Pulling together

MARK KEOHANE, in his SA Rugby magazine column, says Heyneke Meyer should assist Peter de Villiers this year.

Why search for consultants for the World Cup when a succession plan to Peter de Villiers should already be part of the 2011 planning – and beyond?

I wrote last month that De Villiers’s successor should already be appointed by the start of the international season and he should accompany De Villiers to the Tri-Nations and World Cup. This is the consultant Saru should be investing in. We all know De Villiers – whatever the team conjures up at the World Cup – won’t be reappointed.

The response, by way of e-mails, phone calls and tweets, was overwhelming to the suggestion of a succession plan and equally supportive of Heyneke Meyer being the coach to advance South Africa’s rugby beyond the World Cup.

One naive soul questioned why I was even writing about it because it was so obvious. He then proceeded to call me a racist because I hadn’t suggested Allister Coetzee!

If it was that obvious South African rugby would have done it already and going for Meyer ahead of Coetzee is based on rugby, not race. Both are good blokes. Both have strengths and weaknesses as coaches, but to me Meyer is the better coach.

John Mitchell is another fantastic coach, but I’d still go with Meyer ahead of him because in an ideal world you want the Bok coach to be South African.

I am certainly not anti-foreigners and have always believed the game can only be healthier with the inclusion of foreign players and coaches in our competitions, but you only go with a foreigner to head up your national team if there is no local good enough.

The pecking order locally would be Meyer, John Plumtree and Coetzee. Rassie Erasmus would always be in the mix as a technical adviser, but not as a head coach. He has never been comfortable with that responsibility but his analysis is world class.

Plumtree is a New Zealander by birth and upbringing, but he played for the Sharks, lived in Durban for years, returned to New Zealand to coach and has turned around the Sharks since taking over from Dick Muir. He is also married to a South African, so in my book he is South African enough to coach the Boks.

Mitchell, also introduced to South Africa by Muir, has been as good for the Lions as Plumtree has been at the Sharks. Maybe Muir should be our rugby ambassador. His academy is thriving, he is considered one of the all-time nice guys of the game and he has strengthened the intellectual capital considerably by way of Plumtree and Mitchell. Clearly there is a role for Muir in South African rugby, even if it should never be as head coach of any Super Rugby or provincial team.

Former Wallabies coach Eddie Jones was outstanding for the Boks as a specialist coach at the 2007 World Cup and you only have to spend an hour in his company discussing rugby to know why he found favour with the South African players.

Jones and 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White are good friends and this dynamic was crucial to the success of their professional partnership.

Jones would always have an impact, but I remain unconvinced he and De Villiers could find the kind of common ground there was between White and Jones. The latter duo had a relationship that isn’t there with De Villiers.

Which brings me back to Meyer. He has a relationship with the core of the current Bok squad and there is respect globally for what he achieved at the Bulls. For the second successive month I am appealing to the clever okes at Saru to give him a call and sound him out.

The right decisions have to be made for the well-being of South African rugby. It took Cheeky Watson to bring Alan Solomons back to South African rugby and the turnaround in the Eastern Cape has been remarkable.

Just imagine what Nick Mallett could do back in this country. Just imagine how good the Boks could be if there was investment in the right intellectual capital.

De Villiers’s tenure is in its final year. Every bit of assistance must be given to him in 2011, starting with Meyer and also embracing the input of Mitchell, Plumtree, Coetzee and Erasmus.

There is enough rugby expertise in this country to mastermind a World Cup victory and there certainly is enough in player pedigree to put any tournament-winning theory into practice. Imagine if everyone pulled together for the right reason?

– This column first appeared in the April issue of SA Rugby magazine.

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

43 Comments

• 1.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Eish dragons

• 2.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Bring back Nick Mallet

• 3.poppa69: Reply to this comment

“and he has strengthened the intellectual capital considerably by way of Plumtree and Mitchell. ”

not hard to increase the capital when theres none to begin with Keo… eish..

• 4.kesbok: Reply to this comment

the other thing that makes John Mitchell South African enough is that he has also been mugged in his own home or was it his hetel room!

Seriously, all the candidates mentioned are worthy candidates and woudl do the Bok Brand proud.

• 5.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

Keo can write the biggest fantasy nonsene you will ever read … Heyneke Meyer, really?

• 6.grant10: Reply to this comment

Please someone phone Mallet.

thankyou.

• 7.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Is it really that certain that Pdivvy won’t be re-appointed?

• 8.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-7: He has indicated himself that he will only see out this current contract, going to Boland with Big Vic and Kurt Darren post 2011.

• 9.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

If the Boks want the best MANAGER that money can buy, they should go for Sir Clive Woodward. Not a great coach and an arrogant ***, but definitely the most professional, organised and meticulous manager there has been in rugby. What he did with England was amazing. I’d say he’s probably even good enough to manage New Zealand to a world cup victory!

• 10.Old School: Reply to this comment

Best would be to try and Mallet back.

I have a lot of respect for what Heyneke achieved with the Bulls and as you say: He is probably first choice from inside SA. My problem is though that he gained all that success by playing that outdated “kick & chase” game which worked back then, but has been shown up badly the past 2 years. One can argue that a guy like Heyneke would be smart enough to adapt and change his gameplan. Unfortunately we saw with Tuks in the V-cup that that is not the case. One can argue that they reached the final, but they were never going to beat Ikeys and I’m betting Maties will come back next year after a bad season to win the whole thing again. Both these teams keep possesion and even gives the ball air going through the hands. They have shown that big games ie finals can be won this way. Heyneke showed no sign of addapting.

Other thing that may be a problem with HM is the same Robbie Deans has with the Aussies. They both had their success by coaching their teams for 10-11 months of the year. Now they will only get 2 months. One can see this is a problem for Deans and it will be the same for HM.

I feel we’re in a bit of trouble after the RWC. Swallow your pride and bring back Mallet SA rugby

• 11.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

DOR for all national teams…

• 12.Jeez: Reply to this comment

I believe HM has the capability to study what he has and what he can achieve with a springbok team. He was the guy who appointed that Kiwi backline coach Todd Louden who made the bulls the second highest try scoring team in the Super 14 in 2007 ( crusaders were first).

WIth the players we have in the country I believe he’ll get the balance right with attacking and kicking etc. I doubt that he’ll pick Steyn as the first choice flyhalf. HM saw that Derick Hougaard had limitations, but he appointed a backline coach to get him out of his comfortzone and made the bulls a well balanced team with the effective ability to attack.. He built a disastrous team and made them champions. WIth the boks he’ll do the same, but with a good team.The difference is that he’ll want to develop the team into a winning machine. The man knows how to solve problems, thats his biggest strength as a coach. And with all his experience he’ll get it right.

But it wouldnt be a surprise if SARU makes another political decision and appoints Coetzee. Its a very strong possibility, but something I think most Saffas will be able to live with. He’s a good coach and how he ever lost to PDV for the top job i will never understand.

As for working together with PDV, its not going to happen. We saw all the coaches turning their backs on him when he was looking to replace Gold and ****. Why would they help him now?

• 13.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-9:

Woodward would last ten minutes with the idiots at Saru before he disappearing in a puff of smoke.

There is no way he would be able to handle their bullshit.

The same goes for Mallet.

• 14.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Keo picked up alot of weight ne.

• 15.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Hahahah Keo. are you blind?

Have you not noticed that last couple of games how AC is wearing suites…
    Same for the WP manager?? They are preparing / trying to give the image of the springbok coach already. No more tracksuits and fluitjie ommie neck stuff….
    All serious and all about the Look.
    I believe that after the world cup Ac will be bok coach… and you can see it in the way the stormers play… no risk nothing new… just ruggas to make sure they do not look very bad and blow the chances of hom making the cut….
    Just a thought… or conspiracy theory…

• 16.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

“Pulling Together” – a bunch of w@nkers?

• 17.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

I know its already too late, that many of the Tier 2 Nations already benefit from it but…….

P L E A S E

dont turn International rugby in to a facade.

SA coaches for SA teams

NZ coaches for NZ teams

Aus coaches for Aus teams

etc etc etc

PLEASE !?!

I used to love watching Americas Cup sailing when the designer was a Kiwi, the sails were made in NZ, the skipper was a Kiwi and the crew too. Then that Swiss farkwit Daddys-boy inherit’ing carnt, Bertarelli, spent billions stealing them all away and made them ‘Swiss’ too. Now the sport is completely farked, not only are all crews/designers/skippers from any/everywhere, but they dont even know what class of boats theyre going to sail.

And the result ?

Noone gives a toss !!!

As soon as we start stripping away at the National identity of teams and the connection with the fans becomes tenuous, then it is impossible to reel it back in.

So PLEASE, rugby administrators, protect the Goose and its Golden Egg.

Keep it REAL !

• 18.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

He couldnt manage a **** in a thunderstorm.

Check out the 2005 Lions to NZ. A support crew TWICE the size of any previous touring team, with coaches for coaches (literally). He hires a Govt spin doctor as a media man…..for a RUGBY tour….

no, too many balls-ups to list here.

If you want Clive the Jive to spend ALL of SARUs hard-earned SANZAR dollars on ice-baths and 6-star hotel retreats, then you will get exactly what you deserve.

• 19.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

pathetic

now ‘f@rt’ has been outlawed

Im sure my wife thinks they were

• 20.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-19:

I’m sure she wishes they were,

She is probably tired of breakfast from the dutch oven.

• 21.Roar Loud: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-17: There was a time when the All Blacks were all Kiwis, until those swines started poaching players from Tonga, Samoa and Fiji … yes bring back the good old days.

• 22.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-13:
    Fully agree, Mallet would be the best choice, but who the hell wants to work with these SARU saps?

• 23.Pick the team in August not March: Reply to this comment

The question is, would SAU be able to handle Mallet’s nonsense?

It cuts both ways in his case unfortunately.

The eytees love him because that live for that stuff.

• 24.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Agree with sentiment of including Meyer but not your grip on reality – nobody worth his coaching salt will go near de Villiers, the more so since the obscene betrayal and abuse of Os du Randt.

De Villiers is probably going to make Smit captain … don’t get me going.

• 25.Puma: Reply to this comment

I think leave Plum with the Sharks. Saru are a useless bunch to work with.

Not sure if it should be Meyer either. Mallett has said way back he would never work with saru in his life again. Who would?

Think Mitchell was the brains behind Woodward. We could get Mitchell if he wanted to work with saru that is another thing.

After this wc my feeling it will be AC for coach. He should have been when Jake left. Got done in there I think by saru selecting PdV.

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Can’t see that Mitchell made a lot of diff at Lions, being a “fantastic coach” and all.

• 27.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Mallet is so full of himself he won’t see or hear anything else.

• 28.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Man, I hate this Butch cover

• 29.cane: Reply to this comment

Sir Clive was and embarrassment to himself,
    and The Lions he brought to NZ in 2005.

A small minded arrsehole. Thumped 4-0

• 30.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Jeez – I would also be happy with Coetzee being appointed. He stated after RWC2007 if was appointed he would have continued in the JAke White fashion. I also think Eddie Jones wouldn’t mind working with him and also the possibily of Coetzee roping in Jake White for help.

But i still give PDV his dues he has achieved some amazing feats, B &I Lions, 3N Title, beating ABs twice in NZ also winning the last game ever played at house of pain(D Carter was upset that day). But PDV has also had some disastrous results.

PDV’s tenure will be summed up by swinging from the Sublime to the rediculous and then to mediocrity!

• 31.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Let PdV fail all on his own. If I were a top coach, I would not want to be associated with PdV, why bring down a good reputation.

• 32.coma: Reply to this comment

Before Mallet takes over, lets give Carel Dup a Tri-Nations first to select the players for the next golden era! It worked once, it can work again.

And please, keep the captain till after the WC, Nick, capish?

• 33.Old School: Reply to this comment

@coma(coma)-32: Carel Dup was a great talent scout and had the ability to develop that talent brilliantly. It’s a shame that SARU have also p$ssed on his batteries. He’s one of the best around…

• 34.sohojo: Reply to this comment

If I were PdV the only one I would consider working with is Carel Dup. None of the others because all the others would purely be in it for their own vainglory.

If it succeeds they’d all be plucking away at the feather in their cap and saying it was them that did the trick and not PdV. If it fails they’d all abandon any idea of culpability and simply refer to themselves as consultants and that PdV called the shots and PdV would carry the can. If it succeeded the assistant consultant whether it be Mallet, Meyer, White, Plumtree, Mitchell, Jones, or whoever would carry all the plaudits. If it bombed, PdV would carry the entire can.

Carel Dup is the only one with any modicum of quiet dignified humility aligned with a true honest dinkum rugby brain who would not seek to steal or usurp any lime light and would also not turn his back from any blame if it had to fall flat on its face.

If I were a part of Saru or PdV, Carel Dup would be maybe my first calling card, and possibly my last and only one too.

• 35.Old School: Reply to this comment

@sohojo(sohojo)-34: Problem is he and SARU didn’t part ways on good terms. After the way Os was treated I dont think wants to work with PDV, not even CDP for the reasons you mentioned.

I think that our ship is beyond saving now anyway. A solid showing in a semi-final is the best we can hope for.

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Roar Loud(RL)-21: hmmmm bit of the old pot, kettle there RL…

or do you classify Zimbabweans as South Africans?

eish… still, I guess one cant expect someone to provide factual commentary on something they have no idea about… ever been to Auckland? seen the multicultural makeup of what is now 2nd and/or 3rd and even 4th generation kiwis of islander descent?

of course not, just another to jump on the poaching bandwagon while remaining oblivious to his own countries shortfalls in that department..

• 37.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Pulling together?

I thought this article was about Heavens Game and ExTraball.

• 38.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Roar Loud(RL)-21:

The All Blacks ARE ‘all Kiwis’.

Like Samoa

and Tonga

and England !

• 39.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-26:
    @Dawn(Dawn)-27:

Peaches, these 2 posts sorta dont sit well next to each other. If you thought Mallet was full of himself, then youre only just getting to know Mitch….

• 40.grant10: Reply to this comment

give me a Mallet or Mitchell 1000 times before the 3 stooges…

• 41.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-39:

Anybody who can be quite so chuffed with himself for being bald should not be trusted.

• 42.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

Keo I hear your impassioned appeal to SARU but alas it is all in vain. 1st’ly P-Divvy has been assigned with the task of choosing his own assistants (bizarre as it sounds) and 2nd’ly I’m not so sure you are that popular with those okes at SARU.

• 43.DontThinkJustWonder: Reply to this comment

You’re hoping for a lot from the coaching staff.

Watched the Saders/Chiefs game earlier. If players from just those 2 lineups were eligible for Bokke which Saffer other than Biz would make the team? And Carter wasn’t even playing!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.