, 13:37 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(cunther)-202:
“He even asked if I had any xhosa in me”……………
And what was guthers reply good posters on Keo.
Was it:
A- yes about 6 inches back in 04,
b- Where do you think I got this tan.
c- Forget the humour, Julius, it’s not your strong suit.
12 Apr 2011, 13:37 pm
@stew(stew)-29: Who else we got? M Steyn just isn’t an option. Lambie will get more experience in the 3N.
12 Apr 2011, 13:40 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-206: Form of his life? hell JR sorry but thats rubbish, he had just come back from a very serious injury and long layoff , he hardly had game time.
And this is the cape thing I speak of, teichmann was not injured , he was nothing of the sought
most people questioned Skinstand’s inculusion into the squad even, yet you guys here as long as its a wp player will argue and accept anyhting wrong and argue it was right
Not even from Sharks quaters, it is said to be the biggest mistake ever , Mallet did admit it, he had the goons to do so , maybe you guys should try the same
Teichmann was in good form , we had just come off a 19 match unbeaten record , we were the best around, the only one with an injury cloud was Skinstad
12 Apr 2011, 13:45 pm
Having represented South Africa at all levels, including captaining the under 21 Springbok side in 1996 and 1997, and playing for the SA Sevens team in 1997, Skinstad made his début for the Springboks as a replacement on 29 November 1997 against England. In all he played 42 tests for the Springboks, scoring 11 tries.
His inclusion in the 1999 World Cup squad at the expense of successful captain Gary Teichmann was highly controversial in South Africa, and although South Africa finished 3rd in the competition there were many who believed that Teichmann should have been retained as captain for that tournament. Skinstad carried a leg injury into the competition, and made little impression.
HERE IS AN ARTICLE PORTION FROM THEN
and made little impression ( form of his lfe huh??)and carried a leg injury
12 Apr 2011, 13:45 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-210:
Tiechman, one the best “8′s” ever.
12 Apr 2011, 13:49 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-206: Not sure if Skinstad was in the form of his life at that stage, he was injured when selected and injured most of that tour. Teich was in the form of his life to be honest.
12 Apr 2011, 13:49 pm
@cane(cane)-208:
six inches?
don’t be insulting our xhosa brothers here.
I think he was trying to tell me I was pretty fly for a white guy.
Anyway we went on to the Grand adterwards.
All I can say is that Julius is a big hit with the ladeez.
The walls are quite thin there and at a one stage I could here him screaming
“the revolution is coming to you”.
Anyway we had a great cigar and fish eagle brandy afterwards.
He has promised me the post of tactical advisor to the new Youth League.
I am in charge of stomach out chest in.
12 Apr 2011, 13:51 pm
@cane(cane)-212: Thanks Cane. It takes a non saffa to show some here the truth. Someone looking from the outside in will always see it as it is. Thanks mate.
12 Apr 2011, 13:52 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-211: Pleased you found that information. That clears that up. Skinstad was injured, how he got selected was crazy. Biggest mistake. Hope we learn from that.
12 Apr 2011, 13:53 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-207: It means ” You made us happy”
12 Apr 2011, 13:55 pm
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-207: PS: I hate it when you whiteys ask us darkys what do our names mean, you dont hear us darkys asking you guys what do your names mean……LOL!!!!!!
12 Apr 2011, 13:58 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-210:
Gary was held together was elastoplast at the time of the WC , his form had been poor,not good, i will arguue that with you until we are blue in the face !!! everybody thought Bob, with the x factor that he brought we give us a dimension that we were looking for, everybody was hoping he would deliver the performance he was capable of , becuase he was that good and could of made a difference.
Amazing how it is a province player , a province coach, that derailed the WC campaign, Bob did not pick himself ? as you always say about Smit !!
I dont think it was wrong to include Bob, it is debatable whether nick was wrong to drop Gary !!! history might indicate that it was wrong, but getting too the semi seems to indicate that we did ok without Theich ??
At least Nick had the balls to drop Teich!!!
As did kitch with not including Tiaan Strauss.
Hindsight is a perfect science, but you okes battering Province and the Cape day in and day out is getting a bit much !!!!
12 Apr 2011, 13:58 pm
@Puma(Puma)-215:
Actually Puma,
He is just the kind/style/type of player the Boks need this year.
12 Apr 2011, 13:59 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-219:
kak typing sorry !!
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-218:
Our don’t have any meaning….hehehehehe.
@Puma(Puma)-213: exactly puma
here is part of an article from what mallet said
Mallett’s only regret is dropping Teichmann
June 13 2003 at 11:11pm
By Dale Granger
——————————————————————————–
Former Springbok coach Nick Mallett has for the first time admitted he made a mistake axing his captain Gary Teichmann six months before the 1999 World Cup to accommodate Bob Skinstad at No 8.
Mallett, who made history last Saturday as the first foreign coach to win the French championship when his club, Stade Francais, beat European champions Toulouse in the final, is back home in Cape Town for six weeks. After his arrival on Thursday he wasted no time getting back to familiar terrain at Bishops, this time to watch his son Doug playing for the under-14 team.
It did not, however, take long for Mallett’s expertise to be put to good use as coach for the afternoon.
Mallett’s record as the Bok coach was near flawless in 1997 and ’98 when he inspired South Africa to a world record-equalling unbeaten streak of 17 matches. At the ’99 World Cup the team lost in extra time to a wobbly old Stephen Larkham dropped goal before beating New Zealand in the third and fourth place playoff.
12 Apr 2011, 14:01 pm
@cane(cane)-220: Absolutely Cane. That is the kinda 8 that we need this year. Not sure about our wc mate. Don’t think we will select the best players. Think the players have already been selected by the Coach. Well most, some might be added to the 32 squad.
12 Apr 2011, 14:02 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-218:
That’s because our names don’t mean anything. “Darkie” names always mean something like “e who brings water in the deser” or ” She who sounds like the wind of Peace” I think it’s radicool.
I know the feeling though.
It’s just the same when ******* ask me which wine goes best with foie gras.
Jislaaik build a bridge.
Unity and Peace through understanding.
12 Apr 2011, 14:02 pm
Is that for real? I’ve been away and the Crusaders beat the Bulls 27-0 ? WTF
12 Apr 2011, 14:03 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-218: My mom thought of my name while she was cleaning the floor…..
12 Apr 2011, 14:05 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-227:
you are called muddy footprint?
12 Apr 2011, 14:06 pm
@Puma(Puma)-224:
It’s the same here in NZ Puma.
I think G Henry had already promised playing positions to 85% of the Squad last year.
12 Apr 2011, 14:07 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-219: no he did not pick himself and he did not bring anything to the table as he was not on form
i am not blamming skinstad , but the coaches , was their choice to make
and so what ur telling me is all the press articles are rubbish and you know better??
JR Skinstad was injured , mallett admitted he was wrong , so you saying mallett wrong too?
12 Apr 2011, 14:09 pm
On the Mallet issue: I’d like to add the following:
Mallet did say that he was inclined to select Lem for the Semi. True. Lem himself came to him and asked him to keep Jannie in the starting line up as he’d played a blinder and deserved to keep his spot.
Nick listened to Henry.
Nick (correctly) did say that in fact it may not have been the worst decision as Jannie slotted a very difficult penalty on the touch line from almost the half way line to tie the game and force overtime, something that Henry would have most probably missed (let’s be honest here)
He also said that the Aussies were using drop kick attempts to drive the ball over the dead ball line without incurring a penalty and keep the play in our half, and it just went over, almost as a fluke.
I think we can all agree that having Bob there didn’t work out for us, for various reasons.
One kick though and we’d have played the French in the final and probably beaten them, as Marshall said, they played their final against New Zealand the previous week.
So it was close. Closer than Gunther’s man wax.
12 Apr 2011, 14:09 pm
Smit must retire or be forced to do so!
12 Apr 2011, 14:10 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-223: There you go that clears it up. But if anyone watched that show on Saturday there would have been none even questioning what Mallett said and felt. Cause Mallett spoke there and said it. Straight from his mouth. He made a mistake and should have had Teich as captain, especially for that game against Oz. He said had Teich been on the field that day we could have won. He said it. I watched and listened to him say it. It could have been recent recording that show. Cause he looks like he looks right now not back then. They had Joost and Jannnie and Paulse in the studio to comment on what Mallett had said.
12 Apr 2011, 14:16 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-231: And it was Jannie that said Lem must play in the play offs where we beat the ABs. Lem had a great game.
Like I said previous here. Sure Jannie got us that massive kick at full time to get us into extra time, but had Lem played my feeling we just might not have needed that drop. We may have scored more than Aussies with tries. Lem was a better fh than Jannie. Mallett wanted to go with Lem but felt that Jannie should get another chance cause he played well in the quarter. Yes Mallett said Lem said give Jannie a chance. But Mallett should have called it as he really wanted Lem to play.
Anyhow it is gone and dusted, but a huge chance was missed in 1999. One will always wonder. What if, could we have, if only and so on.
Now hope we don’t make a similar mistake by not selecting our best.
Though even if we do take our inform players. What game plan are we gonna play? I am not confident for our Boks in this wc.
12 Apr 2011, 14:17 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-232:
Who would your back up hooker be? Let say hypothetically if Bismark went down with an injury in a world cup pressure playoff game, who would you like to see come on or feel most comfortable with coming on.
Please dont say Deon Fourie? He cant even find his lineout out jumpers when one of them is just about the tallest man in the world.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-230:
What i am saying is that Mallet did what he thought best at the time, that was good enough for us to almost make the final of the WC, how big a difference would Teich of made, we will never know ??
But to say JS must go to the WC because we cant do to him what nick did to Teich is silly !!!
But because it once again is Shark captain the thing is hyped all out of proportion, somehow the Cape will get the blame !!
@Puma(Puma)-234: Not drop sorry. May not have needed that massive kick that Jannie got at full time.
12 Apr 2011, 14:18 pm
Keo’s latest Poll:
Current Poll
After eight rounds, who’s your favourite to win the SA conference?
Bulls 37,2087 of all votes.
Sharks 3,087 of all votes.
Stormers 265 of all votes.
LOL ,
There is a niggard in the wood pile somewhere.
( and oh yes I know, so don’t bother.)
12 Apr 2011, 14:20 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-235: John Smit. Without a thought.
12 Apr 2011, 14:20 pm
anyhows lets agree to disagree
12 Apr 2011, 14:21 pm
@cane(cane)-238:
@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-225: Ja !!! ja!!! I know, we are like the red indians, with names like “long white cloud” or “sleeping snake”
we can slice it
we can dice it
bottom line is smit or bissy?
for me a no brainer.
but I may be wrong
Maybe smit a ‘ must have ‘
then the worlds best 2 on bench.
lets see how it goes….
i reckon we will have these kiwis here giving us the ‘ 4 more years ‘ medicine.
but we want to be stupid then its only ourselves to blame
12 Apr 2011, 14:22 pm
@Puma(Puma)-234: Sure, I agree with you, Lem should have played, no question in my mind. Maybe Nick just trying to justify himself.
It’s ironic as Nick is not exactly known for his “soft touch” when dealing with players.
Should have stayed in character and made the hard decision.
And yes I would have taken Teich, no question. Bob wasn’t fully fit, still getting up to speed. Cant help but wonder if his contract with Guiness as official spokesperson played a role in his selection.
12 Apr 2011, 14:22 pm
Dont the Bulls have to get some points on the board first?
12 Apr 2011, 14:24 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-236: JR i did not say they cant do to smitty what they did to teichmann , go back to the beginning of my convo with Xhosa kid
this has more to do with what Xhosa kid said PDiv said to him and about the press
i have stated that if PDV thinks john is not good enough , drop him but dont come saying he heends to wait to see if john will retire
that way he takes away the possible press problems that might happen
12 Apr 2011, 14:24 pm
@cane(cane)-229: ABs proved last year they got what it takes Cane. So most should get selected. We never played well last year. So have to see. I bet GH has included SBW though
12 Apr 2011, 14:30 pm
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-244:
Don’t believe everything you read a newspaper article !!
The fact that they were prepared to drop Teich and take a “not fully fit” Bob tells you something about Bobs ability and how it was viewed by perhaps the most astute rugby brain this country has ever seen !!
Mistake maybe ??, but I can understand why mallet made the call !!
The resentment towards Bob is what gets to me !!
12 Apr 2011, 14:33 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-246:
Sorry, did not go that far back, my bad !!
12 Apr 2011, 14:34 pm
look at that 99 squad….
Mallet should / could have taken both Teichmann and Bob.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All