Belligerent bolter will lend Boks bite

JON CARDINELLI expects Duane Vermeulen to be named in the World Cup planning group on Wednesday and believes it could be a telling selection in a World Cup year.

The official World Cup group of 50 will only be named in June, but don’t expect it to differ from the ‘planning squad’ named this Wednesday. Coach Peter de Villiers has made it clear that he wants to get the right group of players together as early as possible, and has even scheduled meetings and planning camps for the select few while Super Rugby is still on the go.

This Wednesday’s announcement is thus significant. We already know of 23 players who have made the cut, as De Villiers announced his contracted group of Springboks in late March.

Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield, JP Pietersen, John Smit, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies were in the original group, while Andries Bekker, Heinrich Brüssow, Bismarck du Plessis, Adrian Jacobs, Tendai Mtawarira, Wynand Olivier, Danie Rossouw, Morné Steyn, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde and Gurthrö Steenkamp were only recently handed one-year contracts.

The Bok coach will name between 45 and 50 players on Wednesday, and what this means is that as many as 27 places are up for grabs. De Villiers will make a statement with the players he includes, but he will also make a statement with the players he leaves out.

The contracted group itself deserves closer scrutiny. One can only believe that De Villiers made a promise to Adi Jacobs when they were at the Valke all those years ago, because his apparent guaranteed selection has very little to do with recent rugby exploits. At least Wynand Olivier has played for the Boks in the last year, but his performances have been so poor, you would have expected him to drop out of the World Cup reckoning. Unbelievably, he’s been awarded a Bok contract in a defining year. Go figure.

De Villiers is likely to call on many players that have been in the Bok mix over the past three years. Locks like Alistair Hargreaves and Flip van der Merwe will make the cut, and loose forwards like Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts and Keegan Daniel surely deserve to be part of the larger squad. What’s less clear is whether the Bulls’ loosies deserve spots ahead of their Stormers counterparts.

It’s not a provincial argument but a national one. Dewald Potgieter and Deon Stegmann featured for the Boks in 2010 without making any great impact. Francois Louw was a key figure in the Boks’ Tests against Wales, Italy and France, and then was unceremoniously dumped after one sub-standard showing in the Tri-Nations. Louw has shown good form in the 2011 Super Rugby competition, and is certainly among the elite players in the country.

One man has been among the elite for the past three seasons, although the absence of a national call-up would suggest otherwise. Picking Duane Vermeulen for the World Cup planning group is a no-brainer, and he could play a big role at the World Cup. He provides the abrasive alternative to Spies the Boks have been searching for, that is a No 8 that drives opposition players back on defence and makes good ground with ball in hand. If the Boks include men like Vermeulen and Alberts in their final World Cup squad, they will improve their chances of winning the tournament.

Some will suggest that Ashley Johnson deserves a place, but this season has shown him to be a liability. He contributes with some powerful runs and gets through a lot of work, but his high error rate has cost the Cheetahs matches. There is no reason why he should be included ahead of the Bulls’ loose forwards, let alone the form men at the Sharks and Stormers.

I fear that politicians will demand that Ricky Januarie get a look-in, even though he’s unlikely to travel to New Zealand in September. The overweight scrumhalf hasn’t been contracted to the Boks, a sure sign he is not in the World Cup plans. He’s not the first-choice No 9 at the Stormers, and to pick him for the Boks would smack of window dressing.

Sarel Pretorius is a player who’s impressed in a struggling Cheetahs side, and Charl McLeod was a late call-up for the Springboks’ 2010 end-of-year tour. If it’s a toss up between the two, De Villiers needs to show some consistency in picking the latter, who has to date enjoyed a solid Super Rugby competition.

McLeod’s halfback partner Pat Lambie will also make the squad, but there is another player who comes into the flyhalf equation. Butch James has confirmed his move back to South Africa in May, a fact that confirms he is in the World Cup mix. James is the Boks’ best bet at flyhalf, as he not only has the experience but the ability to switch between a conservative and attacking game plan.

De Villiers has a fourth flyhalf option in Ruan Pienaar, who excelled at No 10 for the Boks in late 2008 and in the 2009 British & Irish Lions series. Pienaar has been alternating between 9 and 10 at Irish club Ulster, and has to date produced some match-winning performances with the boot.

Frans Steyn is the other overseas-based player guaranteed of selection, and his return could solve the Boks’ problems at fullback. Zane Kirchner will be picked for the planning group, but doesn’t deserve to go to the World Cup.

As South Africa’s best attacking player, Gio Aplon should travel to New Zealand. If Aplon pays more attention to his kicking game, he can provide a good alternative to Steyn. He has a big boot and it’s a shame that the development of this area of his game has been neglected in the last few seasons.

It’s great to see JP Pietersen finding some form, and right now he’d be my favourite to start at No 14 for the Boks. Bjorn Basson is prime candidate to replace Bryan Habana, although it is a foregone conclusion that the veteran will be taken to the World Cup.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

631 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

• 601.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-596: scotland??????

lucky b astard!

ja, this weekend i have people to feed but there are months left in the season so i will let you know.

there is a fishmonger in umhlanga town, at the first robot at the bottom of the hill turn right, they are next to the steers.

called “fish”.

really fresh fish, he will fillet and spice for you but he is quite expensive.

the other option is glenashley fisheries in broadway drive, durban north (now swapo drive).

they have fresh couta for R95 a kg. very very very good. he will also fillet and spice for you so all you have to do is braai.

• 602.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Comment on the Sport24 article that Grant mentioned:

Ted Bundy – 22 minutes ago
    Report comment
    For everybody who is intersted: There is a facebook page called ‘i hate the WP and Stormers’. Lets all join and see how many members we can get. Maybe we can take apart the whole WP rugby union. Wouldn’t that be nice?
    Reply to Ted Bundy

It seems people all over the internet are the moer in with Stormers fans ;-)

• 603.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-599: I will do that Ranger. Gonna replant my whole garden. This garden was not planted by me. Bought this house with what was planted here many years back. Now that I have moved here permanently, want to redo the whole garden. Will do it in the winter months once I am back from Scotland. Thanks for the tips mate. Always feel sorry for the mo n keys, they seem really hungry. Probably the only thing they are really looking for.

• 604.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-600: eish yes bro when the august winds come as they are known lol

• 605.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-601: Brilliant. Thanks buddy. Took those addies down. Will try both those places.

• 606.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-603: so cool man, go indigenous but try to stay away from microphilous leaves (your local nursery will know what i am talking about, a leopard tree is an example) as they make a mo er of a mess.

get some indigenous trees and bushes that fruit for the ******* and flower for the birds, sit back and enjoy nature coming to you.

you wont regret it man.

• 607.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-604: Yeah, The wind factor here is quite huge, compared to Joburg……hahahahaha. Actually hardly felt it there. Then where you are the wind is worse, well I think?

The Cape is great though. Your summer is brilliant, but our winters months, just cant beat it here…lol

• 608.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-606: I will Ranger, thanks buddy for the tips. Tell you what the bird life here is just BRILLIANT. Thought where I lived in Joburg it was great, but here it is really awesome. Heck I still feel like I am on a permanent holiday here…….hahahaha.

• 609.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-607: weather right now in cape town is fantastic

hardly any winds and like today it was 34

• 610.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-605: ja, the indian guy at the fishmonger in umhlanga and i used to deal a bit when i sold him venison and he gave me fish.

he is solid and will give you great advice but he is expensive.

then again, his fish are a fresh as you will get.

he even imports norwegian salmon and gets fresh tuna too.

man, i am gonna get me some fish this weekend!

if you ever venture down to sprinfield park, umgeni rd, there is a huge seafood market next to the Mosque. also really good and a lot cheaper but not always as fresh.

anyways, i am off to bed, stay well sharky and puma!

• 611.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-608: a place like palaborwa ?? **** birdlife there is stunning

• 612.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay I am out of here.

Cheers S_L , Ranger and Kaksioek.

Catch up tomorrow.

• 613.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-610: take care bro chat soon

• 614.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-612: ciao brudda chat 2morrow @kaksioek(kaksioek)-602: cheers mate TC

• 615.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-612: Cheers.

• 616.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Cheers all.

• 617.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-610: Thanks Ranger. Will try those places. Just never knew where one could get really fresh fish here. Thanks buddy.

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-609: That is still hot…hahaha. Cooler here but very warm still. Just hope it stays like this for Saturdays game. Think rain is forecast. So hope that stays away. If our Sharks played last Saturday it could have been called off. The rain was torential for over a day.

Anyhow out of here now brudda, catch up tomorrow.

For the Stormer supporters, you know all it was banter. But it was good……hehehehe.

Cheers all.

• 618.Puma: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-615: Cheers buddy.

Catch up tomorrow.

• 619.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

is Vermeulen a ‘biter’ ?

or does he chew like le Roux ?

• 620.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-619: He is sort of cross between Richard Loe and Kevin Mealamu – a sort of versatile allrounder..

• 621.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-620: Hi Stormer our friend from down the road Poopa 69 posed a very good question. Do you have the answer?
    29.poppa69 in his great love to improve South Africa Rubgy ask this:

SA sides dont seem to win too many of their first up games when they go overseas

well, considering the Cheetahs only had their first win overseas THIS year, and the lions havent won one overseas since heaven knows when… lets analyse the 3 “good” SA sides.. we’ll start from 2006 season…

Sharks –
    5 April 2008 Hurricanes 13 – 13 Sharks Rd. 8
    26 February 2010 Crusaders 35 – 6 Sharks Rd.3
    25 February 2006 Crusaders 22 – 20 Sharks Rd 3.

Stormers-
    24 February 2007 Highlanders 35 – 24 Stormers Rd 4.
    8 March 2008 Reds 16 – 34 Stormers Rd 4.
    28 March 2009 Crusaders 11 – 7 Stormers Rd 7.
    02 April 2010 Western Force 16 – 15 Stormers Rd 8.

losing 4 from 5

Bulls
    15 March 2008 Reds 40 – 8 Bulls rd 5.

1 from 5, so only really the Bulls on the positive side of the ledger huh? but then again, one can make statistics say whatever they want..

poppa69: So why are SA teams so kak useless?

• 622.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-621: and now your posting my answer on a thread on oither threads?
    bwahahahaha

“but then again, one can make statistics say whatever they want..”
    did you not understand this sentence Kevin? its called sarcasm, but you knew that right? look, there it is again.. :wink:

• 623.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-522: You’re turning into a very bitter man…try relaxing and unwinding your panties for a chance because you’re going to give yourself an ulcer if you’re not careful.

• 624.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-619:

Doos comment by a doos!

• 625.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-624:

you are nothing other than the bottom-feeding deluge of pondlife bottom-feeders

• 626.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

I would have gone for a different group than those contracted

15 Gio Aplon / Louis Ludik / Conrad Jantjes
    14 JP Pietersen / Lwazi Mvovo / Lionel Mapoe
    13 Jaque Fourie / Juan De Jongh / Waylon Murray / Andries Strauss
    12 Jean De Villiers / Doppies La Grange / Meyer Bosman
    11 Bryan Habana / Bjorn Basson / Francois Hougaard
    10 Peter Grant / Butch James / Patrick Lambie / Morne Steyn
    9 Fourie Du Preez / Sarel Pretorious / Jano Vermaak
    8 Willem Alberts / Duane Vermeulen / Ryan Kankowski
    7 Schalk Burger / Dewaldt Potgieter / Joshua Strauss
    6 Heindrich Brussouw / Francois Louw / Keegan Daniel
    5 Andries Bekker / Victor Matfield / Alistair Hargraves / Anton Van Zyl
    4 Danie Russouw / Rynhardt Elstadt / Bakkies Botha
    3 CJ Van Der Linde / Jannie du Plessis / Brok Harris
    2 Bismark Du Plessis / Tiaan Liebenberg / Adriaan Strauss / Badise Maku
    1 Tendai Mtawarira / Gurthro Steenkamp / Coenie Oosthuzyen

• 627.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-579: Lol you can sing about murdering white farmers all you like, just DON”T use the dreaded M-word!!

• 628.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-620: No, he’s just a saffa thug…not a top bloke like Kevvy! Lol

• 629.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

PUMA AND RANGERMAN

The two of you made me want to cry, thank you so much for caring for the ******* and understanding that they need to feed to survive and we have encroached on their territories, they never move off to find different territory but stay and try to adapt. What i am dealing with right now is people out here where i live wanting the m*nkeys poisoned or shot, they dont care how, because they taking nuts from trees and such and dont understand that if i was not a feeding station they would not pilfer every now and then but would raid and feed constantly on what they have.

I border a private game farm and we have a few in the area so why these people want to live out here if that is their attitude is heart breaking, but have now got KZN wild life involved and will try and educated them even though they dont want to know. Puma you have a feeding station on the estate where you live, go to them for advise on what to plant, ask for Carol or Steves phone number, though right now i know they down Toti way trying to catch a m*nkey that has an arrow through its body and is somehow still alive.

So many hugs to both of you.

• 630.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

m o n k e y s !!!!!!!!!!!!

• 631.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

An article from SW and I agree with the author 100%, and I also know it as a fact that the Sharks union want nothing to do with this site as to articles in the past being written and posted as facts when the contents therein had not been verified by the Likes of Ryan etc..

It’s interesting to note that certain rugby journalists – particularly those who have an association with a certain blog site, seem to love taking pot shots at Sharks players, with those whose achievements far outstrip anything the journalists in question have managed singled out for particular attention. In this light, Grant Ball’s latest musing about John Smit on Rugby365 is not really all that surprising.

There’s a lot of Smit-bashing going on in the media at the moment, of course, in no small part thanks to the fact that Peter de Villiers has again made some or other inane statement in the media that should probably rather have been made behind closed doors. Fact is, if the national coach is concerned about where or how a player is being used, it would probably be a better idea all round to discuss those concerns privately with the parties involved, before creating a big stir in the press. That’s by the by now, though, with Smit once again target number one in the eyes of the bored rugby scribes of the world.

So what has Ball come up with now? He alleges that an ongoing feud between Smit and Bismarck du Plessis was the sole reason behind the Sharks’ run of 5 losses in last year’s Super 14. He goes on to say that there was a “training field bust-up” of some sort between the two on tour, which I found quite interesting indeed, given that I’d heard no mention of this incident before, despite it supposedly taking place more than a year ago. So I did what any right-minded person would do and started asking people who were actually there…

The conclusion I’ve come to is that Ball made the story up. People close to (and even within) the team that I spoke to thought the story was quite funny, because they simply couldn’t imagine anything more outrageous taking place between two guys whose levels of professionalism, but also personal friendship based on mutual respect, would never allow it. The consensus was that if John and Bismarck did have some sort of a problem between them – of which nobody else has ever seen any signs – they would have sorted it out in private and NEVER in front of the whole team.

So, in short, Grant Ball is talking smack and once again starting rumours based on accusations that have no foundation in fact. Pretty standard fare for a guy who learned his trade at the knee of the master of such journalism. I’m just a little saddened that Jan de Koning, a guy for whom I have a huge amount of respect, allows unsubstantiated nonsense of this sort to sully his great website.

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.