Belligerent bolter will lend Boks bite

JON CARDINELLI expects Duane Vermeulen to be named in the World Cup planning group on Wednesday and believes it could be a telling selection in a World Cup year.

The official World Cup group of 50 will only be named in June, but don’t expect it to differ from the ‘planning squad’ named this Wednesday. Coach Peter de Villiers has made it clear that he wants to get the right group of players together as early as possible, and has even scheduled meetings and planning camps for the select few while Super Rugby is still on the go.

This Wednesday’s announcement is thus significant. We already know of 23 players who have made the cut, as De Villiers announced his contracted group of Springboks in late March.

Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield, JP Pietersen, John Smit, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies were in the original group, while Andries Bekker, Heinrich Brüssow, Bismarck du Plessis, Adrian Jacobs, Tendai Mtawarira, Wynand Olivier, Danie Rossouw, Morné Steyn, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde and Gurthrö Steenkamp were only recently handed one-year contracts.

The Bok coach will name between 45 and 50 players on Wednesday, and what this means is that as many as 27 places are up for grabs. De Villiers will make a statement with the players he includes, but he will also make a statement with the players he leaves out.

The contracted group itself deserves closer scrutiny. One can only believe that De Villiers made a promise to Adi Jacobs when they were at the Valke all those years ago, because his apparent guaranteed selection has very little to do with recent rugby exploits. At least Wynand Olivier has played for the Boks in the last year, but his performances have been so poor, you would have expected him to drop out of the World Cup reckoning. Unbelievably, he’s been awarded a Bok contract in a defining year. Go figure.

De Villiers is likely to call on many players that have been in the Bok mix over the past three years. Locks like Alistair Hargreaves and Flip van der Merwe will make the cut, and loose forwards like Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts and Keegan Daniel surely deserve to be part of the larger squad. What’s less clear is whether the Bulls’ loosies deserve spots ahead of their Stormers counterparts.

It’s not a provincial argument but a national one. Dewald Potgieter and Deon Stegmann featured for the Boks in 2010 without making any great impact. Francois Louw was a key figure in the Boks’ Tests against Wales, Italy and France, and then was unceremoniously dumped after one sub-standard showing in the Tri-Nations. Louw has shown good form in the 2011 Super Rugby competition, and is certainly among the elite players in the country.

One man has been among the elite for the past three seasons, although the absence of a national call-up would suggest otherwise. Picking Duane Vermeulen for the World Cup planning group is a no-brainer, and he could play a big role at the World Cup. He provides the abrasive alternative to Spies the Boks have been searching for, that is a No 8 that drives opposition players back on defence and makes good ground with ball in hand. If the Boks include men like Vermeulen and Alberts in their final World Cup squad, they will improve their chances of winning the tournament.

Some will suggest that Ashley Johnson deserves a place, but this season has shown him to be a liability. He contributes with some powerful runs and gets through a lot of work, but his high error rate has cost the Cheetahs matches. There is no reason why he should be included ahead of the Bulls’ loose forwards, let alone the form men at the Sharks and Stormers.

I fear that politicians will demand that Ricky Januarie get a look-in, even though he’s unlikely to travel to New Zealand in September. The overweight scrumhalf hasn’t been contracted to the Boks, a sure sign he is not in the World Cup plans. He’s not the first-choice No 9 at the Stormers, and to pick him for the Boks would smack of window dressing.

Sarel Pretorius is a player who’s impressed in a struggling Cheetahs side, and Charl McLeod was a late call-up for the Springboks’ 2010 end-of-year tour. If it’s a toss up between the two, De Villiers needs to show some consistency in picking the latter, who has to date enjoyed a solid Super Rugby competition.

McLeod’s halfback partner Pat Lambie will also make the squad, but there is another player who comes into the flyhalf equation. Butch James has confirmed his move back to South Africa in May, a fact that confirms he is in the World Cup mix. James is the Boks’ best bet at flyhalf, as he not only has the experience but the ability to switch between a conservative and attacking game plan.

De Villiers has a fourth flyhalf option in Ruan Pienaar, who excelled at No 10 for the Boks in late 2008 and in the 2009 British & Irish Lions series. Pienaar has been alternating between 9 and 10 at Irish club Ulster, and has to date produced some match-winning performances with the boot.

Frans Steyn is the other overseas-based player guaranteed of selection, and his return could solve the Boks’ problems at fullback. Zane Kirchner will be picked for the planning group, but doesn’t deserve to go to the World Cup.

As South Africa’s best attacking player, Gio Aplon should travel to New Zealand. If Aplon pays more attention to his kicking game, he can provide a good alternative to Steyn. He has a big boot and it’s a shame that the development of this area of his game has been neglected in the last few seasons.

It’s great to see JP Pietersen finding some form, and right now he’d be my favourite to start at No 14 for the Boks. Bjorn Basson is prime candidate to replace Bryan Habana, although it is a foregone conclusion that the veteran will be taken to the World Cup.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

631 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 » Show All

• 451.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Gee die Bulle almal rokke !!!!

can’t wait for the Nulle @ Newlands

• 452.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Sharkies allready talking it up.

But we’l have Deysel and we got the best hooker and bla bla

Meyer Bosman And Terblance in the centres.

Hmmmm very scary , especially on attack.

• 453.grant10: Reply to this comment

if plod is axed and goes down in a flood of tears he will only have himself to blame…

i am not sure who he turns to for mentoring / advice, but whoever is close to him needs to talk some sense into his head…..the sight of him on his knees shattered in Soweto is not how he should be remembered….another case of pro athletes not knowing when to call it a day.

Mrs Smit, if you read this, tell your husband to bow out gracefully.

• 454.grant10: Reply to this comment

even jake the snake has called on smit to retire…

pdv…be bold my man….

prune the bok tree of the deadwood

• 455.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Brains trust.

An oxymoron if ever there was.

• 456.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-451: \

Fark The Bulls! Can’t wait for Round 2

• 457.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-446: and they say they dont have big mouths??

here we talk about one player and they start the name calling and insulting

does not take much for them huh???

• 458.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-439: Yeah I know, we all do the same travel factor. Sa, Oz, Nz and back. But none will have travelled back from that travel, then still have to travel to London and back. Then only have 4 days, actually 3 days to prepare cause we had players out with flu. But then only the ones with a bit of savvy will acknowledge that. :wink: Thought the ones that were into their sports no matter what would know that better :wink:

• 459.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-449: TASTY. Jeez, this is now a feast… Lubbly Jubbly!

• 460.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-458: of course they will argue puma , as they know no other team will have the travels the sharks had to endure

but wait till their team has to go through anything bad and the pig squealing begins

• 461.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-457: Can you imagine if those underdog Sharkies happen to win this game against all odds…. :lol:

• 462.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-455: LOL

• 463.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-442: You know the last game was a total freak injury that I wish on no-one. But if you don’t rate him, so be it. You are one of of a very few that don’t. It was Deysel and Alberts that destroyed your loosies last year. Don’t think I have to remind you, you know it though. :wink:

Pity Deysel might not start. Read he may be back after our 2nd bye, what a pity. Wanted to see him against the Stormers.

• 464.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-452: “Talking it up”??? See very tasty little morsels offered up by Oxymoron and Gwantie… You Stormer okes are so confused by your own hype, that I think you fools are now listening to your own voices… These are the only voices of hype going… Will do a North Korean propaganda cadre proud!

• 465.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-460: I know bro, really it does amuze me, that some have NO intelligence to acknowledge that. Or really are showing their true unsportsmanship. But heck, I don’t care. We will come with fresh legs, but heck hope Deysel can make it. Those that don’t rate him only wish he was in their team. He and Alberts smashed em last year. We know it, they know it. So what the heck. Bring it on!!!!! :)

• 466.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-464: Most hyped players:

1. Fatty Vermeulen
    2. Grant
    3. Elstadt
    4 Deon Fourie (the “undisputed” no 2 no 2)
    5. DOnkey De Villiers
    5. Lionel Cronje/Van Assvirgin
    6. Sarel Pretorius (He may actually deserve it)

You never hear the end of these players on Keo.

They are mostly Stormers…. Wonder why… Propaganda is not even the word to describe this bulldust!!!

• 467.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-465: sorry – amuse

• 468.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Fark this. Am outtahere for a while. Will return to cause utter strife later. Hehehe

• 469.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-460: 60 hours of continous travel. I have read on blogland EVERWHERE. In SA, NZ and OZ also on SkySports UK. they have acknowleged NO other team has ever had to endure that kind of travel. Only the uneducated will argue with that. I rest my case.

• 470.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-468: :)

• 471.grant10: Reply to this comment

ai sharkies….

we all know you rravelled…..we all know you had economy class seats with no flite socks

we all know you missed Lambie….

so we will just have to repeat the dose at newlands….

then maybe we get a bit of respect…..since a 10 point win at the feared tank was obviously not enough

• 472.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-466:
    That’s right!
    Keo’s more acquainted with names such as JPP, Jacobs, Januarie, The Beast, Steenkamp, Chilibooi, Aplon, Kirchner, just to prove Waynad Classens right when he said: It’s not all about rugby,,,

• 473.grant10: Reply to this comment

puma…..you got to be the biggest cyberspace moangat ever known to man!

• 474.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-472: ag just foff you racist piece of s hit

• 475.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@oscarthedawg(oscarthedawg)-420: Thanks man. I think only a very small minority now tell the emperor his clothes look lekker ;-)

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-443: Fair enough. I hope you are right because it seems he is going to the RWC.

• 476.Puma: Reply to this comment

Yeah, a 10 point win, when we had JLP that never got our kicks over. Kid yourselves. Had we got that we would have been only 4 points behind. Had we passed twice instead of holding on. Probably another two tries. Who knows we could have won, but we had our chances. Yeah, we were tired, very tried, without some key players. But we will be there. Fresh, but hope with no injuries after the Canes game. Bring it on. Newlands or not. We have won there before… lol.

• 477.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Fark, gotta love these Sharks they start the stirring with comments like, “beware the destroyer Deysel is coming to Newlands”, “remember when Deysel put fatty on his arse”, “Alberts going to break bones ” etc !!!

The Stormers retaliate and suddenly we are branded as the ones doing the hyping !!!!!

Fark these sharks are a humorous lot !! :)

• 478.sohojo: Reply to this comment

Puma how come you go hee hee hee hee up that stupefied idiotic Hogwash Gwatass schmucks backside every time the little ignoramus imbecilic dweeb comes pretending he knows anything about rugby? Are you as yellow bellied and piffle arse useless as that other little pathetic phillyfartarse poefta that lubricates that idiot schmucks arse every time the pathetic twat comes gyrating his fcknows nothing arrogance around here? Idiot punk faces like these ignoramus schmucks need one fat smack where it truly counts to set them square back where their arrogant idiocy realizes exactly how self infatuated stupid they actually are.

• 479.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-473: I must be getting under your skin….hehe…. :wink: I love it bro, keep going…………lol.

• 480.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sohojo(sohojo)-478: I don’t understand, can you repeat yourself in English? :wink:

• 481.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-476: yes …you have won there before….just like we won at the tank a couple of weeks ago….

difference between some knowledgeable stormer bloggers and you dof sharks is that we gladly discuss players strengths and weaknesses….you fools bring u the same highlights reels every time…..hankering back to past games…..

you only as good as your last game….

kep an eye on the canes….you think of the stormers those kiwis may just moer you stukkend in the tank, especially if pdv s little chat with plum bears fruit

• 482.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@sohojo(sohojo)-478:

***** bells now that’s an entrance :)

• 483.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-477: :)

• 484.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-476: i think they just phoned the gang to come help them :lol:

• 485.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Hey Skoppie, did you hear Tim Horan singing Fourie du Preez’s praises on Saturday? What did you make of that?

• 486.sohojo: Reply to this comment

you really think the sun shines out that pathetic idiot schmuck face HG’s arse or you not too sure about it quite yet?

That any bitty clearer for you

• 487.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-480: dont give yourself too much credit….you too much of a lightweight wally to get under my skin.my man…..you a choir boy….nothing more, nothing less.

• 488.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-481: WHEN? a few weeks back?…..lol. Okay, okay….. remembered…. finally since 2004 :roll: Sort of had to get my memory back………hehehehe.

• 489.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-481: you do??

grant go read the sgtormer supporters posts further up

come now and see who started the insults etc,, i had actually discussed this with you earlier , think back

• 490.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Back to the poofball for me !!!

Come on UTD !!!!

• 491.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@sohojo(sohojo)-486: eish relax skoppie ur gonna po a vein

• 492.Markel77: Reply to this comment

Completly agree with you KEO. Vamos coach Q, Duane is, by far, the best 8 in South Africa.

• 493.sohojo: Reply to this comment

what did Timmy Horan have to sing about FdP’s praises about, he didn’t even play Saturday, and the little he did he was going in reverse gear at quite some rate of knots, there was only 1 scrum half on that field that had any little genius oozing out his biceps and his brains and that was one William Genia, FdP not even fit to pick up his worn out garter straps.

• 494.grant10: Reply to this comment

farkit….i have always been a rabid sharks fan….always my 2 nd best team….byt absolute a holes like moangat puma have me thinking twice these days!!!

• 495.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-481: see as soon as we dont agree with you , we are dof??

grant pot kettle boet??

• 496.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-487: Wow!!! Really? … :lol:

• 497.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-490: enjoy and let us know the score

• 498.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-469:

Puma, all of us have done international travel, everybody knows it has an effect especially when travelling east, I dont think anyone here is uneducated- but u are making too much of the travelling.

Are you saying that the Sharks only lost because of the travel- if so, then its fine, it is your opinion…… if not, why keep on bringing it up?

And the flu? I mean how do know that none of the Stormers had flu, or mybe a few of them had problems with their girlfriends, or wives, or whatever.Who knows?

The Sharks lost, thats all that counts.
    Maybe you will win in 2 weeks time – and i promise you I will congratulate you and not make excuses for weeks afterwards.

• 499.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-484: :lol: They underestimate my patience…..hehehe.

• 500.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-499: :lol:

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.