Baby-faced assassin
19 Apr 2011
South Africa’s great prodigy continues to exceed expectations.
In October 2010, SA Rugby magazine hailed the arrival of a special talent. Pat Lambie exhibited all the attributes of a match-winning flyhalf, although at the time of writing, he was yet to substantiate the speculation; he was yet to take control. That article was written about a promising teenager, and few could have predicted the accelerated metamorphosis he would undergo in the next five months.
Lambie has ascended; he has begun to spread his wings.
In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, we speak with Lambie’s kicking coach, former Bok flyhalf Braam van Straaten, about the work they’ve put in to the youngster’s game. Sharks backline coach Grant Bashford also talks about Lambie’s progress in recent months and why he’s such a special player.
– Willem Alberts‘ physicality allows him to get over the advantage line regularly and hurt players in the tackle, but he also has an impressive skill set
– Waylon Murray is rebuilding his life one game at a time
– Andries Bekker has taken his game to a whole new level
– Rookie Super Rugby coach Jamie Joseph has turned New Zealand’s weakest franchise into a competitive unit
– At the end of this season, Adam Ashley-Cooper will leave his ‘family’ in Canberra to join his girlfriend in Sydney
– South African Super Rugby franchises like the Sharks and Stormers should consider playing one home game at Twickenham every year
– Bunker Capital’s involvement with the SWD Eagles was supposed to transform the game in the region. SA Rugby magazine finds out what went wrong
– The Cheetahs’ Super Rugby future rests on Saru’s capacity to find a workable solution to a very complex problem
– The Vodacom Cup still has a very important role to play in South African rugby
– Former France tighthead prop Pieter de Villiers on coaching in Cape Town, the Bok front row and why the All Blacks scrum is the best
– The Baby Boks are selecting bigger players in a bid to win the Junior World Championship in June
– Former Sharks prop Eduard Coetzee has embraced Basque culture and made Biarritz his home
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
Follow us on Twitter:
@SARugbymag
@mark_keohane
@SimonBorchardt
@jon_cardinelli
@Ryan_Vrede
@Gareth_Duncan

138 Comments
19 Apr 2011, 06:40 am
Underachieved pretty badly on his debut EOYT…
19 Apr 2011, 06:52 am
the shorks and stammers should play a game at twickers EACH year?
eish, not like we haven’t heard enough about the travel disadvantage already.
a myth the reds have dispelled not only this past weekend but last year as well. perhaps it’s just a Saffa affliction??
19 Apr 2011, 07:01 am
Some mug punters getting far too ahead of themselves with Pat… the guy has had some sublime moments, some average… but has been injured for almost half the current Super Rugby games and has not faced the top tier teams yet… this from a Shark’s fan…
CC rugby is no Bok barometer as has been proven year in and out in the past…
19 Apr 2011, 07:12 am
Lamb to the slaughter.
19 Apr 2011, 07:21 am
Lambie is the saviour of SA Rugby!
the sacrificial lamb, Go Lambie!
19 Apr 2011, 07:24 am
“Baby -faced assassin” – “Lambie has ascended; he has begun to spread his wings”.
Please, why so dramatic, it is still very early days, the bloke dont need this hype right now.
On the other hand, the heading and text will at least ensure that a few Shark fans on this site will be daydreaming (or worse) all day long.
19 Apr 2011, 07:27 am
‘Former France tighthead prop Pieter de Villiers on coaching in Cape Town, the Bok front row and why the All Blacks scrum is the best‘ – really Pieter, is the AB scrum the BEST? Hehehe, i know robbie deans has other ideas on it
19 Apr 2011, 07:27 am
Wait for Vrede to write an article saying Lambie will single-handedly win the world cup for the Boks!
19 Apr 2011, 07:30 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-1: So was Carter on debut at flyhalf and in a certain test at Newlands in 2005.
19 Apr 2011, 07:31 am
Bambie is the real deal. He is no Dan but his play under pressure is awesome and his reading of the game is good. Great technique too.
We are always looking for the next best hero and many here will shoot some one down for many reasons.
19 Apr 2011, 07:33 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-2: your trolling and hate for saffas is sad affliction of your mind.
It must be lonely in there? Maybe you should team up with the even bigger looser Tockles.
19 Apr 2011, 07:36 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-7: Look at the Crusaders scrum and how they demolished the sharks (sorry the bok front row ) – i dont think he is far off
19 Apr 2011, 07:38 am
@stew(stew)-12: thats only when Smit was scrumming, once Beast came on it stablised.
We need to look at one Lions and 1 Cheetahs prop.
19 Apr 2011, 07:39 am
@stew(stew)-12: The best scrummaging teams are all North of the Equator, the problem is that’s pretty much all they can do.
19 Apr 2011, 07:42 am
– Rookie Super Rugby coach Jamie Joseph has turned New Zealand’s weakest franchise into a competitive unit
So amazed with the great work Jamie Joseph has done and McKintosh is developing into a great captain and future honours are beckoning
19 Apr 2011, 07:45 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-11: bwahahah that coming from the bloke whose forever trolling about refs… puh-lease, I made a valid point…
you Saffas all complain to kingdom come about the travel situation now, surely an added trip to the NH like the Shorks had is only going to increase the amount of travel…
what a laugh…. this hatred of mine, can you confirm as such? nope, didnt think so… but continue, it shows who the deluded one is, perhaps I have the ref on my side?
mamparra..
19 Apr 2011, 07:45 am
A special talent is young Lambie !!
For once the Sharks have let a player with prodigious talent settle into one position and the results are starting to show, long may this continue.
I have heard that Lambie is a level headed lad, so I hope the hype and cover shots don’t go to his head and inflate his ego which could affect his performance !!!!
19 Apr 2011, 07:47 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-14: England have always been revered for their scrumaging but NZ are producing some great scrummagers and if big Carl comes back , i dont think many will oppose ……. And to think in the past SA scrum was so feared
19 Apr 2011, 07:47 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-11: so tell me Kevin, why is it that the Reds and the Saders can win games after traveling back from the republic? yet SA sides dont seem to win too many of their first up games when they go overseas?
and dont use the travel disadvantage, because the twio teams above have proven it the fallacy that it is?
looking forward to your most astute response.. is it the refs?
19 Apr 2011, 07:49 am
@stew(stew)-12: i don’t know stew, the last time i checked sheridan made owen franks blush and look around for answers.
the AB don’t turbo-reverse but to proclaim them the best is a bit ott.
19 Apr 2011, 07:51 am
@stew(stew)-18: big Carls past it… game over for him…
19 Apr 2011, 07:52 am
The Lions vodacom cup team is pretty strong…..that might just win something this year.
19 Apr 2011, 07:52 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-19: Hello katvis, your statement yet SA sides dont seem to win too many of their first up games when they go overseas is based on stats.
Please supply the stats.
19 Apr 2011, 07:55 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-22: that=they
19 Apr 2011, 08:01 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-11:
Im not sure that youre best-placed to issue out the ‘hatred speech’ speeches.
do you ?
19 Apr 2011, 08:02 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-7:
the only 1 better is the Crusaders’.
what did Dingo have to say for himself ?
19 Apr 2011, 08:08 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-21: You reckon Poppa …. he seems to be playin well in the french league
19 Apr 2011, 08:08 am
Lambie
Butch
Grant
Carter
…. in that order!
19 Apr 2011, 08:10 am
well, considering the Cheetahs only had their first win overseas THIS year, and the lions havent won one overseas since heaven knows when… lets analyse the 3 “good” SA sides.. we’ll start from 2006 season…
Sharks –
5 April 2008 Hurricanes 13 – 13 Sharks Rd. 8
26 February 2010 Crusaders 35 – 6 Sharks Rd.3
25 February 2006 Crusaders 22 – 20 Sharks Rd 3.
Stormers-
24 February 2007 Highlanders 35 – 24 Stormers Rd 4.
8 March 2008 Reds 16 – 34 Stormers Rd 4.
28 March 2009 Crusaders 11 – 7 Stormers Rd 7.
02 April 2010 Western Force 16 – 15 Stormers Rd 8.
losing 4 from 5
Bulls
15 March 2008 Reds 40 – 8 Bulls rd 5.
1 from 5, so only really the Bulls on the positive side of the ledger huh? but then again, one can make statistics say whatever they want..
19 Apr 2011, 08:11 am
@Sonny_bill_is_k@k_Mossie_is_king(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-28: You forgot to mention Earl Rose/Morne Steyn/Dan Carter all on a par?
19 Apr 2011, 08:12 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-29: sorry, Stormers only 3 from 5… my mistake… but still, SA sides only win half their first up away game..
19 Apr 2011, 08:12 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-17: gm JR
i wish they would stop articles on the kid as it only brings out the haters , calling themselves mature men
bwahahahaaaaaaaaaa
the ones a bigger joke then the next , btw thanks for the decent opinion on the kid
i can tell you he will stay level headed, it seems to run in the family , i met his dad Ian , he is like that very humble oke , end of the day a person reacts as to how they were raised
19 Apr 2011, 08:13 am
Dan Carter on par with Ismal Eal Tollie!
19 Apr 2011, 08:16 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-32:
Hi SL
That’s good news !!!
19 Apr 2011, 08:16 am
No .. Carter is good … except if he plays against Butch! or the Bulls! remember 2009 & 2010 – Carter was hond k@k! also strange that gets Carter is “injured” 24 hours before the Bulls game !
19 Apr 2011, 08:17 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-34: cant say how NIc Labuschagne is as i never met him , maybe old grand pa a humble fella too
mind you he was head on natal rugga around your time , you would prolly know????
19 Apr 2011, 08:22 am
@Sonny_bill_is_k@k_Mossie_is_king(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-35:
he didnt need to play against the Bulle this year… 27-0 window licker…
19 Apr 2011, 08:25 am
youre clearly desperate for attention, so…….
tell us, how ‘hondkak’ was DC in 2009 ?
19 Apr 2011, 08:28 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-37: And how carter steered the Saders to a 30 point victory at loftus ???????????
Boks – Tri Nations Champs 2009 – Carter looked like a lighter version of Earl Rose! Carter also had a shocking 2010 Super Rugby Season! remember Loftus/Soweto & Newlands??
in 2008
19 Apr 2011, 08:31 am
@Sonny_bill_is_k@k_Mossie_is_king(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-40:
Youre about as smart as Krusty
19 Apr 2011, 08:31 am
WO
tell me. who are the only two teams in super history NOT to win a game in a season. ?
the leeus-ers and ???
come on, I know you know the answer
19 Apr 2011, 08:33 am
Stormers & Bulls were starting to dominate Super Rugby .. NZ/Aus rugby unions had to change the whole format … you know, same with Tiger Woods & Schumacher? …. 1 or 2 teams/players dominating a sport is not good. Thats also why you get k@k refs in Super Rugby!
19 Apr 2011, 08:34 am
I really hope the IRB put a moratorium on the amount of foreign players a club can buy, also maybe put a cap on the amount they are allowed to pay for a player.
I know this is not in line with fair the fair trade policy, but with Racing Metro offering Carter R45 Million, how can the likes of NZ and SA keep players in their country.
The local fans will be robbed of their best players, if we are not able to see our best will the public be prepared to pay to watch 2nd stringers ? No public interest = no sponsors = no product!!!
The game in SA and NZ is under threat by the lure of the Euro, the IRB needs to step in to protect these giants of the game, should the game dry up in SA and NZ rugby as we know it would cease to exist !!
Sarel Pretorius has been offered a huge contract by an unknown French club, expect a lot of our stars (not just the older ones) being lured after the WC.
Flo already signed with Bath (23 yrs old !!)
How long will the Sharks be able to hang onto Lambie, if this kid has a great WC expect massive offers for him !!!
Something needs to be done and it appears that only the IRB can do anything , the question is will they, I fear not !!!
19 Apr 2011, 08:37 am
You forgot how **** Carter was in the whipping the ‘Saders gave the Bulls at Loftus in 2008 (50 something points I think??), scoring a try that involved brushing aside one of the biggest Bulls on the park and converting all except one of the numerous tries scored.
19 Apr 2011, 08:44 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-45:
its not just France that is the problem. In the last 2-3 weeks, Irish clubs have signed a handful of promising NZ Super players (Afoa, Fotuali’i, Berquist) on massive wedge. The problem is not so much the clubs involved but the fact that the IRU are actually subsidising the contracts in order to attract the players. Which seems somewhat hypocritical considering that Ireland has had to call for bank loans from the World Bank and their economy continues in freefall.
19 Apr 2011, 08:47 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-47:
Exactly BP, not sure what the answer is but something needs to be done sooner rather than later !!!
19 Apr 2011, 08:48 am
Carter is a very good player yes …. but like the Proteas, he is a choker!! remember the RWC’s? can’t perform under pressure!
19 Apr 2011, 08:51 am
Oh my gawd, there is no way in this world that one can even mention Lambie in the same breath as Carter. The latter has had some poor performances and he has had some brilliant performances, sure, but his good ones are far better than any flyhalf in South Africa could muster since the time of ….nobody!
Carter at his worst is still better than anything coming out of SA – baby face Bambie included.
19 Apr 2011, 08:52 am
The second season is always more of a defining one. Last year he was the youngster with lots of potential, this year he’s starting to look like an experienced hand. I hope he can kick on from his good start this year, SA rugby will be the better for it.
Lambie, Jantjies, Francis, Van Aswegen, there are some promising youngsters out there. Lambie the best of the young bunch at the moment. I’m sad that Gary is out for the season now, WP need to blood a talented youngster who has a more complete game, like Lambie does.
19 Apr 2011, 08:53 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-45: I cant tell you how this is killing me, and the fact that the SH administration are not forcing IRB to deal with this…. the only good news, I suppose, is that it will inevitably be the end of NH rugby…just like the English Premier League has killed english soccer..
19 Apr 2011, 08:54 am
@Sonny_bill_is_k@k_Mossie_is_king(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-49:
NZ were comfortably in the lead against France when Carter was replaced in ’07 – so it was hardly because of him that they lost. It just shows you how desperate we are in SA that some of us can only remember the handful of poor days that he had against our sides while conveniently forgetting the bags full of occasions when his brilliance skittled the best we had to offer. Go figure
19 Apr 2011, 08:56 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-16:
Poppa, did you watch the Reds / Bulls game on Saturday? If you did you would’ve heard the commentators continuously refering to the challenges of playing a game after coming back from Africa (as they refer to it). Then in the post match interviews I heard 2 players (inlcuding captain) refering to the challenges of playing well when returning from Africa. Are they also overstating the challenges?
19 Apr 2011, 08:57 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-45: It is such a difficult situation ….the average player has so many seasons in order to make money so you cant blame a player going …. But the due to the exchange rate the lure of pounds and euros is just to attractive – the only hope we have is like you say the Norhtern clubs allow 2 foreign players to play for example ……… the only solution i can see is playing a world wide tournament – best of the Heineken cup v the best of the Super 15 – i think this would be rather biased towards the S15 sides though ???
19 Apr 2011, 09:02 am
@Craven(Craven)-54: Craven… Im not denying it isnt tough… but for all the years Ive been on here, Ive heard numerous times how SA teams were disadvantaged by travel, having to do 4 weeks at a time while NZ and Aussie teams only had to hop across the tasman and spend a couple of weeks in SA..
My initial post, to which kevinrack took such exception (Ive got under his skin,go figure) was in stating that we heard enough about the amount of travel SA teams did and now in the magazine theyre suggesting the Sharks and Stormers play a game at Twickers every year?
my original point, but poor old kevin thinks its my supposed hatred of Saffas? LMFAO…
19 Apr 2011, 09:04 am
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-51: There is some great talent finally coming through at 10. I think Burton Francis is seriously underrated, has all the attributes of a great flyhalf.
Lambie at the moment should be our first choice at the world cup with either Grant or Morne on the bench
19 Apr 2011, 09:05 am
@Sonny_bill_is_k@k_Mossie_is_king(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-49:
‘remember the RWCs’ ?
‘DC in 2009′ ?
DC injured out of both.
When are you going to stop making an idiot of yourself ?!
19 Apr 2011, 09:08 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-56:
Yeah, not sure I am keen on games being playing at Twickers, it is a SH comepetition for goodness sake, why take it to the NH ?
I can understand the merits of a one off game like the Sharks/saders game, but fail to see the need to do it on a regular basis !!
19 Apr 2011, 09:09 am
Has Lambie really been tested under pressure ????
19 Apr 2011, 09:13 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-59: agree totally… theyre already taking our players, and now they want to take away potential classic encounters from our own backyards? the one off was special circumstances, and I too can see the benefits that had.. but every year? no thanks..
19 Apr 2011, 09:13 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-45:
The only thing that will keep the young performers in the country is selection for their national teams. Flo has had a rotten time at the Boks and was merely discarded without being told what the plans were for his international future.
Sarel will probably take the offer to play overseas because he has to compete with THE PLAYER-FORMERLY-KNOWN-AS-JANUARIE for a place in the Bok side and we all know that he is a certain selection – whether to keep up the quotas or because he is PDV’s love child is open for debate. That is unless Januarie gets an offer from overseas to go and direct traffic on the busy Champs Elysees. I doubt that it will happen though because he will block the traffic with his substantial rear.
The perpetual selection of players who are not the best at provincial or franchise level for the Bok side is going to drive the best away because overseas clubs do not have hidden agenda’s and ulterior motives in selection – they want the best and they are willing to pay for it. Players who fall into that category are Spies, Smit, Januarie, M Steyn, CJ, Kirchner, Olivier, Habana, Jacobs, Ralepelle
The handling of fringe players in the Bok set-up has been apalling for a very long time and unless this is sorted out we will continue to see a player exodus that is detrimental to our depth at international level.
19 Apr 2011, 09:17 am
Lets all just take a breather here, Lambie has had a great start to his carreer but lets not get ahead of ourselves.
We know he can handle himself under big pressure, we saw that in the currie cup semi final against the Bulls.
Everyone talks about his man of the match performance against the Stormers but I believe it was the Bulls game where he really showed what he is capable of.
It was wet, pouring in fact, and he was a relative newcomer against a full strength Bulls side before they started the slow downhill slide they’re on now.
It was certainly as good a performance from a young flyhalf as I have ever seen. Cool as Luke.
I do, howeverm believe that it is a players 2nd and 3rd seasons that defines them. After opposition teams have time to suss their strengths and weaknesses and plan against them accordingly.
Still, I am very happy to have him at he Sharks. Hopefully his humility and calmness under pressure continue. Great prospect.
19 Apr 2011, 09:20 am
@stew(stew)-60:
I posted above but, for a young flyhalf, I dont think you can get more pressure than a CC semi against the Bulls in the pouring rain.
19 Apr 2011, 09:21 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-9: Carter was smoking hot on debut. And has had two indifferent — not bad — tests in his whole career. He’s the best in history right from Test #1.
19 Apr 2011, 09:22 am
shaka:52. The English don’t care, they’ll play all the newly-arrived NZlanders in their National team like they’ve done now with Thomas Waldrom, Tuliagi and apparently D.Bowden is also in their sights.
19 Apr 2011, 09:23 am
I always thought Carter debuted at 2nd 5/8… happy to be corrected…
19 Apr 2011, 09:25 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-65:
I hope you mean best in NZ history.
Most would take a fit Wilkinson over a fit Carter any day.
19 Apr 2011, 09:41 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-65: OK Tackles, drop the stiff and get back to work.
19 Apr 2011, 09:42 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-66: exactly , thats why there are more south africans in the english cricket team then english
oh and a welshman
19 Apr 2011, 09:42 am
Not a sharks fan but this boy can play at the highest level. Would like to see what he does in the heat of a Tri Nations game or a WC but a super prospect.
19 Apr 2011, 09:45 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-71: kwagga he still young boet , and of course he will have his bad games , if he didnt he wouldnt be human
but yeah the kid is way mature for his age
19 Apr 2011, 09:47 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-72: It’d be nice if he had one in a couple of weeks…
19 Apr 2011, 09:48 am
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-73:
M
eish no boet he can have a off day the week after when the sharks have a bye
19 Apr 2011, 09:49 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-74: hahahaha yeah life’s all about timing I guess.
19 Apr 2011, 09:49 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-67:
Yep, started off at 12.
19 Apr 2011, 09:50 am
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-75: this be true
19 Apr 2011, 09:51 am
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-75: you guys are lucky it seems deysel’s return is only due after our bye
19 Apr 2011, 09:52 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-65:
If you carry on like that you are going to make a mess on your computer.
19 Apr 2011, 09:52 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-78: Something tells me we’ll be seeing our fair share of Deysel this year regardless….
Good player though. Wonder if he’ll be able to get back to his form from last year, Good for the Sharks if he can,
He seemed to have our number last year,
19 Apr 2011, 09:54 am
ANZAC Kissing Cousins.
Australian Rugby Union chief John O’Neill has tipped the Wallabies to meet the All Blacks in the World Cup final this year, but would not hazard a guess as to who would come out on top.
“I think our prospects for World Cup 2011 are really encouraging,” O’Neill told local media on Tuesday. “No one is sitting here saying we are going to win it.
“My prediction is we will make the final and play the All Blacks. As to who might win the final, well, we’ll come to that.”
19 Apr 2011, 09:59 am
naas botha says peter grant should be the flyhalf at the wc and who are we to argue with the legendary bull.
19 Apr 2011, 10:00 am
@Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-80: lol he is one strong mf
i watched him in his last 2 games for the vodacom sup team he was superb
19 Apr 2011, 10:01 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-81: Anzac kissing cousins? okay, so a statement made by John Oniel is indicative of NZs stance?
please…
thats like saying Mugabe really is the SA populations spokesman… eish..
19 Apr 2011, 10:05 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-83: His timing might be just too late to make a charge for the Bok team though. Pity. I’d have picked him last year, were it not for the injury.
19 Apr 2011, 10:06 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-84: History tells us that the two of you love jumping in the sack together when it comes to opposing the Boks.
19 Apr 2011, 10:08 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-66: Don’t get me started on the English….
19 Apr 2011, 10:10 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-83: Hope he gets back to his best soon. Great player.
19 Apr 2011, 10:12 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-86: please show me these examples? other then one email… or are you so far removed from reality that you too buy into the whole conspiracy propoganda that many of you seem to use as an excuse?
do you know of the fierce rivalry in any sport between NZ and Aus? the only thing you accomplish with that statement is a tiotal lack of respect for the many men of the REAL anzacs who laid down their lives for the many generations that follow..
always with the persecution complexes… sheesh..
19 Apr 2011, 10:13 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-1: totally agree with you !this oke could be the andy murray/tim henman of rugby.
19 Apr 2011, 10:18 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-89: No examples mate I am not an archive. Yes i buy into it because it is as clear as day.
19 Apr 2011, 10:19 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-65: Your analysis leaves a lot to be desired as does your pathological hatred of anything to do with the land of your birth..
19 Apr 2011, 10:27 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-92: i have to agree with tackler that carter is the most complete flyhalf in world rugby…possibly ever.serious questions marks on lambie’s international bmt.watered down currie cups doesn’t count.
19 Apr 2011, 10:44 am
I have my reservations about Deysel , another strong ball carrying , crash ball specialist, which he does very well.
Juan Smith, Alberts, Schalk probably all ahead of him at the moment.
Also seems injury proned, which hopefully the worst is behind him now, but he could have a role to play for the Boks in the future, he is still young !!
Looking forward to see how he develops !!!
19 Apr 2011, 10:45 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-89: Oh dear, now you’ve upset Poppa… wait – isn’t he always a little bit upset…
19 Apr 2011, 10:46 am
Problem is that the current Bok game plan will even make Lambie look poor. Even the EOYT last year negatively affected Lambie’s play. Plum had to do beat the Bok’s playing style out of Lambie again.
I don’t think that Lambie can play like PdV wants the Boks to play and make a success of it. I reckon Lambie should not even be involved with the Boks until we get a new coach!
19 Apr 2011, 10:49 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-93: watered down currie cup….?
19 Apr 2011, 10:50 am
@Shaka(Shaka)-95: Always on the defensive.
19 Apr 2011, 11:00 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-88: thanks iori, @Pick the team in August not March(stormersboy)-85: true mate , but yeah these kinda injuries happen , but the sharks have made sure that he will be 100% before bringing him back
he has now played 4 games for the VC team and yet they still holding him back
19 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-94: even though i agree JR watch deysel nicely and you will find him doing a fetchers role too
thats where he differes from alberts , he does not get bashed off his feet as easily as daniel or botes for example
19 Apr 2011, 11:05 am
Now that Lambie has become the poster boy for Keo Nazis, I will ensure that the lad get his fair share of my venom… I hate Nazis
Sad that the Keo Nazis have decided that Lambie’s success was dependent of the annialation of Elton Jantjies and every other black Flyhalf in the country
Sorry Pat old Chap… choose your backers or PR company wisely. Keo Nazi Inc is poison
19 Apr 2011, 11:06 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-17: Good post mate.
He is a real talent and is very level headed. Doubt very much this hype on a rugby mag will get him. Very calm and a humble youngster with impeccable manners. Pleased he will be back this week for Sharks. Now hope that finger is 100%. Also after having a lay off think he might not start, but come off the bench. My feeling. Well that is how I would bring him back after a injury. Just pleased we got our fh back. Keeping fingers crossed no more injuries.
19 Apr 2011, 11:09 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-100: Yip agree. Deysel doe a fair amount of fetching. The reason I would start him at 6 with Alberts at 7. For some games. Sometime soon Alberts will need a rest and Deysel will have to start at 7. But against the Stormers would have Deysel at 6. Though he is still only play VC this week. So even if Plum selects him for next week. He may only come off the bench. Just damn good to know he is on his way back.
19 Apr 2011, 11:09 am
@pokkel(pokkel)-96: the most idiotic statement i’ve seen on keo for a very long time.lambie is the andy murray of rugby and i can see why you are getting in the excuses in so early.
19 Apr 2011, 11:14 am
@pokkel(pokkel)-96: Very true Pokkel. PdV and his coaches ruined Lambies natural playing style. Plum stated they had to coach the bad habits out of players that were with the Boks.
19 Apr 2011, 11:21 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-104: Thanks for the compliment…..Lambie play direct rugby and likes to attack the game line. If you want your flyhalf to stand 20m behind the scrum and kick a high ball then Steyn is the man for the job….simple really.
19 Apr 2011, 11:28 am
@pokkel(pokkel)-106: well according to jake you don’t win wc’s with fairytale rugby and that’s probably one of the reasons why the legendary flyhalf ,naas botha, believes that peter grant should be the bok flyhalf at the wc.
19 Apr 2011, 11:31 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-107: I agree…defense will be crucial…so that excluded Steyn. I think Grant is probably a good pick if that is the way you want to play.
19 Apr 2011, 11:34 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-107: Only thing that concerns me about Grant is that he has the Bok centres on his outside and still the Stormers are struggling to score tries.
19 Apr 2011, 11:43 am
@pokkel(pokkel)-109: pokkel here is a fact
grant is a very very good FLYHALF but he does not handle pressure well , go watch the reds game again
this has been grants 1 weakness , other then that he has matured as a player and his kicking is much better
19 Apr 2011, 11:45 am
@pokkel(pokkel)-109: and no point arguing with this oke tecumseh , its the old capo , go to the other threads and see his typical sharks hatred and insults
19 Apr 2011, 11:47 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-111: I’m not arguing…just stating some facts….he can do with it as he pleases.
19 Apr 2011, 12:13 pm
Poaching suspect: Court lowers bail
2011-04-19
Musina – The Musina Magistrate’s Court in Limpopo has lowered the amount of the bail granted to rhino poaching accused Dawie Groenewald from R1 million to R100 000, Beeld newspaper reported on Tuesday.
Groenewald, a game farmer, posted bail in September. He brought an application on Monday to lower the bail amount. His lawyer, Thomas Grobler, told Beeld that the court lowered his bail to R100 000.
Groenewald, 42, who owns the farm, Prachtig, outside Musina, was arrested last year with several other people, including his wife and two veterinarians, on charges related to rhino poaching.
(news24)
Wasn’t it just a few weeks ago that some people wanted us to believe that it was only “the Sipho’s” of this world who did the poaching?
19 Apr 2011, 13:01 pm
@nama1(nama1)-113: These people are scum, whether they’re called Dawie or Sipho. And weren’t they arrested last year already? So, whoever said a few weeks ago it was only “the Siphos” of this world who were involved in poaching can’t read, or they don’t want to.
19 Apr 2011, 13:15 pm
@nama1(nama1)-113:
Ironic name for his farm innit!
19 Apr 2011, 13:16 pm
@oscarthedawg(oscarthedawg)-114:
Amen to that.
19 Apr 2011, 13:23 pm
nama:113. It was our friend Predawn: The Great White Shark
19 Apr 2011, 13:34 pm
All this unwanted, not needed, unwarranted MEDIA hype the young Lambie can certainly do without. This is too much in the national and international glare and all he truly wants is to concentrate on progressing his team and further develope his play and skills in the S15 and thereafter to a lesser extent in the TNs.
Unlike most here may feel and intimate, this RWC 2011 is likely to be a very good one to miss and after it all the younger, in form, hopefuls can develope with little pressure to deal with in copetitons like the CC, S15, TNs and the eoyts that leads up to RWC 2015.
This awful MEDIA glare is totally different from supporters punting his abilities and skills in the CC and now S15.
19 Apr 2011, 13:37 pm
Jeez this is getting tiresome. Lambie is an extremely gifted youngster, can we just acknowledge that and let him get on with playing some great rugby and growing as a player?
Why as South Africans must we always go for extremes? On the one hand Lambie is walking on rugby water and the saviour of our rugby, and on the other he is too young, not good enough, haven’t been tested against quality opposition yet (remember he played super 14 last year albeit not at flyhalf).
We either build them up as world beaters or knock them down completely. Look at Australia, look at the time they gave Cooper to develop and make mistakes. I can still remember some of the howlers he had when he started off.
19 Apr 2011, 13:50 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-115:
It sure is.
19 Apr 2011, 13:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-117:
Thanks. I knew it was a Shark supporter but could not remember which one. That’s why I refrained from naming somebody.
19 Apr 2011, 14:52 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-68:
would you ?!?
I know some people think Wilko walks on water but at the moment he cant get Test minutes for England because he has a Flood in the way.
19 Apr 2011, 14:52 pm
@nama1(nama1)-121: my money was on sharkslover but i guess there is no difference between greatwhite and sharkslover in any case.
19 Apr 2011, 14:57 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-81:
twist and fold all you like, Origami, but that excerpt in no way shape or form supports the ‘kissing cousins’ paranoia-theories.
That was merely Devils Spawn, aka ‘John O’Neil’, kissing his own butt repeatedly. Because thats what he does best.
And he’s probably not too far wrong, unfortunately – Aussie rugby is on the right performance curve leading in to the Big One.
19 Apr 2011, 15:15 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-124: twist and fold
19 Apr 2011, 15:24 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-124: Boks to come in as underdogs which will be an advantage for us.
19 Apr 2011, 15:45 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-6: Rob the Stormer hype machine that is SA Rugby Magazine love to hype up players to the status of rugby gods so they can smash them down again and rip them to pieces when they reveal their humanity by making a mistake. They especially love to do this with Sharks players.
19 Apr 2011, 15:53 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-127: shame
19 Apr 2011, 15:56 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-50: Comparing Lambie with Carter is completely unfair as the lad is only starting his career while Carter is 9 years older than him and has been playing pro rugby since 2002. Its about time people laid off Lambie and give him a chance to show us what he can do before proclaiming him as the ‘saviour’ or writing him off in equal measure.
It seems to me that supporters in this country prefer everything to be negative and depressing. They want something moan about. They want someone to hate and to b!tch at. That’s the South African way. We were taught to hate each other and that sentiment is still being proliferated by hate mongerers like Malema and the AWB. Some things will never change.
19 Apr 2011, 16:00 pm
@Craven(Craven)-119: Absolutely on the money boet!! We never give our young players a chance to develop and mature. Lambie is a promising prospect and I hope all coaches alike don’t buy into the Stormer hype machine and start expecting sublime magical performances every time he takes to the field. He exhibits extraordinary maturity that belies his age and is good at reading the game but he’s still very young. He’s the perfect age to be moulded into an incredible player but that takes time and also its dependent on coaching. Looking at how PdV has destroyed the current crop of Boks perhaps being selected for the RWC might be Lambie’s downfall.
19 Apr 2011, 17:51 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-126:
the reigning Champs, 1 of the 2-3 clear favourites, as ‘Underdog’ ?
~chortle~
19 Apr 2011, 17:54 pm
@ET.(ET.)-118: You are right ET. Gives me pause to consider.
19 Apr 2011, 19:51 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-130: You speak wise words there buddy. But I for one don’t ever think if Pat is selected for this world cup that it will be his downfall. This youngster is mature beyond his years. He will carry the experience into the next world cup, where I see his worth and leadership even more than this world cup, our chances will be much better come 2015.
Remember Pat was Head Prefect of Michael House. They don’t select a HP that don’t have those extra special qualities of leadership at that school, one of the finest schools we have in this country. Lambie has those in bucket loads. Lambie is one of a very special bred. BMT does not come very easily at his age. He has plenty of it. He will be around for years to come. That is if we keep him here in the SH. I have read the French clubs are after him already.
Not only does Pat have exeptional talent on the rugby field, he has leadership written all over him. Hope we never lose this talent to NH before we see the best he has to offer. He has buckets loads still to show us.
Good luck Pat. Hope others sees in you what I do. The South African Rugby Supporters are brutal. Unlike the Aussies that allowed Cooper to become a great in his country. Hope we have the same patience for a truely outstanding talent in Pat.
I know us here in KZN will support you. Hope the rest of the country do as well. We have a gem of a player if we do.
19 Apr 2011, 23:20 pm
@Puma(Puma)-133: Geez Puma, how old are you? Head prefect means squat in the real world.
Butch at 10 and Frans Steyn at 15 for the world cup, experienced with an attacking kicking game. Steyn, Lambie, Grant etc. can go as squad members.
20 Apr 2011, 00:58 am
# 29.poppa69 in his great love to improve South Africa Rubgy ask this:
SA sides dont seem to win too many of their first up games when they go overseas
well, considering the Cheetahs only had their first win overseas THIS year, and the lions havent won one overseas since heaven knows when… lets analyse the 3 “good” SA sides.. we’ll start from 2006 season…
Sharks –
5 April 2008 Hurricanes 13 – 13 Sharks Rd. 8
26 February 2010 Crusaders 35 – 6 Sharks Rd.3
25 February 2006 Crusaders 22 – 20 Sharks Rd 3.
Stormers-
24 February 2007 Highlanders 35 – 24 Stormers Rd 4.
8 March 2008 Reds 16 – 34 Stormers Rd 4.
28 March 2009 Crusaders 11 – 7 Stormers Rd 7.
02 April 2010 Western Force 16 – 15 Stormers Rd 8.
losing 4 from 5
Bulls
15 March 2008 Reds 40 – 8 Bulls rd 5.
1 from 5, so only really the Bulls on the positive side of the ledger huh? but then again, one can make statistics say whatever they want..
poppa69: So why are SA teams so kak useless?
20 Apr 2011, 02:09 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-135: where did I say they were kak useless? all I did was point out originally that by playing a game at Twickers EACH year they will have to endure more travel, not what SA fans want, correct?
20 Apr 2011, 05:34 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-136: thats what its like taking only a little bit out of a person comment and not the whole comment.
Same thing really.
5 May 2011, 18:32 pm
Butch James on the cover last month was great, it showed his want to be back as the prime no.10, however Peter Grant has been much better than both of them this year so surely he should be on the cover and not lambie again?
Pat Lambie was already on the cover in October 2010 (only 7 months ago) so why not put someone like Andries Bekker, Peter Grant, Willem Alberts or Duane Vermeulen on the cover for some fresh faces.